Vybz Kartel and Mavado

The Barbados Youth Action Programme, a Government affiliate under the chairmanship of Member of Parliament Hamilton Lashley, has scheduled performances of the Jamaican duo Movado and Vybz Kartel [SIC] for a reggae show on March 27 at the Midway House carpark, Bay Street, The City according to the Nation newspaper. The quote is instructive to shed some clarity on the current debate in Barbados about whether Movado and Vybz Kartel  should be allowed to perform in Barbados.

Another quote which is instructive is extracted from the Jamaican Gleaner newspaper of the weekend: Olivia Grange, minister of youth, sports and culture, responding to this latest saga in dancehall, said: “I am concerned and I have expressed concern about the content in some dancehall songs. I believe strongly in freedom of expression, but that comes with great responsibility. We can do without some of the lyrics, not only in dancehall recordings, but soca and hip hop too, and that is why we took steps to clean up the airwaves. This is an ongoing process.

We have two contrasting positions, a naive member of parliament Hamilton Lashley who believes adding Movado and Vybz Kartel to the entertainment mix of Barbados will help the youth of Barbados to reject violent behaviour. Bear in mind the two dancehall artists have developed a reputation built on violence and smutty lyrics in Jamaica, although the much publicized peace treaty has been getting a lot of air play.  The view expressed by Grange, the minister of youth tells a story of an embattled Jamaica currently battling with the negatives of the dancehall culture.

In light of Barbados’ current challenge with tackling deviant behaviour in the wider society and particularly among the youth, it seems a no-brainer to BU that as a country we should take a deep breath, take a step back and tell the Jamaican dancehall duo to stay the hell away from Barbados at this time. Of concern is the fact Commissioner Darwin Dottin who is responsible for maintaining law and order in Barbados has expressed distaste at the staging of the reggae show which has been dubbed a peace concert. Clearly a public relations scam by the promoters of the show to deflect the criticism by many who are concerned about the gaza gully conflict which  Movado and Vybz Kartel have been embroiled in Jamaica. Yes the gaza gully conflict is relevant to the Jamaican culture but who cares, it is what the two dancehall artists represent, crime and violence!

Minister of Education Ronald Jones has also publically expressed his displeasure at the staging of the show. It was only last week Jones held a meeting with principals of our schools to map an approach to stamping out deviant behaviour in Barbados. It is therefore very surprising that the promoter continues to advise Barbados the show is still on. By whose authority?

Part of the problem in Barbados has been our willingness to be politically correct. There is the argument proffered by Wickham et al, the liberals, that in a CSME arrangement Barbados would be violating the spirit of such an arrangement. It seems that there is an acceptance that if the balance of payment situation is threatened; Barbados has the ‘out’ to implement policies contrary to the economic and partnership agreements. However on the flipside if Barbados feels that its moral positioning is being threatened, we have to sit with our hands between the legs and do nothing.

There is great interest being shown by many to see how this matter will play-out. If the show goes forward it becomes a slap in the faces of Commissioner Dottin and Minister Jones. It does nothing for how these two important figureheads in our society would be perceived by Barbadians. Already the two are battling beleaguered positions.

BU is aware that Prime Minister David Thompson and family are fans of dancehall and there is nothing wrong with them liking this genre of music. In this case we believe the banning of  Movado and Vybz Kartel by the Barbados authorities given what they represent becomes a symbolic gesture which sends the message, this is our society and we intend to fight back. Obviously one single act will not do it but in light of the many weeds and cracks which have started to appear on our lawn; we have to fight back.

Yes the deviance must be tackled in the homes but guess what, we have many children who don’t live in homes. This means the government by proxy must play the role as step-father, or stepmother for that matter.

180 responses to “Movado And Vybz Kartel Should Be Told; Stay The Hell Out Of Barbados!”

1. @ Fireman…

Are we going to ban them too?

2. Is it accurate to say under the revised Treaty of Chagoramas and by extension CSME that entertainers from other Caricom countries cannot be denied entry to Barbados?

3. @ Technician
    We cannot even thing of banning the Jamaician guys if our leaders are the same or even worst. Thugs in suits!

4. @ Fireman…

Then we wonder how the youth get so.

Not so long ago there was a stink made by the grown up folks in Bim about a Senator with corn rows. I am glad to see that it was the ‘descent’ folks with the nice cut, all educated and lettered, who acted like true gangsters.

Keep blaming Reggae and dancehall along with North American influences for the youth, all the while ignoring the hypocrisy right in our own yard.
    As Sizzla says…’dance a yard before ya dance abroad…’

5. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

my big guitar is sweet

its silky smooth and round

come feel my big guitar

slip it , slide it

here comes my big guitar

every inch i have for you

The above represents extracts from a song I heard on the radio this morning. That song should be BANNED !!!!

6. whats happening in the Police Force especially with DOTTIN and his DEPUTY ???

7. What is the duty of the Government in this matter. The reality is that the Government is mandated to guide the laws and rule of law, indeed morals through Parliament and it policies and actions.

A further and more specific duty, if no more critical, lies in the interests of protecting National Security, which, as noted above, trumps other considerations.

It is clear that if the Government perceive that ANY overseas persons coming here to present are threatening ‘public morals’ and more specifically National Security, the Government has not only a right but a duty to act thereto.

Playing devil’s advocate (no pun intended), if a foreigner comes here to publicly present a case for the banning of religion in schools, what will be the reaction?

Do we have the testicular fortitude t make the tough decisions or are we going to stand aside and say ‘cuh dear, but he could come and sing a show and see that his lyrics are okay’?

No, we send them right back from whence they come. That is what the Police and Defence Force are for, waiting at the plane steps.

On the point that some refer to i.e. the lyrics, it is not only are relevant here, it is the whole lifestyle projection of these characters.

Lastly, if a citizen projects a specific image, that can be viewed as negative, certainly one may demonstrate against social ills or present a case for an alternative lifestyle, but equally, one will fall foul of the law if one is perceived as being a danger to National Security.

The answer is to refuse entry.

8. Crusoe

It is being said by some that under the CSME arrangements CARICOM entertainers cannot be refused entry. I have asked for clarification on this point before but there has been no response. I agree with your post (although I do not think that the two entertainers in question actually constitute a “national security threat”). Anyway, it is the suggestion that CSME somehow trumps concern over security in the matter of entry to Barbados by non-nationals that I find incredulous.

9. I am less than impressed with the stated concerns of the Police Force in this matter. The same Police will give a license to a shop or bar owner to regularly (e.g. every Friday or Saturday night) play loud music from a sound system set up outside of a building. The hired DJ then plays the songs of the same Movado and Vybz Kartel and others with accompanying dialogue for a whole night thereby disturbing nearby residents! In fact the local DJ format is worse given that the explicit, smutty versions of songs are often played whereas in live performances these are not allowed. Further my children (and all other children) in the surrounding areas cannot avoid hearing these unwelcomed songs that are so “broadcasted” into their homes disturbing rest and sensibilities.

10. The issue of these artistes travelling under CSME has been dealt with in the traditional media. While entertainers are exempt as far as requiring work permits under the revised treaty of chaguramus Barbados as a sovereign country can refuse entry on certain grounds to anyone entering our borders i.e. corrupting public morals, threat to national security etc.

11. David
    Thanks for your response. I hardly access the Barbados “traditional media” anymore! Would it therefore be reasonable to conclude that in spite of stated concerns by the Police, certain politicians, Ministers of Government etc, the Government does NOT perceive these two entertainers to be in anyway corrupting of public morals, threatening to national security etc? What then is the fuss all about?

12. Once again the DLP has allowed Hammie Lashley to embarrass them. Why should a person who sits as an independent in the House be given so much responsibility? Is the ruling government (DLP) short of quality M.P’s to do the parties work? It looks bad when so many government M.P’s and big-wigs could be against a show that is part sponsored by a arm of the said government . Worse is that that arm of government is headed by an independent sitting M.P. Mr. P.M is this also politics of inclusion? I personnally have lost respect for Hammie Lashley from the last time he jumped ship and went over to the BLP

13. @Crusoe

Whether the show goes bad or not this seems to support disciplinary action. Bear in mind all of Barbados have been aware of this disharmony between the two for sometime.

14. How could it happen Avatar
    How could it happen

http://www.lyricsmania.com/lyrics/vybz_kartel_lyrics_10089/all.html
    http://www.lyricsmania.com/virginity_lyrics_vybz_kartel.html

“Memba di two drop a blood pon yuh frock
    Yuh tell mi yuh madda ago beat yuh fi dat
    Two day lata me seeyuh come bak
    Yuh tun big woman yuh come fi tek cock”

“Dem wah fi war mi so mi send fi mi army
    bullets a spray dem like itsy miaki
    dis de empire coppa shot a go fire
    mr palmer got de rifle dem weh taller than palm tree”

What an affront to people’s sense of decency. The people advocating that this man who sings these songs could never be aware of the lyrics to Vybz Kartel’s songs. If they are, then they have misplaced values and ethics. I fail to see how someone who sings about ‘tekking way’ a young girl’s virginity and taking pictures of a girl on his ‘c…k’ with his blackberry should be seen as some model to speak to children in a school. What was the PM’s aim some time ago in having this said person at the the PM’s residence? The authoritative is issued to ZR drivers not to play these types of songs/music on the vans but we bring the said artistes here to perform?

Who listening to these lyrics could conceive that this is somebody fit to speak to their children? Which puny brain came up with this idea? Is this a sign of disintegration in society and less shared values?

As for freedom of movement, freedom is not absolute and there is no unbridled right to freedom of movement.

15. So the knight in shining armour finally gets the show cancelled.

When a private promoter, staging a show for adults, can be force to cancel that show because of an outcry from a hypocritical society, I say dark days are ahead.

Obviously, these people are unaware of the numerous strip shows and skinout competitions, held at various locations around the island. The probability is high that they are also unaware of dog fights, cock fights, illegal gambling or big hardback men sleeping with and impregnating schoolgirls. Of course they do not see what occurs during the state sponsored wuk up festival.

The whole thing becomes even more amusing, when one remembers that not too long ago, one of these same performers was the headline act, at a show held by the same knight in shining armour.

I predict that there will be a dramatic increase in the popularity of these two performers among the same youth he now claims he is protecting.

16. DAVID THOMPSON AND THE DLP——-HAVE ”””FAILED”””——————————————————MISERABLY

17. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

THE ABOVE COMMENT CAME FROM –”””FIRE”””
    sorry for the ANON -MIX-UP

I AM ”””’FIRE”””
    and dont you forget that———–bun dem wicked people

18. The big question is “has there been a similar attempt made in Jamaica for these same two individuals to come together and talk to the youth there? Remember, people are being murdered because of these two guys and I’ve always heard “charity begins at home.”

19. Since these two guys are to tell our youth that what they are doing is just entertainment, can we then get two of our notorious thieves in Barbados to also address our youth and tell them not to follow their style because it’s just a job?

20. Never fear the Minister of Education is going to wash all the calypsonians/entertainers mouths out with soap. If they know what’s good for them they won’t write or sing any trash, rubbish or foolishness.

If you think I’m lying he is pictured with the pipe that he is going to use for that purpose, all I’m waiting for is the bar of “blue soap”.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/Minister-Jones-on-Vybz-and-Calypsonians-FRONT-PAGE-LEAD

21. MAN PON TOP 'O' MAN Avatar
    MAN PON TOP ‘O’ MAN

Man ! dont mind Jones talking crap !
    Barbados gotta be careful. This is a dangerous development. If this crap that he is talking is allowed to flourish Art is Art and Art will come under attack if it does not favour certain people and yuh really cant have that-Man !!!

MAN ! We need to get rid of all the ills including the socalled alternative lifestyle , if yuh can call um dat -Man !

22. Bajans are in for the ride of their life with that ignorant dictator minister of education

23. Ronald Jones keep up the good fight ignore the detractors.

24. Y is it that as soon as a person is in the public’s eye whether as an enteratainer or politician they are considered a “role model”

I find that to be alot of nonsense….

25. If you want Bajan society to denigrate into British society, then let these performers, and those like them, into the country. The people that defend their right to ‘entertain’ are perverse. It’s not just about the effect of these lyrics on children, the lyrics influence adults too.

26. If you really want to understand what is really going on I suggest you do as I have and research the puppet masters and their hidden agenda.As you progress you will start to clearly see what it is all about.VYBES CARTEL,JAYZY and Co. etc are just puppets under the ‘UMBRELLA’ of those puppet masters.Somebody help RIHANNA!
    Check out: http://www.infowars.com,www.vigilantcitizen.com,www.jesusissavior.com and take it from there.

27. […] BU has not forgotten the incident which occurred recently when Deputy Commissioner Bertie Hinds flipped a decision made by Commissioner Dottin as soon as he was at the airport. Those who have observed […]

28. […] March 2010 BU took the position against allowing Movado And Vybz Kartel to participate in a ‘face to face’ with our youth. In fact we went further and told the pair […]

29. “Dr, Dr, pon mah soul dun put injekshun in de wrong hole.”
    Ent like tings sah changeup.

Yelow Bird