Two events occurred in the news this week which confirmed to BU that Caricom is in a coma. A mini-Caricom summit held in Guyana saw four heads absent, Prime Minister of Trinidad among them. In the obligatory end of summit communiqué which nobody reads except Rickey Singh, the heads advised the world implementation of a common currency would be further delayed until a review of the Guyana-based Caricom Secretariat. Have to admit the decision was a surprise, in fact the Caribbean is still in shock!

The other happening was REDjet’s decision to cancel plans to fly the Trinidad and Jamaica air routes. It is no secret both Jamaica and Trinidad have frustrated REDjet’s application to operate its low-cost airline between Barbados, Guyana, Trinidad and Jamaica. Barbados and Guyana gave the all clear to REDjet about a month ago.

One of the hindrances to movement of people in the region, whether for leisure or business, is the prohibitive cost of air travel. One would have thought our leaders in Caricom would have welcomed the opportunity to clear the hurdles for REDjet and others whose objective is to provide an affordable transportation service.   Instead we have the ridiculous situation of the Trinidad and Jamaica governments tag teaming REDjet and as they say the rest is history. Coincidentally the merger agreement between Air Jamaica and Caribbean Airlines after considerable delay was inked yesterday (26 May 2011).

It was not too long ago UWI lecturers Tennyson Joseph and Norman Girvan blamed the late Prime Minister David Thompson for the lack of progress in Caricom. Who are they blaming now? Why is regionalist Peter Wickham silent on this matter? They are all pushing regional integration but we have the leaders from the Big Two in Caricom constructively blocking competition which has the effect of making it expensive for people to move around the region. The hypocrisy has ben truly exposed.

164 responses to “REDjet Sabotaged By Caricom: The Big Two Jamaica And Trinidad”

1. David, I now get back.
    How many of our political leaders have you heard supporting Redjet?

So If you know that Barbados helping to cut sticks to juck in Redjet’s spokes, what you expect Peter Wickham and Co. to say?

You ain’t realise that the regional political class will always find ways to frustrate the aspirations of the masses.

2. @Raw Bake

As a declared regionalist Peter et al by they passive position on this matter exposes their hypocrisy.

3. @David
    Fair enough, but who will shine the spotlight on the current administration, given that they can do way more to influence this matter, than those you have flagged ever could?

One might also think that a Redjet hub, based in Barbados can be a good thing and that a visionary administration would do all in its power to facilitate said venture.

The administration’s silence on the issue currently suggest that such thinking is flawed.

4. It would be interesting to see the results if this happened under the BLP watch.

Would these countries have treated the Arthur Administration like they have treated this present one? One thing for sure MIA would have challenged it vociferously and legally!

5. What is fact is that REDjet puts the Barbados government in a bad place given our large shareholding in LIAT.

6. IG246.

Remember the old people used to say duppy know who to frighten, but don’t let CCC hear you. 🙂

What ever became of the ferry service that was supposed to be launched last year or the year before?

These low cost regional transport projects looking more and more like pappy shows.

7. Raw Bake……..LOLL and high wind know old houses really well.

I agree it has become a real pappy show! Lawd how we gine get cheep travel in dis region? We gine gotta get some innertubes eff we really want cheep travel. I wunder how long it gine tek to get to vincy land? Bonny yuh reddy?

8. So David, dem couldn’t tell the people so from the beginning?

Yuh men dem laff up in de people face, give dem de licence and den tun round and mek a couple of phone calls to sabotage the project covertly?

The Min. Finance was listing the entities that were a burden to taxpayers, I cannot recall him saying anything about LIAT.
    Now if he did, what does he plan to do about it and if he did not mention it, why not?

9. The ferry thing came unstuck because of safety requirements and non compliant equipment issues if BU info is correct.

10. David it seems every thing is a problem in this region, safety my foot, I remember working at Seawell airport Liat was landing with some bald tyres and there wasn’t any hullabaloo bout dat. Tropic air was flying and de door wasn’t closed properly. I am not saying we should overlook safety but citing that without facts and just for protocol is sabotage as well.

11. We have to be careful when discussing LIAT. Those old planes haul thousands of of passengers to GAIA.

12. islandgal246 | May 28, 2011 at 4:23 PM |

I agree it has become a real pappy show! Lawd how we gine get cheep travel in dis region?

Speaking of cheep travel. Perhaps we should take all of those feathers in our caps, that we as a nation had been given over the years, stick them up our arses and glide through the Caribbean.

