Vybz Kartel and Mavado

The Barbados Youth Action Programme, a Government affiliate under the chairmanship of Member of Parliament Hamilton Lashley, has scheduled performances of the Jamaican duo Movado and Vybz Kartel [SIC] for a reggae show on March 27 at the Midway House carpark, Bay Street, The City according to the Nation newspaper. The quote is instructive to shed some clarity on the current debate in Barbados about whether Movado and Vybz Kartel  should be allowed to perform in Barbados.

Another quote which is instructive is extracted from the Jamaican Gleaner newspaper of the weekend: Olivia Grange, minister of youth, sports and culture, responding to this latest saga in dancehall, said: “I am concerned and I have expressed concern about the content in some dancehall songs. I believe strongly in freedom of expression, but that comes with great responsibility. We can do without some of the lyrics, not only in dancehall recordings, but soca and hip hop too, and that is why we took steps to clean up the airwaves. This is an ongoing process.

We have two contrasting positions, a naive member of parliament Hamilton Lashley who believes adding Movado and Vybz Kartel to the entertainment mix of Barbados will help the youth of Barbados to reject violent behaviour. Bear in mind the two dancehall artists have developed a reputation built on violence and smutty lyrics in Jamaica, although the much publicized peace treaty has been getting a lot of air play.  The view expressed by Grange, the minister of youth tells a story of an embattled Jamaica currently battling with the negatives of the dancehall culture.

In light of Barbados’ current challenge with tackling deviant behaviour in the wider society and particularly among the youth, it seems a no-brainer to BU that as a country we should take a deep breath, take a step back and tell the Jamaican dancehall duo to stay the hell away from Barbados at this time. Of concern is the fact Commissioner Darwin Dottin who is responsible for maintaining law and order in Barbados has expressed distaste at the staging of the reggae show which has been dubbed a peace concert. Clearly a public relations scam by the promoters of the show to deflect the criticism by many who are concerned about the gaza gully conflict which  Movado and Vybz Kartel have been embroiled in Jamaica. Yes the gaza gully conflict is relevant to the Jamaican culture but who cares, it is what the two dancehall artists represent, crime and violence!

Minister of Education Ronald Jones has also publically expressed his displeasure at the staging of the show. It was only last week Jones held a meeting with principals of our schools to map an approach to stamping out deviant behaviour in Barbados. It is therefore very surprising that the promoter continues to advise Barbados the show is still on. By whose authority?

Part of the problem in Barbados has been our willingness to be politically correct. There is the argument proffered by Wickham et al, the liberals, that in a CSME arrangement Barbados would be violating the spirit of such an arrangement. It seems that there is an acceptance that if the balance of payment situation is threatened; Barbados has the ‘out’ to implement policies contrary to the economic and partnership agreements. However on the flipside if Barbados feels that its moral positioning is being threatened, we have to sit with our hands between the legs and do nothing.

There is great interest being shown by many to see how this matter will play-out. If the show goes forward it becomes a slap in the faces of Commissioner Dottin and Minister Jones. It does nothing for how these two important figureheads in our society would be perceived by Barbadians. Already the two are battling beleaguered positions.

BU is aware that Prime Minister David Thompson and family are fans of dancehall and there is nothing wrong with them liking this genre of music. In this case we believe the banning of  Movado and Vybz Kartel by the Barbados authorities given what they represent becomes a symbolic gesture which sends the message, this is our society and we intend to fight back. Obviously one single act will not do it but in light of the many weeds and cracks which have started to appear on our lawn; we have to fight back.

Yes the deviance must be tackled in the homes but guess what, we have many children who don’t live in homes. This means the government by proxy must play the role as step-father, or stepmother for that matter.

180 responses to “Movado And Vybz Kartel Should Be Told; Stay The Hell Out Of Barbados!”

1. @ ac…

Too many fatherless children.Mummy as to play dual roles.

Some women uses these same children against their fathers too, maybe that is why they have to play both roles. It goes both ways, just that society always paint men as delinquent as soon as they are not with the mother, without even knowing the true situation. Who do you think the law favors when it comes to children?
    Who do you honestly think will get custody of kids first?….a single mum or a single dad?

2. @ Bad Man Saying Nuttin // March 17, 2010 at 10:58 AM

You should really say NUTTIN

Movado and Vybz Kartel are ENTERTAINERS just like actors in Hollywood that you watch on your TV everyday and enjoy, when the cast of the popular Bold & Beautiful came here years ago bajans flock to see them, Bold & Beautiful is one of the most corrupt programs ever…. i bet you like James Bond..who doesn’t

Its ENTERTAINMENT not a religion, who died and made you a moral police, you are trying to compare the lyrics in calypso to what Movado and Vybz Kartel sings, you really serious????

3. @ ac // March 17, 2010 at 5:31 PM

Spoken like a true typical BAJAN woman, i’m so proud of you.

4. @True Bajan

What de hell is a”true typical BAJAN woman”.

5. ac
    LOL, i want to know too. lol

6. @Technician

Yeah I fell your pain. But however in todays society that are too many women who are head of household without having any financial support from the fathers. A father’s duty isnot only to make a woman conceive ,but to be supportive in anyway neccesary to his children. Women whoseek the relief of the court in resolving childsupport does it to make the man fufill his due diligence to his family which many men refuse to do if only ordered by the court.

7. ac // March 17, 2010 at 9:41 PM

What de hell is a”true typical BAJAN woman”.

Don’t you know yourself by now?… well if you don’t then take Young Bajan to one of the womens clubs there are lots of them spread around Barbados.

8. Now that i have shaken my head in pain, i should inform true bajan that i am a male and i found her statement to be ignorant. But she would have to know.

9. @ ac // March 17, 2010 at 5:31 PM

you say that the men not supporting their children, i am not disagreeing with you in just got a question.

How comes if you want to date a woman and she has a child the woman expects you not only to like the child but to support the child financially mentally, emotionally, in short: a child must come with the child mother.

But when you are a child father and you got a child from the woman but wanna done your expected to support that child with little or no interaction from the mother, in fact with little or no respect from the child mother, in short: a child comes without a child mother.

Witch one is it?

10. If our school children are so mesmerized by the two of these wogs then God help us.

11. @ac…

Therein lies my point. We are too eager to jump on the men without knowing the real story but I am sure you know of some of the horror stories that men endure at the ‘mercy’ of some women.
    All I am saying is that it goes both ways in life.

12. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

I would like to put some ”””FIRE””” in AC’S hole
    she is too mouty and obviously defending crap

13. @Techie

My first comment was ” I FEEL YOUR PAIN. “I am showing the respect to men who might have been dealt with abad hand due to some financial problems and could not have been able meet the child financial needs.

@FIRE

When a woman speaks out she is seen an BITCHY MOUTY and a whole host of degoratory names.
    But not so for a man.

14. @Ready Done

You must recognise the signs of whether you are going to be used by a female . Their pattern of behaviour is a sure way of letting you know their intentions. Then it is up to you to accept or decline.It
    takes two to tango and you can always walk away .

15. @ ac..

My first comment was ” I FEEL YOUR PAIN. “I am showing the respect to men who might have been dealt with a bad hand due to some financial problems and could not have been able meet the child financial needs.

Why do you assume that the bad hand is due to financial problems?
    Men are not just ATMs, they love their children too.
    A bad hand comes in many forms, just that some men would never speak out but trust me, men endure hell at the hands of some women.

16. My point of view is just that .I cannot talk for every individual person. Therefore from what i have read or heard most problems in relationship happen when their is a lack of finance. I am however aware that they are many more contributing factors that can play a major role in breakingup of relationships.

17. @ true bajan
    I was going to say that
    Bad publicity is good publicity for commercial badman
    Movado is a singer acting bad
    Vibez Kartel has a cartel for vibes
    Fans are kids acting tough (like all school kids do)
    Real gangsters don’t need to buy the mixtape cd’s or dvd’s

[available at http://www.mixunit.com/]

look at it like the blair witch project where actors and marketing pretend its real

18. It is so amazing that women can bash men and blame them for even evil commited on this earth, even their own, every problem has a root issue that is caused by a man, lolol @ typical bajan woman comment, i didnt say it sister, but u (i generalize here) better look at urselves and see what u have become…anyway enuff of that ! fatherless children? what about wifeless men ? lolol u people kill me.

@ AC U actually dont see a problem with children been neglected by their mother in the pursuit of a career ? u dont ok ? no let me answer u i am not a male cha.. i am a realist , and this is a major issue we have to deal with, and this goes hand in hand with the ridiculous role model (or lack of such) that we ( yes we) men are setting for our kids !

19. Jeff has a point. So is JC’s question very valid. The two are related. In this thread alone, I see that we have identified the many problems we have to deal with in our society today. Fatherless homes, motherless homes, education deficit, music, sex, drugs, etc.

Of course, I think that Minister Stephen Lashley came to the correct decision. You cannot simply ban because you don’t like. As Jeff said, that is dangerous. I think that the many approaches by the police to address social problems lack thought. Mostly knee-jerk reactions that can only make the situation worse.

20. It appears the St. Vincent government has banned Kartel from performing.

21. @Islanderer

You made a point on Mar 17/ about woman wukkin and I resopnd in kind. Too many woman has become head of household . The only ones who suffer are the children. A family needs two parents in as much as one parent household has become the norm the long term effects to society can be devastating as we are seeing today.

22. @David

“It appears the St. Vincent government has banned Kartel from performing…”

These are backward steps. The move to ban acts that were discriminating against homosexuals, is based on the laws against discrimination and commitments invoked by international treaties such as the International Declaration of Human Rights and resulting treaties, including ILO conventions.

We set down laws. Let us enforce the laws and not just arbitrarily make decisions based on some morality factor. The next thing we should do is examine whether or not there is a true basis for the mores that prevail and whether or not that mores is a good dose of hypocrisy.

We allow ourselves to be dictated to by a system. Ever wonder why biologically it is best for males and females to have children at the earliest possible age, but the way we have set up the system, not only is sex between children illegal, but the girl and the boy that did it will be lacking support for the upbringing of those children, which will in turn affect education, employment, etc.

So we do it topsy-turvy. We educate first, get out of the formative and best reproductive years and then have children in the eve of our fertility (both males and females). So we are operating counter to what it should be, because of philosophy that flows from the application of “first world” economic theory. It is all based on currency; the almighty dollar.

So, many of us spend too much time working for too little pay. Work takes up your entire week; getting there, working and getting back home, only to start preparing for the next day before you can even get to sleep. Can there be quality time in there? How much? What about those parents who are so depressed that they can’t properly handle their children when they get home or before they fly off to work the next morning? It is a ritual.

We are paying the price for the loss of the extended family. We say it is development, but is it? The system has forced us to split the extended family up, making us weaker as we go our own separate ways.

We should re-think how we live and find creative ways to live fulfilled lives.

23. @ kiki // March 19, 2010 at 6:01 PM

I’m glad we agree, its just entertainment nothing more.

24. there was violence gangs weapons drugs etc long before rap and ragga music

25. What is obvious and we have agreed with Jeff is the need for discussion. Our society is a dynamic matter and as we have become more multicultural, the diminution of the extended family, the changing (fading) role of the Church, the pervasion of technology i.e. Internet among other changes we have to become mindful of the impacts.

We should also be careful to separate institutional law from morals. At the end of the day morals represent what a society wants and BU believes firmly such should be reflected in our laws. If this is not done what is it that makes us unique? Maybe we are satisfied to be globally homogeneous.

26. @David

“We should also be careful to separate institutional law from morals.”

While this is a traditional position, it comes back to my position re: morals. If the basis of the law is not the mores of the society, then what purpose is the law? While I may understand that not everything should be legislated, the law is seriously encroaching on morals, as we decide what is and what is not acceptable to the society as well as to stamp out certain practices deemed to be unwanted, while encouraging other practices that are more in the spirit of a civilised and developed country.

For example, once upon a time care of the elderly was left to the morals of the family, nowadays we are hearing about legislation to protect the elderly from all types of abuse including abandonment. Therefore we can no longer do what we feel like with our old people. A certain standard of care is required.

Not only by legislation, but in Tort which has produced a formidable body of case law. Such terms as legitimate or reasonable expectation has gained tremendous ground. The latter especially speaks to standards and mores in a society.

We have sufficiently fortified the law, that very little is left out and what is left out we are seeking to cover; even down to a scissors being considered a weapon. This is the important point being made when I repeat what Jeff has said; “enforce the law”, it is all there. It is not what you do but how you do it that matters. When you do it the “right way”, it lessens the tension by bringing reasonableness and social expectations/responsibilities to the table.

27. @ David

Bush Tea is in your corner on this issue. apart from the hip, liberal sound of it, I am at a loss to follow Jeff Cumberbatch’s logic in his ‘anti ban’ crusade.

Now don’t get me wrong. Jeff is one of the intellectuals in Barbados that Bush Tea likes and respects, indeed, it is our great loss that he chooses to use his real name on the blog rather than a pen name – that way we would stand to benefit more fully from his extensive intellect – rather than him having to be so circumspect…… anyway…

What is Jeff’s problem with banning?

Look…
    Bush Tea have a family. ….Mrs Tea and some tealets.
    The bushman have lived long enough to see the effects that smoking, drugs, casual sex, ….and a whole range of ills can inflict on young lives.
    Obviously, these vices will be banned in Bushville….

Naturally, some of the tealets, being young and having lived protected lives under the bushman’s umbrella – are more open-minded (naive) about these issues and feel confident that things are not as dire as the old bush man suggests……

Is Jeff suggesting that as a responsible household LEADER, Bush Tea should discard his concerns and be more liberal? that only when some young delinquent drug pusher manages to corrupt one of my family members am I justified in ‘bringing the law’ to deal with the matter….?

Is this not an identical scenario….?
    …where a Government – elected to assume responsibility for the public good, will from time to time be required to make judgmental, preemptive decisions which IN THEIR BEST JUDGMENT, is in the public’s best interest?

Surely Jeff cannot be saying that we should just open the front door to who or what soever will; to have whatever influence they may wish on our loved ones….. while we simply hope for the best and be prepared to respond when the horse has already bolted….

Doctors and Lawyers always bother Bush Tea.
    They always seem to argue along a path that suggest that it is OK to let things go wrong and to leave it for them and their respective practices to sort out……

It is called LEADERSHIP Jeff; ….and occasionally, it may be necessary to ‘inflict’ ground rules, curfews, dress codes and yes…… bans!!! in the long term interest of the family.

28. @ROK

The US society we know you hold dear to your heart has built a system which has mandated that the government must not legislate or meddle in matters of morality, it should be left to the parents. We all sit and see the kind of society the USA has become. Is that that the kind of society which we want for our little island? Sorry Brother ROK for not following the script. The reality is that we have a society where the concept of family and home is a receding one. There goes the model of the good parent/household.

29. @BT

But BT B “Banning” is not the only solution because as you well know “the forbidden fruit is always the sweetest” and the moment you tell those “tealets” that something is “banned” is the moment that they will partake of it.

“Banning” seems to be a panacea for every ill that affects our society and at the rate that things are being banned we will soon run out of things to ban or banning will become ineffective.

If parents are good examples to their children and provide the necessary guidance invariably their offspring will follow in their footsteps. We were all children and not all choir boys either but most of us have settled down and become responsible adults.

As to banning “casual sex” good luck with that one, talk about King Canute holding back the waves…..

30. @David

Hint: Not what you do but how you do it. These are modern times. What ban what? You have tools, use them.

31. @ sargeant : “But BT “Banning” is not the only solution…”

Now! Now! Sargeant, I know that you have rank, but where did BT say, or even suggest that ‘banning’ was the ONLY solution?

I agree with you! It is not even a good solution.

….but it MUST remain one of the options that a caring, loving (even if not good) parent (or Government) have at their disposal.

As you say, …far better to lead by example, to educate and teach, to inspire and coach …and all those fancy sounding terms.

…but what do you do when (as is the case in Barbados) our bushlets were raised under a regime of ‘freeness for all…’; of materialism =success?
    ..when past and present leaders set appalling examples – in their personal lives, in their business affairs; with leaders becoming rich overnight in unexplainable circumstances, with leaders who are sexually confused;…… etc?

So in the bush family equivalent, we have reached a desperate stage….. bushlets ‘doing bad’ on the ZRs, fighting and sexing in school, wasting their youth away….

What do you do in such circumstances Sarge?
    …..hope and pray…?
    ….give up and let the courts deal with it?

Sorry sir.

In Bush Tea’s house that its full time for cut-ass and bans….

32. @David

Hint: Not what you do but how you do it. These are modern times. What ban what? You have tools, use them.

Oh?

USA and many other developed countries have the tools don’t they and what is happening?

Like BT commented we have to use all the options in the toolbox to fit the requirements of the times.

The difference between Barbados and others is the unique ability we have demonstrated up to now to build our society the Bajan way and not to be dictated by any outside agenda. Hell let the US and UK annex Barbados because that is the route we are going.

33. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

I hust heard on HOTT 95.3 at approximately 16:42, A MAN SINGING A SONG THAT I HAVE HEARD ELSEWHERE

Someone calling himself =The Rebel- was the DJ/Selector

Some of the lyrics go like this
    No p***y cant suck pun de gazza
    No p***y can fuck pun de gazza
    No boy can f***k pun de gazza.

The words suck, ***k and p***y were edited out but having heard the (song) before , it was if the words were still there. THE SONG WAS CUT IN HALF as usual but the damage was already done

I have heard this (song) elsewhere and I could not believe that it was playing on radio+++++ and then Vic Fernandes is going to say otherwise.

I HAVE NOTHING AGAINST THE MUSIC BUT SONGS LIKE THESE ,EDITED OR NOT SHOULD NOT REACH THE RADIO. PLAY THEM IN THE DUB OR THE FETES BUT NOT ON RADIO

CHEESE ON BREAD MAN !

The radio edited out the word p***y

34. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

I just heard on HOTT 95.3 at approximately 16:42, A MAN SINGING A SONG THAT I HAVE HEARD ELSEWHERE

Someone calling himself =The Rebel- was the (HOTT 95.3 ) DJ/Selector/on Air Announcer

Some of the lyrics go like this
    No p***y cant suck pun de gazza
    No p***y can f–k pun de gazza
    No boy can f–k pun de gazza.

The words suck, f–k and p***y were edited out but having heard the (song) before , it was if the words were still there. THE SONG WAS CUT IN HALF as usual but the damage was already done

I have heard this (song) elsewhere and I could not believe that it was playing on radio+++++ and then Vic Fernandes is going to say otherwise.

I HAVE NOTHING AGAINST THE DANCEHALL OR DUB OR WHATEVER MUSIC BUT SONGS LIKE THESE ,EDITED OR NOT SHOULD NOT REACH THE RADIO.

PLAY THEM IN THE DUB OR THE FETES BUT NOT ON RADIO

CHEESE ON BREAD MAN !

35. @BUSH TEA

Don’t evev think about it .Once you open the door it is hard to close.
    Question :What would be next thing to ban?
    Government has power but it should not be absolute.

36. @ ”””FIRE””” // March 20, 2010 at 5:04 PM

Are you 5?…8?….or 10 years old????

They are ENTERTAINERS man, I know Movada and Vybz are not in Hollywood but its still entertainment.

They sit and write songs just like Edwin, Allison, RiRi, etc.. they go to recording studios, practice and release their music and get PAID….shit man.

Calypsonions (ENTERTAINERS) come out every year for 6 weeks sing smut, get paid and then go back to work.

Why should they not play them on the radio, did you actually hear any bad words? then go complain to Vic CEO of Starcom or the authorities and have their license pulled. You make my arse sick, anyone reading your childish… (i forgot you are a child), would think those words actually played or the radio station.

Hitler died on April 30, 1945, are you his great grandson now come to dictate to us how we should live and what we should listen to or are you the undercover moral police in Barbados?

They are alot of kids in my neighborhood and they know the difference and know better, i will give you the benefit of the doubt and guess your age or should i say intellect.

And they say we 98% literate.

37. In Bush Tea’s house that its full time for cut-ass and bans….

You aint easy BT hahahahahahLOL!

I love it I agree with you 100%

38. @ AC
    Sweetheart, there is a very good reason why children are not normally established as leaders. There is an innocent idealism in them that is vital, refreshing and sweet …but naive.

I think that you probably watch too many movies….. you know….. where they all live happily ever afterwords… but REAL life is a jungle AC.

Societies are fragile entities. You probably have lived your whole life here in Barbados – likely the very best place on the whole earth. You may feel that the stable, safe society that we have enjoyed is guaranteed to continue forever……It ISN’T

When you are older and wiser, you will realize that the kind of society that we have ,is a DIRECT result of the kind of customs and norms that have been ingrained in generations of Bajans. You will realize that if you change the customs and norms then the society will also change.

Do you understand what life is like in other places?

For example, do you have any idea of the kind of methodologies the Jamaican Police is forced to adopt as a result of the ‘bad boy culture’ which is glamorized by these ‘entertainers’ (as true bajan calls them)?

Do you have any idea of the impact of the gang activity in London in the last 20 years that is directly associated with this culture?

…….trust me AC, I have lived to see many many former bushlets return to thank caring adults who banned, disciplined, talked and spanked them in their formative years…after they had grown up and seen the light…

@ true Bajan

Is this the same ‘true bajan’ of “men are letting down the side” fame….??

Cuhdear man, you REALLY expect the BU family to take advice from you on national morality? whereas you made some good points in outlining some weaknesses of our male/female relationships – I hardly think that your standards would represent a paragon of national virtue.

So you can’t be serious!! After establishing to us all that you have the moral compass that is normally associated with a village ram?

My man, based on what we now know about your moral judgment, your support for the movado/kartel is the strongest condemnation of the thing to date…..

39. @BUSH TEA

Firstly when you give government certain kind of power .Where do you draw the line , As an adult and dare to guess a person of intelligence one does not have to look too far in the history of some countries whose people thought it was alright for the government to become part and parcel in directing their lives only to be sorry for doing so.
    Not i have not lived my entire life sitting on the Rock so i am able to comment with certain amount of knowledge of what i speak.You cannot cororalate the discipline by adults to their children to having the government telling an individual what they listen to. Moreover this also affects adults as well and does not specifically excludes children . What next would it be because the government doesn’t like what a person say on the blogesphere. Becareful what you asked for it might come back to bite you.
    Absolutepower corrupts absolutely. Government stay out of my personnel life. Carry on with the job of managing the country. Not my Life.

40. I myself have heard the song that Mr. Sinckler referred to in the house about taking way she virginity and having sex with her for the first time. This song Mr. Sinckler say should not be played on Radio. There are some songs that should not be played on radio . It was a magistrate who said that Rihanna’s song Rude Boy is a straight up sexual song and should not be played. If the song about sex on the gazza referred to above was actually played on radio minus the words $%%# and %%^$#*%^ then I agree that song should not be played. Some american songs should not be played on radio. play them where you want to play them but not on national radio. I agree with that sentiment.

41. @ Bush Tea // March 20, 2010 at 9:24 PM

“My man, based on what we now know about your moral judgment, your support for the movado/kartel is the strongest condemnation of the thing to date…..”

Shoot the messenger …but the message remains the same my friend.

42. ban all the crap -ban them off the radio———Busy Signal got a song about putting some cock pon yuh girl -I saw um pon youtube——–these fellas should be banned and not encourage. Ban them because some of the songs dont even play in Jamaica——–Ban them —–Ban those songs. Songs get banned in Barbados for less. Ban them I say BAN BAN BAN BAN BAN BAN BAN BAN———–A LOT OF STUPID SONGS ban them

43. @ B4 DAWN // March 20, 2010 at 10:11 PM

Yea lets ban them….. AND while were at it lets ban the theaters (Olympus & Globe) from showing Hollywood movies cause them got lots of sex and killing in them yea lets BAN BAN BAN BAN.

44. in 1933 Hitler and Nazi germany banned “ungerman ideas”

The rest we know is history ! we can’t ban everything we dont agree with, somewhere out there someone likes it and they have a right too….dont get me wrong, playing that shit on the radio is foolishness but we all have choices, i dont listen to 95.3 or 98.1 directly because of that stupidness, but we cant ban them…let them come, we have a choice to go or not

by the way, listen to the calypso every year getting more vulgar and lewd, and may i say our golden girl rihanna and rude girl, see lady gaga new video with beyonce, gaga kissing women in prison, …ban the calypso, ban wukkin up and daggering on the streets at kadooment and in the parties ? ban children watching you tube ? ban contone and pound ? ban nard ? ban all old sparrow ? what else can we ban that doesnt fit with our “morals” ? hey nazi germany banned the bible and then murdered 6 000 000 jews ! thats a good example, lets ban all reggae and lewd calypso and then exterminate all dub artists and their followers !

Actually i have a better idea, realise that in the sixties people fought for the right to choose, to have a right to do what they wanted, Aug 1 1834 was a long hard fight by wilberforce and others…take a damn chill pill.

45. @AC
    No need to get all emotional about this, it is not only a case of government taking such decisions – the same issues exists in all organizations.

Business places
    Sports organizations
    Disciplined forces
    Communities

SOMEONE has to lead and take decisions- otherwise we will always end up with chaos. This foolishness about “everyone deciding for themselves” has failed where-ever it has been applied.

Picture this happening at your workplace …. your business would never be able to compete against a highly focused competitor

Look at West Indies cricket. Who is in charge? everyone! …. we know the result…

When we choose our leaders, we need to do so with the expectation that they are competent to make SENSIBLE and CARING decisions based on the information available to them……it is a serious responsibility.

In an efficient organization, even very highly competent individuals defer to the ground rules set by the designated leader.
    Name me an efficient and effective group in which ‘everyone decides for themselves what the ground rules are….’

@ True Bajan

Don’t take it hard my friend, Bush tea likes to shoot messengers – especially when they send themselves……

46. @Bush Tea

An individual civil rights is the utmost of importance and must be taken into consideration when making those kind of decision. You are comparing apples and oranges when it comes to government and the above named in your comment. But as a matter of fact even those whom you have refered to walks a thin line when making such decisions because more often than not people who feel a sense of being discriminated files a lawsuit .

47. OK AC

I give up!
    …If i keep on arguing with you that Bush Bath will never come off….

48. @Bush Tea

First it was the Hood . Now YOU! Two down.

YES!

49. Discussions based on ideologue will get us no where. The house is
    burning and someone has to step up and put the damn fire out. The
    government has ultimate responsibility for the country. Yes ideally we
    would it to stick to security and matters of economic and leave moral
    issues to individuals and NGOs but if those stakeholders are not
    stepping up to the plate the big bad government elected to represent
    to PEOPLE has no choice.

Leave a Reply to islanderCancel reply