Circulated by Ian Bourne to Media Houses, NISE …
kfc_colonel_circle
chefette
Ms Kim Tudor; Nat’l Initiative for Service Excellence/Ms Michelle Hustler-Small; Bds. Coalition of Service Industries/Editor; Daily Nation/Editor; B’dos Advocate & Heat Magazine

Attn: New Year’s Resolution, viz. – Service

Dear All:

Most people at this time of year make a New Year’s resolution; more often than not it usually involves losing weight. My resolution also concerns food, but as it relates to service…

On Saturday 27th December I decided to have a Gourmet Burger at Chefette’s Barbecue Barn for a late lunch or early dinner – much to my regret; I ordered a small salad, burger-platter and a Pepsi.

Before the cashier rang up the sale, I made sure to add I wanted cheese and bacon with the burger and I paid the Chefette employee.

After having the salad my main course appeared and I collected it, while sitting at the table I looked at my meal, it seemed there was no cheese – I even looked at the bottom of the patty and it was dry bread underneath; naturally, I returned to the counter. I asked for an attendant and one who was not the cashier stepped up, so I explained what I thought was my shortcoming. Paraphrasing the rather appropriate Clement C. Moore for this time of year – what to my wondering ears … ?

She wrings up her face and says “LOOK, IT UP UNDER DEY!” hurled in either a snarling shout or shouting snarl (Translation – ‘Look, it’s up under there’ as in; the little bit of cheese was under the slice of bacon)

Still shocked, I went to sit back down at the table, I realised a senior-type Afro-American couple parallel to me were staring at me so I asked if they witnessed what happened; they not only confirmed what they saw but added they’re accustomed to it every time they visit the island and they try to ignore it – as I started to put on BBQ sauce on the burger I don’t know what happened, but I just had enough. I muttered to myself that enough is enough and this can’t happen anymore, then I marched back to the counter and demanded for the Manager On Duty; when she arrived I then proceeded to loudly demand for a refund on my meal as the service was not even what I expected at Nelson Street or Baxter’s Road.

I can safely state I did not use profanity, but I was not quiet, the entire fast-food establishment heard me, I was even asked what I wanted and I said I did not care it was Xmas or New Year’s that that woman did not deserve to be in a Chefette uniform and she should be sent home! To the Manager’s credit, she was quiet and apologised as well as giving me a full refund even though I ate the salad.

Chefette is not the only place to have poor service; there was October this year when Kentucky also failed in their bid to entice my patronage…

I see in the Saturday Sun that Kentucky Fried Chicken is returning their Famous Bowl offer, this is where you get mashed potato with gravy and corn with popcorn chicken and draped with 3 different grated cheeses and a Pepsi to drink for $14.99 Bds – what is cool is the bowl has a resealable lid and is microwavable and dishwasher-safe, so you can reuse the item for a long time after!

So I head over to KFC’s Hastings branch, but having had previous horrors with KFC, I made sure to ask WHEN will the Famous Bowls be ready? I was made to wait for a bit then learn they’re “on hold” until the corn arrives… Quite naturally I ask how long will this take and I am told when the corn arrives in a perfect rendition of Catch-22! I blurt “Typical!” then exit the queue and stalk out to my car.

This is the same KFC asking for people to join as staff and be so service oriented they want to dub them as customer maniacs? KFC needs an extra Menu sign – one where they can slide items as to which is IN or OUT like how you know when to ask for certain Insurance Agents or Media Houses by those kinda signs…

(So you mean to say Kentucky couldn’t alert all branches that between x-date and y-date a product promotion will be in effect and please send all requisitions in early to ascertain all necessary spices/ meats/ vegetables, etc. will be ready ahead of 1st day’s issue and please make sure at least 25 of said product are pre-cooked awaiting eager Public response?)

I have also received dismal treatment from both establishments even as long as 2005, here’s what happened from an e-mail I sent my friends when it occurred…

There needs to be something really done about Customer Service or the lack thereof at both KFC and Chefette, and until that time, no one should buy from them unless they develop manners and common-sense!

