Submitted by Annoyed Visitor

I’m sure it originated out of Africa, must have, every Massi Warrior needed to scare his dinner to death rather than use skill to hut same. Now today there are Bajans that think their neighbors need to be harassed with noise pollution day and night so they can show off their Kite (Chinese manufactured) flying skills ( kite comes with instructions).

Do our island visitors think this practice is acceptable, not from what I’ve been hearing at hotel pools, bars, beaches, restaurants etc. Most find this kite flying with noisy bulldogs most annoying and disturbing. I heard one lady state that she phoned the Hasting Police Department to complain and was told if it’s not interfering with aircraft then there’s “NOTHING WE CAN DO”. About what I’d expect from the Barbados Police Department knowing Bajan mentality. Like the saying goes “Barbados has a rule for everything and enforcement of nothing”, think I’m wrong, just check out today’s Nation Newspaper for a list of outstanding Income Tax and VAT business’s and individuals that remain uncollected for several——– years.

If Barbados has any ambitions of being classified as a First World Country then they have to step up to the plate and “WALK THE TALK.

82 responses to “Thank GOD The Windy Season Only Comes ONCE Per Year, Why, Kites with “Bulldogs””

1. thank God fuh the windy season! always an excited time of the air> The contest for the biggest kite and the itzy bitzy pieces that go into making them. this a work of art that has taken months to achieve. Watching grown men trying to hoist this monsterous kite in the air with lots os string and a tail the size of a 747 attached. .WOW look at them kites .stake out all night and hoping nobody steal yuh kite . Love Kite Season.

2. anthony
    one a my disgustin brothas (jus like me) tell me dat dis is de best way ta turn way dem Jehovah Witnesses if ya is a man:
    ‘Open ya door naked as ya born’.
    I almos dead laffin.

girl, i eat kite-paste (flour n water) anuff when i did growin up n my brothas did mekkin dem kites. ta dis day my gutz still harddd. LOLLL

3. No i didn’t eat kite paste . But i like cluma-chery seed . I eat dem. I used like to smellthe kite paper . My father did a good job of making kite. This is nostalgia at its best and now they want to take it away from a generation of people who look forward to this time of the year!Sigh!

4. Ha ha ha … dis t’read is so funny …

Peps I try dat naked trick wid a bunch ah dem only tah fin’ out that dey was a seven year ol’ girl chile in de pack … I feel bad up ta dis day … fah real! I spoil dat chile fah life …!

5. But ac don’ misunderstand, its not the kites or the kite making, it is the “indiscriminate” use of bulls …!

6. I have great difficulty remembering the term “bulldog” kite.

I used to make kites in the 50’s, 70’s and early 80’s first for myself and my friends and then for my son’s friends in the neighborhood.

I remember making “singing angels” but not “bulldog” kites.

Can anyone tell me when the term “bulldog” came up? I know the “bull” was the name for the “semi oval” piece of kite paper that was stuck on the cord part of the kite skeleton and made the noise. Was that what the term “bulldog” came from?

Staking out was always part of kite flying as far as I remember. Even now there is a kite keeping noise above my house but we have learned to ignore them or just don’t hear them because of the other competing noises of modern life, at least early in the night.

7. @BAF
    No! i don’t misunderstand you. I take your advice to Heart!after all a few days ago was valentines !

8. ac I got a Valentine Kite, it shape like a heart, wid a tail, an’ not only does it have bulls, but it got two horns too jus’ like a bull… It too noisy to fly though ..LOL

9. BAF
    LOL, ya hopeless.

clamma-cherry seeds? sus croissssssssss. no bosey.but as chil’ren ya use ta eat sum shoite hear n nabody in ded yet.
    i tryin ta pictur dah kite dat BAF got fa you but i cannnnn get um figga out.
    nutton doan stop me from snorin causen i does got on my musik playin lowwwwwwwww n dah is all i does got on too; me radio.nutton mo. whenevva ya turn in de nite, i reddy fa ya. i in scare-ed.

10. @BAF
    Tanks dear! all dat matters is de heart . I luv a loud beatting hear!

@ Bonny P

I can’t sleep through no thunder storm. Or snorning! Ain’t BFP sweet after all de years he got me a valentine wid bull. I thought he supposed to be de bull!

11. Welcome back Bony dear! By the way I am the original Red Bull, first cousin of VR, Village Ram.

12. so is it legal for the police to come and cut the kite if they get complaints for the kite?

13. @confused. Illegal or not it would be irresponsible of the police to just cut the kite,as it could end up in a power line causing a major power outage.

14. ac
    doan get BAF rong, he is ‘de bull’. de udda ‘bull’ is jus he back-up. jess in case.

BOSUN
    My darling, ya got ma brekkin dung n holing up ma clothes.Good ting nabody in home wid ma. ya got ma cryinnnnnnnnnnn.ya is de wuss. I luv ya badddddddd. I did gone fa a while causen de ‘puta’ did down. Had ta get a whole new system. But i gun be gone again soonly causen i gotta get surg’ry pun de eyez. Hopefully I gun be able ta see you betta. ya too swoiteeeeeeeeee. Keep in touch, Hun.

Confused
    how de Police would find de kite ta cut de kord? dem kites does be miles away, i tink. de body dat um bodderin could go n cut de kord too. I doan even kno how ya is do um.

15. @Bonny P
    Wuh you trying to say my BAF needs backup in the sezzz department.dats why he give me a kite wid bulls. Cud Dear!

16. ac this sezz department thing got me comfortably uncomfortable … I still willing tho’, horns an’ all …

17. Dear confused:

No it is NOT legal for the police to enter (without a warrant) on to private property and cut somenody’s kite.

You think that this is a police state?

The police can only enter with a warant intoprivate properties with a search warrant given by the courts.

Or if they can enter if they have reasonable and probable reason to believe that a crime is about to be committed.

And kite flying is NOT a crime.

You should stop calling and annoying the police. They can do NOTHING for yo in this instance,

You can cut the kite yourself if it is bothering you instead of worrying the police with nonsense.

But if the kite owner finds out that you cut his kite cord, then the IRATE owner will probaly deal directly with you and won’t even bother to call the police. And by the way if you cut somebody’s kite cord YOU can be charged with causing criminal damage to somebody’s private property.

The senaky Bajan way to cut a kite cord is to make a kite yourself, one that is bigger and better that the one annoying you, the attach some razors to your kite, and fly your kite near to the annoying kite and cause the razors to cut the annoying kite’s cord.

Then haul in your kite, and dispose of the razors before the other owner find out that you cut his kite cord and I’ll repeat the IRATE owner will probaly deal directly with you and won’t even bother to call the police. And by the way if you cut somebody’s kite cord YOU can be charged with causing criminal damage to somebody’s private property.

I repeat this for you confused because I get the feeling thatyou are a true, true foreigner and are truly confused.

This is Bajan culture, including dealing with annoyances in a sneaky way because after all that same annoying kite flyer may be a friend or relative, or the son of the woman who cooks your food or minds your children.

And one NEVER offends one’s cook (nor child minder)

18. Bosun (in responding to Confused) wrote:

“@confused. Illegal or not it would be irresponsible of the police to just cut the kite,as it could end up in a power line causing a major power outage.”

Now what about kites, staked out overnight thus left unattended, which fall when the wind dies down (which it often does at night)? The telephone cable to my home has been damaged by kite string slicing through the insulation. Whenever there is heavy rainfall the water apparently seeps into the line causing disruption to the service. When I was a boy I was instructed to fly my kite away from power lines and thus away from peoples’ homes. I was also instructed to not leave my kite up overnight. There are obviously different Bajan “cultures” in existence. One which is considerate of others and another which doesn’t give a damn about anybody else. Defend your “kulchah”.

19. i think u guys misunderstood me. I am not the one complaining of peoples kites, i am asking due to the fact that the police came to my neighbours house who flies kites at night and told him plain and simple that look we will come and cut your kite the next time u leave it out and we get complaints but then when my neighbour instructed to tell them that they were 10 others flying and how can it be his when the rest were keeping more noise, the police told him yuh got talk for me i gine cut it right now.Anyways i know guys who had theirs by the police already and when yuh try to mek a point to d police, they want lock yuh up for some foolishness.Oh yeah they bring d person who complain along with them to show where d house was but then turn round and claim that they follow d kite cord

20. Speaking of another flyer. I live in the Ch.Ch area and since the passage of Tomas, I hardly see any ‘House Flies’, the few around are very small. This is worrying ,as this could be a sign that overuse or exposure of some chemicals in this area could be the underlying cause.

21. police can’t cut nobody kite. there is no law against having bulls on the kite. If any one dem police cut my kite I am goona put two bulls on dem called lawyers and that ain’t no bull.

22. Nationalist
    you seem to like flies dat you missin dem. i hate flies. i sorry dat de african snail din suffa de same fate as dem flies. dem tings does scrawl my skin man. ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

LOL, murdahhhhhhhhhhhh, ya baddddddddd.

“Kalling all Kite-Police, Kalling all Kite-Police’.
    wuhlosssssssss.

23. @Bonny
    you know wuh i hate is people talking loud on a cell phone! dem cell phones gotta go ! a real noise hazard! Some people need to go to cell phone school and get a certificate of validation before they allow to buy and use a cell phone. It is madness out here. It is like living in lala land!

24. @Bonny
    but bonny de kite BAF got me fuh de valentine. I flew dat one yesterday and talking about noise.i had to take my own advice and buy de earplugs . It took 7 men to hoist dat ting. anyhow i luv de thing.one de men even suggest that i put a parachute at the end so dat when it come down it won”t crash .

25. ac
    girl, cell-fones is one a dem necessary evils dat i cannnnn leff home widout. i gotta got my cell wid me jess in case I brek dong pun de road or get a flat. all dese years i driving n still cannnn change a tire. so i would be in shoite-street if anyting happen wid me pun de rode n i widout my cell. my job entail nuff drivin or walkin. but eff I anyway n sumbody tawkin loud pun dem whun, i does mek sure dat dem see me lookin at dem rale stink n turnin up my mout. i doan drive n nuse minez doe. U got a Blackberry too? I got a Bajancherry.

it tek 7 men ta hoist BAF ting? I luv a man dat is well-blessed. Bless you BAF.

26. ac
    girl, cell-fones is one a dem necessary evils dat i cannnnn leff home widout. i gotta got my cell wid me jess in case I brek dong pun de road or get a flat. all dese years i driving n still cannnn change a tire. so i would be in shoite-street if anyting happen wid me pun de rode n i widout my cell. my job entail nuff drivin or walkin. but eff I anyway n sumbody tawkin loud pun dem whun, i does mek sure dat dem see me lookin at dem rale stink n turnin up my mout. i doan drive n nuse minez doe. U got a Blackberry too? I got a Bajancherry.

27. ac
    I doan kno wah happen day. BAF kite got me ramblin.

28. ”police can’t cut nobody kite. there is no law against having bulls on the kite.”

Incorrect, public nuisance can be addressed.

29. Kites can be brought down easily using a relatively cheap Noise Sensing Laser Gun.

30. @crsuoe
    Yeah like how we addressing it here on BU. But show me the law!

31. Would like to know how to make a singing angel kite – just to open a can of worms 🙂 any ideas, any pictures? don’t worry, we won’t leave it out there all night long 🙂

32. DAVID,
    AND TO HELL WITH OUR TRADITIONS ETC. CAN THE PEOPLE AROUND HEATHROW, ATLANTA OR KENNEDY PROTEST AGAINST THE NOISE OF AIRCRAFT LANDING EVERY THREE MINUTES DAY AND NIGHT? ONE SOON BECOMES ACCUSTOMED. INVITE THE TOURISTS TO SEE HOW KITES ARE MADE AND LET THEM TRY THEIR HANDS AT MAKING THEM. THEY WOULD LEARN A NEW SKILL AND HAVE SOMETHING TO TAKE BACK HOME WITH THEM. HAVE THEM ENTER THE KITE FLYING COMPETITION WITH THEIR OWN HOME MADE KITES.

Leave a Reply to The ScoutCancel reply