Dear  BPWCCUL (Barbados Public Workers’ Co-operative Credit Union) Limited members, some of you have expressed concern with the actions taken by the Board to acquire Capita, the apparent reluctance by the Board to be forthright with information regarding CAPITA’s operations and the manner in which decisions relating to Capita are being made.

It is possible that everything done by the Board is legitimate and that CAPITA is a good investment. However, it is not sensible for the members to blindly allow the Board to oversee almost $1 billion, without being fully transparent in and accountable for its actions.

It is suggested that the members demand a special general meeting to consider all matters relating to Capita, including its acquisition, operations and future direction. After considering all of the matters, the members can then make a decision to accept the Board’s actions regarding CAPITA or remove the Board and elect a new Board to execute the members’ wishes regarding CAPITA.

If you are in support of convening such a meeting, please print the attached Demand and have it signed by as many members as possible. You can periodically report here on the number of signatures collected. When fifty signatures have been secured, the members in possession of the signed forms can arrange to meet, copy and deliver the signed forms. If you sign the attached Demand, you need to be prepared for the possibility that the Board may resign. You should therefore give some thought to suitable replacements to lead BPWCCUL before the meeting is convened. If fifty signatures are not secured, you should consider this matter closed.

Please distribute the attached flyer to assist in disseminating this message to members of BPWCCUL.

107 responses to “Special Meeting Called By Concerned Group of Barbados Public Workers Cooperative Credit Union Ltd”

1. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

is the meeting still on today?

2. @smooth chocalate

BU facilitated the communication, it is up to the concerned members to mobilize. To answer your question, there is no reason we know of why concerned BPW credit union members should not meet to discuss next steps. Feel free to report, many here remain skeptical it will materialize, led by Jack Spratt.

3. Fed-up Worker Avatar

The meeting from the concerned members come off?? Them members like them is a bunch of frauds. As a member of staff the things that get raise in de blog true true. Right now is a big question about who gine get axe from the credit union. And we getting exploit fuh real.Last year we mek a good profit and workers get a good bonus. This year is crazy bad. Imagine some of the hardest working staffers get bonuses of a few measly dollars. And to add insult to injury, today de Capita financials in de Nation. Wuh help dat is to staff or members? Somebody help meh answer dat.

4. @Fed-up Worker

You know how it is in Barbados, we love to grumble behind closed doors.

What is your view about the Capita financials?

5. What is immediately apparent on perusing the Capita balance sheet is the extent to which its Loan to deposit ratio is headed in the wrong direction.

i.e Deposits 82.2 million/loans 106.1 million

It explains why Capita has been advertising heavily in recent weeks.

The fact that the market is liquid should help, we hope!

6. […] Special Meeting Called By Concerned Group of Barbados Public Workers Cooperative Credit Union Ltd […]

Leave a Reply to just only askingCancel reply