On the night of Thursday the 24th Feb. ’05 I finished my late shift and my wife came to pick me up from work, both of us had a hard day and neither of us felt like cooking – so we decided to fast-food it…

What a Big Mistake that turned out to be!

Went to Cheftte Wildey, stopped at their Drive Thru and WAITED ages (3 to 5 minutes) before a response which was to hold on MORE (2 mins. further) then ask for a Dinner Mate, told that you gotta wait 15 mins. for chicken and decide to ask for all-beef rotis instead and learn that that’s outta stock also, only chicken rotis (they, along with Chefette’s chkn. sandwiches give me the runs, avoid ’em like the plague) and so we decide to try KFC Collymore Rock…

How dumb was that? They shut already at 11:30, “We shut!” was the terse reply snapped at us from the drive thru glass that remained shut during the whole encounter! As if we didn’t suffer enough, we sojourned to Chefette Rockley, and learned our Dinner Mate was 3 legs and a wing with no napkins nor ketchup after the fact… We only realised the legs bit at first and asked about it, and were told that that’s all that’s left! Good Lord!

You couldn’t’ve told us beforehand? Wait ’til we done spend the money?

Bare Foolishness! If we see the li’l man in the chef’s hat the rest of this year, it’ll be too damn soon, y’hear?? As if that wasn’t enough, we traipsed over to KFC Hastings and bumbled thru their drive-thru which although open was lacking in stock and manners… “We en’t got no corn at all!” ‘Please‘ and ‘Thank You‘ must be Russian insults for them, too!

Here it is, nearly 4 years later – but I am firm in my resolution from even before the New Year… If anyone catches me at Chefette or KFC between now and up to the end of 2009, then they have free reign to kick me in the shins or slap me on the back of the head!

78 responses to “KFC and Chefette Restaurants Send AirBourne Postal!”

1. cindy // December 29, 2008 at 9:23 am

You PPLS with this recipie thing is mising the point, it’s not the food. It’s the service, we in Barbados needs to step back and take a good look at what we call “NISE”. All areas in Barbados public relations need to greatly improvd on their service. We cannot even be rated. Barbados Goverment pls ask your ppls to get with it or loose it. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This post begs the question then, what is the department NISE really doing then, what are their programmes, how do they get it out of their nice little air-conditioned cubby holed office and into the supermarkets, restaurants, computer places etc? Was this department just started for someone to get a cushy job are we serious about service?

Another fast food restaurant one should approach with caution is Chicken Barn warrens, the service is horrible, the girls in their short tight horrendous uniforms are piggish and don’t talk about the area with the ketchup, in this day and age no one should be refilling old plastic ketchup bottles for several ppl to put on their french fries. Most un-hygienic.

2. People should seriously consider the treatment of the staff in these establishments. How do you expect your staff to treat your customers properly when you dont treat them properly. Thats like stepping out on the wife and then asking her to cook your food…chances are you could get some poison rice.

3. LOL // December 30, 2008 at 2:54 pm

People should seriously consider the treatment of the staff in these establishments.
    Agreed . Some of owners and managers of these establishments are horrible. Miss Ram comes to mind. Cable and Wireless service is bad also. NISE was an abject waste of public funds.

A compettion with some real money should be run allowing consumers to vote for businesses with best customer service. The prize money goes to customer friendly employees. I think that would motivate some of these unmannerly workers.

4. On those rare occasions when on the road the it seems a good item to drop in and spend a tidy sum, all too often the little man in the hat chicken turns out too much to be like a salt ball. One aften finds out after eating the first piece. My resolve for 2009….fast food is out the window. I will instead buy and do my own preparation of fozen cuts at home …putting a quick meal together must be a reality for me in 2008. As for friends….my social life will not include such splashes as KFC or the little Chef-IF-In the Hat.

5. Dear Owing After:

I commend you. As for your social life. When you plan to prepare a simple tasty meal at home, invite a few friends over to eat and ole talk.

No need for your social life to be harmed.

6. OK 199.

I am Bajan.

Both of my beloved parents were Bajan.

All 4 of my grandparents were Bajan.

All 8 of my great grand parents were Bajan.

I know because I talked to the elders and then years and years ago I went to the Archives and checked the registers, of births. marriages, baptisms, deaths etc.

Before that my ancestors were Africans like the ancestors of 95% of Bajans.

Ain’t no blue eyes in my family, and very few boys.

7. And even though once upon a time a long time ago I lived in the great white north, I have NEVER voted for a conservative party in my life and I’ve seen nothing yet to persuade to do so.

8. 199 wrote “let we know when yuh talking someting sensible or when yuh jus talking for show!!”

Cheeze on bread 199, ya expect me to read and spell fa yah now?

Wise people can pick milk outta coffee.

9. Harbour lights cars block de road,

Ya got ma laffin…..how ya mean who sen and call me? I did hay befoe you , ya foolish bitch.
    I like de new name too; Bonny poppit. Ya got ma typin and laffin. Ya CLOWN. Tek dah.

10. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

why we cyan start a name-and-shame campaign…

(but at same time give props to decent food/drink outlets)?

leh muh start: good friendly service – pink star baxters road

piss-poor: that coffee shop at quayside (well, not all o’ de staff so bad) – im thinking in particular of the greasy sourface one wid glasses who was pregnant – rude!

11. RBTT with the fat sour woman; that’s another one! Nearly all the RBTT Banks rude! If I go anywhere and the service is not nice I will do like RN and put it on the blogs! Gloria Baxter’s Road is be nice everything for 22 dollars (I do this on some Friday nights) Fish, Pie, and Salads; this meal is shared comfortably with two persons.

12. Why single out RBTT? All of them offer shabby service (Ever been to BNB?).
    Seems as though it is an honour to offer snail paced service.

I always wonder how a manager feels when customes have to wait in line of over 30 minutes.
    Well…I guess once the cheque comes at the end of the month you don’t have to care.
    Facts

13. J, duh in nuh blue-eyed people in my family eida but I caan c wha all d fuss is about, about African dis an African dat!!

They’re a load of shites!!

Steupse!!

I bet you’re one of the type who’d invite Mugabe to dinner and treat him to one of your lovely, recipes, are n’t you!! Jes because he’s African!! Doan mek me laugh, do!!

14. Fair enough RBTT, I concur; however, I deal with RBTT more than any other bank, hence my reason for talking about them. I have to agree with you ALL OF THEM ARE SHABBY! but sour needs to get on better at Hastings! After reading the comment from anonymous about their experience I had to agree I have been to RBTT on the bottom of Broad Street, hastings, Sixroads and Lord havest mercy const to the ole people MURDER! No one cared, everyone just looked busy doing nothing!

15. JC, Can’t really agree that the tellers exhibit bad manners at RBTT Hastings. In fact, I think they are very friendly (I am a long term custmer with the bank – over years).
    They do need however, to speed things up. But I think this is a problem at the level of management.

16. Facts they do NEED TO SPEED THINGS UP! That is the problem and The sour lady has left a SOUR taste in my mouth after she treated a lady behind me mean! Sorry that is my opinion naaaa I aint sorry that is how I see it!

Some are indeed pleasant but I need faster service PLUS better manners!

17. Dear 199:

You wrote “I bet you’re one of the type who’d invite Mugabe to dinner”

Nah!!!!!!!!!!! Mugabe ain’t get invite to my Christmas party. And he ain’t gettin invite to the New Years one either.

18. Ok J, take care babe!!

19. 199
    Look, it too early in de NewYear fa me ta ‘buse’ a boy hear? Wah is de meanin’ to u callin’ anedda women ‘babe’. I tek affence. Hummuch ‘babes’ you want?(stupseeeeeeeeee)
    Anywayzz, all de best fa 2009 an’ beyon’ BABES’. (smooch, smooch)

20. Bonny!! I caan get enough babes!!

Laaaaaaaaadddddddddddd!!!!

Happy New Year!!

21. Harbour Lights cars block road Avatar
    Harbour Lights cars block road

Bonny Peppa // December 30, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Harbour lights cars block de road,

Ya got ma laffin…..how ya mean who sen and call me? I did hay befoe you , ya foolish bitch.
    ………………………………………………………………..
    Now get back to you stinking Bonny!. Johnny! You left the foolish bitch at home. I am a child of God and I dont bewse so I just going to beg you to kiss my black ass!

22. Talk ur Talk, Bonny Peppa.
    Harbour Lights is not a shreholder around here; far from it.

23. It seems that Harbour Lights is one spoilt, uncouth child of God. You need saving from yourself.

24. Harbour lights cars got de road block

Uh,uh, uh, uh, uh. You betta be careful wah you asking for, hear? De las’ black ass dat ask me to kiss it, all like now my false teets still entrenched in he ass. Be careful. Now ga long home ya c*^t,ya mudda wanna pee, she bladda burnin’ she rale bad, so ga long home, c*^t.
    ” I am a child of God”, pleeze stop blaspheming.

Bratty Brat,
    I did plannin’ to behave miself for de new year and stop wid de expletives an’ dis pu**y cum an mek me brek my firs’ resalucian. I dun mekkin resalucians man, caws I doan mek um pass de 2nd day. Pray fa ma hear, Soul? God bless.

25. Leave it as said that good “service” in Barbados is like the stars in the sky, few and far between. Ian, you are going back to 2005, let me try you with 2000, when one of my daughters was having a b’day party at Rockley playground branch (if the year serves me right). An Irish couple with a little baby came in.. only customers in the place bar me just doing the party set up… poor things had enjoyed a brilliant night on the town, and were clearly hung over…in search of “fast food”… who tell dem go there? She ordered a vegetarian pizza for him and an all potato roti for her. After a little while, their number was called for the roti, and off she went. It was a C&P roti. She took it back, and the clerk told her there were no all potatoes, “only them” (a baby crying with a hang over is enough to change a Veggie into a downright carnivore!) She suck it up and ate it, but he was now with cold sweats and anxious to eat his vegetarian pizza. 20 minutes long passed, and finally, the blessed event came to pass, and she went to collect it for him. Well, it had on minced meat and pepperoni. Poor soul took it back, only to be told, “tell he pick of de meat, it still good!”// I swear…verbatim! I felt so bad for them, out came some cheese sandwiches and corn curls I had and gave to them to eat, and pointed them to Miss P down Accra to go and get a decent cheese cutter and Red Fru-tee… Service??? Bajans don’t know how to spell it farless live it…. AND DEM FACES OOOUGLY WID IT TOO!!! Peace out, and I won’t kick you Ian, but I will gently remind you of your resolution.!

26. Not Advocate, Nation nor Heat have published as far as I know – sent letter to KFC & Chefette, only BCSI responded and they said they tried 2 ban but ended up retracting! As only game in town…

27. We have spent a lot of time and effort on something called National Initiative for Service Excellance, and you would think from the kudos that the organisers feed us , that the whole of Barbados was Yes Sir, No Sir, 3 bags full Sir. I was in a village shop some time ago, someone called the female shop assistant on her cell phone, to which she replied,loudly. “I can’t talk to you now, these people keep coming in here all the time. ” NISE.

28. Wow , how I laughed when I saw this blog, I have been holidaying in BIM for the last 20 years, and I am afraid it is par for the course.The service and attitude in these establishments has always been awfull, but now I just grin everytime I come across it.Seriously I am completely imune to it now, I now realise that if I get involved it will only upset my vacation. But sorry for all of you who live there and and have to put up with bad attitude every day. SEND THEM ALL TO NEW YORK OR ITALY ON A CRASH COURSE ON CUSTOMER SERVICE. Ps as usual it’s a few who give the majority a bad press.