15. Abacu & Fakaroo – The African Song
16. Nard – Socarobics
17. Verseewild – Ahzam Wine
18. Bobo – Riddem Of The West Indies

19. Lil Rick & Gorg – Wuk Up U Hear Wha I Tell U

20. Jabae – Barry Chandler – Nothing Sweeter Than Carnival

17 responses to “Bajan Top 20 Crop Over Tunes”

1. Bu
    It’s a pity that calypso has degenerated to the foolishness I’m hearing. If these are the top 20 God help the art form.

2. The social commentary in our opinion is somewhat better but our friend over at Bajan tube seems to be into the up-tempo stuff 🙂

3. An appropriate comment there by the scout.

I believe this kind of music can develop into something that is well defined and acceptable.
    BUT
    The artistes need to focus on inspirational lyrics. Calypso is serious business with a serious responsibilty to the nation. I am particularly concerned about the lyrics of the songs: these lyrics are not inspiring . wuk-up; wine and bumper are the three magic words and seem overused

If you check bajantube the youngsters
    seem to love this music. for them everything is wukking -up on kadooment day—–sad!!!

I have nothing against it and I think the guys need to be encouraged. The lyrics need to be more inspiring though

4. Who selected these top 20, come oo you should change this to the 2o wuk up songs not the top 20 crop over songs, go and listen and come again some are worthy of selection the others will not last beyond kadooment day.

5. This chart is BOGUS !

6. Remember this chart is done by Bajan. tube.com based on the tunes which are submitted to their website. Many of the artists like RPB, Gabby, John King etc don’t submit.

7. yeah but how is it compiled
    is it hits ,downloads, comments
    what is it

8. Hi David

Have you heard The Mighty Sparrow has released a new song called:’Barack the Magnificent’ – where he talks about the atttributes of Obama.

Cocoa Tea reggae singer from Jamaica also has a song.

What you think about that david?

9. OBAMA
    BAMA
    BAMA
    BAMA

yeah those syllables lend themselves to singabilty and danceabilty and would be quite adaptable to the construction of a song.

However, why should we be singing about Obama ?

10. @anonymous

No we have not. We will get to hear it some time we are sure.

11. i cool wid d top 20

12. u got 2 go by votes so u can do nuttin bout tha

13. i love it peter ram a lot of people should be shame when this song play
    WUK UP STRONG BAJANS LIKE THE REAL AFRICA you think somebody wants songs that send u to sleep

14. all of you people are talking alot of shite
    the music gets better and better each year…i know that we always a few bad tunes BUT the good tunes can make up the difference

15. that is a good song ok

16. can i see the lyrics to “age is only a number” by De Hawk