Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is scheduled to speak to the nation tonight (8 June 2011) at 8. It means that twice in less than two months Prime Minister Stuart, whose taciturn disposition contrasts starkly with the late Prime Minister David Thompson, will communicate to the people he was elected to serve . It was on the 26 April 2011 the Prime Minister participated in The Interview hosted by CBC’s Rosemary Alleyne which drew ‘comment’ because of its one on one format. Reports suggest the Prime Minister will make the cabinet his own tonight.

146 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Speaks To The Nation, AGAIN”

1. @ David

And what was his message? Pit eradication? Project urban renewal? Green economy?

@ Just Only Asking
    I expect nothing more from a parrot who offers “I have a BA and an MBA with distinction” as a defense whenever he/she is excoriated. As I am not an ornithologist, I will not waste my time with you, but will leave you with an extract from PM Stuart’s address:

“Another area of concern has to do with the huge backlog of applications that has been choking the Immigration Department and frustrating applicants at the same time. This problem has now begun to affect some in their efforts to secure access to health care. Government will be laying in Parliament in the near future, its White Paper on Immigration. I am aware of persons in Barbados who came here as children, went to school, worked and have now retired without ever having their status regularised at the documentary level. Should these persons suddenly discover that they are not entitled to benefits other Barbadians enjoy? I think not!”

@ Pooposition Is At Sea

By the way long stay arrivals for May down 11%, I hope the visits by the members of the royal family really do redound to our benefit as you so confidently proclaimed.
    P.S. the superstars of the royal family honeymooned in the Seychelles.

2. St George's Dragon Avatar

It seemed to me that the main effect of the “adjustments” to the Cabinet was summed up in Mr Fumble Through-it’s statement about the Government having protected public jobs. Yes, they have, and it’s in the Cabinet.

3. @Enuff……..”.I expect nothing more from a parrot who offers “I have a BA and an MBA with distinction” as a defense whenever he/she is excoriated. As I am not an ornithologist, I will not waste my time with you”

RFLMAO Enuff you have summed up some of these parrot brained “de greed” persons well. ! LOLLLL

I was waiting for some substance from the PM’s address but all I got was some bad gas! Hmmnn we will just have to wait again for another address and hope it will be better.

4. I EMPATHISE WITH MR STUART HAVING TO TAKE OVER A BADLY MANAGED ECONOMY LEFT BY HIS PREDECESSOR WHO LIKE MR STUAERT SEEMED TO HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THE RECESSION TO ABATE ON ITS OWN VOLITION. HOWEVER, I I BELIEVE THAT MR STUART LOST A VALUABLE OPPORTUNITY LAST NIGHT TO POSITION HIMSELF BY APPOINTING MR ESTWICK THE MOST ABLE PERSON IN THE CABINET MINISTER OF FINANCE AND ECONOMIC AFFAIRS AND DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND SENDING MR SINCKLER BACK TO FOREIGN AFFAIRS TO PUT HIS GARRULOUS TALENTS TO USE.

5. Stuart has painted himself into a corner because of his reluctance to make himself available for interviews with the Press or general interaction with members of the public. He is seen as aloof (and he is) and that has hurt him. Thus when the announcement was made that he would “address” the Nation on TV expectations were high among the populace that many issues of substance would be ventilated on that medium.

The announcement like many other things was oversold and dare I say it (for someone who is supposed to be a great orator) the delivery was flat.

I will commend him on his promise to get the issue of health benefits for long term residents of Barbados in order ( although I am unable to comprehend why some of these residents would not have made an effort to “regularlise” their status after living in B’dos from childhood to retirement). I was disappointed in the size of the Cabinet ( B’dos is too small to support a Cabinet of that size) and the fact that he failed to provide any update on the progress of the search for a CJ. The position of CJ has been vacant for far too long and the Gov’t has already changed the regulations to accommodate their candidate of choice. The public and the Judiciary can’t afford these series of interim appointments.

6. getting to the point Avatar
    getting to the point

@ruth arnetta

I coudn’t agree more.

7. I was disappointed. And as someone else asked, why was nothing said about the Myrie affair?

8. One conclusion that I have made from last night’s exercise, is that the PM is securing his seat and will be going all out to capture St. Michael for the DLP in the next election.

Urban Development, the assault weapon of choice for beleaguered administrations.

