‘The effect on our business will be devastating. Considering that what the Prime Minister has done is effectively removed our ability to sell 1, 2 and 3 day rentals. We simply cannot absorb this increase’.

‘My fear is that we will have such a significant downturn that jobs will be lost and the ripple effect will be felt at all attractions’

One of our leading Car Rental Agencies

What effect will this ONE THOUSAND per cent increase have on our Car Rental companies?

Will it also impact negatively on our attractions like St. Nicholas Abbey, Andromeda, Flower Forest and Orchid World and our many restaurants. And will this result in overall reduced income for Government and further jeopardise the viability of the tourism sector?

With car rental rates already among the highest in the region is this going to further push the cost of a holiday on Barbados above many peoples reach? Car Rental companies will already have to absorb or pass on increased costs of vehicle licences.

Our registered accommodation providers again will have to absorb or pass on the 50% increase in liquor licences and the 50% increase on alcoholic taxes have still to be evaluated. We all understand Government’s have to collect taxes but was there a better way of introducing this massive hike on the visitors driving permit?

Perhaps it could have been made a three year licence to encourage people to return again soon!

Did representatives from the car rental industry discuss this increase prior to its imposition? And, importantly, what is the average duration of rental, as if it’s only two or three days, the increase is even more of a deterrent?

Adrian Loveridge

84 responses to “Visitor Driving Permit From $10 To $100”

1. GP is a hermit! Whaloss, he did agric? so he is bush doctor!

Anyway I expect you to say the secret is Righteousness.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ The Devil

You are correct GP is a hermit!

No I did not study agric, but I helped raise the pigs, chickens and sheep in my day. I also used to fork up de garden for my mother.

I am not a bush doctor either but I had some bush tea a few times as a lad in the 50’s.

3. GP, were you there with Mellows? What did you study?

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Dont think I know Mellows.
    I studied a little bit of doctoring at UWI.

5. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Tzedek – being right, doing right, putting right.

Without wisdom one cannot be “wholly righteous”… Indeed, for MMEs, righteousness will always be an elusive goal (in phase 1). Our redeeming quality is having the WISDOM to exercise our free will in submission to BBE’s righteousness.

“we are all as an unclean thing, and our righteousnesses are as filthy rags” (Isa. 64:6)

“There is none righteous, no, not one” (Romans 3:10)

6. Devil,
    Man leave GP alone, you should be able to tell that he is a gog-
    What hermit what?!?
    I meant that GP don’t give Bush tea an easy time – just like you and MME…. You know that a ‘medical hermit’ is an oxymoron too…

….I was waiting on MME’s response, but for your information Devil- ‘Righteousness’ is not attainable by a MME. If that was the qualifier we would all be doomed. The project would be a failure.

7. Good try MME, that is exactly what the Jews think too but is is not exactly right and could be VERY misleading. (That would require a clearcut ‘RIGHT’ and as I am sure you know, there is no such thing really.
    …enough drama, The qualifying characteristic is one of the few things that cannot be created, cannot be given as a gift and cannot be short-circuited. It is CHARACTER.

Phase 1 is a specially created laboratory, the ultimate objective of which is to create a cadre of MMEs who have been able to develop a special character that is BBE-like.

..such a MME would then be truly like BBE ‘in spirit’ and since MMEs are already created in the physical image of BBE – it would not be unreasonable to refer to MME with such a character as ‘Sons of BBE’.

… before GP set me right with the appropriate scriptures, I want to say that this information is repeated over and over in your bible, but as we started out by saying, it is not available for understanding just because you bright….

…for example, the ‘Character of BBE’ is just my way of referring to what GP will call ‘the spirit of God’… and of course Jesus did explain that in order to enter the kingdom of God (phase 3?), one needs to be born of water (physically as a MME) AND of the spirit (ie Develop the Character of God)

…and Devil, although there is some relationship to righteousness, Having the CHARACTER of BBE is more like “Having the kind of personality that naturally WANTS and strives to be righteous”

naturally, GP will again quote Paul who often referred to the ‘internal fight’ between this newly developing ‘character’ and the old ‘temptations of the flesh’….

…temptations like those that you used to harbour at Infinity huh Devil?

8. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

‘BT… I humbly accept your “not exactly right”.

You said: “Having the CHARACTER of BBE is more like Having the kind of personality that naturally WANTS and strives to be righteous”,

I said: “Our redeeming quality is having the WISDOM to exercise our free will in submission to BBE’s righteousness.”

CHARACTER is the embodiment of SEVERAL virtuous characteristics… WISDOM and submission to BBE (i.e. humility) is the means by which one develops that CHARACTER.

9. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Infinity… LOL.

Oh, to experience those days again. There’s an old saying “don’t worry about avoiding temptation, as you grow older it starts avoiding you”.

10. I could only take Infinity in small doses. I am still digesting this character quality and the old brain seems a bit dull tonight. I would start with at a fundamental point. What happens to those MMEs that don’t get character? According to you :

“cannot be created, cannot be given as a gift and cannot be short-circuited.”

The old time religion said something about all falling short but a way is provided …are you saying otherwise?

11. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

The Devil asked: “What happens to those MMEs that don’t get character?”

Look around Iblis, you’re surrounded by them.

12. Well I guess that all MMEs develop character. But I suppose that The Devil is referring to those who do not develop the Character of BBE – ie practically everyone…

The Devil is trying to be smart, I am quite sure he asked that question with a twinkle in his eye… LOL

Here is another riddle….

If you have a family then you would have created hundreds of millions of MMMMAEs in an interestingly similar exercise; one that parallels BBE’s project.
    (MMMME = Milli Micro Mini Mock Apprentice Engineer or M4AE for short)

These M4AEs (called Sperm in the real world) would have existed for a limited time span, in a specialized environment and unbeknown to them, their goal in their brief existence would have been to combine your character (DNA) with an elusive egg provided by your female partner.

If only one sperm out of hundreds of millions were to succeed, and the phase 2 development (pregnancy) be completed successfully -What great joy and happiness in your family!! What success!!

…. or do you have a period of mourning for the 999 million sperm that did not succeed?

…It is a matter of relatives; The loss of millions of M4AEs pales into insignificance at the joy and magnitude of a successful phase 2 M4AE to MME transition.
    Extrapolate….
    ..Can you imagine the jubilation at a MME to BBE transition?!?

13. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

BT, you forgot (intentionally?) to mention what that elusive egg represents in your analogy… for therein lies the real secret of successful transition. 🙂

Dem M4AE can swim as fast as dey like, with all the character in the world… watch wisdom in action:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=09kLIsNfaO8

14. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… jokes aside, my point being… they all (to greater or lesser degrees) have character, but it the wisest of them that succeeds… and it is not as you suggest millions of M4AE to each egg… where the analogy fails, is that there are in fact an infinite number of ‘eggs’ and each M4AE can make the transition with the knowledge that his ‘egg’ is there if only he makes right (WISE) choices… his success is not contingent on getting there before another M4AE.

I wonder what GP thinks of your “survival of the fittest” philosophy to salvation. 🙂

15. MME, You really have to leave wisdom out of this equation. It is just about as relevant as brain power, agility and money – i.e. ZILCH!!
    … in fact Wisdom is even easier that money or agility; it is free gift from BBE, it is any MME’s for the asking… although you may wish to note that it is rarer that gold…

These things are all great to have, but as far as achieving the transition!!! –
    What wisdom what!?!
    …does a successful M4AE display any special ‘wisdom’ (your reference video excepted)

….at the MME -BBE transition stage, it is not a case of ‘survival of the fittest’, it is rather a case of ‘running the experiment until a maximum number of positive results are achieved….’

…in fact, since you are appealing to GP for some help, he could refer you to the prophesy which says that the project will only be terminated at the point where “…except those days be shortened (ended), there would be no flesh left alive…”

…I would call that ‘maxing out the project to squeeze out all the possible transitions’ ….wouldn’t you?

…and MME, leave out this wisdom thing – this is just like your ingenious energy solution to the oil crisis… ‘Ain’t going to happen…’

…..once we agree on the relative insignificance of wisdom, I will tell you how that character is achieved… You engineers tend to look for difficult solutions all the time…LOL

16. Straight talk Avatar

BT|

I am not a Micro Mock Engineer (IANAMME), but bear with me while I plead the plebs case.

You say , come the apocalypse, only those of proven character will be ascended to the New World Order.

And of those so ordained, only the paragon of the fittest will survive the fertilisation, the remainder will be “character” assinated and dribble down the earth mother’s leg.

Pray tell how extensive will be the MME ejaculation, and who after this fearsome selection process will be the chosen half dozen to accompany yourself to the second phase.

17. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… just when I thought BT had exhausted my fuel supplies, in sails ST, aka IANAMME, like a full tanker of oil from Trinidad. 🙂

BT, I think we need to distinguish between two types of wisdom… that which MMEs falsely create for themselves, as illustarated by the following:

“For with much wisdom comes much sorrow; the more knowledge, the more grief.” (Ecclesiastes 1:18)

“Where is the wise man? Where is the scholar? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world?” (I Corinthian 1:20)

“There is no wisdom, no insight, no plan that can succeed against the Lord.” (Proverbs 21:30)

“The wise will be put to shame; they will be dismayed and trapped. Since they have rejected the word of the Lord, what kind of wisdom do they have?” (Jeremiah 8:9)

“The wisdom of the wise will perish, the intelligence of the intelligent will vanish.” (Isaiah 29:14)

… I believe this is your point.

However, there is the WISDOM which I speak of… that which comes from BBE, as illustrated by the following:

“Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom. But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth. Such ‘wisdom’ does not come down from heaven but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil.” (James 3:13-15)

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow His precepts have good understanding.” (Psalm 111:10)

“For the Lord gives wisdom, and from His mouth come knowledge and understanding.” (Proverbs 2:6)

… in other words, the WISDOM spoken of in the parable of the foolish and WISE builders.

But it gets even more interesting… to truly understand the wisdom I refer to (as distinct from intelligence) is to appreciate the beauty, simplicity and elegance of natural selection… I’ll leave it there for now 🙂

18. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… its finding the easy solutions that keeps us MMEs employed. 🙂

19. ST,
    You ARE a Micro Mock Engineer!!! … that is exactly the point….. Just like M4AEs are sperm.

In the grand scheme of things we ain’t worth ‘what paddy shot at…’ (as my mother used to say).

This talk of ‘only those of proven character…’ and MME’s ‘each M4AE can make the transition…’ presupposes that we are important beings that somehow DESERVE this opportunity to transition.

NOTHING COULD BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH.

Indeed, if only one MME transitions to become a BBE, that alone would be an event of inter galactic proportions.

…..and ST, why are you picking on Bush tea? a mere messenger? It is NOT my design, I am merely here in the marketing department trying to hold my little pick…

…so how come you are not complaining about all those M4AEs that you send to their deaths night after night? LOL

20. WAIT MME, is that you?!? or GP?

…you got a google bible? I ain’t get hit with scriptures like that since the 1970’s in Sunday school dueling…

…I like I done with this thread yuh…..
    First of all the Devil he self in here playing he innocent; GP on the sidelines with a red flag waiting to call all cawmere men offside….; ST just decide to relaunch he attack and now MME quoting scriptures left right and center…..
    anyhow…
    MME, even the second example of wisdom that you gave has NOTHING to do with the transition. I agree that wisdom is a great thing, it leads to an understanding of the fundamental spiritual laws -and a wise man will reap the successes of this life…. like Solomon did (and Bush tea does, LOL In fact, in at least one respect, Bush tea is 1000 times BETTER than Solomon – I only have ONE wife -LOLLLL)

But in terms of the ULTIMATE objective of joining that elusive egg and beginning the magical process of transition to BBEhood….Useless!!!

21. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL… I give up… but surely you wouldn’t be so Philistine as to leave this thread before sharing your version of “how that character is achieved”.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT

I watching from the sidelines.

I just read this in a St Kitts paper on line about polsters & the election in Grenada

Is Wickham losing his credibility?

http://www.pamdemocrat.org/newspaper/Details.cfm?Nz=%2A4W%21P5IN%3DDWNO10%20%20&Iz=%23%2A%228K

23. Thanks for the reference GP, I was just here laughing at BU David – I was reading his last article and his comments about how Wickhan turn against the Blogs now that he tight with the Government and the press again.
    I don’t know why David refuse to be guided by the Bush man. I have never found it possible, despite my best efforts, to say a good word about Wickham….
    ..the man is just a fraud – (no character MME LOL)
    Imagine his claim to fame is that Owing, probably when slightly tipsy, got George Belle to come up with such a stupid poll that it made Wickham look good.
    What Wickham what?!?

David’s other two disappointments are Doc Marshall and Mr Worme of BL&P

…..David, hopefully now you realize that most of our ‘friends’ are persons hoping to get something out of the friendship. When they realize that what YOU want is to get to the truth; to expose frauds and to promote transparency – the frauds will run away…

24. OK MME, assuming that we are agreed on wisdom and righteousness, and since I am 100% Bajan and not in any way Philistine; here is Bush tea’s theory #20173 on “Character – the path to transition”.

There are many Godly virtues; most of them can be achieved by dedication, hard work, by luck of birth, by gift, or by using natural physical and spiritual laws.

By its very nature however, the development of a Godly character can only be realized by dint of successful experience. A Godly character is a personality that thinks like, reacts like, and does like, BBE would.

Now here is where the situation became a little complicated.
    Through Adam, Abraham and finally Moses, BBE set up various basic standards of righteousness, which were used to establish what would be accepted as a Godly character at the time. – “Have you kept all the commandments?”
    The results were pathetic…it was clear throughout BBE_land that this was this was a waste of time and that hardly any MME would meet the required standards.

(Before ST ask how come BBE did not know that this would be the case, let me touch on Bush tea theory #11675- ST, This was done so that MMEs could recognize for themselves the futility of things like wisdom, good works, luck or even sacrifice in achieving the character of BBE)

Back in BBE_land, the most amazing event in the history of all existence was about to unfold…
    BBE was so personally committed to “The Project” that, in order to provide a means for MMEs to acquire the required character, an unprecedented REVERSE TRANSITION was arranged, providing an avenue through which MMEs could achieve the BBE Character and successfully transition. (read John 3:16 again now…)

A Godly character is so foreign and advanced from MME technologies, that the only way it can be achieved in MMEs is by the implantation of the very mind of BBE into a MME.

The bible refers to this as the ‘holy spirit’, and its implantation is available to ‘…whosoever believeth in him…” i.e. to anyone who is willing to accept that Jesus made a sacrifice of unthinkable proportions, providing the vital key needed to develop the character of BBE and thus enable MMEs to qualify for the transition.

Note the new standard that Jesus brings to the definition of righteousness – no longer a question of just being able to DO the right things, but now the standard is ‘do you have the right thoughts; The right motivations? In short – Can you love your neighbors just like you love yourself? Can you love those that hate you? DO YOU THINK LIKE A BBE? (… even though limited by your physical MME liabilities?)

So MME, the short answer to your question- you will need a special key in order to unlock your mind for openness to the Character of BBE. This key is called the ‘Holy Spirit’ and it is freely available at your asking….

Another riddle?

Why did Jesus answer the question of what is needed to enter the Kingdom of God by saying ‘You must be born again?’

Answer:
    Birth no 1 – M4AE to MME
    Birth No 2 – MME to BBE

25. Straight talk Avatar

A little too controversial BT to promote on this forum, that the essence of salvation is to love your Guyanese neighbour as thyself.

This proposition will severely limit enlightenment.

26. BT,

You will get no more arguments from me on this subject… that is a sound theory if ever I heard one 🙂

LOL ST.

27. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

BT,

You will get no more arguments from me on this subject… that is a sound theory if ever I heard one 🙂

LOL ST.

28. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… but just one more question before I leave this subject.

You said “This key is called the ‘Holy Spirit’ and it is freely available at your asking”.

Would you consider those who ask for this freely available gift WISE?

… the lawyers call that “asked and answered” 🙂

29. Bush tea,

In your earlier posts, I thought you were skating close to the edge (I had to check if one of my jinnis were posing as BT) but now you are back in familar territory – ” it is freely available at your asking….”
    Yuh too like to pompaset! If we were still on the Hermitage yuh bed would get wet tonight! Make yuh show some true character, LOL.

30. The Devil,
    I am becoming more and more convinced that you are the real thing… A hermit sent some grubs to wet me out once….LOL LOL
    ..I always knew there was something sinister about that Hermitage… you have been there for decades havn’t you?

31. I don’t want to be the devil’s advocate, but how does getting yourself killed according to plan, staying dead for three days, getting up, again according to plan, and then ascending to heaven qualify as “a sacrifice of unthinkable proportions”?

Some might call it a theatrical performance or worse yet, a fraud.

32. I don’t want to be the devil’s advocate, but how does getting yourself killed according to plan, staying dead for three days, getting up, again according to plan, and then ascending to heaven qualify as “a sacrifice of unthinkable proportions”?

Some might call it a slick theatrical performance or worse yet, a fraud.

33. …and you are free to call it what ever suits your fancy Inkwell.
    …however if I may use the analogy of the M4AE to MME parallel to explain the MME to BBE situation…

…. this would be equivalent to you Inkwell, realizing that your wife was unable to have children and therefore build your family, and that the only hope was for a special micro biological component that only you could provide;

The salvation of the situation requires you to have your DNA inserted into a M4AE and to give up your life so that M4AE and the special micro biological component can be implanted into her womb to fertilize and become the firstborn child, while at the same time, introducing the special “micro biological component” through which other children now have the opportunity to achieve life.

Without your sacrifice, no successful births would have been possible….

But you so love this wife…..etc etc

…this would make you the original creator of the family; the sacrificial lamb, the first born of the father; the Saviour; etc etc, if you get my drift…

… and you don’t see how this qualifies as a “sacrifice of unthinkable proportions”?

Come on Inkwell…
    extrapolate….

34. Seems as though I exposed a raw nerve that no one wants to touch with a ten foot pole. Thank you for the non sequitur, Bush Tea. An analogy should enlighten, not obfuscate, should it not? It is way above my humble head. But I have found that faith and reason do not make good bedfellows and seldom have common ground.