Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Delisle Worrell

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) recently released a statement on the Barbados economy which has caused some Barbadians to sigh with relief. Central Bank Governor Delisle Worrell was also also full of glad tiding in April when he forecast the economy to grow 2% during his Review of Barbados’ Economy for the First Three Months of 2011. Why is BU not as optimistic?

Is it not ironic suggesting growth for an economy which relies heavily on that of the United States? The US legislature is currently debating whether to raise its debt ceiling to 16 trillion dollars!   Following close behind the US is the UK government  who has committed to cut 600,000 government workers over a three year period. How can we be so confident about growth when the two main markets we rely on for inflows of tourist, foreign direct investment and remittances continue to struggle? What growth the US has managed to achieve in the last year is what the economists refer to as jobless growth.

Given the prevailing economic uncertainty one might have reasonably expected our intellectual cadre of professors at Cave Hill,  to have come to the assistance of ordinary Barbadians, and provide an unbiased and reasoned interventions to demystify the economic gobbledygook we are being fed. No such luck. Instead what we have had to ‘processed’ is an attack on the credibility of the information presented by the Central Bank of Barbados in its periodic updates  to the nation. The Central Bank of Barbados has always held the respect of both sides of the political spectrum in Barbados. This is our first recollection of any Governor of the Central Bank attracting the kind of attack delivered with the fierceness as we are witnessing from former Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur and former Central Banker, economist and Arthur’ s right hand man Clyde Mascoll. They have both vehemently dismissed the view posited by Governor Worrell that the economy has grown.

At the crux of the puzzle if you follow  BU’s layman interpretation:

If nominal GDP (gross domestic product (GDP) figure that has not been adjusted for inflation) fell in 2010, and if prices were rising it means that real economic growth also fell. Against the foregoing how is it Barbados can report economic growth? In January when the government reported 0.3% growth that was based on an estimate. To be honest BU has become irritated at the carving up of the statistics and analysis to obfuscate ordinary public. What about the intelligentsia on Cave Hill? Had a peek at the Barbados Economic Society blog to make sure we had not missed any elucidation on the mystery of Barbados’ economic performance in the first three months of 2011.

BU will leave it up to the economic gurus to bang each other on the heads about who is right or wrong about the numbers. Here is what we know. If there has been some manufactured easing of the global economic conditions then it stands to reason that Barbados will benefit from a few more tourists visiting the island, increase in FDI and remittance inflows because a few more people feel a little more confident. Does it mean however that our debt to GDP ratio does not remain North of 100? Does it not mean that we are spending more than we are earning on Current Account? Does it not mean that we are flogging the same economic fundamentals which have served us well for the last 30-40 years? What is the status of our renewable energy program? On a related note it is ironic that President Barack ‘Clean Energy’ Obama gave the approval last week to ‘drill baby drill’ in Alaska and the Gulf.

There are facts and then there is the truth. To sensible Barbadians the truth is how long we can continue to withstand the boom and bust cycles which are approaching of late with increasing frequency. Wholly dependent on a fossil based economy in times when cheap oil is a thing of the past. We are given to understand we are at the tail end of the last recession described as the worst since the Great Depression. It has destroyed the wealth of developed nations and heaped more debt on developing nations. Developing nations have no choice but to turn cap in hand to the IMF, World Bank, IADB and other international financial institutions; all controlled by the developed world.

While our economists argue about whether we have nominal or 2% growth, it seems to pale in insignificance when we view the big picture.

126 responses to “Filtering Truth From Fact About The Performance Of The Barbados Economy”

1. @Bajan Truth

Where did the money for the prison, the coast Guard and th expansion of the high way project came from? Do You know what the consequences of the BOLT projects are for our natioanal debt.

What happened to the massive amount of VAT that was collected, more than what was anticipated? COst overruns on every project undertaken and massive level of corruption. Keep me quiet, because I know much more than you think about all the corruption that can be placed on this blog.

You and your cohorts talk about prudent management, JAWS over a billion wasted, the higway project corruption, the Civil Service building(corruption) the National Housing Building(corruption) and dont talk about Urban and Rural Commissions(massive corruption). And you tell me that the BLP fit to lead Barbados. If the had integrity legislation in place every one of the BLP that was elected would be in prison, except ONE. AND IF THE DLP SET UP A COMMISION of enquiry into the level of corruption, THE findinds will shock BARBADIANS. I am sure before the next elections, all will be revealed. Trust me. including their using their positional position to obtain kick backs directly and indirecly. Mackie was Owen kick back man.

2. sam cooke and duppy Avatar
    sam cooke and duppy

the blp want to get back into power so they can get fat again and continue to steal once more from the people of barbados

3. Observer, save those rants for idiots who will swallow that drivel. With so many charges of corruption when you all were in opposition,now you are the gov’t where is the evidence, and where are the indictments. Any Bajan can be forgiven for believing that drivel before elections because they felt you had evidence. Nothing brought forward, that tired line will not wash with me. I like evidence. I cannot say there was none,hearing none don’ mean none. But I have no evidence to show that there was and not one DLP person come forward with any? What basis you use to come to that conclusion or you don’t need any? Using your yardstick how do you explain selling gov’t land to Jada at 3.50 a square foot for them to sell prefab boxes at 300.00 per square foot? And NHC don’t get jack. How do you explain a marina design done again at additional 40m, and a marina cost of over 500, tens of millions in excess of original cost? How you explain use of NIS funds to loan a credit union to buy Clico mortgage, when taxpayers already on the hank to pay for the ‘mismanagement’ of clico thanks to you know who and who? How do you explain giving most of the available gov’t construction to two jada and bannister and leave thousands of small construction people to suck salt in the worst crisis? Don’t start me up . I note, and have seen no discussion on it, but how come a party that you say thief so much – millions, they ain’t got money to pay staff. If gov’t is their trough to thief they very foolish to let the straw that allows them to slurp to go a begging. I want some info on that. Use yuh brAIN, YUH DOLT.

Oh shoot i just hear maxine talking about the philantrophy foundation, apparently we gine beg our way out of this crisis.

4. @Bajan truth

A loan is repaid with interest. The NIS is in to making money so that i can get my pension monthly.

What was the cost over run on DODDS. Had your Governemnet listen to the warnings that were coming from the prison, we would not have had to spend such massive sums on that instittution. Then again, you could have found money to build a cricket stadium, instead of upgrading our hospital. Futher, if you government had any foresight, it would not have closed the St. Joseph Hospital.

What was the cost overrun on the Barack Building and why was one million dollars paid in mobilistaion fees and who got a draw back.

Why was a loose arrangement entered with the criminal firm for the expansion high way project.

Was Bernard St. John nad David Simmons hotels aprt of the Gems Project, what happened to Eastely House? Hope got the spelling correctly.

What about the massive fraud involving Harwood and did Mascoll played any part in the malfeasance?
    Was there a cost overrun on the Coast Guard Station.

What about Greenland and how much money was spent and has it been used and if not why not?

What about the waste at Kesington Oval? How much money was wasted?

How much maoney did the Government forego in the waiver of poperty tranfer tax for First Carribean and who waved it?
    Who was involved in the change of the land where the old gentleman could not get permission to sell and then the shorey, the Arthur et al were able to benfit from the said land after purchasing it from the old gentleman and getting the Zone chnaged and selling it for a massive gain?

Why did Aurthur fire Rodney Wilkinson? and how much Aurthur paid for the land he got from NHC.

How much money did the Hallam guy make from having the contract to import for the BLP?

Why was a housing project in which overseas persons had an interest did not get off the ground? Bbecause upfront the then Minister of Housing hinted that something must be in it for him, that Minister was rebuked for rasing the matter of kick back.

Which BLP member was involved in a scam using drugs from the Drug Service and shipping them overseas?

How much money did your party waste on the St. Joseph Hospital Enquiry?

As I ask these questions my head start to hurt me. Those are just a few.

5. @observer and Bajan Truth

What your exchanges confirm to those looking is that BLP OR DLP can’t shout comeback.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Observer

You going back over points that I have been making on this blog for years now.

You are not going to get any satisfaction from these crooks. All they are interested in is returning to power to restart their plunder of the treasury.

However it still good to remind Bajans of the excesses of these Barbados Labour Party gangsters.

7. @ Observer
    Your heart start to hurt what….stupse.

8. @CCC
    THAT was my intention, because they think that we stupid and they think they are the only one that can present arguments. The point is they are thieves and want an opportunity to thief and thief with inpunity.

Repitition is good to jolt their memory. As long as they attack the DLP, i gone attack them and hit them hard.

Let them go and solve their internal problems. The Lord dont like ugly, that is why the party in turmoil.

You know that i aint frighten for them, i can take on all of them and defeat them.

9. @David

The BLP had fourteen years to steal and steal and enrich themsleves and their counterparts. There is no comaparison

10. @Enuff

Peoplelike us have a heart, the BLP dont.

11. @observer

The recent exchanges on this blog explains the disillusionment many have with politics in Barbados.

12. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

The review of the Barbados economy for the first 9 months of 2010 by the Central Bank, Table 4 – Government Fiscal Operations on page 11, indicates that the government ran a current account deficit of $449.9M in 2009, which represents an increase from $121.6M in 2008. This means that government expenditure was $449.9M more than it earned from taxes and duties (revenue). The statistics also show that between January and August 2010, that deficit was $367.2M compared to almost $100M (from $797.6M in 2007 to $881M in 2009). Additionally, under the heading of Transfers and Subsidies, allocations increased from $901.7M in 2007 to $1.135.6M in 2009. Since government is spending more than it is earning, it must acquire the necessary funds to meet financial obligations. Essentially, they are borrowing money to finance personal/other person emoluments, services, and other votes such as operating expenses, supplies and materials, etc.

It is true that a deficit requires increased borrowing. Unfortunately, the reality is that changes in the credit ratings will make it difficult for Barbados to access funds from the international lending agencies, without adherence to burdensome structural adjustment policies. The national fiscal deficit and debt to GDP ratios are too high and must be reduced to avoid a further downgrade in the sovereign debt rating. It will be necessary to borrow funds because the recession has eroded the tax base. Any further increase in taxation would prove to be counter-productive, as the consumer’s ability to spend would decrease.

The challenge, therefore, facing Barbados, is for the government to protect employment, output, and the foreign exchange reserves, while at the same time reducing excessive government expenditure, and enhancing the promotion of exports of goods and services, with a view to maintaining essential foreign exchange earnings in the light of a slowdown in capital inflows. As a priority, the commitment to a fixed and stable rate of exchange should be of fundamental importance as it relates the all public finance policies.

However, we must be cognisant of the fact that during an economic crisis, there is generally an increase of transfer payments, such as unemployment benefits, reverse tax credit, welfare and disability grants; as well as in-kind transfer programs, inclusive of medical care (those persons who once could afford to pay for private medical services, will now utilise the free health care offered by polyclinics and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital), and housing assistance provided by the Urban and Rural Development Commissions. The anti-poverty programs, in addition to defence, police, fire protection, judicial system, subsidised transport service, health care, and sanitation services are services provided by the state for which the government must find the funds to finance, economic crisis or not.

13. @Josquin
    Well argued without your usual attack on the DLP.

When revenue falls and expenditure cant be reduced without causing social disquiet, the solution will be to borrow pro temp.

All of us should have an interest in ensuring that Barbados rides out the recession successfully as the revenue earning organs start to fire on all cylinders at optimum.

14. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Foreign direct investment (FDI) is a component of a country’s national financial accounts. The cost of conducting business in Barbados is accompanied by significantly high legal fees and government processes which are more often than not, extremely slow. The inadequacies in the system are evident when trying to get items from the Barbados Port, negotiating a standard loan, or trying to set up a business. Stimulating growth in the economy can be achieved through the implementation of policy measures that would make it easier for foreign investment. Therefore, putting the xenophobia aside, we need to adopt innovative immigration policies to attract foreign direct investment, (especially from the now emerging South American markets), that will bring skills, expertise, and international market knowledge transfers in strategically selected indigenous service export sectors, such as sports, education, private wealth management, international sales and marketing, arts, culture, film, music, fashion, and the professional consulting services.

15. All this ranting over which party is better is TOTALLY RIDICULOUS! The whole point of major Govt Construction projects is so that much FAT can be created for MIS-APPROPRIATION! Indeed, elections are usaually preceded by announcements of some major project so that funds can be raised for the election costs.

Surely no one here is NAIVE enough, blind, low IQ etc to suck in the KOOLAID. Smell the coffee and drink huge quantities, WAKE-UP! Political Parties are to be voted AGAINST depending on which is more crooked, doing less for the peeps etc.
    All these party big-ups in it to win it……$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    and will lie ad nauseum to accomplish their true objectives …MONEY and POWER. They dont give a fart for the peeps in the street and all the racial crap on this site misleads the naive who think that race is important.

16. David
    Disillusionment indeed; and not only in Barbados but in the whole region. Perhaps it is time for not only a new political order but an economic one as well.

17. @Josquin Desprez

FDI must be encouraged as a part of a strategy position.

For example FDI under the the last administration it was real estate driven, that is an unsustainable approach.

There is FDI which is business driven where we encourage business to set up in Barbados, that is a more realist approach.

18. @ Observer
    Stop trying to fool people that only the Bees are thieves while DLP politicians are paragons of virtue as no one is buying that story especially given that after three years in office the promised transparency and accountability legislation remain exiled in the land of promises. Not to mention all the talk of corruption at UDC, RDC, Transport Board, NIS, NHC, BTA, consultants etc. Sounds familiar? The corrupt vs the not corrupt debate is tiresome and utter rubbish. Look at Kamla and her PP party in Trinidad!!

19. @Enuff

This might come as a surprise but your last comment is a good one. There is no political party which campaigned as hard on the back of promising to delivery transparency legislation i.e. FOI and intergrity legislation than the Democratic Labour Party last election.

In the absence of the legislation at least late PM Thompson was visible to the public and spoke frequently to the public.

Now we have a government who has adopted a hermit mode communications strategy defined by PM Stuart. Yes we have a few ministers who hog the public space but they can’t walk in the PM’s shoes to satisfy what is expected.

20. What types of businesses are we encouraging to set up in Barbados?
    How many people will they employ?
    How much are they willing to pay?
    Why did Intel leave Barbados?
    Will we ever see another company like Intel operating in Barbados again?
    Why not?

21. @ David
    I like how you described one as UNSUSTAINABLE but the other as more realistic. Aren’t both unsustainable?

22. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Your points are correct. The necessary policies should be developed and implemented. It is important to create a more enabling environment. To achieve this objective, there needs to be a comprehensive structural reform of the public sector (starting with the Barbados Port Authority) which would facilitate an increase in efficiency and effective business facilitation. It is essential for the public sector to deliver high quality government services that will not only build public confidence, but will also facilitate private sector investment at a quicker pace.

23. @Enuff

FDi driven by real state (tourism) depends on use of a finite resource, land no?

FDI driven by an enabling climate with a good requirements framework as Josquin intimates is better no?

Businesses can be sold as going concerns, they employ people and their nature can be diversified to mitigate against sectoral risk.

24. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@ Enuff

I maintain that the DLP was all about this island telling Barbadians how corrupt the BLP were, and how they intend to bring transparency to government operations. The DLP had 14 years to plan and develop the FOI and integrity legislation. They must have had some plan going into three elections. Now it is 14 + 3 = 17 years and still no plan.

25. Josquin Desprez
    LOL, doan tek life sa serious my frien. Tamorro is anudda day n de followin day is anudda day too. Jus chill. How you could call me illiterate? I is a Roads-scholar. Kno ya place.

BAF
    LOLLLLLLLLLL, ya instigata.

Islandgal
    I put down de Absolute, but de bottle emptee. hic, hiccccccccc

Rose Art
    de absolut, i kno bout but de goose neck got me puzzle. wah is dah?

Observer
    ya burnin pun all four cylindas, doan ease up.

