Peter Wickham

The controversial Peter Wickham is at it again. He continues to use the studios of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), a media house which is subsidized by the taxpayers of Barbados to propagate the message  Barbadians are xenophobic.

BU has identified in previous blogs the great irony concerning Peter Wickham. He uses quantitative techniques and analysis in his line of work as a leading pollster in the region. Yet without hesitation he continues to bellow across the national airwave his opinion that Barbadians are xenophobic.

In the same way Peter Wickham agrees Shridath Ramphal crossed the line when he used his now infamous intimation of ethnic cleansing reference to Barbados’ new immigration policy, so too Wickham shoulders a similar responsibility.  He needs to be more guarded when sharing his opinions given his prominent regional profile as a leading regional pollster. He should be sensitive to the fact his profession relies on the use of quantitative analysis and decision making.

BU gives credit to Margaret Gill who we think is a UWI lecturer in history. She was the last caller to his show today and severely rapped him on the knuckles for the loose talk he has engaged referencing Bajans as xenophobic. Clearly Peter Wickham has demonstrated great insensitivity by loudly sharing his opinion given the prevailing concerns about immigration matters, especially as it related to the growing ethnic population.

We respect Peter’s right to vocalize on issues as he sees fit but to label Barbadians xenophobic is highly subjective and injudicious behaviour at this time. He must be aware that traces of xenophobia can be found in any country, sometimes nationalistic behaviour maybe construed as such.

The recent change in government has seen Wickham rejuvenate his career as a social commentator on the CBC network. He is now easily the leading talk show personality in Barbados. Peter is intelligent to know to whom much is given much is expected.

200 responses to “Peter Wickham Should Apologize To All Barbadians”

1. @Veritas
    In one of his article title “On the trail of Snark”

someone replied with the following.
    ——————————–
    venturemike said…
    Barbados is not alone – both you, Dennis, and islandgal246 could be describing Scotland, Ireland or many other places with an identifiable indigenous community where some citizens practice a sort of reverse snobbery – if you leave us, travel and return or move in from elsewhere, don’t think you can bring your smart ideas with you ! It’s even true of country towns where to head for the big city, means you’re a ‘stranger’ when you return.

Is it a sin to be proud of the community of which you feel part (however you define ‘community’)? And, a sin to be defensive to the point of giving offence to those who criticise? Even if that appears “cobwebbed”?

(Isn’t it strange that Jewish, Polish or Irish people tell the best Jewish, Polish or Irish jokes but resent it when a ‘stranger’ tells the same joke?)

I’m part of a community now which seems to want to open the door to all comers – leaving a minority group wondering just exactly where their identity can be found. I can’t tell whether that’s good or bad. (There’s a sneaking feeling in me that says that some ‘outsiders’, with little to contribute, are taking unfair advantage of a society which my ancestors have worked hard to build)

I’ve long admired Australians for their ability to be fiercely defensive of their national identity, proud of their convict past (even to the point of boasting which convict ship their ancestors arrived in!), remorseful and rectifying about their past treatment of the aboriginal community, and yet welcoming of in-comers who can add to the ‘common wealth’. How do they do it – and are they getting it right?

Is it good to be proud of who you are and where you hail from? Or is it bombastic and boorish to defend what you have against what you percieve as threatening change from the outside world?

Keep going Dennis, but you’ll probably disover that the inner Bajan has the same look as most of the rest of world ! Like a stick of rock – it’ll have the words “human being” running right through the middle !

Mike

ANOTHER ONE SAID:

Anonymous said…
    Mike,

You are spot on! And I truly thought that someone like Denis (who I only know from his writing) would understand this.

I urge Denis to read a little piece by John Hearne (a perceptive, thoughtful Jamaican writer) writing in the New World Journal at the time of Barbadian independence that investigates in a forthright way what the Barbadian means to him. This inquiry by Denis is not new or perceptive. It is as old as the Dominica Hills.

I find Denis’ treatment of this subject to be a superficial, weak and surface dismissal of the real strengths of Barbados and Barbadians.

We have had little but we have done alot with it and those who don’t like it can go and jerk chicken!

2. @ROK
    look out for the name Kofi Blankson Ocansey. He thinks Bajans are “”Shiftless” Black people”. Althought he was quoting LIB.

3. Peter is right and David and BU are wrong.

And I love Peter too.

4. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@ROK
    I can understand English-speaking west Africans trying to come to Barbados to stay, not to hop off to the US, which seems like looking for trouble. (Nigerians especially are already under heavy suspicion because of the 419 scams.) But, their already close ties with the Commonwealth/UK and existing UK networks would seem easier to exploit. I know from some Nigerian contacts that business opportunities here look interesting, but they have had a lukewarm reception at best–I think the scam business may again be hurting their image. Both Nigeria and Ghana have huge economies and Barbados could be a launch pad for getting into the region. But, I recall the bad experiences of African coming here, the last batch of which just got out of prison and are due to be sent back to their homelands. That should send a clear warning.

For Filipinos, it makes no sense.

However, if Barbados is being suspected as being a weak link in border control that could explain the move by the British High Commission to stop processing British passport requests in Barbados (for Barbadian and East Caribbean country nationals) with effect from August 3. Passports now have to be sent to Washington DC (see http://ukinbarbados.fco.gov.uk/en/passports/). This change was reported in the Advocate, but I did not see it in the Nation. This is a major inconvenience, of course, to those Bajans and their families who have UK passports. Clearly, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs was not able to stop this move (though I do not know if they tried). Such moves do not usually send good signals to the international consular world. It may also be another repercussion of Barbados not having applied firmly its immigration rules.

5. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    I thought I said what I meant but I see it was lost in translation. I’m not sure which program you are using to translate from standard English to Bajan, but I think it would be good to get it checked and/or buy the upgrade.

6. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    I see that despite the lack of interest in my blog you are trying to drum up interest. Two things. The poster of the comments has been in touch with me by e-mail several times, though I never met. He says he’s an executive for a large NGO and is a former journalist (whose CV is extensive). I’d be very glad to try to put you in touch with him. He says he has been coming to Barbados for many years and is connected to some of English families who are prominent on Barbados west coast. I cannot verify that, but I’m sure you can check. He has also commented on the blog about why he wont be planning on vacationing in Barbados again anytime soon, and that might also be interesting to circulate.

Second, I received some comments on my blog signed AOHINDS (your handle of choice for my blog). I find them a bit strange sounding (ie quite complimentary, though I admit that you have given some compliments to me on BU) and have not yet published them. As I cannot check IP addresses, I do not know if they were truly sent from the same place as other comments with that name. Anyway, I tend to publish so long as there is no profanity, as you know.

7. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    Sorry, to clarify. The executive is from a UK NGO, and I have verified his professional bona fides with them, when we were exchanging e-mails. I did not check his claimed personal contacts here, though I did see him in a picture of a charity event here earlier in the year.

8. @LIB said;

Such moves do not usually send good signals to the international consular world. It may also be another repercussion of Barbados not having applied firmly its immigration rules
    ————————————–

Lol,What have we been trying to promote on this blog ?

Considering how many Brits visit Barbados,it is quite an unusal move by the UK !

Then again some of the much newer UK immigration rules being promoted are completely ridiculous like a points based system for UK citizenship or a bar to UK citizenship for anti-government comments.

Anyway,Barbados isn’t the UK or US & I could care less what either think right now.What is currently happening in Barbados is an internal sovereign problem that must be dealt with by we the citizens of Barbados pressuring our government for action.

9. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

It’s interesting, as usual, that AH gives only the parts of the stories he likes and leaves out the rest. But, there you have it. The venturemike comments, seem to say to me that a fear of strangers and searching to protect national identity is human, as I thought I had also said. But some people here seem to want to deny that they too have this human trait. I remain curious.

10. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@Jay
    Britons (including those of Bajan origin) LIVING IN THE UK and visiting Barbados are likely to be the least affected; they are likely to check their UK passports are valid for the whole of their visit. The Bajans may, of course, also have a Barbados passport and could return to the UK on that if it were still current.

Britons and Bajans LIVING IN BARBADOS who hold UK passports will be much more affected by the need to send documents to the US, rather than just down the road. (The East Caribbeans may find it’s not much difference between having to deal with Barbados or Washington). This change is very new so I have no idea what kind of hiccups there will be. (I recall the US switch to online applications and courier for passports and visas had some severe teething problems when it was first implemented in Barbados).

I would not write off what the UK and US think so hastily; they are big donors and investors, so it could be costly literally later. (Concerns about foreign investor confidence have their roots somewhere. The Paradise/Four Seasons project is the most obvious casualty so far.)

No argument on national sovereigty aspects.

11. Good to see that the level of debate has been raised. The situation for Barbados is grave. This nation has to mobilise all its forces. The parties of Thompson and Owen (sorry forgotten his/her name!) have not only failed their public; but seem intent on selling out their compatriots. Given the urgency surrounding the future of Barbados, let us aim our arrows at those incompetent, corrupt and arrogant leaders or organisations/individuals who have no loyalty to this country. Is there an alternative political party in Barbados? What is happening at the grass roots? Are Barbadians prepared to remove the present incumbents and all they stand for through the ballot box? Spread the word to your compatriots that the BU is not like the insipid Nation or Advocate. Organise, mobilise and rally for a better Barbados. Allez-y Barbados.

12. X-man, what have you read here that forced you to come to such an idiotic conclusion?

LIB, any more bad news about Barbados to report today? Any translation needed?

Perhaps you might like to hear: Barbados goes to IMF, proud Bajan MP’s are also US citizens, murder rate is highest in region, new US crime advisory, head of Youth Commission fired? And Jamaica-like news to report, for example?

Institutions versus Policies: Read a Tale of Two Islands by Peter Blair Henry and Conrad Miller. The essence? Why Barbados succeeded and Jamaica failed…

13. Clearly, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs was not able to stop this move (though I do not know if they tried). Such moves do not usually send good signals to the international consular world. It may also be another repercussion of Barbados not having applied firmly its immigration rules.
    ____

Rubbish! From the time the new visa arrangements with the European Union came into being, this was to be the new arrangement with passports.

Read the damn fine print LIB: emergency passports will still be issued in Barbados!!!

What are you really trying? What is your aim? And objective? I have to ask because I first heard you on the debate with Mascoll and those guys on Budget debate night. and I sensed a guy who just likes to talk, and talk and talk! For the sake of it.

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    Rubbish? I think you are confusing what Barbadian passport holders may need to do. My comments refer to British passport holders. That seems pretty clear.

But, if you are sure I am wrong, I guess you should tell the High Commission to correct its website and pull back the notice that was in the Advocate. I understand.

I’m a fine reader of fine print. The site says: “In the meantime The British High Commission in Bridgetown will continue to issue Emergency Passports for people who need to travel quickly.” Note “quickly”. That ‘meantime’ could have been for the period up to August 3, but that is not clear.

For those who feel they may be affected I would suggest clarifying for your self. Feel free to call the HC to get clarification. I would hate for anyone to miss a trip for want of a little checking.

I knew what I had to do, and it was done BEFORE August to avoid a need for messing about with DC.

The current High Commissioner is on the way out so I’m sure he would not like to leave a little admin mess trailing behind him.

On the budget debate, perhaps you should listen to the recording again–I recall Clyde talking animatedly for a long time. Sen. Boyce too had plenty of air time. Anthony Johnson and I spoke as the moderator directed. Maybe you should check with Pat Hoyos–it was his program.

Sorry to ask you to check before you write. But, it’s so much better in the long run. If you are confused then do not pass that on to others.

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    You seem to suffer from a notion that things other people or institutions do that may have an adverse effect represent ‘bad news’. There are some good sides too in things that seem bad.

On the specifics:

1.I read the papers for most of my news. I see nothing about IMF deals (Governor Williams took it off the table for now, I had read). But an IMF deal does mean more money rather than less, and that can be good.
    2. I read (Advocate front page, Nation page 3) about Sen. Kerrie Symmonds being summoned on assault charges (also just aired on the radio).
    3. I do not know if the Barbados Constitution is the same as Jamaica’s regarding dual nationality as it affects MPs. The good thing about the Jamaican cases is that INELIGIBLE MPs got themselves eligible and new elections were called so that people could vote correctly for ELIGIBLE candidates. I think that is good for democracy. I read that another case is pending in Ja., but the opposition has decided not to contest the seat.

I’ve not finished reading, but will see what pops up.

I know the paper. I did not think much of it, but they are entitled to their views. The analysis is overly simplistic and the cases have few real points of common overlap except in time. I do not recall the US government interfering in Barbados, which they are known to have done in Ja., but I really did not follow Barbados that closely over the past 40 years.

Sorry to the other people who want to stay with the main Wickham topics. I do not know if this exchange reflects xenophobia. Some might see traces (for clarity, I am the stranger).

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

If people note my absence from commenting it will be for several reasons, not least needing to arrange for some new foreigners–delayed arrivals from another island, at midnight– to know the island and see about their school uniforms.

I wish you all a good day and may the things that make you happy flow in abundance. I have my mangoes and this man must go. Iyah.

17. The invasion is here.

I wonder why school children from the other islands would want to come here to barbados to go to school especially since we are constantly told by LIB how deficient we are as a people and our idiosyncracies.

Is LIB bringing over his jamaican relatives to benefit from from CSME arrangements?

I hope we the taxpayers are not subsidising the education of these non national children.

Glad that we could be of some assistance.

18. Living in B/dos And Loving it,
    blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah,blahhhhhhhhhhh. You don’t come up for air? Jesus Christ man. You real sickening fa true.
    Look, depart in peace man.
    I could imagine you ‘courting’. Too much talking, while de poor horse starvin’.
    Any deliveries today.

X-man,
    we like to ‘sway’ from de subject sometimes man. Got ta add a lil spice now an den. All in good faif.

Bush Tea,
    Ya bitta. You is sir-see bush or wah? Ya bad, wuhlossssssssssssssssssssssss.

Peter chan be ‘marrid’ caus dat is still illegal in dis hemisphere. I tink. He got he Trini luvva but he in marrid. If dah is he ting, ya chan kill he. Poor soul.
    I mek de same prediction as he in de las election, so wah sa genius ’bout he? I just in get de publicity, dah is all. (teehee).

19. @LIB
    “I can understand English-speaking west Africans trying to come to Barbados to stay, not to hop off to the US…”

I tell you already that you have a lot to learn. I say no more.

20. @LIB
    “I would not write off what the UK and US think so hastily; they are big donors and investors, so it could be costly literally later.”

I have a problem with statements like these. They tend to wring ones arm up their bask and forced onto a wall.

You with your arrogance. How much is that going to cost compared to what we paid already and still paying today? Are we to continue paying? Are we to bow down to your philanthropists who get their money through spilling our blood in the first place and now come back to dangle carrots?

I think that foreign investment will keep us underdeveloped as I stated earlier in another thread. It does not solve our problem for the need for foreign exchange earnings and my solution is simple. Let the banks stop discriminating and support businesses in Barbados; give them the opportunity to earn foreign exchange rather than keeping them down so we have to depend on foreign investment.

Yes it is one big plot.

21. The paranoia on this site is getting real high and its easy to see what xenophobia is. Someone mention foreign children arriving and there’s squealing about getting benefits. Bajan parents have foreign children too. Also diplomatic people bring in children and most go to private school and they use private health. Some of just won’t listen to what people say just because you think they are not Bajan. But who is you is really a Barbadian. What is your Identity Number, or your mother’s house? This is so sad.

22. Some of you unfairing we Bajans. Rok say he know things then say nothing more. Just like Linton talking to Tony Marsall and cant give no facts but crying how Mia cant get on CBC television. then he say we dont want foreign investment and talk about plot. I need my job. You have a job for me? Explain to simple people what it mean for bank to earn foriegn exchange.

The Bush Tea shout down LIB and cuss him off that he wrong about the passport. But I check withthe Commission and what IB say is right. Now I need to get mychildren passport renewed to go back England and they have to go to America. I never know that.

So why David wont keep some order. We hear noise and we get confused.

23. Love ya Bonny Pebba. Let the BU amily send Peter a gift. I am thinking a femidom.. lol

24. PB,
    Luff ya too cup-cake. I agree wid you; sen’ a giff fa Peter. He’s a aightttt fella.
    Ya wicked.

25. @ BS
    “Rok say he know things then say nothing more.”

You like you gone half mad. Your problems with getting your children out gone to your head? How you arrive at that?

Who stopping you from keeping your job? You sound like somebody frantically afraid. LOL! About to start some type of scaremongering. Take it easy skipper.

BTW, couldn’t help abbreviating your name. Nice letters.

26. @Bim-sis
    “don’t know whatever made me think it could b worth having a serious discussion with u!!”

And where on this blog did you ever have a serious discussion?

From your response I can see that you could very well be counted as a true statistic. While you in England, see if you could get a good grasp of the queen’s English.

I expect that you would be eating salt-fish; and very rarely too. Read me again. You does eat yam and eddoe? What about coucou?

27. Don’t join in these threads much, as I believe they are a manufactured side-show to keep the people off the real agenda.

But I just saw Lib saying he was lecturing to an MBA group at UWI.

I may be mistaken, but amongst the myriad snippets of information Dennis has treated us to, portraying his LIB, has he not said 1) He is only here accompanying his wife. 2) He has no degree. 3)He’s been employed at UWI.

As only graduates are granted freedom of employment within Caricom nations, are we to take it that he has contravened his status obligations and as such is Living In Barbados illegally? LOL.

Awaiting your corrections.

28. Mr Jones was an IMF staff member and his educational qualifications, including degrees, are matters of public record, as he’s mentioned several times. Too lazy to check?

29. Thanks for your info, Anon.

Will check back to his posting re: degrees.

30. The matter of him working at UWI if indeed he did say that, needs to be clarified.

31. AH: Aug 12th 12.08PM

32. I’m reading these blogs from Europe and it would appear that Barbados is on the verge of a nervous breakdown. Can someone give me a prognostic as to where they see Barbados six months to five years from now. I would be interested in all your views. However I have several points that I would like to raise: 1) Will Thompson Remove all illegal immigrants? 2) Do Asians have a future in Barbados? 3) What are the chances of a third political party entering the political arena? 4) When will Barbados diversify and look at an alternative to the tourist industry 5) Is social unrest a possibility in Barbados? 6) Will Barbados look at creating an electric train service connecting the island 7) Will Barbados look at making the island greener? 8) Will the beaches be reclaimed? 9) Will Barbados start to look at green energy? 10) Would Barbados be better of becoming a British colony, a European colony or a state of the USA? 11) Does Thompson have a plan for Barbados? 12) What action will be taken to ensure that rich foreigners who have holiday homes on the island are taxed heavily? 13) When will someone assess the real cost to Barbados of cruisers and all-inclusive holidays?

33. Straigh talk is rasing an important point.

Heard some weeks ago on the Sunday Brasstacks programme where Lindsay Holder participated on immigration,a caller told Gilbert Greaves the former chief Immigation officer and now P.S,that jamaican students who were coming in on student visas were enrolling at university and then taking up employment which was in breach of immigration laws.

Nasty,corrupt Greaves could not deny it.

Dennis Jones/Living in Barbados has been on this blog stating that he has not been able to work because of work permit problems,now we are told that he taught or is teaching at Cave hill.

That man is either a dangerous liar or a very dishonest opportunist jamaican,that like most of the others want to curse barbados with one breath ,yet take all they can get from us.

Shame.

34. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@Straight Talk
    Have you checked? You can do that with the IMF, Bank of England and/or London University.
    UWI employed me as a foreign/external consultant, while I was still an IMF staff member,for which I needed IMF approval–not since; and that is also verifiable.

You can also check employment aspects with current, past and designated Governors of Central Bank of Barbados, all of whom I have worked with over 20-30 years.

35. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

BTW, I have rights of abode in Barbados on several levels–Ministry of Foreign Affairs can confirm. I am also not employed, having resigned from the IMF under a separation arrangement for many staff during 2008–also verifiable.

36. @ Anonymous
    Lets not denigrate or curse out to loud our Jamaican brothers/sisters. On the whole most of them are good, and besides I grew up with them. My father always told me that if not for the Jamaicans than our people would never of survived in this part of Europe.

37. Keep your hat on Dennis, I cannot keep up with all your posts but I once thought you stated you had no degree.

I never said it as a certainty and if you confirm I misheard, and you are in fact a graduate, naturally I will acknowledge my failing senses and congratulate your achievement.

38. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Straight Talk
    As you may know I have no hair to keep on. My issue is that I would rather see checking before statements. You can see from the remarks after yours that people draw, and jump to conclusions, even ones that do not stand with a contention. I would like to sense a bit more thought before people lash out.

It’s also bizarre that someone with a known identity is one of the few people whose credentials can be discussed/queried. That’s kind of nutty.

39. You still not told us Dennis.

Don’t tell me it’s Sociology.

Spit it out man, we know you’re not shy.

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Straight Talk
    Oh, you want the full Monty. Economics (BSc) and Urban Planning (M. Phil.).

Now, I want to get on with watching Federer, and figuring out how my friend’s kids adjust to moving country again.

It’s not about modesty, nor is it about doing others down.

I think every thing I say or write has a corroborating element–people and or things. It makes life easier.

No one interested in Wickham anymore?

41. Thanks for the clarification and apologies for my impertinent mistake.

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ST
    Graceously accepted.

43. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

There are persons who predicted the 20/10 results : Such persons should be called genius too.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Adviser to the President
    “There are persons who predicted the 20/10 results : Such persons should be called genius too.”[I’ve never met Peter, personally, and I think I never was on the call-in circuit much when he was on VOB. I found that he was the only moderator who consistently challenged certain accepted views, and usually did it with good factual or analytical bases. I do not ascribe to all of his views but I applaud his approach.

I visited Dominica recently and was struck by the way they seem to deal with controversial issues in the media. A commentator makes a very open, few punches held back, putting documented information forward for officials, decision makers, etc to refute–most recently with a deep scrutiny of their PM’s involvment in a financial deal that is going through the courts in BVI. (This style has been in play for many years in Jamaica, eg Ronnie Thwaites did/does it, and has been good at getting more openness from public and private organizations, who are routinely put on the spot.)

I mentioned this to some VOB producers and I think they are looking into how and if such a change of format might come about here. I have not contact PW on it, given that I really have no link with him. But, others who think it’s a worthwhile change of style can run with the ball too.

45. Peter wickham is doing a survey for the government.

I hope he asks the right questions so that government can get a true picture of how the voters are thinking.

46. I cant wait to hear Peter tomorrow on 100.7. He should comment on how he was treated on the blogs.

47. Archi Bull Cocks Avatar
    Archi Bull Cocks

Peter ya sa handsome.. Come back by the library tonight and let us finish what we started night before. I 2 luvs ya. XOXOXOXOXOXO

48. Archi Bull
    Cocks,

Oh dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
    Look, leff my man fa me hearrrrrrrrrr?
    I got my sissas in my bosom.
    Watchaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    Move doooooooooooooooooooooooooo