This matter was submitted to BU by a concerned Barbadian. BU viewed the video on facebook earlier and cautioned then as we do now that there is not sufficient of a storyline to bash the police BU

I don’t usually write columns, blogs or call in to programs but this video and some of the commentary really concerns me. I believe that we now have two Barbados’ or maybe I am now mature enough to see it.  Without elitist bias, it is hard to call it but there are the ordinary folk (not necessarily privileged) and the ghetto generation (These persons are not necessarily poor nor do they live in ghettos).

Where is the fear/respect of the police? I didn’t see the beginning of the confrontation but I laud the officers for exercising restraint which speaks to good training.  It was easy for one of them to have fired a “warning” shot which could have triggered a real riot!

41 responses to “Confrontation At Reggae On The Hill And What It Portends”

1. So did this take place last Monday at Farley Hill? I’m asking because I didn’t hear anything about it in the news.

2. TrueBajanMan Avatar

@ Zack “I didn’t hear anything about it in the news”

Come from under that rock and bring anyone else under there with you, start living more “internet social” stop depending on what the TV and Paper call news.

3. Some people believe in 2011 that if it is not reported on VoB or the Nation it did not occur. This video is actually old news in social media.

4. @David: “BU viewed the video on facebook earlier and cautioned then as we do now that there is not sufficient of a storyline to bash the police.

I agree. In fact, I would go further, and argue that the police handled themselves extremely well.

I watched this video (twice) frame by frame. I was most impressed by three things:

1. The officer with the assault rifle kept his finger on the trigger guard, not the trigger, the entire time (or, at least, for the two times this could be determined). That shows extremely good training and state of mind.

2. Some of the witnesses wanted to be confrontational — other people pulled them away to prevent them from doing so.

3. No shots were fired. In just about every other country, such a situation would have resulted in shots being fired if not people being killed.

We sometimes forget just how lucky we are to live here in beautiful Bim….

5. I don’ know ’bout wunna, but I see a woman trying to protect a very agitated young man from confronting a police and then out of nowhere anudda police come an’ grabble she up by she neck … Now yah don’ have to see no beginnin’ ah no vidia to know that that is damn foolishness.

Fire what warning shots what …. Those rifles were not loaded … What ever the original provocation, at an event such as that, most of those people can be expected to be high on one thing or the other, even if it is just the music. Some how those police seem just plain old wrong …. as usual!

I had a run in with those special force people and it is my considered opinion that they are amongst the biggest examples of egomaniacal assholes alive today …!

6. @BAFBFP

You always seem to adopt an anti-establishment position.

7. @BAFBFP: “…but I see a woman trying to protect a very agitated young man from confronting a police and then out of nowhere anudda police come an’ grabble she up by she neck …

Yeah. Immediately after she struck the guy. That’s called Assault, BTW. And it’s illegal.

@BAFBFP: “Those rifles were not loaded…

Are you *sure* of that? Would you be willing to bet your life on that assumption? And even if not, try imagining what a rifle butt brought up against a jaw might do to one’s day?

@BAFBFP: “I had a run in with those special force people and it is my considered opinion that they are amongst the biggest examples of egomaniacal assholes alive today …!

And how did *you* manage the situation then? Were you a confrontational asshole? Or did you acknowledge their legal authority and their superior combat ability?

8. There was a time when the Police would have used horses.

9. BAFBFP why did you not confront a policeman on Yonge street when you were up here?
    You would have gotten first hand information to give to the BPF.

10. The point as raised remains.

It seems not too long ago when the police with only batons in hand would be enough to create fear in a similar situation.

Are we wrong?

Is this a behaviour which is new to Barbados?

11. BAFBFP “I had a run in with those special force people.”

Again BAFBFP you need to have a run in with the ETF next time you are in Toronto. You need to make a proper evaluation to compare.

12. David that was then and this is now. There is a problem with gangs and guns in Barbados.

The police should always be prepared just like the home owners in the heights and terraces.

13. @TrueBajanMan | May 7, 2011 at 8:59 PM | @ Zack “I didn’t hear anything about it in the news”
    Come from under that rock and bring anyone else under there with you, start living more “internet social” stop depending on what the TV and Paper call news.
    =========================
    Unlike some people I do have a work life and a REAL social life, so I really don’t care to spend that much time socializing all over the internet.

14. @David | May 7, 2011 at 9:03 PM | Some people believe in 2011 that if it is not reported on VoB or the Nation it did not occur. This video is actually old news in social media.
    ========================
    I asked a simple question and I have to hear all sorts of nonsense. A simple yes or no would have suffice, but some of you folks really have a chip on your shoulders.

15. No shots were fired. In just about every other country, such a situation would have resulted in shots being fired if not people being killed.
    ————————————————
    No people are not usually shot by the police at music festivals.

16. Hants
    The one occasion that I came into a Canadian police was a highlight of my visit … the most pleasant person imaginable!!! For the kind of money that they make it is pretty obvious why such high quality candidates make themselves available. I do not know these ETF people, but as bad as they may be, it does not form a basis to excuse these jackasses

I am anti-establishment because in this neck of the woods too little attention is paid to the protection of average people, even from the low brow domiciles that make up the “force” …! Look really good examples of Barbadian policemen have long since moved on to greener pastures. You sir are guilty of defending mediocrity … and that is a very dangerous thing to do …

CH
    The woman was trying to stop the guy from getting further in trouble…. that is what I saw

When I had that run in, for the most frivolous of reasons, my daughter was with me, and as the ass threatened and asked who the hell I thought I could complain too, I wished him dead, but of course held my peace …!

BTW, the guns WERE NOT LOADED. All rounds (bullets) would have been held in one location, normally a police operations van, and could only have been deployed in extraordinary circumstances (but shhhhhhhh …. the general public ain’ suppose to know …!)

17. low brow domiciles … ha ha ha, I got to start checking after I spell check .ha ha ha ..

18. Guess you are not in this picture BAFBFP.

http://www.canada.com/news/faces+assault+charge/4211507/story.html

Most Toronto cops are great but some not so.

There are good and bad everywhere.

19. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

That was a very interesting Video. In my humble opinion the police did a very good job even though some of the people seemed that they wanted a confrontation. From what little I did see it seemed that the ones who were being most active were the one who had the **THUG LOOK**. One of the guys his pants fell down. Which is telling me that he’s not really interested in what the police or anyone else has to say. If I saw a police, or anyone else for that matter with a gun in their hands I would withdraw in peace. This will give me a chance to see another day; Some people has what they think is an image to uphold. The police is just men and women like you or I who if continue to be pushed, or spoken to in the wrong way will have to take a stance to gain control before it get out of hand; But the new generation of young men and young women in Barbados are different from the older generation growing up. I remember when all they had was the batons, if you wanted to act a fool you was taken care of right away. And the police who were detectives carried a BULL ( A Dried Cow Dick) that when someone got hit with them they stood up and piss on themselves;;

20. Bajan Police can do a much better job.

Deal with the problem quickly, if you going charge the man do it and dun. In my opinion they should not have prolong the stand off so much. When dealing with such a large crowd it can get real ulgy real fast. It would have only take one big rock down through that crowd to start a whole riot.

I dont think that the Bajan’s with the “thug look” are loseing fear of the police, i think it is that they are tired of percicution from a police force that is above the law.

We need police to keep law and order and the police need to start earning respect, And useing smart power.

21. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

@Christopher

I agree with you, I think that the police did an excellent job in the face of adversary. As some blogger had stated, they could have fired a shot, but they chose not to do so and this attest to their professionalism.

Those of you who are bent on condenming the policemen in this situation, you should think again. policemen only intervene if there is a either a breach or percieved breach of the peace. The vides woud not have told all, since there must have been something that caused the police to intervene, nevertheless, the brech or perceived breach was handled efficeiently and effectively.

There is a rude boy and rude girl mentality developing in this country that the everything is to be challenged, including the authority of the police. But when the shoe is on our feet and we want protection from the the police, we then to see the picture from the other side.

The police force is here to protect us and keep barbadains safe and we must give them the support to do their job.

I have had to copmplain against three policemen who came to my property to deal with a situation and I felt that they did not approach it correctly, but do you think that I would not support them when they are right, certainly I will. We need them and they need us.

22. And persons ask me why I stay away from such ‘Shows’. I prefer the Opera at Holder’s House. (Lawdddddd, i gun get ‘buse now)

I could nevva be a police or teacha bout hay causen I would remedy dis bad behaviah in a hurry. Lil or no tolerance fa such. fa realllllll. One a my suns is a cop n some a my nieces n nevews in de forces too so I in bashin dem a’tall. dem is be we ‘port in many a storm’.

BAF
    de police in NY n C’da (like Hants said) shoot first n ask de question afta. especially de NY whuns. Igrunt n cruulllllllll. we officas cannnnnnnnnnnnn compair wid dem. we got um good man. show sum support.

23. THE PLAYGROUND OF THE ASININE

THE OUTLET OF THE LONESOME

THE PARADE GROUND OF THE CLOWNS

THIS FORUM IS ALL THIS AND LESS

BORING !!!!!

24. How can you blame our youth when a simple thing like if a show should be cancelled with the country under storm watch mushrooms into a controversy and seems headed for the law courts?

Recommendation, and BU agrees with Senator Chandler, Farley Hill Park should not be used for a show which will attract crowds and obviously lead to harm of the park environment.

25. @David: “…when a simple thing like if a show should be cancelled with the country under storm watch mushrooms into a controversy and seems headed for the law courts?

Clearly, the Organizers of this event have never heard of “Event Cancellation Insurance”.

Or, if they had, decided to “Self Insure” rather than pay the money.

But then their bet went wrong…

And now they’re trying their best to not settle their bet.

(Anyone want to open a book on how many years it will take for a final decision from our Courts on this matter? LOL…)

26. Now ya got Al Gilkes blaming DEM, DEM blaming Aja n Aja blaming anybody dat cum ta he mind. Looka, all a wunna promoters/sponsors a de show, blame ME. I gun be de fall-guy. OK? I gun settle outa court. Hummuch wanna-all askin?

My Dear Nephew Halsall
    I hate ta agree wid you, but ya mekkin a good point. Fa once. (stupseeeee, I hate ta agree wid you).stupseeeeeeeeeee

27. islandgal246 Avatar

@Bonny yuh got muh brekking down…….My Dear Nephew Halsall At least yuh remember dat you is he drunken aunty. LOLLLL

28. islandgal246 Avatar

Bonny I agree with you….Holders is rather more appealing (evin dough ah nevva went dere) LOLLL

29. @Aunty Bonny Peppa…

Isn’t it so strange how we find ourselves?

(This is meant to be funny… And to be sung to musicals.)

For some reason we have to be serious, and funny, at the same time….

30. What if ? There was a landslide at the concert at Farley Hill and nuff people got killed?
    Who to blame then?

The DEM is mandated to warn Barbados of impending or possible bad weather.

Sorry the promoters lost money but that happens when you are in Business and take risks.

31. This is the most stupid case Al Gilkes and FAS could come up with, and if it goes to court, i hope they are fined for wasting the courts time. It appears Al believe his show had precedent over the rest of Barbados, it sounded so stupid to read that Al said the DEM should has consulted him bwfore issuing a flood warning. Who is Al Gilkes, the NEW Director of the DEM? Personally, I glad it was WASHED out on Sunday, the patrons should have been in church, also because of the conditions Monday should have been cancelled too. It is going to take a couple of weekes for Farley Hill to return to normalcy after that show, and this means additional staff from NCC, yet Al wants to sue, what he reallky should be doing is telling the NCC THANKS for allowing him to use the facillties on monday. He is MOST ungrateful

32. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

A man of Al’s expperience should have had insurance which covered various cancellations including cancellations cause by “acts of God”

Al has been in business for decades, I expect that he knows this.

33. Any one who operates a business will know that there are always risks associated with that business e.g. several farmers lost crops because of the excess moisture from the recent rain which accumulated on their tomatoes, onions etc. but Al (The show must go on) Gilkes wants to run a risk free operation.

Most prudent organizations after seeing the deluge decided to err on the side of caution and cancelled their activities scheduled for that day but Al went to Plan B which is to try to retrieve his “losses” from the Gov’t .

The Gov’t has the responsibility of ensuring the safety of all of its citizens so in my opinion it did the right thing even if one promoter thinks that his right to make a profit trumps the well being of the fans who may wish to attend his extravaganza.

Al and his group have probably made lots of dough over the years with this event so they should be able to tolerate one hiccup and they should always remember that the sun don’t shine on the same dog’s ass everyday.

34. Islandgal
    LOL, you like nuff sport. LOL

Holders House is actually quite good and I love the ambience, especially if you have a love for the classics. I have a cd by the 3 Tenors, Pavarotti included, dat would mek ya whet all ova chile. LOLL
    Bonny is behave real ‘propa’ at dem places. ya shud see ma minglin wid de udders, n winkin at de few ‘strays’, doan mind I does got cumpnee wid me. I bad so.

35. -O- -O-
    – –
    Whats going on people
    I see every body seem happy

Bonny ! How yuh
    Islandgal 246–Respect !

Now Let me congratulate everybody on this blog for keeping expression alive and well.

Under the present circumstances, it is refreshing that there can be such interraction of individuals

Love everyone
    Love is the way to go
    Embrace Peace because Love strives in Peace

36. Tin-a-Roach-es

I good.
    Shalom.

37. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

@Bonny Peppa

u is the onliest persons that does mek mah laugh, ya to hilarious from the time i see yah blog i does really start to laught.

yah too humerous and yah like yah dont let nah body on this blog get to yuh. How yah does keep so cool.

have a good night.

38. I WANT ALL THOSE VENDORS WHO LOST FINANCIALY AT FAS REGGAE ON THE HILL,TO KNOW THAT THEY ARE ENTITTLED TO COMPENSATION FROM FAS AND SHOULD MAKE CLAIMS WITHOUT FURTHER DELAY

39. Manasseh
    LOLLL.Life tu short ta have sorrra. LOLL

DUNGA
    you openin anudda can a worms now. but Al is a worm so he could easily wiggle he way outta dah whun.

40. I am sure those responsible for “Herb on the Hill” (sorry, “Reggae on the Hill”) had to get some sort of insurance before staging the production (you have to get it for matters as simple as a wedding reception for 50 people). It seems to me that FAS Entertainment feels that Farley Hill Park belongs to them, even going as far as saying the ruins of the Great House should be knocked down so they can pack more people into the venue. They should just count their losses and move onto their next promotion. I am sure all the affected foreign performers managed to pay for the extra day they had to stay and their new plane tickets. Maybe it’s time they sought a new venue for this show as well, the same way that that nonsense at the East Coast (Party Monarch) moved a couple of years back.

41. Colonel Buggy Avatar

After watching that video , I must commend the Police for their coolness in handling such a potentially explosive situation.
    In my previous job,if I were in a similar situation as these cops,a few jaw bones would be kissing the soft end of my rifle butt, but then again I was not a Cop.

Leave a Reply to Christopher HalsallCancel reply