Michael Pritchard Bio: With cutting-edge nanotech, Michael Pritchard’s Lifesaver water-purification bottle could revolutionize water-delivery systems in disaster-stricken areas around the globe.

The furore about the 60% hike in the water rates in Barbados made effective from  July 1, 2009 seems to have gone the way of the seven day wonder. The disregard which Barbadians have had for water management at the residential or national level is well known. Let us face it, water does not rank very high on our list of priorities, why should it, we are a water scarce country.

Good news is here, watch the video!

1. Don’t drink the water… it is water made by an evil stinking white European.. it gun killa ya!

Sorry just thought I would get there first before the others did.

2. You forget “diseased”, utterN. LOL!

3. @Themis

This is the sum contribution from you under this blog?

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This nothing new.

A few years ago a Barbadian businessman resident in Canada I think did a demostration at the Bridgetown sewage plant showing that the water from sewage plant which is up to this day being pumped out to sea can be made safe to drink again. After the demostration he even consume some of the water. His company is into water recycling. The Barbados Labour Party administration never took him on.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

utterN

Get a life.

6. THIS BLOG IS A TOTAL WASTE
    THIS BLOG NEEDS RECYCLING
    THIS BLOG NEEDS DUMPING
    THIS BLOG NEEDS A LIFE

7. UtterN
    Why are you so negative? I’m sure if it was crunch time for you and was in a life or death situation, you would drink that water when given to you and tell the giver THANKS, with a smile on your face.
    Lots of people walk around today with this “health” fade of drinking bottled water,so if that water is so contaminated that it should not even be allowed to be imported into barbados. So of you who live in big cities or who have visited these cities are not aware that they are drinking recycled water.

8. @CCC

Do you have the contact details of the businessman?

9. Bro. Scout
    UtterN (wonder if the N stands for nonsense) is just trying be facetious. Pay no attention.

10. utterN: You fuhgit to add dah is a conspiracey tuh kill off black folk. Dah one fuh Hopi 🙂

11. @ David, sorry to disappoint you, but of course that’s not my sole or the sum of my contribution…just an early morning bout of remembering that we should not always take ourselves too seriously. Near a deadline…will contribute later today.

12. Aww is little Bonny Peppa all upset cause I was making fun of her little negroman…aww bless… I tink she does tek all dis a little to serious.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

My memory is a bit hazy with this one.
    However it was a water management seminar which was held here in Barbados and at the end of it all participants went down to the Bridgetown sewage plant to watch this demostration by this Bajan-Canadian of turning dirty water into potable water.
    I read it in the Nation newspaper. This was about four years ago. Maybe some one at the Nation can assist you on this one.

14. Johnny Postle @ Avatar
    Johnny Postle @

The man showed clearly that in a crisis human beings will do anything to survive. The bottles make sense. Enough said.

15. WHICH? Magazine, the organ of the Quaker-inspired Consumers’ Association, did a taste and triaI test of bottIed waters soId around the gIobe. Do check it out. It found that famous brands of so-caIIed spring waters soId at huge prices were contaminated by bacteria or chemicaIs Iike chIorine, Iet aIone contamination by the pIastics in the bottIe itseIf. Barbados has been famous for it’s tasty and pure tapwater. How did this go so horribIy wrong???

16. utterN,
    Not me a’ tall. I got a huge sense of humor.

17. i love water

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I found the article. October 12, 2005
    Here it is:-

Wastewater can be ‘purified for drinking’

Date: October 12, 2005
    Brief: Wastewater can be ‘purified for drinking’

WHILE BARBADIANS might be sceptical, it is possible to turn wastewater into drinking water.

This is according to Alpha King, vice-president and chief operating officer of OzoMax Global Marketing Inc, a Canadian water purification company participating in the Caribbean Wastewater Association’s week-long conference at Hilton Barbados.

King told the DAILY NATION his company had demonstrated this to Cuba, which had since ordered 40 of its ozone water processing units.

He said OzoneMax had also signed a contract with Jamaica to purify the groundwater.

And OzoMax, he said, was set on proving its capabilities to the Barbados Government.

King said he and members of his team would be meeting with Barbados Water Authority officials at the Bridgetown Sewage Treatment Plant this morning to demonstrate how their machine could transform wastewater into drinkable water.

He said the model was capable of processing 40 000 litres per day, but they could custom-make the machines to meet the necessary capacity. (CH)

Please see also Page 7A.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If the Stupid Barbados Labour Party had taken this company on four years ago we would not be complaining that Barbados is a water scarse country. Millions of gallons of water is pumped out to sea every day from both sewage plants.

Also about four years ago C. O. Williams had offered the Government to use a new technology which is used in Europe to seal exsisting water mains to prevent the water mains from leaking.

Again the Barbados Labour Party administration did not take him on.

If Barbados is a water scarse country it is because of the backwardness of the Barbados Labour Party government. There are methods which could be put in place to ease the situation and they can still be done now. C. O. Williams is proving that right now.

20. Thanks CCC truly appreciate the effort.

Now if we can find out what happened with the talks with the BWA.

Maybe a BU family member residing in Canada can give this company a call to estyablish status?

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think that the company Ozomax has merged with this company:-
    SARA ELGI ENVIROTECH LIMITED.
    ELGI TOWERS
    737-D, Puliakulam Road
    Coimbatore – 641045
    Tamil Nadu
    INDIA
    Fax: +91-422-2311611 Website: http://www.seetel.co.in/
    Phone: +91-422-4351711, 4352100, 2311711

22. Just another snake-oil salesman! He sounds just like that same man that brought us blue eyed blondie as our saviour. Don’t believe the shype!

In a universe so vast where we are still learning, he claims that the smallest virus is about 25 nano meters hence he has constructed his life savers pores of 15 nano metres, therefore nothing will get thru.

Do we really know the size of the smallest micro-organism? Why should we believe him?

Black People don’t drink the kool-aid. Our systems were not built for this shite. Look how we have fallen from grace that we are at the stage now where we need the polluters, who in their quest to become civilized [albeit a quest that they are still on with no end in sight, despite their propaganda] is destroying the natural environment, and is now trying to feed us more shit.

Black Man, if it is not from, of, or by your Great Mother, Nature it is not for US.

Let the polluters drink it all.

@PiedPiper…….I think you should nominate yourself for a Noble Prize and have the children also disappeared from your block?

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I think that I have located Alpha King who was here in Barbados on October12, 2005.

I will give him this url.

24. Hopi,
    Ya bad. Ya hit Pied Piper full in ‘e chest sa early dis marnin. Lorddddddddddddddd gal.

25. I seem to remember hearing somewhere that wastewater at the airport was recycled and used for irrigation and flushing of toilets.

26. Hopi
    Who are the polluters in Barbados?

27. Thanks CCC!

A question to pose to Mr. King is what happened with the discussion he had with government?

How does he compare Pritchard’s discovery with hiss own?

28. The video was interesting, and the person made some good points. But I couldn’t stop thinking the whole time: Of course you want everyone to buy the bottle, it’s money that goes into your own purse. If he really was into saving people, there has to be a better way to get the bottles to the people then hoping for the US government to buy it from him.
    I couldn’t stop wondering what he used to get the 25nm holes. And if the minerals we need in our water are staying with it or don’t fit through the 25nm hole either.

29. Please consider what NASA and the Astronauts do with the recycling of their body waste in the Space program.

Also consider, if you do nothing about recycling your waste and waste water in that Beautiful Barbados, what the outcome would be in Water-Scarce Barbados. Have a good day. I still drink good clean water using our State-of-the-art Ozone Equipment. Have a nice day,

30. Thanks Mr. King for validating this exercise. It amazes the BU family that we have an innovative Bajan (we understand you are) and we would not utilize such skills from the Diaspora.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

With all of this heavy rainfall it is a pity that we have no measures in place to trap this precious rainfall.

It will all go into the sea. What a shame! I guess it is easier to continue to say that Barbados is a water scarce country than to put measures in place to ensure that it is not a water scarce country.