…what has been the role of the media, can the media be bought or can the media push one agenda rather than another, rather than present the truth by getting the facts, all the facts and let people decide. It is about our intelligensia having the intellectual honesty to either declare who they support or give an unbiased view …

Sandra Husbands

The quote above is timely because it again brings to the fore the role of local media in civil society. Is there a local body which can be held accountable by the public if there is a need to question ‘journalistic ethics’? As far as BU is aware the Barbados Association of Journalists ( BAJ) has not suggested it has the the mandate to perform such a task. Here is an example, on page 9A of the Sunday Sun June 19, 2011, in an article titled ‘The way to health reform’ published under the by-line Sandra Husbands (Guest Column). Blatant in its omission was the fact the Nation newspaper did not indicate that Sandra Husbands is the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) candidate to oppose Minister Donville Inniss in St. James South when the bell is rung for the next general election. The article robustly attacked her political foe which makes the omission all the more irresponsible.

Recently the Nation newspaper severed seasoned journalists Chris Gollop and Wade Gibbons. BU understands the two had signalled an interest to accept a ‘package’ when the Nation sent home the first set of employees, Adonijah et al.. The Nation management, it seems, took the opportunity to part company with the two in the most recent sending home of employees. We find the decision interesting because with the dearth of journalistic talent at the Nation and beyond one would have thought the management at that newspaper would have vetoed Messrs’ Gollop and Gibbons request to leave. The deed is done but it forced BU to share a suspicion we have about goings-on at the Fontebelle newspaper.

To what extent are we (the public) satisfied the Nation newspaper has been professional in managing its editorial policy in light of the political affiliation of key principals at the newspaper. Barbados is a small island and it is not difficult to acquirer information. The Publisher of the Nation is known to be a seasoned BLPite, the Editor-in-Chief is a devout follower of Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur, lead columnist the decaffeinated one, a former legal guru and member of parliament and political correspondent known to be influenced by Mascoll in his writings are known to be BLPites. The question arising, to what extent can the editorial output of the Nation be separated from the political leaning of the key players named?

It is not surprising to some the news making the rounds that Sandy Lane and MQI have stopped doing business with the company. Barbadians need to start being more discerning and start to question the job our media is doing. Nothing needs to be stated about The Barbados Advocate.

… the full-extent of the damage ‘MLM’ has caused. Perhaps a good place to start would be on America’s own door-step; for it’s not just in distant lands like India where ‘business opportunity’ frauds are a problem. These cancers have been allowed to gnaw their way into small Caribbean States like Trinidad and Barbados. Fortunately, in the face of government inaction (and a mysterious lack of interest from the mainstream media), a few decent individuals are struggling to inform, and protect, their fellow citizens. Corporate Frauds Watch salutes the efforts of Barbados Underground…

David Brear

86 responses to “Time To Question The Political DNA Of Media Houses On Fontabelle”

1. I see the “silly season” has come early to Barbados.

It’s a bit like Christmas. But without the joy….

2. jujst only asking Avatar
    jujst only asking

@David et al

could anything be worse than the appointment of Davis Simmoons as Chief Justice?,

3. @ Halsall

It surely has started. Why else would a Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of HEALTH, who is NOT an MP, be featured prominently at the renaming of a school in St. Andrew?

4. old man river, Avatar
    old man river,

hello again from de river,not the one by de river side located in bridgetown, let me thank s de press, for letting we no bout, de old lady in dean village that really need help with she house, how come in this day people could charge de old girl. $5 ah week for rent, what hah shame, to treat de old people like that i call on dereck alleyne from urburn development will come out and help de old gale with ah new house.read today nation de 22 jun for more inform,under home sweet home,bu people let me hear from u pun that,

5. I am Back in little Bajan land … I miss velly velly much …no?

6. […] rather than present the truth by getting the facts, all the facts and let people decide. It … Continue reading → This entry was posted in Top stories and tagged agenda, Fontabelle, Houses, reading, time. […]

7. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Old Man River

@Where are the politicains for that area. They should have seen the condition of that house. Has she got family that allowered her to live in such deplorable conditions and has any of her neighbours refer her to one of the social agencies? Are we no longer our brother’s keeper.

Only today i had to call the welfare about a situation where a gentlemen has no place of abode and sleeps at the place he watches at night. Welfare promised to help him and the officer just would not hurry up and resolve the matter, it is a pity that some of us who know how to deal with the system to reduce the redtape dont get involved. I refer the matter to a senior officer and if i dont get a resolution shortly i shall put the case in writing.

8. @Enuff

It surely has started. Why else would a Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of HEALTH, who is NOT an MP, be featured prominently at the renaming of a school in St. Andrew?

Did you omit that she is a past student of the school and would not have had control over the invitation probably?

Would it not have come from the school?

9. @David,

No David,
    Slips are an unnecessary cover up these days, people want transparency, ( pun intended). LOL

10. David, do you know if the elected, and presumably still living, representative for St. Andrew was in attendance or invited?

Coverage of events by the media in St. Andrew since 2008 gives the impression that the Parliamentary Secretary in the MOH, is the de facto representative of the parish.

That might very well be so, but the public can only speculate because there is never any indication that the MP was contacted for comment. but he declined.

11. @Raw Bake

Don’t know if the man with many hats was invited but what is obvious is the headmistress of the school invited the Parliamentary Sec :-).

12. Fran | June 23, 2011 at 8:21 AM |

@David,

No David,
    Slips are an unnecessary cover up these days, people want transparency, ( pun intended). LOL

Now that was a great one !! 😉 😉 😉

13. Looking at the political DNA of the Nation. I would have to say B-B-L-L-PP-A-N-T-I-D-L-P-P-R-O-

Taking a look at the Nation Talk back live on the rising cost of health care. That was a failed PR campaign on their part. They made it a hot topic. Not only the Nation but Starcom. One and the same. The actual event did not turn out in their favour. The moderator failed miserably to get the conversation to go in the direction in which he wanted. For such a highly promoted event you would think it would be reported prominently in the same paper. Hardly much mention was made of it. After the event they had to retreat to the propaganda press room at Fontabelle to devise a strategy to save face for an event which did not turn out in their favour.

They should focus on reporting on the news. I hope it would not be asking to much for them to do it accurate. They should stay out of the business of trying to create the news. Leave that for the enquirer. UFO sited in Hillaby. Owen Arthur abducted by aliens and implanted with an economic super brain. They will get that bold to run that as the headline article one of these days. Owen’s Economic Brain of Alien Origin.

14. @ David

I guess she’s also an old scholar of Hillaby/Turners Hall Primary, or is it because there is an Irene Sandiford-Garner prize?

15. Maybe you should ask the question if the representative for St. Andrew accepted the invitation to the event. Was he in attendance. I agree if he was not there the paper should have reported that he did not attend and don’t try to cover it up. He hardly turns up to parliament to say anything on behalf of the constituency which he represents. I would not doubt if he received the invitation and did not think it necessary to attend.

I have seen it done before there was an event in St. Thomas. Cynthia Forde was invited she did attend and was apart of the activity. She also makes her voice heard in the house to represent her constituency. You can say that much about her.

16. We really doomed!!

17. @ Truthman Burton…… Not CLICO, you are laughable. I know your tactic and it will not work here. B U’archives can show exacly where this writer stands on the CLICO affair. The point I make even if clumsy in approach,is that the public and not TRUTHMAN BURTON,shall decide when this debate takes place. Yours is an attempt not just to have it take place, but to have it take precedence over the glaring chasm that shakes the very foundation of the lair that houses the illegitimate leader and his shameless minions who seem to think that five years and daily rhetoric from the likes of persons such as yourself, can remove the stench of his corrupt governance. “One term” seems to be your new clarion call, and one can’t help but agree with you . Lets all hope you are asking for one jail term for Owen Arthur and if no one else ,de millionaire wid muscles. He would love up there .

18. @ RYAN ……..you mekking sport or what? dat man got de best brains anybody in bim eva had. i read dat right here not to long ago. and dat person ent even na Bee. or so dah tell we. my friend de truthman and de fraud,ah mean de scout ,would brek up any aliens dat try anyting wid dah man.

19. Irene Sandiford-Garner Avatar
    Irene Sandiford-Garner

@Ryan and David- you both are accurate.
    @Enuff your proffering of puerile insinuations re my presence at functions is regrettable. I welcome this opportunity tonight to enlighten you.
    I have been invited to graduations, church services, weddings, christenings (six new godchildren),sporting events etc in the constituency of St.Andrew since June 2007 and the invitations became more frequent after January 2008. I accept all and if I cannot attend I send my apologies.
    I have attended graduations at Chalky Mount, Hillaby, A. DA COSTA EDWARDS PRIMARY and St. Silas- every primary school in the constituency. And I missed three – due to travelling and this year due to a clashing invitation. Ever since the first year I take my money – I am not the MP and do not receive a cent in constituency allowances – and I donate prizes for the top student in English (which I was at A.DACOSTA EDWARDS PRIMARY); Most Determined and other categories.
    Ryan is right; Cynthia Forde accepts her invites and presents her trophy at Hillaby. I was featured speaker at Hillaby this year and have been featured speaker at Alleyne, St.Silas, Chalky Mount and A.DACOSTA EDWARDS PRIMARY. Probably the schools recognise I am not a parliamentarian who is averse to speaking.

They probably sense that I am genuine in my appreciation, and do not start accepting invites on the eve of elections. They also know that if I turned up and the opposing person was also there handing out awards at any function I would not leave in a huff and embarrass myself and them.
    Enuff, no need to speculate because I receive invitations and accept.
    There is no mystery here. I was raised not to be arrogant;I was raised not to be rude.
    I was taught that If people think enough of you to want you around them, you humbly accept their invitation, with gratitude whether they be a maid or head of state.They are not obliged to invite you.
    Re the comments if the MP was invited to the re-naming, of course he was.
    I specifically asked when I was called re my attendance, if they made sure they invited the MP. I was told yes, an invitation was delivered, by hand, to his office. Just as I ensured he was invited for the Ryan Brathwaite celebrations at the same time ALL other parliamentarians were invited. Why on earth would the MP not be invited?
    David, not only did I attend the A. DACOSTA EDWARDS PRIMARY but I I knew the man-my dad worked for him- and I was instrumental in submitting the request on behalf of residents who felt, as I do that recognition of Joy was long overdue.
    I am also the only person who has a full interview with him which details why he fell out with the party. I did that interview when I was 20. Some of the story was printed in June 1981. I idolised Joy and I am thrilled that a long-cherished dream has come true.
    I was told come on the site because there was a discussion about the affair. Well, here am I.
    Enuff, sleep well.
    Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner

20. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Bravo, Bravo, Bravo, Msr Sandiford Garner, you batting like Sir Garry, it is, no fault of yours if the people of St Andrew consider you their chosen representative,, after all the constituency has for toooooo long been poorly represented by an absentee arrogant runt in the form of a Pain.

Represent the people and they will represent you well.

21. @ Senator Sandiford-Garner
    Your long-winded response only served to reinforce my point (an “insinuation” according to you), which is that your appearances are about self-aggrandisement!!!

It is a pity that in 2011, a politician (whether BLP or DLP) believes having his/her name on a trophy/prize/football or cricket tournament; and attending funerals, christenings, graduations etc is the epitome of good representation.

Instead of the PR blitzes, spend more time trying to improve the health service, after all you are Parliamentary Secretary in that Ministry. Lest you forget, the lack of productivity (especially in the public sector) has been repeatedly identified as an impediment to Barbados’ development.

22. @Enuff I believe that Senator Garner represented herself well and explained why she was present at the event. Her name was not the one being celebrated on that day. It was A. DaCosta Edwards. Things like that are important because it captures the history of this country. The children at that school will now have a reason to want to know who was A. DaCosta Edwards and his contribution to the development of the area. It gives them someone to try to emulate.

With regards to her work in health. If you would stop reading the Nation and probably look at the Advocate and even Barbados today you would learn about what is happening in the Ministry of health especially the QEH. The quality of service and the look and feel of the institution is beginning to improve.

23. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Senator Sandiford-Garner

Pay enuff no mine, he opposes the DLP and no matter what any body associated with the DLP do or say he will ctriticize them.

24. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Ryan

You are spot on. Things are happening in Health Care. Go Donville continue the good work.

How many read the article by Professor HENRY FRASER?

25. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Has the Nation devised a strategy to cause discomfort to the DLP, similary to what FOX News has done to spout negative rethoric about the Obama administration hoping that something will resonate with the elctorate ?

26. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Perhaps the Nation has taken a decsion that if it continues to spout negative rethoric about the DLP that something will resonate. Fox News had admitted after the midterm elctions that it had devised a strategy to feed the american public negative news about obamacare,

27. Sycophantism as expected.

28. @ Enuff
    It is a pity that in 2011, a politician (whether BLP or DLP) believes having his/her name on a trophy/prize/football or cricket tournament; and attending funerals, christenings, graduations etc is the epitome of good representation.

You were upset that the Senator was in St. Andrew; she told you why and more and you change the subject and switch to attack the woman on representation. The representative is your pal Payne not the Senator!! His poor performance in the House when he attends and his rotten performance out is what should concern you.
    From what I have been seeing posted by the Yard Bees, I bet you soon hear them saying he did not receive an invitation because you all are past masters at propagating lies. From the highest official to the lowest minion in the BLP. Tell lies at the drop of a hat.
    She fix yuh good doh!.

29. I hope that the Dems will be fair to the children who attend this A Dacosta Edwards school and tell the whole story of this “great man”. From what I recall of his history, I do not think he should be held up as any role model for our children. Tell the truth!

Isnt it passing strange that everything around Barbados is being renamed after a Dem? Did only Dems contribute to this country’s development?

I still am hopping mad that the Dems brought Eric Holder down here and put his name on a building that not even the Dems dont know anything about. What happen to Lloyd Smith? And to think that Eric Holder navel string aint bury about here and as far as I see it, he is the worst AG America ever had.

30. @ Prodigal Son. When it comes to development in Barbados, do you think the BLP had an orginal thought. I would have you know that the plans for that complex in St. Joseph was the vision of Mazie Barker Welch during her one term as the representative of the constituency. If they had followed her original plans the complex would be much better. Just the same as the plans for the airport which i believe Noel took the credit for were left by the DLP. All be it they were obsolete when Noel took them up and ran with them. But he did not care. He just wanted to appear as though he was working.

When you want to stabilize the economy, put it back on a growth path, and charter a path for the future. Look to the Democratic Labour Party. Education, NIS, ABC Highway, Developing the Tourism Industry, The Structural Adjustment of the Sandiford administration. Stabilising the economy in this current recession, Medium Term Fiscal Strategy, Medium Term Developmental Strategy, The Human Resources Development Strategy, The Tourism Relief Fund, These will all take Barbados forward.

31. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Ryan

What do you exspect from a Prodical Son, is he the one who wasted his talent and returned home to his father begging?

32. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Ryan

A Junior Officer brought to Noel et al attention that Jet Bridges were missing and guess what, To install them is now astronomical.

The School Meals were introduced by the caring DLP, not the elitist BLP.

33. @enuff, I think the Senator put you in your place. Honestly I think you are just a very jealous, spiteful narrow minded person, which brings me to my next topic why are some of you die hearted Bees so stupid? You hardly ever have any facts and all you do is come on the blogs curse and carry on with nothing educational to add. Owen took this country and rake it dry, ANY ONE REMEMBER OWEN’S CONTRIBUTION TO JAMAICA? JAMAICANS DO!!!!!!!!!!! GET real had enuff of your poor Government, 3 terms for the DLP no less cuz this economy is stabalizing dont want Owen taking credit for that, Oh and mascoll you suck travelling outta this country cant done now talking about fuel costs like you have a great solution, gab gab gab gab and ur travelling bill was over 900$ a month the tax payers had to pay that, if you know so much about the economy why jeptor ince projections kicking ur tail.

34. THIS TO THE GOODLY SENATOR ….Senator Sandiford-Garner surely you would have heard the old adage A word to the wise is sufficient . Be reminded that dialogue with an idiot is enuff. Enough said. This attack ,precursory in nature, tells me that footsteps are being heard in the pan-yard where smoke screens and blind faith clouded people’s judgement since time eternal, where the mascot in de cork hat reigns. They from whom not one word was heard as this clown marched up the steps of parliament every Tuesday to say nothing. They who never once saw fit a demand for representation now challenge you even before you’ve taken the oath.”Lets not put the cart before the horse” should be your admonishment to Enuff . St.Andrew needs you .St.Andrew deserves you ,but given their propensity for vote rigging St.Andrew will only have you when due diligence and patience walk the same path. Just enuff patience and the Lord’s will shall be done.

35. Really, Ryan, this what you think……………………….When you want to stabilize the economy, put it back on a growth path, and charter a path for the future. Look to the Democratic Labour Party. Education, NIS, ABC Highway, Developing the Tourism Industry, The Structural Adjustment of the Sandiford administration. Stabilising the economy in this current recession, Medium Term Fiscal Strategy, Medium Term Developmental Strategy, The Human Resources Development Strategy, The Tourism Relief Fund, These will all take Barbados forward.
    Really, when has the DLP other than Errol Barrow ever put Barbados on a growth path. Every time the people of this country in their wisdom give the DLP a try, they let them down. A diehard DLP friend of mine said to me that every time the DLP gets the government it seems as though they cant manage the country, everything just goes wrong. He had to admit finally that it is so.

Read what one of your members Frank Alleyne who heads the government’s Economic Council had to say on Friday. He said that Barbados is back in the 1991 state.

How’s that for growth for you?

36. I agree with enuff, Mrs Garner-Sandiford was only grand standing. Look how she went forward and took all the glory and credit with the charade for Ryan Brathwaite.

Poor fellow, since the DLP jumped on his bandwagon, like everything else they have touched, the DLP has blighted that poor boy’s progress. He has not been able to attain such heights again. I think he won a race today here but the poor boy has has a string of misfortunes, oh if only the DLP had left him alone!

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply