christmas2

We are approaching the biggest event on the Christian calender. Another year when Christians should be celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ.

Barbados prides itself on having built a model society based on  predominantly Christian values. As we become a  multi-religious society as a result of the inflow of people from around the world, we are still a majority Christian country. We accept that the pressure to assimilate given the requirement of globalization is increasing all the time. What part of our Bajaness are we prepared to sacrifice for the cause?

Christmas 2008 will be celebrated in gloomy economic conditions but Barbadians appear to be following the script of behaviour from previous years. The willingness of Barbadians to prostitute Christmas to the almighty dollar is of concern to us. We spend, spend, spend – the majority of  Barbadians who described themselves as Christians will not visit a Church on Christmas Day.

Many so-called Christians if asked to explained the Nativity Scene will be hard pressed to do so. Barbados is currently experiencing the idiotic occurrence which sees the majority of our population motivated by commercial reasons to celebrate Christmas. The true reason to celebrate Christmas which is based on religious considerations trails distant by comparison.

We wonder if it is too late to rein back on the commercialism which now shrouds the Bajan Christmas. Can we as a people relocate those values which have enriched little Barbados and made it the place people from around the world want to visit and live? Practicing Christians who are members of the BU family should do their part to keep the true meaning of a Bajan Christmas alive.

On behalf of the BU family we thank all who continue to participate on our blog. We make special mention of BU family members who submitted their opinions to be posted.  We believe that ever so little the Bajan Blogosphere has made a contribution by promoting public discourse on matters which need to be discussed.

BU will continue to comment and moderate the blog but will likely not update any new blogs until after the holidays. Have a wonderful Christmas BU family!

86 responses to “It Is Beginning To Look Alot Like Christmas”

1. This year I cutting costs. If yah pass by me I killimg two bones with one stone, I gun offer you turkey ham….

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

2. Christmas in British Guiana was always a special time of the year for my family. The weeks leading up to the big day were filled with house cleaning, such as washing the curtains, artificial flowers and polishing the furniture and floors. This was also the time we would make the special black cake, let it cool and soak it daily with the smokey flavoured Demerara rum, XM was the brand name. After about two weeks we would cover the entire cake with almond paste and royal icing. We always decorated our Christmas tree on the first weekend in December that was always a thrilling experience to the see the finished tree in our dimly lit living room. We had a radio gram so on weekends we would play our records by Nat King Cole, Ella Fritzgerald and Mahalia Jackson.

We also did Christmas shopping, Georgetown in those days was a neat orderly place, not like today the entire place is an emporium, every inch of pavement, sthe streets, every where there are vendors selling wares.. Anyway, a must for us was a five pound tin of Cadbury chocolates, Cadbury Roses, and of course we got presents of McKintosh’s Chocolates, but the Cadbury was a must, and of course we always had an English ham, just delicious from Norfolk, all wrapped in tar, I guess to preserve it. We would open the ham and thinly slice it to eat with bread, butter and mustard. This was all done on the days leading up to Christmas Day. On Christmas Eve we would attend services at St. George’s Cathedral in the centre of Georgetown, in those days I was an Anglican, now today I am a sometime Ethiopian Orthodox church member. After service we would go home and go to bed. Then wake up for the big Chrsitmas breakfast of ham and toast bread, juice, coffee and Irish sweet bread. We would put rum in our coffee, and after breakfast we would open our presents. Then it was time to prepare the big Christmas meal, which consisted of roast beef, gravy, mashed potatoes, steamed peas, plum pudding and hard sauce, Plum pudding and hard sauce was a must for my dad as it reminded him of jolly old England.

Lots of people would come to our hosue for Christmas lunch, including a nice middle aged Barbadian man, but even in those days it was not really Merry as the talk was always about British Guiana politics, Burnham and the Jagans, you know the would say the colony is going to nauth/zero, and so on. This lifestyle lasted a20 years, if I remember well, and then all of a sudden I was a Guyanese, independence you know, Guyanese, but with British overtones, that gave way to new Guyana woman, roast beef gave way to pepper pot, Anglicanism that held sway in my life had now gone to Seventh Day Adventist, AME Zion, Ethiopian Orthodox, where I took up a new royal fascination, Emperor Haile Saliesse, the British monach was out and the Emperor of Emperors, Lion of Judah was in. Colony coloured gave way to new Guyana woman, but new Guyana woman got lost in the chaos that we call Guyana, so now I find myself immensed in a culture whose language I do not even speak, Ethiopia. I did have a Christmas party on Christmas Eve but instead of carols I played a CD I have of Teddy Afro. And there were no roast beef, no Cadbury chocolates, no Norfolk ham, but Guyanese food, but including the black cake just laden with icing. Well Merry Christmas.

3. Um like it aint only a Micro Mock Engineer we have up in here. There is Micro Mock Gearbox as well. ha ha ha ha Does anyone know the real and former Gearbox’s real real name?

A blessed and a wonderful Christmas to all.

Please make sure to include in your New Year resolution, the intent to get your sweat on regularly. 🙂

4. Remember during the year I told you about a tongue tied tenor who made a floops when singing fluuuuuuuuuuuuuuutes?

Well I have encountered another such singer today. They were singing that Polish Carol called Gabriel’s Message, in which there is a line in the chorus that clearly says ” most highly favored lady!”

I cant for the love of me understand whu this guy was singing most highly FLAVORED lady.

Hope you all had a good day today, and best wishes for the New Year.

5. It is unbelievable what believers will believe in order to remain believers.

with further apologies to Dr Porgie.

I hope everyone had a good Christmas.

6. NB, it is also incredible what unbelievers will believe in order to NOT believe.

Happy New Year!

7. where did I hear that before

8. Non Believer

You must try to be more original man. In professing your self to be wise, you show your self to be a fool, for the fool hath said in his heart, there is no God (c.f Romans 1:22 & Psalm 14:1)

It is certainly unbelievably wonderful and marvelous what believers believe. We believe that God created this beautiful world ex nihilo in an orderly manner. Before he made plants which we love so much for their beauty and enjoy as food, he made light and water needed for photosynthesis. Then he made the fauna- aquatic animals, terrestrial animals and avian and arboreal animals. Some of these we enjoy studying and viewing and some we eat. Then he made man in his own image. God made the most unbelievable habitat for man to inhabit, so that he could fellowship with man.

Unbelievably, man broke this fellowship by sin, and unbelievably God already had a solution for this great lapse which Milton calls Paradise Lost.

God promised at this time in the prote evangelium thus And the LORD God said unto the serpent, Because thou hast done this, thou [art] cursed above all cattle, and above every beast of the field; upon thy belly shalt thou go, and dust shalt thou eat all the days of thy life: And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel. (Genesis 3:14-15). This is the first promise of the Savior.

The woman’s seed would deliver a fatal and eternal blow to the serpent’s head at the same time that the serpent delivered a mortal, but temporary blow to the heel of the woman’s seed.

We read in Galatians that Christ is the woman’s seed. When Christ died on the cross he delivered a knock out punch on sin Satan and death. Satan thought he had won the battle, but found that he had orchestrated his own demise! I must agree that’s a most unbelievable story. But it’s a true story, often called the old old story, or the gospel message.

As I stated earlier on this thread believers believe in Christ- not in the babe in the manger but the Christ who went to the cross to pay the wages of sin, which is eternal death or separation from God.

Believers believe the Gospel which is defined in 1 Corinthians 15: 1-4 thus 15:1 Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that CHRIST DIED FOR OUR SINS according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he ROSE AGAIN the third day according to the scriptures:

Believers call this message and the body of literature which illustrate it the FAITH (pistis). Jude says that it was once delivered to the saints, and that we must contend for it (as I am now doing here). In John 8:31 Jesus told believers to Continue in his Word. In John 20:31 the apostle tells us that he wrote his gospel so that folk might believe (that is commit an act of true faith) that Jesus is Christ, and then believing (ie having commited the initial act of true faith) we continue believing so that we might have life through his name. In Colossians 1:25 we are urged by Paul “to continues in the faith grounded and settled, and be not moved away from the hope of the gospel, which ye have heard………..”

Yes unbeliever It is truly an unbelievable story that believers believe in order to remain believers, but it’s a TRUE story. The old old story is still new. And new believers believe it everyday! When they do, they often sing

Gone, Gone, Gone, Gone Now my soul is free and in my heart’s a song. Buried in the deepest sea. Yea that’s good enough for me, I shall live eternally, Praise God my sins are G_- O – N_ E- GONE!

Oh what a wonderful story.
    Wonderful story of love
    Jesus came down from the glory above
    To rescue a sinner, like me!

9. Wunna giving me a headache! All this about what believers don’t believe so that they can believe in that which unbelievers believe not to be believable …. or whatever!

Leh we just take care of each other because for sure we’ve got each other. Everything else is an argument.

10. Chinee

I want mah dog back… in one piece..!

11. BAFBFP,

I gwine bring some woof woof dim sum! Velly good fuh sure!

12. Heard an interesting one the other day from someone who writes to the newspapers occasionally and professes to be anti-Christian.

It seems that this non-Christian believer believes that when you twitch violently when falling asleep, or have just fallen asleep, as most of us do, you are “coming in to land” after some astral travel, and the twitch is a “hard landing.” His astral travel mussee be ‘pon LIAT.

And they say that Christian beliefs are “unbelievable!”

13. Chinee
    I don’ want nah woof woof nuttin’… I want mah dog . Dat po’k dat you cook din smell like pig.

14. Adrian,
    I tink de ariginal Gearbox real name was :Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, I’m not sure.

Ask dis unariginal gearbox, he mite be fam-a-lee.

BAFBFP and Deng you are too funny for me bosey. Always a good laff.

15. Deng, take two aspirin. I believe it might work. Ask Dr Porgie. He might KNOW !

16. Happy holidays to those who just read the blogs, those who post comments and my special people such as Georgie Porgie, Ganong, Anonymous, Technician and so on.

Georgie Porgie, you Ganong and Adrian Hinds (let’s not forget Yardbroom) have a very special place in my heart; we don’t always agree but who can all the time.

I take this opportunity to thank David, for allowing me to have met such great commenters this year.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS, I hope that the coming year is nothing but pleasurable, peaceful and most of all loving for all bloggers.

GOD BLESS YOU ALL!

Bonny Peppa you is something else; Gear box I like your style!

17. NonBeliever
    I believe that you are a naughty boy! LOL

18. Thanks JC…..and Happy Holidays to All, here is hoping to a prosperous 2009.

19. No wonder I did not get any presents

20. Thank you, Tech!! An the same to you!! Jes cut yuh hair!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

21. JC
    AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

22. Dah is, assuming dat yuh have hair fee cut!! 🙂

23. In an interview with Julian Rogers some years ago – called “The Forgotten Ones at Christmas”, “Gearbox” – the real one – said his name was Stanley. I do not remember his last name, but I will research and let you know if I find the missing last name.

24. Dennis johnson

I hope the staff at starcom listen to what a real broadcaster/journalist sounds like when they play over those julian rogers tapes;over,and over,and over again.

The people running out of patience with those “on air personalities”.

What can we expect for the new year?

25. Sadly, I cannot promise any new “Julians” on the horizon. Broadcasters of the calibre of Julian Rogers, Desmond Bourne, [Dame] Olga Lopes-Seale, Vic Fernandes, Leo deLeon etc. seem to be in short supply at the moment. But, seemingly against all odds, a Barack Obama emerged on the US landscape, after years of a George Bush; so maybe – just maybe – we are in our “Bush” years , and some “Obama” years [or Julian Rogers years] will follow.
    Quien sabe?

Dennis

26. Dennis

Spoken like a true diplomat.

Touche`.

27. Dennis Johnson
    Please ask the powers that be at Starcom to improve the call-in programmes for 2009. The format and regular callers are getting boring. Also some of your moderators like talking down to the callers. All of us were not born with the gift of gab and the moderator is there to assist the caller not to humiliate him/her.Even the least among us have a good story to tell if assisted.

28. Now, that is a challenge I relish! Here’s to a better 2009.
    Dennis

29. Dennis Johnson

Stan Lee not Stanley
    I still hey
    AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhh

30. The Scout
    Yeah Yeah.. Scouty… Ask he to get rid ah dah Michael (I’s de true power ’bout here) Browne. He’s cut people wid impunity, even moderators. Saving de company from law suites? … bull! He full ah he cowardly self and want drawing out from behind he producer mask.

31. So true BAFBFP,so true.

Michael Brown is so full of shite and VOB just can’t see it.

He need tekking off like yesterday.

32. Gearbox

Man yuh got me brekking up,fuh real den.

Wuh lossie.

33. […] Barbados Underground dia mandefa fampatsiahivana momba ny anton'ny fety ary maneho ny fanahiany amin'ny fivoizana ny resaka varotra mandritry ny fialan-tsasatra: Ny Krisimasy 2008 dia hankalazaina ao anatin'ny tontolo maloky ny toe-karena nefa ho an'ny Barbadianina dia toa ny fitondran-tenany tamin'ny taona lasa ihany no arahany…izay mahita fa ny ankabeazan'ny mponina dia marisika ny hankalaza ny Noely noho ny antony ara-barotra. […]

34. Read the translation of the Alternative Christmas Message, delivered by the President of Iran, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.
    “In the Name of God the Compassionate, the Merciful.
    Upon the anniversary of the birth of Jesus, Son of Mary, the Word of God, the Messenger of mercy, I would like to congratulate the followers of Abrahamic faiths, especially the followers of Jesus Christ, and the people of Britain.
    The Almighty created the universe for human beings and human beings for Himself.
    He created every human being with the ability to reach the heights of perfection. He called on man to make every effort to live a good life in this world and to work to achieve his everlasting life.
    On this difficult and challenging journey of man from dust to the divine, He did not leave humanity to its own devices. He chose from those He created the most excellent as His Prophets to guide humanity.
    All Prophets called for the worship of God, for love and brotherhood, for the establishment of justice and for love in human society. Jesus, the Son of Mary, is the standard-bearer of justice, of love for our fellow human beings, of the fight against tyranny, discrimination and injustice.
    All the problems that have bedevilled humanity throughout the ages came about because humanity followed an evil path and disregarded the message of the Prophets.
    Now as human society faces a myriad of problems and a succession of complex crises, the root causes can be found in humanity’s rejection of that message, in particular the indifference of some governments and powers towards the teachings of the divine Prophets, especially those of Jesus Christ.
    The crises in society, the family, morality, politics, security and the economy which have made life hard for humanity and continue to put great pressure on all nations have come about because the Prophets have been forgotten, the Almighty has been forgotten and some leaders are estranged from God.
    If Christ were on earth today, undoubtedly He would stand with the people in opposition to bullying, ill-tempered and expansionist powers.
    If Christ were on earth today, undoubtedly He would hoist the banner of justice and love for humanity to oppose warmongers, occupiers, terrorists and bullies the world over.
    If Christ were on earth today, undoubtedly He would fight against the tyrannical policies of prevailing global economic and political systems, as He did in His lifetime. The solution to today’s problems is a return to the call of the divine Prophets. The solution to these crises is to follow the Prophets – they were sent by the Almighty for the good of humanity.
    Today, the general will of nations is calling for fundamental change. This is now taking place. Demands for change, demands for transformation, demands for a return to human values are fast becoming the foremost demands of the nations of the world. The response to these demands must be real and true. The prerequisite to this change is a change in goals, intentions and directions. If tyrannical goals are repackaged in an attractive and deceptive package and imposed on nations again, the people, awakened, will stand up against them.
    Fortunately, today, as crises and despair multiply, a wave of hope is gathering momentum. Hope for a brighter future and hope for the establishment of justice, hope for real peace, hope for finding virtuous and pious rulers who love the people and want to serve them – and this is what the Almighty has promised.
    We believe, Jesus Christ will return, together with one of the children of the revered Messenger of Islam and will lead the world to love, brotherhood and justice. The responsibility of all followers of Christ and Abrahamic faiths is to prepare the way for the fulfilment of this divine promise and the arrival of that joyful, shining and wonderful age. I hope that the collective will of nations will unite in the not too distant future and with the grace of the Almighty Lord, that shining age will come to rule the earth.
    Once again, I congratulate one and all on the anniversary of the birth of Jesus Christ. I pray for the New Year to be a year of happiness, prosperity, peace and brotherhood for humanity. I wish you every success and happiness.”

Now thats what I call a Christmas message

Peace

35. Participate in around two hundred enjoyable levels throughout Account, Problem, as well as Endless tactic though
    retrieving this taken artifacts as well as demanding
    minions in the heavy. Take pleasure in excellent computer online games,
    release specific power-ups, along with earn masterful triumphs.

LAPTOP OR COMPUTER Activity : Adelantado Trilogy: E-book A single

Complete you love to discover your fabulous secrets and techniques in the jungle that conceal throughout Adelantado Trilogy:
    Publication clash clans cheats 1? Discover and also
    salt apart the shed expedition using Don Diego De Leon, the particular fearless and also commendable
    official. Make friends with the residents that can always be regarding help to people.
    Help the particular natives restore their own properties, harvest meals, and build a settlement.
    Strengthen the expertise to have the many pieces in addition to gain great
    trophies within this demanding pc game.

Enjoy this exciting Strategy video game by sensation just
    like you usually are amongst the first to create ft .
    inside Adelantado. Your own mission might not be uncomplicated mainly because you’ve got more enjoyable discovering this island as well as ignore that you’ll be
    on there for just a motive. The actual Spanish-inspired
    soundtrack is likely to make you sense the particular isle is your own.

Collection your selected issues adjustments between relaxed to tough, in addition to ten vast atlases to
    check out.

You will be given a bonus road whenever you can full
    the rest of the ranges using a gold rating. Don’t forget to save lots of the particular missing dispatch and still have enjoyable value finest!

These kinds of exciting personal computer games will truly difficult task anyone and present people exciting at the same time!

Study additional evaluations as well as info on acquire video games for the pc go to: My personal Download free Video game titles

Related Articles : computer system video games, ps video game titles evaluate, on-line computer games evaluate, computer games on the web, purchase computer games, down load online games on the net, totally free computer games, download free video games,

Mail this article to some Close friend!

Obtain Articles like this one one on one on your mail field! Subscribe for free nowadays!

36. […] It is Beginning to look a lot like Christmas […]