Submitted by GoWEB Caribbean

It is with much intrigue, occasionally accented with a hint of amusement, that I observe the spectacle presently transpiring in our political landscape. On this occasion, I draw specific reference to the legacy of fiendishness which Opposition Leader Owen Arthur appears to be fashioning for himself. Where ever you go, there is some manner of discourse regarding Mr. Arthur’s acts of fiendishness over the pass months. Whether it be the manner in which the removal of Mia Mottley as Opposition Leader was executed, the so-called tribute to the late David Thompson which upset his widow and others, or the statements made about Mara Thompson’s nationality. He has implicated his predecessor to be the reason for losing the By-election as well as for the depleted state of the party’s election fund.

Concomitant with this fiendish image, an opposite image has been bestowed upon Mia Mottley. She is now regarded a mistreated, vulnerable woman. We seem to be conditioned to believe that  an antagonist cannot exist without a protagonist nearby. While I cannot dispute that Mr. Arthur’s behaviour can be likened to that of a “Black Knight”, I am hesitant to jump on the “Mia Mottley as a White Knight” train. Have we forgotten that this same individual was expelled from parliament just last year for refusal to respect the Chair? and though this was the first expulsion, it certainly was not the first display of the behaviour which triggered said expulsion.

Read Full Article

1. But sport tourism is viable if proper marketing and effort is carried out. One would assume that after the capital inject you push hard with your products to the end. As an economist you can only predict if money can be generate from an project. If you do predict such and the marketing and management teams haven’t done a good job with the project well we get the current case.

No one argued that we shouldn’t leverage it . But to leverage it we need some massive capital injection into those sectors. We can’t have done both and still have some claim of fisical responsibility. Part of which is not incurring excessive debts at the same time.

2. @The Scout

You are missing the subtlety of the political game but it is your right to have an opinion.

3. David
    I don’t deal in subtlety, unfortunately politics is based on perception. Too many people want to hide behind subtlety.

4. The Oval could have been marketed overseas especially in England, to those county teams who would use the venue to practise during the winter periods. The same thing goes for the gym but the lack of vision is turning both into entertainment centres of which barbados is most famous.

5. Anyone listening to cricket from Trnidad? This honoray white jackass Colin Croft should not be allowed on radio. Hayden Gill let me down cowering from Croft. Croft is a repulsive bullying nuisance with no manners on or off the air. A man convicted of wife beating. I cannot stand his voice or to see him. Why is Barry Wilkinson and Sam Wilkinson of Line and Lenght allowing this debased creep on radio? Hearing Croft voice on radio in my house sends to toilet to sh##.

6. @ The Scout,

There is a rift in the BLP. There is Owen and co. and there is Mia and co.
    That is now. What happened in the DLP years ago is irrevalent.

You are in opposition till the next election. Stop wasting time on BU and go and get Owen an Mia to kiss and makeup fuh de sake a de party.

7. Kiss up and makeup. .First she might have to ask he to take a breathalyzer test.

8. Hants
    You can’t be serious; the DLP resolved their problems years ago? For your information the DLP only patch things up one year before elections and I’m glad they got their act together to stop Owen Arthur from regainingf government. The problem with the DLP is that they appear to be united but they are not and the crack is widening, for thiss country’s sake, I hope they get their act together. The naming of a deputy P.M can start some quarrelling amoung sinckler and Estwick.

Hants
    I hope you are wrong,are you saying the BLP will be in oppsition until the next elections? I hope they will be in opposition after the next elections. Do you know something that I done?

9. ac
    LOL. and he mite turn n tell she, ‘no bosey, i in kissin you a’tall causen you like bitin lips n clits”. Murdahhhhhhh.
    I jus dangrus. 🙂

10. @Bonny Peppa and AC wunna tooo badddddd. Leff dem alone please… dis remind muh of de ole song by de Mighty Sparrow………ah fraid ah fraid ah fraid putty bite muh…….LMAO Lawddd Bonny ah glad yuh back. Ac wee got wee partner back for a little while. Ah hope dat yuh surgery goes well Bonny and eff yuh need anyting just holla !

11. @Bonny &island gal,
    i think Mia being the dipolmat that she is . Might ask Owen to kissde A>>SS,and he being the politician that he is might do say to save face. Sooner or later he gonna have to put his differences aside wid Mia and publicly apologised to her which would be like kissing she a..ss . I can’t wait to see that.

12. Anyone listening to cricket from Trnidad? This honoray white jackass Colin Croft should not be allowed on radio. Hayden Gill let me down cowering from Croft. Croft is a repulsive bullying nuisance with no manners on or off the air. A man convicted of wife beating. I cannot stand his voice or to see him. Why is Barry Wilkinson and Sam Wilkinson of Line and Lenght allowing this debased creep on radio? Hearing Croft voice on radio in my house sends me to toilet to sh**.

13. Thank God Owen knows how to drink, so he would not need to take a breathalyser, this is not even legally here yet.

Your god and king David Thompson certainly did not know how to drink cause the Absolut Vodka and the joints took a toll on his pancreas.

As you can notice, Owen is still alive and kicking the DLP buts with commonsense solutions to the mess the DLP has got Barbados in. Never mind “wunnah” so arrogant, you wont take the advice! But wait until we all have to take the IMF’s!

14. Prodigal
    Should i reply to dah pupp you submit or should i ignore? I gun reply like khunt causen dis kinda tawk does get unda my skin. We all kno dat DT dead from pancreatic cancer but don’t jump n shout causen you doan kno wah gun be you nor de drunkard ‘lot’. At leas’ he din phoopin he secret’ry while marrid ta Mara n breed she or whoevva else dat he could ‘buy’. Owen still alive n kickin? He look like he able ta raise he foot ta you, ya p-hole? All he barely able ta raise now is de glass ta he craw. Who get we in dis mess in de firs place? ya dick-head.
    Wah Owen does drink? He like he drinkin ‘Shrinkers’ dese days or sumting sa. Cording ta de ol peeple, ‘he like he drinkin wah he should ‘noint’ wid. Ga long, ya p————–.
    bumba-clawttt.

15. Kiki
    Ya should see de ol gal hay ‘skantin’ ta de riddim. Chawwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    Mek my son run outta he room lookin at me strange. He din kno dat i kno bout dese chunes. Couldn’ leh he kno dat you is de Selecta.
    (de ol knees barely trimblin now from all dah ‘skankin’).

16. @ Prodigal.

Are you admitting that OSA is a drunkard. That ain’t nothing to be proud of .If you are his friend you should advice him to go to Alcoholics anonoymous .Barbados doesn’t need a PM who is an openly drunkard. That gives me one more reason not to vote for that drunkard Loser. Nex time you talk to him .Tell him Ac says to stop spreading lies about Mia. If not I am going to kick his drunkard as….s.

17. HA! HA! Bonny u a trip.

18. ac
    People like you voted for a drunkard already and was proud about it. Almost all the leading politicians in this country are heavy drinkers, so can hold more that others but you should see them when they come out of their high social functions and arguing with each other, whether D or B who more drunk than the other. Maybe if Owen was drinking a “big-mout” drink it would have been acceptable

19. I’m GLAD to see that the St.John’s polyclinic is going to start soon, I’m also VERY GLAD to see that a local firm, ADC Builders, were given the contract. THIS IS A POSITIVE STEP IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION BY THE DLP. In the pass too much of the government work was being done by Chinese firms with chinese labour, hence depriving locals from contributing to their own development. Good move DLP.

20. @Scout .

But now you and others have been so eager to bring it to light so openly light it is to worn as a badge of honour. I ain’t gonna vote fuh none no more. That includes OSA fuh PM. Now yuh can send him an Email telling him to join AA and he is not setting a good example to the youth of Barbados by being A Drunk.

21. wuhloss !finally Scout see something that the DLP is doing right. Wuhloss! the longest day gotta end. BTW Scout de is more to come.

22. Many would have waited eagerly to listen to Mara Thompsons’s maiden speech in parliament.

It occurred today, without* a script.

To those who listened, how did she do?

23. Are you sure she did not have a script, she seemed to be looking down at something and reading!

If Mara thinks that she can criticise the BLP and get away with her distortions of the BLP’s record and judging from the DLP supporters response in the by election, she thinks she is untouchable. I want to know why she so conveniently left out the years when her husband was the Minister of Finance when he was in a position to make the polyclinic his priority.

He said his priority was cost of living, cost of living, cost of living. No mention of the polyclinic and she got the nerve to attack the BLP’s record. She is now a politician so I can comment on what she said in the House today. The polyclinic was never planned for when it was started as an election gimmick and it aint budgeted for now in 2011. I bet that they will start it now to cover their hinds but come later in the year when things get tighter, it will stop again. Mark my words.

The BLP had their own agenda, not a polyclinc that was a figment of David Thompson’s non existent St John Development plan. (Richie Haynes and Sandi said that there was never a St John Development plan, so dont curse me).

I wish the Dems luck and hope they get to finish the clinic because it seem to me that like Sherbourne, its purpose seems to be forever changing, looks like it will be a cultural centre as well!

24. To those DLP supporters who keep going on about Owen Arthur,
    David Thompson was caught one night by the police during a raid in a famous club drunk and high. The police told him he was in the wrong place at the wrong time and hustled him out of the place. Did you noy know that?
    He was drunk when he fell off the back of a truck during the St Philip Carnival.
    I saw him drinking Absolut Vodka like water with Kenny Boozer Best at a sports function, so who is/was setting the example for the youth?
    As for the talk of Owen and his current wife, do you DLP supporters know that Thompson had an outside child which Sinckler conveniently covered up for him. Check and you will find out.
    You all live in glass houses, stop throwing stones.

25. ac
    Finally the Scout see something the DLP is doing right
    —————————————————————
    Exactly, and whether you believe it or not, I’M HAPPY. There is one other thing I saw them do right and that is to improve the after care of patients from the ICU’s and the step down ward. i Was waiting for all you “so-called” DLP SHOUTERS to say something positive but most of you are just “blowhards” no substance, just downright DLP supporters. You are grouped with those who would say, if their party bring a dog, they would vote for it. Some of you need to think for yourselves and stop letting politicians brainwash you. The DLP is now in government and there are a number of businesses that are allegedly own by prominent BLP members that are working for this government, the same thing happened when the BLP was in office. That’s why I’m a free agent criticise when I see fit and praise when I see fit. Yes, ac, I would like to praise the DLP more but they would have to do more.

26. Apollo
    I feel fa you. Ya ketchin at straws man but ya gun still drown. I kno how it feels to be pun de udda side but ya mus admit, Mara was good in her maiden speech. Gih credit when due nah. She did good. I doan like wunna but i like ta hare Mia when she start ta bellow wid dah bass voice. Have a hart man. I kno how it hurts but credit due. Cuh dear!!!!!

And when DT outside chile cum ta lite we gun deal wid um. Until such time, shush ya khunt. Ya ketchin at straws. Boooooooooooo.

N mek sure dat i day when ya kickin he drunkin arse causen i wantta brek bout two a he ribs wid a kick too. An when ya drunk, ya doan kno nutton dat gine one.
    Anyway, I gine n fire one now too. Absolute Vodka ta be exack.

27. @Apollo
    Pictures Please.! Talk is cheap. and don’t sjow me any tem imposter kind. Btw I heard that it was a BLP member you paid some one to push DT off the truck. Yuh need to check yuh facts.

28. @Bonny
    I guess I will have to wait till after yuh fix de eyes to kick OSA behind!

@ APoll13
    Mark my words the polyclinic is going to be finished and the contractors and those involved in constructing it gonna be paid. Wait did the BLP ever pay Barrack ? Bunch a thieves!That don’t include Mia. Only Mia can clean up the bunch of hooligans entrenched in that Party thatis why they are so afraid of her. She knows all their dirty little and big secrets . She is a threat to them

29. ac
    I thought it was the other way around, I thought Mia was the one the party is afraid of her alleged despicable private life, now all of a sudden you DLP diehards are showering some much praises on Mia as if she is next to Madam Theresa, but then you were making a demigod out of David Thompson too. Did Mia have a conversion on the Damascus road too?

30. ac,
    Speak the person who had a prominent role in DT’s funeral and ask her for the picture or go out in Carrington Village!

Bonny
    I pray your op goes well, a hospital worker called in today to say how bad the QEH is, so I hope the op is successful! By the way what has become of the chairman with balls?

31. @Scout!
    Kinda with the help of OSA she sawthe light. Thank God for small favours.
    HA!HA! Back to the same old talk Her life style HA! HA!.
    DLP supporters showering MIA with praises. HA! HA!.
    BLP Showering Mia with hate. HA! HA! Shame on them HA! HA!

32. @ Apollo

You are either a propagandist . Have no proof to back up your words , and have the nerve to tell me to go here there and everywher to talk to a no name person. Why don’t you mention said person name on the blog.

33. Apollo
    And you din hear wah my sweetheart Tony Marshall (oh I jus luv dat man hare) reply ta said ‘hospital worka’? or you doze off. you bin drinkin? Not Absolute, I hope. Only strong stummucks can tolerate dem hard-mout drinks hare? so you n you frien owen betta stick ta ESAF. white ta be exack.

‘I pray your op goes well’.
    Apollo, sarcasm will get thou no whay. You dun kno dat you in wishin nutton good fa de I, so doan sin ya soul man. But tanks anyway.
    I gettin de op did ‘private’ so dah should be sum consolation. You kin cum n visit me. And i wantz a smooch rite pun de eye. (Lawddd, de eye feelin betta a’reddy)

you in got ta wate til afta de eye fix, i gun feel my way roun an whaxxxxxxxxxxx, one hard kick.Shoite, two ribs brek.
    Doan min’ Apollo tawkin bout fallin offa na truck. Scandalousnessment will get dem no whay. OSA couldn fall offfa na truck causen he wood be tu drunk ta climb up in de fuss place.Po soul.

34. @Bonny Peppa | February 10, 2011 at 6:02 PM
    “OSA couldn fall offfa na truck causen he wood be tu drunk ta climb up in de fuss place.Po soul.”
    Hi Bon Bon,
    This thread is now off the front page, but I looked back here, and I couldn’t let this one go unanswered, even though there are so many more important things to discuss. You DLP SUPPORTERS SEEM fixed in your determination to entrench in the minds of unthinking and unobservant Barbadians, that King David was deity, was infallible, while Owen was the son of the devil!

Regarding your comment about falling off de truck, was not “King David” climbing on to the truck when , in his disoriented, unco-ordinated condition …. indeed in his drunken stupor, he miss-stepped and fell off, breaking his ankle in the process? Excess Absolut Vodka and climbing just simply do not go together!
    I will say no more but I sincerely wish that God NOT ONLY rest David’s soul in peace, but in the case of the living, that He will remove the scales from the eyes, clear away the cobwebs from the minds of you BLP bloggers.

35. DEFINITELY NOT Barbados Labour Party Bloggers, but Democratic Labour Party Bloggers! That’s what I meant.

36. Whatever is said about the late David Thompson, he was given the chance to repent from his sins and ask for forgiveness, he died a peaceful man. May he rest in peace

Leave a Reply to Bonny PeppaCancel reply