Submitted (as a comment) by Adrian Hinds

Attorney General, Adriel Brathwaite

Up until the recent legislation brought by the DLP, the BLP had the upper hand in making the argument that they are the ones who wanted Integrity legislation and DLP did not. In what I will deem a calculated approach, not intended, to make good on a campaign promise – hung around their collective necks like a South African apartheid necklace – the DLP probably thinks that they have now even the argument to a stalemate from which they cannot suffer; it is now easy for them to mute the argument;

What is now clear, is that both parties do not want what the people insist on. The people must now demonstrate that they will hold them to account -at election time- as a condition for “individuals “to become their elected representative in the next parliament due to be reconstituted in 2013.

If Barbadians are serious that Integrity legislation is very important to them, then they need to sidestep the party structure and take the request/demand directly to each person vying to be the people’s representative in the people’s parliament.

1. Create a pledge document requiring a signature from every candidate
  2. Publish the signed document on the blogs, face-book etc
  3. Publicize the position of every candidate to all Barbadians

Again if a majority of Barbadians are for Integrity legislation and the politicians base on the information depicting candidates for it –signed- and those who are not –not signed- it should be very easy for the will of the majority voters to be in parliament. Right now there is no individual parliamentarian commitment to back up the will of a party Leader such as we were led to believe was the case with Thompson. Were I in Barbados I would walk with my Video Camera, politely inform prospective candidates all that I intend to video tape my asking them to sign the document, and then proceed to do so. Think about this folks if people are made aware of their individual candidates intent and choose to ignore those who don’t sign and elect them to parliament anyways, it would be fair to say that the people elected the government they want and deserves.

1. Can Barbadians find the wherewithal to dispense with the reference held for politicians and for once hold their feet to the fire?

2. De honourable dis and dat shite outsided of parliament has got to go; for one thing they don’t deserve it.

3. Bajans will never stand together for integrity legislation because they have too much to lose. Too many are on the payroll and too many are getting kick backs . Why should they mess up their gravy train?

4. Integrity watcher Avatar
    Integrity watcher

It is ovious that the bill will be held up in the committee stage, none of the parties want it. Despite the song and dance.

Ploiticains from both divide are the same, inteterested in friend and family. Mark my word, elections will be called and no intergiity legsiglation will be in place and who should foot the blame?

5. @ islandgal246 | August 2, 2011 at 6:38 PM |

Aren’t the ones to lose the most not in the minority?

There is strength in numbers and if Barbadians who are being squeezed day in and day out do not exercise their disgust then they should keep their mouths shut and accept whatever is thrown at them by the PIP.

It’s time for us as a people to join hands. Take a bow and show these politicians how.

6. If the world economy continues to stall, read less than 2% growth, Barbadians maybe forced to pay some much needed attention to transparency legislation because it will get crowded at the trough.

7. @Guest….on a small island like ours where everybody is related there is no minority. Many will stand together on blood lines, and if their blood getting some gravy they ent gine want tah stop dat.

8. @ Guest…….Whole heartedly I support your stance. I do understand the take of ISLANDGAL246 ,even though my feeling is that there are many more little people than there are connected ones. The point here is that if people are educated enough about the free for all that is created from taxes paid by them,if they are reminded often enough about the plague of abuse that recently passed as good governance, if they are truly tired of the phantom companies that spring up with the frequency of duppy parasols,and then are traced to parasites that hide in parliament they would demand integrity legislation.The power that parties have is given to them by the people. This thing can happen if the people want it to happen.

9. Why are we happy that friends of politicians should always win the contracts to supply potatoes to the School Meals or onions?

It has got to stop!

10. @ David …..Many are waiting in the wings to get their pick when dem government get in. That is the trend that has been set by both political parties. We need to expose these people when contracts are given under the table. We do not have the environment where the press is truly FREE and that is why so many of these practices are allowed to go unchecked.

11. It is boring that when the politicians are in opposition they play us, when they assume government they become intolerant of opposing views.

It is time the people wise up.

Note that the party faithfuls are silent on this type of topic.

12. http://www.thesuperficial.com/enlargedimage?postid=917912&parent=917072

Just thought David would like to have a look at these stupid comments

13. @BAFBFP

Get your point.

