Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

Promotion in the Public Service is suppose to be the sole purview of the Public Service Commission in accordance with the Constitution, but is it really so? Before going into their role, it would be best to have some appreciation of the origins of services commissions.

The first civil service commission was established in Britain in 1855. It was intended to be an independent and impartial body with responsibility for recruitment of persons to the civil service. Its role was essentially to deliver a civil service that was apolitical that would serve and give honest advice to whichever political party that forms the Government. To achieve this goal, the commission was solely responsible for the recruitment, appointment, promotion and discipline of civil servants. Prior to this, jobs in the civil service were dispensed on the basis of patronage.

In Barbados, the Public Service Commission was established with the same lofty principles as the original British commission and its independence was enshrined in the Constitution. However, the constitutional amendments of 1974 opened a highway for politicians to shuttle their supporters in droves into the Public Service. Effectively, the Public Service Commission was side-stepped for recruitment into the Public Service, since most persons were recruited as temporary officers, and temporary employment was the purview of the Minister responsible for Establishments. Politicians therefore cornered the market on first appointment to the Service.

Except for promotions at the level of permanent secretary and head of department which became the responsibility of the Prime Minister, the Public Service Commission retained the responsibility for promotion in the Service. Those promotions were governed by an elaborate set of procedures set out in the Public Service Regulations which provided the only obstacle preventing politicians and senior public officers from promoting their handpicked candidates.

A person who had been overlooked for promotion had an avenue for objection based on the regulations. All that changed with the passage of the Public Service Act which became effective on December 31, 2007. That Act wiped out any semblance of fair play that existed under the old regulations.

Promotions in the Public Service are now purportedly done in accordance with the Recruitment and Employment Code which is the First Schedule to the Public Service Act. It requires that vacancies should be advertised, and the applicants would then be interviewed. Unfortunately, for most of the best candidates, the appointments seem predetermined. We are now witnessing a phenomenon where persons are appointed to specialised areas of the Public Service without any previous exposure to the work of the particular ministry or department, on the basis that they did a good interview.

The interview plus another provision in the Act, where the Minister can change the qualifications required for a post, without notice, have been used with surgical precision to remove otherwise suitable candidates from the line up. Alternately, they have been used to ease unsuitable persons into jobs for which they were previously unqualified to the detriment of serving officers who do not have the appropriate political or familial connections.

Persons who were overlooked are then required to train the successful candidate. As a result they are poorly trained or the officers with the institutional knowledge take leave of the Public Service.

In the original Public Service Act there was a provision where departmental vacancies of less than three months could be filled from within without advertisement. It would appear that even those short term promotions were too much for officer without connections. The Act was amended in 2009 to allow those posts to be filled for up to 12 months, without reference to any officers that are serving in the particular ministry or department, simply by saying, “the Commission considers, in the interest of the Public Service, that the appointment is necessary for the effective functioning or good administration of the relevant Ministry or department”. That amendment has completed the neutering process of the Public Service Commission that was started by the constitutional amendments of 1974.

The Public Service Commission has now become a rubber stamp for the system of patronage that has now reasserted itself to become the method of appointing and promoting public officers.

115 responses to “Promotion In The Public Service”

1. @caswell

you were annoyed when it was rumoured of your interference with your stepdaughter, why would you have to attack carson with such a low blow, you wouldnt like your issue to resurface, so refrain from such behaviour.

I think you need to establish a code for the BU family, else you are going to have smutty blogging.

2. @Observer

It seems you are the one entering smut land by referencing a rumour.

Are you being mischievous?

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observer
    I don’t recall referring to any person who made such charge about me. I have nothing to hide that is why I can come out swinging without fear. My life is an open book: I have done nothing in private or public that can come back to haunt me so far. Come from behind your psuedonym and make the charge. I need the money.

4. David I have been on a self imposed ban. I haven’t posted on BFP for a very long time so thanks to CCC for posting the link.

There should be a broad discussion on BU with regards to how land is bought and sold and how The PM and Town Planning are part of a system that favours the rich and disadvantages the poor.

I gine fuh my second cup, pass by the river, fish lill bit an come back an “watch paint dry”ie. Windies cricket.

5. @Caswell
    David advise us to hide behind a pseudonyms. You want money to shore you up. You would hae to sue BU and David is your backer so you wont want to sue him.

You see how you repsonded. Just let us blog and attack people’s view points, but dont go low as all of us have the ability to do so.

I am sorry, but I just wanted to see how caswell will respond to that. He should put himself in other persons position when he attack them personally. I promise you that my blogging will not be smutty.

Some years ago when Barbadians were concerned about the high cost of land and the fact that a number of non-barbadians were buying up land here, I remember Dane Billie Miler refuting that charge. Now Bizzy is saying land to expensive for developers, what about prospective land owners.
    David dontt we need to restict ownership of land in Barbados and prevent the mafia landowners from acquiring land and creating a shortage on the market. I want to be able to leave land for my children, but it is becoming impossible, unless i can link with the Minister of Housing and beg him to sell me some the cheap land, but what price would I have to pay?

6. @David

Maybe BU was a little generous regarding Arthur’s policy on consultants.
    You show wise judgment in walking back your earlier statement as it was far from the truth.
    I’ve been critical of various operations of the Civil Service in the past but there are many competent Civil Servants who were frustrated by the number of consultants who were parachuted into their midst by the Arthur Gov’t to frustrate their tasks. In the last election if memory serves all of the BLP candidates with one exception were on the Gov’t payroll either as elected representatives or as Gov’t consultants.
    Here is an example how a consultant was appointed by the last Gov’t: An MP who represented a Christ Church riding started to publicly criticize the Gov’t and by extension his boss (Arthur), complaining that not enough was being done in his constituency either in the form of housing or jobs by the Gov’t. The political watchers were bemused that this MP would “fly in the face” of the PM so publicly. The BLP couldn’t afford a fight played out in the media between the Party and one of its MPs in the run up to the election so he was made an offer he couldn’t refuse i.e. consultant to a Ministry, in effect he was receiving his salary as an MP and his pay as a consultant no doubt with gratuity at the end of the contract (a double dipper if you will). Thereafter criticism from the MP was never heard again.
    However a new consultant with no experience or knowledge in a particular field was born and attached to a Ministry, which Ministry you asked?
    The Ministry of Education

7. @sargeant
    what about Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes, Conrad Hunte, the Gill man, Duncan Carter and a host of others.

I also hear this curent administration have some, but not of much and anybody knowing should post the information here for a comparison. Where is George Pilgrim is he a consultant and Cramson Browne. Can anybody tell us how much money they are paid for their consultancies. Power corrupts and absolute politics corrupts politics absolutely.

8. Under which ‘Head’ is salary for consultants found?

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is not only consultants that invade the Public Service. The National Insurance Board has appointed a number of persons to what they call Board post. Unfortunately, there are no such thing: the NIS Board does not have authority to employ staff.
    Section 11 of the National Insurance and Social Security Act states:
    “The Minister shall, by order under section 2 of the Civil Establishment Act, establish the offices which shall constitute the offices on the Board’s establishment, which offices shall for all purposes be deemed to be offices in the public service.”
    Nonetheless, the NIS Board illegally appoint staff and illegally pay them from NIS funds. Ask yourself who are these so called Board post employees.

The General Secretaries of both major trade unions are members of the Board and this nonsense is allowed with them sitting there. You could only wonder.

10. The fact the Board Posts are illegal according to Caswell are they political or subject matter experts?

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observer

Take it easy, “sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me”.

I don’t expect to tell CASWELL FRANKLYN about his namsy pamsy STORIES AND HE REPLYING,”OH, THANK YOU”.

He will come out swinging because he realises that there is at least one person who is not taken in by his hogwash.

The truth of the matter is that CASWELL’s contract was not renewed and he is now on the outside looking in and that has him mad as a hatter.

Simple.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observer

Can you think of any place other than Barbados where,very often, truth can not be used as a defence before certain people threaten to take money out of your pocket?

13. ha ha ha hold him CCC. I don’t really care for your partisan political commentary; nevertheless, I also don’t care about public unions, and their issues. This Mottley link to Arch Cot is big news.
    lol!

14. @Adrian

To be fair to Caswell this submission is about how the civil service has been sabotaged by the politicians. With respect to you public salaries account for 35% of the public purse. The Motley connection tells us what we all know, someone is doing a hatchet job on Mottley.

15. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@CARSON CA-DOG-AN

how does it feel to have ur toilet eating business out there? only an immature fool would try to put an issue where it does not belong, even when it is obvious no one gives a damn

@observer
    the fact that u use a alias to bring crap about caswell shows your level of development. u should not be here, u belong to elementary school. u might just be a partner in shit sucking. leave the toilet and smell fresh air

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

smooth chocolate

Your submission shows how wrong you BLP people can be.

No wonder you are on the opposition benches.

17. Walter tell us why you came back to BARBADOS BEFORE YOUR VOCATION WAS UP LAST YEAR( or we can check with your cousin –may be kennedy international airport )
    super politician you should know better you have too many dirty cloths to be attacking others , check yourself and please come clean for once ,you cried like a little child when Davis Thompson died – he save you -remember that slap and i want some of that , your day will come ,even if its next five years – can you then take your punishment or reward – think obout all those dirty things you have done to poor workers –hope your days be good

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Since you know that it is a hatchet job, tell us which part is wrong.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian

“I don’t really care for your partisan political commentary;”

I don’t know what you are talking about.

I am the fairest and most balanced on this blog. I am trying very hard to prevent LIES from being accepted as the TRUTH. This blog is now full of Jokers who are trying very hard to REVISE HISTORY. I am on the side of TRUTH, RIGHT and CORRECT HISTORY.

I am not DAVID I will not change because it might be expedient.

20. SUPER POLITICIAN Avatar
    SUPER POLITICIAN

@ Robert,

I don’t believe we have met, therefore you don’t have the privilege to act as if you know me, my dirty clothes start and finish at replying to wild sporadic acquisitions made by idiots named Robert.
    When you have a real topic lets talk real politics, that was a really wild bluff.

21. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@Carson C. Cadogan | May 15, 2011 at 4:25 PM |
    “Your submission shows how wrong you BLP people can be.”

how stupid or blind can u people be? u mean that if u make a point for or against, then it automatically dictates that u belong to a party? stupesssssssssssss. i NEVER have nor NEVER will join any political party in Barbados. i don’t care a rat’s bottom about any party. BUT i will say this – if MIA MOTTLEY forms a party then i will join. i have ALWAYS admired her brilliantness in many issues and after what that alcoholic and other old dogs did to her, i was firmer in my resolve to support her any time i have the opportunity

22. @smoothChocolate
    How ironic, is that your real name?
    When caswell needs to be attacked he should be he is no saint and he has a history of repating things that was discussed with him and his employers on the blog and that is a man you cannot trust. if he has an axe to grind with his former employer he should not do it openly on the blog. That is why he was fired twice from the union, he has now become unemployable as no employer in barbados will employ him.

it is good that i am at elemantary level and can present logical argument, that means if i were at secondary level I would be a master.

@carson

Do not let caswell frighten you, keep blogging but keep it clean. Name calling does not help to advance an issue.

What I like baout you is that you would admit when you are wrong and that tell you something about you. That is you are human like all of us, except caswell who thinks that he is a super-human

23. @David

Consultants are not paid salaries, I heard that they are paid from professional services. Consultanst are supposed to be self emplyed and should pay their own NIS and Income Tax, but do they pay them?

24. @Observer

It does not matter the classification of how they are paid it comes from the public purse and has to be budgeted. Under which head?

About Caswell, it has to be someone who has to pay the price to expose the rotten system always.

25. @David
    I said Professional Services that is the head.

I have no problem with Mr. Franlyn, but when he attacks he should exspect a counter attack, that what war is about. I am not saying that the systems in the public and private sectors do not nees reforming.

And believe me there are rotten systems in the private sectors that is why comsumers pay so much for commodities. Do you know why gasoline is so expensive in Barbados. Does the name Sol means anything to you. Please investigate and comeback and tell this blog of your findings.

26. Hello World
    HELLO
    Hello
    Stop now and look within
    Barbados Public Service needs reform but you know what there is no trust not even Aaron Truss

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observer

Amen,brother.

28. @ccc you are welcome.
    @Tina Roach not only the Public Service needs reforming, but our archaic Private Sector, look how thre insurance companies milk us, the commodity traders, the banks, the car importers, the telphonce companies, the electirc compnay: the sole monoply, the land developers, the home contractors etc.

