1. @Carson
    Inspite of the BLP and its 14 year history, your DLP can be defeated by the economy. In fact I believe that in the minds of Barbadian electors, both parties are not worth their x and as such neither really has an edge come 2013.

2. Robert Deschappé | June 26, 2011 at 3:08 PM |

You guys really cause me to question this 98% literacy rate thing you are always boasting about.

Roger that……….US 98%

3. Carson Cadogan you ignorant selfish SOB. I am not like you so don’t judge me by your low standards. When last have you done something for someone less fortunate than you? You are one BIG pile of CAT SHIT!

The galvanize is in very good condition, even the man quoting for the job was surprised that we are taking it off. He said that it looked like it is just two to three years old even though it is older.

The problem with some people is that they don’t want to give away things that are in good condition. They prefer to sell it or throw it away. Those people who haven’t any roof covering I am sure they will welcome used roofing.

4. CUH DEAR!
    How about the lanlord that collects five dollars a week from the oldlady living in that dilapidated house and when question he said that he ask the government for a loan to fix it but they told him he must be living in the house to get a loan.

5. David
    Indar Weir is playing tricks with the video. I watched it two times and recognized that he said a house was flooded as the water run down the road. The camera was panned down and then a different house was shown. That is the brilliant engineers fault not Michael Lashley. I find the engineers in Barbados like they operate only on book sense and no common sense. Just like Arch Cot.
    Now I do a lot of driving around Barbados and I was shame when I drove through some villages in St.Peter up in Diamond corner and Boscobel. We have some serious housing problems to correct.
    An example of poor housing not owned by the occupant is the old lady in Deans Village. That criminal, a TEACHER takes five dollars from this senior citizen every week and would not even buy a sheet of form ply to put on the house.
    People are renting out 4X4 rooms for $150.00 a week and we are here talking about government. People live in the government houses for $45.00/month and have houses rented out. These are the houses the poor people should be getting.
    Indar Weir can get some carpenters and do like the Indians repair a couple of houses and let the people pay $20.00 a week. He would get a lot of votes but maybe not as much as to save his deposit.

6. @Clone

The good thing about the video is that it shows we have some work to do. We have people living in deplorable conditions which begs the question what is Urban Development doing and what is the role of the CCs in identifying those in need.

7. The system is blocked by some of the government policies. Some of these policies hurt more than help. i bet that some of those people and owners of those houses are still awaiting for loan approval from governments past and present over an extended period of time. Meanwhile the government overlooked these poor people while going ahead with massive loans to bail out big developers. One thing for sure is that “PEople are big part of of our Heritage” sometimes we are too quick to pat ourselves on the back “

8. | June 26, 2011 at 1:45 PM |
    @ Hants
    I regret learning of your partisan approach as I expect my fella Kolij bros to be very objective.

@ Moneybrain,

David would tell you that I don’t give a care (acquired canadian lingo) about your expectations.

I support the DLP and will never support another political party in Barbados
    and it won’t matter much because I am 59years old an gine soon dead anyway.

Now I gine an watch Patrick Husbands ride Check your soul in de Queen’s plate.
    I am a partisan supporter of Patrick an he ent went to Kolij but he as an awesome jockey.

9. Just saw this on TV.

Jockeys being introduced who are riding in the Queen’s plate.

My name is Patrick Husbands and I am from Barbados.
    My name is Jono Jones and I am from Barbados.
    My name is Slade Callaghan and I am from Barbados.

3 talented Bajans giving their homeland free publicity.

best of luck to the three of them but I hope Patrick wins.

10. Any of you who like horse racing can see the race on the cbc.ca web site.
    starts in 25 minutes.

11. I welcome your comments David and the opportunity to put the DLP housing THRUST in FOCUS.

The evidence is as follows from January 2008 – present :

1. MARCHFIELD , St. Philip 30 houses built – All 30 now occupied by first time home owners. Prices ranged from $ 123,000.00 to $ 175,000,00 inclusive the price of land @ $5.00 per square foot.

2 bedroom 569 Sq.Ft
    2 bedroom 644 Sq. Ft
    3 bedroom 820 Sq. Ft

2. WORKHALL , St. Philip 44 houses built – All 44 now occupied by first time home owners. Prices ranged from $ 125,000.00 to $ 189,000,00 inclusive the price of land @ $5.00 per square foot.

2 bedroom 569 Sq.Ft
    2 bedroom 644 Sq. Ft
    3 bedroom 820 Sq. Ft

3. GREENS , St. George 51 houses built – 37 now occupied by first time home owners. Prices ranged from $ 121,000.00 to $ 179,000,00 inclusive the price of land @ $5.00 per square foot. Please note 14 applicants are at various stages of completing their mortgage arrangements.

2 bedroom 569 Sq.Ft
    2 bedroom 644 Sq. Ft
    3 bedroom 820 Sq. Ft

4. FOURHILL , St. Peter 40 houses built – 35 now occupied by first time home owners. Prices ranged from $ 124,000.00 to $ 181,000,00 inclusive the price of land @ $5.00 per square foot. Please note 5 applicants are at various stages of completing their mortgage arrangements.

2 bedroom 569 Sq.Ft
    2 bedroom 644 Sq. Ft
    3 bedroom 820 Sq. Ft

5. FRENCH VILLAGE , St. Peter 17 .houses built – 12 now occupied by first time home owners. Prices ranged from $ 119,000.00 to $ 176,000,00 inclusive the price of land @ $5.00 per square foot. Please note 5 applicants are at various stages of completing their mortgage arrangements.

2 bedroom 644 Sq. Ft

6. COVERLEY , Christ Church 334 houses built so far ( from a total of 1,028 houses project due to completed in 2014). 217 houses are either completely sold ( i.e Mortgage arrangements completed or soon to be completed), 117 residents have taken up residence thus far. Prices of these houses range from $ 289,00.00 ( 2 bedroom) to $ 342,000.00 (3 bedroom) INCLUSIVE OF FULL FURNITURE PACKAGES. i.e Get your keys and all amenities are there for your enjoyment

7. STUART LODGE , Tweedside Road, St. Michael 20 2 bedroom units built. Rental rates soon to be disclosed.

8. COUNTRY PARK TOWERS , Country Road, St. Michael 56 2 bedroom units built and 8 3 bedroom units built ( 64 Units in total). Rents from $ 180.00 – $ 200.00 per week. Selection of applicants to be completed by mid July 2011.

9. LANCASTER 1 & 2 , St. Peters , 85 Starter Homes under Construction.

10. PARISH LAND, St. Philips 112 Starter Homes under Construction.

11. WOODBOURNE, St. Philip 20 Starter Homes to be constructed.
    4 of those houses are completed and the Housing Fair was held on 25th June 2011. Over 1,500 houses eager Barbadians attended.

12. VALERIE ,St. Michael 40 2 & 3 bedroom housing units under construction.

David, the prospective home owners are the ones determining the quick pace at which all these houses are being built by this SERIOUS & COMMITTED DLP Administration. WE promised them we would deliver affordable houses……and WE, according to them are delivering.

Never before 2008 were NHC applicants asked to show how much they can afford to own a house !

Therefore, the Rent – To – Own & Starter Home Programme were intensified by this DLP Administration to cater to those persons wishing to access housing in the $ 75,000.00 to $ 100,000.00 range INCLUSIVE OF LAND.

Here is how it works……The NHC build the houses and people become interested.

WE then say to those persons :

1. If you are not registered on the NHC database – SIGN UP.

2. Are you interested in a 2 or 3 bedroom house ?

3. Prospective homeowners are then asked to go their lending institution and let them indicate based on their salary and financial comittments how much money they qualify for in terms of a mortgage. A MORTGAGE CERTIFICATE is then prepared for the prospective homeowner and taken to NHC.

4. A search is then carried out at the Land Registry to make sure that the prospective homeowner does own a house/land…MUST BE A FIRST TIME HOME OWNER.

5. Once that prospective homeowner meets the qualification…..the negotiation is between their lawyer , their lending institution and the NHC Legal Unit.

6. When the transaction is completed – The NHC gets the money in FULL from the Lending institution, the prospective home owner NOW becomes home owner by receiving their keys from the NHC and pay their MONTHLY MORTGAGE payments to the LENDING INSTITUTION.

A win -win situation for all – The NHC makes some money – The financial institutions make some money = Barbadians finally get AFFORDABLE HOUSES that the BLP failed to deliver to them.

Barbadians over the past 3 years are acutely aware of the deception practiced by LIZ THOMPSON , OWEN ARTHUR & other BLP operatives.

Time for CHANGE came…….and is here to STAY !

12. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@thoughts

I dont rant that is the first thing. I considered myself an informed person and speak from a postition of knowledge. You cant fault my reasoning even if you try. Carcon has his own style, and mine is different from him. it has nothing to do with the minister being arrogant. Do you thiink he is responsible for the houses in those conditions?

What is Mr. Lashley to explain? that the houses are in deplorable conditions or how they reached that condiition or how he is performing as a Minister.. Since you said that you are a young person I would forgive you as you have not properly think through your question.

Do you think that the govt can repair every dilapidated house. Perhaps you might be one of those persons who oppose the establishment of Constituency Councils, but members of such bodies have been identifying such houses and referring them to the relevant bodies. People like you can also become very community minded and assist those persons who dont know how to get assistance, that is something i do on a daily basis, people like you can identify and seek out information to empower people with knowlege how they can get assistnce.

For example, National Housing has money available to give to people for house repairs and note i said give up to a maximun of $10 000. This is what i do inform people where they can get assistnce and it has nothing to do with spin.

I am not easily fooled by the the words young persons or non-partisan.

You know very well your choice of word was not appropiate and by the way I have never been good as spin. The point is the BLP supporters want miracles, but in 14 years there were no miracles. I have no problem with objective analysis, but dont come tell me that the Minister owes people and explanation because of such deporable housing conditions. Come on David, you know you can do better than that,

13. @not fooled

Thank you!

14. Should read:

4. A search is then carried out at the Land Registry to make sure that the prospective homeowner does NOT own a house/land…MUST BE A FIRST TIME HOME OWNER.

15. @ Not fooled,

Thanks for the info.

16. The system is boongogled and most of the homeowners have given up after being shafted around to the point of no return . So what is being shown in the picture is the aftermath of what could nave been avoided if government officials first sttood up and took notice. Is this what “Governent for the people by the people suppose to represent” give me a break!

17. @not fooled

Any one would have to agree this is impressive in the time frame of 3 years.

Could you advise what would be the range of mortgage payments and we acknowledge this number would change based on equity injection.

18. @ not fooled

Great job

19. Headline in “mainstream”Barbados newspaper. ” Government goes for $200m loan”.

But it is the government of BERMUDA.

uh wunda effin duh hope people wud get vex an doan read de rest uh de story?

20. Well four season looking for another 40 million us before they start construction again. Think most people will be happy when that starts back.

21. how much money ya got ta work fa to qualify for ah house for 100,000, or 123,000 or 179,000 ? and if ah police ,solider,fireman,bus driver and ah teacher are low income persons, de ppl in barbados that work for less than 1600 ah month wha ya does call them,i am 35yrs old and dont belong to no party but theses ppl in this bracket i live among and i hear them crying every day if de ppl i mentioned above are called low income de ones who work fa under 1600 wha ya does call them ??

22. and i wonder if any of the people living in them houses in the videowould qualify for the new housesand if they don’t then what?the eysores in the video remains for the world to see! simply amazing!

23. The picture painted in today’s sunday sun is not a very good one for the DLP coming from one of their senior members and seasoned economist. What will happen if this recession continues for a much longer period and these houses are left unoccupied?

24. NOt Fooled;

An excellent presentation of facts that appear to give the lie to statements by a number of posters about nuff houses being built but that few have been taken, etc. It would be useful if some of the people making such statements would respond to “not fooled”.

25. Not fooled sounds just like the minister talking. I drive around and I dont see all of these houses occupied as he is saying. Anyway, for those who purchased them, good for them. If the minister wants thanks, I say thank you.

But you Dems cant have it both ways. I heard Minister Stephen Lashley boasting last night and taking the credit and giving some to Steve Blackett for Bridgetown being designated a world heritage site. Now if Bridgetown was still in its dilapidated condition, would Bridgetown have been given the designation? I think not!

My take is that the government is building a lot of unsuitable, unfinished tiny houses for the so called poor people. They have turned Barbados into mendicant society. The BLP way is to provide the infrastructure and framework and let the people build what they want. The houses are too expensive for the average poor person who are the ones who really need the housing.

An acquaintance of mine who is a diehard Dem got one and poor soul with three children the place is so cramped because she could only afford a two bedroom. I told her she would have been better off taking the money and building a green heart house, it would have been much bigger than the match box she has.

Tell me, would the minister or any of the DLP bigups ever live in one of these match boxes being offered up as houses???

26. C C C
    I am convinced you are a member of the BLP party, because what you are doing is causing many readers to dislike the DLP party. If you are really a DLP yardfowl, you are crowing out of tune and doing a dis-service to the party. Even a FOOL when he/she keeps his/her mouth shut, is counted WISE. Food for thought.

27. Not fooled,
    Tell me who is going to pay Jada for all of these houses if they are not sold? The taxpayers???

I went to Coverley on the open day and one of the workers who was carting around people said to me [after I told the person that I see a lot of “sold signs” up] my man, as soon as all of you are gone, I have to go and pick back up those signs. Those “sold signs” were put up for show to make people believe that the houses are selling.

So minister, bring proof that over 200 of the Coverley houses are sold. I cant think that anyone in their right mind would pay over $300,000 for any of them.

28. Re the loan,
    It would have to be a mistake, this government cannot borrow money on the world market, we are just above junk status. Maybe, I should say, they can but the interest rate would be prohibited.Look what we come to!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SCOUT

I fool because I disagree with everything you say?

Then I will remain a fool, as nothing you say make any sense at all and I will continue to disagree with you.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

“I told her she would have been better off taking the money and building a green heart house”

You mean the type HARDWOOD HOUSES sold?

BTW how many houses did hardwood houses sell under the BLP?

31. David
    “BU believes the PM has taken Urban to bolster his position in his riding which has always been marginal at best.”
    This sum up situation velly good …

32. Blasted member of local Jack Ass community, not solve any problem .. replace one with another …no?

33. This video has generated tremendous interest on Facebook.

The popular feeling seems to be and outpouring of love for those living in such conditions in 2011.

Kammie Holder is talking about arranging a grocery drive.

Indar Weir is being condemned by many for not doing something about the plight of those he wants to serve.

Perhaps by cutting the video he thought he had done something.

Do not trivialize the power of the 100,000 plus Facebook Bajan posse and others in social media.

The traditional media is making the mistake and it will comeback to bite all of them.

34. pretty blue eyes Avatar
    pretty blue eyes

To everyone, yes some people have their priorities wrong, yes some of the houses were like that before the DLP came into power but give jack he jacket, in BLP times many poor people benefited from their policies.Michael Lashley is a lotta talk, the only people I see befitting are the rich owners of the Coverly project and the like, if Michale Lashley really cared about his constituents many of them would be in a better position by now, my goodnes this is 3 years they were in, ya mean they gine keep on blaming the BLP for emptying the treasury and leaving nothing for them to work with.If the treasury is really empty as they claim, then we definitely have the party in power.For a party that has vision can look at a glass and see it half full, they see the silver lining around the cloud and they get up and work with what they have. I hope the public servants understand they aint getting a raise this year, they can look for that late next year.

35. Bajans are the happiest people in the world. Over 9 million people have lost their homes due to foreclosure in the USA and the American Government , with an AAA+/Stable rating by Moody’s and Standard’s & Poor’s, can’t help them. However, the Barbados Government with a junkyard rating, must house all the unfortunate people whose houses have deteriorated to a delapidated state. I like Miss Mottley’s advice that the Moodys rating is a wake-up call and it is time to change how we are doing business. Unfortunately that includes operations at Urband and Rural Development.

36. @Chuckles

Although we have not seen Dereck Alleyne around BU recently we know he reads so perhaps your plea will not fall on deaf ears.

37. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Pretty Blue eyes

Public Officers would rather have a job than have an increase and force Governemnt to lay off those who are not appointed. which side would you like to be on?.

38. *sigh* @ just only saying.
    Firstly, it was you who indicated that the minister owes no one an explanation. I disagreed! The houses are in his constituency, no? No where did I indicate that Mr.Lashley was displaying arrogance. Re-read my post!
    Now, let me thank you for insulting my youthful intellect. Nice to also know that you are not easily fooled by the words “young person” or “non-partisan”.BTW, many young persons visit this site daily, some contributing, others just shaking their heads with wonder.OH, I also forgot: a lot of us are NON-PARTISAN. We vote according to how we perceive the ones seeking the mandate to SERVE US. And come 2013, a lot of us might not vote AT ALL!
    We surely don’t care about the blame game which you and CCC do so well nor the partisan politics of Prodigal Son or Truthman Burton.
    From your posts, you are apparently an older gentleman. I, and all other young people, are the future, you may continue to ignore that…

39. Good advice Just Only Asking.

Some of the commentary shows that many Bajans continue to be in denial about what is happening in the global arena.

In fact there is the distinct feeling by the BU household sometimes many live on Mars.

40. These houses in question are in need of repair, so new houses in Coverley or units at Country Road or Carrington Village are irrelevant. Given that they are in St. Philip North means that assistance should come from the Rural Development Commission. Rather than tell us how much houses the Ministry of Housing built, we should be told the number repaired by RDC since 2008, which would give us a better understanding as to why these houses are still in disrepair. What about the money voted for Tomas? But didn’t Lashley visited and never returned?

FACT: Between 2003 and 2007 the Rural and Urban Development Commissions together improved the housing conditions (new and repairs) of over two hundred households per year. Source – BLP website

FACT: In 1995 of the 33 600 houses in the Greater Bridgetown Area, the age of 26 300 was known and 17 500 or 2/3 were over 15 years old, 4600 were between 10-15 years and 4200 less than 10 years. Source – Urban Renewal Programme (GBA)

The truth is that the Bees could never have realistically fixed all the poor housing between 1997 -2008; and the Dems can’t in 3, 4, 5, 6, 10 or more. We are talking about WOODEN houses, which ROT, and therefore every financial year more houses are added to the ‘poor stock’ list. So even houses that the Bees repaired during their tenure may very well now be in need of repair again. Indar Weir just giving the Dems a taste of their own medicine.

To repeatedly claim that Owen was busy selling land to foreigners is utter nonsense. Most of the projects Not Fooled listed were started by the BLP. I would refrain from boasting about Coverley though because it is a disaster whether 1, 200 or ALL are sold; and the infilling in Valery etc is another poor decision. Quantity is not quality!!!

41. The poor will always be with us.However, that is no excuse for political oppression. Lashley or no Lashley (the arrogant bread fruit swappa)The present regime has had its time.POKER ANYONE?……Indar!!!! wait until they dealing down de river or fold early.

42. @ Hants

I was only mekking mock sport! Both the Bs and Ds have had there good and bad policies. My view is that any Govt needs to focus on improving the opportunity for all and the lynch pin is creating the right environment for JOB growth and entrepreneurial activity.

43. I believe the submission by Not fooled | June 26, 2011 at 5:22 PM |is questionable. I would like to know who are these “first time home owners” that are purchasing homes in the listed areas. Don’t even talk about the ridiculously priced homes in Coverley. Check the ad for Ideal Homes in the Sunday Sun (Classified 10) and see the 2-bedroom, 3-bathroom or 3 bedroom, 2-bathroom homes on 3,281.70 sq. ft. costing $342,000.00. You can build another 3 bedroom apartment on your property. Compare Coverley’s house which is 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms on 1,012 sq ft with no boundaries for privacy costing $342,000.00. For someone to purchase a Coverley house. That person(s) must be working for over five thousand dollars, single or combined. Now tell me the single bus driver, policeman, nurse etc who are working for $5,000.00 per month?
    I am just showing that “Not Fooled” is trying to fool people regarding occupancy of these homes, but I am saying that these figures are all amplified since a good set of these homes are still awaiting purchasers. I went to the house fair on Saturday and not even 500 people were present.
    BTW, what about the houses in in front St. George Secondary?
    I ain’t fooled.

44. Carson. How about purchasing one of those Coverley houses for your University daughter?

45. Interesting facts submitted by “not fooled” .
    Are you aware that mortgage is based on ONLY one third of a person salary?
    How many persons working for $400 or less can qualify for a mortgage to buy one of those starter home that cost in excess of $100 000?

How many of those “first time home owners” who got house were on the NHC waiting list? How long were they on the list?

Regarding the video:
    Give a man a fish he will come back the next day for more, teach him to fish, he can fish every day for himself.
    Housing in any country is a social program and any good housing policy should have an balance between giving and teaching. It is for this very reason why it is impossible to focus on building a society without building a strong economy.The two must be together for the good of all.
    What good is there of having a house and not having a Home? Or what good is there of having a home and not having proper shelter?
    Every man’s home is his castle but every castle is not a home.
    A word to the wise!!

46. To those who are not easily fooled by the words “young persons and non partisan” , insulting the young intelligence will help you little. I figure that you are not aware that it was the young voters who made the change administration possible and not the elderly. Do not think all the young electorate can be swayed by feting and a five bag. Most young people are intelligent and care little for partisan politics and politicians. They observe the issues and the policies to deal with the issues. I fully agree with the comments of “thought” …the young voting next time around is an illusion.

47. To Weary Baje

I can claim to be a young person even though i am in the departue lounge, We are all hiding behind pseudonyms. I can claim that i am non-partisan even though my writinigs can show differently. The crux of the matter is, it is the contents in our writings that eventaully tell whether a person is partisan or not. Believe me, if someone writes often on this blog,especailly on politcal matters his/her perspective will be revealed. That is why i said my preference is for the DLP, but when i have to criticize the party i will. I will let this blog sphere know why i will never vote for the BLP again. yES note that i have said AGAIN.

Just like the sociologist can go througH you garbage over a period of time and determine the qaulity of life you are/have enjoyed. There are strategies that can be used to determine whether a person writing is subjecitive or objective and key words will tell you. Sometimes we use ceratins words to connote sympathy, but our writings invariably will give us away. That what some people have been trained to do. Sometimes you look for certain words. Over thirty years ago, while studying use of English we were though to look at articles and to get the writer perspective. All of us on this blog has a political liking, believe it or not,

I will not underestimate the value of the young people’s vote, but i think you have your wires crossed. it is the mature voter that constantly go out to vote, the young persons in a lot of instances ask what they are going to get in return. I have seen it over and over and over. By the way, in a lot of cases, the young persons’ support for a particular party is achieved through socialistion by his parents or family members.

There are times when the young person are mobilised on an issues, but in general they are the hardest category of persons to persusde to go out and vote.

Please try another emotional tug, i am not easily fooled, experience is our wisest teacher. I say what i mean, and mean what i say.

48. jujst only asking Avatar
    jujst only asking

the Blog above is from Just Only Asking

49. Mr. Weir, in conclusion, if you only see obstacles here and no solutions, what can you really do about the enormous challenges to our country? Simply reverting to old, failed approaches surely will not work. So, if you wish to be elected, show us something new to solve this constituency problem before asking us to elevate you to solving national problems. Telling us that another person failed does not provide any indication that you will succeed.

Leave a Reply to the ScoutCancel reply