14. @ BAFBFP
    Here’s a snip of an article from Fanpop:

“In the hearts of every Barbadian, Rihanna is known as the girl down the road, but to the world she has become a musical sensation and social phenomenon,” said Barbados’ Minister of Tourism, the Hon. Richard L. Sealy. “She is a great source of national pride to Barbados and we are thrilled to enter into this formal partnership to promote Barbados as a leading tourist destination.”
    What type of clientele is he seeking?

Is this true or a hoax? I hoaxso!

15. Bajans are known as talkers but not doers, therefore politicians from both sides of the fence knows this and takes advantage of the situation. To put what I say to the test, let anyone of these bloggers advertise widely in Barbados for a protest march anytime and you will find few marchers but more people on the side spurring on the marchers but unwilling to be identified. There has got to be a hero, A Grantley Prescod, someone willing to accept the consequences.

16. We’re always on this blog people saying this needs to stop, or that needs to stop, and the gov’t needs to do this, or the gov’t needs to do that, and we cannot tolerate this, or we cannot tolerate that. I’m of the opinion that if BU really wants to agitate for change and be taken seriously, it has to more that just a blog, it needs to be seen and heard by the masses. . .real faces and voices singing one chorus in full physical view of the public and other forms of news media. In other words, the 7pm news on CBC should be telling Barbadians about the events that BU has staged. Believe it or not the avarage fellow on the street does not know about BU or what it is.

17. @Zack: “In other words, the 7pm news on CBC should be telling Barbadians about the events that BU has staged.

@Zack… The GoB funded CBC doesn’t even talk about what the Official Opposition said or did.

Why do you dream they’ll talk about what a Blog said or did?

Meanwhile, the CBC is impotent on the Internet and in social media.

Hmmmm….

18. I join and support those who call for integrity legislation to be introduced in Barbados. But are we really prepared to accept integrity legislation, especially in an environment where people recognize wrong doing only when it is being perpetrated by persons unknown to them; when we are willing to accept morals and ethics only when a situation creates the convenience to do so; and while we overlook certain situations and behavioural patterns when the individuals involved are revered by us.
    For example, we were quick to disagree with Ottis Gibson for criticizing Gayle and the other senior players in the public domain, when they did not perform during the world cup. However, we were quick to agree with Gayle when he publically criticised Dwayne Smith, Ramdin and Pollard for the way they got out in the ODI against Zimbabwe in March 2010. Similar situations that involved public criticisms, but Gayle is the hero and can do no wrong for his fans; this is where the distinction comes.

Integrity is not an important issue in this country, and politicians are a product of the society. We should all embrace integrity legislation, and it would allow us to frown upon situations such as, a political analyst being employed as a consultant by the government, and we cannot question the integrity of a poll conducted by the analyst on behalf of the government, and the “spin” introduced on the results.

Let us call for integrity legislation to be included in the election campaigns as well, where all type of smut is said on the political platforms and allowed to pass as campaigning, as we jump up and cheer on our politicians; and in parliament, when politicians are allowed to hide behind parliamentary privilege to attack members of the public, and we use this information, not knowing if it is true or not, to help tarnish the reputation of the particular individual.

19. Please delete my prior post…this is the corrected version.

We’re always on this blog saying this needs to stop, or that needs to stop, and the gov’t needs to do this, or the gov’t needs to do that, and we cannot tolerate this, or we cannot tolerate that. I’m of the opinion that if BU really wants to agitate for change and be taken seriously, it has to be more than just a blog, it needs to be seen and heard by the masses. Real faces and voices singing one chorus in full physical view of the public and other forms of news media. In other words, the 7pm news on CBC should be telling and showing Barbadians events being staged by BU. Believe it or not the avarage fellow on the street does not know about BU or what it is.

20. BU is a member of the social media, we are integrated with FB, Twitter with an estimated reach in a captive Bajan space of 100+. We are doing our little bit to share our perspective in the many issues.

21. @Christopher Halsall | August 3, 2011 at 2:33 PM | @Zack… The GoB funded CBC doesn’t even talk about what the Official Opposition said or did.

Why do you dream they’ll talk about what a Blog said or did?

Meanwhile, the CBC is impotent on the Internet and in social media.
    ————————————————
    Because BU wouldn’t be seen as Opposition…it would be seen as the voice of the taxpayers (the employers of gov’t), and failure to give due attention could actually benefit the Opposition.

22. The blog does not need to be seen or have real faces etc. The blogs are being use as it is intended. Real people associated with themselves need to get up off their asses and do for themselves from their own convictions. Once you are convince of something you should be willing to act; case in point Barrack stood up to much laughter and condemnation for what he believes is right, I saw two guys at the BL&P protesting, Rosevelt King against much opposition did his thing with the rate hearings. Just get up off your individual asses and say screw it I am going to let my voice be heard, and to hell with those who don’t like it. You and You not the F-ing blogs. Chuspe! Yuh mean I gine got tuh come home and do it! I once had a few choice words to Louis Tull on a flight to Barbados out of Miami. There isn’t a thing to lose. Once the information, cussing, or signed document is recieve and presented to Bajans; it would then be up to them.

23. @Zack: “Because BU wouldn’t be seen as Opposition…it would be seen as the voice of the taxpayers (the employers of gov’t), and failure to give due attention could actually benefit the Opposition.

You strangely understand exactly, and yet incompletely…

*Anyone* opposing the GoB are viewed as enemies.

*None* of them will find any “air-time” on the GoB funded (read: paid for by the People) BB.CBC.

Fortunately, we no longer live in the 20th century; we now live in the 21st century, where people can take their message to the people themselves.

Deal with it.

24. Gayle and his supporters are jokers all. No member of a permanently losing cricket team can get my ear far less my support on anything.

25. @David | August 3, 2011 at 2:38 PM | BU is a member of the social media, we are integrated with FB, Twitter with an estimated reach in a captive Bajan space of 100+. We are doing our little bit to share our perspective in the many issues.
    —————————————
    Only recently I attended an IT conference that point out that on 27% of the world’s population is online. And from having discussions in my social circles, I can tell you that the average fellow on the street don’t know about BU. I can appreciate what you have said, but in essence this blog is only about discussion, but not seriously taking gov’t to task. In order to seriously take gov’t to task, you have to become more than just a blog.

26. @Christopher Halsall | August 3, 2011 at 2:53 PM |
    You strangely understand exactly, and yet incompletely…

*Anyone* opposing the GoB are viewed as enemies.

*None* of them will find any “air-time” on the GoB funded (read: paid for by the People) BB.CBC.

Fortunately, we no longer live in the 20th century; we now live in the 21st century, where people can take their message to the people themselves.

Deal with it.
    ————————————
    I beg to differ…but have it your way. Just ask yourself if your current MO is achieving the results you expect.

27. @Adrian Hinds | August 3, 2011 at 2:46 PM | The blog does not need to be seen or have real faces etc. The blogs are being use as it is intended. Real people associated with themselves need to get up off their asses and do for themselves from their own convictions. Once you are convince of something you should be willing to act;
    ——————————–
    You get better results when you act as an organized group with a common cause, individually you can expect to be brushed off. The Arab Spring is an example of what people can accomplish in organized groups with a common cause.

28. @Zack: “I beg to differ…but have it your way. Just ask yourself if your current MO is achieving the results you expect.

My current MO is having *exactly* the results I expected.

Sadly….

29. @Zack

Your are entitled to your view. Just remember a minority can influence decision makers and others. Yesterday for example this blog by Adrian was tagged to a few on FB and already there is some discussion taking place in the FB Bajan space. The people mobilization you speak will occur after there is the meeting of ideas.

30. @David: “The people mobilization you speak will occur after there is the meeting of ideas.

Sincerely wondering…

Could you (or anyone) tell us all when was the last time the Peoples of Barbados mobilized since Independence (1966.11.30)?

31. @Zack
    If you want to start as an organize entity you will never get anywhere. The Arab spring uprising wasn’t organize it was existential. Thomas Friedman said it was more Albert Camus than Che Guevara. It took one man to say or do what many had been saying and wanting to do. That’s why I say be that man or woman, and if you are right, if your position is shared by enough people in their heart of hearts they will join in.

The Tunisian uprising:

The exact reasons behind Al Bouazizi’s subsequent outrage are not clear. Some observers allege that the police officer slapped him across his face; others that Al Bouazizi tried to complain at a center for unemployed graduates — but that no one listened to him and he heard only laughter and insults.

Whatever his intentions, Muhammad Al Bouazizi’s actions changed Tunisian history.

32. @David | August 3, 2011 at 3:13 PM | @Zack
    Your are entitled to your view. Just remember a minority can influence decision makers and others. Yesterday for example this blog by Adrian was tagged to a few on FB and already there is some discussion taking place in the FB Bajan space. The people mobilization you speak will occur after there is the meeting of ideas.
    ———————————–
    Is that a promise? LOL

33. @Adrian

My only point here is that this subject of Integrity Legislation and FOI has been discussed over and over here on BU, and it’s not going any further than that. My other irrefutable point is that putting forward your argument as an organized group always increases your chances of obtaining the results you desire. Very few people (if any) are going to join you if you go marching in front of the PM’s office on Bay Street with a sign saying “We demand Integrity Legislation”. They may watch from a distance and agree with you, but you would need to organize people ahead of time in order to be effective.

34. @Chris

People mobilized behind David Giles in the now famous Bartel Affair, people marched behind Sir Roy against the 8% cut. However we have not any national rally behind a cause to answer your question.

35. Unless Bajans and Barbados comes out of it’s Frozen Culture Syndrome, then nothing is ever ever going to change.

36. @David: “People mobilized behind David Giles in the now famous Bartel Affair, people marched behind Sir Roy against the 8% cut. However we have not any national rally behind a cause to answer your question

I thank you for your honest answer.

And for some reason you are being promised things which cannot be delivered.

Sucks to be you — as they know when they so promise.

37. There seems to be an unwritten rule that simple honest folk are ineligible for political office and this is why there is a need for Integrity Legislation.

We would settle for simple honest people who just want to serve their country. The funny thing is, we always reject those simple honest people every time they ask for the opportunity to serve and opt to elect those that are more likely to use their training to better themselves.

38. Good comment Raw Bake. We live in times where the lack of vision is stunting our development.

It will be left to the people to force the change, yes we don’t know how yet but it must happen if Barbados is to be saved and veer away from the path of Jamaica, Guyana, and T&T.

39. Here is an interesting development in India on the subject of rolling out transparency legislation:

Indian cabinet approves new anti-corruption bill
    Posted: 29 July 2011 0329 hrs

NEW DELHI: India’s cabinet approved a new anti-corruption bill on Thursday that aims to create a powerful new ombudsman tasked with investigating endemic graft in the public sector.

Under the proposed law, citizens would be able to approach the ombudsman with complaints about corrupt officials, including federal ministers and senior bureaucrats who are shielded under India’s current laws.

Information Minister Ambika Soni said the ombudsman would be picked from the highest levels of the judiciary and be supported by eight other officials who would be from the judiciary or be people of “impeccable integrity.”

The proposed law, called the Lokpal bill from the Hindi word for ombudsman, will now go to parliament where members will vote on it in the next session, which begins on August 1.

“The overall thrust of the government has been to ensure greater transparency and accountability in every aspect of public life,” Soni said.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/1143682/1/.html

40. The ability of this government to communicate with the people, especially since the death of the late PM is a source of worry.

No communication for long periods about appointment of CJ.

No communication about Redjet and the list goes on.

Should Senator Orlando Marville say something?

41. @David
    I couldn’t help but notice your disclaimer just above the text box for entering comments. Maybe you can clarify something for me. Your disclaimer says, “Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Barbados Underground”, so I really need to know who is BU? Aren’t your comments the comments of BU? If not, then who on this blog represents BU?

42. i see a breaking news headline saying 20 drug mule from ja on a CAL held at bgi well all i gots to say is this ,i am a jamaican and all you guys have to do is put in place a visa system just like cayman and flush out these roaches …..they have been stopped in there tracks everywhere they turn ,,,so barbados is the only place left ..you guys have to deal with it now or face the consequences……

43. @Zack

You need to define comments of commenters and a blog posted by BU.

Obviously if comments are posted under BU/David or the BU signature those comments are excluded from the disclaimer.

44. @David | August 4, 2011 at 5:29 PM | @Zack
    You need to define comments of commenters and a blog posted by BU.
    Obviously if comments are posted under BU/David or the BU signature those comments are excluded from the disclaimer
    ————————–
    I need to define comments? You are so full of it. Your disclaimer makes no sense, you should consider revising it. You are the only person I know to be “Barbados Underground”.

45. To David:
    Why is Zack so taken with your disclaimer; next question shall be about the board of bu.

Most of us in barbados are liars, cheats, and anything for me , myself , my friend and family. This legisltion shall be a joke, especially the enforcement of it. When ne wilson raped that young lady and taken to court on her insistance, the forman of the jury said can we lock up mr. wilson our camrade in the lodge. And we know that the judiary, police, senior cibil servants and politician dance to the tune of these societies.

Leave a Reply to Raw BakeCancel reply