Submitted by Andrew Nehaul

Imagine my welcome surprise to go into the Systembolaget in Sweden (Liquor store) today to find Banks beer on the shelf. This welcome was not long lived when I read on the bottle “Caribbean Lager”, in fact practically nowhere could one find the word BARBADOS or that it came from the great island of Barbados.

The only reference to this was at the back in small print where it said Banks Holdings (Barbados) Ltd. Does Banks think that they will capture more market share by using the words Caribbean instead of Barbados?

65 responses to “Banks Beer Branded ‘Caribbean Lager’ In Sweden”

1. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Bonny , You mekking real pork!

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

But isn’t it a fact that every country, or region thinks that its beer is the best in the world? Take the warm English piss water , for instance,they swear by their Double Diamond ,McEwens etc. Most German are void of chemical, so I was told when I was over there, to start with it tasted a bit stronger than the English beer, but when you step outside after a few drinks, the cold air knock you upside down.
    Banks is the best, exactly.

3. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And look what the JA girls are now using to enhance their body work.
    http://www.topix.com/forum/world/jamaica/T0D0HRA55QKL05J6I

4. Just Only Asking Avatar
    Just Only Asking

@Bonny peppa

I see you still there with you witty sarcasm and how are you doing?

5. Bajans 😉 let me help y’all out
    Banks Beer is a Guyana product for eons..dont take it from me. check out the company itself
    http://www.banksdih.com/?q=about-us

i don’t remember the exact date but the company ALLOWED the beer to be manufactured in Barbados under agreement. why do you think all these yrs you never saw banks beer barbados anywhere outside of barbados? all Guyanese school children tour banks factory at least once and everyone in Guyana knows banks barbados is basically a franchise of banks guyana…read last paragraph and don’t get vex. it’s busine$$ 🙂
    ==
    The Company exports to several countries within the Caribbean and further afield.
    The D’Aguiar Family was in business in Guyana for over 150 years. In the 1840’s Mr. Jose Gomes D’Aguiar, the founder, started a Rum Business which developed into a chain of Retail Spirit Shops. In 1885 the business was expanded to include a Cocoa and Chocolate Factory and a Schooner Shipping Agency.
    Our Flagship Banks Beer is exported to Canada and the United States of America through collaboration with Banks Holdings Ltd. of Barbados.

6. @Bonny Peppa, Island Girl,
    2 ah wunna does brek me up wid laugh. LOL

What is interesting, is in the Barbadian culture the need to bleach is to respond to the ‘light skin, brown skin dark skin’ syndrome, and that syndrome was usually determined by men who always wanted something a little lighter by dey side.
    The unfortunate sociological underpinnings!

7. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Fran | June 3, 2011 at 11:04 AM |
    @Bonny Peppa, Island Girl,
    2 ah wunna does brek me up wid laugh. LOL

What is interesting, is in the Barbadian culture the need to bleach is to respond to the ‘light skin, brown skin dark skin’ syndrome, and that syndrome was usually determined by men who always wanted something a little lighter by dey side.

Not only Bajan men , like it a little lighter,but a few years ago a swarm of pink locust from Africa was blown unto the East Coast,and before you could say Lowdown,we local green grasshoppers were shagging them.

8. Only people lacking in knowledge (and self worth) bleach their skin. Apart from the fact that it leaves the skin with a strange greyish tone – it can also lead to CANCER. Fact! This is why bleaching creams are BANNED in many countries.

Thank goodness most people have the common sense not to do this.

9. This answers the skin bleaching question to some extent

10. Where does it start, when will it end Avatar
    Where does it start, when will it end

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybDa0gSuAcg&w=425&h=349%5D

How many of us are guilty?

11. Where does it start, when will it end Avatar

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybDa0gSuAcg&w=425&h=349%5D

How many times have we openly admired the lighter skinned.
    How many times have a darker skinned woman been crowned over lighter women in beauty pageants?

Is it any wonder that little girls are confused by the time they reach puberty?

12. Where does it start, when will it end Avatar

Hope this work.

13. Just Only Asking , Fran

LOL to wunna-all.
    All is well.
    LOLLL

14. Islandgirl

I telling you fah yah own good, dis sun t’ing even wid UV blockers ain’ nah good fah brown skin chick like you…

Binny Peps

Faget ’bout dis beer on pork … try molasses and lef it on for a few days … apply some heat and then remove … Come back and tell me wah happen!

15. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Some comment on Banks and other Caribbean brews.
    http://beerofthecaribbean.com/tag/lager/

Leave a Reply to islandgal246Cancel reply