Submitted by NUPW Insider (name withheld by BU)

Read documents located at the bottom of this blog

Well the election bug has hit the NUPW and everything and everybody looking for a pick. Some old time “’tryers’ to some ambitious young ‘turks’ have thrown their pockets into the ling. It appears that the word is out that money is out for grabs.

I have one vote but believe that some order has to be brought back to the NUPW. In the 1st place Maloney has to go, he has outlived his usefulness and has become arrogant and extravagant and his alliance with the General Secretary is not in the best interest of the members. Who will replace him? I supporting Manasseh King, he can be a bit snotty but in this weather he is the best candidate. He will bring organization and order to the NUPW. He will bring fair play and sound leadership. Forde is a waste and Danny Gill not even interested. The best bet is King for President. The truth, anybody for Maloney, he is bad business.

At this time a steady hand and head like Murrell is welcomed. I am glad that he has accepted the 1st VP billing and believe that he will provide the balance needed to clean up the mess left by Maloney. I have little to say for 2nd VP or for 3rd VP and they are a much of a ‘muchness’. However I will stick with Dash for treasurer. It has been said that he was part of the happy group until he got left out of a deal but whatever the reason he has now set a standard that no expenditure without justification and has stood his ground. I will give him another pick and keep my eyes out. Six is half dozen for the deputy but the Burke girl’s behaviour when the Treasurer refused to give Maloney and Clarke money make her suspect so I will go with whoever else.

My pick for the 3 key posts:

• Manasseh King, President
  • 1st Vice President, Cedric Murrell
  • Treasurer, Kenneth Dash

Clarke will not like this combination and will be forced to get in line and forget his indiscretions. These three appear to be strong enough to control that empty headed Clarke and demand the support of the others whoever. The important thing now is to go and vote and change the direction, image and fortunes of the NUPW. Failure to vote can lead to the retention of the confusion, threat to the assets of the institution and downright wastage. Go and vote. But once you vote make sure it is not for Maloney or his team.

Documents of interest received from another BU source which gives an insight into the struggle for power within the NUPW:

Documents: 1,2,3,4

1. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

To Caswell

I wont have to ask you for documents to canvass with. You keep shifting your argument, but i see where you are heading so this is the last time I will respond to you on this blog. It is only after some one told me that you have half truths here that I check it out.

I have always been warned about you as you run your mouth with inpunity. By the way how have you come in possesion of the union’s documents and you do not work there. All the things you claim to have written on this blog I have heard about the allegations so I need nothing from you.

Concentrat on building your Union and butt out of the Union’s business, let us solve our problems.

2. Members of the NUPW should be concerned with the truth and it should not matter who is the purveyor of the information.

3. Maxine Charles Avatar
    Maxine Charles

Well well this caswell franklyn is something else. I am confused about this fight with Manasseh. Is there a problem with Manasseh as President? Well if you have a problem then say it. It cannot be about his party, basketball, football, lodge or church allegiance. You are part of the Cawmere frat and you have determined that Maloney must go. You are part of thBLP brotherhood and you determined that Owen should go Yiou are part of the army and determined that Nurse shoild go. Are you saying that the oNLY BARBADIAN with integrity or balls or both is Caswell FRanklyn. Come on give a man a chance until he shows dofference, Come on stop being so paranoid and support who you like without trying to pull anybody (except Maloney) down. He (Maloney) is the common problem. Yoiu get him you get clarke and any of the others will make CLarke shape up. And the lord knows that Clarke needs shaping up or shipping out so come on stop the attacks and focus on CLarke and Maloney

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Maxine
    I don’t have a problem with Manasseh. I have a problem with some of those who claim to be supporting him because I know that their real cause is not the workers best interest. He should be careful. My primary school Headmaster would always tell us that a man is known by the company that he keeps. If Manasseh had said thanks but no thanks to them I would not have intervened as I have done. You must understand that I have an interest in who leads NUPW since it is the majority union in the Public Service, and probably in Barbados and all unions will be bound by the deals that it makes with the Government.

I do not believe that I am the only Barbadian with balls, but I like those who use theirs. I enjoyed our little sparring bout. Good night I have to go to bed.

5. Hotta than hot Avatar
    Hotta than hot

THE NUPW is a farce because workers not involved. Workers just sit back waiting for what–I dont know. And the old school tie dominates and the fraternal strings get pulled.

6. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

To Hoota than Hot

THE NUWw IS NOT A FARCE. IT AERVES THE WORKERS WELLL IN A LOT OF INSTANCES. WORKERS NEED TO GET OF THEIR HIGH HORSES AND ENSURE THAT THEIR INSTITUTION IS RUN PROPERLY AND ENSURE THAT NO MAXIMUM LEADERS EVER EMERGE LIKE WHAT HAPPENS AND ALSO ENSURE THAT THE FUNDS ARE USED WISELY;

MAXINE I AM AWARE OF THE CAWMERE FRATERNITY. YOU ARE VERY OBJECTIVE IN YOUR ANALYSIS ;

7. At this point BU can only confirm that Caswell Franklyn is writing under his own name.

8. To Manasseh:
    If you were not removed as leader of the Body Building Association , as the national papers clearly indicated then, why did you start your own association? If you left so graciously with your track record intact, why did have to start YOUR OWN ASSOCIATION? Does this not speak to characteristics of one who loves the role of maximum leader?

9. To Manasseh:
    Did you remember that the election after Cedric Murrel was removed? Were you not a candidate then? Did you not join the negativity poured out against Cedric? If Cedric does not win a post on the executive, shall he remain on CUTSAB?

10. to Manasseh:
    Having read all you constructed as responses, as a trained graduate; I am hoping that those little trifles of grammatical and spelling mistakes were as a result of your fulminating and frothing at the mouth for Caswell Franklyn’ hide and not genuine, honest and normal spelling and grammatical mistakes.

11. With all the talk about who is a B or D, I want all NUPW members to remember that DANNY GILL resigned from the BLP and fought against them and the DLP as an Independent Candidate in the 2003 General Elections. He paid a very heavy price.

12. To ManASSeh:

Did Anne Marie Burke not nominate you? If you are this man of sterling integrity, why are you backing Kenneth Dash and Roy Greenidge. These are the same people who referred to you at the outset of this election as a big joker and a waste of time. What has Anne Marie Burke done you? Members , please give her a vote. She will get none from ManASSeh.

13. Maxine Charles Avatar
    Maxine Charles

orning this blog thing like it addictive I could not wait to get up this morning and read it. This is only a few days for me and this thing is something else. It is good because the things that are being discussed would never see the time or day in the regular or should i say above the ground world but some of these things needed to be said. Ofcourse some of the writers will add a bit here and there and one can always find out who is fibbing or exaggerating, so I enjoy this maybe because I have an interest in the NUPW and have been watching what has been going on

I will say one thing to Manasseh and I keep getting the spelling of the name wrong anyhow the point Manasseh just get into the offices, tell the truth and the rest will be easy. The public servants are not very active in their union’s affairs but once they are aware of the going ons they will not condone some of these indiscretions and wastage that the General Secretary and the President have been forcing on the institution. Last night In heard that the GS refused to read a letter from legal luminary Leslie Haynes that pointed out the issues with the web site. I do not know if this is true but maybe Franklyn who seems to have a way with documents lol should do his work and let us know. But if this true this is mal-administration bothering on dishonesty and must not be condoned. Any executive that misleads willing the organization that he has been paid to serve is guilty of a major act should be disciplined. I hope every effort is made to check for the letter from Leslie Haynes and if it is possible get the truth into the public. In the meantime Manasseh, I have spoken to you only a few times and the truth is that you appeared a little stand offish but that to me is not important what is honesty, competence and experience in unionmatters so get working and help us frelieve Maloney of the burden of using a cell phone to the tune of 6000.00 or better 3000.00 per month thank you in advance and may God guide you and the people of the public service respond with enough support to get Maloney out. Have a good day Ihave to start working and canvassing lol

14. One can only hope you continue reading the blog after the elections of which we don’t think there is much hope.

15. To ManASSeh:
    Yes, we agree that there was a surplus under your leadership of the Body building Association. However, the new executive that rid of you DID NOT FIND ONE RED CENT OF THAT SURPLUS WHEN THEY TOOK OVER FROM YOU.

16. To Maxine Charles:

I understand that ManASSeh is your brother. It would have been good to know that from the beginning. All bloggers can now re-read Maxine’s posts with that aforementioned information in mind.

17. to rich- well if this buddy of whom you speak is the former treasurer, then the longer you live the more you learn. and to think that i always believed that he was a man of principle and integrity working in the interest of the union. now to hear that he siding with clarke and maloney against the honourable treasurer because clarke give him a job. boy you never judge a book by the cover.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am having so much fun telling the truth on the candidates in the NUPW election race: so here we go again.

I notice that my fellow blogger, Lemuel Areti, indicated that he will support Anne Marie Burke for Treasurer. I do not want to discourage him, but I think that he should be aware of some facts.

Anne Marie Burke, formerly of the Coastal Zone Management Unit, (Do your own research) is currently the Deputy Treasurer of NUPW. She is now seeking to unseat Kenneth Dash as Treasurer. She was the one who signed the cheques to pay for Clarke’s and Maloney’s trip to Jamaica and for Clarke’s son when the Treasurer refused because they had no authority to travel, and there was no contract to employ Clarke’s son.

Now I will give some insight into her character. When these matter first surfaced, the Treasurer asked her to sign the cheques because he was unable to get to the Union that day. She refused to sign those cheques because the trip was not authorised and there was no contract to employ Clarke’s son. When the Treasurer resumed duties, he supported her decision and did not sign those cheques either. One Saturday morning, after all of this, she went to the union along with Clarke and Maloney and signed the cheques.

19. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

To Maxine

Thank you, I am considered the forerunner in this fight based on the response so I would not be distracted as you have advised we need to have a change in leadership. I thank you for the compliment and the advice.

I have four sisters and none of them blog so hence you are not my sister.

Yes i was at the AGM and I supported Mr. Dash call for the reading of the letter, but it was never read, yet the GS could find one from another lawyer to read. That action was disrespecful to a siiting Executive member. Not a man except me rose in defence of Mr. Dash. But that is how meetings are conducted in our Union.

When the issue of the Website was raised by me I stated that i was informed that it was not functioning, but was assured by the GS that it was compled. I also warned against making a decision to pay Mr. Clarke’s son the ten thousand dollors, but it was done for expediency.

Let me inform this site that the AGM started after the fifty minutes had passed, but the President insisted that he was going by his watch . He was disrespectful while I was discussing an issue from the floor as both he and the GS were having their private discussion awhile I was speaking and I brought to his attention that it was not in order to disrespect the floor. Thats is the nature of the man, Mr. Maloney. He knew that he had his crowd there to support whatever he did.

For some readers information, our flyer is backing Ms. Burke for Deputy Genereal Treasurer. and the rest of the team is Mr. Cedric Murrel, Mr. Ronnie Greaves-Thorpe, Ms. Merlene JOnes and Mr. Kenneth Dash. It is up to the memebers to decide who they want to lead them. that is wheher that team possesses the competencies to reform the Union as there must be reform in this 21st century.

Today, a candidate on my team told me that he went to Harrisons cave and he was informed that serous canvassing had gone on for votes for the roving box and support for the maximum leader.

Any how the GS was reminded in correspondence today, that he had no authority to introduce such a box. At the meeting when they decided to select person to work in the van i declined and Mr. Maloney participated, little did they know that they were breaking the rules. Someone who was President for four years should have known that, but then again you have to be able to be objective first and foremost.

It seems that the President wants to hold on to power at all cost. Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutesly. I agree that the bond has to be broken, I further agree that officers need to pay greater interest in their union. In blogging the emphasis is not really on standard english, that is left for when i have to write speeches etc and I am considered an excellent speech writer so hence I will have to rebuke the gentleman for commenting on any mistakes made here.

Maxine please do not be distracted I have seen the telphone bill today and I am appallaed that such wastage going in my union.

20. To ManASSeh:
    I noticed that you are not responding to the genuine questions that would allow all bloggers to see the type of leader you are. I have your flyer; it was emailed to departments. Yes the one with all of the names except Anne Marie Burke. ManASSeh people have them in the possession. How could you tell so bold face a lie. Now you have shortened your list to Dash, yourself and Cedric..

21. To ManASSeh:
    When did you become a front runner? Who did that survey? Were you dreaming? Is this the sort of solid reasoned logic you used to bring bedlam to the NUPW executive when you were 3rd VP?

22. Come ManASSeh, were you the person in the Ministry of Health with the list of who were BLP supporters? Were you the one who Dr. Estwick had to reprimand about getting rid of the BLP crowd? Does your front runner dreaming allow to remember that dastardly act in 2008? People need to know that you shall come with chaos incorporated to the NUPW; that is your nature; that has been your modus operandi; you will not change. Tell your sister maxine that for me.

23. To ManASSeh:

Are you on four statutory boards? Were you not promoted to Senior Admin. Officer in the Ministry of Health by this government, without an interview. Who did you supersede?

24. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

To Maxine

I said the president has been in power for four years I meant six years.

25. Maxine Charles Avatar

Come on Manasseh ignore areti and caswell and focus on the job at hand that is providing information about the mismanagement by Clarke and Maloney. When a view is expressed I look at the substance of the argument and the relevance to the debate and to be honest the more this discussion has developed the less relevant Caswell and areti have become. The anonymity that the blog provids is a protection from victimiation and to allow bloggers to express themselves about issues without fear. To claim that I am Mannasseh’s sister is a distraction. Clealry caswell appears not to be getting the candidate he is supporting and he is getting despearate. I hope not because to be true to myself my aim here is to change Maloney. My selection of Manessah is simply because of the other two carry no appeal. Danny and Forde can only cut votes and allow Maloney to slip through and rather than Caswell and Areti confusinmg the story about family and politics they should be encouraging those two spoler candidates to drop out and throw their support behind Manessah. I heard today that Forde has been having serious problems with his eyes and may have to have another surgery oin them. When coupled with his difficulty of gettiung words out with clarity he will not cut it and should really drop out. As for Danny it is clear that he is being forced and encouraged but his pressence outside pictures has been very loud. Have not seen him have not heard him and not only me. Today was a good canvass day for me I went to Education and Warren. Quietly i asked about the union elections and to my surprise there was a high level of apathy. People were not buzzing so I got some of them buzzing and spread the word that Maloney must go. This is what Caswell and areti and all serious supporters and members of the NUPW should be doing. Fighting about people’s connections will only help Maloney and Clarke and leave the NUPW sick and dying Come on get real and focus on the mission GET MALONEY OUT…. Vote for Manasseh. If he were my brother I would say he is, I would be proud to say it. That is not important what is, is that you go and vote for him and make a difference at the NUPW

26. I have tried to stay off this blog because it hurts me to see the level to which this great union has become the subject of public debate and for the reasons that it has become. The Union exists to serve the interest of the members but requires that the members act as guardians and watchdogs keeping those entrusted with its management focussed and moving it forward. I was not able to attend the AGM but got a report from an Executive member and his comments infused me to the extent that I came to this blog and asked for change. I read above that Clarke aided by the President misled the Conference about the corrspondence relating to the web site. I read that there was correspondence inviting the union to engage in further negotiations about a settlement and Clarke did not present it to the Conference. I am hoping that this is not true for if it it is it is a serious act of misconduct punishable with dismissal. I hope that Caswell and Mnasseh are wrong on this issue for the Union’s sake. It is a serious matter when an executive invites a conference to vote on the payment of money to his son and he has not provided all the information. I jhope that this is not the case.

Nonetheless the union’s business must go on and elections are two days away. Maloney has outlived his stay and a change is necessary.This talk about cell phone bills has been on the blog for over two weeks and there has been no denial. In fact copoies of the bills have been incirculation across the service and yet not a word about the settlement from the General secretary. Surely if the President has amassed 6500.00 in cell phone bill charges and has not settled the bill the GS has a responsibility to clear the air. He has to say something to the members. Come on Clarke you cannot be that dumb or think so callously about the members. It is their subs that pay you and the same subs that Maloney has abused. You meab you dont intend to earn the 140,000.00 salary you are earning by explaining to the members how it is possible for Maloney to amasss the kind of debt and still using the same phone. Incredible! This can only mean there is some kind of salliance between these two and Clarke is covering for Maloney. Well some other blogger said wolves hunt in packs and I know to defeat wolves take the leader down and the others divide. So come and take Maloney down vote him out and Clarke will have to fall in line

27. Maxine I agree with you 100%. I don’t care if these Candidates are D,B,X,Y or Z cause everybody has some kind of political affiliation at some point in their lives. The real issue here is to get rid of MaMoney and get somebody in there to keep that GS in check. When I look at the lineup Manassah is the best man for the job. Don’t get me wrong he aint my favourite person and he can be very snotty but right now he is the best outta d lot. We have to breakup the dynamic duo and if we continue talking about politics etc MaMoney gine slip back through them doors and everything will remain the same, or maybe get worse.

But I must remind wanna this aint no oneman show the President don’t make decisions on his own. For a decision to carry it must have the support from the majority of the Executive members. So they will keep the President in check too. So, we need people in there that strong, objective, who know and understand the Union rules, got some integrity and ready to hit the ground running.

28. Well Rich
    I don’t know if Buddy was promised something but I say Dash is the best for the job cause we have proof he stands up to the. I don’t know much about Pam but I don’t think she is strong enough.

On another note, I really hope they make MaMoney pay back all that money he owe for that Cell Phone bill and the hundreds of dollars he owe the Bar fuh them drinks he trust.

29. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

To Lemuel

I am acting and i was the most senior of the AO1 and hence the reason for my acting, you always get your facts wrong i have a Masters, what qualification does Mr. Maloney has and he is in the the S scale like myself. The Public Service Act of 2007 stpulates that you have to be interviewd to be appionted, hence there is a difference between acting and appointed and what about you?

You do not have the means to keep me distracted and and you should be man or woman enough and blog under your real name.

Your support for someone who refuses to honour the commitment to repay the money is amazing, you should also find out if that is one of his strong attributes.

I rest my case with you. By the way my brother, my sister and I
    have been to the Unique High School and that is why we have been so Unique. My mother died 45 years ago when we were very young and she instilled in us always honour your debts and never hing your hat higer than you can reach, for when you fall it is alway great.

You have a wonderful and exciting night and dont allow me to get into to your head.

By the way canvassing will conclude officially tomorrow and if it be God’s wishes that I am elected I will serve with disstinction and reform the Union? Do you have the ability to assist us? Speak or forever hold you peace.

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Pearlie

You said that the President don’t make decisions on his own. You are so right. But the Executive has no authority to make decisions on its own either. According to the Rules of the union the National Council makes the decisions. The Executive can only make recommendations to the National Council. We now have an Executive Committee that does not know or don’t care that it was operating unconstitutionally for some time.

The only person that stood up to the Executive and the General Secretary is the Treasurer, Kenneth Dash. Even though the Executive has no real power to make decisions according to the Rules, they stood idly by and allow the General Secretary and President make decisions on their own.

Manasseh wants change, but only at the top. Why else would he be running with the same persons that looked the other way while Maloney and Clarke ignored the Rules. Ann Marie Burke, Merlene Jones and Ronnie Greaves-Thorpe are part of Maloney’s impotent Executive. Why would Manasseh want the same crowd that refused to stand up to Maloney. Maybe he wants to rule like Maloney because he well knows that they are too weak to challenge him.

31. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

dear lemuel

We originally started with Roy Greenidge and he showed no intereste and Anne Marie Burke has been added to the team the next day and you should tell the readers that the poster that we have with pictures have her name on so you really need to be seized with the correct facts go through the departments and you will see six names, you need to ascertain why the whole Executive revolted against walter, and is apposing him. Amen.

Ask mr. maloney what he did in the 1990’s when he was on the Executive with Mr. Murrel when there was problem and come and tell this site, I am sure that you know him very well as he is your friend.

32. This thread is a tragicomedy.
    Yes persons have a right to association under the Constitution. However, neither preparing a list of supporters of the opposing party for dismissal nor benefiting from the wrongful dismissal of your boss, while being his union President, is just about ‘association’. Indeed it was ‘association’ that fueled these decisions. Such actions point to hypocrisy, and political sycophantism and fanaticism–traits which are not apt for the presidency of a union which represents public workers of ALL political persuasion.

33. To All The ManASS supporters:

Yes , I care about the NUPW; this is why it would be hypocritical of me to sit here and allow you to ram an ASS down the throats of the members of the union. ManASSeh is not fit to run anything. He has been tried by various entities and have been found wanting. This is not a distraction; he brings chaos where ever he goes.
    How could want Danny Gill to go when among them, he is the only one with any track record of accomplishments. How could you want us to vote for a man who is not even honest enough to support those who nominated him. How could you believe that he could bring a semblance of order or organization to the union when he does exhibit or never has any in his entire life.
    When your man ManASS writes on this blog are you inspired by anything he says. I have been carefully reading him. Dennis Clarke shall eat him for bait if he is successful. Any fool can be graduate trained.
    This election is not about Clake and Maloney; it about restoring the union; it is restoring confidence; it about giving for once the membership a President that really can achieve something. I believe that man is Danny Gill. This not about how many flyers and running about that was done; it is about where do we go from here.
    I too went in the field; in one instance I saw an entire depart that either dropped out of the union or would not join. You ASS candiadate can not fix that; he shall bring further chaos and fragmentation.
    So as he raise you volume so shall I vote DANNY GILL for proper leadership.

34. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

Dear lEMUEL .

SINCE YOU SPEAK WITH SUCH AUTHORITY, ASK DR ESTWICK IF THE NONSENSE YOU SPEAK OF EVER OCCURRED>

ASK YOUR FRIEND IF HE PAYS FOR ALL THOSE DRINKS FROM THE BAR.

YESTERDAY WE VISITED THE REGISTRATION DEPARTMENT AND WE WERE TOLD THAT CLARKE AND MALONEY WERE THERE LAST WEK AND THEY DID NOT LIKE WHAT THE UNION MEMBERS TOLD THEM. ONE LADY SAID SHE STOPPER HER DUES SINCE THAT TIME AND I WAS ABLE TO PERSUADE HER TO TO RECONSIDER HER ACTION.

ASK THE GENERAL SECRETARY AND MR MALONEY WHY HAVNT WE HAD AUDITED FINANCAIL STAMENTS FOR TWO YEARS AND DONT COME HERE TO BALME MR DASH.

ASK THE PRESIDENT WHY IT HAS TAKEN OVER NINE YEARS TO OBTAIN A COPY OF A MAUSCIPT FOR SOMETHING WE PAID OVER $60 000.

ASK MR. MALONEY WHY NO CONCEPT PAPEERS ABOUT THE BUYING CLUB OR THE MEDICAL CENTRES WERE EVER PRESENTED TO THE GENERAL BODY FOR SCRUTINITY.

THESE ARE THE ISSUES YOU SHOULD ADDRESS AND NOT DISTORT ISSUES, CASWELL SAY THAT HIS HEADTECHER TOLD HIM YOU ARE KNOWN BY THE COMPANY YOU KEEP, MY MUM ALWASY USED TO PREACH THAT YOU CANNOT GET WAY FROM A THIEF OR A LIAR.

WHEN I USE THE NUPW BAR I PAY IMMEDIATELY, FIND OUT WHO SUBSIDISES THE BAR FOR THE BIG MOUTH DRINKS THAT ARE TRUSTED. OUR UNION DUES, I AM TOLD THAT WHEN ROY GREENIDGE USE TO BE IN CHARGE OF THE BAR IT USES TO MAKE A PROFIT AND SOME OF THE NONSENSE DINK AND DONT PAY COULDNT HAPPEN. WOULD YOU DO SOMETHING LIKE THAT?

;.S

SAPCONTACT

35. ManASSeh leave Roy Greenidge alone. Mr Greenidge is a man of integrity. He accepted the nominations and has pledge his support to whoever is victorious. Please don’t sully his name by aligning his name with mudslingers. Out of all of you check his stewardship while in, and out of office. Now there is a man who should be running for the presidency.

36. to manasseh- i too share some of your earlier concerns but washing dirty linen in public for self serving interests could return to haunt you as it did to the dlp and now the blp but if your connections with the dlp run so deep how can you be expected to be any different from maloney where allegiance to party vis vis representation of membership is concerned? another thing, this is not the first time nor will it be the last that organisations stretch the rules to accomodate the membership and they are more other areas of rule breaches that occur without sanction? for example, this is the first time in the history of the union that financial statements have not been presented to conference not once but twice under the treasurer’s watch without adequate explanation.

37. to manasseh- aren’t your new found running mates part of the non-functioning executive who benefitted from hefty increases in allowances on assuming office and who clamoured for blackberry cells phones supposedly to do the union’s business but not attending the meetings . it would be interesting to know if the former treasurer or present treasurer was part of this extravagance and wastage.

38. manASSeh what type of leader you purport to be. I understand that on the day of conference when that fiasco about the proper time of conference the only one to walk out on principle was Greenidge. He was sitting at the same table as you. Yet you remained at your position. Also you write that Greenidge show no interest as D Treasurer. Knowing the history of the current D Treasurer could you not have ascertained his position before running to pickup dishonest baggage. The other two from the current/last executive claims she has no principle. But then again the only one on your team with principle seems to be Dash.

39. Are people aware that the ASS candidate was nominated for EVERY POST except TREASURER? I told you he was an ASS; you did not believe me.

Are you aware that the original posting in the papers by the Union had clearly Roy or Anne Marie for Dep. Treas. Why then would the ASS candidate, from the beginning, back Roy and not Anne Marie who nominated him. For those who can not see, the ASS candidate is a bare faced liar.

40. jennifer spooner Avatar
    jennifer spooner

CASWELL WHAT DID DASH PROMISE YOU, WHEN HE REFUSED TO PUT A PROPOSAL ON THE TABLE TO GET YOU REHIRED. WHAT HE SHOULD TELL YOU IS ABOUT HIS MIAMI TRIP WITH THE SAME SIDEKICK OF CLARKE’S AND THAT HE WENT FOR PERSONAL GAIN WHO WANTS TO BE A DOCTOR IN YOUR FAMILY? WHY DONT HE TELL YOU ABOUT ALL THE MEETINGS HE WENT TO WITH THE PRESIDENT AND CLARKE ABOUT THE MEDICAL CENTRE AND BACKED THE PROPOSALS AT EACH MEETING THEN WENT BACK AND TOLD HIS OTHER COLLLEAGUES DIFFERENT, HE HAS YOU BIDDING HIS CLAIMS BUT WHY DONT YOU SPEAK TO OTHERS ON THAT SAME EXEC OR YOUR FRIEND DGS AND BE TOLD HOW WHEN EVER ITS TIME TO MAKE DECISIONS HE HAS A CLASS TO TEACH OR HIS MOTHER TO TAKE OUT, ASK HIM ABOUT TELLING THE PRESIDENT HE WAS GOING TO SIGN CHEQUES AND THEN CHANGE HIS MOUTH, AND WHY DOES HE CONSULT THE SAME CEDRIC MURRELL YOU FOREVER BLAMBASTING ON EVERYTHING IN THE UNION. AND FINALLY WHY DONT HE TELL YOU ABOUT SOME OF THE DECISIONS HE CLARK AND MALONEY CAME TO WITHOUT THE EXEC KNOWLEDGE INCLUDING $42000.00 AND THE SAME AUDI CAR THAT HE SIGNED FOR. YOU THINK HE GOT INTEGRITY, STOP BIDDING FOR MR. AINT IT CAUSE IT IS NOT. I SAY PUT IN A BRAND NEW EXEC WIPE THE SLATER CLEAN.

41. I have been told by someone who knows the men well that a choice between Manasseh and Danny Gill is as one between the Devil and the deep blue sea.

Manasseh’s record is well known. Danny’s isn’t, but some digging should reveal some serious inconsistencies and alliances in his past and present.

Btw, Who was the gunman that could bring a concealed weapon into the cabinet room in the BLP administration? Who is the person that is involved in an infelicitous get rich scheme with a current minister?

The answer; The same person.

42. Hi Check in out:
    Are you saying to up until now that all I have said about the ASS’s record of bedlam and lying is true. Did the ASS have all of that power and authority to carry a loaded weapon into the Cabinet Room. Tell me more about this get rich scheme of the ASS’s, and who is the Minister.
    If the ASS is front runner as he so boasts on this site why resort to these half truths and lies. Get the ASS to be clear and really logical when he uses this forum. People are already saying they would be asses to really leave home or work to vote for an ASS candidate.

43. Hi Check it Out:
    From my reading of your comment, I am glad you are agreeing that the ASS is the Devil and Mr. Gill is the solid deep blue sea.
    By the way as we are slinging mud, that ASS take a body building contingent to St. Martins to a compettition. There was a fight/ struggle, which got physical, between the ASS and another male over another male. You have the ASS’s record, clarify for the blog. Apart from the bedlam is this what you want for the NUPW leadership. An ASS with a hard on.

44. This is sad these two candidates who between them provide the best option for moving the NUPW along engage themselves in mud slinging and allow their supporters to denigrate each other. In other circumstances i wiould suggest that both of you drop out of te race but the other options would serve the NUPW worse. Forde Lol LOL LOL and Mamoney no way. So gentlemen it is left to you too to sort this personal stupidness out and find common ground before morning otherwise the incumbent will stay. If you look at those that want Maloney to stay they all represent emotional behaviour. One woman wants him to sleep with her, another talking about his height and voice rubbish. The issue is wastage, integrity and leadership. In all these Mamoney is questionable so come on Gill and King stop the folly and add value to this exercise by dealing with issues that public servants need addressed so we can decide. Like it or not I am still supporting King but the ball is in Gill’s court to show me why I should switch to him. Not by telling me about King’s short comings I know them but about your credentials to lead the NUPW and to keep Clarke from taking it into the jaws of death

45. Hi LEMUEL ARETI re. post of April 5, 2011 at 2:28 PM

Sorry for misleading you and perhaps others. The person who was so influential through alliances with powerful people that he could take a firearm into the cabinet meeting room with impunity was NOT Manasseh. Manasseh may have other deficiencies but being a “gunman” was not one of them as far as I have been told.

re. the devil and the deep blue sea, just think Hobson’s choice. The NUPW surely deserves better.

46. A bunch of a….s…….s holes ! if you ask me !

47. Straight talk Avatar

Shame we are forced to choose the least corrupt to run our institutions.

48. To Check it out:
    You seem very distraught in your last blog. Yet it borders on stupidity. Do you know that most senior civil servants carry weapons that all of them have permits for. Do you know that it allows them to carry it on their person wherever they go. What is this massive point that you are making.

You ASS has been all over the media with Minister Sukoo and others. Your ASS has powerful friends. Why do think you are very concerned that the front runner could be a lame duck candidate. So stop misleading bloggers with your ASSery like your ASS candidate. Find something more profitable to blog about.

49. to manasseh- i can never understand why unscrupulous persons are the first to accuse others of wrongdoing. according to information, clarke’s son was approved by council in 2006 during mr goddard’s tenure to set up the union’s website/ the mauscript was commisioned sometime in 2003 long before malone became president and clarke general secretary/and last but not least , the rules places the responsibilty for the presentation of the annual audited financial statements to council in the hands of the treasurer only or his deputy in his absence. no one else, a good treasurer would ensure that this was done.

50. We are now down to the final harrah, the final push and after visiting three offices, I am not comfortable with the awareness of public officers and in particular the members of the NUPW about the importance of a change vote at this election. I am aware that opposing candidates often run the “time for a change” message as it encourages any persons who believe that some request made by them and not honoured by the person in office as a good reason for chang. In addition some see long service as a time when longserving persons acquire too much status or benefits and argue that the persons have overstayed their welcome.
    This election has within it the reality that the current President and many of the candidates that once formed his team have been around too long and a fresh team is needed. I share the underlying message that change is required and that significant change is required. I however believe that some continuity is required and a mix of the old with the new is required at this time.

Every objective person has agreed that the Presidency needs changing. Whether it has been because of the extrvagance, the callous treatment of the organs of the NUPW or that Maloney has ruled the institution as if it were his personal kingdom, all have agreed that the Maloney Clarke cahoots have served more of their interests than those of the membereship outside a small group of satellites.

Yet as I made my rounds today the mood was not electric enough to signal that the message of repulgance to the dastardly acts perpetrated by this duo. No scorn for their acts was in evidence. What I witnessed was a sense of acceptance that the state of affairs at the NUPW was normal and that to change it would require some major natural disaster. There was a feeling that as bad as Maloney was, the new candidates did not have the pedigree to replace him.

I felt so sad for those who appeared resigned to that view for when I examined the three alternatives, they represented senior public officers who had all three paid for and acquired tertiary education, served for over twenty years in the service, served in various capacities within the union, served in other institutions at senior levels with some distinction and all were honest and men of good character.
    This compared to a man who had taken the members money and spent it on his personal entertainment to the tune of over $6000.00, who had refused to honour bills charged at the union’s bar, who had received un-merited promotion that created anger and anguish at the NHC, who had made one empty campaign promise after another and who was comfortable with the state of affairs at the NUPW could still be considered as likely to win.

Something is wrong with the NUPW, something is wrong with the Public Service and something is wrong with the value system that measures suitability for service. Most of all sosmething is wrong with the leadership and staff of the NUPW who can walk around in the Public Service soliciting support for Maloney. We all expect the General Secretary to support him but something is wrong with that or something is wrong with people like me.

Pray tell me how is it, that former President Cecil Drakes and Treasurer Buddy Skeete could serve the NUPW for the length of time they did with major sacrifice to the point that their involvement in union business could have affected their final standing in the public service and can now remain silent about what is going on. How could stalwarts like Denny, Greenidge, Gladwin Campbell who put herself on the line or the NUPW and the top magistrates, judges, heads of departments, scores of school meal workers and general workers who give up 26 of their $400, almost 6% of their wages as members fail to use this election to send a message to people like Maloney that the NUPW’s rich legacy will not be tarnished by acts of selfishness, wastage and callousness so typical of his tenure? How could they sit and say nothing and leave the memory of Horatio Cooke to be smeared in this cesspool of maloneyism. How could they not express disgust and act?

Come on it is not too late! Go out and get the message out that the time is now to make a difference and time to stand up and be counted as the servants for goodness, uprightness, sacrifice and unblemished service. Come on make Maloney come last after the votes have been counted. Tell your friends and comrades to go and vote and disregard the name of Maloney because a vote for him will sully the memory of Horatio and those great forerunners while at the same time invite people without character to be the new breed of union leaders. Go send that message that the NUPW will not die, that it will not fall any lower because men and women of character have determined that MALONEY and his breed of pretenders are no longer fit to lead this great institution.

Leave a Reply to Josquin DesprezCancel reply