Yes ta all de questions pun you questionaire. I pass nor not? LOLL

Hants
    Tanks fa dah lil Barry White. Ya should see ma hay ‘grindin’ pun de chair man. Lawdddddd, rock n groove n grindddddddddddd.
    Hants, I want you ta pull up dis chune fa my husban Negroman. We gettin marrid nex Sat’da. Dis is de chune, “I couldn’t take it again’ by Marlin Greene.
    We gun play dah when we sineing de papers.
    Doan faget. Pull um up fa ma.

26. And hotels are not businesses that can be sold and employees kept employed and their nature diversified? And foreign businesses setting up don’t also require the same finite land resources? And depending on the nature of the business specific locations and infrastructure?
    Just recall that based on the BHTA’s President recent comments, the villa sector saved our tourism industry this past season. In the absence of these villas would the tourists have still come to Barbados and stayed in the the hotels or vacationed in St.Barts or one of the other many destinations with sun, sea, sand and villas?
    As I said before, it is all about timing and making the best of opportunities. No one has been able to offer any real alternatives as yet. Did I hear a green economy? Will not happen anytime soon. Lowe, Kellman and the others don’t have a clue what they are talking about.

27. @Enuff

You missed the part about mitigating sector risk.

28. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Correct once again.

What we fail to realize is that land is a scare resource. The fundamentals of economics will tell you that the world faces a problem of scarcity (the condition in which human wants are forever greater than the available supply of time, goods, and resources). The economist calls resources factors of production and divide them into three categories: land, labour, and capital.

Because of the perpetual problem of scarcity, no society has enough resources to produce all the goods and services necessary to satisfy all human wants, which forces people to make choices. Economics is the study of how a society chooses to utilize and allocate its resources to the production of goods and services.

There is not enough land in Barbados for everyone to get a villa, condominium, bungalow, chattel house, or a one roof. Therefore, continuing on a path of real estate will not be sustainable, even if Barbados was as big as Guyana.

29. Even Mia admitted to the need to transform the economic sectors of Barbados when she was leader of the opposition. She estimated 15 years it would take if memory is good.

30. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

I personally think that it is wrong to compare the recession of the early 1920s to the current recession. There were a number of variables that have to be included to illustrate the differences. For example, the USA and the major countries in Europe were going through the industrial revolution; the style of management during that period was autocratic, and workers deliberately worked below capacity, hence productivity was extremely low; and a number of experiments in management were being undertaken so as to determine the best one way to get the job done and improve productivity. Additionally, many economists came to the fore, including John Maynard Keynes, whose model of Keynesian economics is still being used today.

What is rather interesting, I have not heard of any economists (at UWI, Central Bank, or in the private sector) coming to the fore and suggesting innovative new economic measures, as Keynes did. Instead we are having back and forth arguments about Central Bank figures, and which political party is at fault for Barbados’ current situation by the armchair economist, while the real economist have taken a text book approach to the situation, and disagree with each other. The reasons for their disagreements can be explained by the difference between positive economics (analysis limited to statements that are verifiable) and normative economics (analysis based on value judgment).

The conclusion is that economists’ forecasts can differ because, using the same methodology, they can agree that A causes B, but disagree over the assumption that A will occur. When considering this debate, we must make sure to separate the arguments into their positive and normative components. This distinction will allow us to determine if we are choosing a course of action based on factual evidence or on opinion.

31. @Josquin

Interesting last comment which gives a lot to ponder.One of the advantages of having a homegrown university should be to deliver the calibre of brain to the Caribbean space to develop solutions to fit our region.

Instead what we are seeing is a paucity of relevant research to build out the kind of solutions you touched on, we have become subsumed by the power of globalization.

Yes we have to compete in a global space but we have to do so driven by our unique environment which would help to give us a competitive edge.

Who says it will be easy but we have to lay the foundation for it to happen.

32. David
    Do you recognize that neither the DLP nor BLP supporters on this blog never call for the implementation of FOI and Integrity legislation?
    These are two pieces of legislation that would stop all the talk about corruption because the public would have a right to know and can get the information.
    For example the Trinidad Prime Minister stayed at a private home after she won the elections and then the owner of the house got a government contract.She is now before the Integrity Commission for that.
    I want to see that happening in Barbados.

33. @Enuff
    If you think that i do not not know that you are mastaken. What I will not accept is people trying to portay the DLP as inept and full of thieves and forget what heppened during the last fourteen years. of the BLP reign.

Getting legislation from SG Chambers is a patenly slow process. As I said before, i support integrity legislation which should allow for whistle blowing.

@Josquin
    Barbados has a liberal approach to granting work permits to the point where it is being abused. We have an immigation policy which is innovative. People requesting work permits for employees must submit all the relevant information and in a timely manner, and notat the last minute and then expect to be served expeditiously ahead of others.

Barbados has one of the best structured Public Service, a little tinkering is needed as far as measuring output. Promotion needs to be baed on merit , for example, there need to promote people based on output, competency, qualification and the ability to lead, and not based on incestuous relationship and connection. Those who dont produce should be censored including the politicians.

Because of the high cost of doing business here, the strategy of service was used at a model of development. However, after the incentives offered to companies expire, they look for cheaper destinations where wages are very low and that is the nature of MNCs and the cylce continues.

34. @Observer

Barbados has one of the best structured Public Service, a little tinkering is needed as far as measuring output. Promotion needs to be baed on merit , for example, there need to promote people based on output, competency, qualification and the ability to lead, and not based on incestuous relationship and connection. Those who dont produce should be censored including the politicians.

If the above was true for any private sector company would it not be reasonable to opine that it would not be competitive?

35. Nowadays attracting FDI is not solely about what the firm desires but even more importantly where its current and future ex-pat employees are willing to live and work. So an enabling environment it’s not just about improving public sector efficiency but also the presence of bars, restaurants, golf courses, polo fields and ‘high end’ housing.

@Josquin Deprez
    Agree ref land housing.

36. @Josquin

The problem we have it that development is looked at from purely an economic persective, but development must also be seen from a political and social perspective. Any new model of development should not only include the economist, but the sociologist and the political scientist as well.

37. @David

You cannot comapare the Public Sector with the Private Sector for their strategic objectives are different, one is social in nature, while the others is supposed to obtain the highest returns on investment for its shareholders.

38. @Josquin Desprez: “Because of the perpetual problem of scarcity, no society has enough resources to produce all the goods and services necessary to satisfy all human wants, which forces people to make choices.

But… This is a zero-sum game. Isn’t it?

While some are sucking at a vacuum, others are holding the release valve where there is pressure.

Aren’t they?

39. Observer,
    You left out the key component. The three pillars of development are: Social-Economic-Environment. Political Scientist?

40. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

“One of the advantages of having a homegrown university should be to deliver the calibre of brain to the Caribbean space to develop solutions to fit our region.”

I could not have said it better myself. When one does a PhD in any subject, that individual is obligated to do research on a continuous basis. The UWI have been producing many academics, however, how many of them are doing post graduate studies in economics? How many of them are pursuing qualifications that can help the Caribbean develop and compete with the world at large. We have students reading for degrees such as History and Psychology, Political Science, etc, just to say that they have a degree, yet their employment choices are limited.

Since the Caribbean islands have small open developing economies, this global economic crisis can be considered as an “external shock factor”, which has affected our economies directly and indirectly (through income and wealth effects). This recession should be seen as an opportunity for us to look at the tertiary level education in the Caribbean, and revise the structure of the system, so as to prepare us with viable solutions should there be a more severe occurrence of a crisis in the future. However, we are juggling with the thought of applying Keynesian or classical economic theories to the crisis, instead of developing economic strategies that are compatible with the sophisticated nature of Caribbean financial markets.

For example, during the great depression, the classical economists’ prescription was “to wait and see”, because the economy will self correct to full employment in the long run. Election in the US was approaching at the time, and there was political pressure to do something about the recession immediately.

41. @Observer

Are you saying the public sector should escape having to implement a performance management system?

42. No I was responding to your question. Measurement of performance in the Public Service is not easy, if your memory serves you correctly, Public Sectore Reform was one of the centre piece of the BLP and yet the Public Sector is not reformed.

