Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

In cricketing parlance, President Barack Obama is set to play a big innings. He is doing and saying all the right things. He was correct to authorize the use of force against the Somalia pirates and he is doubly right, as far as I am concerned, to lift travel restrictions to Cuba.

Of course, it is early days yet and we cannot comment, with certainty, on the impact of the multibillion dollar stimulus package. From all reports, nevertheless, confidence has been restored and 55 per cent of Americans believe Obama has the correct plan to turn the American economy around.

What we can already deduce from his near 100 days in office is that President Obama has cleaned up America’s image abroad, by mastering the art of winning friends and influencing people.

It would be uncharitable of me to reflect at this time on the failure of his predecessor to do likewise, but we all know that prior to the November, 2008 Presidential election, America was in dire need of friends and admirers. It needed an image makeover!

The experts may not wish to speak about it, but part of America’s problem over the last eight years, stemmed from its failure to cultivate new friends and to attend to those it had. Simply put, the country was rubbing most people the wrong way. The demise of Rumsfeld did not stem the tide of unpopularity and downright hatred that was engendered by the former administration. Dick Cheney in particular will long be remembered as a Vice President, America could easily have done without.

Okay, Dear Reader, by now you are asking ‘Hartley, where are you going with this? What has this to do with the serious issues that confront Barbados? This is nothing for Under the Microscope’.

You’re wrong. It is definitely for Under the Microscope and it is most relevant to Barbadians. We are witnessing a gradual return to world supremacy by a country whose immediate past leaders did much to propel the country in the opposite direction. For countries to like you, trust you, or want to do business with you, they must first admire and respect you. In many instances, their attitude towards you is mirrored by their image and perception of your leadership.

That leadership must not only be knowledgeable, it must also be graceful and polite. It must not be cantankerous, arrogant or bull headed in approach or attitude. Members of the former Bush administration were cantankerous, arrogant and bull headed and the world responded in a negative manner. Here in Barbados, little is known or spoken of the extent to which Barbados suffered in recent years as a result of such negative traits of leadership.

It is one thing to see a person on television all made up and smiling as a result of proficient spin doctors. But it is another to observe that individual on the regional and international scene and also to listen to the reviews and the attitudes of others towards what they perceive as arrogance, lewd and cantankerous behavior.

This country suffered immensely in the last eight years as a result of such. Barbados became an irritant to many, as a result of the “puffed-up” attitude of some who flew its flag. There were instances where persons refused to attend conferences and to participate in discussions, merely because of the caustic and abusive attitude of he, who thought he reigned supreme. Indeed, there is at least one Caribbean leader whose failure to visit Barbados or support any initiative proposed by Barbados in the last four years, was neither coincidental nor coincidental.

Leaders who are in office too long, have a way of ticking people off. Many become “giddy” with power. They wind up tearing down all that they built in their formative years. Even though they are recognized as gifted and as having a contribution to make, their attitude and sometimes arrogance has a way of tuning people out.

America is exhaling once again as a result of fresh, new, inspired and inspiring leadership. So too is Barbados! Persons come to the table knowing they can count on reasoned and reasonable approaches to problem solving. No longer does a colleague have to fear being abused or denigrated. No longer will expletives and verbal abuse characterize that which emanates from behind the Broken Trident. There is today a dignified approach to problem solving. There is the absence of a ‘know all’ attitude. The ‘take it or leave it, Barbados does not need you’ attitude has been replaced by one of collaboration, cooperation and mutual respect.

The big and mighty United States of America recognizes that arms and attitude, or lack thereof, will not solve its problems of 2009. Barack Obama has become his country’s Principal Ambassador, and he is making friends for America around the Globe. So too is David Thompson of Barbados!

Once again, it is possible for a leader of Barbados to request a meeting of Caricom and for all 13 leaders to drop whatever they are doing and attend. Once again, it is permissible for a leader of Barbados to speak with confidence and authority on behalf of the regional grouping; once again it is possible for Barbadians to proudly proclaim their citizenship across the region, without being reminded of how brazen, arrogant and downright rude their leaders are.

As is the case in the United States of America today, in Barbados, it is truly amazing what a timely change of leader has done.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

1. Wishing In Vain // April 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Does that mean posting yours as well?

2. Do us a favour and research and pass this information back to us once you have done so, most of us honest persons usually do so under one name, come hell or high water.
    ………………………………………………………
    U fuh real WIV. You are one of the leaders using multiple posts which are known. Probably, if you reduce your attacks and stupid accusations, maybe others on the blog might have a tete a tete with you

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Tell Me Why, You can certainly check and it would be confirmed that ANY and ALL POST on this site are ALWAYS under Wishing In Vain.
    I am not shy and neither do I carry on a conversation with myself as the Parro so often does.

4. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Maybe we should ask David when he proposes to post the conveyances that
    show that during their time in office Julie Arthur bought two properties from NHC (in contravention of NHC rules) and Owing bought two as well… all this while Bajans could not get houses from NHC?

I will give David 72 hours to public
    those conveyances!

I also have to ask Sylvan The Parro Greenidge whether Mia Mottley went to Martins Bay (to buy the same property) just two weeks before Mafa bought it?

Or about the land that she bought in Cattlewash that is slipping away and affecting other properties but she refuses to take responsibility for her land slippage and to do anything to firm up the land movement.

I also suggest that you let Sylvan The Parro Greenidge tell the public about the fraud that Kerrie Symmonds committed while as a Minister of Gov’t.

5. David // April 21, 2009 at 12:37 am

@Dark Knight

As you can see from the attached picture Prime Minister Thompson had his moments to be seen with Obama
    ……………………………………………

Sorry Sir,

You didn’t get the memo. I’ll send it like last time. The real photo you should post.

Then you will see the cheer-leader PM Thompson, rejected and sitting like a little boy while the men discuss regional and international affairs.

Imagine, Thompson sitting next to Canadian Prime Minister – Stephen Harper and not a word to say. Nothing about tourism or IBC’s?

Tell me, how did Mara get to take a photo with Obama? Did she beg? Where was Manning’s Wife – he organised the Summit?

I hope you understand that Daid Thompson has now made his wife a public – “politically exposed persons” – who can be subjected to political comment.

6. Listen Idiot!!!

The Conveyance shows a financial relationship between David Thompson – the Minister of Finance and Leroy Parris – the CEO of Clico.

It was Thompson that promised Barbadians that he and his Minister had signed on to a code of conduct and would declare their assets.

That must have been the “pirates code” “take what you can give nothing back!!!”

Klown!!!

The conveyance is proof that the DLP is not serious about Declarion of Asses, Integrity Legislation and good governance.

It highlights a clear “conflict of interest” lies, deceipt and corruption – the same corruption Thompson spoke about.

You see why I keep making the point that the DLP is a reminder to the world that the DLP is not serious about stamping out corruption?

7. Re :-Tell me, how did Mara get to take a photo with Obama? Did she beg?

Seriously man. You telling me that if a man- any man goes somewhere with his wife that she should not be allowed to be a part of a photo in which her husband is pictured? And that she should have to beg to do so?

Man stick to issues and comments of consequence.

8. Hold your comment until BU publishes the real Summit Photo of: far, far, left and detached – down graded cheerleader: David Thompson,

Then looking stately: Stephen Harper, Obama, Manning, Dean Barrow, the St. Vincent PM and the Guyanese President.

9. Well WIV boy ya seem confuse. Ya dont know who ys talking to on the blog. Ys think dat Dark Knight, Anon and I are de same person.

Wha los ya got to be real ignorrant not to be able to pick up the different writing styles of de three o we. The truth is dat ya have always been an idiot. da is why ya never got the social acceptance o de class ya does hang out wid.

Any how wanna talk bout corruption in de BLP? I want wanna bring wanna proof cause I gine post all of de proof I got bout de DLP here on this blog. Wanna continue to talk but gine post. In other words wanna provide de gossip i gine provide de facts.

David and the Admin of BU wanna ready for me?

10. Royalrumble // April 21, 2009 at 11:05 am

Where were you? We missed you!

11. You all seem to be ducking the issues. What happen at the Summit of the Americas that would be of significant interest and benefit to Barbados?
    It seems like there is need to translate details from Spanish to English our official language .
    Not very interested in photos unless you all are asking us to write photo essays.

12. DK not Drift Kid Avatar
    DK not Drift Kid

@ Simple

Manning: The New Leader within CARICOM/CSME

Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper on Sunday admitted he had come not expecting much but had seen an “incredible thing” at the Summit.

Harper effused: “We saw the replacement of confrontation with dialogue, a dialogue that was very genuine, and a chemistry among leaders and some principal protagonists which was good.”

Harper praised the conduct of the event’s potential protagonists, and praised Manning’s chairmanship.

Harper said: “The Caribbean countries were a tremendous voice of reason and openness at those times when the dialogue did get a little bit heated…I particularly want to say to you Mr. Manning how truly impressed I think we all have been with the steady hand and wisdom in your chairmanship of what could have been a difficult conference.”

Mexican President Felipe Calderon hailed Manning’s chairmanship and said he had never attended a summit which had such cordiality, frankness and openness.

Panamanian President Martin Torrijos Espino hailed Manning’s exemplary chairmanship, and the Summit’s “spirit of cordiality and openness”.

So, from the mouths of three regional leaders came the affirmation that Trinidad and Tobago had indeed made its mark in the affairs of the hemisphere, especially in being the place that largely saw the healing of tensions over Cuba.

Of course there were issues surrounding the hosting of the Summit, such as what the cost was and whether it will be recouped in benefits down the road for Trinidad and Tobago.

Manning said he expects the Summit to attract investment to Trinidad and Tobago but added that even if this does not occur, the Summit is this country’s contribution to peace and harmony in the hemisphere.

Although some leaders declined to sign the Declaration of Port-of-Spain, reportedly due to their fears that it would unduly pressure Cuba towards democratic reform, the document was adopted by a consensus of the majority.

Further, President Calderon said the spirit of cordiality at the Summit far exceeded any disagreement about the wording of the Declaration.

(Today’s Trinidad Newsday)

13. Now let me thank the Admin staff of BU for posting the MAFA Conveyance.

My reason for having this document posted was not to give the impression that private citizens cannot buy land in Barbados. That is their right.

My reason for the post is to show up the level of two-facedness, deceit, dishonesty and conflict of interest in Thompson.

So when WIV talks about land purchased by Julie, Owen and Mia he has missed the point. I am not saying that people cannot buy land in Barbados. I am talking about the conflict of interest. Maybe WIV can show the conflict of interest in the purchase of the land by Julie, Owen and Mia.

Thompson has been the Lawyer for Clico for more than fourteen years and it is amazing the things that he and Parris have accumulated together over those years. In fact it would be shocking the personal wealth amassed by Thompson as a direct result of that alliance between himself and Parris.

There are other posts, which I will ask BU to post for me that will show why in my opinion Thompson’s handling of the recent Clico financial crisis was dealt with the way it was.

Clico was not placed under judicial management as required by section 57 of Insurance Act and as was done in all the other territories where Clico exist.

All other Governments in the region, except Barbados, have controlling interest in the Clico in their respective countries and can therefore justify the millions of dollars they are putting out to rescue it.

The situation with Clico Barbados today is one where Thompson, in his determination to protect Parris’ job and their unholy friendship has expensed $20 million of taxpayers money along with the rolling account at BMFC, which could amount to millions more and not a single words on how that money would be repaid and when or what controls will be put in place to protect the taxpayers money.

So much for accountability and transparency. Can other companies expect this kind of lavish treatment by Thompson or is this reserved for Parris alone? How can a treasury that is broke be so generous in its giveaways? Or is this more than meets the eye?

While all this free money is pouring into Clico’s kitty ordinary Barbadians are struggling to make ends meet. Parris now gets to keep his private jet and five cars in the garage, for which he is willing to share with any member of the DLP that is willing to support the nonsense being perpetrated by Thompson at the expense of Barbadians. The Dems now serve money not the Masses.

But Thompson and the Dems did not get there overnight; we were warned by none other than Freundel Stuart in 2004.

My next post which I am sending to BU to post for me will show that before Stuart fell from his principles, before he was uprooted from his moral grounding indeed before he encountered his “on the road to Damascus” experience he was warning them of the dangers of serving money and not the masses. The Clico saga is a classic example of the end result of a political party determination to serve money and big business.

BU please post Mr. Stuarts article from the Nation Newspaper May 20, 2004.

14. What is this all about? And who really cares?

When Mr. Thompson was paying (Sylvan Greenidge)Royalrumble, he had no problem with him. When he was working at Clico, he had no problems with Parris. The problem was that Greenidge could not sell any policies!

So what’s the fuss?

A little perspective is necessary though: Perhaps Freundel Stuart was referring to people like (Sylvan Greenidge) Royalrumble – who joined back the BLP (1) because his house was being sold to pay for a defamation claim made against him by Evelyn Greaves (2) he owed Clico substantial sums in stolen Agent’s balances and in his mortgage for his house was in arrears to a mortgage company owned by Clico (3) he could not find work anywhere else because he has no qualifications except an ability to sing for his supper.

Greenidge is insanely jealous of success and that’s why he hates David Simmons, Henry Forde, Freundel Stuart, David Thompson and Mia Mottley – and regarding the latter don’t be fooled by his kind comments towards her now.

There are a few documents we also have for BU to publish!
    Greenidge would be a liability anywhere he goes.

But the big issue is how could a former Prime Minister and his wife amass four house lots from a State Corporation – the NHC – and it not be a conflict of interest or a basis for a criminal conviction?

15. @ Wuh? // April 21, 2009 at 2:23 pm
    What is this all about? And who really cares?

16. @ Anonymous

You read that post from Wuh?

See the sentence structure? hear the presentation of “arguments” note words like “amass” “insanely jeolous” note the knowledge of the reference to a house and the defence of CLICO.

Shouldn’t BU be getting a report on the 5th Summit of the Americas?

Look Wuh?

“Ever so welcome …wait for a call.”

17. Here is why Barbados is in crisis. Note that the DLP opts to find out the identity of BU bloggers instead of fixing the mess it cannot clean up:

According to Dennis Kellman, Barbados has “an unofficial fishing agreement” with Trinidad and Tobago.

David Thompson said that the Arawak Cement Company should put a welcome sign on its roof for visitors entering the country to see.

Ester Byer Suckoo advises that in order to save electricity, Barbadians should pull-out their fridge plus when not in use.

Ronald Jones said that public servants are stealing government files and giving them to the BLP who is burning them down by the Port – one of Barbados’ most secured facilities.

George Hutson took all of the primary school children in his constituency on a tour of a rum refinery.

Steve Blackett said that he will ask the Cuban government for money to rebuild the Empire theatre.

Immediately after the elections, Christopher Sinckler said that Barbadians do not know anything about what goes on in parliament or about parliamentary procedure.

He also said that Constituency Councils are not a new tier of government. The law the DLP passed says something completely different.

David Thompson said that he cannot wait for the American economy to rebound.

Look Mr. Gentlemanl!!!

When the global recession ends in 2009, all of the factors that drove oil prices to record highs last summer will again be exposed… and oil prices will again hit triple digits.

Even T&T and Russia want the price of gas to rise. Trinidad needs the price of oil to skyrocket badly in order to recoup some of the Clico bailout money it is now spending

We should therefore enjoy oil prices now while they’re cheap, because a cadre of analysts is calling for oil to rise as much as 113% in 2009.

Among the many reasons oil producers, importers and exporters are bracing for a serious oil price is because the “easy” oil has already been found.

The world’s largest fields are declining – from the Persian Gulf, to the North Sea, to the Gulf of Mexico, to Alaska.

In fact, two major oil exporters – Indonesia and China – have begun importing oil.

It is said that new growth in Asia is demanding nearly 10 billion barrels every year while… there’s hasn’t been an “elephant oil field” discovery (one that yields at least 1 billion barrels) in 40 years.

But Thompson wants the US Economy to bound back immediately: help him sombody!

A strong US economy meants increase demand for Oil and Commodities, hence price increase and balance of payment problems: even more pressure on the foreign reserves.

18. Dark Knight, I read the post from Wuh and I must tell fellows bloggers it is truly a privilege to have our beloved deceitful, money grabbing, immoral Prime Minister on BU with us.

It is good that he can take a break from his busy criminal offenses to blog with us. I must tell you though PM there is no money on this blog to grab, no one to conspire against, no perjury to commit or old peoples, like the former maid of the DLP, homes to steal and invest in your daughter’s name.

So brace yourself for the rough ride. Oh, and while you are on the blog tell us about this insurance plan that Parris buys for himself whenever his bonus comes around that allows him to earn every cent and defrauding the Government of close to a million dollars in with holding taxes.

Fellow bloggers the PM ask us, who cares? You see he does not care what anybody says about the nonsense that he is doing. This is the same man that during the turbulent days of the early 1990’s when the bailiffs were hounding down and embarrassing honest hardworking Barbadians who had loss their jobs as a result of measures introduce by this said political criminal Thompson, who was Minister of Finance at the time, he was heard to say that the only thing a bailiff can ask him is the time of the day. He did not care of the hurt he had caused so many fellow Barbadians. He expresses the same “dont care” attitude now.

19. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Hi David, are you nearly complete on that summary of the multiple posters ?

It will make very interesting reading indeed.

Anything sensible due to be posted coming up?

As there is not much worth following in this.

20. Well wait…..I didn’t know WIV controlling this blog now. It was supposed to be the voice of the people. Like only um is people.
    David and BU family, when did you sign over to WIV?
    Is only WIV does call you by name and behave like he got some inside connections, eh eh.. Ah wonder. ?????

21. @Anonymous

WIV is free to make a request just like you or any other.

22. Well in that case i hope you are willing to expose him along with the accused.
    As as a plea, if you will expose the others please David do include WIV as well, as we are all apart of the BU family!
    Thanks.

23. And I hope to God he ain’t got you under control as the he does the rest of Barbados!
    FYI Hartley Henry is a very powerful man.
    And FYI again, you might think he is your friend but let me tell you he got real estate in hell.

24. Is BU now having the same problem that prompted the formation of this blog.

25. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I would be happy for David to show that my record is simple clear and plain I blog under one name at this site it is WISHING IN VAIN and never once have carried out conversations with myself as it is known that The Parro Greenidge is known to do.

I will be very happy were David to confirm this to those uneducated to this fact.

26. @WIV, anonymous et al

We have no time to get involved in who can ‘piss’ the fartherest. Please continue to contribute to BU by maintaining the best standards as we know them. Thanks!

27. Fellow bloggers I was only waiting to see how BU would have responded to the colossal Jack*** Hartley Henry before I state my case. Hartley aka WIV thinks that he can walk around this and buy people with his blood money.

There are decent people alive who cares nothing about nasty paper.

You come on this blog spreading your filth about me and everyone else and now that you are getting lashes left, right and center and rightfully so you want BU to declare personal information on their bloggers.

GO TO HELL HARTLEY.

This parro can take his lashes and you know why because I know that the things that you are saying about me are not true. However, all the things we are saying about you are true because your reputation precede you. You only have to visit certain places in Barbados and mention your name and the awful stench on you start to flows.

I am certain that you do not know to whom you are communicating with on this blog. You accuse me of blogging under a number of names, Anon, Dark Knight and anyone who oppose you. Royalrumble post under one name and that is the “Royalrumble”.

Come on David don’t let Hartley disrupt the good flow you have going on this blog. You have created a unique opportunity for those of us who want to express ourselves freely.

Don’t be frightened to tell that dumb shithead Hartley that if he wants to control a blog then go back to his Party’s blog the Barbados Free Press. They have destroyed that blog by allowing their yardfowls to say what ever they like about others on the blog and when you respond they either don’t post your comment or put you in moderation for days. I have dismissed that blog. I will never be seen there again. Hartley, Jones and all the other DLP girls can stay there.

Fellow bloggers if I seem a little worked up here I am sorry I am just mad that these criminals would think that every one they come into contact with can be purchased.

Now that I have let off some steam lets us get back to serious business. This DLP is more corrupt than Birds of Antigua in just one and a half years. Ya hear ma Hartley, I talking bout de Birds.

I have a document to post that shows that UDC and RDC are now being used to build homes for the side women of MINISTERS. Hold on the document will be posted by BU admin.

28. Take Your Time Avatar

Are we really talking about side-women? But wasn’t Julie Price (as she then was before she became Julie Arthur) the first beneficiary of RDC assistance? The records are there…

Is Mia paying you to do this to Owen Arthur?

Come on, Royalrumble, don’t go down that road.

29. Take Your Time you are a true true Dem. Plant an innuendo and then flee the scene.

Come and explain yourself. Tell fellow bloggers what assistance Ms. Price later Mrs. Arthur got from RDC and tell us about the records. There are bloggers who are on this blog for the first time so speak clearly and fully to the you are raising. That is why I have decided to back up my statements with actual official documents.

I can answer you word for word on this blog but I want you to stay your case fully. No half done job. So bring it on I am waiting on you to explain yourself.

You ask me if “Mia paying me to do this to Owen” So you carrying on this foolishness to. You are trying to drive a wedge between Mia and Owen. Let me tell all you Dems this. You all are intellectually capable of accomplishing such a tasks. The only person in that Party that had that ability is dead and this current bunch just not cutting it. You all are too DUMB.

I listen to the puppet Prime Minister during the estimates debate trying to make sport at the two figures given by Ms. Mottley and Mr. Arthur with respect to the fall of the foreign reserves. Poor soul he did not even understand what they were trying to tell him. What the idiot did not admit, but which is clear to all and sundry, is that the reserves held at the Central Bank fell by over $200 million while the reserves held by Commercial Banks fell/disappeared by over $500 million.

So whether you used Mottley’s figures or Owen’s figures the fact of the matter is that capital flight has already started to take place in Barbados. This is precisely what took place in the early 1990s that lead to the collapse of the Barbados economy. It is an expression of the lost of confidence that the investors and those holding foreign currency in our system have in this Government’s ability to lead this country.

Our foreign reserves will fall even further by year end and this is where the real challenge will come for this Government to pay its bills both at home and abroad. So civil servants can brace themselves. There is already talk in Cabinet to bring a law to repeal the amendment to section 112 of the Constitution prohibiting any government from ever cutting public servants salaries again.

30. By the way where is Hartley?

31. The DLP does not know but the Barbados Economy is in recession:

Having not acted last year, several things that were considered priorities for the Government have now to be put on hold.

This observation comes in the face of increasing evidence that the private sector is the priority if job losses are to be contained, economic decline is to be minimised and credit is to flow where it is most needed.

Credit is to the private sector what blood is to the body!

Almost all businesses large and small must have overdraft facilities with financial institutions in order to smooth out their flows of income relative to their expenses.

In some businesses, the overdraft facility is more needed.

For example, merchandise sales involve given shelf-space to a distributor such that retailers have stock for sale to consumers.

In this case, the rate at which the merchandise is turned over is critical to the success of the business.

In essence, the retailer is given a specific period to get rid of the stock and pay the distributor.

If the consumers are buying at the desired rate, then the cycle is achieved to the benefit of all involved.

Of course the consumer is paramount in this chain, and so if for some reason the purchasing power of the consumer is affected, the entire chain is weakened.

This is the critical piece of evidence in understanding when a recession has reached the core of the economy.

Recent complaints by car dealers, service providers and even food outlets tell the tale.

Once economic activity slows to the point where financial institutions have to restrict or ration credit, the lifeblood of business is threatened.

There is growing evidence that the private sector is in the throes of a recession, even if the Government does not wish to recognise the reality.

It is in this sense that the Government is being asked to appreciate that the condition of the private sector is the defining difference in this recession which has not been officially recognised as yet.

Given the tightness of Government’s fiscal space and the excessive taxation imposed in last year’s Budget, it may not be possible for the Government to add more than a 1.5 per cent of GDP to the fiscal deficit in assisting the private sector, without doing more damage to the country’s credit rating.

The issue at hand is how to reduce cost to the private sector such that it does not see cutting labour cost as its only option.

In this environment, it makes more sense to look at the balance sheets and income statements of businesses rather than to engage in cosmetic public relations by touring business establishments with an entourage of Press reporters.

There is very little to learn from tours as opposed to engaging in heavy discussions on the real issues affecting businesses in Barbados.

Attention to detail is preferred to texting!

The Government has become so obsessed with public relations that it continues to boast about its social programme while ignoring that the economy is in recession.

The major social initiative to date is really an act of enfranchisement that is giving the National Housing Corporation’s tenants ownership of the units; they are not new housing solutions.

Let us hope that the Government is not so obsessed with itself that it fails to recognise the nature of the current economic recession and by extension succeeds in prescribing the wrong policy initiatives to the private sector that is rightfully crying out for help.

32. What is the big mout Minister of Economic Affairs saying and doing bout all this? He like he finding that this is not as easy as cough and cold and nail juck!

33. @ Anonymous

Here is what I found in today’s Trinidad Guardian:

“Brace for hard times”

“T&T will experience increasing unemployment this year as layoffs and job losses continue and the poor outlook for the recovery of energy prices calls for another revision of the country’s economic prospects, Central Bank Governor Ewart Williams said yesterday.

Delivering the bank’s semi-annual Monetary Policy Report, Williams said the economy was slowing down faster that the Central Bank had expected.

He said that whereas the bank had forecast that economic growth would slow down from 3.5 per cent in 2008 to between one and two per cent this year, the bank was now projecting no growth for this year.

He said T&T was still not in a recession, but in stagnation. Williams warned that as bad as the local situation was, the other islands in the Caribbean Community (Caricom) were in worse shape.

He said some of the Caribbean islands which are heavily dependent on tourism were experiencing significant increases in unemployment.

He said while the US, Europe and Latin America had introduced stimulus programmes to reduce the rate of the slowdown and attempt to deal with rising unemployment, Caricom countries, except T&T, had limited scope for introducing fiscal stimulus plans as these were some of the most-heavily indebted countries in the world.

“So there isn’t much scope to increase the budget and there isn’t much scope to borrow…This puts particular pressure on those Caribbean countries and presents special challenges for them in dealing with the increase in unemployment which is resulting in an increase in poverty,” Williams said.

How come he know more about the barbados economy than Marion Williams and david Thompson.

Is the DLP telling barbadians lies? Doesn’t that go against the grain of Freedom of Information, Integrity and Good governance?

Change!!! Just 467 days you know.

Anomymous, brace yourself! The Barbados Economy is in RECESSION but the DLP is keeping it a secret.

It will get deeper. Wait for the budget!

34. P.M of St Lucia, Mr Stephenson King, as reported on the early morning news, has warned that there are going to be layoff in the public sector to combat the economic crisis. I hope this NEVER happens in Barbados because I fear the private sector is just waiting to see our government make the forst move, then “all hell brek loose.”

35. why dont we just pray on that…

36. @ BU Admin.

In light of recent comments by the AG, could you please start a discussion on the Public Service Act.

Perhaps a good way to start would be to source the story on page 4 of the Sun on Saturday.

This is important!

The Public Service Act sought to appoints over 3, 100 persons who were working in the public service of Barbados for three years or more.

You cannot get a promotion if you do not have a job.

Or, can you, Mr. Stuart?