Submitted by The Scout

Reverend Errington Massiah

There was an interesting article in this week’s Nation newspaper by Father Errington Massiah about the failure of two sixth form schools not gaining Barbados Scholarships. While what the Education Minister Ronald Jones said is true, he should have pointed out the flawed system used to determine the entry to secondary schools in Barbados.

As it stands Harrison College and Queens College take the cream of the crop, the other schools take the remainder. What is interesting is that for sixth form these two schools again take the top achievement students from all the other schools, it therefore stands that these two schools [Harrisons and Queens College] should take all or most of the Barbados Scholarships.

What must be realised is that all of those students who gained scholarship each year from Harrison College especially did not obtain their early secondary education at that school, instead some came from the other secondary schools, even schools which have a sixth form. Great respect is due to those students who achieve Barbados Scholarships and  Exhibitions who attended the lesser secondary schools, especially the newer ones.

Maybe it is time that Barbados focuses on offering scholarships in fields other than the academics. There are many children who are gifted in carpentry, masonry, culinary arts, graphics, other fine arts and other non-traditional scholarship areas that need assistance in furthering their studies.

In the international work world a highly qualified skilled person is more acceptable that a highly qualified academic. There are many persons with these bachelor or masters degrees who are producing below their qualifications. On the contrary, many lesser qualified skilled persons are in great demand. Maybe it is time the Ministry of Education to refocus the system by rebranding some of our secondary schools to skills schools. Perhaps only then will the playing field for skilled students to be granted Barbados Scholarship be levelled.

1. Let’s get real here. Will a scholarship in carpentry carry the same prestige as a scholarship in Maths, Physics and Chemistry? Just asking!

2. 1. First of all standards dropping all over. I sat 11plus in mid 90’s and back then you had to get higher than 84 (average) to get into Combermere (C’Mere) and I think the year in front the cut off marks were higher. Now they are children getting in their 70’s (average) and going to C’Mere.
    2. At C’mere we strive for all students to do get that highest academic level of a scholarship or exhibition. But we were never that big on producing academic scholarships or exhibitions (my year had lots of near misses); we were big on producing well rounded individuals. So I dont know why the Minister is surprised. Dont get me wrong I think its great when schools could attain scholarships or exhibitions. Congrats to HC & QC this year.
    3. I agree with you about students from other secondary schools (also C’Mere & Lodge) who only go to 6th for at HC or QC and they get scholarships. HC has claimed nearly all of our Prime Minsters and I believe that only 1 (Tom Adams) went to HC throughout. I believe Barrow first went to C’Mere; Sandiford & Authur first went CP; St. John & Stuart first went Foundation. (Correct correct me if I am wrong).

At UWI I have met past students from Springer, St. James & St. George Secondary. If you have a scholarship/exhibition or a handful of CXC’s; your journey does not stop there. Both ‘scholars’ and ‘non-scholars’ alike can make the most of what you have.

3. Random Thoughts Avatar

Perhaps the time has come to offer scholarships only at the master’s or doctoral level. Let everybody else go to UWI, and if they don’t want to go to UWI let them pay to go elsewhere.

Use the scholarship money to assist very very bright but very very poor students who otherwise would not be able to go to UWI. Let them use this money for books, busfares etc.

4. Unless Minister Jones can provide more insight – one must assume he is seized with more information than we in the general public – it must be labelled an asinine statement.

5. Is Mr.Jones for real ?Every body knows that Harrison College and Queens College get the top 11 plus performers year in and year out.What he needs to do is to put those top 11 plus performers in Combermere and Lodge,and see if H’College and Queens would get a fella !I would even go as far as putting them at St.George Secondary and Grantley Adams Memorial.The scolarships would then come from those schools,Mr.Jones!

6. Not Combermere so much, but Lodge used to match HC for scholarships. The standards at Lodge have fallen, alas! I do not understand the point about which school one went to before HC however. Should we then not credit your CAPE performance to the primary school which you attended?

7. Back in my day it was a combination of top primary school students and the best teachers at HC and QC.

Obviously things haven’t changed much.

8. The Scout wrote,”There are many children who are gifted in carpentry, masonry, culinary arts, graphics, other fine arts and other non-traditional scholarship areas that need assistance in furthering their studies.”

Great idea. I would like to see scholarships in Industrial Design.

9. Let us add creative arts to the do. The government seems ready to toss money at the cultural industry, we will need trained personnel if it is to take off.

10. “it must be labelled an asinine statement.”

Now what more can you expect from a genuine Jack Ass .. one among many

11. Are you people in Barbados so sick that you have to cling on to this foolishness of secondary school allocation ?
    Can’t you people just end the stupid attachment to discrimination engendered by stupid tradition?
    Why dont you recognize that you should be Zoning .
    Cant you see that this approach contributes in some way to some of your problems ?
    How can continue to see only academics as important and all others as idiots not worthy of money and comfortable life.
    Can Society live with only doctors and laywers ?
    Dont plumbers , masons and eletricians , mechanics and such persons contribute too
    Are you so stupid ??

12. Education minister make sure my old school Foundation gets its sixth form in September as you promised no Jonesing around Foundation will be up there with Bdos Scholars in quick time.
    Our learned PMFruendel Stuart would have easily won a Bdos scholarship if Foundation had a sixth form.

13. Mathew Farley addresses this same issue in his column today. Who should get the glory?

14. @ T.J check your facts Fruendel Stuart attended Foundation School exclusively he didnt go to HC. He and David Thoumson are the only two PM’s with no connection to Harrison’s College. Do you people read?

15. @ JUST ASKING | August 28, 2011 at 8:06 AM

Sadly Barbadians continue with their foolish pride from top-down. Your comments are right on par. I’ve been dwelling on your concerns for a very long time. I’ve always felt that zoning would eliminate the unnecessary stress that these students have to endure, furthermore the embarrassment. When I voiced my opinions, I get the same response, “nothing aint going to change.” But how can anything change if the masses are wrapped up in the process for their own purpose and less of the child.

Many parents contribute to the stress that they put their children through by instilling in them that they have to go to a “prestige” school to be “somebody.” I think that if the so-called prestige schools are supplied with the best teachers, then it might be worth it for the education dept to rotate teachers from these “high ranking” schools to the “lower ranking” so that students can go to school without thinking she or he is not as good as those attending other schools. It would help to get rid of the prestige nonsense that so many dwell on.

Unless zoning takes place it would continue to be the shame chit just a different day with more of the same
    chite

16. Zoning only works if all the schools have the same resources and the same quality teachers.

Unless something has changed HC, QC and Lodge used to have the best teachers and resources.

17. The problem with zoning is 2 fold 1) the structure of classism which currently rules will make it hard to dismantle the current system 2) 70%, to guess, of Barbadians work in Bridgetown and the St. Michael area,

18. What Barbados also needs is a Polytechnic and Community College that focuses on the Trades and Creative Arts.

Instead we have the Community college trying to be a University while battling for academic scholarships.

Google George Brown College and Centennial College in Toronto.

I gine an practice wha I learn at the informal Barbados Institute of Piscatorial Pursuits. I am applying that training in Rivers and lakes in Canada.lol

uh gone.

19. @Hantsie

Recent news report suggest the long awaited Barbados College, an amalgamation of the SJPP and BCC, will located in St. Lucy.

20. Why cant people who matter see that the problem with zoning is no problem at all ?
    Cant people just see that all needs to be done is for us to just do it.
    Cant people who matter see that for a short period that there would be wailing and gnashing of teeth but eventually things would settle down.
    Cant you people remember that there was a hue and cry when Queens College was to be relocated to Husbands ?
    What say the naysayers now ?
    Has the School suffered any ?
    Dont Barbadians complain about everything , every major development because they seem to be afraid to take steps by themselves because of a childish, hold-my -hand approach that I will fall or fail if I dont get help?
    Is it not clear by now that Bajans tend to be afraid of change -any change , even change for the better ?
    Didnt many bajans oppose the building of the deep water harbour; QEH; Government Headquarters(Bay Street); Central Bank Building ; Treasury Building; East Coast Road; University of West Indies at Cave Hill -(people quarrelled when the land was acquired);ABC Highway; Sherbourne;Kensington Oval; Crop Over Festival ; Calypso Music ; Rihanna-(SHE IS A MAJOR DEVELOPMENT)
    Cant call all
    Can you add some more?
    Dont you know that if you listen to people , you would do nothing ?
    JUST ASKING ?

21. Random Thoughts Avatar

Responding to Just Asking of August 28 at 8:06 p.m. who wrote “Why dont you recognize that you should be Zoning .”