13. REDJET wrote to CARICOM Secretariat before the recent mini-summit!

Dear Secretary General of CARICOM

My name is Ian Burns, CEO and Chairman of REDjet, the Caribbean’s Low Fares Airline. I understand there is an important summit meeting in Guyana this month, at which all the heads of state of each member country of CARICOM will be attending. I further understand that the purpose of the meeting is to gain further momentum in developing CARICOM as an organisation and stimulate through cooperation regional economic and social growth and development. I further understand that Air Transport is seen as a key driver for this development.

The 2006 World Bank Report on air travel in the Caribbean identified the need for competition and private capital to bring the region’s aviation capacity in line with other regions in the world. The report indicates that such development would bring economic and social benefits that are necessary to improve the region’s infrastructure and competitive position which, in global terms, has been declining over the past number of years.

It is also apparent that any solution to providing effective travel throughout CARICOM must be affordable for a person of ‘average’ socioeconomic standing. Without this factor, any solution will restrict regional integration and economic growth will ultimately fail, an issue made critical by the fact that transport is as important as communications in both of these regards.

I am sure that you will agree that we require a new approach to the provision of air services in the Caribbean, movement away from protectionism and the reliance on state supported intra-regional travel. REDjet sees our Low Fares Airline as being a major regional asset which creates new potential in the region for the provision of affordable and sustainable air transport.

Air Transport should be no different than any industry and indeed, is not. Whilst there are major international corporations that can provide a “one stop shop” solution, the majority of industry sectors consist of many niche players within the overall market. In telecoms, mobile service providers have entered many markets whilst not engaging in traditional telecoms sectors such as “fixed line” services. Similarly, Aviation can be segmented into three specific sectors; short, medium and long haul. Low Fares Airlines generally specialise in short to medium haul operations and their business models are built to profitably operate these models. Key characteristics are one type of aircraft, point to point services, a ‘no frills’ approach to cabin configuration, the elimination of expensive Business Class service with lounges etc., and no reward points programmes. Moreover, Low Fares Airlines are especially an ecommerce business that reduces a substantial amount of the traditional and very expensive distribution channels. Many small national airlines the world over have faced the introduction of competition, particularly from Low Fares Airlines and the majority have been able to adapt and grow. This is no surprise because Low Fares Airlines substantially grow markets and so market share of existing passengers is not such an issue in the medium to long term. Low Fares Airlines also introduce the option of true choice to the consumer and operators are forced to produce products that consumers want versus products that generally favour the suppliers.

National and regionally state owned airlines, while providing a basic level of transport, have been a great burden on tax payers and, in large part, have failed to develop profitable business models. Whilst profit is not the only objective for state owned companies, the regional consumer has been disadvantaged by the lack of competition, resulting in rising fares, a lack of direct connectivity with carriers and a lack of capacity in the market.

Due to the critical nature of air transport infrastructure, and the widely reported obstructionism REDjet has faced trying to enter many regional market, REDjet respectfully requests that consideration be given to a motion to support open competition for inter-regional travel as exists in much of extra-regional travel though open skies agreements. The motion would include an aspect that positive political support be given to all carriers within the region to have access to every state in accordance with the Treaty of Chaguaramas insofar as it pertains to fair treatment of businesses from a Member State, as would be granted to a business resident in that state.

I thank you for your time and attention in this matter and look forward to a favourable response from your office.

Yours sincerely,

Ian Burns

CEO and Chairman of REDjet

Grantley Adams International Airport

Barbados

14. The problem the region is having is that governments are in control of air travel.

They can place high markup prices on their product and call it taxes, and they can also reach into coffers, and be the lifeline of these airlines even if efficiency might be a problem.

15. Headman John Crow Avatar
    Headman John Crow

We have an expression in Jamaica that says ‘if you throw a stone in a pen whatever cries is the one that got hit, something like, or I threw my corn, I called no fowl. By that I mean you have interpreted the back story of my sarcasm. And you are right, too: The Myrie matter has changed the playing field revealing so much that were buried beneath civil smiles and courteous greetings that, previously we could assume and take for granted.

That said though, David, I respect your honesty and civility in pinpointing the source of the trouble. The Myrie matter has FOREVER changed our once loving relationship. I do not think that most people have grasped the depth of the hurt caused by it.

16. I would still like to hear from the BU family, as to their ideas about the next move for REDJet.

17. Headman John Crow Avatar
    Headman John Crow

If and when there is a BLP government I would support RedJet’s coming to Jamaica. For, at least the BLP is not an echo-chamber for narrow nationalism like another party I know, but a party that is relevant to the region and its leadership — be that leader Mia or Owen — behaves in sync with the rest of CARICOM.

