Prime Minister Bruce Golding (l), Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (r)

BU resisted giving our two cents on the current tug war between Barbados and Trinidad but defend we must the yella blue. All the other Caribbean islands defend their ‘colours’ and honour, Bajans however are expected to be a rare breed of people who should adsorb the disrespect of our Caricom neighbours with ‘grace and aplomb’.

First it was Guyana heaping their crap on us in the great immigration debate, Jamaica recently joined the fray with the still unsettled Myrie incident and now Trinidad and Tobago – the ridiculous outstanding fishing agreement not withstanding – decides to demonstrate  disrespect for Barbados by screwing us on REDjet’s certification. The issue of airworthiness was never a problem until REDjet exhausted the approval process. Now we are being asked to believe uncertified pictures which have miraculous;y appeared on the Internet showing a rusting landing gear of an alleged REDjet plane. Allyuh must think Bajans foolish fuh trute.

To add to the mamaguying being pulled by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, she trumpeted at the recent St. Kitts Caricom Summit that she is backing a Fast Ferry Service as a solution to making regional travel more affordable. How convenient that such a service would not have to compete with CAL. How convenient the proposed passenger fare is $15.00. It should also be noted that a similar service on the San Fernando/Port of Spain sea route has been a financial failure to date.

Unlike the immigration issue with Guyana and the Myrie incident with Jamaica, the REDjet matter seems to be commanding popular support across the region. The people are supportive because the cost of regional air travel has spiralled out of control. The low budget strategy by REDjet seriously threatens the monopoly which BWIA/CAL has enjoyed for decades, more so now post-Air Jamaica acquisition. What some forget is that Barbados’ support for REDjet threatens the entity LIAT as well which has heavy financial implications for Barbados’ given our significant shareholding.

Even if the REDjet issue is settled tomorrow, the T&T government has exposed it’s hand. In what is a blatant protectionist move from a country whose inflow of capital and people threaten to sink Barbados, Barbadians should rightly feel betrayed. It has taken the REDjet matter to provoke the otherwise taciturn Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart to speak and Barbadians have been edified by it!

Yet again the two regional bullies of the Caribbean have tagged teamed to place the budding spirit of regional cooperation in a full nelson. History sadly records it happened once before in 1962.  We live in times where mankind again and again ignores history much to his peril.

Barbadians at home and afar will wait yet again on our government to defend our honour. So too we wait on the expected opposition response from the Barbados Labour Party .

1. Has it occurred to any of you or do you ever wonder why it is so that many other Caribbean nations have issues with Barbados and Bajans? Could it be that they are right in their assessments? What a novel thought. Bajans are, by far, the most pompesettin, arrogant people in the Caribbean. Your government keeps perpetuating the myths that Bajans are the most educated people in the Caribbean with the highest literacy rate and while that may have been true 25-30 years ago, it is no longer true. The average Bajan, excepting the elites of course, can’t even read or write up to the standards of the rest of the Caribbean. Your government, such as it is, regardless of party, is corrupt and puts democracy to shame. Your civil service is an embarrassment to both Bajans and visitors alike. Your Police Service does not even make a token effort at policing.
    Bajans need to get off their high horse and do a reality check. No man is an island and many of the criticisms leveled at you have substance.

2. Why can’t Barbados announce that it is in no financial position to continue propping up LIAT? Can anyone in the BU family tell me what are the short-term or long-term benefits of pumping millions of Barbados dollars into this non-profitable airline?

3. If Trinidad or Jamaica want to play hardball O.K.
    First we find all kind of reasons to delay,stop,impede the usual progress of their flights into Barbados.
    Next up the ante…Implement a special Tax on all Trini and Jamaican owned businesses,,,(Cover this with Drug related problems that other Countries apparently seem non related)..This can be associated with Land ownership,,Companies owned by them,,etc.,,Reinvestigate citizenship and also cover that up with something like We are reveiwing the status of acquired Barbados Resident,,,Citizenship by marriage etc., etc.,..Turn the screws. Check out Venezuela for some cheap oil(But dont sell your soul)..
    I have a funny suspicion that these countries have a whole lot more to loose than Poor Insignificant BARBADOS……….

4. is seeking every avenue to protect your interest bullying? isn’t protecting the interests of barbados what we are calling on our politicians to do as well? we bajans love a freeness and it seems that the 9.99 fares was like music to our ears but what will be the unintended consequences of a free flying redjet to the region as a whole? would red jet be prepared to service those unprofitable routes now serviced by liat?

