¶4. (C) On the subject of Barbados’ newly elected government, Gonsalves stated that he did not expect any significant differences in the ruling Democratic Labour Party’s policies, as both major political parties in Barbados are “steeped in social democracy and committed to regional integration.”

Echoing Grenada PM Keith Mitchell’s comments in the press, Gonsalves dismissed the notion of “winds of change” sweeping through the Caribbean with the recent change of governments in Jamaica, St. Lucia, Bahamas, and Barbados.  According to Gonsalves, Barbados’ two main parties are so similar that “differences will have to be manufactured to keep the party faithful happy.”

¶10. (C) When asked about recent claims in the Eastern Caribbean that the sole regional air carrier, LIAT, was inefficient and guilty of price-gouging, Gonsalves replied that (St. Lucia’s Minister of Tourism) “Chastanet talks a lot of rubbish when it comes to regional air transport.”  Noting the lack of air transport regulation in the Eastern Caribbean, and  in regards to governmental efforts to increase competition in the region, Gonsalves stated, “we’ve been down that road before”, citing the failures of Carib Express, BWIA, and Caribbean Star, among others.  Gonsalves said he was “not against competition” but wants “fair competition.”

¶11. (C) He further criticized St. Lucia’s Alan Chastanet as among “a species of brown people in the Caribbean with money” who are “not loyal to anybody”.  Gonsalves continued by noting that such people, whom he described as “Castries mulattos”, believe they are “oracles” and represent a “break in the social advancement in the Eastern Caribbean.”

Read the full document

1. Loose lips sink ships, Ralphie…

2. That id some heavy language which Gonzales is purported to have delivered.

Thought these guys practiced diplomatic speak when engaged at this level.

3. Jpsquin Desprez Avatar
    Jpsquin Desprez

I agree that, in theory, both the BLP and DLP are the same. The differences are created by the party supporters, who seem to worship politicians, and think that everything they say is gospel. Political strategies are often effective, in that one party capitalises on the failures of the other, so as to win votes. For example, the BLP talked about land, but did not build houses; the DLP capitalised on this short coming by introducing a seemingly successful housing strategy. Other than that the status quo remains the same. At the end of the day politicians only care about the electorate when election day is approaching. They conveniently have the time to be seen in the constituency.

Politicians, appointed officials, and bureaucrats constitute the supply side of the political market place. Conversely, the demand side of the political market consists of special interest groups and voters who are subject to what economist call rational ignorance. Rational ignorance is the voter’s choice to remain uninformed because the marginal cost of obtaining information is higher than the marginal benefit from knowing it. In other words, the benefit of becoming informed about an issue is not worth the cost. A frequent charge is that during an election campaign, the politicians usually do not talk about the issues that affect the electorate. This was blatantly evident during the St. John by-election.

One explanation for this observation is that the politicians realise that a sizeable portion of the voters will make a calculated decision not to judge the candidate based on an in-depth knowledge of their positions on a wide range of issues. Instead of going to the trouble of doing research and reading position papers on the various issues that are confronting the country, many voters elect their candidate based simply on party affiliation or on how robust they conduct themselves during the election campaign.

Another take on the theory advanced by political scientist that a low voter turnout results from apathy among potential voters, the decision to stay away from the poles can be an exercise in practical benefit-cost analysis. Non-voters presumably perceive that the opportunity cost of going to the polls outweighs the benefit gained from any of the candidates or the issues. Moreover, they also perceive that one extra vote is unlikely to change the outcome.

4. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Politcians are products of the society from which priests, lawyers, prostitutes to mention a few come from. You have crooked lawyers, priests who prey on their congregation, men who use women and women who use men.

The common thread is you will find people who dont have an interest in no one but only to satisfy a narcistic ego.

5. There are striking similarities between Gonzalves and Jack Warner they were each accused of dastardly crimes which brought shame on the caribben. Like the slimy eels they are they escape full punishment time though longer than twine Jack and Railphie shall get what they deserve.

6. well said,desprez- your analysis of our cuurent party political environment is spot-on. ccc, and other partisan political supporters from both camps need to read and digest your comments. it amazes me howw seemingly intelligent barbadians can allow themselves to be so blinded in their love for political institutions which have outlived their usefulness and only serve vthe interestsw of a few.

7. […] as both major political parties in Barbados are “steeped in social democracy and … Continue reading → This entry was posted in Top stories and tagged BLP, dlp, Ralph, ruling, subject. Bookmark the […]

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BALANCE

Don’t forget that Jpsquin Desprez is thoroughly BLP.

9. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@CCC

He definitely is, but wants to fool people like me that he is not.

10. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Isnt Ralph a mulatto too?

11. Johnny Postle Avatar

Well Ralphi hit the nail on the head concerning the BLPDLP. They both in the do getting through; putting do do on me and you till we screw and still believing that we foo foo. All we do is bellow and holla whilst the representatives of the people cah way we hard earn dollars

12. CCC, EVEN IF DESPREZ IS AS POLITICALLY BLINDED LIKE YOU ARE; IT DOES NOT DETRACT FROM THE FACT THAT HIS COMMENTS CAPTURE THE NON-SENSICAL PARTY POLITICAL SYSTEM IN WHICH WELL-MEANING CITIZENS ARE DUPED TO PARTICIPATE. IF DESPREZ IS INDEED A BIND PARTISAN FOLLOWER AND IS PREACHING A GOSPEL IN WHICH HE DOES NOT BELIEVE; I ADVISE TO PAY HEED TO THE INSTRUCTION THSAT HE WHO KNOWETH THE WORD AND DOETH IT NOT SHOULD BE BEATEN WITH MANY STRIPES.BUT THE COMMENTS ARE STILL RELEVANT.

13. ON ANOTHER NOTE, I HAVE BEEN FOLLOWING MR GONSALVES WHO LIKES TO BE REFERRED TO AS “COMRADE’ FOR YEARS AND HAS COME TO REALISE THAT HE STANDS FOR NOTHING PHILOSOPHISTICALLY.TRUE, THERE HAS BEEN SWOME PROGRESS IN ST VINCENT UNDER HIS WATCH AS HE IS PAID TO DO BUT HIS WIILINGNESS TO SACRIFICE PRINCIPLE ON THE ALTAR WEATHER COCKISM HAS RECENTLY BEEN EVIDENT IN HIS SUPPORT OF A SYSTEM WHICH HE WAS REPUDIATING A YEAR AGO BY HIS ATTENDANCE AT THE ROYAL WEDDING. SURELY ATTENDANCE BY THE GOVERNOR GENERAL WOULD HAVE SUFFICED AND SAVE ST VINCENT UNNECESSARY EXPENSE TOO.HATS OFF TO MR STUART WHO IS KNOWN TO FROWN ON SUCH THINGS.

14. Philosophy is just the beginning. It is the formulation and implementation of programmes and polices that support this philosophy, which differentiates the two parties. I await the sycophants.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFFTOPIC

Ever wonder why some roads fail so often – so fast?

What is the most common thing road beds are made with nowadays? Marl – and that’s decayed limestone……..

Remember, exposed marl will easily wash away when rained on. You’re a dummy if you don’t know this. In fact, engineers know that it’s a really bad thing to let the marl in the road bed become soaked with water…….

Want to see a road wash away? Just before the rainy season, put down a base of marl. Moisten it. Roll it. Let it dry hard flat and dusty. Then spray on cut-back tar with one or more of the spray nozzles clogged up. Put on a layer of asphaltic concrete and roll it flat, but don’t squash it all the way down as you should, so that it’s porous like a sponge………

Very interesting article,reminds me of Barbados.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Ever-wonder-why-some-roads-fail-so-often—so-fast-_9044681#ixzz1QIOdRt6F

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Ever-wonder-why-some-roads-fail-so-often—so-fast-_9044681#ixzz1QIMtmUGZ

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Ever-wonder-why-some-roads-fail-so-often—so-fast-_9044681#ixzz1QIMjScug

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Ever-wonder-why-some-roads-fail-so-often—so-fast-_9044681#ixzz1QIIm1NxR

16. If Chastenet is a mulatto , then what is Gonsalves?……A piece of Shoite? Talk about pot calling the kettle black. Many politicians in the Caribbean feel that when they are in power they have the rest of the world at their feet and they can get away with rape, murder and thiefing.

17. @ Islandgal246

I was wondering the same thing re – Gonsalves. He musse Carib.

18. Perhaps, just perhaps the tension between Chastanet and Gonzales explains St. Lucia’s position on LIAT and Chastanet’s asinine approach to regional air travel.

19. When politicians speak “off the record” to diplomats they don’t expect that their conversations will be made public then along comes Wikileaks. In time perhaps we will read of the conversations that Bajan politicians had with US diplomats or about what those diplomats thought about the Bajan Gov’t’s handling of the allegation that Bajan public figures had amassed huge sums in their US bank accounts.

About Gonsalves references to “Castries mullatos” .St. Lucia like other Caribbean countries was/is a society where there was a divide where race and class were the dominant elements. While Barbados had its Yacht Club which was a bastion of white privilege, St. Lucia also had a Yacht Club where those who dominated were of mixed ancestry.

What did those two clubs have in common? They kept out those with darker complexions (read black).

Perhaps St. Lucians refer to that group as “Castries mulattos”, didn’t I read that Gonsalves’ wife is from St. Lucia.

20. Rambling Rose Avatar

Chastanet is a particular kind of mulatto
    like a negrocrat in Barbados.

21. @Rose ….. please go and ramble elsewhere.

@Carson Cadogan…can you utter anything intelligent?

22. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Mr. Carson C. Cadogan and Mr/Ms/Mrs. Just Only Asking

If an individual makes a contribution on this blog and it is not in favour of the DLP, both of you label that person as a BLP. Neither of you, especially Mr. Cadogan, has ever made any meaningful contribution to this blog, without your usually party political diatribe, or trying to castigate anyone who dare criticise your party.

If you were satisfied with the performance of DLP, you would readily accept different points of views. However, your mad rush to defend everything indicates otherwise.
    My dear political pimps, this blog provides the medium for all and sundry, despite their political persuasion, to give their opinions on any subject matter presented for discussion. Please respect that.

This blog is not about you.

23. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@ Mr/Ms/Mrs Josquin Desperez

Remember you clain to have no political preference, but your wrtings is clear that you support the BLP and you should be honest and say that. Yes my leaning is for the DLP, but i will critcize it when I have to and i have gven it a little lash here and there, but you want me to believe that you are objective when your wrtings are not..

You have not seen me openly attack anyone unless I think that he or she is not giving a balance and hence i will give the contrast. The only one i can recall really attacking was enuff who called me a parrot and who i termed the BLP scavenger. People on this blog need to remember all of us can have poison fingers.

All I am saying declare your politcal interest like some of us eventually did. We are supposed to be anonymous when we blog and i hope it remains that way.

24. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@Just Only Asking

My friend, the BLP does not form the government of Barbados, they paid the ultimate price by losing the last general election. I, unlike you, will not be stuck in the past and come to this blog day after day to recite what the BLP did. Under the circumstances, it does not make any sense. If it does make sense to you, then please excuse my limited understanding, because it does not make any sense to me.

Please be reminded that this is the present, and the DLP now forms the government, and I have the right to criticise what, in my opinion, I think that they are doing wrong. It seems to me that you people do not realize that you have formed the government, because you behave as though you are still in opposition.
    You exercise your rights by critiquing the former administration, while I choose to be critical of the present administration, because they are the ones who hold office presently. If by doing so indicates to you that I am a BLP, then go with it.

What I would suggest that you do, is instead of trying to determine who is a B or D, please do some research and put some thought into your contributions, so as to enable you to better defend your party’s policies, thereby creating the atmosphere for a healthy and rational discussion.

It would do us better if we would just concentrate on the topic and forget about the personalities.

25. balance/desprez
    I’m glad I have two persons who are seeing politics and politician as I do, they are a twin born from two different mothers, if that is ever possible

26. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Desperez

Just go back to some of your rantings and you will see your bias against this administration. People like you exspect miracles in this climate and have the solution for every problem and the big countries that have so many experts cant solve the problems they created for the world economy.

From your bias perspective, you are the only one that can give facts I have always give a balnce reasoning, i dont want or intend to go down the intellectual line, but the problem with people like you, is that you forget that problems in the barbados economy has not just emerged, you want to forget what the last administraation has done to give false hope to barbadians in developing a conspicous consumption pattern, this administartion when it first got in realized that all was not well and had to impsoe some increases and people like you start to bark and say they dont know hwat they are doing.

And you and the Scout and Enuff believe that only the BLP has the answer to our problems. Regardless of what you say we barbadian will come out of this recession, but it will teach us that we have to grow what we aet and eat what we grow and to some extent look inwardly to our development at well.,

By the way, I have not come across anyone on this site that prevent me from putting my position, and i dont intend to fight anyone from putting theirs. All I am saying, stop hiding under this concept of baing objective when you are not. So put that in your pipe and smoke it. i dont want you to agree with me. One swallow dont make a summer.

27. sorry just ony asking; but when the blp took office in 1994, the economy was in a dreadful state. overtime , dlp partisans have been positing the notion that the blp’s successful management of the economy over the last 14 years was as a result of the foundation laid bt the dlp. supoose we buy that notion. i maintain that had the not had the competence to manage the socalled policies left by the dlp; then all would have been still lost. fast forward to present. the dlp comes into office to make things better and unfortunately, things become worst and they are asking me to accept their excuse that the problems we are facing is as a result of the bad policies of the blp. no way jose-. they the dlp left things in a bad shape too in 1994 but the blp were able to successfully manage what would always be a always fragile economy and only extremely biased supporters would fail to admit that we were better off in 2007 than now.

28. “One swallow don’t make a summer.” Nor does one parrot or rooster! Put that in yuh pipe and smoke it. Just only stating…..

29. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@ Just Only Asking

My friend, I do not want this to be a jousting match, but let common sense prevail. You come to this blog to spout political venom and call it being balanced. You cannot go down the intellectual line because you are only repeating what the politicians are saying, treating such as axioms, and you are not being objective. Your answer is to blame the last administration, fine, with that out of the way, what do you suggest we do to go from here? Bring any constructive economic theory (if you are able to) and let us debate on it.
    During the Great Depression of the 1930s, economists such as John Maynard Keynes came to the fore and developed economic theories, called the Keynesian Model, to effectively deal with that recession, in an economy that was not as sophisticated as it is at present. His theories formed the basis upon which new theories were developed, and are being used and developed upon today. Corrective economic measures were undertaken to deal with the recessions of 1980-1981, in the 1990s, in 2001, and in 2003.
    Those economists did not throw their hands in the air and said that it was a recession and they cannot work miracles; they stuck to the task of developing models and testing them to create relevant theories. It is against this background that I believe that economists, working together without political bias, can do something. However, it is interesting to note that the economists in this region are politically motivated. Frank Alleyne would say something and you would believe him, Clyde Mascoll say something different, the BLP supporters would believe him. Political biases or preconceptions tend to cloud an individual’s thinking, as demonstrated by your attributes.

What I suggest that you do, is instead of being a political parrot, when considering a debate, make sure to separate the arguments into their positive and normative components. This distinction will allow you to determine if you are supporting a course of action based on factual evidence or on opinion, while trying to stay within the boundaries of positive economic analysis. In our everyday lives most of us use normative statements to discuss economic issues. Economists also associate themselves with political parties and use normative arguments to agree or disagree with some economic policy.

30. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@ Just Only Asking

“You want to forget what the last administration has done to give false hope to Barbadians in developing a conspicuous consumption pattern”.

To be able to “develop a conspicuous consumption pattern” there must be an aggregate increase in disposable income. Increasing disposable income generates a cumulative increase in consumption. In economics this theory is known as the marginal propensity to consume, which is the change in or extra consumption resulting from a given change in real disposable income. Basically, if income increases, so does consumption. What do household do with extra cash of real disposable income if they do not spend it? There is only one other choice; save. Hence, the concept of the marginal propensity to save, which is the change in saving resulting from a given change in real disposable income.

The only way a government can influence a change in spending is by systematically reducing income taxes and increasing public sector earnings. This should be welcomed in any circumstance. The choice is up to the individual, either save, or spend. Whose fault is it if they choose to spend on consumption goods?

31. […] bloggers are all over a WikiLeaks cable in which St. Vincent and the Grenadines Prime Minister Ralph […]

32. While i agree with Balance and Josquin I cannot resist pointing out the difference between the two parties as told to me by an angry young man, and i quote

‘When the BLP in power dey does thief but at least de money does trickle down to the small man, but when the DLP in power dey thief but dey does keep all fah dem self’.

Here lies the difference. LOL

Seriously though Josquin I concur with your analysis.

33. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Josquin

Congratulations, Courtney Blackman and FranK Alleyne recognize that we are an open economy impactged by the international recessions. It is only theoriticans like you (Mascoll) that have the answers to our problems. It is the non-partisans like you that will reduc taxes to have more disposal income for barbadins to spend more on comspicous consumption on cars and imported foods to send more fx exchange out of the country, even though our two major revenue earners are not firing on all four.. it is people like you who have caused the problems of this world. You only look at dollars and cents and have no understaning of the social issues, that is why people like you oppose the goverenment giving free bus fare to poor children. Havnt you seen that Sir Courney support that socialsit stroke and that is a socialist strategy. Go sprout all you enonomic jargon, it does not move me from my persective.

I would never forget that your party, the one for which you write, have given barbadians false hope, a house without a solid foundation must fall. You are one of the few that believe that the lowering of taxes will cause people to spend more, you are forgetting that when there is a recessions, there is a propensity to save because of the uncertainy and that is why we are having so much liquidity in the bank and the banks can offer next skin to nothing on our money sitting there. Why are we not seeing businesses expanding since there is so much cheap money around?

I must regergitate, we have managed the economy, that is the governemt of barbados, similar to what Erskine Sandiford did. He had trimmed the Public Service to about 18 000- 19 000, thereby reducing our expenditure, How has it reached approximately 30 000. Would you prefer to see the poor Public Officers get laid off? You can respond to that. Since you are an economist, tell this blog how you would restore the argicultural and manufacturing sectors?

@Island Gal

Wait you still worryinng with this rooster, this useless one. You know i does left you to carson and bonny. But you have a rooster weekend.

@Balance

I always rebuke you. Amen.

Leave a Reply to just only askingCancel reply