The following letter was published on Caribbeannet.news and we have reproduced unedited because we find it very relevant to the current debate in the Caribbean concerning free movement of people. Management of our borders continues to challenge our individual countries yet our leaders demonstrate a lack of will to deal with the problem. Perhaps their behaviour which can be compared to a deer caught in the headlights can be explained as not wanting to offend their CARICOM colleagues. We have already heard the mouthings of new Prime Minister Thompson that he is committed to regional integration. We would expect that he would be anti-CSME given his indoctrination at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill.

BU takes the opportunity to yet again ask the Barbados government to take immediate steps to amend the current open door immigration policy which is currently practiced. The most recent example of our lackadaisical immigration system is clearly evident if we examine the Ghanaian Affair – read all about it in an excellent blog over at Barbados Free Press.

Free movement of people vs securing our borders

Dear Sir:

In keeping with the concept of self-determination, each state has the right to control its own affairs, from the countries with whom it trades to the persons it allows into its state or territorial limits. Barbados is no exception to this “rule”. The question becomes how does Barbados as an independent state balance the free movement of people and securing its borders?

Barbados is a very unique country on many levels. Having lived there for almost three decades of my life, it has yet to reach its full potential; although, it is surely reaching there albeit in a relatively slow manner. It is evident from speaking to Barbadians that they are proud of the country’s achievements, achievements due to a strong democratic political system as well as a stable economy. These, to my understanding, are the main factors that continue to buttress trade, tourism, and education as well as a general respect for the law. But it seems that all of this is now under threat or has been for quite a while.

Now with the advent of CARICOM, many Barbadians continue to fear an erosion of their stable society, one that they have worked very hard to create. For one, they are concerned, in fact afraid, about an increased level of crime (speaking from an observational perspective) in Barbados and especially in nearby islands, job security and immigration. All of those areas have equal footing on the scale of concern for Barbadians, although, some Barbadians may think that this is due to Barbados’ “open door” policy. By “open door” policy I mean the general genuine desire for Barbadians wanting to do business with everybody.
However, the closer Barbados moves to reaching its full potential, the more stringent it must be in balancing the free movement of people against securing its borders. Here are some likely suggestions: there first needs to be comprehensive citizenship and immigration reform. One should not be done without the other. It is far too easy for a person married to a Barbadian citizen to acquire Barbadian citizenship (as you are deemed to have acquired at marriage, Barbadian citizen) and by extension a Barbados passport, an unfortunate defect in Barbados’ constitution. Could you imagine the possibilities of an undesired national holding a legal and valid Barbadian passport? Could you imagine the impact that will have on Barbadian citizens travelling abroad to countries who exempt Barbadians from their visa requirements?

Just as important as the Barbados passport, there should be improved and secured biometric identification cards. If it is a later wish for Barbados’ government to allow only citizens to travel with identification cards within CARICOM or extra-regionally then at least the Barbadian citizen will be able to prove through possession of this type of document that he / she is a citizen and exempt from certain visa requirements. This identification card should at least contain details of the present identification card, the social security number, a fingerprint and other biometric identifiers as well as whether the person is authorised or not to work in Barbados. Non-nationals would be obliged to use the passports of their country as well as whatever biometric visas issued by the Barbadian authority. This can help to prevent identify fraud in Barbados or fraud by non-nationals using false documents. Spanish and Polish identification cards are near examples to my suggestion.

Imposition of biometric visas in Barbados and it High Commissions and Embassies abroad should become the norm (if such is not the case already). Has anyone seen an application for a Barbados visa, Form J? This form and any other visa forms could be seen as very inadequate and should be changed to require much more background information from individuals requiring visas to Barbados. One must never compromise quality with quantity, unless this is Barbados’ aim. What’s the sense of having many categories of immigrants or non-immigrants and none are of any economic value to the Barbadian society and without knowing the background of the visa applicant. US-style finger printing and facial recognition should be introduced for citizens and nationals of high-risk countries in the Caribbean and around the world for entry into Barbados. This would possibly prevent the so-called hassle that citizens of certain CARICOM country experience when entering Barbados (if Barbados does not want to impose visa restrictions on them).

If you are a bona fide visitor then you will have nothing to hide. Such finger printing and facial recognition should also be used for non-Barbadian citizens and nationals leaving the country. This will help immigration authorities identify over-stayers more effectively rather than having immigration officers stamping and filling out forms at Barbados’ ports (an awful practice as any traveler, especially natural born citizens, will be able to attest if entering Barbados by air in peak summer). It will also give the statistical department an accurate, real-time figure of who is in Barbados at any given time (provided the system is effectively managed).
Restrictions should be imposed on visitors who enter Barbados as visitors and then want switch to another category, meaning it would be mandatory for a person wanting to work in Barbados to secure a work visa before entering the country. In addition, people coming to work and wanting to bring their family should also be required to have at least for the first year of their stay in the country, a certain amount of funds to support themselves. They should also be made to have comprehensive health insurance as well as funds and insurance for their dependents.

Furthermore, there should be a nationwide database where it should be mandatory for Barbadian employers looking to hire an individual other than a Barbadian citizen to first place the advertisement with the database. Only then, on the agreement with the managers of that database and perhaps together with the Unemployment Bureau, will the employer be issued with a secured certificate of some sort to prove to the immigration that there is a genuine need to hire from abroad. Meaningful fines should be imposed on employers who break the immigration laws.
These suggestions are by no means limited but they are a start to securing Barbados’ borders and territorial limits in the face of free movement of persons. This article should not in anyway be viewed as a way of excluding or restricting genuine visitors wishing to enter or remain in Barbados. The purpose is to give the readers something to ponder about in the face of mass migration. Barbados’ biggest trading partner in the north, the United States has already imposed and are about to impose many of the types of programs mentioned in this article. The Bahamas too have already commenced issuing much more secured documents, including the new e-passports which go one step further than the ordinary machine readable passport for its citizens and other secured documents for non-nationals with the right to remain there.
Considering Barbados’ position in the Caribbean and its attractiveness as a destination to live and work, it would be quite unwise for the new government or any future government not to adequately secure its borders in the face of free movement of persons.

Bradley Brown
Liverpool, England

Related Story: Peter Wickham Says It’s All About Racism & Xenophobia

36 responses to “Free Movement Of People Versus Securing Our Borders In The Caribbean”

1. We keep hearing about CSME and the need to integrate. What is it? I don’t feel the enthusiasm man!

2. OH MY GOODNESS!

Icannot believe that someone from from far way in foreign can be so perceptive.

That issue of people getting bajan citizenship because they marry a bajan must be stopped IMMEDIATELY.

I couldnot go on reading the artice because it was too upsetting.

To see that sam pooch and the duppy have been telling succesive governments about these non nationals in our country that need to be repatriated,and it seems like they got droopsy and gone to sleep.

All I can say again is:

OH MY GOODNESS – LORD HELP BARBADUSS!

3. Were we the government, today, in Barbados, the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) would have, since January 15, started the very important and necessary process of the withdrawing of Barbados from the CSME.

Indeed, as we in PDC know, the CSME, since its inauguration in 2006, has been leading to many, many social undesirables entering our Barbadian shores; has been helping to facilitate the coming into our country of too many Indians from esp. Guyana; has been a very disgusting ideological farce that falsely assumes that there does NOT have to be a supranational power to give it a central focus and meaning; has been to too big an extent, and too often, leading esp. to the crude disadvantaging and displacement of many of our local artisans and small business people in their respective areas of work and business in Barbados; has been wickedly helping to facilitate expansion in the power and dominance of many within the corporate business elite of this said CARICOM sub-region, over the labouring and exploited masses and middle classes of people of Barbados and the other CARICOM States; and has been another destructive phase in the development of deeper but dangerous imperialist relations for us in this CARICOM sub-region, given that many of our political leaders in politics, business, trade unions, and academia seem NOT to realize that we are still too dependent on the Western/Eurocentric world for our own further grow and development. Regrettably, the CSME would NOT now be existing without this great dependence, in almost every sphere of it, on this Western/Eurocentric world. And, there are other very cogent and valid criticisms that can be made of this so-called CSME.

However, place against those criticisms, reports in the Saturday Sun, March 8, 2008, that the Prime Minister of Barbados, Mr David Thompson, at the March, 2008, 19th intersessional Heads of Government Conference in the Bahamas, has told his collleagues that former Prime Minister, Mr. Owen Arthur, was deserving of a lasting tribute in recognition of his enormous contribution toward the realising of the goal of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy, and that therefore a University of West Indies Chair, presumably, should possibly be named after the man.

While, we are really NOT going to state that these statements connote the biggest errors of judgement that the current Prime Minister has so far made, the facts of the matter are that far from hearing Mr. Thompson praise Mr. Arthur for leading the way in the establishment of this foolish CSME, what the people of Barbados should be hearing from among them (the people) is very serious and strong denunciation and condemnation of the role Mr. Arthur played in helping to sheepishly foist this flawed and ridiculous concept and practice called the CSME on the board masses and middle classes of Barbados, and that has certainly helped created much hardship and misery for them. But, we in Barbados must know political gamesmanship for what it is as it relates to both BLP and DLP!! It really time for the said masses and middle classes of Barbados to think seriously about electing PDC and any other parties at the next election, if substantial growth and development is to be made on our own behalf in Barbados.

4. “The foreigner’s foreigner”

But wait, this foreign white adventurer is lamenting the fact that the spouse of a Bajan acquires Bajan citizenship? These people have gall! If Mr. Brown wants to help solve the immigration question, might I suggest that he and his ilk keep their pompous backsides in the UK.

5. Kudos to the Nation newspaper for highlighting this piece. Another example of what illegal immigration can do to pressure the strained services of our country.

Members of the medical fraternity have expressed concern after WEEKEND NATION investigations revealed that the prescription-only drug was being sold over the counter by some pharmacists to women seeking a cheap shortcut to unwanted pregnancies.

In a nutshell, Cytotec causes the uterus to contract, forcing out anything inside and terminating the pregnancy, but if taken unsupervised, the uterus could rupture, resulting in excessive bleeding.

One doctor, speaking on condition of anonymity, said that in the last year alone, he had seen at least ten women – some of whom were non-nationals he suspected to be in the country illegally – suffering with ailments from taking the drug. He said indications were that many more were out there.

Catching on

“It seems to be popular among the immigrant population, especially the Guyanese who are here illegally. But the Bajans are now catching on,” the doctor said.

He added these women were able to effect these “cheap abortions” by buying the drug over the counter for around $100, whereas a supervised abortion would cost about $700.
    Nation

6. I was very much alarmed when I read the above article and the responses it generated, all of which seemed to be based on prejudicial claims against other Caribbean nationals with no substantial evidence. How can we achieve integration when there is a constant fear of loss of citizen rights? It is this exact crab in the barrel mentality why the Caribbean people cannot maintain greater status in the world. Rahter than alarming Bajans about loss of jobs, or higher crime rate, why not suggest a better ways in which Caribbean nationals can achieve equality and recognition on a global scale. Becasue until the rest of the world knows where to locate the Caribbean on a map, we have acheive nothing.

7. David

Please,please,please,could you put this article back at the top,at least for a day or 2?

The suggestions from this individual in the article are too important to be buried in the archives and this should be ‘required reading’ for Mr Walters,the new minister for immigration as well as required reading for the prime minister.

At this juncture in our Independent history,IT IS TIME FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO REFORM THE CONSTITUTION AS TO WHO BECOMES A BARBADIAN CITIZEN AND WHO GETS A BAJAN PASSPORT.

Enough Said!

8. All of this coming together is pure nonsense. Until we become ONE NATION, then there can not be any free movement. You can’t have your cake and eat it too. I’m a Barbadian first a caribbean man secondly. My alliegiance is firstly to Barbados, then to any other country in the region.

