From the Facebook Page of Rosemary Parkinson

I was once a vibrant, beautiful woman without a wrinkle! But this is what your harassment of my life has turned me into. Perhaps a court case would be in order for turning me into a monster with your bills???

BARBADOS LIGHT & POWER – are you waiting for the whole of Barbados to just come down to your offices and scream and shout and behave bad like a set of lunatics all because of your incessant insistence on taking the mickey out of each and every Barbadian who uses a light bulb in this country? Has it dawned on you that two years ago the very same bill from you for the very same usage of your raas gold power at our residence was BDS$400 a month? One year later for the very same usage of that same raas gold power of yours suddenly became BDS$750 a month? Within this last year that very same usage of that very same gold power suddenly became platinum at BDS$1000?.. and now to add insult to injury… one month…yep! I said one month later your raas platinum power has become more expensive than uranium – the bill being BDS$1700 for same said on month supply?

Nothing has changed in terms of usage in this household for the last two years. Sorry! Mea Culpa. I lie. At great cost I turned in my old fridge for a new Energy Saver one! But nothing extra has been purchased to plug into sockets that feed into your miserable meters that are read when you feel like it. The price of oil plummets, the recession arrives, people are losing their jobs and you, dear, dear BARBADOS LIGHT & POWER find it amusing to hike everyone’s right to light to suit your investors’ dividends at the end of a year. For, God forbid, those should drop!

Or is it that by assuring an overseas company that you are able at your whim to dig out the eyes of people on this rock; that no matter how high your now uranium bills become the chuped idiots known as your Barbadian fellow men will just continue to pay without a word and, therefore, you in your almighty power can demand a higher price for the sale of your company to them? I can hear you in the boardroom: “We demand this price for all the assets of our Uranium Power Plant because Barbadians are a set of poppets and no matter what you charge, they will pay and continue to live merrily along.”

On the other hand….perhaps it is just a plain death wish you have, for one can push people to a point and then they suddenly rise up in anger and do things they would normally never consider. And by the way, please do not even begin to consider this note to you a threat of any kind. I would never consider threatening such a powerful uranium company….even ‘though you obviously consider me chuped and a poppet. I am merely trying to help you. I am merely being a good citizen and warning you that this time you have gone just a tad too far in your deceit of the people of this country.

And whilst I am at it? How dare you try to convince me, an intelligent grown woman, that the reason for the enormous bill received this month (a month filled with sudden cuts in power by the way!) is due to an increase in this household’s usage and nothing to do with you all going totally mad in your Accounts Department!!!

Enough is enough!!

162 responses to “A Love Letter To Barbados Light & Power”

1. http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2011/jun/08/oil-price-rises-after-opec-meeting-collapses-in-disarray

Maybe the whole thing is just a charade.

If it is so somebody needs to be strung up.

2. @John….after reading that link, I am convinced that men with such egos need to be made into eunuchs…sorry guys! but hey! this is all so much crap!! And today I have had enough crap to last me for a lifetime and it pains me to know that when I wake tomorrow, there will be more there for me to face.

3. I would describe myself as an optimist ……. but then there is reality.

We have avoided the crunch caused by the mess with oil prices.

Like I say, if it manufactured, somebody needs to be strong up …. but I won’t go into the gory details.

Maybe BL&P are exploiting the mess, maybe they are not.

There should be a logical clearcut way in which the fuel charge is arrived at an it should be subject to audit by the FTC.

Maybe it is published somewhere on the internet.

4. Rosemary

There is usually an electric booster heater in the solar tank.

Make sure it isn’t switched on.

It is easy to miss and turn it on and forget to turn it off.

Maybe get the electrician to disconnect it if solar works well as a rule.

As you see the fuel charge is pure murder and the electric meter is completely unforgiving of even the slightest slip ups in discipline.

Maybe disconnect any external plugs if you suspect someone is using the power.

5. @John: “There is usually an electric booster heater in the solar tank.

You are wrong.

I had the opportunity this weekend to inspect five (5) solar hot water collectors/heaters. None had electrical connections.

If you ever see high-wattage electrical connections (read: thick wires) to your solar hot water heater, worry.

If you don’t (which most wont), don’t worry.

Some are simply trying to scare and distract you….

6. It is correct that there is an electrical heating element installed in at least one brand of solar heaters manufactured locally.
    It is also correct that many are not connect for various reason at the time of system installation.
    These elements are supposed to be used if there is persistent rain for a couple of days.

7. The problem with BL&P is that they will not read your meter for months on end, then when they finally do, if they were underestimating your usage, you then get hit with a very large bill.
    Earlier this year I was hit with a bill 6x more than what I had been paying for the previous four months.

8. @All…

Just putting this out for consideration…

With all we *know* about the “Fuel Adjust Clause”, who makes the Money when fuel is expensive?

Here’s a hint: it ain’t BL&P.

Here’s a further hint, and a leading question: who does BL&P buy their fuel from?

9. @Chris

During the last rate hearing was any attempt made to determine how much money BL&P makes by estimating usage? It seems, if we go by complaints, the estimate is using the high number which means there is money to be made in float.

10. @Raw Bake: “It is correct that there is an electrical heating element installed in at least one brand of solar heaters manufactured locally.

Care to name that brand of locally manufactured solar heaters which provide electrical augmented heating?

@Rawbake… Please correct me if I’m wrong, but would not the amperage required require some serious engineering, certification, and an electrical inspection for each and every installation?

Since that much energy being so close to the water supply could quite possibly introduce risk-to-life situations?

11. @David: “During the last rate hearing was any attempt made to determine how much money BL&P makes by estimating usage? It seems, if we go by complaints, the estimate is using the high number which means there is money to be made in float.

I don’t recall — I was rather involved with pedantic technical issues.

However, the “Public” was made aware of the proceedings thanks to ROK and myself. Please see http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/the-barbados-light-power-rate-hearing-commences/ for data.

Perhaps the Public who are now complaining can research the prior art to answer the question now at hand?

12. @Chris

Thanks for nothing.

13. @CH,
    Are you trying to tell me that along with the VAT, gov.bb making a profit from selling fuel to BL&P?. Please say it ain’t so.

I cannot speak to the electrical specs of the element as I am no electrical engineer. I can however tell you that the brand is Solar Dynamics. The element is similar to the one in an electric water heater so I imagine it is no more dangerous that an electric heater and probably even less so as the switch is normally off.

14. @Raw Bake

There is no need to sidetrack the conversation about whether there is a booster switch installed on solar heaters or not, we know this to be the case.

15. @David: “Thanks for nothing.

That was not nothing.

That was several months of many people’s work.

But thanks for letting all the Intervenors know what our efforts meant to you.

16. @Rawbake: “Are you trying to tell me that along with the VAT, gov.bb making a profit from selling fuel to BL&P?. Please say it ain’t so.

It is so, Joe….

17. @Chris

As usual you chose to be selective in using your comprehension skills.

Let others interpret for themselves.

You may have the last word.

18. David you is something else though!
    Bossman check and see who first mentioned the word booster on this thread. My name easy to call? Wuh rong wid you?

Seriously though, you okay?

19. @Raw Bake

Agreeing with you actually.

Just saying forget Chris and his pedantics on the booster issue.

20. @BU.David: “Just saying forget Chris and his pedantics…

Gosh David.

Just a little bit more negative energy, and I might be inclined to be offended…

(Not likely, I agree. But it is fun to play… Is it not?)

21. @Chris

You know the BU household holds you in high regard but when you indulge you must be called out …lol.

22. @David…

LOL…

Now, might we get back to the serious matters at hand?

You know I have little time for anything else….

23. Chris is not really a bad fellow. It must be difficult adjusting to the Bajan version of first world standards.

24. It would be interesting to know if BL&P can a better price for fuel than what it pays the GoB. I always thought that BL&P imported its own fuel.

So it is really in the interest of the DLP for the BL&P to be seen as the bad guy.
    Bottle gas gone down, light bills and gasoline might be next. 🙂

25. If memory serves there is a special pipe for BL&P to supply oil.

Stephen Worme indicated that BNOC would have to be the one to disclose details of the BNOC/BL&P arrangement.

Maybe the time has come for the details of this agreement to be made public.

26. @David: “If memory serves there is a special pipe for BL&P to supply oil.

It is interesting how a single word can make such a difference, isn’t it?

The immediate above might be better worded “If memory serves there is a special pipe TO BL&P to supply oil.

David, please DO pay attention to your words….

27. Transparency,Transparency, Transparency.
    Why so much secrecy if everything is above board?

Found this over at the Advocate, imagine that!

The FCA is a mechanism that is intended to allow the company to recover the cost of fuel used in the generation of electricity. In its simplest form the unit value of the FCA is the cost of fuel used divided by the kWh sales. Because of the requirement for some forecasting the company may at times over or under-recover but by the end of the year imbalances are reconciled. It is a direct pass-through charge, which allows the company to recover the amount that was expended on fuel only. In 2007 the Commission undertook a study on the fuel adjustment charge which confirmed, among other things, that the company does not make any profit on this charge.

The actual unit price of fuel oil is outside the control of the BL&P as it is required to purchase fuel from the Barbados National Oil Company Limited, the sole direct supplier of fuel oil on the island.

In order to ensure continuity of service the BL&P is required to maintain adequate reserves, this means purchasing fuel months before it is used and maintaining an inventory. The price of fuel being used to generate electricity would therefore not correspond directly to the current price. Furthermore, in order to be assured of a reliable source of supply the utility purchases its fuel under contract and that price may not correspond to the current market price. Thus, it usually takes several months for changes in fuel prices to be reflected in the FCA.
    http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=business&NewsID=18002

28. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@all

my solar water heater was installed in 1992 and it has an electical switich that i can switch on if the water is cold, and if you miss and switch it on you will see a red light.

Hope that informs christopher.

29. Is the arrangement in place with SOL contributing to the cost of diesel and gasoline at the pump, can someone investigate?

Work this one out. I visited a gas station , not a regular one so to speak . I called for $50 worth of diesel. Access to this pump is on one side only. The pump stopped, indicating that $50 in fuel had been dispensed . The attendant who was standing on the other side, gave me back $10 from the $50 note offered. When questioned , I was told that the meter on the other side was indicating $40.
    Is it my understanding that the gas station operators,by that I mean individual managers , have the authority to calibrate the pump’s fuel delivery? If this is so ,therein lies a possible answer to the above query.

30. I have seen booster heaters in two brands.

The one I am most familiar with was on a 20 amp circuit, single phase.

It is either a 1Kwatt or 1.5 kwatt element.

I am going to assume the smaller value.

Now, watch how the numbers play out.

If it is turned on for an hour, 1 Kilowatt Hour of electricity is consumed and the BL&P charges at the moment 47 cents for the fuel and say 20 cents for electricity (assuming the third tier of the rates).

Lets round that to 70 cents for the hour.

Not bad!!

Now suppose it is left on for a day, that is 70 cents x 24 hours = $16.80.

Suppose it is forgotten and runs for 10 days.

$168.00!!

… and if it runs for a month ….. $504.00!!!!

If the element were actually 1.5kWatts then that money would be $756!!

The particular solar heater I am most familiar with had a pressure relief valve.

I don’t think it had a thermostat.

If it did, then the thermostat would have controlled the electrical power to the heater so the expense would not have been as high as $504.00, or $756.00.

If it didn’t, the customer would be billed for $504.00 ($756.00 if the element was $1.5kWatts) because the energy was consumed on the premises, through the meter!!

It is really important in these days that consumers know how to read their electrical meters. They can save themselves significant money and become aware of the activities which cost them the most in energy.

Once you become aware of the cost to run an appliance and assuming you want to minimise the money you spend in energy, then you will automatically find ways to save energy.

It is actually fun.

That example can be applied to a 100 watt light bulb.

If you left one on 24/7 for one month solid it would cost you 1/10th of $504 or $50.40.

If you ran it only at night, every night, it would cost you a half, or $25.20.

And if you ran a 150 watt bulb all night every night the cost would be 1.5 times $25.20 or $37.80.

You can see why fluorescent bulbs save, for the same light output they require less energy than incandescent bulbs.

Much of the energy supplied to an incandescent bulb will be dissipated as heat.

You can also see that heating requires real energy ……. and although I haven’t shown it, so too does cooling.

Lighing is cheapest.

Hit the activities that involve heating or cooling hardest, that is not to say to ignore lighting and you will save.

Learn how to read your meter so you can see the results of your efforts, don’t be confused by the estimates or interim bills that come.

Hope rates come down, but realise that they will probably continue to rise.

KNOW YOUR ACTUAL USAGE.

31. BL&P rakes in 45 million, the highest profit in four years, It can all be attributed to the recent FTC rate hike.

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticlenew.php?ptitle=Profits%20up%20for%20power%20company&article=8203&pdate=2011-07-11

32. This is a source of financial reports for Barbados Light Power

http://www.blpc.com.bb/co_rep.cfm

This a report ftom the FTC for 2009.

http://www.ftc.gov.bb/library/2009_annual_report_ftc_barbados.pdf

Note page 8 and 9 of this report on the Fuel Adustment Charge and removal of the government subsidy in November 2008.

33. “During the period under review the fuel adjustment charge for Secondary Voltage and Large Power customers rose from 28.5220 cents per kilowatthour in April of 2008 to 49.821 cents per kilowat hour in August of the same year.

The Government subsidy which allowed the fuel adjustment charge to remain at the October 2007 level 23.5357 cents per kWh for domestic and general power customers continued until November 2008 when the fuel adjustment charge fell below the subsidised rate.

In view of this the subsidy was removed in November 2008 and thereafter all customer classes paid the same fuel adjustment charge.”

Wonder what the subsidy amounted to as a total dollar figure and who the Government got to fund it?

Whether we pay up front or whether the Government incurs the debt on our behalf is the question.

If we feel the cost directly in our pockets we will act for the better to reduce the impact upon us.

34. The behaviour of the fuel adjustment charge in the graph on page 9 of the FTC report is quite fascinating.

35. …. October 2007 …… wasn’t that a couple of months before elections?

36. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

you have given some intereting pointers, i use the machin every two weeks, no fans, no ac, The small fridge cuts in and out and thewriter says it used 437 kmh per year, I have only flourescent bulbs, motion sensor in the garage and at the back of the house, only press shirts, no dryer, dont use the switch to the solar, sometimes will fall asleep with television on and thats it.

I am going to get some lamps, by the way wonder when solar power television and stereo sets coming?

37. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

can you get some one to produce the ROI, the ROE, the interest cover among other things to let us see how bl&p is fairing when compared to similar companies

38. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@all

Can you remember Mr. Worne keep saying that the Govt could not continue the subsididy with the comapny, i am now wondering why he had such a specail interest in the topic.

39. @ CB
    ……..’Is it my understanding that the gas station operators,by that I mean individual managers , have the authority to calibrate the pump’s fuel delivery’?

The answer to that (if it is a Sol station) is NO!!

Try the ‘new’ Bio diesel…….cheaper and seems to be working well…..smells like something frying but I am told it cleans the engine well.

40. Stephen Worme indicated that BNOC would have to be the one to disclose details of the BNOC/BL&P arrangement.Maybe the time has come for the details of this agreement to be made public.

I agree!

Now…John….I keep saying that we have checked everything…and yes! we have an electrical switch that powers up the solar unit when there is excessive rain and no hot water…..WE HAVE NEVER USED IT AND IT REMAINS OFF ALL THE TIME. All I can say at this time is: down the road a man has a large bar with pool tables and several beer cooler…everything runs 24/7…how come my bill more dan his by $600 – I am a home for crying out loud…. and I am basically living in one bedroom with my little office on the side. Downstairs lights are used so very occasionally…kitchen light is fluorescent. I have explained all above as to how I live…no need to do it all over again. I have explained that we had an electrician come here and look into each and every appliance…Life is stressful enough without having to read meters three times a day, mathematically working out whether my bill should be this or that. I am exhausted by all the worrying of how to make ends meet, am at my computer from 3 a.m. sometimes ’till 9/10 in the evening writing (my living) to eek out ‘charity’ money, (I say charity because I had a Marketing Manager from a company on the island tell me that “their charity budget was used up” when I asked for sponsorship for something to do with the arts – I learned that their company places the creative arts under the charity label which does not surprise me when we do receive charity money for the work we do!!!) So quite frankly just want a simple explanation as to why the bill is that high this month….and if there is no real explanation…then all I want from BL&P is how can I organize to pay this horrific bill slowly ’cause I ent got it this month…and the shock of the bill still has me even more stressed out!!!

@David – I am still talking to BL&P. Will answer some of their questions today and the beat goes on…..I am simply exhausted….

41. In the days gone by when we used to pay BL&P for their product without the fuel surcharge, what were they using for fuel? The same fuel we are now paying for? What I can’t understand is if someone is selling a service or product wouldn’t their prices include their all production cost? Ok I am no financial guru nor am I an economist, since the price of oil has risen, and we are made to pay this surcharge, I would like to know what percentage does oil have in their production costs, and at what price do they cost their fuel. Since they were granted a rate increase wouldn’t they have an increase in their fuel costs as well? This surcharge seem very unfair with the big profits they are making. We need to have them audited by an independent firm to see if and how much they have been ripping us off. In these trying times profits like these are unheard of unless there has been some price gouging. We the consumers are at their mercy and there seem to be no one to protect us. We are at sea on a boat without life jackets and life boats. Stupse…The bajan consumer is too docile and lazy. We need to march and protest this horrendous prices gouging by BL&P. Get up of yuh asses and let us be heard!

42. I definitely got to stop reading all news. I doan even buy newspapers buh on ocajion does peep at de online ones. Now I gine have to stop reading dem too. Lawd have is mercy…whey de smelling salts? Wey de Alcolado? Me cyan onderstan….me jess cyan onderstan….Lawd…leh me tell ya lawd…forgive my sins lawd buh Hackleton Cliff looking sweet to fly off from so I could meet wid u and de angels – dat is only eff you can assure me dat we ent got a Barbados Light & Power in Buhbayduss Heaven lawd…please tell muh now ’cause eff you got one up dere lighting up de souls, I gine move to Trinidad or Venezuela so when I dead, is dem heaven I gine to.

How in de name of hell can I read in Barbados Today that our monopolizing uranium company has made a whopping profit last year of 47 something million??? Dat de rise we government give dem ’cause dat huge profit?? And knowing how people suffering under the weight of these hikes, dat those talking to the press from dis same power company seem filled with so much pride to blurt out these figures like we all gine have a celebration over it!!! And what de backside is Self Insurance Fund…and whose money gine into that and what great investments are helping that company and its investors??? ‘Cause to me it sound like some o’ we money gine in dey and den de Uranium Company telling we is dat money dat help we island get over de big hurricane….I beg ya please explain dat one to me ’cause I real dumb and blond…leh tell ya. Is all ya pay to set we island straight after dat blow out from the weather….or was it we de people? ‘Cause eff it was we de people…den is us who should be proud dat we money fix up dis’ island and not the grand pompasetting of the Barbados Light & Power Co. Just asking? I only begging a question??? Maybe this fund is coming directly from the Directors’ pockets….and we should be grateful to them for dat!

Please! Please! like dis’ power company want all of us who cyan’t afford a piece of dem pie to decide that communism is the best way out of all of this….. ‘Cause eff you aks me… dis’ democracy sounding more and more like dictatorship to we! Buh den I probably gorn off a little in me head dis’ mawning so doan pay me no mind hear???

I know you got to make a profit Light & Power but 47 million in de people face? We definitely real poppets to accep dis’! An yu adding insult to injury by den telling we about how you working closely with big developments??? Who cares about big developments right now? We de people cyan’t even buy food after your bills. Hoteliers cyan’t even get people to come to dis’ over-de-top-highly priced island. Agents cyan’t get nutting sold, people leaving de country and putting dem house up for cheap cheap…uprooting dem families and moving away ’cause o’ de cos’ o’ living…you ent see how much real estate up for sale in this country? De whole of Buhbayduss under sale…de whole little rock under pressure…and you gine come out in the news and rub our faces in your big profits an’ tell we about more to come with big developments? I cyan see how more is to come ’cause my bills (and de ress’ o’ de island) dis’ year gone skyrocketing so high even de planes flying right over we and tekking de people dem to udder lands for de cheaper holiday! Gee me a break!!! BREAK!!! BREAK!!! BREAK!!!

And now…my blood pressure real gorn up. My head feel like a raas turbine dis’ early mawning and I ent even get a cup of tea yet…shoots cyant use me kettle…got to put a pot on me gas stove to boil a little water hear…wey is dat calm-your-nerves tea….dat vervain me buy in de market??? Wey me blood pressure pills…and dat valium de doc gee me de udder day when I opened my electric bill…I need all all dis’ mawning…All I can say is praise be dat we Caribbean people ent like walking ’bout in rain ’cause all now so I would be on my way to de east coas’….

43. I don’t remember ever not paying a fuel adjustment charge for electricity.

If the fuel cost were treated as a straight cost of doing business then I guess BL&P could expect to make a markup on it.

Perhaps they do but I get the impression that the idea behind the fuel adjustment charge (FAC) is to avoid this … I could be wrong.

The audited financials forBL&P reveal they paid $306,803,000 for fuel in 2010, $236,552,000 in 2009, $297,612,000 in 2008, $225,299,000 in 2007 and $195,447,000 in 2006.

Between October 2007 and November 2008, the GOB provided a subsidy which kept the fuel charge adjustment at a steady value. It looks like the fuel cost in this period was in excess of $250,000,000.

Whatever the subsidy was, I am guessing it was in excess of $100,000,00 which is a debt we owe somebody incurred on our behalf to make someone look good for elections.

While I understand the concern that BL&P might very well be FACING us at the moment, I would like to know how we were FACT in the past.

Politicians and elections were involved so I know for a fact we were FACT.

Who do we owe what debt to and how are they collecting on it?

44. islandgal246

Ok I am no financial guru nor am I an economist, since the price of oil has risen, and we are made to pay this surcharge, I would like to know what percentage does oil have in their production costs, and at what price do they cost their fuel

I can’t answer the question about price for you but I can point you to page 18 of the bl&p financial statements for 2010 where;

53 cents in the dollar goes to fuel excluding VAT.

18 cents go to Labour and materials

14 cents go to Taxes and VAT

7 cents go to capital investments

3 cents go to repayment of borrowings

2 cents goes to insurance

2 cents goes to shareholder dividends

1 cent goes to finance charges.

And yes, it would appear as though the shareholders do get their 2 cents worth.

45. Another thing, why are we still using 50 cycles while most of our appliances are 60 cycles? Because of this our equipment are damaged and the BL&P claim they are not responsible because we have to protect them from their product they sell us. So what use is all the surge protectors we have are all made for 60 cycle equipment and the BL&P keep telling us that we need to protect our equipment because they are not responsible for their failure or damage. This seems so ass frontwards.

46. Page 9 and 10 have a bit about price of oil

The old adage of not having all your eggs in one basket applies very much to the situation that most islands in the Caribbean, including Barbados, find themselves today. Oil provides almost all of our island’s energy needs and
    represents the single largest expense in the generation of electricity. In 2010, the total cost of fuel purchased by the Company was Bds$306.8 million, up on the 2009 expense of Bds$236.6 million. The year opened with oil prices around US$80 per barrel and climbed steadily throughout the year ending around US$95 per barrel. With continued political instability in several of the major oil producing nations there is a strong possibility that oil prices will spike again.

The Company recognizes that it is important for it to continue investing in more efficient plant and equipment. Over 80% of the gross generation was produced on the least expensive heavy fuel oil, using efficient generating plant.
    The Company is determined that its future be based on a broader choice of energy sources, but finding economic alternatives is not easy.

Nonetheless, while the effort to diversify electricity generation away from oil has its challenges, it is imperative that we do so in the long term national interest and for the benefit of our customers.

In February 2010, the Government of Barbados indicated its support for the importation of natural gas via undersea pipeline from Trinidad & Tobago and established a n a t u r a l gas negotiating team to pursue discussions with
    gas suppliers and the Eastern Caribbean Gas Pipeline Company. Steady progress is being made on this proposal, which continues to be an attractive option for Barbados to secure a clean source of energy at a lower cost than oil
    and on terms that provide price stability over the longer term.

Wind energy has long been suggested as a viable option for Barbados, and following extensive public consultations, planning approval was granted on December 8, 2010 for the construction of a wind farm at Lamberts, St. Lucy. Discussions have now resumed with the landowner for the lease of the site at Lamberts. The Company remains committed to the community and will ensure
    that the project adheres to the conditions as set out by the Chief Town Planner.

etc. etc. etc.

47. Thank you John, but if they are making so much profit why can’t they absorb some more of the oil surcharge. Or offer less to the shareholders when profits exceed a certain amount. Something ain’t right there.

48. Rosemary

All you have to do if your bill is an estimate is to read the meter and see if BL&P owes you …. or the other way round.

If you are indeed consuming the electricity BL&P says you are then figure out which days your consumption rate matches the Daily Average they have on your bill in the column marked Daily Ave. (kWh).

One day will probably do.

A reading at the beginning and end of a 24 hour period will give you an idea of what’s what …. no great mathematics required, just subtraction of two numbers.

Their computer did the mathematics and provided you with a Daily Ave. (kWh) with which to compare what you get.

You only need to go down to the detail of more regular daily measurements and mathematics if you decide it is warranted and you feel like doing it.

I found it fun when I did it, kind of like sleuthing.

49. islandgal246 | July 12, 2011 at 9:47 AM |
    Thank you John, but if they are making so much profit why can’t they absorb some more of the oil surcharge. Or offer less to the shareholders when profits exceed a certain amount. Something ain’t right there.

You will have to take that one up with the shareholders and management.

Audited financials for previous years might give say they are …… or maybe not.

When I get a chance I will look.

Given the capitalist nature of our economy I would guess not … but until I look, I won’t know.

50. @John….we are monitoring same as we speak….I keep saying we are doing everything we can to find out what the problem is…so far nothing is coming up except a vicious bill to deal with…

Tomorrow we will read the meter at 6 a.m., then 6 p.m., then 6 a.m. and get back to Light & Power as they have requested. I will say in all fairness, that whilst I pose and will continue to pose questions over the excessive profits (and excessive bills) of Barbados Light & Power when we are suffering so much financially over the global recession, Mr. Worme from Light & Power has answered my letter to him in a far more dignified manner than mine to him…I tend to rant when I am really upset (like no one has noticed!! but at least they are truth!!!) and we are working on finding out what the problem is here. I will not discuss my personal consumption of electricity any more until we have sorted it all out with the company….so I can make some kind of report.

I still want to know more about this Self Insurance Fund? I am guessing John that when you say 2 cents goes to insurance…is it this Self Insurance Fund? And is this fund owned or looked after by a separate company? Also with investors? ‘Cause if this is so, then it is my money, your money, we money that going into this….or is it? As I said, just asking. My father taught me from young ‘Informate es tu deber’ – to inform yourself is your duty!

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply