81 responses to “Where Is Ben?”

1. MAY 21
    MAY 21
    MAY 21
    ————————————————–
    THE END

2. A quote from the newspaper ad
    The Bible declares that ‘ No man knows’ is describing the unsaved condition of mankind .if you (sic) are saved then we (sic) may know all things spiritually discerned in God’s word

Read it for yourself in the paper

There was a time when was in the paper was gospel

3. Johnny Postle Avatar

The thing with this hold J’can rape by barbados immigration officer(s) would not have gotten this far if cameras were installed. In the abscence of such, the world has a right to believe this woman’s story and Barbados has right to call her a liar. The only ones who know the truth are the same woman, the immigration officers involve and the evidence to prove who telling lies (which gone thru the eddoes because of no cameras). What ever the outcome I hope Barbados start thinking new age instead of old age.

4. The reflection in the picture shows the rear of Cave Shepherd where that Cloister book store is or was.

The Anglican priest was very wrong to put it in the way he did, “buying a pig in a bag”. In his position he should be encouraging people to wait until marriage before engaging in sex, but what he should also have advised is that if persons find it difficult to wait until marriage, they should use birth control and protect themselves from STDs until they are really sure that they want to marry or be in a long term monogamous relationship with a particular person.

5. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Rats!! He is definitely singing about Caribbean politicians.,except those who are not in politics to make friends.

6. The priest’s argument is that the bible doesn’t speak to pre-marital sex. I would submit that the bible does speak to the matter.

The bible says that if you are unmarried and you are burning up with sexual urges and can’t contain yourself, then you should go and get married. For it is better to marry than to burn with urges.

It does not say go and get a “little piece” and cool the heat until you get married.

Maybe Charles Morris should read 1 Cor 7:8-9.

The bible is so concern about sex outside of marriage that it says that if one looks at someone lustfully that is a sin (adultery) if one, or both are married. The bible therefore speaks to if neither party is married, or if either party is married.

(Mat 5:28)

This thing has caused such a stir, that CBC will be discussing it on The People’s Business. The Bishop of Barbados hasn’t said anything that I’m aware. Rev. Errington Massiah has said he does not agree with pre-marital sex, so there is a split in the Anglican church in Barbados. Firstly it was division on gay Bishops, and now this. One reverend is saying one thing, and another something else. This is why the bishop should disclose where the Anglican church lies on this matter.

What is happening is that persons have entered the church to destroy it from within (Trojans). These people labelled themselves Christians, but are not interested in following true Christianity. We shall know them by their fruits.

7. @Anonymous | May 14, 2011 at 4:35 PM | The bible says that if you are unmarried and you are burning up with sexual urges and can’t contain yourself, then you should go and get married. For it is better to marry than to burn with urges.
    ===================
    Yeah, but realistically only a fool would rush to marriage for the sole reason of cooling sexual urges. Suppose the result is a marriage that is miserable and unhappy? There are many other expectations to be met in a marriage besides sex alone. Sometimes it can take very long to find a truly compatible partner who is available for marriage.
    So rather than being unrealistic, I think it is just important that people protect their health, and don’t get unplanned babies who may end up being deprived of having both loving parents in the home.

8. Anonymous
    So in other words, if you can’t control your sexual urges and you’re a christian/churchgoer, you should get married just to satisfy that desire? Is that what marriage is all about? No wonder we have so many divorces. It really urks me when persons refer to scripture verses when making a case for morality. we’re living in a real world and we’re prone to err. If a couple decides to have sex before marriage, will the God they serve hold it against them n forbid them entering the Pearly Gates? And what does the scriptures say about divorce? Fornication, adultery are just as big a sin as stealing, coveting, lying etc. There’s no big sin, lil sin here.

9. @Zack & Bonny Peppa

The position I’m arguing is that the bible does speak out against pre-marital sex.

As to marriage, one should not rush into marriage without first getting to properly know the person you intend to tie the knot with. This is the reason marriages are failing, probably more so in the church.

If persons were to honestly sit and discuss what likes and dislikes they have before marriage, then a lot more unions would stand a chance.

Whenever I hear couples who have been married for many years they often say that marriage is not an easy task, it is all about giving and taking, they also speak of being friends before, or knowing the person for sometime before the marriage.

As to divorce the bible says:

Mat 5:32 But I say unto you, That whosoever shall put away his wife, saving for the cause of fornication, causeth her to commit adultery: and whosoever shall marry her that is divorced committeth adultery.

Therefore one can only divorce if unfaithfulness comes into play, otherwise you can’t divorce.

10. There you have it, the puzzle is solved. The reflection is indeed Cave Shepherd, the last piece of the puzzle should be easy from here.

11. Anonymous
    We’re on the same page regarding fornication but there are also other ‘sins’ which we commit and are forgiven so why some persons are raising hellfire because Rev. Morrison made a remark regarding ‘sex before marriage, is beyond me.

Another thing, persons marry for all kinds of reasons hence the high divorce rate worldwide. And about not knowing your partner well enough before committing in marriage; I strongly believe that the same way we fall in love, we also fall out of love or it probably wasn’t love in the first place, but rather lust. Lust and love are closely related and can easily be mistaken one for the other.

How does one go about proving ‘unfaithfulness’ for the cause of divorce? And to prove unfaithfulness, wouldn’t one have to be caught in the ‘act’? How easy is that?

Another thing, a lot of these old married couples, sleep in separate beds/rooms for over 30yrs but still claim to be a ‘couple’, especially if they’re regular church-goers. Guess it’s just to keep up the ‘image’.

I doan ga in town so you gun hah fa spell um out fa me. De buildin opposit Cave Shepherd is Bata Shoe store or Kirpalani’s? Tell ma nah. stupseeeeeeee

12. David do you read other Bajan blogs ? Just asking.

13. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Can anybody tell me at what age on average people married in Biblical times?

Isn’t it true that in conservative the Middle Eastern societies then and now girls were/are married soon after their first menstrual period appears (and some then and now were married off even before the first period appeares)

Think how difficult sex must be for these pre-menarche virginal young wives.

Isn’t it true that it is real, real, real easy to abstain from fornication between birth and menrche (the first period)

And isn’t it true that it it is truly difficult to abstain from sex between menarche (the first period) and menopause (the last period)

So isn’t it true that when the Bible speaks about abstaining from sex before marrige the CONTEXT was a society where virtually everybody was married by 16?

Isn’t it true that when we read a text we MUST NOT strip the text of its context.

Isn’t it true that if most of us had married before our 16th birthday our first sexual experience would have been within marriage?

I have a dear friend who worked in Saudi Arabi for many, many, years. She saw (yes in this 21st century) a good number of cases where middle aged husbands brought their wives to hospital because she was “infertile” When the young wife was checked medically her “infertility” was because she had not yet had her first period (but she was a married woman for those of you who feel that married sex is always a good thing; and that unmarried sex is always a bad thing) the medical staff then had to beg the husbands NOT TO HAVE SEX with their wives until after her first period.

So I agree with Charles Morris.

Married sex is not always a good thing.

Unmarried sex is not always a bad thing.

14. @Hants

A few but most of them struggle for content. In fact most Bajans seem to prefer the facebook platform to exchange views.

15. @Random Thoughts

What is also true is that whether we travel by camel, caravan, or concorde, the sins committed 2000 years ago are the sins being committed in 2011. There is nothing new under the sun.

The Anglican church has always tried to justify sin as time advances in order to suite the “times”, hence the acceptance of gay bishops which the bible speak against (homosexuality).

Hence our own enslavement under the banner of Christianity, because it suited the times, men and women were needed to work the plantations.

Today, this church (Anglican) is again metamorphosing by speaking as to the CONTEXT of a sin. I will humbly submit to you and Charles Morris that a sin is a sin, and there are no big sins nor small sins, and these sins are unchanging, same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

The Anglican church continues to change, by moving the goal post, whereas Jesus remains the same.

Churches operate by faith, and if today you say to someone let us hold A to be true, but then come tomorrow and say no, no, let us hold B to be true, as A instant in keeping with our agendas. How will faith be strong in such context?

Because the faith isn’t strong is the reason that church is sleeping with so many different partners in the hope of finding the right fit.

16. The problem with the church it has fallen short and has succumbed to being of “the world. The church should and must be grounded by moral and ethical codes givento them that is founded in their “Blueprint ” called the Bible.remembering “Be ye in the world but not of the world”

17. @ac

Amen to that.

18. To: ‘Guest from JA’. Isn’t Hilary Beckles a Guyanese? And furthermore it is the reputation of Jamaicans that you have to worry about. Where were you when you wrote this post? In Jamaica? It is a shame that you are so narrow minded. GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER!!! Prof. Beckles has a right to his opinion and did you consider the context in which he made the statement that has so riled you?

19. Did David ever explain the intent with this particular thread?

20. @Adrian

Don’t you realize that David is taking the blog to a higher level? Did you read the post about “Quantum Mechanics and Proto Consciousness”? Soon from now he will venture into the field of Existentialism on a fulltime basis and his first task is to find out whom he will be taking with him on this new adventure.

That’s the reason for the cryptic question and the photo, it is a “Where is Waldo” for the eggheads on the blog .Everyone who can be locate “Ben” or can answer the question will be taken along, all others will be part of the “left behind”.

I rest my case 🙂

21. Good one Sarge.

The picture story was a simple one but we created a little mystique around it to expand the debate.

From the reflection like Zack observed we fingered an eating spot which is adjacent to Cave Shepherd.

The rest is down hill from.

22. Please be advised that Charles Morris DOES not speak for the Anglican Church.

Those are his personal views, his and his alone! Charles Morris is not even assigned to a church, I dont even know where he worships. Any priest who took him under his wings got burned by him and so no one wants to touch him with a ten foot pole. So Charles is just looking to stir up trouble and make the Anglican Church look bad.

The Anglican Church still teach its young people about abstinence and that their bodies are the temples of God. Among other things we teach them about AIDS and other diseases that one can get from being promiscuous, we teach them to live godly lives, we also have sessions with our young people about using their finances wisely and the importance of a sound education.

So Charles Morris does not speak for me nor the Anglican Church, he is as good as being ex-communicated/

23. The Bishop of Barbados has now spoken to this issue, and the comments made by Charles Morris are not supported by the Anglican church, nor the bible.

I would reiterate that **1 Cor 7: 8-9** speak to this issue by saying if you can not stand the sexual urges then seek to marry. It is the only verse which speaks to pre-marital sex if your definition of fornication does not include pre-marital sex.

The bible does not say have sex outside of marriage.

24. After a week of controversy Rev. Holder speaks out. Something he should have done sooner.

25. A week is a relative short time especially if they were moves to discuss with Morris first.

Have to admit the Bishop was very forceful in his language.

On the CBC program last night it seems Morris’ former student a young SDA pastor equipped himself well.

Also the fact Rev Morris was dressed in all his robes was not lost on the BU family.

26. A week isa long time. Rev. Holder if he is fully convicted by his teachings and that of the Bible could have supress the controversy a lot sooner and should not have allowed the church to be drawn and drag around into the public domain .

27. The controversy was not about Holder responding but getting Morris to recant. We can agree to disagree. The controversy will not pick up because Morris will not go away quietly if we know the man.

28. What if Morris is right? There is some condemnation from the holier than thou set who have indulged in premarital sex but when a priest pronounces his support for it all hell breaks out.

History is replete with priests who have run afoul of their Church’s teachings Morris wasn’t the first nor will he be the last and it is his opinion which people should accept as one man’s opinion and not get their knickers in a knot.

The Anglican church has tolerated homosexual unions, the Catholic church has denied marriage to its priests, Muslims tolerate marriage to multiple women.

Who is right?

29. The controversy surrounds Morris and the teachings of the church .If one is to believe the church is a body united as one . Then It is incumbent for the leadership to as quickly as possible to repel and and repair any further that can damage the church.The fact that Morris would not recant made the issue more volitile and quick action should have taken before the story took on a life of its own.

30. Sargeant
    I wid you. All dese preachers, pastors, Anglican, Methodist, Adventist, Catholic etc, etc. is a whole bunch a hypocrites. Dem does phoop anyting, anytime n den cum spouting a lotta crap bout ‘mekkin dem body holy temples’ n a whole lotta shoite afta dem run thru de whole congretation both male n female.
    Hell in gun got room enuff fa all a dem. stupseeeeeeeee.

stupseeeeeeeeee, de Bishop is just anotha man. He sayin exactly wah de ‘Godly’ people would expect he ta sa. Dah is all. A bunch a jokers, all a dem.

Prodigal
    Tell ma sumting, afta dese young church-goers dat you teach about abstinence and all de STD’s etc, etc, you believe dat any a dem still contract STD’s or better yet, become promiscuous? stupseeeeeeee, doan ansa.
    Sex is one a de main tings dat keep any relationship afire n if ya partner cannnnnnnnn fulfill dat need, christian or no christian, abstain or refrain before marriage, dat couple gun get some ‘help’ in dem relationship. Maybe from de same Rev. in de chu’ch. fa real. I kno bout Revs n Pastors dat breed women in dem chu’ch den run n beg fa fagiveness. Dem din get de same teaching too? Humankind n sexual desires is one a dem intricate tings dat does mek strange bedfellas. Telling me.

31. Rituals Coffee Shop for those who have not figured it out.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply