The deck seems to be stacked against Minister of Education Ronald Jones who we have previously suggested is unsuited for the job, parents and all the other stakeholders as we attempt to arrest the counter-culture which has taken root in our society. Yesterday afternoon we listened with interest to VOB moderator Mark Forde passionately expressing his disgust at the practice which has become fashionable of wearing trousers across the hips to expose the crack of the ass, if female and the undergarments, if male.

Like several other maladies which are currently afflicting our society there is one common thread, Barbadians are reluctant to act until there is irrefutable evidence to support the act under suspicion. Barbadians yearn always to appear to be doing the right thing. Even if the video above already demonstrates a concrete indication that the Jamaican ghetto culture has past the point of no return started to permeate the minds and souls of our young minds, yet we sit and do business as usual.

Prime Minister Thompson, note that removing the school children from the mini-buses is not enough, we need to go further. We need to create boot camps, we need for the Broadcasting Authority to wake up and enforce the standards, we need to exact standards from our radio stations, we need to exact standards from the public transportation sector, we need to exact standards from our calypsonians, we need to exact standards from our politicians, we need to exact standards, standards and more standards.

The uniform of the school in the video is well known so why bother to finger the school.

We need to fight back, NOW!

146 responses to “The Children Are Our Future”

1. Nobody can tell me the name of the school? Nobody?

OK. I’ll just send this entire thread to the head of every school on the island. It’ll take about five minutes to alert them to the fact that a secretive group that calls itself “the BU family” is publishing video of adolescent schoolgirls dancing on the internet.

2. @LIB

Let us write slowly for you. The BU household is satisfied the actors who should know about this matter are aware. It is not every action we broadcast but the BU family in the main has shown us confidence to do the right thing. It’s how we have established the little goodwill we have accrued so far. As previously stated you can join the bandwagon of labeling BU. We know our objectives, we have an idea how we want to achieve those objectives.

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

It’s ok, I can read at any speed and words that are meaningless stay that way, irrespective of the speed of delivery. Your objectives are indeed clear.

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I think your weekend would be well spent reading up on integrity and accountability so that you can start the week off well equipped for a series of discussions on that. The case studies can be many, but the issues are few.

5. Jack Bowman // July 17, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Quoting David: “Members of the BU family are free to contact the school if they want”.

Can someone please give me the name of the school?

It’s too late to call now, but if I get the name of the school I will call first thing in the morning and alert them to the fact that “the BU family” is publishing video on the internet of the school’s adolescent female pupils .

Thanks.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

The uniform looks like that of Springer Memorial, one of the few all girls school left in Barbados and usually the school that wins the Girls sports if my memory serves me right.

Probably best to try Monday morning.

Maybe it would be good to hear what the Minister of Education has to say about the whole matter too.

…. and you are right, I am making assumptions about what I see.

Perhaps what we are seeing a dance class and the teacher was teaching this form of dance expression.

Apologies.

6. David // July 17, 2009 at 10:09 am

“The objective of posting the video is NOT to embarrass this school…”

This sounds very familar, but I cannot rememember where or when I heard it before, I am sure it was fairly recent though.

I wonder if dominace at an annual sport event for nearly a decade, is a factor in this?

John // July 17, 2009 at 2:50 pm

“I see represented in that class room children who come from most if not all of the classes in Barbados…”

How were you able to do that?
    All I see are young girls executing/demonstrating ” dances” seen in dancehall and hip-hop videos.

Jack Bowman // July 17, 2009 at 3:13 pm
    When yuh rite, yuh rite, and when yuh rong, yuh rong; yuh right… this time.

Feel free to correct any spelling, punctuation or grammatical errors.

7. @ David

Quoting David, who was doing his absolute best to sound gifted while addressing LIB:

“Let us write slowly for you … As previously stated you can join the bandwagon of labelling, BU we know our objectives, we have an idea whow we want to achieve those objectives.”

David, perhaps you should write even more slowly—at least slow enough so you remember where all the commas and full stops go, the proper placement of subject pronouns, and how most of the English-speaking world spells the word “how”.

Best wishes to you.

8. @John

Can we respecfully ask that contact be made in September 2009? We believe the schools are out on summer break. Feel free to email Minister Jones, Chief Education Officer Dr. Wendy Griffith-Watson or Deputy Chief Education Officer Isamay Denny. They no doubt are already aware.

9. LIB, did n’t you inadvertently, alight at the wrong island! Ops, I forgot, you’re all dying to get out of there, are n’t u!!

lol!!

Now you’re in OUR country, learn to behave yourself or **** off, back where you came from!!

And I hope that THAT is clear!!

10. @ David

Quoting David, who was replying to John::

“Can we respecfully [sic] ask that contact be made in September 2009? We believe the schools are out on summer break. Feel free to email Minister Jones, Chief Education Officer Dr, Wendy Griffith-Watson or DeputyChirf [sic] Education Officer Isamay Denny are no doubt are [sic] alread [sic] aware.”

May we respectfully suggest that this is a matter that cannot and will not wait. Surely we understand that a problem arises if we publish on the internet what seems to be covertly-filmed video of adolescent girls dancing in their school uniforms in a manner that offends us because we believe it to be somehow sexually suggestive.

Doubtless we appreciate that we are simultaneously appalled by the video even as we give it a wider audience. Without question we would want this brought to ther attention of the authorities without delay.

Certainly we are perturbed by our curious obsession with and constant use of the first-person plural subject pronoun, and occasionally we have been concerned by it. But we have decided not to worry about it too much because it seems simply to be a strange verbal tic of ours. Just as we don’t worry about any of our grammar or, indeed, about much of our thinking.

11. May I quote:

“Peace to all of god will. Peace to all except subliterate racist tools”

The grammar I will leave to others.

12. Besides laughing my head off, I now stand and applaud my computer screen.

13. uhhhhhh, the applause was for Jack not the Yardfowl

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Poor 199 thinks ‘our’ country is where our ancestors were despatched from a slave ship. Having no idea if his/her real ancestors were despatched elsewhere. Poor deluded individual. You wonder why you face hostility in England. I guess ‘they’ object to ‘you’ being in ‘their’ country.

15. these girls were not dancing for an audience. they were having their own fun and one of them betrayed their innocence. I do not see any males in the audience. For heaven sake leave them alone. I bet every one of you condemning those young virgins did something maybe worse maybe not when you were their age but there were no cameras around so no one to condemn. that was a private fun for that particular classroom. the adult who chose to put it on this blog is extremely irresponsible and narrow minded.

16. Jack Bowman, why do you persist in pointing out grammatical and spelling errors on a blog, of all places. The key here is communication, not adherence to principles which are to be followed in formal writing. RELAX!

In any event, you are not entirely guiltless. At 5:28 you wrote “absolute best”. Is there a degree of “best” just below that? And if so, what is it?

17. LIB

199 like he get under your skin…
    Anyway I was in agreement with you when you wrote the following “For those who think they can see the origins of thing by just looking across the water to another Caribbean island” Some Bajans always looking for scapegoats and it is easy to blame others when we don’t have answers. Then you wrote
    “But, few children get to be adults without the aid and ‘guidance’ of adults” which appears that you are blaming the parents. This approach is wrong; children or young adults do what they do and one of the things they do is to emulate their heroes, when I was a teenager playing cricket everyone wanted to be the next Gary Sobers or Seymour Nurse so we would try to bat like them and walk like them etc. perhaps it is the same for these girls maybe their heroes do these dances and they are happy to imitate them but there is a caveat, these children live in a YouTube world and every misstep is likely to be recorded on a cell phone and posted to their ever lasting embarrassment. When we were younger any gaffes were not subject to videotape and later we had the opportunity to smile ruefully and wonder “what were we thinking”. To your point about parents, do you not know of any examples of parents doing their dam nest to get their child on the right path and yet the child screws up? When children reach a certain age the biggest influence is their peers and nothing a parent says or do is as important as what their peers and friends say, if you can determine who their friends are then you would have won the battle. One last thing College students in North America are warned not to post embarrassing photos on Face book etc. as potential employers may check them out before hiring. If today’s would be entrant to the corporate world was yesterday’s beer swilling, skinny dipping, grass smoking student they may find their career sort circuited

18. LIB says:
    You wonder why you face hostility in England. I guess ‘they’ object to ‘you’ being in ‘their’ country.

Actually, the reason is they mistake me for a Jamaican!!

19. Reading the comments/feedback on the merits and demerits of posting the video it raised the question in our minds.

To what extents does the current older generation owe it to the current younger generation to inject its wisdow/knowledge distilled over years towards edifying the new generation?

20. queenam

Agree with everything you say.

As for you, Jack Bowman – Themis is spot-on: you ought to consider giving your snotty little grammar lessons a rest.

You have a reasonable command of English grammar and a fluent prose style. Good for you. Some here don’t. No need to get your panties in a twist about it.

I mean, do you really think you’re impressing anyone (apart from little Mongoose)? This is a blog, not a school room.

Frankly, you’re starting to sound like a bit of a tool.

Best wishes to you and your family.

21. “Inject” implies force and most people react negatively when forced to do something.

Children should be made aware of expected standards and encouraged to achieve them.

The real challenge is in getting all of the older generation to display these expected standards.
    The origins of any difficulties, posed by the younger generation, can always be found in the older generation, if one cared to look hard enough.

The modus operandi should be, “do as I do” and not the current, “do as I say”.

22. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@199
    “Actually, the reason is they mistake me for a Jamaican!!” [And all your efforts to convince them otherwise have failed? Is it that they really don’t care? Keep dreaming your dreams. Got to say that I have always found that due respect gets given where respect is due.]

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“To what extents does the current older generation owe it to the current younger generation to inject its wisdow/knowledge distilled over years towards edifying the new generation?” [Hoping that I have read this correctly. If this is a question you are now asking, then that says something about your thinking process. What does it say that you have to ask what is the role of parents in developing their children? As some have observed, any fool can produce a child, but it takes more than a fool to raise one well. Parenting is an active skill, not a passive one. Parenting is hard, not easy. Parenting is not an option, but an obligation. Parenting does not end while the parties are living, and often continues after the death of the parent (whether the lessons are good or bad). Parenting is not baby sitting, and is not to be passed off to other people: they can help or hinder but the primary role should stay. And more in the same vein. A read of Obama’s recent NAACP speech can give some other pointers about what parents should be aiming to do. Perhaps a reread of the Hoad commentary is also appropriate.

24. This is the problem, we (BU household) keep hearing the argument parents must parent, and who rightfully can deny? The point we have failed to make is the current state in society shows a high level of parental delinquency which in our opinion is linked to how modern society is shaped ie nuclear family and other lifestyle and cultural changes which have taken placed linked to progress..

So in summary the model of parenting is the way nature has designed the process to rear children to optimum, the current state says to us we are in a win-lose situation taking a pragmatic view. The solution in our opinion is not lament the implosion of the parenting model but to examine how society can fill a void.

25. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

“The point we have failed to make is the current state in society shows a high level of parental delinquency which in our opinion is linked to how modern society is shaped ie nuclear family and other lifestyle and cultural changes which have taken placed linked to progress..
    So in summary the model of parenting is the way nature has designed the process to rear children to optimum, the current state says to us we are in a win-lose situation taking a pragmatic view. The solution in our opinion is not lament the implosion of the parenting model but to examine how society can fill a void. ” [Parental delinquency is not new, nor especially pronounced now. I’m not sure if you really mean ‘nuclear’ (say two parents plus children) or ‘extended’ (several generations living closely together) families. But both models have worked very well, with the nuclear replacing the extended in some societies now, and the nuclear being much less evident in some societies. Many families in the Caribbean were not nuclear, because a high proportion of children were and are still born out of wedlock and with fathers who did not stay at home or with the mother (remember that slavery denied the right to marry, so we are relatively new to this kind of set up).

Much has changed in society and parenting styles is part of that, but so too are expectations. Many of my generation will recall that when they were children, they were expected to do work in the home before going to school, to and from which they would walk, then do more chores after returning home. Living styles and locations are now much different. We may also remember that everyone (in the village, say) was responsible for the children, and bad behaviour was often dealt with by the nearest adult. Now, such approaches are less accepted. Some would say for the worse, some say for the better. Certain manners were encouraged and reinforced. That is no longer the case.

However, you may want to load all of the ills on the shoulders of parents. My parents would say that they grew up in world that had just experienced two world wars and whatever it takes they would not want that for their children. They would say that they knew what hungry belly means and do not want that for their children. They would say that they have taught the difference between right and wrong and will not wait for God to meet me in heaven to show me what was wrong. Etc. We’ll all have our stories.

I do not know what you are trying to say with “the model of parenting is the way nature has designed the process to rear children to optimum”. Nature has many models of child rearing.

26. @ David
    You must elaborate on what you mean.
    I cant help but see in your solution a fundamentalist Christian conservative dictatorial society.
    A western version of North Korea.
    Is that what we want?? Don’t think so.
    Some aspects I would agree with though, like mandatory military service for all at school leaving age for a limited period.
    Discipline is what todays youth lack, we have raised then up in a fast food society. They don’t have the focus to stick it out till the jobs done.
    With parents of today always up in arms at the first hint of a teacher disciplining their child, what can society do?

Answer … Educate the parents….

27. Yardbroom, Themis, RN, simply ignore Jack Bowman.

“Peace to all of god will.”

28. Hard Driver // July 18, 2009 at 6:26 am

Answer … Educate the parents….

… or flog them since we no longer flog the children!!!

… being facetious this morning, don’t take me seriously.

29. @Harddriver

It is easy to preach educate the parents with qualities which should be innate and instinctive to start. Whose doctrines and philosophies are we going to instill? Who will be charges with training the parents? What we know is the concept of it takes a village to raise a child has not been refuted but becomes impractical in our modern society. The teachers for example a key partner in the rearing of the child now models an economic behaviour for the most part. The shortcomings of parents who were delinquent in the old days were compensated for by the village approach. At this point we have not been able to fill this void and a laissez-faire approach appears to be the standard.

30. Themis, RN: If you look back you will see that it is predominantly David who Jack takes to task over his appallingly bad spelling, grammar, dangling sentences and the misuse of words in the wrong context. If David wishes put himself out there in cyberspace with all that entails, in other words opening yourself up to both praise and criticism, then at the very least he should attempt to do so in an intelligent cohesive way, otherwise he will most certainly get the criticism he deserve. Some of us are not accustomed to having to pick our way through poorly constructed English in an attempt to understand what is being communicated. Don’t even bother suggesting that this has anything to do with Bajan dialect as I speak local dialect with the best of them. If David is not able or willing to post in clear and understandable English then perhaps he is defeating the whole purpose of starting a blog in the first place.

31. Adrian Hinds: “Yardbroom, Themis, RN, simply ignore Jack Bowman.”

Spoken like a true narcissist, who can not bear for anyone to deflect attention away from himself.

32. …..now let me see…. which is better? a practical, reasoned position that pays little regard to the formalities of the English language – or a snide, childish line presented in impeccable grammar?

Bush tea is on David’s side…

33. So David will become embarrass and stop contributing to BU and eventually close the blog down. ha ha ha lol!

Is Jack Bowman a man or mangoose?

@ Hopi

I just pick up ‘Stolen Continents” The “New World” Through Indian Eyes By Ronald Wright.

Do you want to know how American Indians “dicovered” Europe? Read this book — Eduardo Galeano, author of Memory of Fire

It contain some quotes that you may find usefull in your contributions to the Race thread.

Such as :

God cannot alter the past, historians can — Samuel Butler

History is a set of lies agreed upon — Napoleon Bonaparte

History begins for us with murder and enslavement, not with discovery — William Carlos Williams

Bush Tea: most language mavens produce little worthy of futher thought by others.

34. The school is aware of this video which occurred in the 2007-2008 school year.

The children were punished. Some persons are trying to embarrass the school by circulating an old cell phone video this year. It only shows that Minister Jones must support schools in the banning of cell phones in schools. His recent mouthings are hurting the educational system

35. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@ Sargeant // July 18, 2009 at 12:01 am
    Little gets under my skin in the sense you mean. But as they say one should not let a loud voice deafen the ears to other’s remarks. As you might have discerned, I try to roll to the positive. I now know the sum of three consecutive primes (61 + 67 + 71) as well as the sum of five consecutive primes (31 + 37 + 41 + 43 + 47). That’s quite a discovery.

I think we are broadly agreed on the parenting aspects, and emulating heroes is important. But I say adults need to help put the right ‘heroes’ out there. I used ‘guidance’ in the sense that adults are experienced, should understand consequences better, and are responsible. They should discharge guidance based on that (but of course not all have the same or good intentions). Many adults are now afraid to admonish children (I do not say ‘sanction’ as some interpret that as involving brutality). Case: last week, a group of 9-15 year olds were fighting over a tennis ball one of them had stolen from the courts at Barclays Terrace. One 9 year old boy was hurling a rock at a 10 year old girl and cursing her with the f- word. The older children (14-15 year olds) stood on. I arrived to see and hear this and I intervened. I asked the teenagers if they thought the youngsters were acting responsibly. No. I asked why they did not stop them. They shrugged their shoulders. I told the boy to put down the rock, and put the tennis ball back in the court. Then told the group to leave. They left, muttering. Was I right? I think so. Was I scared? No. Did I fear their parents would come and ‘deal with me’? No. Would I do it again? In a heart beat. Will they never do this again? I don’t know, but I don’t see that I should leave it to go where it could and then everybody concerned is running around blaming each other for why a girl had her head caved in (extreme result but not impossible).

Much of the discussion only makes sense if we think we are agreed on values and the behaviour that will build a certain kind of decent society. What we adults tolerate from children will be there to haunt us and them.

Yes, parents try their damnedest and fail. Yes, some parents have no idea of what to do. But adults en masse are also not supposed to throw in the towel. The task of rearing children is never over.

36. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@Land Lady
    Were the children punished for what they did or for what they were seen to have done? In other words, would the school act or have acted on a verbal report of similar behaviour? Was the school embarrassed by what had taken place rather than that it was filmed? (This is not trivial as someone asked a pertinent question the other day whether it is the act, the actors, or both which cause embarrassment.)

Presumably, you are not suggesting that the cell phones caused the acts. We can argue that it may be irresponsible to make and circulate the video. But I think that’s a separate set of issues.

I personally do not feel that children need to have cell phones at school. But am trying to see what people oppose. If a school child used a cell phone to film a rape at school or other criminal act, which was then handed to the police, would you applaud or condemn the child and the filming?

Not wishing to trick or embarrass, so feel free to decline to comment.

37. Don’t you think the act of standing on the furniture would have been punishable as a standalone?

What about the fact that some of girls would have unbuttoned their tops for better effect?

The video does not pan enough to make a conclusive comment but it appears a desk as been moved to block the door of the classroom?

38. David, there are lots of issues about the behaviour that should raise questions and warrant punishment. I am viewing this with some mothers of children about the same age and all they can say is “That’s …. School. We are shocked? Where are the teachers?”

The lady who seems to know should perhaps point out more about how the school dealt with the matter and if there have been incidents since.

39. These things don’t happen at QC or St.Michael. Why?

40. Who says they don’t, Anonymous? Perhaps the video is kept under wraps!

41. Anonymous // July 18, 2009 at 1:09 pm

These things don’t happen at QC or St.Michael. Why?

Are you sure?

42. Adrian Hinds // July 18, 2009 at 9:52 am

History is a set of lies agreed upon — Napoleon Bonaparte

Agree 100% with Napoleon.

A man way ahead of his time.

That’s why I like to do my own research and get what facts are available.

I can make my own interpretations myself thank you very much.

Don’t trust others to do the job for me and expect others won’t trust the job I do for myself either!!

It goes with the territory associated with delving back into the past.

43. David said:

“What about the fact that some of girls would have unbuttoned their tops for better effect? ”

“Would have”?? What on earth are you talking about?

Think about what you’re saying man. It makes you sound more than a little creepy.

Are you familiar with the term “prurient”? It means an unhealthy obsession with sexual matters.

What I see in this clip is a bunch of kids doing what kids have always done: namely, play the fool and show off in front of each other when (and I’d put money on this) there’s no adult around. I bet they all rushed to their seats as soon as they heard teacher coming!

I’m well aware that all kinds of gross stuff goes on in our schools these days. But really, this video simply isn’t any kind of illustration of it. Give the kids a break!

I urge you all to read queenam’s post again.

And beware of your own prurience!

44. That is a Jamaican dance, the “bashment girls” is do that, this is usually 5% or so of the girls in every class.

These bashment girls usually come from a bashment family.

This type of behavior is expected of them and the teachers would probably know who was on the video with only a verbal description of the act.

Grown folk often try to discourage this behavour, but never provide a alternative

Also this is no different from crop over.

45. Themis & John

I was just being naughty! Of course these things go on at those schools and all the other schools too. I endorse RN comments on this storm in a teacup.

46. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

Bush Tea wrote: “…..now let me see…. which is better? a practical, reasoned position that pays little regard to the formalities of the English language – or a snide, childish line presented in impeccable grammar?” [If the position pays little regard to formalities of the English language it could end up not reading as practical and reasoned. It depends what disregard there is. Minor spelling mistakes can often be interpreted/skated over. Misuse of words can cause confusion. That said, I think we give each author the benefit of the doubt, and if in real doubt, spend time to seek clarification. Each of us, makes the slip of the digit, and spell/grammar checker is not here to help. That said, some will wish to make points on grammar (and they may be or seem snide and/or childish) but would prefer some of that to the profane abuse that others wish to put forth in the place of practical and reasoned positions. But I am but one author.]

47. It is known that much of Black history in Barbados was recorded by Whites who owned the slaves.
    It is reasonable to think deliberately or not we all have our filters.
    Agree with you John!

48. How many posters know of incest in famiIy or friends in Barbados? It’s rife and expIains the number of chiIdren with AIDS, extremeIy high in the deveIoped worId.

49. @ Themis

Quoting Themis: “At 5:28 you wrote ‘absolute best’. Is there a degree of ‘best’ just below that? And if so, what is it?”

When you’re right, you’re right. I suppose we’ll just have to retire the very common term “second best” from the English lexicon.

50. @ RN

Quoting RN: “Frankly, you’re starting to sound like a bit of a tool.”

Now that stings. After all, I really do spend most of my waking life trying to think of ways in which I could impress you.

Leave a Reply to LivinginbarbadosCancel reply