The BU household believes this is a good time to evaluate our performance to date. It seems like only yesterday when we fired up BU. Where have the four years gone?

100 responses to “Evaluate Barbados Underground”

1. @Carl Moore,

Your statement of the blogs being an extension of mainstream media in itself speaks volumes , it points to your attitude that mainstream comes first i.e. rather than the blogs being valid in of themselves and stand alone, of another variety, an alternative view.

Secondly, your suggestion that you both support the blogs, yet would willingly shut them down and ‘sue’ again speaks volumes.

It signifies that you would use the hard stick rather than negotitate and would have no qualms.

It is also contradictory, whatever you say.

When I read this, my blood started to boil, because I have very strong views on the rights of individuals to speak their minds.

Whether we are in Iraq, USA, China, Trinidad, UK or Barbados, any move to censor or otherwise influence the way dicussion go is inherently sinister and reeks of protecting the ‘establishment’.

Whether you like it or not, traditional ‘paper’ media is dying, a number of us ‘paper’ editions have collapsed and most other have gone online.

Social media changes, that is normal evolution.

While certain views may be harsh and bigoted, these can easily be edited or restricted by the respective blog owners themselves.

If not, those who wish to leave the blog and never return, may do so. That is an option.

When you key in the IP address and register, that is you intent to read whatever may be there. Neither you nor any body or Government or indeed corportion, have any right to decide the views of others or what they may discuss.

I second the above posts of both Hants and Halsall, particularly re addressing the needs of the population in addressing issues.

As for your reference of the ‘identity’ of bloggers, so what? The real point is the issues being discussed, not the name or identity of the individual.

Dealing with the ideas and issues, there can be no problem with identities, Ian Bourne posted similar to your position on another blog thread the other day and it is a ridiculous suggestion that identity is important.

Deal with the issues.

Finally, just to reiterate that it really worries me when people speak of censorship etc….very worrying.

It may suit some corporations and certain governments, but we must resist this idea.

Oh, one last point, exactly what would be your basis of suing the blog??

Surely then you must have a specific complaint, that must be tainting your views of blogs, yet you were not upfront and say so, in noting your views.

I say that because you must know that one cannot sue ‘generally’…without basis?

Lol.

2. islandgal246 Avatar

@Carl Moore …….islandgal246, you’re not good at disguise: you write the same way you speak.

Just what are you trying to tell me? That you know me? LOLL Good news, to tell the truth I don’t know you and I don’t really care to know you! You are just one pompous piece of cat shit. I agree with AC why don’t you go live in the Russia or better still in Iran.

Journalist in Barbados are just working to keep their jobs and not report the news…the real news, not press releases from the government or some client who has a large account with their company. It is sad that people like you are so afraid of hearing real news that you hide behind the guise of respectability and honesty. I repeat YOU ARE A COWARD!

3. islandgal246 Avatar

Carl Moore if you had stayed away for the past three years what made you change your mind? You were feeling left out? My suggestion STAY AWAY FOR ANOTHER 10 YEARS!

4. you doing a fine job david. as with all things there’s always room for improvement but what improvement can you do that really make it better. Sometimes some interest topic get little post while other more political driven will get tons of post but that a way of life in bim it ain’t going to change no time soon. to Carl think of this a online bajan rum shop you don’t set the rules of what people can talk about or censor them but you can kick them out if your the proprietor. To check it out thanks for the kind words

5. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

ur doing a very good job

6. I’m relatively new here but have chosen to stick around because I do learn a lot from reading the posts, and I appreciate the fact that this blog is not afraid to deal with many issues that usually get swept under the carpet in Barbados.
    I simply stop reading blogs if I find them to be generally offensive, that’s not the case here. Yes, a few of the comments are indeed ridiculous like on any blog, but you get to know who they are and you can just scroll down quickly without reading. If I had a blog I would moderate comments, but that’s just me – everyone has the right to run their blog the way they see fit.

And most people in the blogosphere use monikers; it doesn’t make their contributions any less meaningful. Why should anyone care about someone’s real identity?

7. @ David
    A popular Blog will always be one of many definite colours and varying shades in between, you cannot have a Mental Lockdown of the Internet.

The traditional media has its function and so has the blogs, freedom expressed with responsibility will lead to a better society.

Over the years many people have made worthwhile contributions to BU. If I try to mention them all now, I am sure to forget someone , and I would not like that. Even to those who hate my views with a passion….thanks just the same for the read.

8. Great job David!!

Keep it up.
    In the beginning I was a regular on BFP, until I was banned for (as they said) threatening Adrian Loveridge and family (I did not!!). Truth is, they promised an article on Money Laundering and never came through, due to my persistent hounding….well, you know what happened.
    BU was also a source of income once as I used it to gauge the pulse of the people to bet on the last elections (I owe you a drink David) on which I won $500 😉 .
    We cannot for get the contributions of GP, Zoe (yes, I said it)or even TB *smh*, Bush Tea, Crusoe and Straight Talk reminds me of Gladstone Holder in some ways.
    The others are all worthy contributors, even the Trolls are fed (much to our regret) but BU continues to be a place of learning for those who want to.
    So, keep on doing what you do David and ignore the detractors. Carl Moore reads BU every day even if he doesn’t comment, trust me…I know. BU is addictive as heck, you know when you even log on and post with your Blackberry 😉 .
    Long live BU!!

9. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

That’s right Dave, even the miserable-shites and a**-lickers find your site interesting, so you must be doing something right!!

10. Journalism is formed on the assumption that People do have a right to know … The problem of course is that People DO NOT have a right to know, at least in Barbados. So the Barbadian chapter of this “profession” has no basis for operating. So how do these Barbadian mainstream “journalists” spend their time …? They act as public relations people for the status quo, either by being directly employed by big business interests or by performing the same task as an employee of the traditional media houses around town. The problem is that they still claim to have relevance for me as a consumer and voter …!

11. The above was posted with my Blackberry 🙂

12. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

who needs one!! lol! d worle gun come to an en if yuh doan have a blackberry!! LOL!! looka, i got a BROWNberry. it doan mek nuh difference!! LOL!!

13. ….as posted above *sigh*….much to our regret…much to our regret…. *smh*.

@ BAFBFP….

Dont you just love technology?…..I certainly do!!

Men like Carl More and our unfriendly neighborhood troll probably still have 8″ and 5 1/4″ floppy disks 😉 .

14. bonny, you said exactly what i would have said if i had the guts to say it. LOL

15. Prodigal Son Avatar

Well done BU.

Thanks for providing a forum for us to air our views. Bu is like our parliament.

I wish you continued success!

16. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

i dunno how we manage to get hay wivout blackberries, i really don’t!! LOL! duh really does mek me laugh! is like not knowing how to count wivout calculators! LOL!!

17. @David ”missed the talk show where Peter Simmons and others called for censorship of the blogs you can have a lesson and form your own opinion”
    —–

I did not listen, but I have one query. Any policy towards censorship must be a general policy, therefore, if one were to follow this idiotic suggestion, exactly who would ‘censure’ or ‘censor’ the blogs, government?

If we accept that the only body with such authority is government, then the logical conclusion is that if blogs are either ‘censured’ or ‘censored’ , so too should all media be.

Therefore, how will the newspapers etc feel having to submit their proofs to the GIS (or some such body) before printing each night, for the GIS to give its approval for publication?

THAT is the logical and correct conclusion tho their submission i.e. that such a policy must apply to all, not just blogs.

Then, if this is done, will be then rename our newspapers along the lines of ‘Granma’?

It would seem appropriate, if such should come to pass.

18. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

And David remember the status quo keepers wanted to silence Bussa too and when he would not shut up they used the silence of the grave.

But Bussa was RIGHT.

And 2 hundred years later Hillary Beckles resurected the honourable man’s reputation.

Bussa LIVES (in our hearts and minds)

19. Techie;

No one should appreciate technology more than a commodities trader, particularly when it comes to information and communication tecnology. Isn’t trading about quick and easy access to good information? I got to admit, I baffle’ too ..!

20. @Crusoe… Brilliant!

But the sad reality, as we all know, is the traditional Fourth Estate here in Barbados already “self censors”, without the need to submit anything to anyone.

Basically, they’re not willing to take any risks.

This is why, IMHO, some are so upset about the Blogs. They are willing to take risks, and facilitate dissemination of information and open discussion about things some would rather not have discussed.

Long Live BU (LLBU)!

21. BTW Mr. Carl Moore…

Since you are so very “hot” right now on bloggers giving their real names, might you tell us all who is the author (authors?) of the Nation News’ “Puddin & Souse” and “Flying Fish & Cou Cou” columns published every Saturday?

Even if you’re not willing to name names, would you at least answer if you consider such slanderous content (if names were given) to be serious and worthwhile journalism?

22. BAF
    looka, i lookin forward ta gettin a sext-messag from dah ‘berry’ hare? smoochesssssss

@Carl Moore
    you choose not ta use a pseudonym on BU because like I said, you are a pompous piecea pupp. BU authorizes we-all ta use anonymity, even you, but you seem ta tink dat you would be given preferential treatment at de mention of ya name. well sorry mister, not bout hay. if you coming hay ta thra bout ya weight, um in gun wuk. you gun get ‘buse stink like anybody else dat come bout hay trying ta frighten de BU clan.
    Wheel n cum again Carly.
    stupseeeeeeeeeee

the man wiv no name
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, pun dem lipzzzzz.

lol

Random
    LOL, as nusual.

Fran
    LOLLL

Yardbroom
    Belated Easter greets to you n famblee, Sir.

23. Halsall @ 4:19

wuhloss, wuhloss, wuhlosssssssssssssssss. ya 2 dang’rus.

24. islandgal246 Avatar

@Bonny……I did laughing and holding muh belly at de busing yuh give he………… he is a piece of cat pupp, I have been trying to behave myself but yuh right to buse de ole pissy rat! He trying to fighten muh but I want him to call me in person. He is an ole timer on an ancient machine trying to play with seasoned bloggers. He want to collect some free money without wukking by suing. Sue WHO? He and Al Gilkes must be first cousins. LOLLL

Anudder ting he musee Tina Cockroach famblee because he tink dat is she real name!

25. Man, did is de place tuh be effin yuh wants tuh know wuh gine on bout hey in good ole Bim. Keep on trucking, uh ah is mean blogging, David. Bin hangin bout hey fuh 3+ tears now and still enjoy many uh de comments ( 🙂 dat apppear hey.

26. oopps…………tears= years.

27. interesting enough i neverhad any real reasonn for the internet except to pay my bills or read a periodical . However i was round about and happened to stumble onto to the BU website not knowing what it was all about. I remember the article Remembering Bajan caught my attention and what really peak myinterest was the back and forth among the bloggers and the fast paced responses received. GP was and still one of my favourite I guess for all the wrong but right reasons. Bonny I always look forward to her outrageous and hilarious comments and of Course my first cyber lover BAF. Not to forget Rock. Bu has given Bajans a forum to eprss temselves and to be heard from the sublime to the ridiculous.
    David if it ain’t broke don’t fixit. BU have a treaure full of knoweldge and it is because of “FREE SPEECH” Thanks David and BU household

28. ac
    I was introduced to BU by one a my brothas. At de time de blog was discussing de obnoxious behaviour of the matron at St. thomas district hospital and she happens to be a really good friend of mine. when i red de tings dat was said bout she, i could not believe my eyez. to me, she’s a very nice genuine person but of course, i only kno she on a friendly basis. she work ethics mite be totally diff’rent.
    Dat is my firs encounta wid BU n I in tun back since.

De Vioma Ali (tink dat’s she name) issue was anudda whun dat had me rollin up pun de groun wid de comments.

De post you referring ta was bout ‘Barbados back then’ or sumting so. Dat had me in stitches. Especially a man like Bosun. I doan see he bout hay now a’tall. He was HILARIOUSSSSSSSSS.

BLESSINGS TO BU

29. DAVID @ BU

CONGRATULATIONS* on making BU effortless… A synergistic smorgasbord of all kinda’ of characters…. something SHAKESPEARE** would have been proud of – given that you have been able to pile us all onto this “VIRTUAL” stage where we get to do our own thing as the curtain raises…

Special mention to the BUSHMAN* whose talents are being taken for granted in that small paradise piece of “rock” called BIM*…

Blessings upon ALL* the others who because of brevity and font size I am unable to give you the necessary props at this time but – you know who you are!!!

LOL>>>>

As I close with the BENEDICTION* – “May the Lord bless you and keep you; may the Lord cause His face to shine upon you and be gracious unto you; may the Lord lift up the light of His Countenance upon you and give you peace – now and forever… Amen!!!

P.S. thank you Islandgal246 for your kind thoughts of me… I still LUV* you anyway!!! LOL!!!

30. and bonny I remember thinking what a great way to express myself witout fear or reprisal .Feeling a sense of liberation being able to cuss out those who offended me and at the same time loving them while having the privelge to be anonymous . Negroman insane and predicatable coments were also one of the driving forces which kept my interest on BU. All of the characters help to shape andform most of my opnions on BU.

31. @ Bonny Peppa

Woman, what do you expect from Carl Moore? Adrian outed him as being related to one “Ossie Moore”, and he admitted it.

By the way, Bosun still posts. His latest has been as “Nationalist”. If he uses a new monicker, I will let you know. I can spot he and Bimbro a mile off. It is the language!

I used to blog here not as much as at the other. However, they banned me for not agreeing with them, especially when they were wrong. I have not looked back.

@ Man wiv no Name

I see you still blogging on the Hingland dailies as “Mr. Reason” or some other version of the word. You too identifiable by your language. Actually your written English is quite good on those blogs compared to the Anglos.

32. @AC, agreed this forum does indeed a sense of liberation.

@Islandgal,

de only body we censoring bout hey is TB. LOLLLLL

33. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hi Bonny and Pat, Pat, hi again after so long, but I’m sorry to say that ‘Mr Reason’ isn’t me, honestly! I’ve no idea who he is or where he blogs. Here n BFP r the only 2 places that I blog at these days! x

Tech, would u like to borrow my BROWNberry? ok, hay, tek it nuh?!! LOL!! In truth, I wun lend it tuh yuh!!

34. Bonny Peppa my darling look how u cancelled our wedding and is horning me in front of my face with all the newcomers to this blog.Bonny sweetie my heart has been ripped to pieces but I still luv yuh & we could try again at our relation ship.
    Brother Scout,I have not seen any recent posting from you my brother.Have you taken another sabbatical?
    I am thankful for David & BU in allowing the bloggers to express their views on all type of issues both nationally & internationally.
    Barbados Underground has provided a forum for opinions ranging from the mild to the outrageous (Negroman) to be aired without the fear of censorship.
    I have learnt a great deal on various issues as a result of my participation on BU. On medical issues Dr Georgie Porgie has made an invaluable contribution.Likewise Yardbroom,Bushtea,Adrian Hinds Terrence Blackett,Carson Cadogan,Brother Scout,Bonny Peppa,Jay,Pat & we must not forget the one & only J the nit-picker made & continue to make BU the the number one Barbados blog.Special reference must be made to my all time favourite bloggers Hopi & ROK.It will be remiss of me if I forget to acknowledge the contribution of AC who refer to my comments as insane.Nevertheless AC I respect the constructive criticism you offered me when not in agreement with many of my comments.Oh how can I forget my good friend Mark Adamson & his political party The PDC.
    Barbados Underground has made and continue to make an invaluable contribution to the information arena of Barbados.I can honestly say thousands upon thousands of Barbadians tune into the Barbados Underground to get in-depth information on not only topical but controversial issues that the mainstream media is unwilling or unable to highlight
    This Negroman respects the effort of the Barbados Underground.This Negroman believes that the popularity of BU came about not only from the contributions of the other bloggers but also from the controversial and sometimes outrageous comments Your Truly have posted.

35. Hi, Bonny Peppa
    Thanks for your kind remarks, very much appreciated, the family is fine. Please be careful not to subject your eyes to much strain too soon.
    As always, YB.

36. Tech, would u like to borrow my BROWNberry? ok, hay, tek it nuh?!! LOL!! In truth, I wun lend it tuh yuh!!

Brownberry sounds gay…..but ya know wunna old boys from England….either end up mad or gay…..seems you got a dose of both.
    Maybe you can hold onto it for ever…hey, you might even try using it as a suppository 😉
    Be careful now, its getting nice and warm. Those Pakistani neighbors soon going to start the carpet banging and the JA yardies will be lighting up in abundance as soon as the crop harvest….when I think of you being surrounded by the very people you hate, it shows there is ‘some’ justice in this world after all. 🙂

37. islandgal246 Avatar

Techie ………………….. .when I think of you being surrounded by the very people you hate, it shows there is ‘some’ justice in this world after all. 🙂 ……………………yuh too baddddd ROFLMAO

Man wif no name…………………. dat brown berry betta get a paint job or it gine misrepresent yuh!

38. @negroman i din’t m,ean “Insane” in a derogatory way. but in a way which challenges a person points of view to look at issues in a new way.That is why i include controversial.

39. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Dave, given a choice of yourselves and BFP, it would b easy to think you’re doing brilliantly! Of course, you’re welcome to that point of view if you wish. You already know what I think of the microbe who infects your site. I’d give you 7 out of 10 with a proviso of, ‘could do better’!

‘a**-hole’, you are surrounded by them too, or soon will b, if Bajans ent careful!

40. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

for the numb-skulls – the gay colour is PINK! Steupse!!

41. My darlin Negro
    I never cancelled our weddin, just put ‘on-hold’ dawlinks. don’tchya faget dat. you’re mine ta ‘have’ n ‘hole’ fa evva. luv you too Boo-boo. mwahhhhhhhhhhhh pun dem lipzz.

man wiv no name
    (wink,wink)
    But i hare dat rale men ware pink. how tru? na man a minez in wearin na pink shurt nor pantz n walk nex ta me. you leff out de pink fa me bosey. uh-uhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

42. Thanks to everyone for the good feedback. From the survey taken 65% of respondents believe BU to be doing a good job with about 21% suggesting we can do better. Those who believe we are not doing a good job represent a single digit response (as at 8 May 2011).

BU’s position has always been when YOU by your feedback believe we have become irrelevant we will stop. Despite the detractors it appears, if we can extrapolate from the results, blogs have solid support which continues to grow.

43. @ BU Bloggers
    Ah Yes The bloggersphere Collective!
    Salutations To You All!
    You epitomise FREEDOM OF SPEECH
    The Good, The Bad & The Ugly as reference by some will always be a subjective affair.
    But what a delightful mixed bag of opinions you are.

Bajan Underground
    Stimulates, Cultivates, Aggravates, Articulates, Postulates, Intimidates, initiates, Congregates, Reverberates, Debates, Exaggerates, Demonstrates, Imitates, Irritates, Invigorates, Investigates, Negotiates, Titulates, Reiterates, and Extrapolates.

Lets hope above all…….

It Re-educates!

Love & Light to all of you!!

Take care of your selves and each other!!

44. Just met-up with BU a month ago…so far; verry GOOD

45. My turn 2 speak
    LOL. you lef any words in de dictionary? I hope so. I gine n check mine now.

Frank Talk
    Welcome to BU. May your stay be long n enjoyable.

46. @ Bonny Peppa | May 12, 2011 at 7:32 PM |
    Salutations
    “My turn 2 speak
    LOL. you lef any words in de dictionary? I hope so. I gine n check mine now”.

Sticks and Stone might break your bones but words can FREE or ENSLAVE you.

Bonny Pepper, may my words inspire you to be free!

Love and Light to you always!

Take care of yourselve and each other!!

47. My turn 2 speak
    LOL. You are truly amazing wid words.

‘Take care of yourself and each other’. I laff evry time I read it. LOL

48. Hi David
    Kindly add my name to the list of people supporting the good work which you are doing.
    Ignore the naysayers. They need to move with the times. I enjoy blogging like how I enjoy wearing the shoes and clothes which I buy for my grandchildren. Spent the last month with one in St. Maarten. When he heard that I blog, he asked “Granddad, when you going get old”. lol. Keep up the good works. Long LiveBarbados Underground.

49. @ Bonny Peppa
    Bonny thank you for your warm welcome to the BU family…I feel part of a special family. Your welcome transported my Soul instantly to that special land I left long-ago and made me feel a sense of ‘belonging’ that I have not felt since the day I left. Thank you dear family/friend.

I promise to do my best in upholding the principles of the family.

50. The time is now!

Leave a Reply to islandgal246Cancel reply