To illustrate the more things change the more they remain the same BU has cited three quotes below uttered by the Late Prime Minister Rt. Hon. J. M.G. M. ADAMS, M.A which have been extracted from his introductory speech to the Integrity Legislation Debate (parliament) in November 1979.

During the last Session I moved a Resolution calling for the  introduction of integrity legislation for Ministers and Members of Parliament. After rnuch equivocation that Resolution was sent to a Select Committee. However, except for Mr. Speaker, no member of the then Government, the Democratic Labour Party, attended any meeting
of the Select Committee on integrity legislation and it failed to obtain a quorum. We therefore proposed in our Manifesto that we would pass legislation providing for; Members of Parliament, Senators and politically appointed members of Statutory Corporations to disclose their financial assets and liabilities on assuming office, periodically during office, and on termination. That was our commitment and this legislation is the result.

It is really a very simple principle that every year Ministers and Mernbers of Parliament, Senators should make a declaration of how much money they have, what property they own in and out of Barbados, and under certain conditions what property is owned by their spouse and children. Every year these declarations should be updated and examined by a Public Integrity Commission.

We have carried out an election pledge by introducing this Bill which seeks to preserve public confidence in the integrity and honesty of persons in public life. We know that we have to take the lead because the Opposition is opposed to it. I will not be so uncharitable as to say that the Opposition does not want this Bill passed because perhaps they are unwilling to make declarations and are therefore picking up something that is nothing, along with their anger, to excite the public in an unreasonable way.

Rt. Hon. J. M.G. M. ADAMS, M.A., (Prime Minister and Minister of  Finance and Planning), House of Assembly Debates

His Honour W. C. B. HINDS, J.P. (Speaker); Rt. – Hon. E. W. BARROW, U.D., (Leader of the Opposition); Mr. R. StC. WEEKES, J.P.; Hon. L. S. CRAIG, (Minister of Housing, Lands and the Environment); Rt. Hon. J. M.G. M. ADAMS, M.A., (Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Planning); Hon. C. L. BOLDEN, LL.B., (Minister
of Communications and Works); Mr. E. E. GREAVES, B. A., Ed.M.; Mr. D. A. C. SIMMONS, LL.M.; Hon. Miss B. A. MILLER, (Minister of Health and National Insurance); Hon. L. B. BRATHWAITE, (Minister of Agriculture, Food and Consumer Affairs); Mr. J. G. ODLE, B.Sc., (Chairman of Committees); Mr. M. C. C. WARD; Mr. V. L. JOHNSON, M.A.; Hon. L. R. TULL, M.A., (Minister of Education and Culture); Mr. DeL. 0 . BRADSHAW; Mr. L.L. SISNETT; His Honour E. E. ALLEYNE, LL.M., (Deputy Speaker) and Dr. R. C. HAYNES, M.B., Ch.B., M.R.C.P.
(Edin .)

Members of Parliament present at the last debate on Integrity Legislation 30+ years ago

Although many of those party to the 79 debate are dead or infirmed several remain active. It is disappointing that former members of parliament Dame Billie Miller, Sir Henry Ford, Sir David Simmoms, Sir Louis Tull, Ezra Alleyne, Evelyn Greaves, Leroy Sisnett, Delisle Bradshaw should remain silent by not informing the current public debate on integrity legislation.

Given the challenge of implementing the legislation in small countries why not maintain the scope of the original legislation and expand after careful monitoring?

The DLP should inform the public why it refused to participate in the Joint Committee to consider the legislation. Both parties should explain why it has taken thirty years to read the legislation in parliament only for it to retire meekly to a Joint Select Committee of parliament.

1. I will repeat ad nauseum.
    Those who have something to hide should not be politicians.

If you have no intention of stealing or accepting bribes, declare your assets and run for office.

Many millionaires are politicians here in Canada. Sometimes they are discovered to have conflicts of interest and it is dealt with as prescribed by law.

This government has painted itself into a corner and must pass this legislation.

2. @ David
    IL is about as relevant as CSME.

What integrity legislation what??!!
    Those crooks will just laugh at that, and continue to play their crooked games like they do in other jurisdictions that have it.

This is a NON ISSUE. But the solution is staring us in the face. Here we are using the latest integrity technology to call for an outdated failed IL mechanism.

David, as BU Boss you have it in your hands to provide a 21st century Integrity mechanism TOMORROW!!

Let us start a systematic, coordinated, whistle blowing blog that provides honest law abiding citizens with the mechanism to ANONYMOUSLY identify and highlight crookedness at all levels in Barbados.

Call it ‘DE BAJAN TRUTH’. It can be as simple as the ongoing fire service blog or as complex as a series of forensic, investigative, journalistic reports.

If you feel guilty about exposing the crooks, you can also start a blog to expose honest and patriotic contributors. … call that BAJAN NISE-NESS’. Let us anonymously recognize excellent work, honesty, selflessness and community spirit.

When will we realize that politicians are not on our side?
    When will we stop allowing ourselves to be made fools of?
    When will we stop waiting on the enemy to protect us…?
    Stuuppsss

Man David start the thing and appoint Caswell as deputy editor in Chief do!…

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

HALSALL

Simple you.

4. I will repeat ad nauseum.
    Those who have something to hide should not be politicians.
    It is less about having nothing to hide and more about having something to show in the beginning.
    Things might get messy at the end, if you have lots to show and even more to hide.

Why is it not practical to ask a man to build his own gallows?

5. Integrity Legislation is fine but I am more concerned with where the hell these political parties are getting their financing from …! Political Parties should be forced to make public their source and application of funds 🙂

6. BTW Carson C. Cadogan,

Bloggers (anonymous or otherwise) are not paid for by tax payers and are not entrusted with the nations wealth (and future).

7. I honestly thought that Tina Roach had Raptured !! Wasn’t that the plan?

8. Wha’ happen to the promised Contractor General?

Seems to me that taking away the gift of wrongly awarding lucrative contracts, would greatly reduce the current perception of ministerial corruption, and at the same time take away the contentious issue of annual financial disclosures.

9. @Bush Tea

The IL would give the people a yardstick by which to measure. It would bring some structure to it.

10. @BAFBFP

Where have you been hiding?

11. @Straight talk

The excuse given is that Jamaica has transparency legislation and what?

12. @ David

Ca dear, I still hey …! 🙂

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

My goodness, anonymous DAVID is still anonymous DAVID.

I thought that during the night Anonymous DAVID would have passed his own Transparency Legislation and by now we would all know who he is.

I guess it is easier to demand of others what you don’t do yourself.

Leading by example is really a thing of the past.

14. Bush Tea@9:25pm last night, why do you not start the blog yourself?

15. If you don’t like it ccc you can leave noone else seems to be bothered but you :). David does a free public service, Political are paid and should be accountable.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

I represent the silent majority.

17. lol if you think so. we know you are just dreaming

18. BAFBAP RATTRAP YAPRAP
    or whatever yuh name is
    You with that shite talk about Rapture ?
    Wunna people is sumting else
    I REALYED what was being said and you all behaving like I was the one who said that it will happen.
    LAY OFF THE SHIT -BAFBPA- BARCAT–RATTRAP or whatever the frigg hole yuh name is

19. David
    I’m convinced C C C is a staunch supporter of the BLP and is spouting his foolishness to get fellow bloggers to dislike the DLP. It is either that or the person ( C C C ) is a downright jackass, SIMPLE

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

Dreams are the stuff life is made of, and I have a dream that one day DAVID will do that which he is demanding of others in the House of Assembly

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

………and good evening to you too SCOUT.

22. @anthony

Thanks for your support but leave CCC alone, for the moment.

We will do a piece on the CBC in due course and the continued politicization of news by Ruedon Eversley.

23. Carson yuh backside itching yuh go and bade!

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Someone has Tina Roach VEX, VEX, VEX.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“politicization of news by Ruedon Eversley”

That started with the Barbados Labour Party. You know that better than anybody. Not that what you are saying is correct.

You are disappointing me, you are becoming forgetful in your old age.

26. By your admission the DLP is carrying on in good tradition.

There you have it folks.

27. David there are many DLP supporters who are not very well educated.
    I am one of them.

So my position is tarnished in its simplicity.

Integrity legislation is required in Barbados as soon as possible.
    A Freedom of information act should be enacted at the same time.

Those who have a problem with this should resign and become ordinary citizens.
    Those who want to serve as politicians should be prepared to disclose there assets.

There is no one compelling a citizen to become a politician.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Now you are cherry picking information. You can do better than that to make a point.

29. It is obvious ALL these politicians have something to hide, they came into politics to serve the people until they get a seat. After that it is self, most of them become arrogant and “pigheaded”, but they forget that the voters is really they employers, so when the day of decision comes many are found wanting, yet other politicians fall into the same trap. The DLP highlighted the ill deeds of the BLP, now in one term of office they seem to have more ill deeds in there coffers than the B’s had in three terms in office. We need a new party or until then return to the lesser of the two evils, the BLP.

30. Basement General Avatar
    Basement General

If I live to see IL come to pass,I will eat my shoe!

31. @the Scout: “We need a new party or until then return to the lesser of the two evils, the BLP.

Since it is clear that there isn’t a viable third party here in Barbados…

…may I make a suggestion? When a party or a candidate says to you “I promise you this” you answer “Can I get that in binding writing? On paper with your and my name on it. With your and my signatures. And with a penalty clause?”.

32. Scout
    You must be joking right.
    It will take the DLP about 25 years to do the misdeeds of the BLP over the last fourteen years.
    The BLP or DLP does not want the legislation but the DLP said that they are not for their assets being declared every year but BLP spokesman Dale Marshall protested about nearly every clause but especially said they do not want the legislation to disclose who gave them money for the election. Scout do you see where he wants to hide the corruption. On that very point the Electorate of Barbados should keep the BLP far from the Treasury for the next ten years.
    Scout we cannot trust these people with this government again just yet.
    For example Noel Lynch was asked on a radio program how he was able to accumulate so much wealth over such a short time and he walked out of the studio. What would have prompted that question?

33. why not let the citizens take this bull by the horn. When a person declares themselve as a political candidate.there should first go before a committe made up of ordinary citizens who inturn wolud ask tem questions relating to their character.e.g
    Have you ever been accused of domestic voilence.
    Have you evercheated on your income taxes ?
    Are you currently married and if so are you and your spouse living together?
    Are you currently employed ? if not how do you earn your living?
    A lie detector would also be helpful in weeding out the liars.
    This process should be repeated every election cycle.this would give the voter a birds eye view of the character of these politicians.
    t

34. I think there may be enough of you political pundits right here on BU who see the need for a viable third party, to form one. So get busy and organize yourselves. Who among you would be leader of the party. . .King David?

35. I would lead a third party but it would have one major objective :- to rid Barbados of ALL Jack Ass Christians (and of course Lawyers)

36. DLP HAS FAILED BIGTIME

WHAT MISDEEDS OF THE BLP ?
    MAKING THE COUNTRY GOOD FOR LIVING ?
    ALL THE MISDEEDS YUH TALKING ABOUT–MORE PEOPLE WANTED TO LIVE IN BARBADOS THAN EVER.

37. Tina Roach, as I recall, you did much more than bring news of the “rapture”. You were positively gloating! I will see if I can pull up some quotes.

Good idea, AC. I am not canvassed, but what do people and politicians talk about on those occasions?

38. Here you go…

Tina Roach | May 15, 2011 at 7:12 PM |
    I told allyuh that people were talking about MAY 21
    THE END OF THE WORLD
    and Islandgal and cohorts cussed me

Now please cuss the Advocate
    To the assertion that Nobody knows when

The people promoting the END address this question quite logically and believable

39. it doesn’t matter how many political parties we have it is the character of the politician that really counts . we the people must start with the first stage of getting to know their mindset before giving our approval. it is the countries lost or gain .it is our civil rigt and duty todo so.because after they are elected it is too late as is the case with IL.

40. i will venture to say that if or when IL is passed it would be a skeketon or watered down version to appease the masses.

41. Basement General | July 26, 2011 at 8:43 PM |
    “If I live to see IL come to pass,I will eat my shoe!”
    Yuh shoes safe man dem gine last anudder 25 years wid des kiss muh rass politicians bout hey.

42. @ac

You wrote the masses but its likely more appeasing the political sycophants.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I will bet all the tea in China that if all the Politicians in the House of Assembly were WHITE INDIAN OR CHINESE, they would be NO CALLS on this blog for Tranparency Legislation.

If Cow Williams were PRIME MINISTER, Allan Fields were Minister of Finance and the Country battling the worst recession in History as now everyone on this blog would be silent.

44. Nonsense, CCC, your red or rather WHITE herring will not work this time…we vote for BLACKISH MPS and we demand certain standards from them. Cow or Allan Fields would not win a seat in Parliament.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

jack spratt

Ok, I see. This is just about Black People trying their utmost best to pull down other Black People.

Crabs in a basket.

46. No,CCC, it’s about blackish people trying not to make other blackish people embarrass their race by teefing!

47. Those who want to serve as politicians should be prepared to disclose their assets.

48. Canada has a great model to follow. IL and a FOI act has worked for Canada.

Why not Barbados?

Don’t politicians claim to be in politics to serve their constituents and their country?

49. No Hants, politicians in this part of the world at least are in it for the access it gives to money making and securing their power structures.

50. When all else fails these political types or their rabid supporters always introduce the “poor black man” angle. Noel Lynch and Mascoll tried it and CCC always references it when he tries to defend the DLP.

Integrity legislation isn’t about “Black People trying their utmost best to pull down other Black People”. It is about elected representatives of whatever stripe enacting legislation that governs their conduct (with special interest to their financial affairs) while in office. Politicians in Barbados should welcome this legislation; it would help quell some of the rampant “rumours” which circulate after they are elected.

Many of these politicians pay lip service to the idea of Integrity legislation but in reality thwart the successful passing of this law at every turn; seldom do we see any unanimity in Parliament except on this topic one generation to the other 1979 into the millennium ……..

The question is what do they have to hide?

Leave a Reply to AlienCancel reply