Tino Best

BU extends commiseration to the Barbados Under-17 CONCACAF Championship football team who was given a drubbing by Canada 8-0,  Canada was the more professional outfit if we accept the report from Frank Gill, manager of the Barbados team. Some will say they did well to have qualified for the tournament, a generous assessment.

We continue to fool ourselves we can prepare local teams to compete creditably on the world stage using an amateur approach. Can anyone answer why Minister Ronald Jones who heads one of the most important ministries continues to be President of the Barbados Football Association (BFA)? If a plausible answer can be found, can anyone articulate then what have been the achievements of the BFA under his stewardship? Has Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart like his predecessor given his blessing to Jones’ Jack Warner twin-style approach?

Local sport is in a sorry state. Although bedevilled by a lack of resources there is also a lack of leadership. Many of the local sports associations have become the playground of political aspirants or the plain ignorant. How many local leaders of sports associations can articulate a short or medium term vision? Instead all we get is squabbling among executive members and sometimes others on the periphery. We may have indeed become educated fools.

The most recent controversy precipitated by the dropping of Tino Best from Barbados national cricket team is yet another example of the supine disposition of local sports administrators. There is a myth circulating in Barbados that because an individual was great at the sport he or she represented the same acumen should chase them when they assume an administrative role. It is BU’s opinion the Barbados Cricket Association is currently being affected by such thinking. While holding no brief for Tino Best whose disciplinary record makes it easy to label him unkindly, why would the BCA drop one of its best bowlers without ensuring there is a solid position to defend? This week we learned the BCA had to eat humble pie and reinstate Best to the team. How can the BCA which is charged with administering cricket in Barbados garner, no pun intended, the required respect from all stakeholders given the handling of the Best matter? Was Best suspended for one game and if so why was he left out of the team after serving a one match suspension ?

Another view of the Tino Best BCA saga is the biases demonstrated by local sports commentators and cricket officials. For example, it is no secret Joel Garner, the current member of the BCA, does not hold Andrew Mason, a leading cricket commentator in high esteem. This means that Garner will not be caught dead on the popular Mason & Best show on Voice of Barbados (VoB) formerly Best & Mason of Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) fame. Keith Holder on the other hand appears to have the inside track on cricket news in Barbados and one wonders if it has something to do with President of the BCA Joel Garner and himself being Foundation School old scholars. They are others we can finger but would it make a difference? What we have are people managing the BCA who are not competent administrators. We have an impotent media whose modus operandi is to reflect their biases by suppressing BCA’s ‘dirty laundry’.

On a related note it was refreshing to listen to economist Clyde Mascoll speaking to cricket issues on the revamped cricket program Mason & Best this week. By identifying how society has shifted its cricket focus from cultural to being business driven, one is better able to understand why incompetent unqualified BCA administrators are falling short. To effectively manage cricket in Barbados at this juncture in our history will call for an appreciation for how Barbados society has changed in the last 25 years.

1. Tino Best should have learned to behave.
    Barbados is a country where you are rewarded for mediocrity if you “toe the line” and be nise.

The BCA should have a sports Psychologist to work with the players in this modern sports environment.

The lunacy of this Tino episode is the fact that Tino was sometimes in charge of these training sessions that was part of the conflict.

Yes Tino has self control issues and an “in your face” attitude but he is still a very fast bowler.
    Ask Brendon Nash.

The other lunacy in Barbados cricket is the wicket at Kensington oval. Seems it is prepared for assaults on Lara’s record.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Why do we bother sending these teams all over when we know that they are going to get their ass cut?

3. BARBADOS IS IN CRISIS

THE SAME SITUATION REFLECTED HERE IN CRICKET GOES RIGHT THROUGH THE SOCIETY: CHURCH, JUDICIAL SYSTEM, CIVIL SERVICE PARLIAMENT , GOVERNMENT ETC

BLACK PEOPLE CANNOT MANAGE

4. Under-Disguise, it is not that Black people cannot manage. Rather, when Black workers have a White manager, they seem to lose their voice, being almost subservient. When given a Black manager, suddenly, they realize the same conditions are not acceptable and create havoc, forcing those looking on to conclude that the Black manager is a failure. I have observed this for more than twenty years.

5. PROVES MY POINT EXACTLY

CANT YOU SEE IT

OPEN YOUR EYES

LOOK______________________

6. Can anyone tell me why there is no world cup cricket on tv in a supposedly cricket country ?

7. Despite his “misbehavior” ,

“Bridgetown, Barbados, December 22 – (www.bcacricket.org) – ebullient ESA Field Pickwick fast bowler Tino Best topped the batting and bowling averages in the 2010 BCA LIME Division 1 championship.

8. @So what if Tino complains that the exercises are very rigours. Maybe some thought should be given in this area. BTW it would be interesting to know if the players medical history is given into cosideration before doing these exercises.

9. Wunna-all leave my Tino for ma pleeze. He was hangin ‘roun my place wid my boys from a lil whippa-snappa n from all den he alwayz had nuff tawk. I rememba de fuss time he come by me he was bout 7 or 8 ears n he look me strait in my face n holla fa, ‘hello mumz, how you’? I had was ta laff causen most children dat hang out wid my boyz did fritten as shoite fa me. From den i realize dat he got nuff mout but not disrespeckfull. N to dis day if he cum n shout me he is still call me ” mumz”.

He in half as bad-behave as dah tall whun dat does bowl. Cannnnn rememba he name now. Oh yeah, Suleman Benn.
    Anudda lil sweetheart a mine dat nuses ta visit me house wid he parents is Jonathan Carter. He is such a lil gentleman. Anudda whun dat he mudda is me frien is Kemar Roach. He is bless me hart ta see how fine he has growned. He always had potential from Primary school just like my lil tweethart Jonathan.
    I luv all de lil youngstas. I does pray fa all a dem.

(I would still propose ta Sir Gary Sobers doe) My kinda fella.

10. @Ben 10

If no sponsors step up then the CBC would have to foot the bill and we know the CBC is a broke company.

11. @Under-Disguise
    You either have a serious inferiority complex and can’t stand the blackness of your skin or are afraid of us blacks, hence the ignorant statement.

Companies fail because of bad management not because of color. Look at the failure of Enron and the other companies that catapult us into a recession (most of those were headed by whites, FYI )The best fortune 500 companies are managed by blacks, but I reiterate organizations fail because of poor management.

12. FRAN !

YOU ARE EITHER A DOG IN A MANGER OR A CAT ON A HOT TIN ROOF

THIS IS A WHITE MAN’S WORLD
    BLACK PEOPLE STILL TRYING TO COME TO GRIPS

I WRONG ?

13. Fran
    ignore de likes a Under-disguise. As Dr. Porgie would tell ya: ‘doan hit at all de balls, leh sum pass”.
    Good girl.

14. Fran
    Ignore. Under-disguise run outta ‘medication’, hence de behaviah. Ignore. Jinkins shut fa de weekend. Ignore.

15. When the West Indies team was dominating so many years ago and England joined with Australia to change the bouncer and rules to negate our attack, it makes one wonder if it were Australia if the same would have been done.

16. @David, someone told me if you have Mctv you can get all the other matches(FUELTV). W.I matches will be on CBC. This is still absurd though. A major sporting event(for west Indians at least) and the masses can’t watch it for free.
    This Government like it really broke yuh.
    Dont forget David Thompson raised everything including the fees for a bicycle license.

17. If you live in Canada you can get the series for $35US on espncricket.net

Hopefully you can do the same in Barbados.

How times have changed. When I was a youngster all the Test matches were on rediffusion and later on radio.
    As soon as a Test match start we used to make a coconut limb bat,cut some clammy cherry stumps and knit a cloth ball.

Life was greaaaaat!

18. @ DAVID
    Could not agree with your article more BU the sports adminstrators in Barbados are the worst in Caribbean.

The BCA is a complete joke body its leadership is nonexistent in fact its leader does not speak at all you wonder if he even roots for the Barbados team.

Talk to a BCA committe member and you cannot believe the egomaniancs and airheads in charge of the great legacy of Barbados cricket.
    Ronald Jones really should leave the football stage the guy has taken football nowhere and with the likes of Frank Gill hovering around football is doomed.
    The BOA is richest sports body in BIM with own fancy hq and thing its executives fly hither thither and yon first class if you please leaving the sports discplines it represents to beg the selfish white business sector for sponsorship crumbs.

Sport in Barbados is in ICU and here comes little Hitler my sympathies go out to the sportsmen and women who play their hearts out for the aquamarine and gold while their socalled leaders bad talk them and sip big expensive drinks.

19. Has anyone ever wondered why Vice President Conde Riley appears to be the mouthpiece of the BCA?

Is the President dumb?

Does he have chronic laryngitis?

He rarely speaks and when he does it is in sound bite form.

At a time when cricket is in crisis is it unreasonable to expect the president would be the person in the public eye barking a rallying cry for all to hear?

20. Barbados cricket is really in crisis.

Bridgetown, Barbados, January 21 – (www.bcacricket.org) –

NOTICE

TO ALL MEMBERS, CLUBS AND SCHOOLS

The Barbados Cricket Association would like to inform all of its Members, Clubs, Schools and friends that, unfortunately, there is NO LISTING for the Association in the 2010-2011 Barbados Telephone Directory.

You are therefore kindly asked to note and record the following information:
    TELEPHONE 274 1325
    FACSIMILE 436 3945
    E-MAIL theoffice@bca.org.bb
    WEB SITE http://www.bcacricket.org

The Barbados Cricket Association regrets any inconvenience which this omission may have caused but looks forward to receiving your telephone calls.

THE Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) has to look for a new chief executive officer.

it is also understood that “another”BCA board member resigned a few weeks ago. (HG/EZS)

21. Barbados vs Jamaica.

Tino Best giving 100% as he always does.

Hope he gets a contract to play county cricket.

22. The Barbados team was announced this afternoon to play Guyana and you should be able to guess who is not included.

23. David I am really pissed because Tino Best always give 100%.

Yes he can be difficult and his bowling can be off sometimes but I rather watch a Tino Best than those players who show up for the lunch,tea and free drinks after the match.

Tino will have to learn to kiss ass or his cricketing days in Barbados are over.

I will not say what I think about the BCA board members because I prefer to tell people what I think to their faces and I doan want to get ban from BU.

I hope Tino gets another contract in England.

24. @Hants

This Tino matter is a joke.

25. DESMOND HAYNES ?

WHAT ROLE ARE YOU PLAYING IN MESSING -UP TINO’S CAREER

THE MAN IS THE WEST INDIES RESERVE.

HOW CAN YOU TREAT THE MAN SO?
    YOU REMEMBER HOW PETER SHORT TREATED YOU.

ARE YOU TAKING IT OUT ON TINO ?

THE SELECTORS AND DESMOND HAYNES CANNOT GET WAY WITH THIS FOOLISHNESS
    IT IS VICTIMISATION AND IT IS WRONG
    IS THIS 1908?

26. FIRE
    JEWEL GARNER, DESMOND HAYNES,
    GEORGE LINTON
    MIKE INNISS

LEAVE REID .
    REID !
    COME OUT AND TALK MAN !
    DISASSOCIATE YUH SELF FROM THAT CROWD
    JEWEL GARNER NEEDS TO SPEAK TO THE PRESS
    THE PRESS MUST PUT SOME PRESSURE ON GARNER
    HE MUST SPEAK TO THE ISSUES

CONDE RILEY !
    SHUT UP
    WE HEARD ENUFF OF YOU
    TOO MANY ‘WEEK’ LEADERS AROUND

27. The BU family can listen to VOB’s cricket show Mason and Best to listen to a sports condition specialist opining that the Best situation should have been managed better.

28. If Garner does not talk pray tell how does he lead by sign language?

Journalists are sleeping on the job

29. LETS BOYCOTT CRICKET !

WAIT A MINUTE

NOBODY DONT GO TO CRICKET

30. Barbados public need to wake up and smell the coffee as cricket aministration and cricket has done up !!!!!!!!!! The bca is not practicle and the selectors are very basis as i am speaking from my time when i played under the likes of Wallace and yes i have perform and still got left out but didn,t it stop me from chasing my dreams in life ?no it didn,t i have work it out pretty early everyone can play and when u have exeptional talent you should be given a chance and those are the problems in barbados cricket today.Its hurts me badly to reads these comments as i live in england for the last 12years and when wi cricket should be putting thier heads together and getting back as world beaters they caught up in politics,
    its just cricket cancer.

31. We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with useful info to work on.
    You have performed an impressive job and our entire neighborhood can be thankful to
    you.

Leave a Reply to HilaryCancel reply