George Payne, Chairman of the Barbados Labour Party announcing Owen Arthur's return back in October

The decision by the parliamentary group of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to oust Mia Mottley as leader of the opposition has caused some to question the role of the Member of Parliament (MP) for St. Andrew George Payne. For about six years George Payne warmed the backbench of the House of Assembly of Barbados and did not ‘unpick’ his teeth. By doing so BU has always held the view he disrespected the August Chamber and by extension the people of Barbados. The fact he was able to defeat his DLP opponent Irene Sandiford-Garner in the last general election should raise other questions about the sophistication of the electorate and more particularly how Payne has been able to foster ironclad support in the Orange Hill ‘box’. BU is on record agreeing with the decision to fire then Minister of Tourism George Payne by former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.  The extreme reaction by Payne to his firing which drove him to be silence for so many years should make political independents question his behaviour. If he were an employee in a company, how would his manager appraise his performance?

Q. Why does a citizen of Barbados aspire to represent fellow citizens by seeking their support to be elected to the House of Assembly?

A. When Parliament is sitting (meeting), MPs generally spend their time working … This can include raising issues affecting their constituents, attending debates and voting on new laws. Most MPs are also members of committees, which look at issues in detail, from government policy and new laws, to wider topics like human rightsParliament UK

Is it reasonable to conclude that by not speaking in parliament for six years it can be concluded that George Payne failed to fully represent the people of St. Andrew? How then can one explain Payne’s re-election in the face of a national swing in the most recent general election? Perhaps some day our political scientists and others better versed than BU in political behaviour will be able to explain how a dumb MP in parliament could still win his seat albeit with a narrow margin.

There will be other opportunities to discuss George Payne politics in the context of the last general election. The immediate interest is the role George Payne played in brokering the deal which has seen the return of Owen Arthur as leader of the opposition. While it is said politics makes for strange bed fellows, Payne’s emergence in recent times as a Kingmaker in the usurpation of Mia Mottley bears careful study. In the same way Mascoll was overthrown for the more popular Thompson by Jones, Lashley, Sealy et al, the BLP parliamentary group has the same right to crown the leader of its choice. Sometimes forgotten is the right of the electorate to critique the internal workings of the two political parties. Decisions taken by the respective political parties will always have implications for wider society. Against the foregoing there is legitimacy in curiosity by Barbadians to question the role of the man of many hats.

Keen and even not so keen follows of the local political scene would have observed the building of bridges between Arthur and Payne long before the overthrow of Mia Mottley occurred. It was never hidden by the two actors. It could have been a deliberate ploy to intimidate Mottley. If such was clear to bystanders it is difficult to explain why Mottley and supporters should plead ignorance to the challenge to her leadership which inevitably came.

To the central point – why has Arthur returned at this time? Why has George Payne buried the hatchet and pledged his unswerving loyalty to Arthur at this time?

While it will always be about power and politics and several theories abound, the question remains – what is in it for Payne? What would have caused Payne to adsorb the public humiliation of pledging support to Arthur at this time after being silent for years in the former Arthur administration? He never once demonstrated public disaffection under Mottley’s leadership that we are aware of to signal he had a problem with her leadership. Is it a move flavoured with chauvinism? Is it a genuine belief by Payne and cohorts that Arthur is more competent to lead the party to victory in 2013? Is it the about questioning of Mottley on the basis of morality? Has a deal been agreed to between Arthur and Payne?

The time has come for Barbadians to be more inquiring of political decisions which smell rotten. To question is not to condemn. To continue to ignore the smell maybe at our peril. Whither the Fourth Estate?

1. @Bajan Truth

BU should repeat, wheel and come again!

2. @Ian Bourne | November 27, 2010 at 11:46 PM |
    I agree with you, we do need a third Party run by Mia Mottley. I anxiously await

3. @My name is not sylvan
    “The same people on this blog who in September had the worst things possible to say about Mia now appear publicly to be her greatest fans.”

i have the privilege of seeing the work Mia Mottley has done in her constituency from the time she won St. Michael North East. the times before her, Brathwaite (DLP) did nothing of substance. i’ve seen her put people in jobs that NEVER worked before because no one would hire them and they are still working today. i’ve seen how young people respond to her persona. when approaches you, she greets you, i’ve seen MPs act as if they were God’s gift to man. She has what it takes to lead they country, she has charisma. in spite of what her leanings might be, she is a leader. i am in a quandary. owen arthur’s deception has caused me to vomit up any desires i had of joining the BLP yet Mia will always get my vote. but how do i reconcile the two. do i vote personality or party?

4. @Enuff
    You don’t know what inconsistent is, you really don’t. Detail for me how my past postings that you have referred too are inconsistent with my curren view of how Mia was treated by her own party collegues.

What those two post does is demonstrate how accurate I have been in foretelling the outcome. It also could be stated that my opinion formed the basis of Mia’s removal from the LOTO position, given the recently concocted story of clear and concise reasons for the decision. Could this be the case? Is this why I am visited with your wrath for not being sincere in what I wish for? But what do I really wish for?

I do not like only dislike Mia Mottley, I do not like the entire political class. I have come to the conclusion that the only real change we are going to get in our economy, with governance and our electoral process will be due to strife amongst politicos in either or both major parties, and anything I can do to encourage such, I will do so with much glee. For as one can see, a member of the political class will only attend to these three area of our lives when they are in opposition, or stalled in their political career.

5. @ Adrian Hinds
    You really need help.

6. Bajan Panday,
    Dont you get tired pandering the same lies on every story on this blog?

Since you know so much then tell the public how the late David Thompson ousted Clyde Mascoll as Opposition Leader and who drew up the letter that Michael Lashley signed without reading?

Tell the public what happened the night Kellman cried all the way from George Street to St Lucy?

Tell the public what happened between David Estwick and the late PM in George Street?

Answer these questions and then I have some more to ask. All these questions are reevant since you paly you know what went on with the BEES.

7. Prodigal
    no,no,no,noooooooo, Panday does tawk wah she kno bout de Bees, you gotta cum n tell we wah you kno bout de Dees.
    start de ball rollin. I luv gossip. firs ting i wantz ta kno is why Kellman cry from town ta St.Lucy. He tear-ducts did really wukkin dah nite boy. but why ‘e cry? He loss money or sumting? LOLLLLLLLLLL, murdahhhhhhhhhhh.

8. What do George Payne, Dale Marshall and Barrack have in common? Owen, Mia, the criminal courts ,anyone?

9. @Market Vendor

BU has given you some latitude in recent weeks, please stick to one handle.

10. Market Vendor
    i gun tek a wild guess. Lemma see, Payne, Marshall n Barrack all tree a dem bald-plated,uglee as piss n dishones?
    Now Owen, Mia n de criminal courts. Lemma see, de criminal courts is home away frum home fa de two a dem?
    I guess rite, yes or no?

N fa chris-sake, stop nusin mo dhan one handle man. David does ‘sniff’ ya out rale easy.

11. YES: I MUST ADMIT!

I DON’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THE BEES ONLY WHAT I PICKED UP FROM THE DIRTY CLOTHING WASHED IN THE MEDIA.

WHAT I FIND UGLY IS THAT YOUR PARTY WOULD LOCK THE GATES AT ROEBUCK STREET AND ENGAGE ARMED POLICE TO KEEP YOUR ORDINARY MEMBERS AND SUPPORTERS OUT?

YOUR PARTY WOULD THEN TURN AROUND AND PAY PEOPLE TO JOIN IT.

IT WOULD THEN HAVE PEOPLE AS DELEGATES TO VOTE WHO ARE NOT EVEN MEMBERS OF THE BLP.

EVEN IN HAITI THEY DO NOT ACCEPT ELECTORAL FRAUD – BUT NO SUCH HIGH STANDARD IN THE BLP.

A PARTY THAT IS CORRUPT IN OPPOSITION AND RIGS ELECTIONS WOULD DO SO IN GOVERNMENT BY RE-ALIGNING ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES.

YOU ARE NOT LISTENING TO THE PEOPLE: CHANGE YOURSELF AND YOUR CORRUPT IMAGE .

THE BLP UNDER THE RULE OF ITS GERIACTRIC BRIGADE IS ARROGANT.

12. Enuff | November 30, 2010 at 3:48 PM | @ Adrian Hinds
    You really need help.
    ============================
    ha ha ha and you need to have an argument that you can win. Try starting with a simple point that makes sense.

@Prodical Son
    Them things had bite when the DLP was fighting, now they don’t. Um is the BLP turn now, and the revalations have bite and juice since they relate very nicely to the current state of that party. So save the DLP shananigans fuh when their internal strife flares up again. lol!

13. @ Adrian Hinds
    It is obvious that you struggled with (or never had the chance to study) English Literature. Your initial post asked for the reason(s) Mia was removed. My responses (old postings of yours) were intended to indicate that you were a HYPOCRITE. Yes hypocrisy is linked with inconsistency and you were quick to highlight your hatred for Mia as being consistent, which was never being questioned since I am convinced that your dislike for her is of a psychological nature. I am also well aware that even though hatred often threatens fairness they can and do still co-exist. However after repeatedly expressing, not only personal hatred, but more saliently UNFAIR and biased criticism of Mia, to now be concerned about whether she was treated FAIRLY or not is disingenuous. That’s the inconsistency to which I refer. It is also IRONIC that the oracle who knew every reason why Mia was unfit to be PM and said “it is only FAIR that [Owen Arthur] be given the responsibility of removing her from around our necks” now seeks answers as to why she was removed by the same person. Your ‘interest’ has nothing to do with FAIRNESS it is malicious–colloquially and according to Oxford.

14. @Enuff
    Was Mia Mottley treated fairly? Is the answer condition on my opinion on the matter and the reasons I have for so doing? I would think that your concern should lie with the seemly significant support Mia still enjoys within the BLP. What do you say to them?
    I will not agree with you that my views and dislike of Mia Mottley, and my call for Owen to remove her, disqualifies me from disapproving of the way he went about it. Quite honestly, I don’t think any other method that he would have used, would have satisfied my “fairness” quotient. It is mine to deny to anyone. lol!
    In our politics, polarization is a given, and the two sides will increasingly demonize one another. That I would use the same method to make foes out of party colleagues to my own ends makes me a hypocrite? —Politics is not for the politicians alone. But what is a Hypocrite, that you would uppercase the word as you define me as such? Did you intend for it to be a badge of shame? lol!

Mia Mottley as the PM under the current political dispensation does not suite me; therefore I called for Owen Arthur to remove her. I sought to exploit known weaknesses in her political armor. Now that he has, I have to ensure that it is a done deal; hence my voicing the truth about the way he went about it — and the number of people saying it is unfair makes it unfair. However a PM Arthur is not in my interest either.
    Now that Mia has been chase away from the BLP leadership, she has seemingly taken to a set of positions that are core to the reasons politics in Barbados continues to interest me. I will encourage her in this regard as long as she continues to hold to those positions. If she falters, or changes course, or someone else comes along that is better able to articulate those positions and seems to have a better chance of bringing progress to said positions, then I will drop her for that person.

Still a Hypocrite???

“I can hold two or several opposed ideas in the mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function.” Lol!

15. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar

@ Random Thoughts – wuh sorta idiot you could be what is wrong with the Government of Barbados footing the medical bill for the late Prime Minister of course we had a right to.Most places of employment have a medical plan in place for their employees, you can only benefit if you are an employee of related to an employee doesn’t the same apply to the Prime Minister and his family, don’t they have medical plans paid for by the government, look don’t rattle my cage now with such ignorant rantings.If they aint got none then it is about time that one be put in place.