Submitted by a BU family member

barbados_flagIt seems that, having failed miserably in his efforts to acquire Kingsland Estates Limited and to drag Barbadosโ€™ court and government and people through the mud in the Ontario courts, Canadian (Albertan) Peter Andrew Allard is attempting now to sue Barbados under a Canada – Barbados bilateral trade agreement.

The attempt to subvert and use the Canada-Barbados bilateral agreement is not new for Peter Allard. Indeed, back in 2005, just after Madge Knox lost her Privy Council appeal, Allard engaged counsel from the Ottawa office of prestigious Canadian and international law firm Gowling LaFleur Henderson LLP to bring just such an action, not in respect of Graeme Hall, but Kingsland Estates Ltd. He couldnโ€™t make it stick then and his chances are no better now.

Allard bases his case on Graeme Hall and, Canadian that he is, attempts to tar Barbados in the eyes of the Canadian public with not looking after the ecosystem of Barbados and that this has impacted negatively on his investment in Graeme Hall (which has been on the market for sale for about 2 years now at an asking price of Bds$24 million. He is now asking for US$35 million and involving Barbados in yet another costly and unmeritorious case.

However, as BU family member Pat has pointed out, Allard should start his crusade in his own country and his own province and stop minding the business of Barbados.

Pat, never known for the mincing of words, says:

// October 29, 2009 at 11:30 PM . Peter Allard never gives up. He hitting out at Barbados and the pollution by the sewerage treatment plant. Well, let me tell Allard, to just look at Ottawa. Every time there is a large rainfall, hundreds of millions of gallons of raw sewage is pumped into the Ottawa River.

This is disturbing because towns downstream โ€“ Wendover, Hawkesbury, Alfred, etc. get their drinking water directly from that same river. The City was fined last year by the Province, but the practice has not stopped. This means that all the beaches are closed for weeks at a time because of the high e-coli not only in the water, but in the sand as well where the water rises when it rains.

Allard should also look at the Alberta Tar Sands, where oil is being extracted to feed the American behemoth. He should go document the environmental damage being done from those operations.โ€

Well said, Pat and it can be added to.

Allard and his employees at BFP and Keltruth have taken issue with our own Royal Barbados Police Force, claiming that it is not just ineffective, but totally corrupt. Maybe he should start looking at corruption within the law enforcement agencies in his own country, Canada. Go work on those. Many cases, the most compelling of which is the murder of native-Canadian Dudley George at Ipperwash by a subsequently convicted member of the Ontario Provincial Police during an OPP operation and the (unproved) allegations of implication in this murder of then Ontario Premier Bill Davis. And many others like it.

Which brings us to Nelson Barbados and Graeme Hall’s own in-house policeman (retired) the shadowy and illusive former Toronto police officer, Donald Best.

DONALD ROBERT BEST is the sole listed officer of Nelson Barbados Group Limited, clearly a shell company set up solely to sue Barbados, its officers and many of its citizens and to try to bring them into international disrepute in order to go behind the decision of the Privy Council that denied the lands of Kingsland Estates to Peter Allard/Madge Knox. And at the same time to drag Barbadosโ€™ name through the mud.

To date, the case has cost Barbados and its citizens over $3 million and, having won the motion against Ontario as a jurisdiction and the appeal having been dismissed with costs, the costs in this case are now to be decided.

Due to the extraordinary conduct of Nelsonโ€™s counsel, K. William McKenzie of the firm of Crawford McKenzie McLean, Duncan and Anderson (whom we will discuss later in this and other reports in some detail), counsel for Barbados and others have decided to pursue this law firm and McKenzie for costs, in the event that they cannot be got from Nelson Barbados and its sole officer, Donald Best, and to force Nelson, through the Ontario courts, to reveal the names of its shareholders and financial backers so that they too can be pursued for costs.

So, what do we know of this Donald Robert Best, other than what is provided in Wikipedia? Nothing you say? Well, you are right! BUT it is quite a lot of nothing.

Mr. Best, a frequent visitor to Barbados, is known to stay in Barbados either at a private residence at Chancery Lane or at a small guest house/hotel in the same area close to Long Beach. Mr. Best would appear to have enjoyed an extremely close connection to the Graeme Hall Nature Reserve and its chairman, Peter Allard.

Counsel for Barbados, our PM, CJ, A-G and other officers, as well as many of its corporate and private citizens, have hired an Ontario firm of private investigators to track Mr. Best and they have come up with some startling information.

There is a dearth of meaningful information about Donald Robert Best. Particularly, it is seen that he has taken extraordinary care FOR SOME YEARS PRIOR TO THIS ISSUE WITH NELSON SUING BARBADOS AND ITS CITIZENS to secret his home address from all and sundry. He was in hiding LONG BEFORE this case started. Instead of a home address, his history is replete with rental drop box numbers as follows:

427 Princess Street, Suite 200, Kingston, Ontario.

250 The East Mall, Suite 1225, Toronto, Ontario

250 The East Mall, Apartment 1225, Etobicoke, Ontario

250 The East Mall, Suite 1715, Etobicoke, Ontario.

113 Dunlop Street East, Unit 1928, Barrie, Ontario.

40 Coldwater St E, Orillia, ON, not a drop box, but an address he shared, until very recently (at least officially) with the law firm of Crawford McKenzie McLean Duncan and Anderson LLP, counsel for Nelson Barbados Group Limited and its non-corporate, non-entity fake precursor, Nelson Barbados Investments Inc.

Motor vehicle license searches for Donald Robert Best do not provide a residential address, as they are required to by law. Instead, Donald Best has provided an address which, if you look at the list above, is eerily familiar. It is 122-250 The East Mall, Apartment 1225, Etobicoke, Ontario. This address, in all its Best-manufactured glory, is that of a mailbox at UPS Store No. 122 located in the Cloverdale Mall in the Toronto suburb of Etobicoke, Ontario. It is neither apartment nor suite and cannot be used for a residence. Equally, there is no telephone number (not even a cell phone number) and no fax or even an e-mail. That from a man who has made a living out of internet piracy.

As has previously been pointed out on BU, searches on the Internet on such sites as Canada 411 have been fruitless. BU reported all that was known about Donald Best at

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/03/13/nelson-barbados-group-ltd-vs-barbados-and-othersthe-other-side-of-the-kingsland-estate-court-matter-part-xvii/ . All that is known other than that, is the following:

FULL NAME: Donald Robert Best

DATE OF BIRTH: June 7, 1954

ONTARIO DRIVERS LICENSE NUMBER: B2825-17375-40607

ASSOCIATION MEMBERSHIPS: Toronto Police Association (and Allardโ€™s BFP and Keltruth mouthpieces have the gall to critisize our RBPF??!!) which gives his former and long-abandoned address of 123 Mountain Park Road, Hamilton, Ontario AND NO CURRENT ADDRESS.

It is the considered and expert opinion of the private investigator (and BU has a copy of the report in order to support its claim of fair comment, should anyone be thinking of making any complaints) that Mr. Best has deliberately taken extraordinary steps for a number of years in order to conceal his whereabouts. Wonder why?

Since Mr. Best is a habituรฉ of Barbados, are there any of BUโ€™s readers who may be able to assist in tracking down Mr Donald Best, please either post the information here for all to read or alternatively send it by e-mail to any one of the defendantsโ€™ counsel that Keltruth has been so obliging as to list for us all in the past. If you prefer not to have to brave the cyberspace premises of Keltruth, please be advised that Barbados, our country, is represented in Ontario by Mr. Lorne Silver of the law firm of Cassels Brock (and we are indebted to Keltruth for this information) and his e-mail address, which we have obtainedon the internet from the Cassels Brock website, is: lsilver@casselsbrock.com.

What everyone is probably longing to know is why Mr. Best deems it necessary to hide his whereabouts so manically. We have a pretty good idea, but the truth may well be even stranger. We know that:

* he is a former Detective Sergeant with the Toronto Police that, he testified under oath in 2004 that he left he left the Police in order to take over the family business because of the death of his father – so we encourage disaffected siblings to come forward;* he is the most notorious deep-cover satellite piracy investigator in Canada and Florida – so if any satellite people want to come forward, please do;

*ย  he was the primary investigator in over a hundred anti-pirate decryption actions launched by satellite television companies Bell ExpressVu (now called Bell TV) and DirecTV and smart card manufacturer NDS Group (formerly News Datacom, NDC) in the pies of all of which the Allard family (as in Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary) are reputed to have their fingers – let us hear from any of those adversely affected by Mr Bestโ€˜s activities;

*ย  he is a Certified Fraud Examiner – only in Canada.

*ย  he developed some condominium projects in Barrie, Ontario during the late 1980s and early 1990s and owned a commercial flooring company in that city – any comments from those in that area; and

he is a close friend and former witness of K. William (โ€˜Billโ€™) McKenzie of the law firm of Crawford McKenzie McLean Duncan and Anderson LLP.

There is an unsupported rumour that Mr. Best resides in Miami Dade and is a close friend of Kathleen Davis (nee Knox) the daughter of Madge Knox. Madge Knox is herself now facing an action in the Barbados High Court for fraud.

Mr Best and his cohorts (including the Knox family) have used certain blogs to drag the name of Barbados through the mud, while hiding themselves beneath rocks, down sewers and gutters and behind UPS drop boxes. Now their cover appears to be coming to an end, as we raise public awareness.

Watch this space for a lot of updates, including a very revealing and fully supported exposรฉ on other Allard associates.

For the time being, just log on to the website of Crawford McKenzie McLean Duncan and Anderson LLP. You will find no photographs or CVs of its solicitors, unlike those that you will find in most Canadian law firms like Fraser Milner Casgrain, Heenan Blaikie, Cassels Brock etc. Even the small law firms have those, but not Crawford McKenzie McLean Duncan and Anderson LLP. Modesty? SURE!

Then, go on the web and see if you can find a photograph of Peter Allard – you may, but no more than one. Then try to see if you can find any background information on Allardโ€™s โ€œconsultantโ€ at Graeme Hall, Stuart Heaslet, other than his association with Graeme Hall. It would appear that this middle-aged man in his 50s has sprung full formed from under places we know not of and we do not know what he looks like. So, while speaking authoritatively on matters ecological in Barbados, we have no clear idea of what his background is that qualifies him to speak – or even what he looks like. When Heaslet, in his snidely and secretively taped conversation with Peter Simmons talks about future ecological ventures in Barbados, he makes the comment, as if it means something, โ€œYouโ€™ve got Stuart Heasletโ€. But just who the hell IS Stuart Heaslet? Is Stuart Heaslet, like Nitin Amersey, an Allard man with no practical qualifications other than a university degree (in business, of course) and practical experience in making shirts and underwear who is suddenly, like Amersey, pitch forked into heading an ecology-oriented business?

Amersey now heads an outfit called Environmental Solutions (another Allard satellite based in the USA? – we merely ask) and has sworn affidavits in the Nelson Barbados affair in a matter with which he has no connection or standing whatsoever (nor any knowledge) as the Ontario courts have pointed out in their published judgments.

Amersey, a former Toronto-resident, appears to have surrendered all his Canadian holdings to his wife. Divorce? Once again, we ask. Or is it a matter to engage the Ontario-registered attentions of Donald Best? Or maybe Canada Customs and Revenue Service? This is not an accusation, merely a request for information. Enlighten us, Mr. Amersey. We will give equal prominence to your explanation. And apologise for any mis-impression (if any) our question may cause.

But, let us not forget Mr. McKenzieโ€™s โ€œstudent-at-lawโ€ in the Nelson Barbados case, Marc Lemieux, who, as we have pointed out is as shadowy as Best and McKenzie and Heaslet and Allard himself and whose activities have been the subject of a report in the Globe & Mail for very strange goings-on in Egypt that included the involvement of members of Canadaโ€™s diplomatic mission to Egypt – strangely similar to the incredible actions by a member of Canadaโ€™s mission to Barbados carried out on behalf of Allard and published by BU as a public domain document provided as John Knoxโ€™s exhibit โ€œPโ€ to his affidavit in the Nelson Barbados action in Ontario. Modus operandi operating here, or not? Once more, we ask.

There is a rumour circulating that we can easily obtain confirmation for that Nelson Barbados relies for its standing to bring its case in Ontario on its supposed acquisition of Madge Knoxโ€™s Kingsland shares. We know that there is currently a part-heard action for fraud before the Barbados courts to have any transactions in respect of those shares and their transfer by Madge Knox set aside on the basis of fraud. Nelson Barbados has not entered an appearance through counsel as interested parties in that matter. BUT PETER ALLARD HAS. In the person of Mr Mohammed Khan, attorney-at-law, formerly of Inn Chambers, the nest of Knox attorney, Alair Shepherd. We impute no wrong-doing, merely we point our a coincidence and this is a matter of Barbados High Court record and, if challenged, we will document and prove it.

In the next weeks, a catalogue of infamy will be revealed here and will become known worldwide as, with the assistance of court documents, we set about correcting the false impressions given of us as a nation by certain allegedly Allard-enfranchised, Knox-operated blogs. We are encouraged to expect that certain organs of the international fourth estate will also now join in where BU has led and use their considerable resources and contacts to reveal what Allard is so careful to try to conceal. That they are not bound by the constraints imposed by membership of the Law Society of Upper Canada and the Barbados Bar Association will become apparent.

SO, IF ANY OF BUโ€™S READERS CAN THROW LIGHT ON THE ACTUAL WHEREABOUTS, RESIDENCE, TELEPHONE AND FAX NUMBERS OR EVEN CELL NUMBER OF DONALD ROBERT BEST, LET US KNOW.

Let us delve into the affairs of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary and the backgrounds of the players it shares with Nelson Barbados Group Ltd.

105 responses to “The Secretive World Of Peter Andrew Allard And The Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary: Does Barbados Need Any Of It?”

1. Wow. Wow, wow, WOW!! Oh sh***!!! A modern-day, white Sidney Burnett Alleyne, minus merceneries (or maybe they en get hey yet). Defense Force better be ready.

2. I have a real concern and it involves the position taken by the Canadian Federal and Provincial Governments on the matter of prevention of terrorism. If Mr. Donald Robert Best has been able to hide himself (either in Canada or the USA) so as not to be traced, it says very little for the effectiveness of the US Homeland Security and its Canadian equivalent. In fact, it highlights the need for even more stringent anti-terrorism measures. If Best can do it, anyone with Allardโ€™s kind of money backing them can do the same. This extends not just to terrorists, but to international criminals generally. I disagree with the arguments of Mr. Henry in favour of finger printing at our ports. Finger printing in the public consciousness means that they are criminally suspected of something and this is not good for a tourist destination – it makes it look like a police state, even although the motive is obviously to protect all human life and property. However, I strongly urge our Prime Minister to consider implementing the eye scan and recording that is about to come into use at most European ports.

3. Again we repeat, we have a matter which started as a family dispute which has escalated to the law courts in Canada and Barbados. Now the matter has mushroomed to include Barbados and many of its citizens as far as Nelson Vs Barbados is concerned. Now the GHNS with the same actors are dragging Barbados into the international Courts again. How much is too much?

It is time for the media and other stakeholders in Barbados to take notice. Barbados’ good name is being sullied and tossed about in the international courts with scant regard to the respect a sovereign nation should be commanding.

This is bullshit.

BARBADOS FIRST!!!

Welcome to those of you linking from Lawbuzz.

4. David, after that long post and your comment we are none the wiser as to what the heck you you are talking about. I do not see any links in your blog to any legal action by GHNS. After searching the web it seems that this is this what you and your “BU family member” (BWWR?) are referring to.

http://www.graemehall.com/legal/papers/BIT-Complaint.pdf

and this

http://www.reuters.com/article/pressRelease/idUS150474+28-Oct-2009+PRN20091028

FROM GHNS WEBSITE
    http://www.graemehall.com

Bilateral Investments Treaty Complaint
    The information herein refers to the current action by the owner of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary under the terms of the Agreement For The Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments between Canada and Barbados.

The Canadian owner of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary, an eco-tourist facility in Barbados, has filed a complaint alleging that the Government of Barbados has violated its international obligations by refusing to enforce its environmental laws, thereby allowing increased pollution and land development to damage the Sanctuary.

Notice of the dispute was given to Barbados in accordance with the Agreement For The Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments between Canada and Barbados.

The complaint alleges that Barbados has consistently refused to enforce its domestic environmental laws and to abide by its international obligations under the Convention on Wetlands and Convention on Biological Diversity. This has led to a radical escalation of polluted runoff into the wetland.

According to Peter Allard, chairman and shareholder of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary, over $35 million (US) has been invested in the 35-acre Sanctuary to preserve the last significant mangrove woodland and wetland on the island. The Sanctuary is within the last 240-acre green space on the island’s South Coast between the Airport and the capital of Bridgetown, and is also part of the Ramsar wetland recognized by the Convention on Wetlands of International Importance.

Increasing fish and crab kills have been observed in recent years along with unpredictable water levels and toxic algae blooms allegedly caused by years of sluice gate and pollution mismanagement, dumping of raw sewage by the government-run South Coast Sewage Treatment Plant, and other factors.

In 2008 Barbados formally reversed the original protective land use policies embodied in the 1988 National Physical Development Plan that promised environmental buffers around the Sanctuary investment and the wetland.

The new zoning for the area calls for commercial and residential development for the majority of the 240-acre green space at Graeme Hall, despite a 6,000 signature petition by citizens of Barbados to create

5. @Nostradamus

Bajans have a saying ‘play ignorant’.

You had your chance to post the GHNS action and as always BU will be accommodating to all views.

It is fine with you for others to lick Bajan name all over the place and patriotic Bajans sit like dummies and take it?

No way!!!

6. David, I really don’t understand your comment above.

I have not expressed any “view” and simply posted the missing links. There was reference to a legal action but no info. on it.

I thought the information would be helpful to your readers.

7. “Nostradamus” aka K. Davis et al, have you not got the message that we Bajans have had enough of this tired old Canadian white man with his Knox family and the old Knox woman who should be keeping she ass quiet in the Lord’s departure lounge and the Heaslets and Best/Lemieux and McKenzie and that lot of shady shi*** that think wunnah can come in and take over we country? Well, Barbados (not BU and BWWR and Pat and myself or any of your usual targets, which means all who disagree with your perverted, baseless slanders) are going to show wunnah that if you want to throw mud at we, you throwing at the best cricketers this world has ever seen – so expect the response to be hot. You want mud, you got it!!!!

8. LawBuzz is very interesting. Here is the URL and, slap my butt and call me spanky, but it seems that McKenzie’s law firm has comments to make there. Have LawBuzz had this update, David? Wuhloss. Shame and scandle in the [Knox/Allard] family. Here is the URL for LawBuzz: http://www.lawbuzz.ca/index.php?showtopic=25456&hl=nelson+barbados+group. So Nostradamus, given your moniker we would have expected you to have foretold all this. Spirits not working for you? Try some good Barbados rum.

9. Wait, hold hard. You telling me that there are two parties claiming they own Old Woman Knox’s shares in Kingsland? Allard saying to the Barbados courts that the does be he ones and Nelson Barbados telling the Ontario courts the does be they own? What kind of nonsense is this? I gon have to call old Old Woman Knox by a different name – Greatgranny Fraud. She should be shamed of sheself. This is nonsense.

10. @ Concerned. Bovine excrement, muh brother, bovine excrement! Not just nonsense, brother, bull sh**. Allard couldn’t have told the Canadian courts they did he shares and saved all that money in Canada? “Philanthorpist” my a**. There is another word for him, but I too polite to say it. I real angry now.

11. Anon, you would be a lot angrier if you knew that Allard pays a BAJAN – name of Desmond Bourne – to write the BFP blog which is forever flinging Barbados’s good name in the mud. I am rather surprised that most people don’t realise that. It was exposed on FOUR different blogs recently (BFP included). The word “vicious” which is used extensively by Bourne is used extensively on BFP, and there are hundreds of other telltale signs, if you carefully and analytically read through the lines at BFP. It is very transparent. And if you think Allard is going to stop throwing his weight about, and threatening the Barbados Government, think again. Keep an eye on the BFP Bourne.

12. I have said my say on this matter all that is left for me to say that I am very sad to seen where Allard is trying to take this and he of all people should try to raise his standard of good behaviour and respect the place that has allowed him the right to call his home.

13. I must say that I fully support David in his call above that enough is enough.

14. I am very disappointed in Mrs. Knox and her family. I have known them all for a number of years and thought they were fine, upstanding people. It just goes to show you that you cannot judge the book by its cover. I do not know the other people they are involved with. Disgusting. Enough is enough.

15. @PATRIOT // October 31, 2009 at 10:33 AM. I suspected who the main man at BFP might possibly be some time ago. The arrogance of the writing style had similarities. However, to be fair, neither of us knows for sure. There have been a lot of people accused of being BFP and it is not just one style there, but several. With respect, and while admitting that you may be right, I don’t think we ought to accuse anyone without proof. Otherwise, we are no better than BFP and its yardfowls. What you are right about is that it never stops trying to bash Barbados, particularly when it may advance Allard’s cause. It didn’t even notice that David had posted the info on the action brought against us by Allard a full two days before BFP, closely followed by Keltruth, did the same.

16. BU has updated this link to Lawbuzz.

17. “Concerned”, “Anon”, “Patriot”, “Disappointed”, there’s nothing like a little “astroturfing” to support your postion huh?
    As for Pat’s quote used in the article, I don’t suppose anyone checked the veracity of her claim or are we just to take the position that if Pat says it, it must be true?

18. Anonymous // October 31, 2009 at 2:20 PM. I don’t know Pat personally, but have had the pleasure of reading her insightful (and extremely outspoken) comments many times. What I have found true of Pat is that her comments are always honestly held beliefs based on the available evidence and she has no problem reversing herself if anyone gives her evidence why she should do this. So, Anonymous, give her the evidence to make her change her mind. Show her where her comments about the Ottawa river and beaches are false and what she says about the Alberta Tar Sands is sh***, and I have no doubt she will change her position – and announce it loudly. But the evidence is all on the internet to support her views. Or are you speaking about her comments about Allard. Because if you are, please start with supported rebuttals that will negate the overwhealming evidence to support Pat’s view.

Come on, Pat girl. You must be done the bottling and baking by now. Canadian Thanksgiving gone. Speak!!!!

19. But is there no concern here about the destruction of the sanctuary? It is the only remaining wetland in Barbados and could have been a valuable addition to our tourism. Yet we spend time pouting about white people this and that or if Ian Bourne runs the Barbados Free Press. Who cares ? The question is why have successive Barbadian governments not come up with a plan for preserving this national treasure and is it in contravention of its own laws or any conventions our overfed politician jetted off to sign- (which is probably not an issue for most anyway because our โ€œlawsโ€ seem more suggestive than anything else in ). Why did the sluice gate not work etc? If a citizen group took government to court over its aiding in the destruction of the wetland would it be able to reverse governmentโ€™s decision? Ok you can stop laughing and get up off the floor now. But this is so basic. Instead somebody notes that โ€œa white man sue Bโ€™dosโ€ and we all jump up and wave the flag and cease dealing with our issues. So Barbados Underground, where is the analysis of these issue. Wait donโ€™t tell me. These issues are โ€œcomplexโ€

20. If you have read BU overtime the matter of GHNS and Nelson Barbados Vs Barbados have been analyzed maybe more than anywhere in the media. BU has come to the realization a long time ago that the issue of GHNS and the Kingsland Affair are interwoven and as a result has become a highly political issue. The GHNS and Kingsland matter given the water under the bridge has taken on the characteristics of a brawl. Commonsense and analysis has been tossed through the window a long time ago, regrettably.

21. Yambelly // October 31, 2009 at 7:00 PM

If a citizen group took government to court over its aiding in the destruction of the wetland would it be able to reverse governmentโ€™s decision?

Mr./Ms. Yambelly, if you have the evidence to prove this, then WHY dont you take the government to Court? CHEUPSE.

@Anon

Man, I in a bad mood. Not up to arguing tonight. Just got back from the horsepittal. My Mom was admitted last night and is in ICU. She is 80 and had difficulties breathing. They thought it was her heart, but our hearts are strong like horses. (On her side all the women live well into their 90’s.) Sadly, they found a blood clot in her lungs. However you look at it, that is not good.

Will answer the nutcase tomorrow.

22. Anonymous // October 31, 2009 at 2:20 PM

โ€œConcernedโ€, โ€œAnonโ€, โ€œPatriotโ€, โ€œDisappointedโ€, thereโ€™s nothing like a little โ€œastroturfingโ€ to support your postion huh?
    As for Patโ€™s quote used in the article, I donโ€™t suppose anyone checked the veracity of her claim or are we just to take the position that if Pat says it, it must be true?

Look, leff muh lone nuh. You tink I live here an doan kno wuh happening in muh town. Just google Ottawa sewage and tar sands, Alberta. Harper and his governmnent concerned that Obama the environmetalist may not be too interested in tar sand oil.

But then, I could just be a boss liar, who sits here and thinks up these wild tales. Uh got headache, uh gone.

23. @Pat

Sorry to read about your mother’s plight. Hope she gets better soon.

24. Indeed, Pat. Echo David and hope she gets well soon. Hang in there, girl.

25. @ David and Anon

Many thanks, much appreciated.

26. I think we have to deal with Peter Allard and his cohorts in the same manner in which they operate.

We have to out think them and work in the grey areas of the law when necessary. I dont know why it is so important to get Best’s residential address, but it can be had if you know where to look and who to ask. I know of three definite sources where this can be acquired.

I think the solicitors representing Barbados/Bajans interests should fire that Investigative firm and hire a retired police detective, or even a current one who moonlights. Give hime $ and free reign to operate and they would have the information in days. You have to think like a crook when dealing with potential crooks whether they be real, imagined or perceived.

27. @Pat

It would help if the local media supported the blue yellow on this one. Public opinion should not be underestimated and there is a strongly held view Bajans would be very upset about the bullshit around this matter. It would be in the DLP’s interest to expose it and force Mia Mottley to decide which way to go. Some good politics could roll-out!

28. David // November 1, 2009 at 5:22 PM
    I tried sending you an email with the three sources for Best’s current address, but it was returned. I will resend it outside of Opera.

29. For those of you who do not think this complaint being brought by Peter Allard against the country of Barbados is frivolous with the sole intent to denigrate and malign the reputation of the island, just look at the reasons stated for the action.

I would then ask you to consider whether some crabs and tilapia being stolen is more important than the protection and safety of people’s lives.

In Alberta, the province has issued licenses for 6 sour gas wells to be drilled within the environs of the City of Calgary. The nearest one being 1.1 kilometre from the City limits and not much further from the Bow River.

For those of you, who do not know the contents of “sour gas” google it. Check the chemicals that are released into the air. Google ‘sour gas Calgary’ and ‘sour gas wells Alberta’.

I just finished watching a documentary on the subject on TVOntario – the educational channel- and was awestruck. The rate of MS in Alberta is several times the national average and concentrated in the vicinity of sour gas wells.

But this Peter Allard has the nerve to talk about Barbados not protecting wetlands by providing a buffer zone for his precious swamp, when in Canada, people are suffering and dying from the effects of the pollution from these dangerous wells.

People cant even get their property sold, and when the gas company purchases it, it is for next of kin to nothing. Others just walk away. One senior couple got so little for their farm, they could only buy a trailer and move from place to place with no permanent place to anchor it. The husband now suffers from serious respiratory illnesses with no compensation.

I wonder what Peter Allard, the philanthropist, has to say about this. Of course, there is the possibility that he has some of his inherited millions invested in these same sour gas wells. Who knows?

I wonder when the Nation or the Advocate is going to write an editorial on the complaint filed by this Allard against Barbados. I guess they will have to hire a journalist or two first though.

30. You must be crazy…. you”wonder when the Nation or the Advocate is going to write an editorial on the complaint filed by this Allard against Barbados ”
    I am a proud Barbadian and I wonder if either one of the papers have personell on staff with the analytical , investigative and language skills to write a sensible column about anything further more an editorial . The media houses exist solely to publish photos of accidents and politicians. Have either of these papers ever broken a story on any issue important to Barbados or Bajans?

31. @Whyatt

Never thought one of the reasons the Kingsland matter is not being covered by the local media maybe attributed to a lack of expertise/skill set.

32. Pat, I hear you loud and clear.

However, the PI involved in this would have been instructed to act within certain boundaries and these are dictated by the FOI and Protection of Privacy legislation. You cannot breach these, otherwise you put yourself outside the law. In other words, Barbados and its co-defendants would place themselves in a position where they could justifiably be censured. They would be acting in the same thuggish and shady manner as Nelson Barbados and its cohorts.

HOWEVER, this matter is fast becoming something to attract a serious investigation from the Canadian press itself and, like the Canadian judge, the press is unlikely to be in any way sympathetic to Mr Allard and the Knox family. Rather, they will focus, I would think, on the abuse of legal process here.

Look at it this way. What sort of precedent is set here and what sort of message is sent if all the monies paid out to defend this frivilous piece of garbage action, are not ordered to be fully paid back and every effort is not made and ordered through the courts to exact that payment from the parties responsible?

If they do not, the message clearly is that if you are dis-satisifed with a decision in any country (e.g. Canada), you can try to manufacture a spurious link to another country (e.g. Barbados) and go behind the decision of the Canadian Supreme Court and re-litigate the matter in Barbados, to the sole benefit of members of the Barbados Bar – and since it takes twice as long in Barbados, the costs will be twice as high.

There is also the question that Canada will have assisted in something that usurps Barbados’ sovereignty, if full restitution of costs is not ordered and every effort made to have them extracted from the responsible parties. As a member of the Canadian High Commission in Barbados most improperly involved himself in what is a private issue as well, it looks bad. Insulting, in fact.

However, what Barbados has to do in my view is to make sure that it respects Canada’s laws and acts within them so as not to give Canada any excuse not to take full measures to ensure that restitution is paid. What I am saying is that if any country and its citizens comes out of this looking shady and deserving of international censure, let it NOT be Barbados.

33. My last comment was a little unclear as it relates to the press.

The press has its ways of tracking people down and we need not enquire what those are. If they track Best down, then Barbados et al can claimthat they did nothing but to confirm information given them. Ditto if any informer comes along – and given Donald Best’s record, there could be any number of those about to appear. I would think Best is watching his back in a state of paranoia right now. Poor fellow. And it is not Barbados and its co-defendants that he is afraid of either.

Barbados must avoid any tactics that are not completely above-board. Let us leave those to the denizens who dwell under rocks and sewers and behind drop boxes.

34. Last thought.

Seems to me that BFP and Keltruth gave everyone the idea of how the Blogs could be helpful in disseminating information as well as assembling evidence, manufactured in their case. They have lived by the blog and it is entirely appropriate that they get their comeuppance in the same way. What bothers me most of all is the arrogant assumption that Bajans would not care if their country was run the hell down and pelted with ordure, simply so that the agenda of Peter Allard could be met. These people are a couple of sandwiches short of a banquet.

35. @Anon

Read you loud and clear. I clearly understand. In my scenario, any bribing would be done by the PI, and breaking of the laws by the informant. However, I can see why we should not go that route. I have every faith that a residential address will be had for the man.

It seems to me, that we are dealing with spoilt, stubborn, vindictive bully boys, who must always have their own way, no matter the costs.

In your last paragraph, you are assuming that all the players on BFP are Bajans. I hold that some may not be and the others are doing it for the $$$$$.

36. @ Whyatt

If the Bajan press doesn’t have qualified staff to do a proper job, I am willing to offer my services for just “room and board”.

37. Listen with interest to an exchange this evening between Peter Simmons and Pat Hoyos on this matter. Mr. Simmons made the point about Allard being the common denominator in the GHNS and Nelson affair. Mr. Hoyos responded by saying Barbados owes a debt of gratitude to Allard for developing the sanctuary. Simmons retorted that if Allard insisted on suing two Prime Ministers they would probably have a difficulty sitting around the table to discuss anything.

We find it amazing a foreigner would sue Barbados, Prime Ministers et al and a Barbadian would get on the radio and his first position is to defend the foreigner and not Barbados. Of course Hoyos denied reading the blogs, they all deny don’t they?

38. Seems to me Pat Hoyos has the cart before the donkey.

Seems to me that Allard owes Barbados and Bajans a debt of gratitude for allowing him into our country, letting him buy land and after suing everyone on the island and the country itself, letting him stay.

Maybe this Hoyos chappie is the donkey (ass) behind the cart.

39. It is interesting Pat Hoyos should feign ignorance on the matter of Kingsland because he is the journalist who started to cover the case when this matter first flared on his Broad Street Journal. For whatever reason he stopped covering the matter. Had to smile at the obvious haste they chashed Peter Simmons off the airwaves ๐Ÿ™‚

40. They can chase Peter Simmons off the air. They can’t chase the BU family members anywhere. They cant shut us down or shut us up! We will continue to fight the good and valiant fight for Barbados and true, born and bred Bajans.

41. Pat, Iain Deane has a Scottish mother. Do you consider him a born and bred Bajan?

42. Anonymous // November 2, 2009 at 11:08 PM. You have to be a fully fledged jackass – or, as BWWR would have said – a goat. Iain was born in Barbados and his father, Vere, is Bajan. Iain is Bajan.

But I do not see what Iain’s nationality has to do with this issue of you and your cronies over at BFP and Keltruth and your paymaster, Allard, trying to drag Barbados’ name through the mud. It is no more relevant than to speculate if John Knox and his two sisters are Bajan. Despite the fact that their father was not Bajan, but from Venezuela. They are Bajans.

What is the relevance of your question, therefore? How does it relate to Barbados’ name being dragged through the mud by the Bajan Knox family and this Allard jackass from Canada? Get with the agenda! Stop trying to deflect. Keep on point.

43. David, well done on the comments about Hoyos. He has a most distinctive style of journalism that someone over at BFP has clearly copied.

Yes, he first broke and carried the story of Kingsland at Broad Street Journal. He even travelled to England to attend the Privy Council appeal and posted pro-Knox/Allard stories (4 of them) in the Advocate in which he dwelt – almost lovingly – on the perfections of the Knox’s Q.C., while being extremely dismissive of the efforts of counsel for the other defendants.

If we, the readers of the Advocate, had gone by Pay Hoyos’ one-sided reporting, we would have thought that Madge had won.

But, you know what? The Privy Council did not agree with the great Pat Hoyos. Fancy that. Pat Hoyos wrong? Unthinkable!!

As Hoyos was NOT on the Advocate staff, did he pay his expenses for this trip – OR DID PETER ALLARD?

I missed the exchange between Hoyos and Peter Simmons. I would really like to hear it. Is there a way to post it here?

44. A recording of the call in maybe requested from the station.

45. Anonymous // November 2, 2009 at 11:08 PM

Pat, Iain Deane has a Scottish mother. Do you consider him a born and bred Bajan?

Anonymous, please, please, what has Iain Deane to do with the subject of this thread. Why is Mr. Deane a thorn in your side? Did he steal one of your boyfriends? Give the man a break, he is happily married.

Anonymous, maybe you just want to hear my voice telling you to go join Pat Hoyos behind the donkey (ass) cart?!?!

46. Pat, what does the pollution of Canadian water ways etc. have to do with the subject of this thread? If he invested millions in these ..I am sure he would be trying to recoup his money the same way.

Allard is suing the government of Barbados for something he invested millions in IN BARBADOS.

Stick to the issue at hand.

47. how do we know Allard did,nt gain his money buy playing his bullying scenario against alot of companies that could not afford legal council like our country. Have we as a country just witnessed how he and his family gained there wealth. Will the Allard family continue to gain wealth by paying people to do there dirty work , and hiding behind it. Can anyone else that has been involved in a conflict like this and knows the Allards are behind it
    come forward. Let us compare

48. I am an environmentalist and visited the Graeme Hall nature sanctuary on many occasions. I would therefore like to see it put as a National park. Whatโ€™s wrong with housing surrounding a national park in a small island?
    I believe that Mr. Allard is trying to blackmail the Government.
    Since most of the financial problems started up north which these rich people running Ponzi schemes. I do not trust them when they are investing large sums of money in these small island states saying they are trying to preserve this and that. There are other reasons and Allen Stanford is a good example.

49. As I posted at BFP, the effect of this latest case is to delay any acquisition of the property, as something under legal dispute is unlikely to be acquired, no?

There is actually not much ‘reurns’ on such an environmental site in Barbados, even a supposedly more commercially ‘attractive’ site elsewhere, that exists with water etc, seems to be having great financial difficulty.

Therefore, seeking to make good on an investment with questionable returns is doubtful.

But, there are matters that could be perceived as breaching agreements, possibly.

Although the return or damages, IF they were awarded, might be minimal, this action nevertheless would delay any acquisition, which may be the real intention.

50. Surely the Government of Barbados has got to intervene in this matter?

We have our island, we are a sovereign state, and we decide what we do with our land. If for economic reasons we cannot, at this point in time, afford to make 250 acres a National Park, and thereby lose GHNS except perhaps as a local municipal park, then such a decision can be publically debated in Parliament and a vote taken. Such is the nature of parliamentary democracy, I thought. Vested interests can try to rally the MPs through the whips, but at least a decison would be taken, and the sooner the better, I say.

Of course, more far-seeing people, and we hope that comprises the majority of Barbadians, doesn’t it?, would like to see a National Park, and GHNS kept for posterity (like NY Central Park, for instance). It may sting us in our pockets but we do this for our children.