29. @David
    So the public servants and their unions are now to be classfied as victims?

t

30. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Consultants and other jobs

Undene Whittaker – Poverty Alleviation Adviser; Colin Spencer – Manager, National Stadium; Haldane Dottin – Chairman, Caves of Barbados; Irene Sandiford-Garner – Senator and Parliamentary Secretary – Ministry of Health; Francis DePeiza – QEH Board; Austin Husbands – Deputy Chairman, BTA (he can be seen at every event overseas representing the BTA); all of these person ran in the last election.
    Hartley Henry – Political Adviser; Peter Wickham – Political Consultant at CBC; Hamilton Lashley – Consultant on Poverty; Cranston Browne – replaced Mark Williams as Special Events Co-ordinator; Reudon Eversley (DLP Communications Director) – Director of News and Current Affairs at CBC; Hugh Foster – consultant, Ministry of Tourism;

More to come.

31. @Josquin

I also want you to give this medium the names who had consultant positions under the BLP to have a balance so that Barbadians can deduce for themselves.

Also, I want you and Caswell to address why the PA positions were created. I dont want a one sided discussion.

32. @carson

You can show the list of BLP supportes who had consultancies or high paying Jobs, I can assit you, start with you David Shorey, Rodney Wilkinson I cant rember the other two JAWS’ members (you can ask Mascoll and also ask him about the hardwood thing and who benefitted from that and why no body got locke up at all). What about the man that had the big contracts to import for the government cant remeber he anme, but it will come back. It is said that he made millions and he cant be poor in his lifetime. Hamy Lah was a consultan too (I have no respect for him). Gordon Greenige, Desmond Haynes, Sir Garfiled Sobers, Sir Conrad Hunte,Mackie Holder, Mark Williams, David Gill, Shirley King,
    Duncan Carter, Joe Edhill,the Sacantleburry man, the Agrad guy(the one this administration had to stop the benefits he was getting because owen said he felt for him and give him a little something). There are much more Carson. Dont disappoint I called a few people and they helped me.

By the way who were the politicians that had hotels that benfitted under the gems project. What about the scandal with Dodds Prison and and the award of the contract, what about the National Housing Headqurters and the Barrck Building at Warrens and what role did Georgie Porgie played .

33. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@ Observer

In your contribution on May 15, 2011 at 8:20 AM, you listed a number of persons who were employed as consultants under the previous BLP administration, and in no way did you balance your comments by naming any consultants appointed under the present administration. Now, please excuse my limited education, but by doing so, did you not bring a one sided argument, sir.

Shortly after the elections, David Thompson was featured in the media discussing the number of consultants employed by the previous administration as well as the salaries that they were paid. I agree that this was wrong. However, after condemning that situation, his administration replaced the BLP consultants with DLP personnel. The more thing change the more they remain the same. These are issues you should be concerned with. Wrong does not become right when the party you like is in “power”.

So sir, I do not have to bring balance, you listed those under the BLP and I listed some under the DLP, “Barbadians can deduce for themselves”.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observer

I will take a back seat and leave it up to you.

Some people on this want it to appear as though I am crazy and don’t know what I am saying.

At least somebody else remembers.

The name you are probably looking for starts with HALLAM.

35. @josquin
    I am a floating voter and have no party loyalty at this time and i can criticize both b and d. Hope you understand that so you dont go labelling me. I admire two persons from the d and they are donville and michael lasley, in fact I now reconsider my grading and have given them an A+ how you like that.
    @Carson yes thats the name. How you like mah though, if Josquin vex mah ah gun get the rest of the names, he better dont attack me cause i will join up with u and and all hell will break loose because we will become a dangerous combination, but then a gain you can handle yourself from what I can see.

@Josquin
    In politics politicains will reward their supportes, but I dont think it should be largesse, if the consutancy if needed should be tied to ouputs, not like under the last adminisrtion where every som cooch and the duppy had a consultancy. I remembered what David Thompson said and I am aware that politicains tell us what we want th hear and do the opposite.

I am sure if a comaprative analysis is done, the DLP will come out smelling like a rose.

When the party you support is in opposition, should their misdeed be forgotten?

36. @observer: “…and I am aware that politicains tell us what we want th[sic] hear and do the opposite.

So why do we accept it if it is so obviously wrong?

37. @Cjhristoper

Have you read the bookthe Hero and the Crowd, i think that is what is was called. Get hold of it and read it.

38. Off topic, it not interesting the Privilege Committee met and suspended former PM Patrick Manning over comments he made about Kamla’s house in Trinidad but in Barbados no word about the Estwick Marshall gun incident which occurred in parliament no less!

39. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@Observer
    “I am sure if a comaprative analysis is done, the DLP will come out smelling like a rose.”

Utter nonsense.

First of all, anyone who makes a contribution to this blog and it is not in favour of the DLP, they are insulted and labelled as being biased and a supporter of the BLP. Let me remind all contributors that whatever wrongs the BLP did during their term in office, THEY PAID THE ULTIMATE PRICE BY LOSING THE ELECTIONS 20 TO 10. They were convincingly voted out of office, and now form the opposition as a result of the DLP’s resounding victory.
    While in opposition, the DLP went across the length and breadth of this island pushing the corruption agenda and what they would do to eradicate corruption when elected. For example, during his speech at the DLP Delegates Conference (August 26, 2007) David Thompson said: “The next general elections in Barbados will be the first elections in the history of Barbados in which the finger of corruption can reasonably and correctly be pointed at senior members of an incumbent administration.” Thompson also said: “I am confident that they (fellow parliamentarians) will join with me in a new era of public accountability and will sign on before the election result to a code of conduct for persons holding public office including a declaration of assets, support for new integrity and public accountability laws, the strengthening of the Public Accounts Committee and an overhaul of the public tendering system.” Thompson skilfully manipulated this issue, and sought to present the DLP as the party that epitomised morality.
    With all the talk about corruption, forensic audits, enquiries, the promise of transparency, accountability, and the freedom of information and integrity legislation within the first 100 days, surely if the DLP were serious they would have enacted such legislation by now. They had 14 years while in opposition to draft some sort of legislation, and 3 years in government to make the draft a reality. The DLP had 14 years to plan how they would go about investigating the corruption, the $750 million cost overruns, and to prosecute those individuals in the BLP who they insinuated that were responsible for the corruption. The DLP had more than enough time to develop the code of conduct and a process by which members of parliament would declare their assets; to review the system of awarding contracts; strengthen the Public Accounts Committee; and create the office of Contractor General.
    I see no fundamental differences between the two parties, and it shows me the DLP is not serious.

40. I only heard about corruption in the BLP from the mouths of the DLP during the campaign 2008 and a few months prior to the end of the 2003 -2008 session of the BLP administration

41. If you feel threatened by a man with a gun and fear for your life, would you follow the man or hastily move in the opposite direction?

42. @Alien

The issue for BU is the long time it is taking the Committee of Privilege in Barbados to deal with this matter.

43. @Josquin

Please think before you write the $750m occured in year one of the BLP reign, so how could the DLP have had fourteen years to investage that amount?

The electorate will decide in about atleast 21months who should run the country.

What I would agree with you is that there is no difference between the thinking of the two parties when in opposition. They promiser to bring down the heavens and the stars.

Can you remember when under the BLP it was stated persons in posssession of a gun or using it would have been a serious offence, was the requsite legistaion passed to that effect.

Did you remember the BLP promising Civil Service Reform, wa there any meaningful reform except to promote supporters of the BLP?

The BLP spent huge sums on the St. Joseph Hospital Inquiry and what did it contain to destory Mr. Tait.

What has become of the report the Owen had on his desk?

Yes I am awiting the integrity legislation and personally i dont see the need for a contractor general if it is going to be a wasteful exercise like the Ombusman or the Pan African Commission.

44. @ Carson Cadogan

where you gone?

45. @Josquin

Simply state your points and be prepared to defend them.

Labels are all part of the cut and thrust of the political debate.

Isn’t DLP supporter Carson Cadogan accusing BU of being a BLP sympathetic blog?

What is new?

46. @ Jopsquin

THe DLP was in power for only three years and almost four months. You want them accomplish everything in that time.
    By the way, do you know how long it take for S G chambers to develop legistlaion years, if you doubt me check with any Minister or Head of a Ministry, and I am sure that you would know some.

47. @Caswell

Notice you have been getting alot of airplay of late, on Brasstacks, centrefold in the Business Authority…

To what do you owe this popularity?

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am saying the things that everyone knows is true but they are afraid to speak up. Additionally, I provide a lot useful information that make people aware of their rights.

49. @ David
    ….and he has been endorsed by the bushman… except for the airport camera thing…. ROTFLOL

50. Have you noticed those who have been attacking Caswell are not bringing facts to overturn his positions?

It is good traditional media has seen it fit to give him a voice.

Leave a Reply to Caswell FranklynCancel reply