9. I think you quite correct in you assessment Raw Bake. Eswick was given water management for the removal of small business that went to kellman. Got to keep you friends happy but your enemies even happier .

10. ha ha ha the PM made a public promise to Dennis Kellman, and in keeping that promise he had to make changes to the cabinet. Now that he has done so, it is a little difficult to believe that he does not enjoy a measure of control.

This was nothing more than to keep Dennis Kellman in the cabinet as promise. I like that.

11. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

As I have mentioned numerous times before, the PM did not make and keep that promise on his own prerogative. Kellman gave him an ultimatum, accompanied by follow up subtle public urgings, so he HAD TO COMPLY, or face a mutiny.

This so-called Cabinet re-shuffle was akin to all the heavy cosmetics on the PM’s TV face lastnight, and it was simply an opportunity taken to put the “KELLIE BOOGLE” in place. Stuart just could not run off to China and leave things dangling.

12. The politics of the situation: The BLPites shout about Estwick being unfaired, The DLPites draw the Mia card.

13. There I was in anticipation of a great night. Everything was prepared for a good night and an even better climax and lo and behold the thing wouldn’t even raise its head.

That sums up Freundel Stuart’s date with the people.

14. Rose Art
    ya cunny.

To all who got a problem wid MY P.M, cah wunna arse. He’s there to stay. When election time cum, he will be removed if de electorate so desire. Cah wunna arse. Doan k wah he do, he will never be able ta please de yardfowls. And all who like ta call we DLP yardfowls, dem is BLP palin cocks. Same ting. Hush wunna arse do.

FRRENDEL STUART, I LOVE YOU TO EVERY FAULT. NO ONE’S PERFECT. I LOVE YOUUUU BADDDDDDDDDDD.
    smoochhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

just only asking
    yes, i in one a dem credit unions. Cannnn rememba de name now. but i like dah fella Maloney. I got sumting fa he. LOL

15. Dew
    whay you did when de drunkard n he gang a five ousted de ‘biter’? you had a climax den? ya want ‘biting’.

16. Truthman
    I won’t mind runnin off ta China wid he a’tall n got evryting ‘dangling’ tonite while wunna all bout hay miserable n confuse. Wunna cannnn change. wunna miserable. Lemma hear ya now.
    LOLLL, ya miserable.

17. @ Bonny Peppa

If you love him to every fault, then thats a alot of love cause he got nuff faults. In fact, geologically speaking, you could discribe the man as one big FAULT.

Tell Fruenel to go weed some gardens beds in retirement and let Sinckler, the bulldog, the brute, take the full frontal assault to Owen and the D’s. The D’s can’t win no general election with that muppet, listening to him is worst than watching paint dry and that is being kind to PM Stuart.

18. Rose Art

And geographically speaking, you are still a cunny.

FREUNDEL STUART, I LOVE YOUUUUUUUUU.
    smoochhhhhhhhhhhh.

19. Rose Art

But as much bull-dog as he is, you kno dat he nevva bit out na woman p—-y yet? Who is mo bull-dog dhan he now?

And dat muppet got one daughta dat he proud of? Hummuch chil’ren de drunkin short man got in n outta marrig? And who did phoopin de day lites outta he forma secretry now wifey #2 while still marrid ta wifey #1?

You is who start de mud-slingin.

Freundel, you are a real gentleman. I love you so much. I hope one day that you will propose to me and we will invite Rose Art to our ‘big-day’ and give her bare stale food n sweetened- piss ta drink. She deserves it. And she is very lickrish too so she won’t turn down our invitement.

20. Nia

What “Myrie affair” what? That will have its due course in the law courts or where ever. Next thing persons would like to know is why he didn’t address the ‘Cow jump over the moon’ issue.
    Christtttttttttttttttttt., stupseeeeeeeee, what will they think of next?

MR. Frueundel Stuart

This is a note to you in Chinese:

“%^*)#”..,?<"q^#@_+:

21. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Bonny

It is clear that the BLP scavengers such as ENUFF, non arftul rose and the gal from the island @246 coud not find anything to scavenger in the PM’s message as he did not leave any garbage for them. Consequently, they will knit pick at anything to make them happy, They have no brain of their own, they are programmed like robots, and you know robots do what thaey are programmed to do. And the programmed lackey, ENUFF cant stand to see that DONVILLE prevailed over people like him and his little scavenger followers. That is why we have wings to fly over them as they scavaged through for something to blog about.

A feel for them. Go Freudel, hope a got yah name spell correctly becuse i am not artful at spelling and i does have difficulty in construcing sentences and be logical, so for give mah.

22. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Roseart

why should you care if he wins the elction or not, in fact you should be glad then it would be easier fah yah party, yah party pooper.

23. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Bonnie

I know you can deal with them, but i gine defend the DLP with all the life that i have. i wid yah.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Scores of teachers have jobs axed

Scores of teachers have had their jobs axed as the Ministry of Education continues to try to slash millions of dollars from its budget.

Emotional scenes took place at primary, middle and senior schools across the Island as principals told their staff they were out of work.

The cost-cutting move will see some schools losing up to ten teachers. The Berkeley Institute and CedarBridge Academy have been hardest hit.

The Royal Gazette(Bermuda)

Bermuda a few days ago. Large numbers of teachers sent packing by the Govt. The Ministry Of Education’s budget slashed by millions of dollars.

By how much has the Democratic Labour Party reduced the budget of the Ministry Of Education?

How many teachers have been fired by the Democratic Labour Party Govt. over the past couple of days?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hardships and hope

I’m not sure that I have ever witnessed a time in Jamaica of such widespread economic destitution as I am experiencing right now. Everywhere I go, the cry is the same – no money, no job and in some instances, no hope.

Jamaicans are hurting badly and hope is becoming an increasingly scarce commodity. While the poor have always suffered the greatest burden, the middle class is now under threat of extinction. The “tripartite tribulation” of Finsac, Cash Plus and Olint, has left the entrepreneurial class decimated. Thousands of Jamaicans have been reduced to poverty on the cusp of old age, while others have succumbed to the pressures and have died, prematurely their friends say, leaving behind their families and loved ones broken, both financially and emotionally.

The impact of the hardships on the children is the most difficult to watch. The scandal bags they carry from the corner shop get lighter as the portions of food they are sent to buy get smaller – quarter stick of margarine, quarter bottle of oil, quarter bread – small children already conditioned to poverty and whose stomachs have already adjusted to paltry portions and poor diets.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Hardships-and-hope_8972999#ixzz1Oq1RrBnn

We can thank our lucky stars that the Democratic Labour Party is in office and have thus far protected us from what the people of Jamaica are currently experiencing.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Hardships-and-hope_8972999#ixzz1Oq0g1xxT

26. […] Stuart, whose taciturn disposition contrasts starkly with the late Prime Minister David … Continue reading → This entry was posted in Top stories and tagged Continue, June, Nation, reading, taciturn. […]

27. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@CCC

According to friend of mie, these scum bags(those blp scavengers like enuff et al) would never refer to those articles, they are just only interested in peddaling the blp propoganda to return a next batch of thieves to empty the treasury gain and become millionaires in the shotest possible time. They are pushing me to the point where i am going to use my venomous fingers on them on this blog.

They are scalliwags; ENUFF(who has stolen enuff from the treasury in the pass) the SCOUT the inconsisten liar , Roseart the pretender that she is not a BLP supporer ad one Islandgal.

Thank God there has not been wide spread layoffs. When Mr. Stuart returns from China, I hope to hear that he has negotaited a loan to kick start some of the stalled projects. Sorry I could not have made that trip to China, I would have come back here speaking mandarin fuh these yard fowls, i mean the blp ones, cause i is a dlp one and i aint scared of them yah hear.

I gine back in mah fowl pen to get some fowly matters so that the scavengers can collect it and then i gun fly over them as they scavenge trhought it to see if there is anything the could attack.

CCC that is my lowlevel thinking like enuff et al. a going back to my intellectaul self soon yah hear. Continue to post the information and giv them heart attacks, but then you might get charge for murder and end up at that new hotel, that expensiv one, where you will feel steely using the bath room, you wont steal anything cause you decent.

28. just only asking

Mawnin…………..
    Doan mind de ig’runt khunts dat tryin ta mek my PM look bad. We still holing we own fa a small islan state. Dem jellus n bad minded. Dem does get on as doe if predictin gloom n doom dat dem would escape um. All a we gun be affected causen we all livin bout hay.
    Dem tu igrunt.

MR. PRIME MINISTER

A blessed good morning to you now waking up or getting ready for bed. (not sure of the time in China)

But here’s a lil note for you in my native Chinese:

#^#)”{?*%@+

29. @ CCC et ux
    Here are some statistics:
    GDP
    Year B’dos Jam
    2004 4.789 1.444
    2005 3.877 1.079
    2006 3.559 2.991
    2007 3.826 1.432
    2008 -0.18 -0.915
    2009 -5.474 -3.046
    2010 -0.5 -0.131

Unemployment:
    B’dos Jam
    2004 9.582 11.7
    2005 9.673 11.3
    2006 8.711 10.325
    2007 7.376 9.85
    2008 8.136 10.6
    2009 10.2 12.5
    2010 10 12.5

Given your argument, based on the above and our UN HDI ranking at 37 to Jamaica’s 87 in 2008, the Bees only had to tell the electorate last elections that we were better off than Jamaica. Furthermore, Golding just needs to find a nation in a worse state than Jamaica, tell his people likewise and the JLP will retain power. SMDH

30. SI Sfind Sthis Snew Sweb-Site Sdesign a Slittle Scomfusing … Why Sthese Sword Spress Speople Sdon’t Sgive you Eearly Snotice … As fah AFumble Stuart …Sanother Sandiford Sin the Smekkin’!

31. Sthe Sgovernment Sain’t Sgot nah Smoney, but Sthey could Sfind wuk fah Skellman … Smy God …!

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

just only asking

It is easy to spot the BLP supporters.
    “I don’t support either B or D” but every single comment they make is in support of the crooked Barbados Labour Party.

Yet they don’t “support B or D”.

33. Kickin
    You look rale familia. You remine me of a fella dat nuse ta be bout hay name BAF. Wunna mussy famblee.

Dis new format real confusin ta me too. I doan kno wah David do um so fa. De cursor does disappear n den got ya in troubl.

stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

34. Jirikurun men on men ji la, a te ke bama ye. (Bambara; Mali, Africa)

Translation:

A log may stay in the water for a long time, but that doesn’t turn into a crocodile.

35. @ just only asking

your contributions are bereft content, they cartinly do not propel intelligent dialogue nor do they make any sense.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Rose Art

“nor do they make any sense.”

….and yours make sense? don’t make me laugh.

37. David

http://cropovertv.com/

Slive SCrop SOver Stuff (Svideo) for Sthe BU Screw. Man you Scan Sput Sit Sin Syour side Sbar

Bonny

SI Sdon’ Sknow wah Shappenin’

38. Thanks

39. BAFBFP | June 10, 2011 at 7:48 PM |

Wait yuh loss yuh front teets? SSSSSssssssssssss

40. No Islandchick, Sthis Sis Sthe SFumble Stuart slurSS

41. LOL
    BAFBFP is a real spots in truth LOL

Never ceases to AMUSE
    unlike some others

42. LOL
    BAFBFP is a real sports in truth LOL

Never ceases to AMUSE
    unlike some others

43. Prime Minister Stuart and the DLP do not impress me

They seem to be tinkering with everything just to demonstrate that they are different. Changing for changing sake. They must stop trying to invent the wheel. It has been already done, thank you !

44. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Tina Roach

Go read the article in todays’s advocate written by Professor Henry Fraser on the Drug Formulary and come back and tell the blog what it contains. .

45. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Let me remind Owen Arthur and company it is exactly for this reason that the BARBADIAN PEOPLE THREW YOU AND YOUR BUNCH OF VAGABONDS OUT OF OFFICE, THEFT OF OTHER PEOPLES MONIES AS IS THE CASE HERE AGAIN.

When one looks at the back page of Barbados Today it strikes a very sad picture to view two crooks in a warm embrace, guess each one maybe saying to the other catch me if you can,

Smith to Owen, Owen I know you have accumulated more than $ 25 Mill but I coming at you with haste I am at in excess of $ 2 Mill and counting and growing, or it was growing until Sagicor open their eyes and halted his advance..

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/launch.aspx?referral=other&pnum=&refresh=m18QD2o01fC6&EID=3b6919f0-4cab-44a5-8b26-da30435f19b5&skip=true

IF OWEN HAD ANY SENSE OF DECENCY HE WOULD DISTANCE HIMSELF FROM THESE ACTIONS BUT THEN AGAIN I SAID ANY SENSE OF DECENCY, THAT WE KNOW TO BE UNKNOWN TO THAT ANIMAL OR SOME SUGGEST BEAST

46. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Sensible changes to drug formulary

6/10/2011

The continuing controversy about the rationalisation of the Barbados Drug Formulary and the fees to be paid for any prescriptions if filled at private pharmacies calls for some sober and logical comment.

There are two issues that have been challenged repeatedly in the press and public dialogue, either through a lack of understanding or through vested interests of one kind or another.

The first is the matter of the reduction of drug choices. In matters of fashion and clothes, choice of motor cars or choice of food, people enjoy a vast variety of choice and spend their money as they choose. When government is attempting to provide comprehensive health care, however, unlimited choice is unaffordable, unnecessary and unreasonable. In the case of the Barbados Drug Service and National Drug Formulary it has driven drug expenditure by government to huge sums, which are unnecessary and wasteful.

Most doctors prescribe from a limited number of drugs or medicines; studies we did some years ago showed that our primary care doctors prescribed from a range of far less than 100 drugs. Yet our National Drug Formulary had grown dramatically to provide some 700 choices! These include some 25 pain killers and anti-inflammatory drugs, and more than 50 drugs for hypertension. These include several examples of 5 – 7 drugs in the same category, with little difference between them – so few differences that few doctors know these subtle differences, and usually choose a familiar one in each category. To have seven drugs in one category to choose from makes no sense at all; it drives costs up, and increases problems of stocking so many items. While the formulary is dynamic and changes must be kept under review, and ongoing changes (both additions and deletions) made, the principle of reducing these many “ME TOO” drugs is extremely sound and the Formulary Committee and Ministry are to be commended.

The second matter, of the “Dispensing Fee”, is also perfectly reasonable. Patients who can afford a private physician consultation should have no serious problem with a token dispensing fee! Those who really think they do, have the option of having their prescription filled at a polyclinic pharmacy. The time taken, in the light of current health challenges for many in need, is another consideration. One might take along a good book for any extra wait. This practice, as in the UK, was recommended when our Drug Service was inaugurated. It encourages appreciation of the true cost of drugs and discourages “doctor shopping”, duplication of prescription and wastage of costly “free drugs”; but the advice given to the BDS and Ministry of Health in 1980 was not followed. Instead, a drug levy, 1 per cent of income, I believe, was introduced for a few years. The vociferous objectors now appear to be unaware that Barbados has economic problems. Further unnecessary confusion also exists because of the varying scale of dispensing fee, according to the cost of the specific medication – as opposed to a set fee per item, which is sending mixed signals, and the facts should be more clearly stated.

In the final analysis, we have been wasting a fortune in unnecessarily costly drugs in Barbados. The rationalising of our Formulary and drug supply practices along the lines of the World Health Organisation recommendations is both sound, sensible and necessary, if our predominantly “free health system and drug service” are to remain.

Henry S. Fraser
    Emeritus Professor of Medicine and Clinical Pharmacology, UWI

47. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Owen walking with a stick???

He had the stick at a funeral at St. Peter’s Tuesday.

Someone was heard to say, that he said he had a pinched nerve and someone at the gathering replied that should not be a problem for him to fix with all the money he thief he could buy a solution or buy a new back or thief one, but the other persom lamented that it would be impossible to find one that was a crooked as his is, another was heard to say that he could drink the Pain of his back and Pain of the Party away all with a few bottles of his Eternal Saviour And Friend ESAF White.

48. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Roseart

Just read the articlec by Professor Henry Fraser and get some sense from it.

As I have been saying all along, people like you and enuff are nuisances and cant decipher fact from fiction. Thats how you have been programmed.

Who is getting the last laught?

49. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@CCC

If our employment rate is 10% as published by ENUFF(snuffy) and the mighty america is 9. something, it means that the governemt is weathering the storm well.

50. @Poopisition, I would suggest it is unnecessary to make fun of anyone with an ailment. I note that it is also in Flying Fish and Cou Cou today also. All of us get injured at different times, what has that got to do with governance and the nation?

@Just Only, I see that you also believe that the main reason for the PM going to China is to arrange a loan, plus it was the reason for the address the other night, to provide subtle messaging that we are going through a recession, so when the news reports the loan, people will not be shocked.

$500 Million? Or $800Million?

Leave a Reply to Bonny PeppaCancel reply