I lived in a place in Barbados and a place with zoning. In the place with zoning parents who could afford to live in the expensive zones got excellent educations for their children

Poor people who could not afford to buy houses in the expensive zones with the excellent schools got crappy educations in crappy schools.

22. No matter how we slice it, it partially boils down to the teacher and teacha, It is obvious that the system places the teachers at the schools that were always looked up to and the teachas are scattered to other schools where the system doesn’t think that the school can make a name for itself by producing top scholars. What a set of crock. Shame on Barbados educational system. I thought over the years and by now the mentality of those in authority of the educational system would take off those rose-colored glasses.

23. David “an amalgamation of the SJPP and BCC”

Why not make the SJPP a better “Polytechnic” with heavy focus on the Trades. Carpentry,Joinery,Welding and Electrical.

The BCC can focus on Creative Arts and Industrial Design although they seem to want to be an academic centric sixth form/college hybrid.

24. @Hants

Have no idea the logic of the decision behind what was to have been implemented in 2008, the correct name is the University College of Barbados.

25. @ David
    Have no idea the logic…
    Trinidad have one and Jamaica have one so we need one….

Besides Bush Tea told you long ago that nothing in our education system makes sense …. so why should this?

26. A couple years ago former Chief Education Officer Wendy Griffith while contributing to a talk show, fingered the Springer School and one other ‘comprehensive’ school as far as performance is concerned.

Despite calls for her to support her position with data it was never forthcoming.

Now we have the Minister shooting off his mouth about the performance of sixth form schools at Combermere and Lodge without feeling pressure that he should support his mouthings with data.

Bear in mind the two people at the centre of making the statements are the top figureheads of the education ministry.

There is an irony in this somewhere.

27. All the secondary schools in Barbados have quality, certified teachers with degrees.Also we have brilliantteachers who attended some of the newer secondary schools; the pricipal of Queens College for instance attended Parkinson School. This elitist system is causing frustration among the young people, we need to move away from the strictly academic attitude we give our children. Every day in the print media I see a company making application for jobs that can be filled by bajans if those who are interested are given that extra push. Right now we are giving scholarships to students who after completing their degrees do not return to this country, simply because there is no room for them to make a meaningful living. Let us give scholarships to those who want to pursue a career in the areas that are now being filled by foreign workers.

28. The Minister’s comments though true were unfortunate since they neither revealed “context” nor brought specific facts.

To Just Asking, every major educational decision (e.g zoning) will be taken in a bigger sociopolitical context as opposed to the merits of its virtue, as such there will be no zoning anytime soon under any of these administrations
    To all others, the issue of scholarship allocation pales in comparison to the challenges facing our education system (and society as a whole). Debating whether we should get one or two more scholarships from whoever only obfuscates the number of professional issues our teachers face, the psychosocial issues that our schools have to contend with daily, and the inability of our education system to meet the needs of our young learners today from as early as primary school.

29. @Observing

Well stated.

30. @ David

@Observing
    Well stated.
    Wait a minute David!! That is the same thing that the bushman said – except his got it pretty Crumpton Street words like ‘obfuscates’….

We all know that Observing is another bright spark like MME so the Bush man defers….LOL

That is why BT likes the 11 Plus. If Bushie was in class with people like GP, Hants, John, MME and Observing – the Bushman would probably run way….and join Zoe’s church…LOL

31. @BT

You are a regular.

We need to get Observing sharing thoughts in a much more detailed manner.

32. Did you see this comment on another thread?
    Dont you think it is just as appropriate here with a little addition and subtraction
    DONT YOU THINK THAT AS FAR AS THE EDUCATION SYSTEM IS CONCERNED THAT THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS AND THE MINISTER SHOULD NOT BE SUED FOR DISCRIMINATION ?
    DONT YOU BELIEVE THAT THE CONTINUED USE OF THE 11 PLUS EXAM IS NOT AN ABUSE OF BARBADIAN CHILDREN AND THAT ITS CONTINUED USE IN A MODERN BARBADOS CONSTITUTES DISCRIMINATION OF SOME SORT ?-(where are the freedom fighters ?)
    What Progresses in Education ?
    Do you mean a poor education system that focuses only on academics and that has so brainwashed people that they believe that only doctors and lawyers matter ?
    Do you mean a society who wants to send all 4000 students who sit the outdated and innocuous 11 PLUS exam to one school?
    Why do big people who left school many moons ago want to know “which school you went to school at ?” (Read Sherwin Walters -Nation 2-3 weeks ago)
    How long will this society continue with this nonsense ?
    When will we see that from the time women teachers took over in the schools that discipline climbed down?
    Dont people understand that women are not suited to the task and that they throw their hands in the air and declare -I dont care who learn once I getting my salary ?
    Do you mean a society that cant see that this damn foolishness of the 11 plus exam continues to promote elitism and discrimination ?