When Shanique was raped at GAIA these honored leaders did not demonize the victim as Harry and Maxine did, they were civil and polite in their responses, even while, understandably supporting their country’s views. As such, they have garnered much respect in Jamaica and have supporters here in the plenty. The arrived-at-the party-late response given by the Bajan premier was, respectfully, too late in addressing the issue.

18. BGI

The owners of REDjet Should sell to the Chinese. Now that is clout. All of these PMs, Golding in particular will not refuse an entity that has the backing of the sovereign representatives of 1.1 billion people …!

19. Redjet seems to have planned poorly for the introduction of its service, but they have also been undermined by the actions of Trinidad and Jamaica.
    Most of the current CARICOM leaders are useless. One would have thought that with all the noise about restructuring economies post the 2008 meltdown that governments and people within CARICOM would embrace an approach to economic restructuring centred around solidifying the ‘E’ in CSME. For example, efficiency savings is the new mantra; yet no one seems to be exploring the idea of saving money through cooperation with other CARICOM members.
    ‘Redjet Gate’ should not lead to anti-CSME sentiments but reinforce or instill support for such a movement by CARICOM citizens. The failure of Redjet to get landing rights does not only affect Barbadians but also Trinidadians and Jamaicans , both socially and economically, and highlights the danger of myopic and insular thinking.

20. When Sahnique was raped ???????

Who raped she ?

The woman could be a liar
    Haven’t you heard ?

21. Tina back…. i taught the you went with the rapture.

22. @Headman John Crow

You might want to keep your tidbit a secret (the one about your support for the BLP), if the news spread in B’dos that the BLP has the Jamaican vote they may remain on the Opposition benches in perpetuity.

So we respect Jamaicans when they choose which political party will run things in Jamaica and we trust that you will leave Bajan politics to Bajans.

Thank you very much

23. @ Headman John Crow
    You speak as if Redjet flying to Jamaica is not also a benefit to Jamaicans. Stupse.

24. It took something like this for Bajans to realise, they have been and still being taken for a ride. What about the so-called fishing agreement with T&T? What about the C C J that is established in T&T but to which they are NOT a member? T&T is just using their oil money to buy out Barbados, Errol Barrow once said, we would wake up one morning and realise Barbados no longer belong to Bajans. We are too docile a people, Caricom is only benefitting other Caricom countries but not Barbados, look how many Tinis and Jamaicans are living here, check the amount of businesses they own right here, it is a case of big fish eating small fish, within another decade or so it would be The Republic of Trinidad, Tobago and Barbados. This would NEVER have happened under the leadership of Errol Barrow and to a lesser extent Tom Adams or Owen Arthur. WE now have a weak P.M and the big fish is taking advantage of it. Bajans we have to boycott ALL T&T businesses in Barbados, Redjet, change your type of aircraft to Prop-engine planes and fly to St.Lucia, St.Vincent, Grenada. Our government MUST BAN C A L from flying into Barbados even if it means increasing the flights of other airlines coming out of USA and CANADA. Barbados WE MUST TAKE A STAND remember our Motto “Pride and Industry.”

25. Jamaica seemed to have been in cohoots with Trinidad because as soon as Jack Warner opened his evil mouth, REDjet was in trouble. Barbados has to take some of the blame as they balls up the application even after REDjet wined and dined the Minister.

REDjet can leave Jack Warner to FIFA this week end. I hope he gets his just desserts. Maybe REDjet did not do what Jack wanted and thus he treated them like how he did to Britain’s World Cup bid.

Trinidad is a selfish country. Could you imagine that only one Bajan flies for CAL and this is only because he is married to a Trini. I knew someone who applied for a position as a pilot and the person was told you have the qualifications but CAL only employs Trinis. Selfish bastards.

Since REDjet sent a letter to Caricom at its most recent meeting, do we know if our PM backed the letter or said a word in REDjet’s defence? How long is Freundel Stuart going to continue slumbering as head of this country? I know for sure if Owen was PM, Jack Warner or Jamaica could not hold REDjet to ransom.

But there again, every leader is not a leader!