5. Redjet planes cannot island hop, besides their business plan does not in-cooperate such. So complete with Liat for market share would only in routes of T&T and Guyana. Liat don’t service the Jamaica route.
    What would be a commonsense move for both Liat and Redjet is that they should both work together to create a seamless travel for anyone booking through any of these two airlines who want to travel to a destination where one of the airline don’t service, making it hassle free for the traveler. AA, BA and other have One World airlines why can’t Redjet and Liat work on an arrangement something along that line. The wheel don’t need to be reinvented, it just need to be adapted our market

6. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Balance

If we retaliate wouldnt that consider protecting on interest too? What is good for the goose should be good for the gander.We dont want anything free, having to pay lower fares cannot be considered free.

We want to be able to travel around the Region at reasonable cost, with the airlines making a profit and not price gouging and holding us as hostage to high fares.

Why did cal respond to lower fares initially, as well as LIAT. i THINK your non-de-plume should be changed from balance..

7. Credit to Freundel for speaking up on this matter. We should not be pushed by Bissessar and Golding. Check before your retailate. Your style will work here Stuart, think, analyse then speak and ACT. Barbados has something to lose, so move with care and precision. Don’t take this sitting down Stuart.

8. @ Whittaker,
    Do you know every single Bajan? Yes, there are many Bajans who are arrogant, foolish, and have false pride and like to talk nonsense about other islands and think they better than other islands, etc. But not all are like that.
    (BTW, I agree with the literacy assessment. I happen to believe that many Bajans are functionally illiterate and do not realize it).

But in the same breath, you can say the same of other islanders too. I know of Trinidadians, St. Lucians, Jamaicans and others who look down their noses on Bajans and think they are better than us and are very arrogant about it.

Why is it always ok for other Caribbean people to paint all Bajans with the same brush, but when it is done to other islands they cry foul? Jamaicans will never, and rightfully so, tolerate being insulted, etc. because some of their countrymen are involved in illegal activities. But the minute a Bajan says or does something ignorant, the rest of the Caribbean thinks it is acceptable to condemn the entire country.

9. Oh, and I had the misfortune of visiting a thread a little while back where some Grenadians and Jamaicans were going at it. Vybz Kartel had been banned from Grenada, and the false pride and insults that were being thrown by and at each island were disgusting. But nobody ever talks about that.
    And if you into the US, you get people from ALL the Caribbean islands who like to look down their noses at African-Americans. And Africans who look down on Caribbean people and African-Americans, calling them ‘slave stock’ and so on.
    And in the UK, Africans who look down on Afro-Caribbeans and so on.

It is all part and parcel of Black people and their continued House Slave/Field Slave nonsense and why frankly I am getting sick to death of the whole lot of us.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This is the time for Barbados to sign on to the PetroCaribe agreement with Venezuela and stop buying oil from Trnindad.

11. When it all boils down it clear and simple, they have us by our short and curlies!

12. Any time somebody starts talking about black and white in such a national conversation they lose my interest. We discuss some national problem and then somebody has to throw in something about black people and white people, slavery and so on. If you are so fed up with the black people/slavery talk then surely you can find something else to say? By bringing it up yourself y7u are perpetuating the very thing you claim to dislike. Get a life, already…

13. I am tired of the talk
    tired og BU
    Tired Tired
    LETS START A WAR !

14. Well if you can’t see that many of these “national problems” actually have a historical and socio-economic root….
    And if you can’t see that there is almost ALWAYS a common manner in the (negative) way black people in EVERY country in the world (not just the Caribbean) go about solving their problems, as opposed to other groups….

And if you can’t see that the white people in the Caribbean aren’t really squabbling about these issues in the same way that the black people are.

It’s not about bringing up “black people/slavery” for the sake of it. It’s about understanding and learning from our mistakes, and seeking solutions. Unless one prefers confusion and quarrelling just for the sake of it.

15. Or, when you talk about national priorities you could just address matters of the entire nation and not spit out remarks about the colour of a person’s skin. Whites in Barbados buy the same things – and in the same places – as blacks, whether you like to think of that or not, and there are poor white people living “on the edge” too – whether you like to think of that or not as well.

Try to get over your own supreme importance and seek to achieve a wider perspective – maybe travel somewhere else and see how other people live and fight the same fights for survival and progress. Bajans are not “special” in that respect.

When you hear Americans talking about their national priorities you don’t hear them inserting irrelevant remarks about white or black Americans – try to grow up a little and take your racism talk into somewhere else that may be more appropriate.

In any case, this is certainly not a thread to be discussing that material or those racist perspectives. But that’s just my opinion, and I have the right to cease visiting this thread – and BU, if I so decide – if you continue to make race an issue in an intra-regional discussion.

16. Anoymuss:
    The fact that you need to bring up the fact that whites in Bim do the same things as blacks, and that there are poor whites in Barbados, etc. says more about you than it does about me. Where in my comments did I ever say that this was not the case?
    The fact that I mentioned the words “black people” and “slavery” in a particular context, and you would take that and try to suggest that my entire comment was “racist talk” says more about you, than it does about me.
    The fact that you would assume I have never travelled anywhere, again says more about you than it does about me.
    I responded to Whittaker who suggested that because some Bajans are arrogant towards other Caribbean people, the whole country deserves some of the unfair treatment they are getting at the hands of their Caribbean neighbours. I merely pointed out to him that other Caribbean people do this too, right here and in other parts of the world. And that this is not a new thing for us, and we simply need to understand why we do this. Because I thought the whole point of debate was to get solutions to our problems, not just quarrel for the sake of it.
    Yes, all groups are fighting for survival and engage in ignorant tactics. There is no problem that black people have that other groups don’t have. However, the common thread is that many of our problems are usually at a higher rate than other groups. Perhaps if YOU widened your perspective, you would understand this.
    You would also know that in America many of their problems ARE actually discussed from a racial perspective.

YOU are the one who decided to take what I said and turn it into a racial diabtribe. Kindly show me exactly where I: “spit out remarks about a person’s skin?”
    Again, that you would come to such a conclusion says more about you than it ever could about me.

Finally, if, in your words I need to “get a life”, shouldn’t you just be ignoring me?

17. funny stuff this… “start a war..” cries Tina Roach, ..well with what ? the prisitine BMWs that the BDF drives around ? you should go back to prediciting the end of the world.and sign up to lead the cavalry.That other idiot CCC : caribe… oh yeah.. better look very very closely at the contracts.. i did ; not as cheap as you think , and besides who wants to be a friend of chavez other than gadaffi. .. smokescreens for a pack of incompetents who are pretending to stand up for something because nothing else is happenning. boycott what ? supposedly our “own” airline that is the core of this discussion had us as a second choice for a hub..imagine that … that is business folks..get over it

18. Kamla and otherTrinidadians must believe that Bajans are the biggest idiots that God ever punch a bumhole in.
    BWIA / CAL have ruled our airspace for ages, never mind it was the Dipper who got Bwee permission to fly into Canada, but REDjet is barred from the Twin Island .The Tobago fishermen want to sell Barbadians flying fish, but are happy to lock up our fishermen if they stray into T&T waters. Now Kamla is offering us a $15 fast ferry from Port of Spain, and if that is not enough, she is still pushing for the multi-million dollar natural gas pipe line to feed BL&P’s generators.
    In todays Nation we see the Minister of Trade , Mr Benn lamenting over the neighbouring islands not buying Bajans products. Bajans are not buying Bajans products also, because most of our supermarket shelves are filled with cheaper products out of Trinidad and Tobago.
    Yes, the Trinis could be right in their assessment of us.
    Signing on to Petro Caribe and obtaining membership of the OECS are looking like more viable alternatives.

19. Bajans need to buy Bajan products it would make a massive positive difference to our foreign exchange and boost employment. Anyone blind to this simple economic truth wants Barbados to fail regretably there are many among us who dont care if Barbados sinks or swims.

20. may b it is time that barbados play ball with trinidad and jamaica,all of cal’s flights should b barred from landing at bgi until red jet /barbados is respected then may be trinidad and jam town would smarten up,jamaica must b told that bgi immigration will not accept ja dutty gals coming here to ply their trade.

21. any way,who told trinidad/jamaica that cal is the air line of the caribbean it certainly is not the air line of barbados.further more did jamaica bar british airways from jamaica when the british authorities would search air jamaica planes from top to bottom and eventually not allowing them to fly there because the jamaicans disrespected their illegal drug rules….oh bruce and coke….oh jack and fifa bribes.

22. no joa there is nothing wrong with barbados protecting its interests but to be balanced we need to put our emotions on hold if we are to provide balance to important discourse. the question is rhetoric notwithstanding, how can we flex our muscle? most of the major conglomerates in barbados like Shipping and Trading( even though the ink did not yet dry on the sale when mr thompson assumed office) are owned by trinidad and will continue to nuy their goods from trinidad; we need airlift for our tourist market; so i do not see how banning CAL airlines would help our cause. perhaps asCCC suggests we should rethink our decision not to join the PETRO-CARIBE PACTor explore ways to impose some sort of tariff on goods from Trinidad.do not forget too that bajans like cheap prices and are not that patriotic to ignore cheap goods from whereverelse in preference to more expensive goods made locally.

23. by the way joa- i forgot to ask you what is reasonable costs to travel through the caribbean?

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

While it would be wonderful to contemplate driving onto a fast ferry in one island and driving off at another, the quoted cost of US$15 sounds rather ridiculous. That is of course unless T & T is contemplating ‘PREDATORY PRICING’. Worth reading on Wikepedia is FAST FERRY SCANDAL later dubbed FastCatFiasco and allowing politicians to get involved in Canada’s British Columbia.

25. @Loveridge… LOL… That brings back memories.

Those considering “fast ferries” might want to learn some additional lessons…

http://archive.nsnews.com/issues03/w033003/035103/news/035103nn3.html

Please note that the Premier of British Columbia was successfully sued by an Engineer for defamation because the former said that the latter was wrong when the latter said “it won’t work”.

26. does not $9.99 fares by redjet to guyana elsewhere in the caribbean not sound ridiculos as well mr loveridge and can’t such fares be described as predatory pricing as well? pity that you did not use the same logic when redjet came on to the market with such unsustainable fares to bamboozle the travelling public.

27. @balance

Do you understand the concept of low budget airline? Google it!

28. re fastferries,

I really do not understand the objection to ferries, they are the most logical solution to the cost of Caribbean travel….if the sea logistics work.

Quite simply …more numbers = wider base to spread cost = cheaper fares.

As it is, airplanes use a notorious amount of fuel. While ferries use fuel also, the fuel to passenger ratio should be vastly reduced.

In addition, the possibility of a passenger carrying much more cargo (i.e. going to T&T and shopping for nuff clothes etc and coming back the evening) is more attractive than one or two suitcases.

The ONLY logistical stumnling block should be the sea roughness between here and the other islands. Are suitable boats available to do this efficiently?

We do not need one hour boats even, a two or three hour trip that is significantly cheaper is enough.

The businesmen can get airlines for their must have one hour trip.

Sightseers and families getting on a boat at 4am and being in T&T (after customs etc) for 8:30 am downtown POS will be quite good. Then leaving T&T at 5pm and getting out of customs into B’town at 10pm, then home.

We wont be doing it everyday.

The main logistical issues are the sea travel, security /safety and the implementation in each country of suitable customs clearance to make it faster.

However, local businessmen here might not like us going to T&T to buy the cheaper goods.

But, it would give families a chance to see the other islands without having to get a major loan. Lol.

At least do the analysis professionally, do not shoot it down before it starts, if you do that I have to ask…WHY?

29. We are all missing the point, T&T now owns so much of Barbados, that we have to dance to their tune. Wasn’t this the same T&T that stopped the oil exploration to the EAST of Barbados because it was in their waters? If the EAST of Barbados is in their waters and T&T is to the WEST of Barbados, then it goes that Barbados is ( as far as they believe) in their waters. We have sold all of our main businesses to T&T namely, BS&T, Mc ENEARNEY, Trimart, BNB and the list goes on, seriously, who now controls Barbados? He who rules the finances rules the roost.

30. @Whittaker ”The average Bajan, excepting the elites of course, can’t even read or write up to the standards of the rest of the Caribbean. Your government, such as it is, regardless of party, is corrupt and puts democracy to shame. ”

—-

I usually do not get into ‘your country is not better than mine’ nonsense, but you obviously have issues.

On the literacy point, that is hogwash, plain and simple. Pity I do not have the statistics to show how many bajans emigrate and end up doing so well in USA/UK and continue to do so, based on the high literacy rate.

On the second point ‘corruption of government’…you gotta be joking..right?

All I have to do is open the international news and turn to football…..LOL.

That is one..next, who is/ was Allen Stanford? That is the next.

Third, who appears to be very close to a recently arrested and extradited drug lord? That is three.

Need I go on?

So, before you start spouting island hatred, bring some facts and focus on the issue at hand, how do we resolve the travel issue.

31. @Anonymouse ‘Unlike Jack Warner, he does not babble nonsense just to make noise or gratuitously make himself look stupid, unlike Kamla he does not display the inability to make decisions, unlike Bruce he is not in anyone’s pocket to do as he is told.’

—-

Fair words….also unlike Warner, his mind is on the country, not football too 😉

As for Kamla, great disappointment, but then, she did fight for the PM job, when Dooeran should have been the one to lead them into the prior election.

They back-stab their buddy and longtime leader Dookeran bad, what makes you think they would not stab the rest of us?

32. please enlighten me david

33. LLC work by only offering a few seat @ the 9.99 fare. then the fare precedes upwards in price ($10/20 us a time). in LLC they may/maynot cover carryon baggage. If they don’t then you pay extra for it. For all checked luggage you pay extra for it. for food/drink you pay extra for it. for priority boarding you pay extra for it. The main fare isn’t where they make their money, is in the extra the make the money from. They are structure is such that they don’t have excessive cost. they vastly popular in all other region in the world except the Caribbean. Some of them operate some of the biggest airfleets in the world. They go for medium to short haul distance. If anything else you want to know google is your friend . you should use it.

34. For the fast ferry service assuming 40 knots. you get a travel time about just over 5 hrs. assuming about 30-40 minutes for customs. this of course doesn’t take in account of the Atlantic which could easily force the craft to reduce speed to 30-25 knots which would then mean travel time of 7-9 hrs. To ignore the atlantic factor you would need some large fast ferries then fuel burn to turnover if affected. Remember unlike LLC fast ferry rates are standard so it all of the passenger paying $15 us. Currently the is is 8-9 us to go from trinidad to tobago on fast ferry and that route hasn’t met with much finical success but it they wish to subsidize the cost i think we should exploit it

35. @Crusoe: “I really do not understand the objection to ferries, they are the most logical solution to the cost of Caribbean travel….if the sea logistics work.

There should be no objections to ferries.

There might be reasonable objections to “fast ferries”, which consume huge amounts of fuel. Please remember that a body passing though a fluid must displace that fluid.

Water is very heavy. The faster a body passes through a fluid the more energy it consumes. Why do you think airplanes travel at such high heights even for short hops?

Separately, why must everything be “fast” nowadays?

36. @CH,

I quite agree, which is why I noted that businessmen can use airlines if they must, but the rest of us travelling on leisure or even business, can use ferries with a slower timetable.

Point taken on the fuel usage.

37. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

The issue that needs to be resolved is Redjet obtaiing permission to travel to Jamaica and Trindad. As the Prime Minister has so eloquently said, we have certified Redjet, and those countries are questionning the abilities and competencies of our avaition authoriity and I have a serious problem witt that.

Further, it is rather strange that Trinidad’s PM could moot a ferry at this time, when she doesnt even want our fishermen to travel to waters under her control to catch flying fish of which they had no interest in for years. Do you really believe.that it will invest in ferry to serve the region?. That country has a history of massive corruption, look at what happened when it expanded its airport, More was stolen than it cost to build the said airport. The mooting of the ferry service it to keep us distracted. So give me my redjet so that i can get my dstination quicker. I AM NOT INTERESTED IN PAMELA’S FERRY., For ion, it had promised to construct a natural gas pipe line from trinidad to barbados and what has happened to that. Both Pamela and Manning have no respect for Barbados AND THINK THAT BARBADAINS ARE STUPID. PERHAPS IT COMES DOWN TO ENVY..

38. Just only asking
    Why should it come down to envy? T&T already owned the better parts of our viable businesses. What they are doing is taking control of Barbados.

39. “Both Pamela and Manning have no respect for Barbados AND THINK THAT BARBADAINS ARE STUPID. PERHAPS IT COMES DOWN TO ENVY..”

Now what would we have for them to envy? The name is KAMLA AND NOT PAMELA .

We have to get this into our heads, because our national dish is flying fish that does not mean all the flying fish in the Caribbean sea belong to us. If the flying fish is in Tobago’s waters it is theirs and not ours. If Tobago want to process the flying fish and sell to us it is their business. Let us fist put certain things in perspective. Barbadians prefer to see their money in a bank account than to invest it. We cannot have our cake and eat it too. There is no one to blame but ourselves if Trinidad companies buy Bajan ones. Why don’t we invest in Trinidad companies?

40. @the Scout

What they are doing is taking control of Barbados.

Just in time to stop the Chinese?

41. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

A country with no natural resources can continue to do so well irrespective of if the b or d runs it. That what i mean by envy. We have superior infrastructural developments when compared to our oil giant neigbour.

wHIich Adminitration allowed T&T comapanies to dominate our economic landscape?

The point i want to make Islandgal, is the japenese if fish in the caribbean and nobody dare arretst them., but our fishermen not allowed to fish in trinidad’s water unless they pay enormoust fees, that waht people like you call regional intergration..

42. But can you blame T&T for “second guessing” our ability to maintain a relatively sophisticated aircraft,when this morning on a ABC Highway, a state owned Transport Board bus, yet again, had its rear axle assembly ,including the four rear wheels , completely detached from the chassis and ending up on the other side of the road.
    One shudders to think of such happening to a loaded bus while in the hilly St Andrew -St Joseph area. And this has become a real possibility.
    This sort of thing never happened when the Transport Board was fully in charge of its own maintenance.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply