It is the dry season but after raining continuously in the last 24 hours Barbados became a flood zone in the North of the island. BU family member islandgal246 posted pictures on her blog which exposes the problem for Barbadians. Whatever we are doing in Barbados as far as physical resource planning, is concerned – if you want to describe it as such – it is not bloody working!

Submitted by Charles S. Cadogan

I read Barbados Today about the flooding in the North of the island. I also saw a video on YouTube about the flooding.

This flooding isn’t a new problem. This has been happening for more years than I can remember. What is the government doing with all the money passing through its hands? All the different projects that they seem to be money makers seem to come first. So we are back to the Almighty Dollar.  With the flooding situation, Barbados should have found ways regardless of the cost to have this problem resolved to ensure Barbadians are not threatened.  Constantly patching up roads and moving people to different locations, building more houses on scarce land isn’t resolving this problem.  Come on now, a blind man can see that this isn’t cutting it at all in resolving the situation with the flooding in Barbados.

I also read in Barbados Today that within the next 9 months construction on a marina will take place. Here again is millions of dollars being spent on yet another money making project within the tourist industry. What is all of this really doing for Barbadians who are having this same problem for as long as I can remember which has to be over 71 years, and becoming worse?  If you can find this kind of money for all the different projects, how come you can’t seem to be able to resolve this problem with the flooding at whatever cost?

If Barbados is heading towards modernization, why have we not changed the plan which is not working?

Don’t you think that it’s time some very serious planning be done to resolve this problem for the betterment of  all BARBADIANS?  My two questions therefore to the GOVERNMENT:-

WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT THIS SITUATION?

WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO MAKE THIS YOUR TOP PRIORITY?

1. Amazing…what’s the Minister of Flooding doing, we wonder… 😉

2. It does not bode will with the rainy season looming.

3. @Paul

The issue of flooding and poor drainage is about successive town planners not delivering their mandate to ensure efficient planning of land resources. We drop buildings anywhere like bird shit to satisfy political expediency.

4. The recent flooding in Gill’s Terrace, Speightstown, St Peter, can be directly blamed on the Drainage Dept. I travel through the Whim frequently and I remarked to a passenger in my vehicle, only a few days ago, that the next big rain fall will cause problems in Speightstown. Since Tomas, the trenches in the Whim gulley, have been blocked by tons and tons of debris and no-one seemed interested in clearing it. All that was needed is an excavator and a few trucks to remove the stuff blocking the free flow of water but I guess no-one saw it or maybe no-one cared. The Drainage Dept MUST be more pro-active, since the weather recently have been very unusual and also Barbados is due a bad hurricane season, we only have a few months before the season starts and maybe this is a warning of what is to come.

5. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

I do agree with you in regards to all the different construction going on in Barbados making these drastic changes without careful planning. For as long as I can remember from a boy which is many years. Barbados always had a drainage problem, which I thought by now would have been resolved with all this money being passed around; I hope and pray that this will be a lesson well learned to create the changes that are needed to improve the drainage situation in Barbados;
    Thanks to Islandgal246 for doing such a good job;

6. The poor planning by Town Planning in allowing construction in flood prone areas was wrong but it has happened already, it is now up to the Drainage Dept to find an alternative method of resolving some of the problems. In the case of the Speightstown flooding, damns were dug up stream, like in Sailor’s gully, that is doing a good job in slowing do the rapid flow of water through the Whim gully; a similar thing needs to be done in Warleigh’s gully. Even without that, the trenches within the Whim gully MUST be kept clean at all times to prevent the blockage of water hence causing the water to spread. I still think that not enough preventative measures are used to stop flooding. In St.Philip, there are trenches that are blocked for years by trees some now as tall as twenty feet, sometime ago a tractor from the Drainage Dept started to clear one of the trenches but the tractor broke down, after it was repared, I understand that the time for clearing the area had pass so they are on to another area, meantime the old trees are much taller and the area that was started is getting bushy again. There is the old proverb ” a stitch in time saves nine”, it is better to spend a few dollars clearing those trenches now than much more dollars to rectify the problems by not clearing them. Let’s be reminded that the hurricane season is just around the corner and the weather is very unpredictable

7. Does anyone know if the elected representative for the parish of St. Peter spoke to the media?

The media coverage of this event was most interesting and enlightening.

8. Pray you never experience a slow-moving wet category 3. Please impress on the authorities to even put some trenches on the sides of the roads. The weather patterns are changing in this region. Ask us in the Leewards about that.

9. […] of severe flood damage in St. Vincent and Barbados, here and here. […]

10. […] by Janine Mendes-FrancoReports of severe flood damage in St. Vincent and Barbados, here and here, and an earthquake in the U.S. Virgin Islands. This post is under “Revue de presse” and has no […]

11. […] of severe flood damage in St. Vincent and Barbados, here and here, and an earthquake in the U.S. Virgin […]

12. Black Milk
    I was watching the evening news on Ch 8 and I saw an interview with “Arthur’s opponnent” as he was discribed. However, I didn’t expect to see an interview with Mr Arthur since it appears, there is a ban on senior members from the BLP appearing on TV8> Remember, this is a nutural station but their tail is showing more ow that general elections are drawing near. I want the DLP to observe the level of interest the BLP is generating recently. This could be a sign that the tide is changing, in a matter of days/weeks Mia and Owen would kiss and make up but there is still some underlying problems within the DLP that has P.M Stuart unable to name a Deputy even after over six months in the leadership position

13. CBC has long abandoned any semblance of neutrality. It has long been regarded as the Government’s station, but since 2008, it has sunken to a new low. I cannot recall it ever being so bad.

One must spare a thought for those professionals journalist that are forced to work in this organization. It cannot be easy.

Ridiculous.

14. Close Gills Terrace nuh! What will it take?So many floods and yet no solutions!Oh Well! Same ole same ole………

15. Charles Cadagan submitted a blog on the subject of flooding and touched on the proposed marina which has been updated to this blog.

16. Scout,
    DLP CBC’s coverage of the flooding on Tuesday night was so joky, it was even funny. Michelle Arthur declared that the representative was in the area for most of the morning but had to leave for a meeting. If she knew he was there, you mean to tell me she could not at least have a quote from him as the duly elected representative as we know they would not carry his face or voice. But the DLP candidate could have ten minutes saying what??? He is a waste of time.

The huge following at BLP branch meetings have them running scared!

17. […] de sérieux dommages dus aux inondations dans les îles de Saint Vincent et de la Barbade, ici et ici, et un séisme dans les Iles Vierges américaines.Ecrit par Janine Mendes-Franco · Traduit […]

18. As long as it rains heavily in Barbados there will be flooding somewhere on the Island.

Clearing drains,gullies and suck-wells will help but torrential downpours will still cause flooding.
    This is why it is important for the Drainage unit to be proactive.

19. Had the trenches in the Whim gully been cleared after Tomas, there would have been no flooding in Gill’s Terrace. Yes, there was much rain but no way near the amount of rain that fell during the passage of Tomas and there was no flooding in Gill’s terrace. Am I to believe that it is easier to move a whole residencial area than to keep the water trenches clear?

20. I see signs of dictatorship developing within the DLP, I’ve heard of persons with no political attachment who are being refused contracts now because they got work from the BLP. This should not be, every bajan who qualify by being capable of performing well should be given work irrespective of which party they voted for in the last elections. Many workers are being victimised because they spoke out against the mothod of allocation of construction contracts; this shows political immaturity

21. Scout do you realize that it rained nonstop for 14 hrs, heavy rain it was. That amount of rain didn’t fall during Tomas.

22. @islandgal: “Scout do you realize that it rained nonstop for 14 hrs, heavy rain it was. That amount of rain didn’t fall during Tomas.

Only because we were lucky.

Will we always rely on luck?

23. @ Chris Halsall

“Will we always rely on luck?” Like you forget dat GOD got to be a Bajun LOL

On a serious note though, the Barbados Light and Power recently claimed that they were ready for a tsunami! Imagine that! How can a company with their plant on the beach say such a thing? Either we real foolish or they are.

We have been relying on luck for the past three hundred years and the authorities feel that it will continue. But cat luck aint dog luck and one day we might just live to see our luck run out.

24. @Island gal Mr. Worme in a letter to the Nation Newspaper has indicated that the quote that BL&P was ready for a tsunami was taken out of context.

I can’t remember the exact edition but I am sure David will be able to find it.

25. Here is what was said by Worme:

What was said

By Stephen Worme | Fri, April 08, 2011 – 12:01 AM

I write regarding the very unfortunate headline ‘We Can Take Any Tsunami’ on Page 5 of the DAILY Nation of March 28. This was a totally inaccurate reflection of the information I provided to your reporter and what he quoted me as saying in the article beneath it.

The interview, given after the Historic Garrison Walk in which employees of the Barbados Light & Power participated on Sunday, March 27, covered several topics, two of which were included in the article.

The report correctly highlighted the vulnerability of Light & Power’s generating station at Spring Garden to a tsunami and the action taken in the design of our newest low-speed diesel station that was commissioned in 2005 to mitigate the likely impact of a tsunami were it to occur. 

The article also correctly identified that one third of our generating capacity is located at Seawell, considered to be relatively secure from a tsunami threat, and that a site at Trents in St Lucy, which is also considered to be a secure site away from the coastline, has been identified for installation of future generating capacity. 

However, at no time did I insinuate that “we can take any tsunami” as the headline suggests.

It would be totally irresponsible for anyone to suggest that a major generating station with a lot of critical equipment at ground level (contrary to a part of the article which suggested that a major portion of the equipment at Spring Garden was above the level at which a tsunami is likely to affect, as my comment on this only related to critical equipment in the new low-speed diesel station) on the coastline would not be vulnerable to a tsunami.

I would also like to distance myself from the statement in the opening paragraph of the article that suggested that “Barbadians need not fear about BL&P’s capacity to deal with a tsunami”.

While I think the reporter may have included this so as not to alarm readers (my words, not his), it did not reflect what I discussed with him. I suspect this could have contributed in some way to the inaccurate headline.

When I contacted your newspaper to express my concern about the inaccuracy of the headline and the incorrect impression it may have left with readers, the reporter was not available and I had the opportunity to speak to two senior members of the Editorial staff. 

They both were very understanding and apologized for the unfortunate error. They agreed that the headline could not have been deduced from what I was quoted as saying.

26. My sympathies go out to the people living in Gills Terrace. I lived there back in 90’s and experienced flooding. The water was up to the dash board in my car. I was lucky and not at home at the time. My husband was not so lucky and was almost washed away, when water swept through the house. I would not wish the experience of flooding on my worst enemy.

One good thing that came out of the flood was that I learnt or was refreshed about the value of life and how it can not be replaced whilst possessions can (apart from photos etc).

I had thought that the new waterway that was constructed around the time Chefette moved into the area had solved the problem, as I had not heard about flooding in that area for awhile, so I am not surprised to hear that it was blockages in the gullies that had caused this problem.

As other bloggers have said we’ve had our warning, yet people still drop litter out of cars etc. which could cause the drains to block.

So I agree yes the gullies have to be cleared. I agree yes that more funding should be put towards prevention of flooding. I agree yes Town & Country Planning need to be aware of possible flooding caused by construction.

But if we continue to drop litter or dump stuff around the place all the work or money spent by the relevant authorities is wasted. So we all need to do our part and stop the littering.

27. So what are we waiting for? Another death from flooding?

an when de hurricome come!

Leave a Reply to Prodigal SonCancel reply