33. I think this year more than any other the Ministry of Education has managed to place more students, no matter what their 11 plus scores, in schools close to their homes.

It was done by lowering the pass marks for the more elite schools. As I understand it the head teachers of the top 4-5 schools actually get together after the 11 plus and look at the results before agreeing to set the marks for entry into their school. So the Principals of HC,QC, CM, St, Michael’s would normally say students did very well with x percent getting more than lets say 90% so HC’s principle will say they want the cut off for their school at 98%, QC may say their cut off for entry is 94% etc.

This year however something changed and it was either that the students did not do so well in general or the Ministry/Minister changed this foolish system. That is why so many children had marks that far surpassed the number of spaces for the “higher” schools and so had to be shunted down the order to go into schools that would not normally see children with such high marks.

So if most parents continue to put heir children down to enter HC,QC,CM as 1st choice and the cut off mark required for entry is low, there can be hundreds of students that make the grade but who cannot be allocated to those schools for lack of space, the only solution then would be to allocate those living closest to the schools to those places.

Zoning is occurring gradually and by the time it is in place it will be too late for stubborn wealthy parents to move their home address.

Peace

34. Why is it a mystery that if students are assigned to schools based on having attained higher test scores when measured against their compatriots, that the same high achieving students will receive superior results compared to their peers in exams in approximately 6-7 years.

If one likes the 11 plus they should love the Barbados Scholarship results, it proves the system is working, maybe not to everyone’s benefit but to the benefit of some students and some schools.

Never mind that the studies which the Scholarship recipients choose to embark on are as predictable as summer rain. In an island nation where a large number of people make their living from the sea or a related endeavour not a Marine Biologist to be found, but plenty of aspirants in the fields of Medicine, Law and Accounting.

The Generation which benefited from free Secondary hasn’t built on the legacy handed down by the visionary E W Barrow. They are unable to formulate a system which works to the benefit of all, but rely on a 50 year old relic which prizes academic achievement at the ripe old age of eleven. They still promote an educational policy which puts a premium on some “White Collar” professions above all others.

Whichever Party forms the Gov’t of Barbados, it always finds itself stuck in the quicksand that is found within the confines of the Ministry of Education. They seem to say “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it”, they should be reminded that a car with a flat tire can still be driven.

35. “In an island nation where a large number of people make their living from the sea or a related endeavour not a Marine Biologist to be found, but plenty of aspirants in the fields of Medicine, Law and Accounting.”

Excellent observation Sarge, it is easier to thief from the public in the above mentioned professions and get away with it.

36. @BT & David
    Thanks for the compliment.
    In non-crumpton street talk – “Uh trying ta get a lil more regular pun hey!”

@just Asking
    The discrimination and prejudice doesn’t begin and isn’t caused by 11 plus. It begins in the minds of parents, teachers, primary school principals and people of all ages in the community. 11 plus is just a part of the problem and a validation and sum total of our own perceptions and beliefs regarding class and academia. Also though the abundance of female teachers poses a challenge to our young males’ development I don’t agree it’s their fault for the decline in discipline. I will agree that the system needs more men though.

Those with a genuine interest in education and some minutes to spare should take a look at this video.It spells out clearly what’s wrong with our system. Finding a solution is another debate however.

37. @Observing

No so sure we can dismiss the female factor when you consider that it is boys/men in crisis and also the reality that children model behaviour and in the case of boys there are the male characteristics which the women with all the best intentions will not be able to supply. It does not mean that single parent homes supported by females have not done a good job but the deterioration of the extended family maybe exposing a weakness.

38. @David
    Glad you raised the single parent home factor. I’ve argued in other places that in this age we’re living the worst thing for a boy child is to be raised by a single mother without a positive or consistent male role model around. This raises another debate outside of education re. gender expectations, role responsibilities and male “norms,” the impact of which in my opinion has mentally, financially, socially and even professionally paralyzed a generation of men at all levels. There are some things that young developing boys need that women will NEVER be able to provide.

Regarding the schools I’m not dismissing the female factor, just don’t think we should paint the tiled floor with too big a single brush stroke and I don’t want to cast full blame on female teachers for things they don’t (or can’t) realise or can’t (or don’t want to) change. The problem (younger) female teachers pose is their lack of understanding of and inability to properly relate to young males (the reasons for this would need another thread). Thus poor teacher-student relationships, unrealistic teacher expectations, male frustration and even internal demotivation and disillusionment result. The rebellion or ill-discipline that we see among younger male students therefore is simply a symptom of these factors and a reaction. Some female teachers can and have corrected this in the past but alas far too few are doing it now, and in this “female independence/women’s lib/not my problem” part of the world the many others see no reason why they should.

39. Maybe it;s time Barbados Scholarships are catigorised, the scholarships should be grabted in areas that benefit, hence scholarships in ALL areas where we are lacking and have to import foreign labour. A skills career is more acceptible internationally than a academic qualification, it is easier to gain work in a developed country as a highly qualified skills worker than being a highly qualified academic.Gone are the days where being a lawyer, doctor or an accountant is considered prestigious careers, the ability to earn a fair salary for fair work is now focused on skilled cereers, many a young doctor, lawyer or accountant is earning much less than young project managers, technical engineers or other non-traditional careers. Time our government starts assisting those with scholarships

40. “When will we see that from the time women teachers took over in the schools that discipline climbed down?
    Dont people understand that women are not suited to the task and that they throw their hands in the air and declare -I dont care who learn once I getting my salary ?”

The above statement is sooo assinine and I can’t believe that someone would utter these words. So who do these children belong to? The teachers? Children learn what they see from home and bring it into the school. So what is the solution? Get rid of female teachers? Well in that case the schools will have no teachers at all. Let us fact facts folks, those of you who believe men are failing because they are not given the attention at schools. Many Men are failing because they have never grown up and have never taken responsibility. for their actions. Yes Mothers are to blame for this because they never taught them responsibility at home.

David I am a bit disappointed with your response. Even though many men stayed in the family setting many were abusive and lacked the ability to parent their children. The mothers had to be both father and mother. Men have been allowed to get away with many things whilst a woman would be chastised by both men and women if she did the same as her male counterpart. Men feel that because they are male (because they have a doggie) they have a god given right to lead. Tell me how many women leaders do you see leading their country into war? Let us face it, men have to start seeing themselves as partners in relationships and in the workplace. They have to see themselves walking side by side with their partners each taking the lead where their strengths lie. Men have to stop behaving like dogs dropping their seed all over the place and that they must be there for their children emotionally and financially. We need some serious parenting clinics on this island for both men and women.

If men are academic failures they must take responsibility for that and stop blaming the women!

41. @islandgirl246: “Children learn what they see from home and bring it into the school.

IG246 et al… I would argue it somewhat differently…

Children learn from every environment they find themselves in, and then bring what they’ve learnt back into every other environment they find themselves in.

That is their ***JOB*** as children. To learn.

Be it Home, School, the Workplace, the Internet or TeleVision.

42. @Chris Halsall… I can agree with you on this!

43. @islandgal

The lack of a male role model outside the school and home setting is not to be forgotten. The difference between today and days of yore is stark in this regard. Actually it dovestail the last point made by Chris.

44. @David: “The lack of a male role model outside the school and home setting is not to be forgotten.

I was about to argue with you, but then I realized…

Every influential teacher I’ve had the benefit of being taught by had been male.

So then the question must be asked: Why are there not more male teachers here in Barbados? Is the pay too low, or is the prestige too low?

45. Halsall wrote, “Every influential teacher I’ve had the benefit of being taught by had been male.”

Did you go to school in Canada or Barbados?

At Kolij we had good female teachers. Bev Alleyne (french) and Judy Pilgrim(physics) Lady Adams (Geography).

46. @Hants

In your day what was the male:female ratio.

47. David I remember 5 or 6 females and the Librarian to about 12 to 15 males

48. @Hants: “Did you go to school in Canada or Barbados?

Canada. This is on the record.

@Hants: “At Kolij we had good female teachers. Bev Alleyne (french) and Judy Pilgrim(physics) Lady Adams (Geography).

What about English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Computer Science?

49. @Christopher Halsall,

Teaching at the secondary level in Barbados was dominated by Males but we did have very good female teachers as well.

50. @Hants: “Teaching at the secondary level in Barbados was dominated by Males but we did have very good female teachers as well.

Have, or had?

Language matters.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply