To illustrate the more things change the more they remain the same BU has cited three quotes below uttered by the Late Prime Minister Rt. Hon. J. M.G. M. ADAMS, M.A which have been extracted from his introductory speech to the Integrity Legislation Debate (parliament) in November 1979.

During the last Session I moved a Resolution calling for the  introduction of integrity legislation for Ministers and Members of Parliament. After rnuch equivocation that Resolution was sent to a Select Committee. However, except for Mr. Speaker, no member of the then Government, the Democratic Labour Party, attended any meeting
of the Select Committee on integrity legislation and it failed to obtain a quorum. We therefore proposed in our Manifesto that we would pass legislation providing for; Members of Parliament, Senators and politically appointed members of Statutory Corporations to disclose their financial assets and liabilities on assuming office, periodically during office, and on termination. That was our commitment and this legislation is the result.

It is really a very simple principle that every year Ministers and Mernbers of Parliament, Senators should make a declaration of how much money they have, what property they own in and out of Barbados, and under certain conditions what property is owned by their spouse and children. Every year these declarations should be updated and examined by a Public Integrity Commission.

We have carried out an election pledge by introducing this Bill which seeks to preserve public confidence in the integrity and honesty of persons in public life. We know that we have to take the lead because the Opposition is opposed to it. I will not be so uncharitable as to say that the Opposition does not want this Bill passed because perhaps they are unwilling to make declarations and are therefore picking up something that is nothing, along with their anger, to excite the public in an unreasonable way.

Rt. Hon. J. M.G. M. ADAMS, M.A., (Prime Minister and Minister of  Finance and Planning), House of Assembly Debates

His Honour W. C. B. HINDS, J.P. (Speaker); Rt. – Hon. E. W. BARROW, U.D., (Leader of the Opposition); Mr. R. StC. WEEKES, J.P.; Hon. L. S. CRAIG, (Minister of Housing, Lands and the Environment); Rt. Hon. J. M.G. M. ADAMS, M.A., (Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Planning); Hon. C. L. BOLDEN, LL.B., (Minister
of Communications and Works); Mr. E. E. GREAVES, B. A., Ed.M.; Mr. D. A. C. SIMMONS, LL.M.; Hon. Miss B. A. MILLER, (Minister of Health and National Insurance); Hon. L. B. BRATHWAITE, (Minister of Agriculture, Food and Consumer Affairs); Mr. J. G. ODLE, B.Sc., (Chairman of Committees); Mr. M. C. C. WARD; Mr. V. L. JOHNSON, M.A.; Hon. L. R. TULL, M.A., (Minister of Education and Culture); Mr. DeL. 0 . BRADSHAW; Mr. L.L. SISNETT; His Honour E. E. ALLEYNE, LL.M., (Deputy Speaker) and Dr. R. C. HAYNES, M.B., Ch.B., M.R.C.P.
(Edin .)

Members of Parliament present at the last debate on Integrity Legislation 30+ years ago

Although many of those party to the 79 debate are dead or infirmed several remain active. It is disappointing that former members of parliament Dame Billie Miller, Sir Henry Ford, Sir David Simmoms, Sir Louis Tull, Ezra Alleyne, Evelyn Greaves, Leroy Sisnett, Delisle Bradshaw should remain silent by not informing the current public debate on integrity legislation.

Given the challenge of implementing the legislation in small countries why not maintain the scope of the original legislation and expand after careful monitoring?

The DLP should inform the public why it refused to participate in the Joint Committee to consider the legislation. Both parties should explain why it has taken thirty years to read the legislation in parliament only for it to retire meekly to a Joint Select Committee of parliament.

1. To be quite honest, neither of the two leading political parties in Barbados wants that legislation to pass since they seems to be ALL tainted. The only way that legislation would succeed if we election a new group of politicians and force they hands to have this passed before they too become corrupt. Too many lawyers in parliament, we need a better balance

2. On the subject of lawyers, we should congratulate Gregory Nicholls, another lawyer who was selected to represent St. Michael North West.

In an earlier blog when we posted a conversation by William Duguid, he admitted MPs were lukewarm to the idea.

3. Until some politicians take Jail there will never be Integrity legislation. Isn’t it strange that many lawyers are now before the courts for theft and many politicians were once lawyers. It seems that going into the field of Law is an excellent breeding ground for aspiring politicians. Defrauding the public seems to be the name of the game.

4. It is a code, to protect the profession.

It is interesting to note that Vonda Pile, the most recent lawyer arrested is NOT a member of the Barbados Bar Association and yet she was able to procure a license.

How can the BAR defend its code of conduct for lawyers if its members are not obligated to be members?

An analogy can be made to the ZR/minibus people.

5. Sanka Price wrote an article a few years back looking at the various moves of the two parties towards integrity legislation.

It started back in the 60’s just after independence I seem to remember the article saying.

He quoted Hansard to show that the first excuse that scuttled the exercise was colour …. all you all trying to do is slow up a poor black man!!!!!

It is amazing what that excuse has been used for over the decades.

6. My memory may be playing tricks. Must try and find the article and reread it.

It was in 1975 that Patsy Springer made his comments in Parliament. I still am pretty sure the exercise started in the 1960’s

Here is an extract from a debate in the House of Assembly (1975) related to ITAL (taken from Sanka Price’s article):

“Can you countenance anybody asking A.S. Bryden – he held office in the vestry – or who was so mad as to write in the newspaper asking him to declare his assets?

THEY have lost political power now and THEY are asking every BLACK man who is holding office, so long as he can change a car three times a year, walk about looking clean and carrying a cheque book to declare his assets” said (Patsy) Springer.”

7. The objective of this blog is to show how BOTH parties have played the electorate over the years.

The objective in subsequent blogs on IL will be to show how the relationship between the media and politicians has helped to keep the people in the ‘dark’.

The clarification is required before the labels begin to fly.

8. “How can the BAR defend its code of conduct for lawyers if its members are not obligated to be members?”

Exactly what do you mean here, David? If one may choose not to be a member of the Bar, then how can the Bar discipline that lawyer? He or she remains subject to the law of the land. This has nothing to do with the Bar Code of Conduct for those who are members.

9. @jack spratt

Glad you responded because that was the publicly stated position of Wilfred Abrahams, PRO of the BAR 🙂

10. @David

The above speech was made in 1979, what happened in the intervening years to Tom’s death in 1985? The BLP had a majority and could have passed the legislation just as today the DLP has a majority and can also ensure that the bill go forward.

The present Bill has now been referred to a Select Committee where we all known it will die a slow death unless members of the public let their representatives know that isn’t good enough. ( I was going to say make it an election issue but look how that turned out).

The hearts of the members of both Parties are not behind this legislation, any speeches or finger pointing is just political posturing to give political cover and blame each other for its demise.

As you so ably pointed out some of the members then are still active or on the fringes have you heard any of them make a statement on this topic? Ezra has a weekly column has he ever written anything to address this subject?

11. @ David

Am I reading right? Isn’t St. Michael North West the Constituency which Mr. Mascoll represented twice in the past? Didn’t he contest the seat in the last General Election? Is he finished with elective politics?
    I will be very disappointed if that is the case since I was looking forward to his scholarly contributions in the House of Assembly once more. I don’t always get my local news when I am overseas and it is possible that he might told his constituents and his party that he was calling it a day when I was off the Rock.

12. @Chuckles

That observation came to mind, you are correct.

We shall have to wait and see.

13. One would have hoped the findings of the Duffus Commission hints of events which occurred and caused many to surmise the late PM Barrow was suffering from amnesia would encourage integrity and FOI legislation.

14. Nuh lotta long talk.

Politicians are concerned that constituents will inundate them with requests for money if they declare their assets.

15. @Hants

Are you aware that it is proposed that an Integrity Commission would be the body which manages the information?

It will not be splashed in the public domain.

16. LOL @ 100 DAYS turning into 1000 days
    This DLP Government
    Can this Government survive ?

OF TOPIC :
    why are you able tell if a picture is old ?
    I am referring to the picture of PM Tom Adams as opposed to the picture of PM Stuart .

I know that technolgy would differ over the years but what really makes a picture look older. I want the technical details from an expert not from people who dont know and want to pretend that they know or people who just trying to be silly. I dont want silly answers .

17. Tina tek off yuh blonde wig and see wat might happen tah yuh. Yuh does cum off wid sum reel silly questions.

18. Are you aware that it is proposed that an Integrity Commission would be the body which manages the information?

Yes David and I don’t agree with that. The Integrity commissioners could be made up of people just as corrupt as some politicians.

Also this is Barbados and even the big ups gossip.

19. David you know that another “reason” for opposition to FOI and Integrity Legislation is some politicians may not want to declare the overseas assets.

Some may have a little condo in Toronto.

20. […] new government promised Integrity Legislation within 100 days of taking office; 1000+ days later, Barbados Underground is still waiting… […]

21. […] new government promised Integrity Legislation within 100 days of taking office; 1000+ days later, Barbados Underground is still […]

22. @Hants

If not an Integrity Commission, what?

23. Ministerial Code- excerpts from the proposed integrity legislation:
    6b: Ministers have a duty to Parliament to account, and be held to account, for the policies, decisions and actions of their ministries, departments and agencies.
    6f. Ministers must ensure that no conflict arises, or appears to arise, between their public duties and their private interests;
    6g. Ministers should avoid accepting any gift or hospitality which might, or might reasonably appear to, compromise their judgement or place them under an improper obligation;

It is not a coincidence that many of the agencies concerned with the delivery of certain social services in this island have been established as statutory corporations. This process not only removes the “red tape”, but also gives the politician the power to influence policies through his appointed board of directors.
    Juxtapose this simple observation with a quasi government department such as the National Housing Corporation. State housing is available at below market prices, thereby creating excess demand. Excess demand creates an environment for bribery and corruption. The politician responsible for this state agency is placed in a position of power; he controls the allocation of houses to those on the waiting list, jobs within the organisation, the tendering process, and those who provide the organization with goods and services. Thus, he may be motivated by incentives (monetary or otherwise) and votes to favour certain special interest groups.

Surely if we are honest, we must face the reality that politicians from both political parties have contravened the above proposed rules. We all know that the politicians use the statutory corporations to employ their constituents, because the process of gaining employment in central government is difficult because of the “red tape”. We all know that politicians employ the services of their friends to provide goods and services for the statutory corporations within their ministries. We know that many of those who provide refreshments at the annual conferences, branch meetings and during election campaigns, are often the ones who get the catering jobs and the school canteens.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Don’t you think that it is really ironic that while you hide under your bed and write BARBADOS UNDERGROUND that you are on a crusade calling for traparency?

Set the first example. Be transparent with who you are and then you will get the ball rolling.

This is a real case of the pot calling the kettle black.

25. BU is not the advocate or CBC. You of all people should understand. Neither political yardfowlism or pandering to advertiser dollars we have to be concerned about.

Stay tuned for other blogs on the subject of IL.rtiser dollars we have to be concerned about.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“Neither political yardfowlism or pandering to advertiser dollars we have to be concerned about”

……OR being transparent either.

27. if this is the lilliputian responses you can salvage on the matter of your party’s inability to roll-out IL and FOIA then you can have the last word.

28. Now the issue here isn’t david transparency. The political are selected by their constituency so they are accountable to them. If we the people think integrity legislation is a good thing for them it should be enacted. If we think the politician have done foolishness then they are vote out of office. If the majority clamour for david identity and he doesn’t want to give it then we leave. as it only you asking for it, we will just ignore you like normal.

29. Shark In the Water Avatar
    Shark In the Water

Would it be true to say that this issue smacks of a lack of coherent debate ?

We can be sure that what we have seen from the Government is a lack of focus in dealing with particular important national and social issues and the Prime Minister’s silent approach does not really help in putting the populace at ease .

30. Both political parties have been pissing on our feet and telling us that it is raining. Enough is enough, we the people must insist and do whatever it takes to let these politicians know that it is time to stop playing the fool when it comes to Integrity Legislation.

31. All of the bloggers here need to go join one of the political parties!!

32. @David,
    If not an Integrity Commission, what?

Okay. An Integrity commission but with a FOI act that allows full disclosure of Politician’s assets.

The Canadian model is a good one. Note former PM Paul Martin had to put his corporation in a blind Trust.

33. @Hants: “The Canadian model is a good one. Note former PM Paul Martin had to put his corporation in a blind Trust.

We here in Bim seem to be commingling Integrity Legislation with Freedom Of Information (FOI) legislation.

Why might that be?

The latter (FOI) simply articulates that what is known by the Government was paid for by the taxpayers. And thus should be available to all taxpayers to that Government.

(Except, of course, where national strategic interests might be comprised in the disclosure of same… “Who let the Lawyer’s loose?”)

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Your need for transparency extends to everyone else but not to you.
    You will continue to remain in your glass house and throw stones at every one in the House of assembly.

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I can’t believe that you can not see the comedy of you on An Anonymous blog screaming for others to be transparent.

36. Carson Cadogan yuh got an itch up yuh pooch? Why don’t yuh leff David alone and stop dis igrant behaviour? Go an bade and scrub yuh brass bowl!

37. @Carson C. Cadogan: “I can’t believe that you can not see the comedy of you on An Anonymous blog screaming for others to be transparent.

As someone who uses their own real name…

It is well known that you are not using your real name (even though it looks real).

Might you share with us your own real name?

Or is that too much to ask?

38. CCC
    You were very happy when the corruption scandals of the BLP were discussed with all the vigour here on BU
    Now that your party is being urged to pass the promise of IL and FOI legislation, you are behaving like a spoilt brat.
    Carson you are going to be very disappointed in 2013 because it is rumoured already that the marginal seats, are all but loss to the BLP. Something must be happening because I see many roads in St.Michael being paved.
    The DLP won the government by exposing the corruption of the BLP. Now the BLP will win the government by exposing the corruption of the DLP
    The DLP can save face and speed up the legislation in the select committee and get it pass by the next election or Owen Arthur will have his hands on the money purse again. Lord help us

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Before you all forget, the DLP brought IL to the floor of the House Of Assembly.

40. @CCC: “Before you all forget, the DLP brought IL to the floor of the House Of Assembly.

And how well did that work for we simple Bajans?

By the way, you still haven’t answered my simple question: what is your real name?

41. How does one make the comparison between a blogger and an elected public officer? The following observation has got to be made. As a television is to a V C R or D V D player, so too is common sense to education.One compliments the other. Carson C Cadogan from your recent posts it is clear to see that You Aint Got Na TV.

42. If we had I’ll two ministers would have to declare their business interest in a business venture in Oldbury, one other minister would have had to declare the extent of his support with the controversial Peter Allard.

Clone you are correct that a DLP government who came to power on a wave of anti-coruption sentiment would have had nothing to show except to equal what a Tom Adams government in 1979.

43. @David: “Clone you are correct that a DLP government who came to power on a wave of anti-coruption sentiment would have had nothing to show except to equal what a Tom Adams government in 1979.

For those of us “not in the know”, might you expand your statement?

44. @Chris

Despite the understanding shown by whoever wrote the last Sunday Sun editorial IL died at its second reading more than 30 years ago. There is a heavy suspicion IL under this administration will die as well.

45. @David

So, then, are you saying the electorate were lied to at the last election?

And, as I pointed out earlier, IL and FOI are separate and distinct.

46. @Chris

There was a lot of distrust back then, especially in a post-Duffus Commission period. We also had the then famous Sidney Burnett-Alleyne check alleged to have been paid to the late Cammie Tudor. The list is long. Even Tom Adams was implicated in a cheque allegedly received from Brydens. Will have to do some research if you want specifics. We also had the then famous Sidney Burnett-Alleyne check alleged to have been paid to the late Cammie Tudor. The list is long.

47. @David… “Will have to do some research if you want specifics.

@David (repeating himself)… “Will have to do some research if you want specifics.

Yes. Please.

BTW, is there any reason you seem to repeat yourself so often (word for word) in the same post?

48. @Chris

Still trying to solve that problem of duplication.

49. @David: “Still trying to solve that problem of duplication.

Hey, it is your Blog.

Take as much time as you need….

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply