Rihanna poses topless in Italian Vogue

Let us be clear, BU wishes Rihanna well in her chosen career. She has done well if we measure success by the penetration she has made in the world of pop. The BU household has watched her progression with admiration and interest. The recognition which Rihanna has brought to Barbados was rewarded by the government of Barbados last year. After the material possessions were received,  she was given the official papers to be Ambassador for Youth and Culture.

In light of her recent indiscretions and now her topless pose in Vogue Magazine, the question asked by BU and others remains. Should the government of Barbados ask Rihanna to quietly relinquish the post of Ambassador for Youth and Culture? Perhaps given her schooling at the Waterford University she should have the awareness to not wait to be asked.

Since the Chris Brown incident it seems Rihanna has been on a hunt for publicity by any means necessary. We understand these PR stunts all do wonder for her career but what does it do for her image in the eyes of young Barbadians who currently worship her? Rihanna finds herself in a position where she can trod the worn trail or she could use a hoe to chop a new path. She now has the popularity which equips he to  make a positive difference. It seems she is allowing the American pop culture to quickly reel her in.

It is interesting even as we talk of Rihanna’s meteoric rise in the world of pop tongues are wagging about the dizzying spiral which Michael Jackson the King of Pop suffered. He operated in the world of glitz and glamour which is attached to the unavoidable dark side of drugs and stupidity.  Does anyone really think that Michael Jackson died from a few recent injections of benzodiazepines and a reduced dose of propofol? Or was his death secondary to long term use of drugs?

How much of the full or true pathology reported has been released? We have heard about toxicology? Was his heart and kidneys and liver functioning properly in the light of decades of drug abuse? What if…..?

There is a lot Rihanna can learn from how the King of Pop died. Many of us still remember the innocent looking little boy from the Jackson 5 fame. Over the years as he was reeled into the culture of pop his innocence faded and he became what?

Rihanna we wished you well but we urge you to consider relinquishing the title of Ambassador of Youth and Culture.

275 responses to “The Rise And Fall Of A Star”

1. If u think we want to just talk about ROK or the economy all day and night then ur very mistaken!!

2. Hey B,

Thanks, hopefully my son will continue on the path he’s on. I don’t drink either but i’ll sure be breaking open something when he reach the MD or DO stage. Can’t commit to MD cuz my older brother is a D.O. You know its funny there are alot of WI nurses in the US..when I was in the hospital last year all the nurses in that hospital was either WI, Africian or Filapino thats all I saw for the 5 days I was there. Also I know quiet a few Bajan nurses, we aint all bums.

LOL yeah my husband is american and no I aint no american girl, Im still a 100% bajan girl. There are alot of decent American blacks..this generation between 15 and 27 are much too lazy for me…they dont want to do anything but want everything without working for it. Its sad but I attribute that to kids raising kids and the mommas being 14 years older than the kids.

If Obama gets to reform the National Health Care system it would be a miracle. I say that only because he gonna have a fierce fight on his hands. American will know something is broken and need fixing, but they will fight you tooth and nail to fix it. Its so sad cuz when I was in the hospital my bill for 5 days was 25000.00 and it was a good thing I had insurance…its all about the people who have in a fight not to pay for people who dont. Some seniors have to decide on a monthly basis if they gonna eat or if they gonna go to the dr. with all the resources this country has, no one should have to choose between living and dying.

Lmao…B who says a woman cant serve two master…well dammit she damn sure can try..shoot men been doing it to women for years. I aint see de propsal ya gine have to copy it so i can read it…

LOL yeah he loves my legs…he always say thats what attracted him to me..go figure.

Your too funny no I dont worry when im in the air..cuz if ya born to hang ya aint gonna drown…daz my motto..but I do enjoy my job very much…I wasnt working on Sept 11 then and havent worked on Sept 11 after that…so Im home today. Anyway B i gine catch ya lata going to make breaskfast.

3. Wait B not me boi I dine go tah crop ova this year and i wouldnt be in no short shorts..ya know iz somebody mudda. My son does be like mommm if he friends look a me too hard…lol

4. LOL Bonny I bet the hell you can find a whole lot tah play wid…..lmao lmao lamo…stay outta trouble…cuz i too far tah come rescue ya.

5. Hi Sherri, welcome back babe and let’s hope that your son makes it. Incidentally, what is a D.O. I don’t think we use the designation over here!

S, when I was a youngster growing-up there were so many W.I nurses here. Virtually, every nurse was W.I. but now it’s changed. Now you only c the odd one and Africans and other nationalities have taken over. I find it very sad indeed. Do our people think we’re going to get as sympathetic treatment when we go into hosp. from African and other medical people as from our own? I give-up with my people, sometimes!!

Let’s wish Obama all the best with the health service reforms, S. Americans really does mek me laugh, sometimes. It’s like when Raegan got shot. Ud think he’d take the opportunity then to ban guns or severely limit their accessibility but does he? no! lol! I give up pun dem man, and can c dat Ob will have a huge fight on he hands but, if he succeeds, it’ll make his name!!

The proposal’s above S, but it’s ok, Bonny and I r great pals, once again!!

lol! Congrats on those legs S. I doan want to think bout them too much cause ‘they aint mine’!! if yuh c what I mean!!

lol, yes, I understand about u, your son and the shorts! S, do u get to stop-off at these places where you travel to or hardly ever get out of the plane and, if u do, which r your favourite destinations!! Also, did u go to Obama’s inauguration, to c him in the flesh?!! Funnily enough, my daughter was in town when he was here last and if his motorcade did n’t drive by and his car stopped beside her, so she caught a glimpse of him and his entourage. I can’t say I’m over-impressed with him. He speaks too slowly for me and I always feel like falling asleep plus, I think a president needs to be more than a fine speaker – anyhow, we shall see how he performs!! S, so u prefer living in NY to Bim?!!

6. Now, mek me see!! Who’s d gorgeous Bajan gal wid d luscious lips in BU’s new banner – could n’t be my Rihanna, could it! Of course it is!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

7. Another Bajans songtress is making the headlines in Canada. Livvi Frank was on two stations tonight. Commentators figure she will do well and go farrrrrr!

8. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Davis

As an up date perhaps you can reprint that picture of rhianna in todays UK Daily Mail newspaper.

What the *ss is wrong with that girl head?

9. how dare she exercise freedom of choice and artistic expression and not do only what is pre-approved by us bajans.

how dare she be purport to be an individual rather than simply a part of the collective of anal-retentive, judgemental, conservative barbadian society.

how dare she not adhere succinctly to a national title that was thrust upon her and not asked for.

this girl is a disgrace and must promptly be disassociated from barbados once and for all… because we all know how her career is sooo dependent on it.

10. typo correction: how dare she purport to be an individual…

11. Our Ambassador Rihanna keeps on exposing her wares to the world.

12. Rodrigo del Caribe Avatar
    Rodrigo del Caribe

I wonder wether Ryanna is still Youth and Culture ambassador ? If yes, I don’t understand the behaviour of the Barbados government.

13. Ambassador for Youth and Culture makes news, AGAIN!

14. u stiill r my # 1 fav and nice tits

15. bajans get over it .she is no longer a “person” but a product.and she is being marketed as such .the government should stay out of show business type personalities that is a slippery slope. i hope they learned their lesson on this one.

16. luvv RiRi she stay flyy !! && if uu niqqas think she a slut then suck a dick & swallow uu aint neva heard of RiRi sleepinq around && dem nude picsz were sent on purpose so stfu & hop off her clit. ( GO RiHANNA! ]

17. Rihanna: “If you don’t send your boyfriend naked pictures, then I feel bad for him”

How interesting, especially in light of her recent statements regarding her being a role model…

18. @ QT,

….when I read that on the BBC website I almost puked. Does this girl think such behaviour is normal?

She said she wants to be a role model for the young people, etc., that they dont accept abuse from their boyfriends and now she is advocating that they cheapen themselves by sending nude photos.

The girl needs help, serious and seriously.

19. The ruling party just does not get it neither does it care that unemployment is stressful for adults but even scarier for children and young people, especially since young people depend on their parents for emotional security.

So that, instead of building a society and strengthening families, the DLP is again destroying lives. When parents are tense, upset and inattentive, much of the feeling of security young people enjoyed – vanishes.

How do you tell your children that you have lost your job because the DLP made a big mistake, as a result of its incompetence?

20. YOYOYO WHAT IS UP R

21. Jhonny Macguire Avatar
    Jhonny Macguire

@Hogsqueal ‘How do you tell your children ‘ that certain people carry way nuff money in big projects, feathering their own nest, so none left for the rest of us.

Thieving bunch of useless garbage. Lotta fat cocaine using hogs.

22. Jhonny Macguire Avatar
    Jhonny Macguire

Where the cocaine treatment was then?

23. Jhonny Macguire Avatar
    Jhonny Macguire

Bet you thought no one knew!

24. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

Rihanna what is the sense in gaining the whole world and losing your own soul. The embassador thing is just that a thing needed to be relinquished by her and she needs to look around her at these so called famous people dropping like flies because of their lifestlye, latest one is Fantasia would Rihanna be next.Rihanna needs the love and support of her family those really strong hollywood stars have their family around them Beyonce is the perfect example

25. Umbrella · Rihanna · JAY-Z Good Girl Gone Bad: Reloaded

A Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol selection