Jamaican Ball Moss

In September this year Bajan blogger Green Antilles reported that Jamaican scientist Professor Henry Lowe was invited to make a special presentation at the Eighth Annual Congress of International Drug Discovery Science and Technology (IDDST) in Beijing, China.  Professor Lowe’s presentation was based on “research work on Jamaican medicinal plants, particularly his recent work with Tillandsia recurvata, otherwise called ball moss, which has demonstrated potent anti-cancer activities during testing.” This week, just three months later, Professor Lowe announced to the world that “he had developed a formula that can reduce and eliminate prostate cancer, the number one cause of cancer deaths among males” and that  “he has forged a partnership with the largest nutraceutical company in China, which will distribute the formula in that Asian country.”

Medical research has long indicated that there is a higher incidence of contracting prostate cancer among men of African descent. A prominent Barbadian urologist has been quoted as saying, “In this part of the world (Caribbean), not only is prostate cancer the number one solid organ cancer in men, but it is the number one cancer killer in men”. Data collection on the penetration of the disease in Barbados appears to be sketchy but there is enough to suggest it is high in Barbados.

Related Blogs

BU is also pleased that such a significant discovery was made by a so-called ‘Third World’ nation located in the English Caribbean. Jamaica despite its economic woes which has led to an inevitable degradation in its social landscape continues to demonstrate a level of entrepreneurship which is the envy of many. If Barbados possessed what seems to be Jamaica’s innate quality of entrepreneurism supported by our  strong governance structures both government and NGO which we are proud of in Barbados, we would be world beaters!

Yet another sidebar to this story is the involvement of China. Despite its detractors, China is the economic power house of the world with a huge domestic market which can determine the economic success of the Jamaican discovery for the prostate cancer cure. Again the approach of Jamaica to co-opt the support of China on a research project which has global influence contrasts starkly with Barbados trying to attract the Chinese tourist. According to Professor Lowe, “We will be working toward seizing a five per cent share of the global nutraceutical industry within the next two years, which translates to a multi-billion-dollar local industry — approximately $726 billion”.

The world will continue to look on with keen interest!

94 responses to “Jamaican Research Prostate Cancer Breakthrough Reinforces The Importance Of A National Culture Of Entrepreneurship”

1. @GP.
    I was only interested in the design elements of Cialis. Note the elongated teardrop shape giving rise to an extended connecting C.

2. Here is the second presentation Drug Development (regulatory issues) pt2

3. Here is another PPT on Drug Metabolism from Doc GP.

4. @ GP
    Doc, yuh say yuh got some vasodilators fuh me & yuh edder two god frens, Hants and BAFBFP? Wuh is dem big words yuh pelting at mih nah? Effin yuh is meaning tuh say Cialis/Viagra well say dah is wuh yuh meanin’. Yuh knows how is um wid we ol folk awready! So any kinda help is more than welcome. Tell mih yuh Fed-X de package awready, hear. Ah is waiting IMPatiently fuh um.

5. Sorry, mistyped “good” above and typed “god”. 🙂

6. @ hANTS
    rE Hants | December 5, 2010 at 5:12 PM | @GP.
    I was only interested in the design elements of Cialis. Note the elongated teardrop shape giving rise to an extended connecting C.

Are you trying to say that you are only interested in the packaging and not what is in the package? I just seeking clarification Sir.

dehood we got to to be careful how we advertise on BU how we we moving vasodilators into Bim man

Also note that vasodilators can lower your blood pressure

I may give ya free samples but I charging for the check up before you use these agents lol murdah

BTW what wunnah do wid J and dat naughty boy TECHIE?

7. @ GP

But Doc ah notice that Pat say above that she ain’t got nuh need for de dick. Well she got mih hay cornfuse because effin’ she not usin’ de dick then wuh she could be nusin’!! Murrdurrr!! 🙂

8. @ de hood

Where did I say I n got nuh nuse for de dick? Listen mista man, guh long back an read again nuh. My main man in need nuh vasodilators. He be only 50! Me, I well into muh 60’s. Tek dah. I gun be in Bim all Febuarary and e alredy crying.

@ Hants

Wait, what you doing with Cialis. You tell all uh we that all you need to get up was two boobs to milk.

9. PA T
    Why you dealing wid dat disrespectfull fella de hood for.You think I would be so rude as to bring such rude talk to you like dat bout DICKS WHEN YOU CLEARLY MEANT A DICTIONARY.LOL

But since you SAY DAT YOU got a main man does dat mean that you got a third man or a 12th man too? I KNOW YOU LOVE YOUR CRICKET. MURDAH

10. GP wrote “Are you trying to say that you are only interested in the packaging and not what is in the package?”

What is in the package falls under your area of expertise. The visual Design of the product and the packaging is my specialty.

The only dilator I using is a broncho. lol

The only

11. Off topic somewhat BU observes the black sheep of the medical profession in Barbados is in the news, again. A confrontation between Sparman and Ishmael seems a foregone conclusion.

12. What exactly is happening David with the cardiologists?

Hants we will give you the benefit of the doubt.

13. Well, it seems that Richard Ishmael, MD, may be facing two lawsuits. One from the Minister Inniss and the other from Sparman. I hope they dont go far. I knew Richard as a small boy when he vacationed at Rockville with his sisters and brother. We fished together, swam together, etc. I always like him after Paula.

14. @ GP

Doc, check the online edition of today’s Nation (Sunday Sun?) for the article re the cardiologists scrimmage. It does not say very much but it seems to be over the medical treatment of some Britisher who was on vacation in Bim at the time. I guess we will hear more as time passes. I must say though that at this point I backing Dr. S. I somehow have questions in my mind as to how a renowned medic could be treating a patient for acid reflux when in fact what he was suffering from was Pancreatic Cancer. Maybe you could shed some light on how that could have happened.

15. @ Pat & GP

Hey, I was only going by what Pat said herself. And, BTW, I was referring to a dicktionary! So I en know wey allyuh gine wid dis “rude talk” ting, nah! I is a”decent minded l’il ol man”. Allyuh is want tuh corrupt dis ol man mind or what? 🙂

16. De Hood

I saw the article and it says very little.
    You really believe that Richard did not know from early in the game dat David had pancreatic cancer? Crusoe who is an internet doctor and I a doctor boobie, had the correct diagnosis from early in the game, and we never saw the PM. Man a third year UWI med student wudda had de diagnosisearly too.
    Richard was obviously told to keep quiet until it was thought that the people ought to be told- when all hope was lost.
    Richard knew the diagnosis long ago man.

17. @de hood,
    Ever heard of Lance Gibbs or Sulieman Benn?

18. @ Hants
    Seems like a rhetorical query to me……… but the obvious answer is yes. So expand…….. please.

19. @ Hants

They are spin masters.

20. @ David
    Much obliged and many thanks Dave.

21. @de hood

Not a problem, got your email about the T&T business. Thanks indeed.

22. @ David
    Ok, Dave. I just thought that it was an interesting event. I got the impression that the Chairman of the PSC was trying to abuse his position. I know some folk may see it the other way and think that the cops were trying to throw their weight around. After all, they were the ones wearing the Glocks on their waists. Would be nice to hear the outcome though.

23. Indeed, let us monitor. Sometimes one story leads to another as far as how it relates to Barbados.

24. GP

Didn’t Pat start the rude talk when she wrote the following?

@Dr. GP
    I enjoyed reading your take on this as usual. I noticed when I was in Jamaica young, old and the middle aged, were all buying and drinking their herbal “roots” drinks. You can get one for everything, including a hard-on.

A Foundation boy would have picked that up instantly but you Kolig fellows are slow on the uptake. Going by the earlier discussion on euphemisms, I will substitute another phrase for the last word in her sentence which you highly educated Kolig boys would understand: Penile tumescence

25. To give some weight to the request to Professor Lowe to present at the Eighth Annual Congress of International Drug Discovery Science and Technology (IDDST) in Beijing, see the LINK!

26. @de hood “They are spin masters.”
    and so is any doctor who is the personal physician of a Political leader. If yuh doan believe me ask Dr.GP. lol

27. Sargeant
    Beautiful playing with the language Sir. Beautiful description. I am reading you in the air and off the pitch. And I was not slow on the “uptake” when Pat wrote about hardons, I was only teasing de Hood man. LOL

28. @ David
    Dave it looks like you may have to put “intelligence agent” BAFBFP on to the “case of the fighting cardiologists! Perhaps he may be able find someone who can get a verified copy of the alleged correspondence mentioned in the newspaper.

29. @ David | December 6, 2010 at 12:05 AM | To give some weight to the request to Professor Lowe to present at the Eighth Annual Congress of International Drug Discovery Science and Technology (IDDST) in Beijing, see the LINK!

Professor Lowe was certainly in great company not only with the academics but more importantly with the maguffies in some of the big Pharmaceutical companies- the place to be if you have a great idea for a anti cancer agent.

30. @ GP who said, “I was only teasing de Hood man. LOL”
    And I was reading you loud & clear, Doc. Check my subsequent reply posted @ 10:26pm.

**And, BTW, I was referring to a dic(k)tionary! So I en know wey allyuh gine wid dis “rude talk” ting, nah! I is a”decent minded l’il ol man”. Allyuh is want tuh corrupt dis ol man mind or what? 🙂 **

31. @ GP
    Doc somehow I think that “Sargeant” is having one on you! 🙂

32. @all

Please forgive the comment quoted by GP, somewhat tired last night.

A little redundant to be reading through the air and off the pitch isn’t it?

33. @ David

So how cum you is mediating for de Doc now. De Doc gihing yuh problems. If dah is so all yuh gotta do is let de Sargeant get the “bracelets” fuh he mout! Sorry, ah is reely meaning fuh he fingers! Or let BAFBFP do he “intelligence wuk” & tek way de keyboard from he.

34. Man lef mah nah … ! The Intelligent Agent get recall fah mekkin’ sport at Hartley Henry … You would gotta mek do widout he fah now …! And yes I uses de stuff … When ya got as much servicing to do like me yah could use the help .. not like those wid de time to respond to every damn t’ing pun de Web …!

35. Interesting!

Monsanto: Extinction !

By BARRACUDA (Reporter)
    Contributor profile | More stories

Thursday, December 09, 2010 12:25

GMO’s are made by manipulation of extremely deadly viruses & bacteria (such as E. coli) that have been engineered to be IMMUNE TO ANTIBIOTICS (Pause video at 8:08). Monsanto spends millions of dollars each year in order to "sugar" coat the facts of what GMO’s actually are and more importantly, how they are made.

This video straight-forwardly explains the scientific facts on how Monsanto manufactures their GMO’s (Genetically Modified Organisms) by simply removing all the corporate propaganda, the "smoke & mirrors" if you will.

Monsanto’s greed, combined with their quest to monopolize all aspects of food & seed on the planet, has knowingly allowed the proverbial Reaper free upon the world.

GMO’s are now acting much like the deadly virus and pre-cancer type cells they are made from… by infecting other organisms that were once pure and healthy.

We as a people should be demanding Monsanto be held for crimes against humanity for the atrocities they have committed and what can be reasonably seen as the start of the end to all life as we know it.

The Bee disappearance is in perfect unison with the time line of Monsanto’s uncontrolled release of GMO’s into the environment; but due to Monsanto’s influence & corruption in governments across the globe, any scientist that tries to inform the public and raise the alarm about the Bee’s & GMO’s is destroyed financially, as well as their careers’.

After watching these videos, will you knowingly look the other way and FEED your family GM foods; even though you now know you could be killing or permanently harming your child/family?

If you are OUTRAGED at Monsanto’s poisoning our food, milk and health; Please do the following actions… make a difference:

1) Call and WRITE (pen & paper) your Legislators

Demand:

2) That they FULLY endorse: "H.R. 6636 GENETICALLY ENGINEERED FOOD RIGHT TO KNOW ACT"

3) An immediate moratorium on all GMO’s and their Byproducts!

4) FDA change their findings on GMO’s as being "Generally Recognized As Safe"! This was done with ZERO testing by the FDA!

5) Demand a full investigation into the criminal conflicts of interest as it pertains to the head personnel of Monsanto and the FDA being one in the same.

6) Demand congress pass a "whistle blowers protection" for all professional scientists in order to end direct or indirect intimidation by Corporations, Universities, Colleges or Government. Science should never be a result of intimidation

36. St George's Dragon Avatar

Prostate cancer breakthrough: Urologists want data, evidence

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20101209/letters/letters4.html

The experts seem to be saying – prove it.

37. What do you expect them to say?

In 1993, when Merc Sharp and Dohme launched finasteride [proscar] in Bar bados our local urologist said openly in the meeting that they wanted to take away his opportunity to make money.

The experts want to protect their interest. What is yours? To attempt to show that you understand the subject or the process?

All the bovine that you and they are spurting seems aimed at degrading the man’s efforts Neither you or the experts have got off your bottoms and done the research the man has done so far, as demonstrated in his paper. The man ought to be lauded and encouraged as he advances towards the next steps of his adventure.

Why dont the so called experts get to gether with the man and carry this foward instead of involving in sour grapes.
    Why have these so called experts just fleeced the public and not sought to do some research themselves?
    Why are they so negative?
    Why dont you do some research? Instead of playing that you know about what is going on?
    Can you debunk any of the man”s findings or his metodology?
    Have you ever done any of the techniques needed to isolate, purify and characterise any organic substance?
    Would you even know where to start?
    Or are you just repeating stuff that you heard somewhere and which you clearly do not undserstand? Or do you think this is boiling mauby bark?
    It is so very easy to comment from the sidelines as the usual BU commenter does. Isnt it?

38. Looks like actors in our healthcare are at it again. Bickering and quarrelling has become the norm.

against Guyanese colleague
    By Stabroek editor  |  0 Comments  Breaking News | Tuesday, December 14, 2010   

(Barbados Nation) Senior consultant cardiologist Dr Richard Ishmael has been suspended from duties at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH).

Ishmael, personal physician to late Prime Minister David Thompson, was last weekend relieved of his consultancy for a month by hospital management. The development is believed to be centred around correspondence sent last month by Ishmael to the QEH’s director of medical services in which he made certain statements about Minister of Health Donville Inniss and heart specialist Dr Alfred Sparman.

When contacted at the offices of his 5th Avenue, Belleville, St Michael private practice yesterday, Ishmael refused to comment, saying the matter was being handled by his lawyers. QEH chairman Reverend Guy Hewitt confirmed Ishmael’s suspension. In a statement he said: “While Dr Ishmael is held in high esteem, it is believed that in the best interest of both Dr Ishmael and the QEH and consistent with the Staff Rules, a full investigation into the matter should [be], and is being, conducted.

“In the meanwhile and in fairness to all parties involved, the QEH has thought it necessary to suspend his services until the investigation is completed. “The board offers its assurance that every effort has been taken by the QEH to ensure that patient care is not compromised during this period.

”Reports indicated that lawyers representing Inniss and Sparman have issued an ultimatum to Ishmael to apologise by tomorrow and pay damages for his comments about them. Ishmael, who has been practising medicine for over 21 years, had been a high-profile figure during Thompson’s battle with pancreatic cancer.

The dispute between Ishmael and the hospital follows the axing of another consultant, Dr Cecil Rambarat, and an unsuccessful attempt to fire urologist consultant Jerry Emtage last August.

39. Updates on the prostate neutraceutical :

“Declaring that people know him to be a sceptic and a cynic, Professor Davidson, the head of public health and health technology at the University of Technology, said: “When you find somebody like Dr Lowe, who pursues an interest as a scientist, using his own money and his own initiative and putting his money where his mouth is, and developing a natural product within the country, everyone of us in the research community who knows what we have gone through to make things happen in this country, must encourage it and give it support.”

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Big-support-for-Dr-Lowe#ixzz185JdOL3N

“Meanwhile, he said it was important that Jamaica has at least two bio-tech institutes as work done to develop nutraceuticals would allow the country to tap into the wellness and health tourism market with “lotions and products that will be uniquely Jamaica to form a part of the expanding tourism market”.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Professor-wants-more-funding-for-scientific-research_8232198#ixzz185K41eNA

40. Thanks funny site preteen sluts

41. plenty of herbal ways to totally clean out your body.
    The natural sugars found in fruits curb the sweet tooth without sending your body through sugar
    highs and lows. However, the most popular health benefit,
    and the reason why the dual action body cleanse method has become
    a huge health fad, is weight loss.

42. Whether you are looking for a car that offers a higher MPG rating
    or one that has a sporty design that is top demand this year, you want
    to get a sports vehicle that is going to meet your
    needs and wants. Features to look for in a vacation rental property To find out
    whether you have selected a perfect vacation rental property, you need to ensure the
    following- # Location of the property; # If UK provisional driving license is acceptable as identification; # Ask whether linens and towels are provided
    by the property owner; # Whether essential utensils like pans,
    pots, appliances and utensils are available; # whether facilities for washing and
    laundry is available; # Is the property easily accessible; # Whether online connectivity
    is available; # Whether the property is safe from security point of
    view; # What modes of transportation are available close to the
    property; # In case renting a car for commute within the destination being visited,
    whether the uk provisional driving licence is acceptable; # Availability of safe and secure parking facilities;
    Above mentioned are few things that need to be considered when checking out the suitability of a particular vacation rental property.
    Munnar has numerous tea estates and this hill station offers panoramic view of the surroundings.

43. Currently it sounds like Movable Type is the top blogging platvorm available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using
    on your blog?