Prime Minister David Thompson is scheduled to address the nation tonight (30 September 2010) at 7 PM in his first press conference since confiding details of his illness to Barbadians.  To opine that Barbadians at home and abroad will be tuned-in is probably an understatement. Since assuming office Thompson in the opinion of BU has been the most accessible Prime Minister to both public and media. It is well known ordinary Barbadians email the Prime Minister daily who is a Blackberry addict and get replies!

The government has been criticized in recent weeks for its indecision regarding how the economy is being managed. Even before the Prime Minister’s illness it was rumoured a reshuffle was in the offing. Tonight we may find out despite Senator Branford Taitt’s warning to the party if Thompson will anoint a heir apparent given his handicap.  Word on ‘underground’ contrary to the recent CADRES poll points to a healthy interest in the job by Minister David Estwick.

Let us wait and see how the next chapter in Barbados politics unfold.

167 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson to Address Barbadians”

1. Carson C
    Hello darling.

Bush Tea
    Ya tu swoite. oh lorddddddddddddd.

2. @ Henderson Bovell | October 2, 2010 at 3:35 PM |
    “I wish to set the record straight. I think it is incorrect to say that the DLP has had three (3) Cabinet reshuffles in the past 990 days or in less than three years.

The truth is, there have been four (4) Cabinet reshuffles. We must not forget that Adriel Brathwaite was shuffled in and then out of the Cabinet as Attorney General.”

Listen, HB, your pencil lacks lead! You must make up your mind if you prefer to be assinine rather than bovine. Why are you persisting with this horse shit? Is it to prove that you are a horse’s ass? After all everyone knows that in this world if you could count all the horses you would find a few extra horse’s asses, like you!

And to Check-it-out, I say that you have misunderstood my reference to institutional legitimacy, and you have led Bush Tea to play down the wrong line as well. I would have thought that from the context of my comment you would have understood that I was referring to the development of the two political parties as institutions on the landscape of Barbados.

The Right Excellent EWB left the BLP largely because of the autocratic behaviour of Grantley Adams, who refused to countenance his ideas on the financing of government outlay. Further when GHA became PM of the WI Federation he hand-picked Gordon Cummings (Short-comings), a medical doctor, as his successor in preference to Mencea Cox, who had been a taxi driver before he entered politics. But in his choice he may have been influenced by the fact that Cox wore a heavy larder key around his neck which almost led to his death by drowning at Gravesend!

I gone!

3. Ravin Craven Raven
    ‘HB your pencil lacks lead’.

That is a boss statement. Talk bout a pun. This is a classic. Never before seen or heard on BU.
    Talk bout playing wid words. My man you are blessed with the ‘gift of the gab’.
    I tip my felt-hat to you.
    Craven Raven, you are de bomb. No one can surpass your wit my man.
    I luv um baddddddddddddd.

4. When parliament resumes will PM Thompson be taking his seat in parliament?Or be given a further extension of sick leave.

5. @Macmalone

Former Prime Minister Arthur hardly attends parliament and he is not* sick as far as we are aware.

6. So, that speaks volumes. He is not after PM’ship again. When eventually ‘Sir’ Owen moves on up, into the deluxe partment on the hill, after Mia resides at de illustriatious court, rather than being championing causes in Court, you will know.

That said, we bajans say ‘the PM did this, the Minister did that’.

Then flipping well DEMAND accoubtaility and transparency legislation, DEMAND it.

If every bajan does not demand it, it will not come.

And we will continue to blame, without understanding, without recourse.

7. I s BARBADOS better off now than it was pre January 2008 ?

I challenge all who talking shoiiteee (to borrow a word from my idol and mentor -Bonny Peppa-)
    to answer that question. Answer um now SUCKERS ! OR DUCK SUCKERS !
    Be careful though I think I got wunna there.
    No ad hominem arguments here now -careful !

8. KISSMYA
    Prior to the 1994 general-elections, Barbados was suffering bad, the economy was bad, persons were losing their jobs n homes left right n centre, persons were committing suicide, dying from starvation, children couldn’t attend school because parents couldn’t afford not even lil bus fare, prostitution was on the increase, robberies, killings, vagrancy was increased, mortality rate was sky-high, AIDS, tb, leper, gonorrhoea, syphilis, herpes,bullin, wikkin was out of control, private n public sector was striking every other week, polyclinics n QEH were turning away patients who couldn’t afford to pay, infrastructure was at de lowest in years etc. then along came Mr. GENERAL ELECTIONS and YOUR party WON. And for 14 long years, everything was turned around and B/dians were living the GOOD LIFE. stupseeeeeeeeeee.
    But then greed n complacency began to take charge and again, along came Mr. GENERAL ELECTIONS JAN.2008 but this time around YOUR party lost and we’re back to GLOOM N DOOM until Mr. General Elections comes along to save us again.

THIS IS THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO ONLY YOU, KISSMYA.

And I refrained from using any ad hominems. I was careful.

Have a bright n sunny day on this wet, rainy Monday.

Shalom

9. Ravin’ CravenRaven;
    Your response still does not make sense. I did’nt mislead the Bushman. He is too sensible to be misled. He responded, on your side, to an implicit argument in your original submission.

Bushman;
    Your argument is, taken at face value, a very good one. However, anyone who is honest with him or herself and has worked as a senior Public servant at periods spanning both administrations know that there is absolutely no difference between the two of them. Personalities might differ slightly but policies are twins. The BLP is no more the party of the rich people than is the DLP. For example who did the DLP substantially assist when first they came into power in 2008? The answer is not poor people, but entities like the Turf Club and CLICO, and let me remind you that CLICO is being assisted up to now. Perhaps a reading of the PM of T&T’s address to parliament on 1st October ( http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/trinidad-and-tobago-prime-minister-clico-a-scheme-like-ponzi-a-house-of-cards/ ) might give us some cause for concern when we see the similarities of our situation with CLICO to that in the Twin Island republic. The DLP did nothing to protect Government funds in the face of what has been revealed as a Ponzi scheme by the Governments of Trinidad as well as Guyana. Why should CLICO’s operations here be any different to those in our neighbouring countries?

Similarly, the DLP is no more the party of poor people than is the BLP. Both parties have utilized a development model that tries to improve the lot of small people while trying to ensure investment by the only people who are capable of doing this, i.e. those who have access to significant sums of money.

The propaganda machine over the years has distorted anything the BLP has done for small people while accentuating the attractive but essentially vote catching entitlement programs carried out by the DLP. However, I think both parties have tried to stimulate balanced development in the Country.

10. @ checkit-out about the Bushman…
    “He is too sensible to be misled.”
    ….you mekking sport at Bush Tea now, right?
    …so how come David and MME does walk all over the bushman? ..and how come GP does make mock sport at Bushie..??
    Actually you may think that we have very different perspectives on this matter of the philosophy of the two parties, but probably not….
    The bushman can clearly see your perspective.

Obviously it will not be a clear cut, black and white situation. …. more a balance of general positions.

In any case it is very difficult to make good progress in arguments like this without a clear understanding of the ontology and epistemology of the debaters…. of the subject parties, and even of the citizens……else we risk the fate of the three blind men who explored the elephant.

11. I understand the P.M David Thompson has returned to the hospital in N.Y. Let us hope it is just routine and not any more complications

12. After Johnny Cheltenham, Estwick is the next most ‘prestigious’ Minister to hold the title of Ministry of Agriculture.

Estwick show them why you are the MAN!

13. The Ministry of Agriculture has a very important role to play in Barbados, especially at this time, because of its potential ability to provide foreign exchange with minimal domestic resource costs for export crops as compared with say, tourism; its required leadership in implementing a policy that would rapidy ensure true food security; its potential ability to provide jobs for our citizens; and its potential to partner with tourism to save scarce foreign exchange outflows through the utilization of our locally grown produce. Perhaps to this list could be added a potential ability to turn its african snail population into a valued resource that could save or produce some foreign exchange through developing cottage or other industries for using african snail protein for animal food, fertilizer or even gourmet delicacies for those with a taste for escargot.
    It is an historical fact however that the Ministry of Agriculture has practically always been viewed by politicians, plebs and Ministry staffers alike as being the Ministry accorded the lowest esteem in the hierarchy of all Ministries in Barbados. That has been proven time and time again by the demonstrable fact that workers at all levels on the administrative arm of the ministry that have been proven to be trouble makers, mentally unstable, or otherwise unfit for other ministries have traditionally been transferred to the Ministry of Agriculture (or last resort). On the other hand, good workers, who showed significant administrative potential have generally been transferred out of that ministry to other better viewed ones such as the Ministry of Finance, etc. A look also at the allocations given to the MInistry of Agriculture, vis a vis those given to the other Ministries should also cement this fact.

It is my view that the allocation of Minister Estwick to Agriculture was based on generally accepted views of the pecking order of the Ministries and therefore he could not fail to have recognized the message that was being sent to him by David Thompson. Haynesley Benn is a good fellow and tried his best in the Ministry of Agriculture but the results were no better in the context of these times than the results of that other talented and good Minister, Johnny Cheltenham, of BLP fame in his times.

The problem is that Ministers of Finance pay beautiful lip service to the Ministry of Agriculture but pay little else that is tangible as compared to the other Ministries. The Ministers are not supported to the extent they should be to ensure fulfillment of the Agriculture objectives. In addition, there is and has been for several years, perhaps decades, a disconnect at the Technical level as well. The Public Service system and the Unions ensure that workers who are provably unproductive cannot be fired but transferred, usually on promotion, to eventually reach the Ministry of Agriculture where they marinate until retirement, often taking on the role of bad role models for initially good staff with a resultant decline in morale and standards.

As far as I am aware, Public Sector reform was supposed to have remedied this but it apparently has not yet done so in a measurable way.

Sorry for the above rambling, but I was saying all that to say this. The nature of the reshuffling and Dr Estwicks initial response to it as well as an understanding of the dynamics in the Ministry of Agriculture, has not suggested to me that there are serious grounds for hope that Dr. Estwick will turn the Ministry of Agriculture around. Perhaps when Chris Sinckler comes into his kingdom, If he adds Agriculture to his portfolio, we will at last see Agriculture taking its rightful place in the pantheon of Ministries.

14. JC
    I could tell you dat he is indeed a MAN. But dat is a subject fa anudda day, not now. 🙂
    Hold tite.

15. Bro Scout
    I wonder how long this will go on for? This form of cancer is a real criminal. In fact any form of cancer is cruelllllllllll. Bro. Scout, if I was diagnosed with cancer tomorrow by Friday I would be dead man. Just cann deal wid nutton so. Pain is no friend of mine at all. No, doan ask me how I get children then? 🙂

16. The DLP IS DOOMED

Wake up Bonny (Honey0
    Take the scales off yuh eyes
    The Emperor’s news clothes syndrome got yuh or what

17. KISSMYA
    I din even notice dat de Emperor get new clothes girl. tanks fa bringin it ta my attenshun.
    As fa de scales, I did hay cleanin a few flyin-fish. Ya kno how um is? Scales flyin evry whay.
    stupseeeeeeeeee