9. This is an excellent article with many good suggestions for our revised immigration act that this present government is preparing.
    I believe from what I know the new immigration act some of those suggestions w taken into consideration and hopefully we will see some of those recommendations introduce into our new immigration act.I know that the government is trying to weed out the undesirables who will put a strain on our social services out of the country.That is why it appears that many non-nationals especially those from Guyana are being deported.This governement is embarking on economic citizenship for individuals it consider have the skills & financial resources that could benefit the country.Unfortunately many unfortunate Black Caribbean nationals do not qualify and are being deny entry and are deported while on the other hand Indians from the continent,Guyana & Trinidad along with many Chinese & Europeans are qualifying for citizenship under this arrangement of economic citizenship.As I said previously Indo-Guyanese are being financed by the PPP governement of Guyana that is why many are buying up large chunks of agricultural lands and many are setting up large retail shops & restaurants The Indo-Guyanese in Salters St Michael,The Indian lady who had a small shop in Gateway Mall Tudor Street who now has a large restaurant in Baxters Road & the Indo Guyanese Bar on Bay Street are cases in point.
    Indians have a plan to take over Barbados and are succeeding.I know what I am talking about.

10. One question Negroman:

If we are promoting small businesses to be the engine of our employment growth, why denigrate someone risking their all in an attempt at bettering themselves.

OK you say the person’s Indo-Guyanese and bankrolled by the PPP, so what?

The opportunity has been identified and someone is brave enough to risk filling an economic need.

Whatever their nationality it provides competition, it is ballsy, it requires a vision.

BTW why didn’t you think about doing the very same thing?

Some talk…some do.

11. Negroman and Scout you all are not going to get far if you continue to single out Indo Guyanese. I am a Bajan nationalist too but I believe majority Bajans want laws upheld and everyone irregardless of race, religion, colour or creed be subject to rule of law. Justice is blind.

By the way Sir Lloyd Sandiford said Friday nationalism is dead this is era of interdependence. For once I cant agree with Sandy. Negroman we agree on limiting illegals but choosing one race to harass is racism. Majority Bajans will never be part of that although mind you whites and other races were and remain racist towards us.

12. Ever wonder why there is so much mass migration from states like Guyana, Mexico…? This is a result of well thought out geo-political and economic policy. There are forces at work who are benefiting from war, upheaval, migration and eventual destabilization of sovereign states. All things being equal on planet earth I’d say allow everyone travel/migration without ‘let or hindrance.’However, Barbados should not have an open-door policy on immigration simply because it lacks the land mass. Seems like Bradley Brown is just another stooge for this World Global Domination stating that Barbados should use biometrics and facial recognition. He could even take it a step further for the full body scan. These are all tools of control of this One World Gov’t which brought us terrorism. Today they use it to weed out ‘bogus-terrorist’ tomorrow they’ll use it to keep out/in peaceful people while the real terrorists are allowed to travel freely and continue to wreak havoc and mayhem on this planet. CSME like the EU and AU are yet more tools of control by this OWG. They introduce them under the guise of trade, regional and global integration but these are mere stepping stones for the fascists to totally control and dominate our lives. You’re now entering the Criminally Syndicated Misanthropic Era.

13. I’m onboard with Fairplay & Hopi when it comes to this issue,except for the whole World global domination thing.

However,should any foreign national choose to usurp Barbados’s immigration laws they should be deported.Hopefully the DLP government implements effective exit controls for those who will try or choose to overstay their time & that such a plan will work with the current illegal population regardless of nationality.I also believe that the current highly skilled implementation of CSME is all that should be implemented of the program throughout the region & forget any so-called “Free-Movement” of all nationals.

14. I have to wonder … with all this talk going around about them Bajans in the local contact (call) centre … it seems that if the higher-ups at the company has decided to close that whole department here in sweet Barbados and outsource the service to a company in St Lucia and send home them ppl,to me it means that all of the workers there seems to be painted with the same brush … as far as i understand , those workers used to have assessments and job evaluations done ever so often which means that records have to be somewhere about as to who used to work well or not … was no consieration given to at least look at these records or get and insight from the manager or even the HR dept and maybe move even 1 or 2 of these persons’ sideways in the new look company ?…. yuh just ,with one fell swoop get rid of all of them ? i ain’t know bout wunna , but that ain’t sound right ….. wuh wunna think?

15. Given the importance of national identification we would have thought the country would haven greater priority to a more robust national identification system instead of the drivers license system. It all begins with national I’d and the we currently use an amateur is able to forge.

16. Fairplay
    If you read my blogs, you would find that I’m very concerned by the amount of ALL illegals in Barbados.There has always been illegals coming to Barbados from all over the region but not at the alarming rate at which they are coming now. The ones that scare me most are the Indo-guyanese and the Chinese. I know about the Indo-guyanese and I know the damage they can cause to a country once they have numbers, they are a disruptive bunch and VERY racist. The chinese are like chimks they breed faster than the African snails and they are of a totally different culture and do not mix. They have the potential of changing the cultural image of this country. If we bajans have any pride in our country we MUST resist any attempt to alter the culture of this OUR country. I’m sure you wouldn’t want some-one who has come to your house to live to start changing up the funiture and colour of your house because this is what they had back home. Why should bajans stand idly by and watch the indo-guyanese and chinese do this to their house(country.?

17. “US-style finger printing and facial recognition should be introduced for citizens and nationals of high-risk countries in the Caribbean and around the world for entry into Barbados”

Who the f**k determines which countries are “High-risk”. Amazing how these phraseologies are slipped in as standard fare.

Hopi ans Fairplay are on the ball

18. Scout
    A brilliant piece to hammer home the point of the potential destruction that is about to be unleash on this country by the Indians & Chinese.The Barbados we now will not be the Barbados our children & grand children will inherit and it definitely will not be to the benefit of Black Barbadians.We have a case in point to show us what a future Barbados dominated & control by Indians wil be like.The Royal Shop Affair is the first step.
    To All Concern while should we in the interest of economic enhancement allow destabilising elements to enter our country and disrupt the cohesive society we have developed in the post 1937 era.It is well known that Indo-Guayanese as Scout & many others indicated are a bunch of a racist who have and are unfairing Black Guyanese in Guyana.
    To all fellow bloggers who considered Scout & Your Truly to be xenophobic,racist & alarmist I hope many of you all are monitoring the happennings in Guyana and the activities of the PPP goverment and the support it lend to Roger Khan & his Phantom gang.I hope you all know about the over 200 young black men & boys who were murdered by Roger Khan Phantom gang.I hope you all know about the changing public service in Guyana where only Indians are being employed and Black Guyanese being replaced.I hope you all know about the Indian Business people in Guyana only hiring Indo-Guyanese and not giving black Guyanese employment.These things are real in Guyana today.I want anyone to come & dispute these claims.
    To all Indo-Guyanese lovers a similar fate await our black children & grand children in a new Barbados control by Indians.As I mentioned the Royal Shop affair is a case in point

19. Negro Man
    I’m tired, tired of trying to enlight bajans of the catastrophe that is on our doorsteps. I’m also scared that a hurricane is going to hit this country and bajans are walking around in a casual manner. When Barbados is struck many would ” hold their bellies and cry.” Only God (Jah) could help us now.
    For you Christians , this is like when Noah was building the Ark and warning the people who either laughed at him or ignored him conpletely until the rains came but it was too late. When Barbados is turned on its head in a PEACEFUL systematic takeover bajans will cry blood.

20. under the title of skilled movement and not racist rantings, can someone explain how a notice in yesterday’s Nation for a pig farm that will employ non nationals after receiving “no responses” for application for “general workers”

21. Fairplay you admitted that these people are racist.

Erskine Sandiford, you are a great stalwart and I do admire you (even when people were crucifying you). However, like Fairplay, I know that nationalism IS NOT DEAD! I was at UWI the day that everyone wore their national colors last Friday to be exact. Let me tell you, those people who were not bajans as if to prove their point wore their national colors. THAT IS A FACT!

Mr. Sandiford,with all due respect, when these people decide to respect us, then we will respect them not before. Respect is earned not sold. You cannot come into someone’s country and think that they are foolish.

Nationalism is not dead Friday proved it! Those people loved their country and aint give a SHITE about our so called independence! We as a people will get up a morning and realise that we have nothing not even a say in our country’s affairs oops I forgot do we have a say now! I have read persons on this blog rant and rave (including myself) about the disgusting repulsive insulting things that have been said and done towards us and yet, have done nothing.

I have a question to ask,

How many persons are willing to come out publicly at a constituency meeting and say what is on their minds without the fear of being victimised!

hmmmmmm! My bet is just a few!

22. @BAFBFP,The offending country would determine if it is “high risk” or not by immigration statistics into the host country.This is how it is usually done & if enough nationals of a particular country were to overstay or illegally enter Barbados they would be categorized as “high risk”.Guyana is definitely seen as a “high risk” country for immigration purposes on the world stage due to the extremely high amount of permanent emigration from that country.

The real f****** problem with having any “managed migration” or a more restrictive immigration scheme/act in Barbados is going to be problematic due to the Devised Treaty of Chaguaramas,period.I think this is what the current P.M. is finding to be problematic since any Immigration policy that is crafted by the DLP will also have to take into account the guarantees under CSME,hence why the BLP is the absolute scourge of this problem.

The guaranteed 6 months visit stay for ALL Caricom nationals under CSME is what is really exacerbating the illegal immigration problem in Barbados.Having said that,this is why I believe & propose

1.That Caricom should seriously think about removing Guyana as a Caricom country or

2.Barbados should withdraw from Caricom in order to place visa restrictions on Guyana or

3.the Most likely scenario is that there should be limitations on the amount of populace from each Caricom country who can use CSME to get within another Caricom country such as Barbados.

There are still 400-500,000 people in Guyana & I’m sure most would love to leave in a heartbeat if given the chance.

@Wondering,

I have no idea,but I believe that would mostly likely be a scam just to employ Non-nationals.The only PIGS at the farm are the owners who don’t want to employ Nationals.From since when is Pig farming a skilled job ?

@The Scout,

I think we can all agree that it is not only the Guyanese to blame:Bajan Citizens,the Barbados Government both BLP & DLP[mostly BLP though] & Barbados Immigration department all had a role.We as Bajan Citizens have failed to hold our Government accountable for a problem that has transpired for sometime & in turn the Government has failed to give the necessary orders to the Barbados immigration department to enforce immigration laws.However,the ball is mainly in our court on this issue no matter what any person may say on BU or in Barbados even though our reasons are different our goal is the same.If you know someone who is illegally in Barbados then just contact the Barbados Immigration Department.

Tel: (246) 426-1011
    Tel: 1-800-268-9122
    or email
    Imm-dept@caribsurf.com

For some reason though the Immigration department has been quite busy lately which leads me to believe they are actually enforcing the laws.

23. @ Jay….
    Yes the people of Barbados have the power in the palm of their hands. But as far as the illusion of sovereign government is concerned, who do you think they DLP, BLP take their marching orders from?

24. @Hopi… It’s so easy, isn’t it. Just blame the “other”…

Let’s ignore that we have our own heads up our own a$$.

Let’s ignore that those that *can* *are*.

We’ll be eaten alive.

And we’ll die saying that others are at fault…

(That’s what they expect (because we allow it). And they will laugh all the way…)

25. It has been known by many for years now how resident status was normalized in Barbados. Barbados is still a small place.

It did not help that former PM Arthur rubbished the Immigration Department, it was also done when the issue of the Chinese work permits came up. We have some work to do.

26. @Chris H…. Hopi isn’t blaming anyone. Like I said Bajans have the power in the palms of their hands and yes Bajan heads are up their arses. There are a few who know that each gov’t of Barbados is controlled by outside forces and when the sheeple realise this, maybe they’ll bury this sham of democracy. They get tired of the BLP they change them for the DLP, different day same crap.

27. Scout
    I am tired too but I have to continue to pluck away on this issue because of its importance to the survival of Black Barbadians and the welfare & security of my Black African children & grand children.
    Don’t care how other races treat Black people we Blacks still have a belief those people love us.I have highlighted on this blogs contempt the other races have for us but yet a few misguided token blacks & anti-blacks blacks have the belief that the other races care for us.All glaring signs are there that what happened to us before could happen to us again.
    The Indo-Guyanese shop on lower Bay Street that the murder occurred recently has reopened.It appears that a black man I do not know if he is a Bajan or Guyanese or the husband of the lady who was shot is operating the shop.That shop was the hot spot for many Indo-Guyanese living in Barbados to hang out.Now that a black man is behind the counter the Indo-Guyanese do not go there anymore.The Indo-Guyanese have shifted to the Heineken shop on Uppper Bay Street being ran by Indo-Guyanese women.As usual many black men are in that shop making Indo-Guyanese rich with the apparent view that maybe they might get what the Indo-guyanese women might be offering.Just put a straight hair long hair lady in a shop and the money will be flowing out of black men pockets.We are the sickest race of people on this earth.I will constantly repeat
    WE ARE THE ONLY RACE OF PEOPLE WHO WILL MAKE OTHER RACES RICH SO THAT THOSE OTHER RACES COULD OPPRESS US.
    Scout is appears all doom for us,but we must continue to press on.

28. BU can report that the government is booting out immigrants in Barbados who are judged not to be adding value to the country, it is especially harsh on those who have been illegal at any stage in their stay while in Barbados. The BU family should not that the approach is targeting all immigrants falling short.

It is against this background that the call by Ricky Singh is suspect. Why would he want Barbados authorities to keep immigrant vagabonds in Barbados.

29. Ricky Singh got a lot of say in Barbados now that our leaders lack balls. We cow-tongue up to these people too much. I hope that they realise how they treated Mr Arthur after he lost government.

30. Hopi I hope you are a female cause you got me feeling sexy enough. For me you are so right. Chris is a cafufaler.

“Devised” Treaty of Chaguaramas.. now that is sexy too. Jay tek a bow. But I wish you were on the other side of the argument.

I get lost two weeks ago in a place called, (wah I faget… senior moment) Oh Hangman’s Gully. Man if you see space, rab land as far as the eye can see. Let me say to the nincompoops out there that Barbados got nuf nuff space. Minimum wage legislation that is fair and reasonable to labour and a housing policy that has gone past the need to provide everyone with a plot of land to go along with the accommodation; build up, niff space up there too. I say 1milion people by 2020.

Should Barbados get a hurricane in the next couple of years and the tourist trade momentarily dries up, don’t look to Guyana fa relief. Nincompoops!

31. David

Thanks for that update.

Everything seems to be pointing to what you are saying – illegal immigrants being sent out.

David,do you have any ideas on the thinking of the new minister for immigration?What his approach to this situation will be?

They need to look at those false passports and work permits given out under the past corrupt chief.

The indian woman with the store in tudor street who stole the work permit stamp should be deported immediately whether or not her status is regularised.

If you break the law – out you go.

Have you BU bloggers notice how quiet norman faria is nowadays?

Thank God bajans did the right thing and booted out owen arthur else we would be smelling hell all like now with these illegal guyanese,chineese,taiwanese etc.

32. BAFBFP….
    Slow down man! Dont’ get sexy on me, go find that female cop who refused to arrest you simply because you weren’t “packing.’

33. No no Hopi, I was packing man, that is why dey run and lef me alone. Ha ha.

34. BU Bloggers

Have you seen the article on page 3 of today’s Nation newspaper where prime minister Thompson spoke out against the squatting,the crime and housing problem of the illegal parasites in this country.

I sense something is about to happen from the top.

The prime minister is sounding out his warning loud enough so no one can say they didn’t know.

35. The BU household certainly did. We also wonder if the BU family heard Annalee Davis when she called in to the Dennis Johnson hosted call in show yesterday to defend what she perceive as attacks by the media on Ricky Singh. To Johnson’s credit in what we thought was a beautifully hosted program he dispatched her concern like a pro.

36. I woner what Singh saying now!

Leave a Reply to Chris HalsallCancel reply