In some aspect of the private sector output can be measured, for example, how long should it take a machinist to stitch a pant or shirt considereing all things are equal. Can you determine how long it should take a person to researh a matter, or how long it should take David to write a speech or Cabinet Paper or produce draft legistlation. All i am saying it is a complex process, but we must start somewhere and that is to ensure that people dont spend the time on telephone gossiping, or take unsually long lunch hours or use Governemt vehicles to conduct their private business.

Change must be done on an incremental basis.

43. @Observer

Any output can be measured. The much touted social partnership needs to make it happen.

44. @ David
    Totally agree with you about measurement, and in some government departments quarterly work plans with targets are already being used.

@ Josquin Perez
    I am not so sure the issue is whether or not one’s undergraduate degree is in History or Psychology or Political Science. What is important is that those degrees instill critical thinking skills as students with these degrees go on to postgraduate study in different subject areas.

45. @ Observer

How does accusations with no evidence become fact, blockhead. You still have not categorised the actions of your party.

I often hear people talking about an approach using land is not sustainable, but I keep asking what economic activity can take place that does not require a building and building requires land, unless we are doing all internet knowledged based services. Even those require a building, which requires land. The issue is how much return is produced by that activity versus the land consumed to house the activity. What FDI can you attract if people cannot purchase land to execute the project? With China suctioning FDI at enormous rates, there is little appetite for investment in C’bbean except around tourism, which takes up land. But it is the same if you attract factories, the same if you attract banks, data services firms etc The issue is what ar ethe returns?

The issue of productivity is critical to managing the way forward in both public and private sectors. Yet it has not been attacked frontally. Breakthrough means changing mindsets. It is the only way to reduce ineffciency, wastage and to improve output. Thus giving the nation greater output for its resources.

We are in a very tight spot as ably pointed out in above posts. The gov’t is in a jam caused by external crisis and poor policies. The second wave of bad news is the fact that it is being forecasted that poor economic performance in US and Europe will lead to stagflation and another bout of slow and no growth. So wither Barbados. We are in no shape to contend with this.

46. @Bajan Truth

Sure you are familiar with the approach Singapore took, their FDI strategy straddles hotels, restaurants, manufacturing, financial services etc.

In Barbados most of it seems to be about selling land to the rich and famous, developing golf courses etc.

You are correct there is no easy answer but whatever we do it has to be well though out, be part of a plan which does not dig a hole for Barbados.

47. @Bajan Truth

You are so smart, tell this blog what method is used to measure output in the public service. Firstly when the Estimates of Revenus and Expenditure are prepared no scientific way of determining output is/has been arrived at, even though there is supposed to be progamme budgeting; that is the siad estimates are supposed to determine what output will be achieved. Every three months, Departments?Ministries are supposes to provide a report with the results achieved, but you know what Mr. Know All, find out how many departments/ministries respond to the request and tell this blog?

Reason being, you have to have structured Management Information Systems in place to monitor at the tactical and operational levels and when these are functioning, information for strategic level will be easily obtained and therein lie the problems in the Public Service.

I await your repsonse MR. Bright Spark.

Anything can me measured, but you have to first determine the methodoly and studies MUST be undertaken. Dont you think studies and counter studies were done after the WWWs to determine how to measure output. Those of you who have not been directly involved in socail investigation will believe that it might be an easy exercise, but trust me it is not easy. You have to find a way of sifting out truth from fictions, for example, if I know that you are observing me in a study, Ican look busy doing nothing, I can tell you what I think you want to hear, or if I am being interviewed about the lenght of time it will take me to research and write a ten miniute speech etc. I can lie to the hilt etc. Ask the Productivty Council if a produtivity bonus was attempted for Public Officers and what happened?

I am one who believe that some Public Offices dont deserve to ddraw their salaries at the end of the month. Note I use the word draw deliberately. Those in the system would know better than the armchair theorists.

48. The above should also be directed at Enuff as well, the most inteligent person on this blog. LOL

49. @observer

Performance Management is not as hard as you make out.

What is hard is both political parties and unions committing to make it work because the patrimony we know exist would be exposed and the union’s job would become a little harder because a blacket/across the board increase would not cut it any longer.

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply