There is the saying teach a man and you teach an individual, teach a women and you teach a generation. Whether religious minded, atheist or agnostic there is the appreciation by most men that a woman as the procreator and nurturer among us, she must be treasured and honoured.

Although it is redundant to state that a mother’s role cannot be replaced in the upbringing of a family, it bears stating anyway; her role is priceless. In today’s world of equal rights where women now compete with men for all jobs, BU believes a woman’s role within the household is being undermined.

We live in a world which is consumed by materialism and greed to the extent intelligent humans have willingly relinquished or sabotaged the role of parenting. If we judge from how animals behave in the wild, the female is always the one to exhibit those nurturing qualities required to achieve the best development in the offspring. She is always the one who seems more protective of her young often times necessitated by the absence of the male who was out performing in the hunter role. The same we believe is true for Homo sapiens.

Given the important role of a woman to building a family it seems a no brainer to BU that many societal problems being experienced are linked to the changing role of a woman in a modern society. How can a woman go to work all day, pickup the children from daycare in the evening with the cycle starting the next day without compromising her ability to impart the best care to her offspring? What time does she have to perform the nurturing role only a mother can give? In the ‘olden’ days the village (extended family) would assist in raising the child, an aunt, grandmother or someone who was closed to the family when the mother had to go to work. Now the nuclear family has come into vogue and its attendant short comings.

Call BU old fashion but many woman based on observation appear to be putting careers and other matters above family matters. Such is the way of the world we live in and we will pay the price for such parental delinquency.

On behalf of the BU household we wish richest blessings to all mothers on this day.

74 responses to “A Mother’s Role, Priceless!”

1. It is ahard road to travel for any single parent in this modern society . Society is not the way it used to be in yesterdays . THe world has become a lot smaller because of media and other forms of communication. Easy access to all kinds of information wether be good or bad helps to cultivate and influence a persons mind making the Xfactor Xrated

2. THE PLAYGROUND OF THE ASININE

THE OUTLET OF THE LONESOME

THE PARADE GROUND OF THE CLOWNS

THIS FORUM IS ALL THIS AND LESS

BORING !!!!!

3. islandgal246 Avatar

@ Asinine Pragmatist …why are you here if we are so boring? GET THE HELL OUT OF HERE!

4. Why Are You Here Avatar
    Why Are You Here

Why?

5. Maybe Pragamist disliked his Mother. !Poor thing! What could his mother have done to him to show so much disrepect for her on this day What a Pity! Poor thing!

6. Belated mother’s day greetings to all the girls and thanks BABFP for the sentiments.

The cohesive unit as we know it has broken down and so we as women are left many times without back up. However when our backs are up against a wall we find the strength to overcome whatever challenges confront us.

That is the strength of the woman.

So Homegrown, with our without your son’s father, you are blessed sista girl.

7. correction :
    with or without

8. Blogmaster, please.
    Your talk about motherhood and its nuturing role being “priceless” is nothing more than a fake compliment commonly used to fool society into believing that the patriarchy, which men like YOU reprsent, actually care about mothers and the work they do.
    In reality, our patriarchal society has never given a shit about mothers.
    If you really care so much, then how about actually paying mothers to stay home, run households, rear children, clean houses, snotty noses, bathrooms, cook, teach, play psychologist, nurse, etc.?
    The many roles that men take on in our society are just as priceless and highly valuable as women’s. Which is why men insist on getting paid for them! Let’s start paying mothers for the work they do, in the same manner that men get paid for the work they do.
    It will never happen, because it is to our society’s benefit to have women perform these motherhood duties for free, under the pretense that it is a mother’s “God-given” purpose in life.
    Can you imagine how financially better off women would be if they were paid, I mean actually PAID, for being mothers? Sorry, the patriarchy ain’t having it!

And co-sign the earlier commenters who pointed out the hypocrisy of blaming working mothers for the breakdown of society, while failing to mention that it is the MASS abandonment by fathers of their children that is equally, if not moreso, to blame.

9. Sorry, that should be: That men like you “REPRESENT”.

10. @Nia

Would the vast majority of women today want to be paid to stay at home?

11. @ David.
    Absolutely. At least those of us who have not been brainwashed, hoodwinked and bamboozled into believing that it is our lot in life to perform certain tasks for free. And that we should enjoy performing unpaid labour.
    I have spoken to many working mothers who say that if they didn’t have bills to pay, they would quit their jobs in a heartbeat and stay home to look after their children full-time. But they know that in these tough times this is not practical.
    Unless you are married to, or partnered with, a man who is earning a considerable income, in these modern times it is simply not practical for only one partner to be bringing in a salary.

12. @Nia

Good for you but several women we know are looking to career first. It is the hip thing to do.

13. David which is better.

Raise a child in poverty or secure an opportunity for financial security.

14. @Hants

You always hit the nail on the head.

15. @David,
    Please don’t go there with the “Women who choose careers are bad mothers” nonsense. It is only a problem if the fathers are not willing to perform their fair share of labour around the house. If we believe that it is not a man’s place to contribute anything to the domestic sphere other than bringing home the bacon, then we will always have a problem.

16. @Nia

Have a reread of the BU comments, there is some of the argument you are missing.

17. Nia…kudos, another classic quote from my sons father (who is a chef),it was something to the effect of ‘I only cook when I get paid.’ He refused to cook at home (among other chores) I felt that this was the ultimate betrayal, my cooking was never up to his standards, he critiqued it, and to boot I did it for the love of my family, unpaid!!!

18. All that glints is not gold Avatar
    All that glints is not gold

Many women make bad choices in the men they choose to partner them, and then it is everyone’s fault when things go wrong but not their’s, for the choice they made.

19. All that glints
    Life is about choices my friend and men are just as guilty as women in choosing the wrong partner at times too. Therefore, this cannot be stereotyped as a gender thing. Agree? We are all gullible at some time in our lives, so cast no feminine-stones. But most of the time, if not all, the woman is left with the sole responsibility of raising a child on her own. Did she get it alone? No. So why should she be the only one left to nurture this child? We never know if a man/woman will make a good parent until he/she actually become one. Talk is cheap. Ya have to pay fa Absolute. When de foopin was good, de man din complainin den. So why shift ya responsibility when ya hear dat i pregnant? stupseeeeeee, doan mek sport All that glints.

20. @Bonny
    You always hit the nail on the head!

21. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting David “she must be treasured and honoured.”

But David if mothers are so treasured and honoured how come partly paid maternity is the same lousy 12 weeks it has been since 1967?

A fellow can cuss the boss stink, stink, get fired and go home and collect unemployment benefits for 9 months.

His wife can work hard, give excellent customer service, then when she goes home to give birth to a new taxpayer all she gets is a lousy 12 weeks with part pay.

I don’t think that it is fair that the fellow who cuss the boss can get 9 months of paid leave and honoured and treasured mothers get only 12 weeks?

Maybe Carson C. Cagogan can answer this for me too. Carson tell me why the DLP ain’t fixing this, since the lousy BLP didn’t.

22. Random
    I wid you hay. Bout 12-18 munts would be good. ya would be able ta bress-feed ya lil whun among udda tings. Wah 12 weeks is jus enuff time ta get pregnant again? LOL

23. Much respect to mothers holding it down and together in these hard times especially when the men are not supportive. We know there are good men too but that’s another article.
    The article makes a good point, They are heiroines and ‘women of the soil toil’ thats what it was. UP from slavery, colonialism and horrible racism – to today. Women bore the brunt for the sake of the children. Now what you find is that because some are successful and marry outside of their race they can look the other way and ignore the continued suffering of their cousins in the caribbean and africa -where our roots are.
    If everyone of african decent looked to improve, we can in turn help our distant cousins, but no! instead we have killings for the lack of not knowing our one another, there is a tendancy to look down on those less fortunate. If they are our weakest link then our linkage or linage will be broken. Thats what we see today. The falseness, hype and spin.
    Many countries including japan, haiti and the caribbean, spain, italy and america have in recent times suffered flooding, hurricanes, and earthquakes and now realise that you can have everything today but tomorrow it can all be gone, its those times that you will either see people pull together or fall apart. Its good to see how these countries cope -take a lesson.

24. Edmund DrangKro Avatar
    Edmund DrangKro

@ Bonny Peppa

When madas get this long time for maternity, what about fahdas and uncles, and nieces, and grandparents, and all the addaz who want special time over everybody else. What a rahtid! Me feel like jumping and kin puppa lick.

Leave a Reply to BAFBFPCancel reply