Late Prime Minister The Hon David Thompson QC MP, 1961 – 2010

BU is saddened to learn of the passing of  the late Prime Minister David Thompson MP QC,. He died about 2.10 AM (23 October 2010).

We join all Barbadians in extending sincere condolences to his family – wife Mara, mother Margaret Knight, children and close family members.

In this moment of sorrow the Lord I’d in our midst and consoles us with His word. Month eye has seen nor ear heard, nor the human heart conceived what God has prepared for those who love Him. Blessed are the sorrowful for they shall be comforted. Into your hands O Lord, we humbly entrust our brother. In this life you embraced him with your tender love and opened to him the gates of heaven. The old order has passed away and you welcome him into paradise, where there will be no sorrow, nor weeping nor pain, but fullness of peace and joy with your Son and the Holy Spirit for ever and ever Rev Guy Hewitt

130 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson Succumbs To Cancer At 48”

1. @islandgal246 | October 24, 2010 at 9:59 AM | Your translation is not quite accurate, but it gets the point across. By the way, it was written for John F. Kennedy – in mourning for his death. En partant pout un voyage imaginaire. En partant, toi capitain et moi marin. I think it is approriate. He the captain and we the sailors. The wine, by the way, is described as being sweeter than honey. As you say, we could ask for no more. I think it has hit us all far harder than anyone thought it would.

2. @ Amused
    Thanks for the info , I never knew it was written for JFK. That is the English version of the song that was also sung by Nana . Merci.

3. @Amused
    here is the version anglais

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eAly81yWMJE&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&version=3]

4. @islandgal246 | October 24, 2010 at 2:04 PM | The French version is, I think, better. Here it is. Tell me what you think. I particularly like the bit about leavinglegends for our children. Most appropriate to this occasion.

En partant sur un bateau imaginaire
    En partant
    Toi capitaine et moi marin
    Seuls au monde
    Nous avons laissé tous nos amis sur le rivage
    En partant ce matin

En partant pour un voyage sans escale
    En partant
    Avec nos rêves pour océan
    Nous voyons nos vertes prairies disparaître
    Doucement
    Loin de nous loin du temps

Et farewell, adieu, so long, vaya condios
    Que le ciel nous donne ce que nous cherchons
    Hier encore, le vin était bien plus doux que du miel
    Dieu que ce temps, que ce temps était bon

En partant sur un bateau imaginaire
    En marchant sur un vieux chemin de poussières
    Chaque instant qu’il nous sera donné de vivre
    Nous en ferons une légende pour nos enfants

Et farewell, adieu, so long, vaya condios
    Que le ciel nous donne ce que nous cherchons
    Hier encore le vin était bien plus doux que du miel

5. thanks to all for the words of inspiration/encouragement. Today was a little better than yesterday and hopefully tomorrow will be better than today. still a little crying at times but I’m getting there. the next hurdle now is the funeral.

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and wisdom to know the difference.

So long my friend. RIP.

6. Rest In Peace, dear David.
    My deepest condolences to his wife, children , extended family and people of Barbados.

7. It is with profound sorrow and grief that I acknowledge the passing of the Late Prime Minister, The Right HON. David Thompson, my friend and neighbour. Many persons will never know the David Thompson that we in the Sanford/Mapps community were privilege to experience. David was a very down to earth young man and this also goes for his entire family. I remember the many conversations we had and even though we differ on many occasions, we would always remain close friends. When David became ill, our relationship got closer and we regularly exchanged e-mail messages as his health deteriorated. He liked his blackberry and hence I would always expect a response from every e-mail I sent. I recognised a spiritual side of David that grew stronger ever time we communicated. I believe that David was preparing himself for the life beyond this, therefore I am not worried about his future. I don’t believe in what some people call “untimely death”, I believe David is called to higher service, therefore I would remind you of the words the Apostle Paul wrote to his friend Timothy ” the time of my departure is near. I have fought the good fight, I have finish the race, I have kept the faith. Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of rightousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge will award to me on that Day, and not only for me but also to all who have loved his appearing. To Mara and those beautiful children, the entire community will be there for you, call on any of us as usual and we will help in anyway possible. To the children, your Dad was a good man and though he is no longer with you physically, I’m sure his spirit will continue to protect you. Weep if you want to but remember he told you life goes on BE STRONG and BE POSITIVE
    Mara, you will always be a special person to us, this Sanford/Mapps community will help you to get over this hurdle in your life. May God continue to Bless and GUARD YOUR FAMILY.

8. Condolences to the wife and family from those of us at the Banned household…

9. @Amused

C’est vrai la version francais c’est plus belle que l’anglais., mais mon francais c’est pas bon que toi. Aujourd’hui j’ai entendu que la premiere avait fait par Elvis.

10. @islandgal246 | October 24, 2010 at 9:46 PM | Je ne sais pas, mais toujours j’ai pense que c’etait Andy Williams. I will try to find out.

11. @Islandgal246. Can’t find anything about Elvis, but it was written by music legend Tom Paxton. There is surprisingly little about this work available online. However, my information as to how it relates to John F. Kennedy comes from an imperfect memory of over 30 years ago when I read the sleeve of the Nana Mouscouri recording. As I say, my memory is imperfect on that, but I seem to recall that Andy Williams recorded it as a tribute to Kennedy and sung it at one of the events surrounding the Kennedy funeral. I cannot find any confirmation on the web on it, however.

12. I don’t know much about barbados history but I know the Hymn – Safe In the Arms of Jesus would be fitting for the beloved former Honorable Prime Minister, none other than David Thompson.
    Rest comfortably in peace.

13. @ Amused

thanks very much for this information. It is great to know there are fans of Nana Mouskouri in this forum. C’etait un plaisir le savoir.

14. islandgal / Amused
    My favourite piece by Nana Mouskouri is ‘Love changes everything”.

15. Condolences to the Thompson family and all Bajans at home and in the diaspora.

@islandgal246
    I love Nana Mouskouri too! I saw her in live performances only FOUR times. Even if she sings the same songs, I always went to see her when she came. Beautiful voice, excellent phrasing, great sensitivity and tone. Her singing is almost orgasmic!

16. @Pat
    You wrote “I saw her in live performances only FOUR times”

I have never seen her in concert so you were very fortunate to have heard her live 4 times. I envy you! The purity of her voice is unmatched. She is phenomenal!

17. @Pat, Islandgal, Bonny. Careful – we are showing our age. Yes, I am an admirer of Nana. Saw her live, but only once.

18. @Amused
    I think Nana’s music will appeal to any age once they are exposed to it.

Re “Outward bound” this reminded me of a really beautiful final farewell, people in the North of India perform for their loved ones. The make small boat out of the rushes that grow by the river in which they then place the ashes of their loved ones. The priest or elder who knew the deceased would recite some verses , family members would have a bath in the river and allow the boat to start its “outward bound” journey.

19. My computer crashed,therefore I was unable to extend condolences to the family of our dearly departed former Prime Minister David Thompson . I do so now with heartfelt sympathy from my family.
    The death of former Prime Minister David Thompson is a tragic lost to this country and indeed the Caribbean.
    We had some tragic occurrences in Barbados this year.Tragic death of those six young ladies in the Tudor Street tragedy,the recent floods and now the death of our beloved former Prime Minister David Thompson.Is an omen descending on Barbados?
    Bonny Peppa my darling I did not know that my sweet heart & sugar plum was sick.Oh dear my gorgeous, I hope you are feeling better now.If this Negroman did know that my darling my was ill,I would have been there at your side nursing my sugar plum back to good health.
    l

20. Amused
    My darlin, you are so swoite. I am fifty sumting. De ‘sumting’ is what i doan rememba. LOLLLLLLLL ya sweet thang ya.

Negro
    My honey-comb, soon to be hussy, you are my cheese in a salt bread wid a red Ju-C. You are so romantic and tender like a good sirloin, you make me whet all ova n blush like Revlon. muahhhhhhhhhh. De flu hit me fa six and now my PM’s passing hit me fa sixes man. I was really sad on Saturday man. My son woke me around 3 or so and told me that he just heard and that he was taking an officer, who has no trans-p, to work at that time after it happened. I could not go back to sleep a’tall. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

21. @Bonny and Negroman

LOLLLLLLLL wunna got me brekking up! I want an invitement to de wedding yuh hear? Wunna got de ring yet? Bonny I know yuh got expensive tastes soh doan le negroman choose ( I tink he might be a Jack Benny).

22. islandgal
    girl, even if my suga-suga is a Jack Benny, he doan hol’ back when it cum ta me. He does ga de hole 9yds. why you tink i marridin he? he lovin, lovely n lovable. it gun be a garden weddin jus like back in Eden girl. I got de ‘serpent’ reddy ta temp he wid. Chawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

23. Emily Dickinson Avatar

Mr. Thompson has gone now, and no longer suffers. May his widow and children find comfort in their love for each other.

Mr. Negroman recalls Mr. Thompson in his own, special, BU-Family way on Barbados Underground:

The same Prime Minister is in the back pocket of rat catcher/mango seller Indian who brags that he has the cell number of our leader and every weekend he carries pork,beef,mutton and other foodstuff for our Prime Minister.

Mr. Bonny Peppa congratulates Mr. Negroman on Barbados Underground:

Negro My hero, ya got ma cryinnnnnn. Almost fall offa ma chair man. Ya names got ma bawlinnn. Rat muncher. I missed you so much …

24. @Bonny peppa

“I got de ‘serpent’ reddy ta temp he wid.”

LOLLLLLL yuh aint tink yuh got it sw udder way roun?
    AIN’T HE DE ONE DAT GOT DE SERPENT REDDY TO TEMPT YUH WID?………….. ah cryiiiiing wid laughter. ROFLMAO

25. islandgal
    no, no, no, in dis luv-story, is me dat got de serpent. you talkin bout de bible story? dis is de udda serpent-story. murdahhhh

26. Emily Dickinson
    Are you Robert Frosts’ conjoined twin or his duplicate? Which witch is which? stupseeeeeeeeeee

27. William Butler Yeats Avatar
    William Butler Yeats

Best condolence yet ….

“My country is mourning the death of our Prime Minister, The right Honourable David John Howard Thompson. He succumbed to pancreatic cancer at the age of 48. He passed away in the early hours Saturday morning. He is survived by his wife Mara, and his three daughters. My sincere condolences to his family. May they have the strength to endure this trying time.

P.S. I have run out of room on google online albums and I am looking for alternative free storage. Any recommendations?”

Ah, such sensitivity …

28. The three names are one and the same.

Sometimes it is good to let people expose themselves, some more. We all know David ‘no ball’ Speller is that way inclined.

29. @David

William Butler Yeats, Emily Dickinson and Frosty are all the same IP Address 200.50.87/88 and he works in Wildey

30. islandgal246 reminds us of her fantastic talents in tracking down BU readers on October 27, 2010 at 6:57 PM. Here’s isly:

“@David …all the same IP Address 200.50.87/88 and he works in Wildey

https://barbadosunderground.net/2010/10/23/prime-minister-david-thompson-barbados-dead-pancreatic-cancer/