Submitted by Kammie Holder (Project Coordinator for Barbados)

10 Persons/ Organisations planting, 10 trees at 10am on the 10th October at Morgan Lewis Hill St Andrew at 10am. Do see http://www.350.org also we are featured on their homepage. This will also be sent to the United Nations by the 350 Organisation as part of Climate Change Day of Action statement – Click Image to access 350.org website

19 responses to “International Day of Climate Action – 10 October 2010”

1. Who is that man holding the banner?

2. David
    A deportee. Um look like.
    murtherrrrrrrrr.

3. The hamsome gentleman holding the banner is Kammie!

4. It would have been nice if those children were each presented with one of those pictures as a reminder of their role and contribution to having a healthy enviroment and that everyone can play a small part in doing so worlwide. A picture speaks a thousand words. Yes Kids and Kammie we are proud of you!

5. LOL, Bonny Peppa ah love yah. Its Friday evening and I need a shot of Brandy fuh de heart while I read http://www.outsmartyourcancer.com. Have a great weekend I love you all. Remember truth over deceit!

6. Perhaps someone should underline the overwhelming benefits of increased CO2 in the atmosphere.
    From greater agricultural production. to decreased heart attacks (http://scienceandpublicpolicy.org/images/stories/papers/originals/greenhouse_gases_help.pdf).
    This political prostitute Hansen, was in 1971 forecasting a coming Ice Age but when the paymaster changed so did his “scientific” opinions.

They can’t tax natural benefits, yet, so these Carbon Credit Merchants resort to scaremongering to squeeze the last cents from already overtaxed but gullible taxpayers.

All in an attempt to revive the corpse of the discredited and bankrupt system, which got us here in the first place.

We will all soon have to face the reality of a decreasing export of oil, and these consequences will be cataclysmic for the unprepared, but let us base our response with sound science, not spurious claims from the elite’s hidden agenda, and their puppets’ climatic prognostications without base.

The climate always will change, temperature rises and falls, unlike government’s cash requirement which only rises, and the excuses for this expenditure get more flimsy as the realities become obvious.

7. @ST

It looks like we need MME to unravel this pot of mess you have dumped on the table.

8. 2ST
    Climate change is obvious people like you who have your head buried inthe sand and cannot see the connection between pollution and all the garabage that is being dumped into the atmosphere by mankind is losing sight of reality . Man cannot continue to be so igonorant and unkind to the enviroment by poisioning the air we breath.

9. Talking about the environment the spill from an aluminum factory in Hungary is mindboggling. This has come after the spill in the Gulf. When/how will nature signal its disapproval.

10. @David
    Nature fury is being shown but we continue to ignore , instead pretending that is the way nature suppose to react. Lok at incidents in many illnes some of which they are no treatments for. Look at the unusual floodings and earthquakes worldwide . A lot of what is happening can be contributed to our way of having progress . Eventually the price we will pay is going to be heavy and one that cannot be reversed if we don’t curb our drunkard way of thinking. Nature is speaking but as usual mankind doesnt like to hear the truth but instead close our eyes and ears

11. There will be nay sayers and aye sayers on the subject of climate change. I believe we have to clean up our environment. There are too many chemicals that cannot be dispersed of and pose a threat to mankind.

I agree that we have to adopt a greener alternative to living and that Barbados must play their part. Why can’t a small nation like ours set an example to others? We have become a nation of filthy people. We have to start policing our environment and prosecuting citizens. We have to find ways of reducing household , industrial and commercial garbage. Our gullies,woods beaches and homes are choked with garbage. Bajans like to quote that cleanliness is next to godliness….but it is now nastiness is an accepted norm now.

We are always looking at other countries and islands saying that they are worst than us and not seeing that we have caught up.

Matthew Farley once said on a call in program that when he went to Canada he didn’t realize how dirty Barbados was. I wondered where he was hiding before he left for Canada. The island’s health and cleanliness should be a primary concern for any government. Prosecute the fools that won’t clean up around them and those that dump illegally.

We must have a proper waste management program in place to deal with the mountain of garbage that is produced daily. Stop destroying the little piece of rock we call home!

12. THe latest bandwagon in the mainstream press is flooding in Barbados.
    So here are some reminders to the “experts” from a layman.

Concrete and asphalt roads and driveways do not absorb water.

In Barbados rainwater runs downhill until it reaches the sea.

If you build a housing develoment without a storm sewer system flooding will occur and until sewer systems are built Barbados will continue to have frequent flooding problems during the rainy season.

In a heavy downpour of rain, the wells fill up in an hour.They are not bottomless pits.

13. @ Hants

You have told it like it is. Yet every year there is flooding they blame everything except what they have done. It is only in Barbados I see the people trying to make water run uphill.

14. @Hants

Reconcile yourself to being a John D Baptist. Yes the media is on about flooding but quess who the citizens are blaming? The Drainnage Unit has been holding some flack. They cannot be blameless but the problem as you and islandgal observe is more fundemental. Where there is no vision….

Former Minister Arthur would point out that the business of running a small economy like Barbados is very expensive. We build buildings and roads etc but forget that in parallel waste management and norming the right behaviours with respect to the environment is important as well. Years after finding solar power we are still behind neighbouring islands concerning a renewable program. Barbados Light & Power solution is to support a gas line from T&T.

Prominent people in the community all say the right things regarding the need to build out a green economy but where has it gotten us?

15. Islandgal”Matthew Farley once said on a call in program that when he went to Canada he didn’t realize how dirty Barbados was.”
    Interesting.

Islandgal would you be willing to pay the additional taxes I pay to have your Garbage picked up every friday?

You are right to point out what is wrong with Barbados but where is the money to raise your standard of living going to come from?
    More tourist arrivals?

Doan worry. Be happy. I gine an get in muh car,turn on de ac to keep out de polluted air and drive to a nasty stinkin river to fish fuh salmon dat uh can’t eat cause de got in tummuch pollution.

But I am pleased that most of my Bajan friends will be fishing in Beautiful Barbados and tomorrow will be drinking rum and eating roast fish under de tamarin tree.

16. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

I’m with ST on this one… but, I disagree with him on the motivations of those who support the CO2 induced climate change theory. There will always be a few unscrupulous people who try to exploit people’s fears, but for the most part there are a lot of well meaning scientists and policy makers who genuinely believe that CO2 is a pollutant.

17. David commented “Talking about the environment the spill from an aluminum factory in Hungary is mindboggling.” What should be noted is that the spill is that of “red mud” which is the toxic residue from alumina (not aluminum) production. Such “pools” of toxic waste exists in Jamaica and Suriname! As a Bajan would it be unreasonable to be concerned with the possibility of an accident in say Suriname which is “upstream” of us?

18. What is interesting that as nature tries it damn best to correct thse problems we do our damn best to make it worse . So far the reservoir of natural resources that has allowed nature to do any necessary corrections in order to prevent a catastrophe is slowly but surely being depleted . Remember the natural resorces were put in places for obvious reasons by nature therefore it is in evitable that at some time when man has used them all up and nature can no longer have the ability to recover any of them to protect us we would all freeze to death or die in afiery furnance here on earth with only ourselves to blame

19. FYI  

FROM JEROME CORSI’S RED ALERT

420 banks demand 1-world currency

International finance group seeks remedy to looming exchange wars

Posted: October 10, 2010

12:06 am Eastern

Editor’s Note: The following report is excerpted from Jerome Corsi’s Red Alert, the premium online newsletter published by the current No. 1 best-selling author, WND staff writer and senior managing director of the Financial Services Group at Gilford Securities.

The Institute of International Finance, a group that represents 420 of the world’s largest banks and finance houses, has issued yet another call for a one-world global currency, Jerome Corsi’s Red Alert reports.

"A core group of the world’s leading economies need to come together and hammer out an understanding," Charles Dallara, the Institute of International Finance’s managing director, told the Financial Times.

An IIF policy letter authored by Dallara and dated Oct. 4 made clear that global currency coordination was needed, in the group’s view, to prevent a looming currency war.

(Story continues below)

"The narrowly focused unilateral and bilateral policy actions seen in recent months – including many proposed and actual measures on trade, currency intervention and monetary policy – have contributed to worsening underlying macroeconomic imbalances," Dallara wrote. "They have also led to growing protectionist pressures as countries scramble for export markets as a source of growth."

Dallard encouraged a return to the G-20 commitment to utilize International Monetary Fund special drawing rights to create an international one-world currency alternative to the U.S. dollar as a new standard of foreign-exchange reserves.

Likewise, a July United Nations report called for the replacement of the dollar as the standard for holding foreign-exchange reserves in international trade with a new one-world currency issued by the International Monetary Fund.

The 176-page report, titled "United Nations World Economic and Social Survey 2010," was issued at a high-level meeting of the U.N. Economic and Social Council and published in its entirety on the U.N. website.

For more information on demands for a global currency, read Jerome Corsi’s Red Alert, the premium, online intelligence news source by the WND staff writer, columnist and author of the New York Times No. 1 best-seller, "The Obama Nation."

Red Alert’s author, who received a doctorate from Harvard in political science in 1972, is the author of the No. 1 New York Times best-sellers "The Obama Nation" and (with co-author John E. O’Neill) "Unfit for Command." He is also the author of several other books, including "America for Sale," "The Late Great U.S.A." and "Why Israel Can’t Wait." In addition to serving as a senior staff reporter for WorldNetDaily, Corsi is a senior managing director in the financial-services group at Gilford Securities.

Disclosure: Gilford Securities, founded in 1979, is a full-service boutique investment firm headquartered in New York City providing an array of financial services to institutional and retail clients, from investment banking and equity research to retirement planning and wealth-management services. The views, opinions, positions or strategies expressed by the author are his alone and do not necessarily reflect Gilford Securities Incorporated’s views, opinions, positions or strategies. Gilford Securities Incorporated makes no representations as to accuracy, completeness, currentness, suitability or validity of any information expressed herein and will not be liable for any errors, omissions or delays in this information or any losses, injuries or damages arising from its display or use.

For full immediate access to Jerome Corsi’s Red Alert, get your free subscription now.

Leave a Reply to Ping PongCancel reply