One of the challenges of living in these times is the difficulty being able to discern whether a behaviour is a fad or something more concrete. Cultural relativism seems to have subsumed the view by what seems to be a growing minority that a society should have as its underpinning a healthy layer of ethics to guide our daily interactions. A classic example is the discussion about Rihanna’s surrender to the world of the US influenced music genre R&B even if it means she would have betrayed all the mores inculcated by a Bajan society. The moral degradation of Barbados society becomes more evident when the people and by extension the government seems impotent to act by relieving her of the Youth Ambassadorship in obvious circumstances.

Regrettably social scientists have become silent and the void has created the opportunity for opinions of a quantitative flavour to trump all. It has become fashionable for subjective positions to win arguments even if it means society as a whole maybe threatened. Despite the fact there is enough evidence to show if Barbados continues on its current path our society will further descend into a moraless pit, cultural relativism continues to go unchallenged by leaders in civil society.

As a dominant Black society Barbados should be concerned about how our way of life is being infected by other cultures. Our willingness to compromise on unique attributes which historically have defined who we are must be troubling. It may even seem redundant to explain a key characteristic which defines a Black person is the colour of the skin.

The Jamaican Gleaner reported last week the popular practice of Black Jamaicans to bleach their skins to achieve a lighter skin colour. The report also highlighted another behaviour which is interesting:

Pressure eventually reached to Coffee, not only by way of her colleague “massage therapists” but simply because the men who came in, after viewing the bevy of young women, would not request her “services”. In the space of three months, with the application of creams and lotions, Coffee added much milk to her cup and even though her name hasn’t changed, the beautiful ebony-skinned woman disappeared and eventually morphed into another browning.

The individual (massage therapist) featured in the Jamaican Gleaner article was forced to bleach her skin to ensure that she remained competitive in her job. Some believe bleaching the skin is a fad, some suggest it exposes a Black people in crisis who are searching for their identity.   Although the practice of bleaching has become popular in Jamaica, according to the Gleaner article the practice has been observed in North America as well.

Why the hell should Black people be bleaching their skin?

96 responses to “What’s Up With Skin Bleaching?”

1. It continues to amaze me that we can berate the impact of cultural penetration and take up a position based upon it.

All of the videos in support presented here are directly from the US … for US consumption.

Where is the Bajan mind?

Does it even exist?

I think not for, as is evident, we have ceased to think!!

2. @ John

“It continues to amaze me that we can berate the impact of cultural penetration and take up a position based upon it… All of the videos in support presented here are directly from the US … for US consumption… Where is the Bajan mind? Does it even exist?…”

Are you living in some kind of cocoon or what?

Has modern-day POP CULTURE* become some amorphous, homogeneous entity that provides BAJANS* or anyone else the luxury of a UNIQUE*, untainted, unadulterated cultural exclusivity that is FREE* from the ravages of Western imperialist, Caucasoid-controlled, EuroAmerican mediazation (not penetration as you allude) but ASSIMILATION*, transmogrified and remotely brainwashed into the psyche of MOST*…

Not even you are FREE* from its ravages!!!

But it’s easy to be in DENIAL…

3. Whew ….. dem is some big words!

Guess you are agreeing with me …. we have been brainwashed.

4. @Bonny Peppa | February 15, 2011 at 2:02 PM |
    “Truthman
    Hello my dawlinks. muahhhhhhhh, rite pun dem lipz”

Sorry Bonny …. you missed, because you would know, I ran away from you very fast! I know you find me irresistible, but it would be unwise and unsafe for me to kiss you. I still love you though, but I will exercise that love from a distance, thank you.

5. John | February 15, 2011 at 4:13 PM |

Whew ….. dem is some big words!

Guess you are agreeing with me …. we have been brainwashed.

@ John…

Hahahahaha……..that was funny!!

6. I found this article interesting…….

http://academic.udayton.edu/race/04needs/family06.htm

7. This thing is all about vanity and false ideals. I mean, look at the image of too-skinny models walking the catwalk, who have no butt, no curves. It is only now being eroded when people have questioned the nonsense that goes with it and now that people like Jenny Lopez with her large and wonderful butt and Beyonce with her shapely body, have moved that too-skinny image aside.

On the issue of bleaching, it has been around for years, I remember in high school there was a girl who I used to chat with a bit. One day her skin one shade, next minute it was suddenly lighter, I really wondered what was up with that? She was pretty as it was and I do remember at the time feeling disappointed.

That said, one chooses for oneself, each has their right to self-determination.

8. @WIV

You so full of…….it ! Yuh are such a blasted liar. Wuh black girl. You talking so bad about bajan women on another blog. Now you talking about de Black gal you have. You should be sprayed wid sh…it fuh yuh blastedlies. Fuh real!

9. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

@ac,
    I may b ‘a liar n full uh **it’ according to u but u mus b an ***hole if u don’t believe that i can criticise black women n yet love one at the same time. You’re a ****-head!

10. @The man wiv no name!!

Pat will be glad to see you back.

11. @Wiv
    Yeah!you snotty white ass cud believe yuh own story. Yuh say dat bajan woman should stop breeding so much.Wuh kinda crtitcisim is dat!

12. David

Does that mean the man with the “B” name is back?

13. @Sargeant

Looks that way.

14. Prevent Official Release of Kanye West’s Women-Hating ‘Monster’ video due out soon!!!

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/prevent-official-release-of-kanye-wests-women-hating-monster-video/

15. The man wiv no name
    but wah attrack you ta you gurl in de fuss place? she din had on na mock hair nor usin de powda puff? you like tattos n piercins?you like you hard ta pleeze ya. dese tings is just a fad man doan tear ya coat ova dem n luv we fa wah we is n how we look. mock hair, nails, eyelashes, even we mock orgasms. Betchya like dem.

Truthman
    ‘ya could treat me anyway ya like, anyhow ya like but darlin not as long as ya like’. tek um from me, darlin, sumday you’ll be minez.

16. Bonny Peppa | February 16, 2011 at 2:48 PM |
    “Truthman
    ‘ya could treat me anyway ya like, anyhow ya like but darlin not as long as ya like’. tek um from me, darlin, sumday you’ll be minez.”

ahhahahahaha
    Not possible in this world nor the next Bonny! I am fully accounted for. How are matters progressing with the eyes?

17. Truthman
    being fully accounted for in got a ting ta do wid me. i fully accounted for too, so wah? de moe de merriah. ask Sparra.

de eyes are de same fa now. not gone for de surg’ry yet. so ya still got time ta practis dah ‘smoochhhhhhhhhhhh’ rite pun de eye lidz.

18. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

hi Dave, who on earth is Pat?? i doan know nuh Pat nor mat. but whoever she is, she’s welcome to me! 🙂

19. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Who is dis man wid a B name?!
    Bonny, yes darling, im sorry to say dat she WAS wearing all dat crap but, tell yuh d trut Bon, in spite uh dah d girl had a figure to die for which i din wais nuh time in fineing out! n, lucky fuh me, personality tuh die for too! Bon, wid er im truly lucky! I wun tell yuh if she’s a Bajan – yuh will jes have tuh guess but what do u think r the chances! come on, b realistic now! Bon, i keep telling d girl she doan need all dat false crap dat she gorgeous enuf d way she parents n god mek she but, yuh tink she will listen tuh me? no man, i tell yuh black women brainwash man, brainwash!!

Bon, n others, uh gun tell yuh sumting else bout dis chick. i in chat she up firse yuh know. i swear tuh yuh on d holy book dat Bonny, i din chat she up firse. no, is she is d one who chat me up firse! Can u believe dah! i really din realise dat i was quite suh hansome, in spite uh all d girls telling me so over d years, but, i guess it mus b true! Bonny, tell yuh d trute, unusually fuh me, believe me, n VERY unusually fuh me, my head was buried in my taughts dat day n i didn’t even c d chick! next ting i hear dis woman’s voice an i get a shock when i realise she was talking tuh me! Well, tuh cut a long story short, I said, “yes”, n d res is history! but she was wort it dough! 🙂

Bonny, u said ‘love u for what u is’. Bonny, u c, dats de ting! i DO love some of u black ladies ‘for what u is’, i.e. ‘naked’, d way god sent u into dis worle. not wid all dat muck on wunna. anyhow, hope u onstan! love.

20. @The man wiv no name

Who is dis man wid a B name?!
    Since you asked the question I think someone should respond, and as a leopard can’t change his spots some folks arguments don’t change.

So the man with the “B” name formerly known as “Bimbro”, welcome back….. I think.

Time for some amusement

21. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

LOL! ‘Sargeant’, i in nuh Bimbro or Bimbra or whaever yuh call e! i doan know who he is but, whoever he is he mussa b very intelligent fuh u tuh mistake e fuh me! LOL! i like d name dough! Bim for Bim n Bro fuh Brother. in udda wurds, Bim’s firse brother! LOL! i wish id taught uh dat one! yeh, but i in he!

22. @Sargeant
    Dat is dat clown that spy on BU and then write articles on BFP calling people on BU racist.

23. ac,

No. Bimbro is not that individual. Bimbro does have issues with Caribbean women, as he himself said, other than that he is sport.

24. The man wiv no name
    LOL. you crazeeeee. Now dis B person dat dem accusin you a bein, was one a my favrit men pun BU. An you xpessin youself jus like he. If you is he, I glad dat you bak hay wid me. I nuse ta get rale sport wid Bimbro. specially when he tawk bout de mad woman dat hole-up she clothes at he dong by Jinkins. I did luv Bimbro fa he sens a huma. My udda husban Amused does cum close ta he wid he huma too but Bimbro tek de cake. Dah man sickkkkkk.

Crusoe
    ya in lie. Bimbro is bare funnnnnnn. He nuse ta got my belly huttin me. I hope um is he dat cum back fa tru. I in k wah he call heself.

25. The man wiv no name
    I wood like ta kno de questchun dat she ask you doe. not bein malicious. normally de man does ask de questchun but not in you case. you mussy rale hansum fa tru n sexyyyyy.

26. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

hi Bonny, i still trying to figure out who dis Bimbro is. maybe it’s d person who own dis computer before me.

“but not in you case. you mussy rale hansum fa tru n sexyyyyy.”
    Bonny, it’s true. i really AM dat hansum. i would love to tell u what she ask me but this is a family show but, yuh can guess! 🙂 anyway, not surprisingly in her case, i din wais nuh time in saying “yes”, n i been very happy ever since! dah was my lucky day. she wasn’t a Bajee dough. girl sweet fuh trute! 🙂

27. smooth chocolate Avatar

@Truthman Burton | February 15, 2011 at 1:54 AM |
    “Smooth Chocolate, you great big fool! Did you hear me say anything about colour?”

“Think Smooth Chocolate, Think, because you have entirely missed my point!
    If YOU are oh so passionate about exposure of Black beauty, go one step further than Cave Shepherd. Let your wife, daughters, nieces, aunties, parade on Broad Street, this time without the skimpy panties ….. meaning nothing on below.
    If I were a betting man, I’d bet that ALL of your passion, ALL of your “principled thinking” on this issue, evaporated at the thought of that suggestion.”

Truthman, I am a young mixed (black/indian) lady, so there!! i still stand by my point. how did u move from dressing sexy to wearing no undies? are u for real? maybe i lost ur point.. so what

28. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Bonny n others, if ud like to know what happened when i, as a young 19 yr old n my sexy JA girlfren rented a room from a Bajan couple in London, way back then, let me know…..

29. Hey Man WIV…

Hi Bimbro. Been away a while, huh? A project had you busy or were you overseas on work?

How is London town? By the way. dont come to Barbados, the girls here looking too good now, your older heart wont last long.

If you insist, travel with some aspirin or nitroglycerin or something.

30. @ BP

Hi Bon,
    Good to see you back here. Some of us were real concerned when we did not hear from you for so long. Sorry to hear about the probs wid de ol’ eyes, doe. Hope things go smoothly for you with the upcoming surgery. Get one of your grands to keep us up to date using your alias.
    as usual, de ol Bruno.

31. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

i caan onstan dese people keep calling me Bimbro or Bimbra or whaever. i keep telling wunna dat i in nuh Bimbro! why wunna caan hear?!!

hi Crusoe, thanks for ur advice Bro, inspite uh getting my nom de plume wrong. anyhow, d sweetest west indian chicks r Jamaican ones so, if it was ***** dat i was looking fuh den dat’s where i’d head for. when occasionally i c dese pics on d web uh oversize Bajee black women trying to wuk-it-up n mek a fool uh demself i jes gotta laugh n tank god dat i in day. d, so call, ‘chicks’ in UK in nuh betta but pun d opposite side, if yuh c wha i mene. moas uh dem su thin yuh would feel yuh kud break dem like a stick. i does have tuh laugh tuh myself when i c moas uh dem bo. udda day i was pun d underground here in London n one white ‘chick’ get on n stan sort uh in front uh me, i was seated, n i could swear bline she’d forgotten to put on she skirt. some sort a shirt worn outside n, inspite uh my efforts tuh c i couldn’t quite c till she turn roung tuh lef d train n i could c she was wearing some sort uh extremely small shorts under d shirt, more like a panty. LOL! i jus had tuh laugh man. den, not long after dat, anuder one get on, dis one look nuh more dan 16-24 n she wasn’t wearing nuh skirt at all but, sum kine uh body-stocking. i could swear dat a few years ago she’d b arrested fuh indecency but (a) as dem were white n (b) suh young n stupid day couldn’t interest me so i tell dem ‘guh long’! LOL!!
    As fuh my own girl, she could come n c me anytime, in fak, i expeck her to visit during d next few days n i will b undressing she as she comes through d door! now, SHE, to me, looks like wha a woman should really look like! nuhbody in guess where she come from yet. she in a Bajee!

‘Crusoe’ or any other, please tell me, how wunna managing wid d muslim chicks over day. still giving yuh a dirty look everytime yuh look at one (a) cos yuh black n duh in intrestid in nutten black an (b) cos duh religion say duh musntn’t look at a man! den d idiot Bim govt goes n invites dum to live in our country?!! LOL. I tell yuh. if i wus de PM none uh dum would eva c Bim!!

‘Crus’, d chicks hah been keeping me busy man. dis black chick i got so wonderful in so many ways, caan get enough of her man. a rare fine indeed. so i was lucky to fine her n she was lucky to fine me! 🙂

As for London, it’s been turned into a **it place cos of all dese excessively pc **it politicians. wun wais my time telling yuh bout dem idiots man but Bim seem to b a bit stupid too!

if u would like tuh know what happened when i wus 19 n my JA chick n i rented a room here in London from a Bajee couple den please let me know, n i’ll tell u. meanwhile, have a nice Bajee morn. grey as hell here in London at the moment!

32. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

As fuh dah wun at d top day, she marry tuh one uh my favourite musicians in all d worle, David Bowie. But, much as i cherish d bro, god knows wha he c in she!

33. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

As for Rhinna, now there’s a girl!

34. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

This is so sad. I’m lucky that my black girl’s perfectly endowed, naturally!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/features/3421071/Claudias-death-is-tragic-but-it-wont-stop-my-illegal-booty-shots.html

the guys can thank me for the pics afterwards. these will cheer up ur mornings, n nights!! 🙂

35. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

i hope this ****head doesn’t think he’s in anything near Rhinna’s league! omg! for one thing, he NEEDS telling that his specs r too big. that says it all! anyway, like so many others, this time next year he’ll be history!

n, Rihanna sweets, those bottoms look more like a diaper than anything else – too high. please don’t wear it again, jes sing! xx

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/music/3420144/Tinie-Tempah-says-Rihanna-is-just-a-regular-girl.html

36. Okay, okay, Mr.manwivbiname (not Bimbro), who ideals mirror that of former blogger Bimbro.

Out of respect I shall call you MWiv, sounds like a modern music satar type.

Glad you have found such a good woman.

On Rihanna, she is lovely and seems a fine girl, as your article says, all that glamour is record sales.

One booties, some women dont seem to understand that exercise will do far more for their bodies, and their booties, than any silicone rubbish.

It will also improve skin tone and facial tone.

On Muslim ideals, I have no beef with any religion or sect per se, because when we start labelling, we too may gtet labelled.

But, I am wary of any religion or sect that subordinates women and also segments society, such that it is frowned upon for them to look outside ‘their’ grouping at /for men.

That in itself is suspect and reflective of a backward mentality. What else will they seek to ‘enforce’?

It all lis in control obviously, is rooted in ensuring that their daughters do as they say and not bring home a man that they do not want them to.

Stay well and you seem keen to tell us this story of yours, so go ahead.

37. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

hi Crue, the similarity to Bimbro’s views is purely co-incidental. Bimbro might b my bredda. I must ask he when he comes back from NY. Meanwhile, I’m the real McCoy, I’m afaid! Crue, be mindful of sitting on fences cos when d evil one comes, he wun b sitting on nuh fence. He’ll b coming with a sword in hand and one irrevocable intent – your demise, so, nuh fooling yuhself!
    Will tell yuh what d beastly Bajan landlord did to me n my gal at dat tender age, if anybody else shows an interest.
    peace!

38. Why are the Muslims not seeking democracy for its women whom they have held captive or hundreds or years while quoting religious teachings. I have norespect for such people.

39. De Hood
    hi my dawlinks. tanks for de concerns. all will be well i guess. and like everyting else, dat too shall pass. mite take a lil while afta de surgery but i shall return. i won’t involve my grans in my ‘wickedness’ pun BU but maybe wid a lil persuasion, i mite get one a my sons ta drop a line on me behaff. tanks again me bruno.

Man wiv no name
    you hopeless. i hay gettin convulsions pun my chair. ya hilarious. and like Crusoe sah, if you in Bimbro, I doan kno.
    I waitin ta hear de story man bout you n de Lanlord. I hope dat he/she in wate til you did pun de verge a ‘arrivin’ n bust open de door. Dah wood deflate any wood. LOL. ya too wicked. ga long.

40. dis guy is not bimbro.!yuh all can forget it! don”t be fooled by another imposter!

41. ac
    well if dis is not Bimbro, he is a professional imposter. he body language is de same as Bimbro. Check how he phrasin he sentences n evvating. de man is a genius n Bimbro was one. he got me confuse too. I feel um is he. ya kno dat Bimbro din easy a’tall?

42. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

ac, ur right not to have any respect for them as they certainly don’t have any for us, as black people!

hi Bonny, LOL, ur so funny. no, that’s not what happened but nuhbody else doan seem intristed in wha happen so it’s hard to c d point uh explaining. suffice tuh say dat i wus VERY disappointed in my Bajee kinfolk day. i never imagine day could behave so. anyway, if anybody else tek an intres in hearing i’ll tell yuh but, at d moment, it doan look like it gun happen. all i can say is – Bajans????

Bonny, i suspec Bimbro could b my brother. he used to own dis computa befo me. i jes caan b boddered to buy a new one dat’s all, n it seem to b working awright to me! yuh know, if yuh would listen to dese people yuh would b buying one every year. i caan bodda wid dah man! i mus ask he when he come back from d States!

43. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

hi Bonny, morning n good news; iv contacted my brothe now n he’s confirmed dat he IS Bimbro. he wishes u all well n states that he’s having a wonderful time in NY. he sends a special hello to u (who he hopes is well and continuing to write so splendidly), also to David (who he hopes is smiling at las) n, to Technician (a big hello)! he also said someting bout Lord, or Lad, or Laad – couldn’t quite make out wha her wus going on about but he said dat wunna would onstan! have a lovely Bajan morn! 🙂

44. The man wiv no name
    Read my lipz:

“YOU ARE HOPELESS”.

Gih me regards ta ya brotha Bimbro. You is mo sport dhan he, so is aaightttttttttt.

45. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

🙂 thanks Bon, i wonder what happened to Technician!!?

i never did explain wha d no-good Bajee landlord did tuh me n my girlfren did i. well, Bon, yuh wun believe dat after i done satisfying my girl in d morning before i set off fuh work, while i was at work during d day, if he wasn’t trying to chat-up my girl. can u believe it! n a Bajan too, like me! offering my girl money for some – an a man ole enuf to b her father. well, well, my girl didn tek d money. instead she tell me all about it when i get home. i wus so disappointed. u know, a Bajee, one of ur own kine. yuh sort uh expec better! since den i would never trust another Bajee man. don’t u think that’s disgraceful Bon?

Leave a Reply to The man wiv no name!!Cancel reply