Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart will participate in a televised – CBC TV8 Link – interview tonight (26 April 2011) at 8 o’clock. In recent weeks there has been a lot of discussion about the ‘quieter leadership style’ of Stuart compared to his predecessors. It will be the first time Barbadians get a chance to assess Stuart interacting with members of the local media.

130 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Meets The Press In The "Interview"”

1. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@David | April 27, 2011 at 4:31 AM |
    “We get so political about everything.”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    David, why do we throw around these expressions like nasty accusations. I agree that there is definitely room for bi-partisan approaches to various issues, but balance is necessary; face reality man. This CLICO matter is one of those that has been thoroughly politicised by The DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY , aided and abetted by LEROY PARRIS, “THE MAN AT THE HELLUM”

It’s not easy to ignore that PARRIS, in his position as CLICO head, (and bearing in mind that CLICO owned The Caribbean Commercial Bank, through whom the relatively small cheques were issued to the BLP for election campaign contributions), was the one most well-placed person to recover those “PAID” Manager’s Cheques and give them to Thompson to be used as Election weaponry. Remember that dramatic disclosure at the large Haggatt Hall, when the whole of Barbados was invited to witness a bombshell being dropped?

But the tables have turned. We now have had an almost complete reversal of fortunes after the BLP were “lied” out of office; Thompson is dead, and the CASH COW CLICO has gone through the eddoes. PARRIS, while still sitting in the Chair of CLICO’s Board, ACTUALLY SUES his own company (sues himself) for over TEN MILLION DOLLARS representing an utterly undeserved BONUS! He collects over THREE MILLIONS of it, while the suffering policy holders and BARP pensioners can’t get a single cent.

And the Barbadian populace still waits to see evidence of the huge multi-million amounts paid through various CLICO Agencies into the coffers of THE DLP, and most likely into FAMILIES FIRST!! The Judicial Managers must at least recommend a FORENSIC AUDIT.

So, tell me, who has politicised, or who is politicising what? Nearly two years after Mia Mottley urged Judicial Management to protect CLICO’s clients, we now have some sort of purposely, and long-delayed Judicial Management in place, that seems set to “just look at current operations” but overlook the past malfeances, meaning the REAL TRUTH will never be exposed. Other matters need explanation too ……. e.g. PARRIS’s alleged illegal sale of Life Policies against the expressed instructions of The Supervisor of Insurance. What you got to say David?

2. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Zinc | April 27, 2011 at 8:42 AM |
    “A confident performance by Stuart you see why he is PM he is alert and knows whats going on he shows humility yet there is strength and grit and not unimportantly he’s got a sense of humour. Owen Arthur and George Payne the midgets that ambush my girl Mia in big trouble coming up against Stuart he bright, the man reads poetry and studies Treadeau and Bismarck for relaxation we have a PM who is an intellectual scholar with the rare ability to kill you with words.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Zinc, you fellows really caught up in this wordsmith, romanticism thing! Does the ability to talk like DON BLACKMAN provide solutions to all the pressing and mounting problems facing Barbados? We really want somebody leading us, that does kill yuh wid words?

By the way, he didn’t say that for relaxation, he reads autobiographies of Trudeau, Wilson, Bismarck, Nyere and the like. For relaxation he answered quite strangely, I might say, that like Bertrand Russel, he did not have the “luxury of making love.” I Can’t figure out the relevance of that queer statement.

But he did say that from since school days, out of an abundance of interest in the Office of Prime Minister, he read those autobiographies above, so all of that was preparation!

Hard to believe that statement when one examines his political career.

3. @Truthman

There is merit in some* of what you say but the original point remains, had the parent not experience a problem it would be business as usual.

4. Hi,
    @ jack spratt April 27, 2011 @8:46am
    ” No, Yardbroom and Scout; the CCJ as David hinted has a dual jurisdiction. An original one whereby it is the final interpreter of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas and all the regional members of CARICOM have signed on to this. Then there is the appellate jurisdiction to which only Barbados, Guyana and Belize have signed so far”.
    I wrote April 27, 2011 @ 8:30 am
    “While jamaica is a signatory to the establishment of the CCJ, it has not signed on to its appellate jurisdiction”.

My central point is that it seems strange that Jamaica’s Prime Minister Bruce Golding – I know the opposition party has a different view- could think of taking a case to the CCJ, a body that up to now he does not appear to have much confidence in.

I am thinking of the CCJ as a “body”.

If it is that they – jamaica – have decided to take the case to the CCJ on the basis there is a breach of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, perhaps it is based on the treaty:

“To establish conditions which would facilitate access by their nationals to the collective resources of the region on a non-discriminatory basis”.

I am not saying these are the grounds, I do not know; but the core of the case still stands, prove the case. On a judgement from what is in the public domain, it is going to be very difficult….that they have decided to take such a route, proves my point.

Scout’s point is separate and different he is well capable of making his clarification.

5. @ David

You have to agree it was funny as hell when he said something to the effect that, he does not have the luxury of lovemaking. What was that all about………………was it a solicitation of companionship? Surely they are members of his Cabinet that can assist him in this regard, irrespective of his preference………..he has options on the front bench, no?

6. The interview with PM Stuart was informative. Rosemary Alleyne was fair and unbiased with the question and covered all of the issues which were being thrown around. You asked to hear the Prime Minister and you go it in his time. I like the way how the Prime Minister nullified all of the criticism which were placed in the public domain. He silenced all of his critics. It is 4:43 pm the day after and I have not heard their response as yet. So i guess he has done a good job. Retreat and come again.

Well done PM Stuart.

7. @Rose Art

The phrase is simply how Stuart speaks.

8. David,

In today’s issue of Barbados Today, Hal Gollop is quoted as making the same point re Jamaica’s reference to the CCJ, as we have made.

Indeed, on a civil matter what provision is there in the Treaty of Chaguaramas, that would serve to supercede the sovereign rights of a country to treat with those within its boundaries? This is a matter of civil (or in some instances a criminal matter…if an officer acted outside the normal course of business..not accusing, just making the point) matter.

Hence, it is difficult to see how the local courts are not the courts of first instance.

Looks to me like another blowhard politician…this time from Jamaica….. threatening without understanding the legal issues.

For a foreign affairs minister to make such a blatant and simple error is unforgiveable and downright worrying as to the individual’s intellectual capacity for the position.

9. @Crusoe

Thanks for that but you know how things legal go, anything can be tested in court.

10. I hope wunna-alll hear wah my PM had ta sah ’bout how de J’cans ‘stand by dem woman’, allegation or not. But sum deceitful, han-ta-mout, dang’rus, pissy bajans bout hay reddy ta cut de immigration/customs throat, allegation or not. wunna awt ta be shame. wunna-all want dronging like rats. yes, i sah so.

de nex body dat Myrie could draw inta dis dilemna is de Pope John Paul. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeee. evva time i hare she name my stummuck does bile.

Chuckles
    LOL, xcuse ma languag. LOL

11. old man river, Avatar

was looking forward to hearing the prime minister speak about transport in barbados, like the hike in gas price. the cost living, do the pm no that since january that the number of illegal or bootlegs, van we call the pirate or zm van have move from 20vans to all most 59 of them, he should try driving along bibby lane or go to spy st and seee the paek , the police do see them but report the zr van for off route,when will some ting be done aboute the before more. can some one tell whom own these vans……………..

12. Zinc | April 27, 2011 at 8:42 AM | A confident performance by Stuart you see why he is PM he is alert and knows whats going on he shows humility yet there is strength

WUNNA PEOPLE LIKE A LOTTA SHITE –
    ——————————————
    The comment from Zinc above reminds me of the House Slave mentality so talked about in the colonial times

13. jack spratt
    I marvel at Jamaica for attempting to go to the same CCJ that they said they had no confidence in. In case the CCJ goes in favor of Jamaica, then we can abandon the immigration dept and have a feww for all. Will the CCJ tell Barbados that they cannot interrogate a person who wants to enter Barbados? If the Myrie girl cannot prove by eye witness, the persons who she alleged violated her and the immigration/custom officers stick to their story of not violating the girl, can the CCJ go in favor of the Myrie girl? When Jamaica have made a fool of themselves, what would the relationship between the two countries be? In case Barbados is found guilty, would it mean that heads would roll like Ministers and senior civil servants be fired? There are so many questions without answers. Jamaica going to the CCJ seems to indicate that there is more in the morter than the pestle and they are just using the Myrie case to cause problems in Caricom.

14. The fact that there has not been old hell after the interview given by the PM says what? He will have to commit to a press conference at some point but he obviously chose the one on one in the circumstances to dictate his message.

What can we say about Rosemary Alleyne? BU thought she was comfortable in the role and was indeed a surprise choice. Reudon Eversley should remain in the background for future press engagements.

15. @ David
    I am not so sure ‘comfortable’ is the best word to use to describe her performance. The body language said I am a staunch supporter of this party and PM. Perhaps Reudon is in the Sinckler camp, and weary of his “enemies” the PM chose a friend. Read weary baje’s earlier post, and then Wickham’s comments in today’s newspapers. Neither should be taken lightly.

16. The interview with PM Stuart covered topics which ranged from the mundane to those more pressing of national interest. When one juxtaposes the image of Ms Alleyne, resplendent in African wear and the timing of the presentation of the interview i.e. on the eve of Mr Stuart’s departure for the UK to attend the royal wedding, it is passing strange that no questions were asked about Mr Stuart’s thoughts of Barbados’ constitutional development vis-a-vis the continuance of the Queen as our head of state and the dominant role of British interests in the sale of land to foreigners. The DLP, in opposition, were very critical of the sale of land to foreigners particularly under the adage of “using land for its highest economic value”. The DLP’s concern was such that it promised in its manifesto to enact an agriculture land protection act and to prohibit development by foreigners along the East Coast.

Mr Stuart assertion that the collapse of Allen Stanford’s business was due mainly to the economic recession can only be taken seriously by Stanford’s defense attorneys as he awaits trial in a Texas jail for fraud. However given that PM Stuart diagnosed similar causes for the misfortunes of Clico and Stanford, I can only wonder if he was not subconsciously suggesting a similar future (i.e jail) as appropriate for Clico’s principals.

17. @enuff

Not gotten around to reading Wickham’s column yet. He uses a model to shape his views which has long since become predictable.

Your point about Wichkam supporting Sincker is probably correct. As you probably know they all went to Cave Hill together along with a few others who are current players. One must watch these networks closely.

PM Stuart chose an interview to get certain points across. On another occasion he will do other formats. Maybe his decision reflects how he thinks about local media practioners.

Interesting to read feedback from some Bajans, they appear to be living on Mars, he needs to lower gas prices as an example.

18. Agreed, people do not seem to understand that consumption comes with a high import bill and hence a negative effect on our balance of payments, thus our foreign exchange reserves.

Do they not understand what we have been saying for years. The xhit is breaking loose in the ME, better get used to hgih oil prices and I remain steadfast that Sinckler would be ill-advised to make any concession in the petrol price.

The only possible concession could be in respect of diesel for business use.

The real question David is, what will they do when oil rises above $150/ barrel?

We have been saying for the past five years and I repeat now, our public transport system needs revamping to become SAFE, efficient, and timely.

In European cities including London, public transport eases the private road system, but only because their public transport is first class and SAFE, both operationally and socially.

Further, bajans LOVE to drive, especially on weekends.

So, just like anything else, such as tv, phone etc, if you want to do it, then pay for it. Taxpayers should not support peoples whims and fancies.

19. I’m sorry that there was not a question about the progress of integrity and freedom of information legislation. These were of prime importance to the DLP at the time of the last election, and I’m sure played a major role in their win.

20. @rhubard,

I second that. That is but one area that this administration has gone woefully astray, particularly as a campaign promise, let alone a matter dear to the hearts of voters.

This ‘tomorrow’ bs will not do. Get the legislation passed NOW.

Further, specific reference to details and publication of details pertaining to management and expenditures for all major projects need to be included.

Or are we just playing a game here???????

What early odds on the eventual taxpayer cost of the ‘new marina’?

As an example, what arrangements in the new amrina project for overruns or quality issues, who bears the cost, taxpayer or contrators??

Lol. One can only laugh at this nonsense.

I shudder however, to think about when bajans get REALLY pissed at this nonsense.

Y’all talk about Jamaicans, but bajans merely have a more gradual anger curve.

21. @ David
    I never said he supported Sinckler!!! (lol)
    The truth is, Mr. Wickham as a respected pollster, political scientist and media personality, skilfully manipulates public discourse hence influences perception and interpretation.

22. @Ping Pong

Our information is PM Stuart will not be attending the Royal wedding even though he is listed among the invitees.

23. @david

So why is the pm heading to the uk then ? Is he on vacation at governments expense ?

24. @David

Not gotten around to reading Wickham’s column yet. He uses a model to shape his views which has long since become predictable.
    —————————————————————-

I love the Internet. Without knowing anything about Wickham, Stuart or Sinckler, I decided to do a search and ended up at the following URL, captioned WHAT MATTERS MOST: Perfect poll?
    Is this an example of the Wickham model to which you refer?

http://www.nationnews.com/index.php/articles/view/what-matters-most-perfect-poll/

25. @Bonny Pepper
    I salute your Premier in addressing himself to the Shanique Myrie case. There is another woman from Spanish Village (or town, I hear both names), that was also raped by Barbadian police while in a Barbadian jail .
    But, you seem upset that the Jamaicans are standing behind the story of their nationals, especially Myrie, who was raped by your Immigration and Custom officers while on a first time visit to Barbados.
    I, too, stand with the Jamaicans in seeking the justice that they were denied, just as I stand with denouncing the rape of Hilary Heath and who, for the sake of its tourism industry, the government tried to cover up.
    This is a bloody and disgusting shame. Very awful indeed!

26. David,

The line for the public is that he is not attending the Royal wedding but he has in fact he gone along with PMs from St Lucia and St Vincent. Cant you see why he would not want the public to know that he has gone to a Royal wedding based on his past pronouncements.

By the way belated greetings to our dear PM, it was yesterday. My birthday wish for him is that he will be able to enjoy the pleasure of lovemaking during the next year. Illaro Court must be a lonely place for him!

27. if the people wanted DON BLACKMAN to remain in politics they would ask him to reconsider his leaving politics. We certainly don’t desire a clone in fumble stroke. The wellspring of words we heard and no substance. What a waste.

28. Tremendous fallout from the interview for Stuart
    ———————————————
    Sinkcler’s star has risen three-fold
    If Sinkcler is not made Prime Minister now,
    the DLP will suffer tremendous defeat at the next election.
    —————————-
    You heard it first from

Tina

29. @Irwin

I agree with your comments. At least someone still remembers Hilary Heath’s terrible ordeal. How awful Shanique Myrie and the other Jamaican rape woman victim must be also feeling.

30. @Irwin/heather

first and last warning, you know why.

You are obviously being mischievous.

In Bajan parlance, you are playing the ass.

31. David

you have put doubt in my mind! Has PM Stuart even left the country? I notice that today’s newspapers have photos of the PM yesterday celebrating the 100th birthday of a constituent.

Regardless of whether he attends the wedding or not, I am interested in hearing about the keeping the queen as head of state and the promised enactment of legislation regarding land use.

32. I suspect Stuart is a republican, but it is not politic to appear that way now.

jack spratt
    I marvel at Jamaica for attempting to go to the same CCJ that they said they had no confidence in. In case the CCJ goes in favor of Jamaica, then we can abandon the immigration dept and have a feww for all. Will the CCJ tell Barbados that they cannot interrogate a person who wants to enter Barbados?

Scout,

You realise of course that it is not the same CCJ technically. One is an international law court, the other is an appeal court. All the CCJ has to do is to determine whether Jamaica has a case that one of its citizens was discriminated against in contravention of the provisions of the Revised Treaty.

33. Why did Rosemary Alleyne not ask the PM a question on the appointment of a CJ?

Followed up by……………………

Why was it necessary to attach the amendment to the law to the estimates bill which was passed at 2 am when people were asleep?

Why is it taking so long to name a CJ?

If you are appointing Marston Gibson, why the delay in naming him?

Is it true that he has a difficulty giving up his US citizenship?

Just legitimate questions as the acting CJ has be appointed to act until further notice or were such questions not allowed to be asked????

34. Please note that as of 23 April, 2011, the Prime Minister of Barbados was a confirmed attendee of the royal wedding.

http://www.officialroyalwedding2011.org/blog/2011/April/23/Selected-Guest-List-for-the-Wedding-Service-at-Westminster-Abbey

35. The amount of questions bloggers raise in this thread Stuart would need a month to answer. The thing is with a regular press conference the media questions usually not wide ranging they ask same question in many different ways and get same answer in this format at least we heard PM on wide range of interesting topics even his love life or lack of.

Stuart might be too dark for Wickham’s taste if you know what I mean.

36. Antrobus the part where Zinc said “midgets Owen Arthur and George Payne”
    in true black on black crime fashion ambush an unsuspecting black woman Mia is house slavery too, just asking?

37. @Chuckles

Looks like Clyde was pissed at something by his analysis 🙂

38. @ Jack Spratt
    I agree with you, Jamaica should not go to the CCJ. I personally have no confidence in this so called Caribbean Court of Justice based in Trinidad. It is a farce and no one — at least in Jamaica — thinks anything much of it. Plus, I have no faith in anything Trinidadian or Bajan either. It is not that I disrespect or dislike these people or that I mean them harm, I just don’t trust them; never will trust them; and will not support Jamaica’s participation in anything having to do with these countries, especially Barbados.
    I would prefer that our people stayed separate and apart. The outstanding reports of rapes and mistreatment of Jamaicans in Barbados have poisoned the relationship and make it too sickening to make me feel otherwise about Bajan. Instead of the CCJ, Jamaica must take the case to the UN and any other international forums available. But, please no CCJ, and we should break diplomatic relationship with the Bajans; they don’t need us and we certainly need them!!!!!!!!!!! PERIOD.

39. Jamaicans don’t have any confidence in their own Courts to dispense justice, and out of fear and ignorance believe the CCJ will operate similarly.

40. @ Crusoe
    Safety, efficiency and timely are not the major impediments to a better transport system, it is the lack of the requisite infrastructure and the chasm that exists between transportation and land use planning. Our settlement patterns for the last 20 years or so were based on travel by private car not public transportation, and as such the infrastructure to accommodate the type of transport system you speak of was neglected. For instance, why get on a bus and sit in traffic if you can do so in the comfort of your car? Or why walk 10-15mins with groceries after getting off a bus rather than drive your own car?

Secondly, the main culprit, with regards to fuel consumption, may very well be household energy use and not the car. The increase in oil prices you fear and its impact on the cost of electricity could see the explosion of fuel/energy poverty in Barbados.

The PM did talk about a $10m loan from the IADB to promote the use of alternative energy and a main part of the strategy seems to be ‘educating’ consumers. Haven’t we been there before with Liz Thompson? There is a need to go beyond the rhetoric and advance some real solutions to the issue of energy consumption. MOST do not require a loan to implement, just political will and strategic policy.

Here is one:
    Implement a building code that ensures structures are not only structurally sound BUT also built to certain standards of EFFICIENCY—materials, passive design, site layout, type of air conditioning etc—and government must lead the way. While busy building houses and new offices, little has been done to create energy efficient structures. For example, the houses at Coverley come equipped with natural gas dryers, and permission must be sought from NHC to erect clothes lines in a low density development on a tropical island.

And another:
    Why not some form of alternative energy facility to at least serve residents at Coverley, instead of all the fanciful shops to facilitate more consumptive behaviour?

41. *timeliness

42. There is also have 45 million loan they received earlier last year in full. http://www.iadb.org/en/projects/project,1303.html?id=BA-L1022

43. All bajans
    Let Irwin/Heather talk to each other.

44. @Enuff,

Fair comment on the issue of infrastructure, fully agreed. Historical development lacked long-term planning.

But yes, the use will depend on the safety, timeliness, if not consumers will not partake.

Fair comment too on the issue of energy usage /efficiency.

We are at a crossroads here.

45. @Charlie, dismissing Irwin/Heather will not dimiss the problem.

@ Enuff, you are right: I have little confidence in the Jamaican courts and none in the CCJ.

@Irwin, re the CCJ. I agree with you that Jamaica should not go there.
    @Heather, I don’t know much about the Heath Issue, but I agree with you about Shanique Myrie.

To all Bajans, One love as Marley says.

46. Sanka Price….the one – time campaign manager for Liz Thompson.

Why does Sanka Price believes anybody in Barbados takes him seriously about his wanting PM Stuart to ” talk to Barbadians ”

Comical as it sounds and Sanka Price appears…he says he is waiting to hear from PM Stuart with bated breath !

Well PM Stuart……never stopped talking to Barbadians !

Where was Mr. Price VOICE when Barbadians asked about the
    following :
    * FBI file ?
    * Why Liz Thompson sacked from the Arthur CabineT ?
    * Why was Johnny Cheltenham sacked from Cabinet ?
    * Why Mia Mottley removed from the Opposition leader’s post in October 2010 ?

The answers to these questions are still relevant……because Owen Arthur is still seeking after the PM post !

Waiting for your reply…..Sanka Price.

47. Where Sanka Price come from all of a sudden like Owen and dem promise he something if Bajans foolish enough to let BLP sniff power anytime soon Albert Brandford must feel threatened as Sanka take over his job as Owen and Clyde chief pimp. The media in Barbados jokey the Nation editorial policy without a doubt is anti DLP dont think the whole paper is anti DLP but the editorial writers are.

48. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

To all Bajans, One love as Marley says.

Irwin and ALL, this expression is just another form of ‘dismissing the issue’, whatever the issue happens to be at the time and is only a clarion for numb-skulls!

49. @Man wiv no name
    I was too busy watching the Royal Wedding, but the one love comment to me is like when I say “Shalom” to someone. It is a peace greeting based on mutual wellness of body, spirit, and good neighborliness.
    Because of the awful, unspeakable atrocities that have caused me to get involved in these exchanges and the fact that each opportunity to address them is met only with coward-like retreats into denial and insult, I do not think that the Marley ‘one love’ greeting is an end all; rather it speaks to me of a beginning, more so.
    But, I am too happy for our future King and Queen right now to bother with any prolonged back and forth regarding this matter right now. So, for now One Love, Peace & SHALOM!

50. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hi Irwin, I can’t recall reading more than one of your previous posts, and thus can’t claim to know you very well. I was more thinking of the more brain-dead people who usually use this expression.They think they’re being clever, but are only fakers intent on drawing you too, into their delusory-world of ganga-smoke and fecklessness. Don’t fall for it, and be a decent upstanding member of society and face issues, not circumvent them such as: ‘I’m a dick-head, and no amount of smoking more ganga n listening to more reggae music is going to make me into a decent, worthwhile human being’, when it applies.

Leave a Reply to YardbroomCancel reply