It seems the recent statement attributed to Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago Kamla Persad-Bissessar has created a furore across the region. It is understandable for people to become emotional at this time when St. Lucians and Vincentians are in obvious distress. It may come as a surprise that BU see nothing wrong with the meaning behind Kamla’s position. Perhaps her message was twisted by a media which is always on the hunt to sensationalize news of late.

If the aid had come form China, USA, Britain and a host of other countries the issue of reciprocal arrangements would be a moot point. It is generally known – taken for granted some might suggest – that many of the so called developed countries attached conditionalities to how aid is deployed. Why should T&T dump aid in St, Lucia for example and the government there feel under no obligation to purchase raw materials from T&T?

BU is not a big fan of Kamal but we have to be honest by saying the media and the politicians should share more blame in this matter which is nothing more than a storm in a teacup.

97 responses to “The Kamla Persad-Bissessar Matter Nothing More Than A Storm In A Teacup”

1. Kamla is going to learn a valuable lesson in life, what goes around comes around and pride comes before a nasty fall. Trinidad like Hants said is not immune to natural disasters. Crime is out of controll while many businesses are relocating to more stable countries like Barbados. We can use this as an opportunity to woo more businesses to move their offices offshore. The next twelve months will be very interesting for the Caribbean.

2. Yea! Yeah! YeaH! bush tea I am awoman and loving it a full blooded sex godess and loving it. However not all of us are the same . Hurricane Kamla seem to like taking centre stage to the point of saying hurting things at the wrong time. Sorry you don’t seem to get the point of what she did was wrong for obvious reasons! There is a time when compassion should trump ones political agenda. There will be plenty of time to throw down the gauntlet.Hurricane Kamla needs to take in lesson in diplomacy.

3. @ac

If you have a reread of Bushie’s comment you will see he is not agreeing with Kamla at all.

@Bushie

Yours is one interpretation, the other political exigency.

4. That is the problem with our leaders, they are only interested in what thier peers say,seems they forget that THE PEOPLE have the vote to decide what they can say.

5. @ David
    This is a no-brainer.
    There can be ‘no problem’ at the diplomatic level -because unlike we the sheeple, the diplomats KNOW that what she said represents the REALITY of Caribbean politics.

Kamla has not yet figured out the rules of the ‘game’. She thinks that honesty is the best policy…. so she shouts loudly what all the other diplomats KNOW to be the case, but would never say publicly.

If Kamla was a ‘he’, someone senior would have pulled her quietly aside and explained to her the ground rules right after her ATM comment….. you ever tried that with a she…?

Bush Tea’s point here is that we the sheeple are the beneficiaries as we at last get to hear what these ‘diplomatic’ folks REALLY think.

6. @Bush tea

Now now, Kamla is inexperienced, she trying hard to be a bad John or a Jane, that is the problem. So what is this thing bout a SHE? Margaret Thatcher was a SHE, so was EUGENIA, and many more SHES who were heads of states. Please explain HONESTLY what yuh trying to say. LOL

7. @Bush tea

Totally agree with the last paragraph on your above comment!
    Tea Time! but tell me something yuh think Kamla got more balls than Mia!

8. …if the two o’ wanna feel that BT is some kind ‘o idjut to engage wanna on a ‘he versus she’ blog wanna real wrong… Bush Tea ain’t born yesterday.

….ask Kissmya, he know bout those things bozie….LOL rotfl

Re Kamla:
    Do you prefer someone who smiles in your face and promises help when they know that they have no intentions of helping you? (even gloating at your need)
    ….or someone who tells you the truth up front – to get stuffed…?
    Both are bad, but the former is worse.

9. When the late P.M David Thompson made the statement that barbadian jobs are for bajans first, there was a big hooooraaah all over the region, especially from Gonsalves and Jagdeo. Now Kamla say she say, all of them got their mouths shut. SHE RIGHT, all of them belong to a political club and Kamla don’t know all the rules yet. The whole thing is POLITICIAN LAUGHING AT WE

10. Bush Tea

LOL…..yuh got a point dere, at least yuh know where yuh stand wid Kamla. I low pon power and ah aint got nuh phone line, I get a scotch wid a wireless from a friend, so ah aint able tek on any pow wow wid anyone. LOL Ah just getting my BU fix after a long withdrawal . David dis blog is addictive ….ah havta go tah BU annonymous…LOL

11. Faget ’bout de nonsense de Kamla woman tawk. Tawk cheep, ya gotta pay fa Hennessey.
    Anywayz, wah wunna-all plannin ta do fa dese unfortunate peeple in St. Vincent n especially de hardest hit, St. Lucia? Anybody hare ’bout donating food stuff or anyting so? Whay ta cah dem? I wood do my lil contribution if I kno whay ta cah my tings.
    A friend of mine family was killed de mudslide. I got famblee in St.Lucia n dem awrite. I feel rale sorry fa dese peeple. So leh me kno how we kin help in we small way.
    Kamla is a klown. from de time she tawk ’bout TnT in na ATM fa nabody, I did watching she wid cross-eyes. Wah up ta today I went ta my ATM n um in had in a cent. But um is still a ATM anywayz. Brek as um did. stupseeeeeeeeeeeee.

BAFBFP
    U turnz me on when you spokes like dis. Sa eloquent, lawdddd.

12. The Bushman speaks the obvious … nothing profound of course, just what needs to be said. Can we move on … please?

13. How yuh doing Bonny? Now dat is a great suggestion. Ask David if VOB is going to start a fund going. Now uncross yuh eyes, dem gine stay suh if yuh keep crossing dem. LOL

14. Bonny P yah instigator,

ac. I can’ un’stan’ why I like you sah much.. somet’ing ’bout you …

Hope you petty …

15. Pretty pretty pretty

16. The only folk that Kamla has to worry about are the citizens of T&T….. they elected her, and so far they aint complaining.The rest could talk ‘till kingdom come it won’t mean a hill of beans.

Now bout this talk of CSME/Caricom, as the advice columnist would say “wake up and smell the coffee” Trinidad wouldn’t even commit to the Caribbean Court of Justice and it is headquartered there.

Trinidad’s position has been captured in the immortal words of Dr. Eric Williams “one from ten leaves nought”

17. Pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty.

David please do something about that comment. I take back every bad thing that I have ever said about you

18. Bush Tea

You have the identical problem as Kamla (all women?)
    ….. speaking before understanding the real issue!
    It is a good thing that Bajans don’t celebrate Guy Fawkes night anymore otherwise the women would be pelting some bombs and bandits behind yuh backside. They might even shake up some carbolic in an Cocoa tin just for you.

Wuhloss

19. BAFBFP

Yuh smart ! Yuh know too much about me . Yuh always get it right! I like the pretty picture ! So beautiful! so True !

20. @ Sargeant
    Re: Guy Fawkes night

Absolutely right! You ain’t see how fast the bushman slap in a reverse gear…? LOL

21. On the subject of oil rich T&T it is our understanding the price of gas will be hiked by 7 cents along with Kerosene and diesel by 8 cents from Sunday night. The BU family should get a jump on the rest of Barbados an save a couple dollars.

22. islandgal
    I so-so. Comin ta grips wid realitly. Well, I got my lil contribution ta sen fa St. Lucian today. De Red-Cross got a collection centre sumway in de Warrens area. So i gun sen um by one a my sons lata but befo 3’aclock. All a we kin chip in n de we share n de St. Lucians will be a lot betta off. No man is an island.

BAFBFP
    Lol. but how you cud look at a nice, innacent, christian, decent fiah-galash n call me a instigata? Ya ol ring-neck vagabon. Ya crini-mal. smoochhhhh

Sargeant
    well if dat is de case, I hope Tnt nevva experience na catastrophe. I fa one, whun be sennin not even a pea-chink down day.how wunna-all like we now?

23. Trinidadians should remember Hurricane,Earthquake or Tsunami.

Their turn might come.

Help your neighbours and ignore the Trini PM.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We are doing to Kamal what was done to David Thompson over the immigration issue.

We must realise that Governments must do what is best for their own people. Kamal was voted in by Trinidadians not by Bajans or Vincentians or Lucians.

I agree with her one hundred percent. Put your people first. It is their tax money.

25. @CCC, you can put your people first but you do not have to be crass and insensitive.

What Trinidad can do is supply materials instead of money.
    Instead of giving money to buy oil,steel ,cement and food why not ask what they need buy it from Trinidad manfacturers and ship to St.Lucia and St.Vincent.

26. How many chances must she get. She went to New York and only fraternized with the Indian Community in Queens. She is ready to provide help to the Indian ethnocracy in Guyana and Suriname. It is walking like a duck and quacking like a duck.

Guyana did not experience a hurricane when the Prime Minister of Barbados made his statement, but Shridath Ramphal and that other ass Rickey Singh jumped down on him. Kamla is a hindutava working towards the indianization of the caribbean. We are too trusting of people who do not mean us well, and can never jettison the cultural prejudices ingrained in them for centuries

27. Carson C
    My main squeeze, I can’t believe you said that. Death, sickness nor peril has enemies. We must luv our neighbour as we love ourselves. In this case our neighbour is St. Lucia. At times like dis, we have to put our differences aside and assist those less fortunate than ourselves.
    I know you doan mean wah you sah. you mussy dun pack a lil box wid non-perishables n reddy ta ship ta St. Lucia. Ya tricksta.

28. @BAFBFP
    My Friend David;
    My God, man when you miss the point you could really spray it around…! (Petro Caribe … my anus…! PC was a gift no matter how you look at it .. If not for the US Embassy parked in Wildey, and of course influential White Expatriate sentiment, Barbados would have been well advised to accept the offer …)
    —————————————————-
    I am in full agreement with you on the above, BAFBFP.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The way I see it, Kamala is not refusing to help anyone.
    All she is asking that Trinidadian nationals get something in return. The Trinidad economy is not in the best shape right now.
    Unemploment is at worrying levels in Trinidad and maybe she sees this as a way to find employment for her people outside of the shores of Trinidad.

As I said before the aid money is coming from the Trinidad treasury. It was put there by the Trinidaian taxpayers. They should benefit from its use. What is wrong with that?

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We must learn not to see a monster behind every tree.

31. Again the complaints was not about what they wish to do but how it was said.

32. Yuh can’t trick a trickidadian.

Breaking news St.Lucia exempt from de Kamla doctrine.

“There are no strings attached to the humanitarian aid that we bring and will continue to send to you for reconstruction.”

33. I have already packed a box for one of the hurricane stricken islands.
    I have decided to ship a barrel of dung for that insensitive leader Kamla. No strings attached.

34. @ Carson C. Cadogan | November 6, 2010 at 8:25 |
    “…Kamala is not refusing to help anyone. All she is asking that Trinidadian nationals get something in return.”

CC you and I know that the same person you help is not always the one to return the favor when in need, but the favor is returned somehow.

When disasters strike they should never be an expectation of a quit pro quo

35. Carson C
    There are times when money/cost cannot be attached to everything. This is one of those instances. You see a person in need and you lend a helping hand. It is the human thing to do. It is like kicking a man when he’s already down. Kamla like she heartless. Sending aid to these hurricane ravaged islands can’t make or break TnT. We are all broken by the world wide recession so Kamla should assist without any strings attached. She could only want a hardass kick. stupseeeeeeee.

befoe you post de box a dung ta she, pass by me fa anudda box a pupp.
    You see my ROK resurface? My days n nights have bin sa lonely widout he. stupseeeeeeeee. i now feel like a new woman.

36. There is nothing like people pressure. Bajans need to embrace the concept of a participatory democracy. Here is a link to the T&T Express which suggests that Kamla has backed off her original position.

37. All she need now is to apologise to the people of the Region. This would put her in a better light . As of now she seems to be tiptoeing around the issue and trying to shoot the messengers. I would also suggest she put a muzzled on her mouth until she learns how to master the art of diplomacy.

38. and to all yunna ppls who think dat she was right in speaking as yunna put it trutfully. Shame on yunna, I hope de day don’t come when yuh need a helping hand and be told de same by yunna friend.

39. Stupid ! Whatever message a leader sends to the country should be delivered in a clear and concise manner and not only to those who agree with their point of view. The youth of today is looking for such a person. It takes a leader with vision to take a country
    to such a level. I suspect that Stuart is not a Visionary. He probably would have a hard time thinking outside the box when it comes to matters pertaining to youth. The older generation would understand him. However I think the youth would have a hard time relating to him on social matters.

40. You report Jackal Warner support Kamla veiws well there goes two rats in the hen house. I wont trust Jack as far as I can throw him. He should run classes in how to avoid prison. Damm he is good at that. In fact Kamla she self need to keep a close eye on Jackal. Dont know much about Kamla but her utterances have been undiplomatic, stupid and backward. ATM now this. Trinidad in spite touted oil money is a country tettering on the brink with rampant murders, crime, corruption and perennial race problems.Kamla better be careful.

Must say though Kamla not a bad looking piece of ass. It might want tapping cause a lot of Indian husbands spend more time getting drunk than handling bedroom business. You all get my drift.

41. “Must say though Kamla not a bad looking piece of ass. It might want tapping cause a lot of Indian husbands spend more time getting drunk than handling bedroom business. You all get my drift.”

Spoken like a true drunken ignorant fool. That is the problem with impotent men like you……….keep dreaming!

42. islandgal
    de boats leff dis evenin wid de tings fa de Lucians boy. hope dem all get day safe n song.
    Tanks ta all wunna-all fa mekkin um possabull.

43. @Bonny

Thanks and a safe journey for dem boats.

44. David, you should note that the developed countries don’t do it to each other… mainly to us.

Our treating each other that way is not a step forward.

45. @Doc

Point taken BU took a provocative position to stoke the debate.

46. On Monday Kamla apologised to the Carribbean Region for those unfortunate and senseless remarks she made . Although a lttle bit late I hope she would realise that such statements is not helpful in bringing the Region together into meaninful diagolgue but would lead to resentment by other caribbeancountries to her people and her country .

47. Bonny Peppa,November 7, 2010 at 12:59 AM:

“ac
    befoe you post de box a dung ta she, pass by me fa anudda box a pupp.
    You see my ROK resurface? My days n nights have bin sa lonely widout he. stupseeeeeeeee. i now feel like a new woman.”

Excellent.