26. Headman John Crow Avatar
    Headman John Crow

@Tina

While I believe Shanique’s story, I do not even claim its credibility. On the contrary, for you to summarily dismiss her as lying is a bit much. Are you saying that, based solely on the Customs defendants statement you are branding Shanique a liar? Would you have expected the rapists to admit that they did violate the young woman with their finger? In another case, why were two policemen indicted for raping another Jamaican woman from Spanish Town. The denial is not healing the open festering wound, worse now in that it has been planted in the Jamaican consciousness that in this case, not a woman, but the whole country was disrespected and grossly violated. What you are seeing is the Redjet, the UWI games, etc are only manifestations of pain.
    @ Enuff. Perhaps Redjet might be beneficial to Jamaica in some way, however minimal that might be. Do remember that prior to choosing GAIA, they had sought to make NMA, Kingston their hub.
    @Sargant>
    Thanks for your advice. Much respect to you, Sir. Hereafter, I will keep it secret that most Jamaicans find the BLP more appealing, and more representative of our own values. Other than that, I have no intention of meddling in your country’s politics. We have enough malodorous matters of our own here in JA to clean up; that is why I appointed myself head of the flying scavenger here in Jamaica, the John Crow, hoping to clean up the mess that the politicians are not doing quickly enough or are afraid to state up front.

27. Remember the dead king said that the fishing dispute with T&T could have been settled over a bowl of soup down Martin’s Bay.

That’s the Dems way of dealing with problems. Maybe Stuart could wine and dine T&T and Jamaica at Illaro Court.

Barbados needs to show some guts and restrict CAL from landing here. If this REDjet thing has to wake up T&T and J’ca that we mean business, so be it. Boycott their products until this matter is sorted out. But who is going to man up to them, Stuart, hell no. The consumers will have to do it.

Someone from the T&T CAA said weeks ago that the permission would have been ready in a matter of days and we have heard nothing so far but on Thursday we read that T&T and J’ca finally signed off their deal. I overheard on the radio transmission a pilot telling the control tower that he did not know whether he was flying for CAL or Air J’ca.

This speaks volumes, doesn’t it?

28. @Prodigal Son

I know for sure if Owen was PM, Jack Warner or Jamaica could not hold REDjet to ransom.

Man stop mekkin jokes dis Saturday nite. Was this the same Owen who couldn’t stop Trinidad from arresting Bajan fishermen? Who took Trinidad to court over the fishing dispute and won…. a hollow victory if ever there was one…. And Trinidad thumb their noses at the court and dares Bajan fishermen to enter their territorial waters.

When there was a hint of oil in B’dos waters Trinidad said their maritime boundaries stretch so far that one day I went into the sea at Miami beach and came out with a Trini accent.

Manning was supposed to be friendly with Arthur, heaven help us now that the boss lady close she ATM

29. @BGI

On REDjet’s plans it is hard to make an informed opinion not being privy to the business plan but one can assume that assumptions made in the BP are far from being met.

The long delays to get permissions would have soaked up alot of the start up money and now the overheads which assumed certain load factor has been badly affected.

All in all except the investors have deep pockets or new routes to compensate for Jamaica/T&T one would have to say they are in deep dodo.

30. David,

Does Redjet have South America / Caribbean routes, maybe that is something they can look at?

Say Barbados / Curacao / Aruba / Brazil / Argentina?

31. @BAF ‘BGI ‘The owners of REDjet Should sell to the Chinese.’
    ————–

Lol. May not be a bad idea, the Chinese already own most of the Governments…oops…did I say that or you?

32. Crusoe ………..Does Redjet have South America / Caribbean routes, maybe that is something they can look at?

Crusoe I was thinking the same thing. AA does not fly to Puerto Rico from here so why don’t they apply for that route? That would be a great hit with bajans who love PR. I really don’t know who was advising Red Jet but the fact that they didn’t know that they had to apply for permission to fly to these Caricom destinations seems very naive. Apply to fly to the French islands as well. You know if plan A don’t work have a plan B and C. Obviously they were not looking at a worst case scenario.

33. While not directly related to redjet, government enacting legislation to be more in inline with category 1 faa requirements.

http://barbadosparliament.com/htmlarea/uploaded/File/Act/2011/Civil%20Aviation%20%28Amendment%29%20Act,%202011.pdf

34. wether one likes the objections of T&T and Jamaica . There are necessary rules and guidelines which must be adhere to in order to get license to fly in any country some of these rules were not met by Redjet by Caricom Act.. One can access them on the Caricom Website.

35. My thoughts:

At least initially, Ian & Robbie have to keep the MD80’s – there is too much invested in equipment, training, etc to switch equipment now. That said, I still think the MD’s may not have been the best platform, but they were cheap and available, and that was ok for now. On the business front, I understand that it is all speculation right now, but it keeps me from either bursting into tears, or cussin’ at the treatment metted out (say no more). Nevertheless, there have been some very interesting titbits open for discussion:

* Small islands close by – GND, SVD, SLU, DOM = these are very short segments for the MD80 and definitely NOT ideal. In a pinch I would do GND and SLU, but ONLY if I had concrete plans to change to a turboprop aircraft inside of 1 year. Anything longer than that, forget it. Right now I don’t think they should grab at this.

* Other small islands – ANU, SKB, SXM = 100% for all of these, but I would not be surprised to get an even worse fight getting into both ANU (home of LIAT) and SKB. In fact, I see 3 obsticles to getting in there – (1) it is LIAT’s home turf, (2) the ECCAA who regulates air activity in the OECS is based in ANU, and are much more proficient at their jobs than us here in Barbados, so REDjet will not get any smooth ride, and (3) their experience with Stanford taught them to distrust fast talking foreigners. But other than that…

* French islands – FDF, PTP = I can see a benefit there, but can’t decide which one – my money would be on connecting to the French carriers at Guadeloupe.

* Far Northern – SJU, SDQ, HAV, NAS = San Juan is a no-go until B’dos gets the CAT1. Dominican Republic, Cuba and Bahamas – may not be enough traffic between them and the southern Caribbean; the biz plan is point to point services (not a ZR bus schedule)

* US – FLL, MCO, TPA, CHS = see CAT1 comment, but otherwise 100%

* Latin America – SJO, PTY, CUN = interesting, but again, why? And COPA out of Costa Rica is a very strong carrier, and may not react very favorably. Besides, does Barbados have an air agreement with any of these?

* South America – BOG, CCS, PBM, other points in Brazil = BOG and CCS are 50% possibilities, PBM may be weak, and the best spots in Brazil (Rio, Sao Paulo) are rather far away. Maybe a flight to Brasilia or Manaus?

* Southern Dutch islands – AUA, CUR = again, 100% on both of these.

There are possibilities, but without any real idea as to the finances, it is impossible to imagine what is coming down the line.

36. @islangal

Barbados is not a CAT 1 jurisdiction discussed earlier which means using Barbados as its base it can’t fly to PR. It is why it wanted to first hub out of Jamaica. Anthony’s last post is instructive in this regard.

37. @anthony – thanks for this, it is very good. Now all that is left is to get rid of the dead wood and establish a functional regulatory body with actual people.

38. @BGI

Don’t know if they lack any other legislation but it is a step to getting to category 1 status. Think rest of the problem is getting more qualified staff now.

39. @anthony

It is about spending a little money and showing some backbone.

Best practice is already there to be accessed from other jurisdictions if we are serious.

These are the things we needed to have done as a country which adds value to our productive sectors.

40. @david

Have we ever proven to be serious about anything :(. It will take a year and a day as everything else :(. Wish is wasn’t so but that how it is. maybe they should move kellman to aviation/internation transport at least then maybe some action or least lout talk would take place.

41. @anthony

What we have at play here is an open embarrassment of the Barbados government.

It has put us in a bad place as far as how people outside perceive us as one of the more developing countries in the world.

Pride if no other reason should spur us to get this done as quickly as is practical.

However you are correct that it is endemic to what ails the public service and dare we say it, the private sector as well.

42. I am inquisitive as to why Barbados would give permission to an airline with a management team who has no History or proven record of aviation to fly the friendly skies.

43. Is Trinidad and Jamaica saying to Barbadians if you all or any investor setup business in your territory and is able to produce that product or service much cheaper than we could, we will sabotage it and prevent it from entering our markets?

This is what is coming over to me.

44. when boac(ba)/aa/virgin/caribbean airways/bwia(cairbbean airline) started did anyone have history or proven record in aviation. Can they do it without history. Yes. will it be harder than if they did. yes. Your point is moot ac.

45. Is Trinidad and Jamaica saying to Barbadians if you all or any investor setup business in your territory and is able to produce that product or service much cheaper than we could, we will sabotage it and prevent it from entering our markets?

This is what is coming over to me.

Should Barbados go outside the region for cheaper products and services and forget about the agreements we have signed as others certainly have?

46. BNB is not paying an interim dividend this year. Presumably this makes the investment less attractive for the Barbados Government. Will there now be some motivation to sell the remaining BNB shares to RBTT…

47. Its amazing how everything becomes a party political issue on this blog. No wonder we are so stuck when it comes to dealing with any problems or issues.

Leave a Reply to Headman John CrowCancel reply