imageimageimage

capture.jpgimageimage

After reading the daily newspaper today we were struck by what many of us already know. In fact we have expressed our feelings on this matter as recent as February 26, 2008 when we blogged on the topic, The Hair Debate In Los Barbados. The pictures on the top row represent three out of four young men charged with terrorizing Barbados in recent weeks with a slew of robberies. Of interest is the charge of robbing groups of tourist, and the much publicized daylight robbery in Warrens last week. The two pictures to the right at the bottom show Jason Norville released on bail for causing bodily harm to persons while driving a car and Anthony Charles facing a gun charge.

So why have we highlighted the five gentlemen? It comes down to hair. The recent appointment of Senator Damien Griffith to the Senate of Barbados was hailed by everyone as a good selection. He has always been known as a young articulate gentleman. When he walked into the Upper Chamber with his hair plaited in the cornrow style it absolutely created a furor in Barbados. In our opinion the current debate has overtaken that time when Rihanna walked into Chefette wearing a swim suit top. We understand from Mr. Mathew Farley, who has triggered the debate by expressing his disgust in the press that Senator Griffith should not be allowed to enter the Senate of Barbados with a plaited hairstyle. Many feel that for him to wear a hairstyle which has been made famous by the opposite sex maybe sending mixed signals to our young men. Many conservative Barbadians already suggest that our young men are already confused about their sexuality. Senator Griffith has indicated that he will wear the cornrow hairstyle because the people he represent are inclined to look like him, we think that is what he said.

We said it last week and we will say it again. Senator Griffith you are talking hogwash! The reality of the situation is you are wearing a hairstyle which is the preferred style of many of our young men who make up the criminal minds in our country. That negative perception does not mean that your are not a good person. However as a leader who has been given the honour to represent your country in the highest lawmaking chamber in the country, you need to send a message to the youth, loud and clear. Look at the pictures above and reflect before it is too late.

133 responses to “The Hair Debate In Los Barbados II”

1. David,

I read that this morning and was about to offer a response when I realized that this person is a UWI lecturer.
    I never heard about him before – apparently he has no public comments on any of the pressing issues that need academic analysis – or may be I am just uninformed…

I did not bother because I could not find an angle that did not sound like Bush tea was bragging that his UWI analysis was bang on…

When those that are highly paid to instill learning, values and vision into our youth can seek to justify behavior that EVEN KEVIN concede was inappropriate – then we know that we are DOOMED….
    …well they did say that those who can do and those who can’t teach…

….Do you think that Sir Hilary will come out and over rule him?!?

What overrule what?!?

He is probably somewhere ‘hobnobing’ with his oligarchical friends that he warned us about in the 1980’s….

In keeping with the standards up there on the hill I feel they should fire Justin Robinson and Prof Howard and bring back Peter Wickham – have all the jokers in one place.
    …seems that these people are hell bent on proving BIMBRO right….

2. Hear ye, hear ye! We are doomed. DOOMED, I tell you! Oh! Woe is me! For a man with his hair in cornrows ascended the steps of the House of Assembly. This is the final chapter of life as we know it, for the darkness and evil of The Hair have covered our fair land. The end is nigh! Flee! Save yourselves! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh!

3. Warrior says….Jesus said to render unto to Caesar that which is Caesar’s, they both acted under the premise of “I can do what I like bout hey”.
    ————————————————————————
    He also said render your soul and not your garments also.

4. Come on folks, get a grip, ok? Bim is not going to fall into the sea, never to be seen again, because of a few plaits of hair. (Maybe for other reasons, but not for that). LOL.

So, relax. I hope your Sunday dinner was good. Do not give yourselves indigestion by thinking about hair-induced catastrophes. Think pleasant thoughts for the rest of your Sunday. And, if you want, I can come and show you how to plait your hair in nice cornrows 🙂

5. It would interesting if you would publish photos of the guys from the SJPP who recently suffered discrimination for their choice of hair style. Where would your pointless argument be then? It would also be interesting if you published photos of persons such as Adonijah, Arturo Tappin and see then where it puts your argument.

Do you realise your argument is simply saying something like; since most criminals drive white cars, therefore white cars are bad?

6. Linknoir your comment shows that you have simply not taken the time to understand ours. At no point in our blog have we stated that Senator Griffith is a criminal because of his hair.

7. Radiance,

You hit the nail squarely on the head. The lead article for this thread sounds like it was taken verbatim from KKK.com

8. Look, I trying tuh get way from dis blog n wunna keep provoking me!!!!

Radiance, if d almighty did want our hair to grow into cain-row he would allow that to happen, NATURALLY!!!! It does n’t!!!!

It’s as preposterous a proposition as the person who suggested that left to its own devises our hair would grow into dreadlocks, naturally!!!!

They’re both insane, notions!!!

Believe me, dear. Duh Good Lord knows best!! Jes follow his example!!!! I know he had long hair!!!! 🙂

Laaaaaaaaadddddddddddddddddddddd!!!!!! 🙂

Now, please, jus let me go in peace!!!! 🙂

9. Bimbro you could really just shut up and stay because we all know you aint going anywhere!!
    But since you are here ….let me rip your nonsense to shreds!!

Radiance, if d almighty did want our hair to grow into cain-row he would allow that to happen, NATURALLY!!!! It does n’t!!!!
    ————————————————————-
    If the almighty didn’t want us to shave…we would not have had beards…idiot!
    If you never got a hair cut from birth, your hair would be long enough, by now, to hang yourself with (now there is a thought) and that would be a NATURAL process…..bigger idiot!!
    —————————————————————–

It’s as preposterous a proposition as the person who suggested that left to its own devises our hair would grow into dreadlocks, naturally!!!!
    ———————————————————————
    Well, this takes the cake….just ask Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, Bunny Wailer etc how they grew their locks.They never went to any salon or had theirs interlock or palm rolled.
    You must be pure Indian or white Bimbro for you surely cant be a black man and not know this.
    Anyway please dont leave this blog. At work, we log on just to read your comments so we can start the hard day with a laugh. You are a source of amusement now…dont stop.
    We have even put your name in our vocabulary…..now, instead of using bad words like calling the boss a c#*#….we just say ok Bimbro. So you see …you are good for something after all.

10. Cornrows come from our African heritage. What message are you sending our youth.

11. This is an interesting take on the whole matter of cornrows on the young man that could put this ignorance to rest once and for all.

Did Senator Griffith apply to be a Senator?
    Did Senator Griffith ask anyone be a Senator?

If the answer to these first two (2) questions are NO, then the next question would be:
    Did the ones appointing him know of his hairstyle?

The way I see it , the ones who should be taking the stick should be the ones who appointed him, knowing full well of his hairstyle.
    Instead we are here pulling him down because he was chosen, AS IS, to be a Senator. I am sure it was not the young and deviant youth who appointed him to this position.
    What this discussion has exposed though, is the level of hypocrisy that exists here in this country, by people who one would never have suspected otherwise.

12. If the almighty didn’t want us to shave…we would not have had beards…idiot!
    If you never got a hair cut from birth, your hair would be long enough, by now, to hang yourself with (now there is a thought) and that would be a NATURAL process…..bigger idiot!!

I in got nuh beard!! Wugh he getting suh excited about!!!! 🙂

I in want nuh honours from u, Tech, I just wants my natural, afro!!!! N, by de way, u should b getting on wid your werk rather than looking at de internet!!!!

Karia // March 10, 2008 at 2:32 pm

Cornrows come from our African heritage. What message are you sending our youth.

You tell him Kadri!! I hate to think what they look like in Bim, these days!!

I wonder if they think it would also, be ok, for the PM to wear cornrows and dreadlocks!!!!

For once, Technician, I’m in agreement with u!!!! He should never have been appointed wiv dat kind of hair!!!! 🙂

Now, let me go, please!!!! 🙂

13. Bimbro says…..’You tell him Kadri!! I hate to think what they look like in Bim, these days!!
    ————————————————————————
    But I thought you were here for a short visit recently??????

Ahem…..your pants is on fire.
    You dont really want to go do you?

14. The way I see it , the ones who should be taking the stick should be the ones who appointed him, knowing full well of his hairstyle.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    I had no intention of entering any discussions with this hair talk, yuh hear. But Technician, your statement regarding the Senator is what all the bloggers have been overlooking. I also agree with you that the focus is directed at the Senator only and not his employer. If his employer except his intelligence in his knowingly present form, why lament on the person. It would be better to shift to the employer, and ask the employer what was his motives. As far as I see Hair can’t talk, hair can’t act, hair can’t make decisions, hair is nutten, yuh hear. So stop the castigation of the man, because of his hair, yuh hear!

15. wunna people who do not like to be discriminated against because of skin color or religion, and casting stones at someone because they do not manage their hair to your liking or like yours, are total hypocrites. i wonder if this topic would have been an issue if the senator was a white man with hair to his shoulders? what a stupid society this is that judges another by his hairstyle. reminds me of the earring issue, people say earrings for women, stuuuuuppse

16. I guess the yutes know best…. why dont we the old people just step aside and let them do what they want and how they want…( is that how they do it in Africa? or anywhere else in the world?)

If Senator Griffith was my son I dont think he would wear that ish on his head to parliament. He would know better! But thats me…

17. Of course the yutes know best… No doubt our friend Mr Kadri has been an outstanding success in life and has enough experience and wisdom to understand these things.
    Surely the defenders of the ‘everyman to his own standards’ attitude are all employers who have reaped great success from their staff who are largely characterized by such hairstyles…. or parents with model children…

The truth is, ME, that your son or mine could easily adopt such a hairstyle. There are some sons of good upbringing that have done a lot worse….

As I said from the outset – this is NOT a winnable argument. It is just one of the signs of the times.

Referring to the low standards to which his people had fallen, the prophet said “as for my people , children are their oppressors and women rule over them. O my people, they which lead thee cause thee to err and destroy the way of thy paths.”

What I find most amazing is that so many persons continue to suggest that this discussion is about ‘hair’. That is so simplistic an assessment that it is frightening.
    This is about minimum standards for society. It is about collectively building a structured, civilized, community. It is about respect for self, for others, for our traditions, and for our institutions.

The only real difference between so called ‘developed’ communities and ‘banana republics’ is a universal respect and adherence to agreed community standards.

This is why communities in ‘developed’ societies are CLEAN and litter free. This is why Laws are respected and observed in ‘developed’ communities…

The idea of ‘everyone does as they please’ is a simplistic jungle mentality that is unbecoming of intelligent people.

This should all begin with LEADERSHIP, who should set high standards and lead by example.

When we have literal children who ‘hardly see a star pitch’ and who have no history of achievement or sacrifice, setting the standards -we know where we stand and what the likely end will be….

… so take it easy ME, I can assure you that VERY shortly the errors of our ways will become very obvious, and even the most adamant among us will see the point… unfortunately it will be too late.

But at least we can say “…I told you so!”

18. Me says……’If Senator Griffith was my son I dont think he would wear that ish on his head to parliament. He would know better! But thats me….
    ———————————————————
    Dont you think that Hillary Beckles have said the same thing many times over?

19. People like ME always make me laugh …..I went to school with ‘sons like yours’ and believe me , they were saints at home but devils at school. What they had going for them was parents who would cover for them to hide the shame or ship them out to a foreign country for a while.
    While bringing down the youth Me….why not take time to deal with the parents who have no time to see what their kids are doing and think that giving them every material thing under the son is love. The child does not make the parent.

20. I spoke to my mother couple days ago about this issue, and she rang into my ears that we in barbados still kinda backwards, what de hell hairstyles gotta do wid standards. this woman was the same woman who was totally against men with corn rows and locks, but the years she spent in the usa like it opened her eyes to a lot. you measure a man by the content of his character and not the color of his skin, neither his hair, both are body parts, well for some

i too went to school with fellas who had decent hair cuts, even as we grew older we all maintained our hair low, and its kinda hard to know today one of my former best friends currently in jail for possession of a firearm and serious bodily harm, as for me, i was never even arrested for a fly. thing is that this fella and his mom had a great relationship, you would have sworn that was a perfect family, he was even well behaved at school, but something went wrong at some point.

if we as parents wanna talk about setting and teaching our kids standards, the first standard we must set is one called acceptance of another appearance. the nazarites were never said to be heathens bcos their hair was long, the nazarites were known to be holy men. i know me saying this may cause someone to mention about what paul said about man’s hair in corinthians, but paul was making comparisons to nature but i guess he forgot male lions also grow long hair as some call it.

if you question a man about cornrows, also question the women. why? because there is no laws, legislation or anything except for the ideology that was fixed into our brains that cornrows and locks on men are wrong.

hair is hair, times are changing and people are becoming more aware of human rights.

my question i asked long time is still unanswered.

DOES A HAIRSTYLE ONE WEAR, MAKES HIM/HER LESSER THAN WHO HE/SHE IS?

some of the greatest men who ever lived wore their hair long, some like they never heard of a comb, and they were white. i always wonder why we black people always have problems when we see another black moving forward in a unique way, but give the white man praises when he is doing the same.

21. Kadri

How can we argue with someone who runs to his mommy?

I concede….

22. as far as i know there is a difference between running to mommy and having a discussion with mommy, stick wid de issues n don’t be a wuss

23. You dont really want to go do you?

Technician, I do, I do!!!!

If his employer except his intelligence in his knowingly present form,

‘Tell Me Why’, wha intelligence?!!!!

Kadri said: i wonder if this topic would have been an issue if the senator was a white man with hair to his shoulders? what a stupid society this is that judges another by his hairstyle. reminds me of the earring issue, people say earrings for women, stuuuuuppse

But Kadri, who k wha white people do wid duh hair, or any other part ugh duh body, as long as duh don’t do it in public!!!! We are black people!!!! We are interested in what BLACK people do, or should n’t do, not white!!!!

Yuh mean yuh want to wear earrings, too!!!! OMG!!!! So, what aspect of you do you normally, plan to use to indicate that you’re a man, and not a woman?!!!! Nex, you’ll be wanting to wear makeup!!!!

This is about minimum standards for society. It is about collectively building a structured, civilized, community. It is about respect for self, for others, for our traditions, and for our institutions.

Extremely, well said, Bush Tea!! I just hope that Mr Techie, is listening to you!!!! My own intelligence is too, great for him to comprehend, apparently!!!!

This should all begin with LEADERSHIP, who should set high standards and lead by example.

Again, well said, BT. Clincher argument: I asked Technician or anybody else, if they’d be happy for our PM, to wear dreadlocks or cornrows!! Not a single reply, yet, or one in the affirmative. That says it all!! All the rest is woffle (spurious chat) because, in truth, none of you would wish to see our PM dress in that way, so if not the PM, then why any of you!!!!

Argument done!! Game, set n match win to Bimbro!! I gine home, now!!!!

Kadri asks: DOES A HAIRSTYLE ONE WEAR, MAKES HIM/HER LESSER THAN WHO HE/SHE IS?

Kadri, I’m sorry that u even needed to ask this question because the answer is staring at you in the photos at the start of this story and is a resounding, “YES”!! i.e. criminals tend to look like criminals, get it?!!!! i.e., like that!!!!

Ugh gone!!!! 🙂

24. bimbro u seem to be brainwashed by the british standards, learn some history for change, men was wearing earrings long before women, and as fact, piercings are history from both african and indian tribes, first started among men in persia, yes the soldiers in persia wore body piercings. but wait, since when earrings for women only, if earrings were for women only, a woman would have been born with her ears pierced, you have no argument with that. its true that some men do wear earrings that does not fit their appearance or masculinity but you can never win the argument on that earring issue.

lol bimbro which mean i look like a criminal den? wa i got a bald head and i see nuff criminals already wid bald heads.

the world today is not corrupted by the young people who wear their hair twist and locked, its this way because men who keep their hair low like mine. bimbro as technician said, you should hibernate, bcos its not gonna change for you nor me, if ya dont like to see de hair, look at de people shoes when facing them.

instead of trying to change someone (which i know you wont want anyone to change you) learn to adapt as long as no crime is being committed. ya gone now? keep rolling 🙂

25. Poor Bimbro….what gone what!
    Without this blog your life is nothing, this is the only way you can converse with others since you are surrounded by the people you hate, so we all know you will never go.

Do you think I really care if the PM grew locks or not?
    His good friend who is always in his company is a Rastaman, that alone puts an end to your argument!
    The fact of the matter is that the Government chose this young man AS IS.
    If one should be criticized it should be the ones who made the decision, since being a senator is not a job one applies for. Where is the out cry there?
    Bush Tea , I hope you are being comical in your reply to Kadri. You talk about standards when it suits your argument against the youth but overlook the declining standards by our leaders and older generations.
    Sometimes I wonder if people like you all were born big. Maybe you all popped into this world at 40.

26. Bimbo. Are you saying that the senator is not intelligent? Since you are bajan in exile and unable to understand and see for yourself the intelligence of the man – and not how he wears his hair – you will not be talking so much garbage. Remember, things have change, and I being over 50, had no alternative but to accept these changes since I have employed both males and females with hairstyles that would be a no-no in my time.
    Remember my quote “Hair can’t talk, hair can’t act, hair can’t make decisions, hair is nutten, yuh hear”.
    Suppose, I am just supposing and not trying to offend you as a parent (Just guessing). Suppose your daughter who is pass 21, bring home her boyfriend who is rasta, but attends University and comes from a well-to-do-family. Would you in all honesty, tell your daughter to get this rasta out of your house? Would you turn your back on your daughter? I await your comments and hope it is not based on hypocrisy.

27. So Bajan men really does wear earrings, fuh truth?!!!!

Lorrrrrrrrrrddddddddddddddddddd!!!!

So, wuh wunna women does wear, den?!!!!

Lorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!

Kadri, yuh mekking me laugh, today, man!!! Oh Lord!!!!

Kadri, what’s the relevance of what men, women or african tribes did a million years, ago?!!!!

Look, just 200 years ago, our people were in slavery!! Would you like that still to be continuing now, or to be revived?!! Obviously, not!! What was done in the past is of no significance!! What IS important, is what is sensible and right and I can’t c how a woman could get excited by a man in earrings, locks, or cornrows!!!!

Mind u, I would n’t want to b a woman!!!!! 🙂

Kad, I’m inclined to think that more dreads commit crime than bald-heads but, next on my list would be, bald-heads!!

Kad, I would look at the ground, when passing them, but I’m afraid I might bump into something, maybe even a woman with straight hair!!!! Lorrrrrrrddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Kad, all this ‘learn to adapt, is a pale excuse for keeping-up decent, standards!! Give in to every whim and fancy which comes along and soon, Bim will be in the gutter, even more than it is, now!!!!

Mr Tech, I can subscribe to other blogs!! I don’t NEED to subscribe to this one!! In fact, I’ve been trying to go but you people wun let me!!!!

You may not mind, but I don’t think the majority of Bajans would like their PM to be a rasta or to be bedecked in canerows!!!! I’m pretty sure you’ll never see Thompy dress like that – he’s not stupid!!!!

His good friend who is always in his company is a Rastaman, that alone puts an end to your argument!

He’s probably, currying the Rasta vote, by so doing!!!! He wants to encourage, just about anybody and everybody to vote for him!! That’s what politicians do!!!!

Older people as well as young people need to maintain high standards – they’re not only for the elderly!!!!

As an aside: I’m inclined to think that a number of you are jealous, because I’m British, and you’re not!!!! You know, Shakespeare et al !!!!

28. Suppose your daughter who is pass 21, bring home her boyfriend who is rasta, but attends University and comes from a well-to-do-family. Would you in all honesty, tell your daughter to get this rasta out of your house? Would you turn your back on your daughter? I await your comments and hope it is not based on hypocrisy.

Bush Tea, no, I would n’t ‘turn my back on my daughter’ – and this may be a good lesson for child-rearing for some of you!!!! I would wait until he’d left and then ask her, wha he was doing here?!!!!

The fact that he was studying for, or already had a degree, would be of no importance to me because I realise that if that was the kind of image he presented then it probably, would n’t be long before he would be in the gutter, and, obviously, I’d have no intention that he should take my daughter with him !!!

Tell Me Why, there’s well to do and there’s well to do!! Money is n’t all!!!!

29. Bimbo my boy, you are all confused with the lashes that you are getting that you mixed up my comment with Bush Tea, probably, you was secretly complaining to him.

Agreed, his studying should have no importance to you since you are not the person that will make up bed with him. But I can sense a devilish scenario coming from you regarding your feelings that this rasta would take your daughter into the gutter. Do you know, a well dressed man with a clean-cut can also take your daughter into a gutter. You seems to be the type of parent who get too involved in your children’s affair and you know something, your behaviour might cause them to pull away from you. Hair has nothing to do with integrity, intelligence, success or being an outstanding son-in-law. Get a life.

30. Not that I am anti Thompson but look at what he allowed to happen at the Rihanna tribute which is also about declining standards…

The senators hairstyle is representative of our willingness to accept the lower standards ( in this case American influenced presntation of self ) and to cry individual freedam as a salve.
    Parliament is not ( and should not be) a fete.
    His hairstyle is just that a style , a CASUAL party rap american style. It is not appropriate for our parliament UNLESS we all agree that parliament should be come as you please! In which case sagging pants, arm hole shirts etc should also be allowed. He is showing no respect for the position.

If Thompson etc is happy with his presentation then so be it. Once we all understand where this is going!

BTW Kadri I lived for many years in the states and it is through living there and other places where i grew to understand that what happens in the USA does not translate DIRECTLY to all societies and cultures. Infact in many instances it doesnt translate within certain communities in the USA itself. Did you ever try to get a cab in NYC? In the USA Guy with locs and a guy without with similar qualifications in a business field, who gets the job?

I know it shouldnt be like this but guess what it is… and it wont change because you say it should!

It MIGHT change if the guys your age with the locs and the corn rows etc STOP BEING DEVIANT and live good lives!

31. Tell Me Why, I in leffin my innocent daughter to the wiles of some dirty, musty rasta who’s only going to drag her down!! No, Sir!!! Give me a decent and respectable looking man, Sir. He’s more likely, to remain that way!!!!

Well said, Me. Could n’t have said it better myself. Some of the people here must be really, immature!!!!

P.S. I forgot to say that I think what I suggested in the post above re: my ‘would be’ daughter’s , rasta boyfriend, is no more than any sensible, responsible father would do!!!!

32. Me says…’I know it shouldnt be like this but guess what it is… and it wont change because you say it should!

It MIGHT change if the guys your age with the locs and the corn rows etc STOP BEING DEVIANT and live good lives!

Do you realise how ignorant and contradicting your comments sound?

Slavery was ok by the majority…..that didnt make it right!!
    The South Afican government implimented apartheid…..that didnt make it right!!

The fact that you know within yourself that it shouldnt be like that, yet still accept it as rule, does not, to me, say much about you as an individual. It is that precise way of thinking that have us forever mentally enslaved.
    Just think of what Rosa Parks did for example…you think the Sentor’s hairstyle is a fad….the whites thought Rosa was being an uppity negroe (we know the real word here).
    What is the differance? Didn’t the whites thought they were lowering their standards also?

If you think it will all change if young guys with locks and corn rows stop being deviant……think again or go live on the moon.
    It will only change if ALL the youth stop being deviant and if we all start living good lives….starting with not judging others and accepting each others opinions and faults.

33. What de hell does cornrows derived from american harstles and jamaican bashment culture have to do with Slavery??? NADA! Is a hairstyle a skin colour? Is it a race??? Yes I understand that blacks are at a disadvantage because our hair being kinky is not considered by some to be presentable if left untidy while some of us excuse white people with untidy hair. FYI like i said earlier if a white man came to parliament with a mohawk or shorts I would also consider him disrespectful. We have to get beyond making excuses for people based on history or based on race.

As leaders we need to lead, we need to set the example. I maintain that we all have the right to wear whatever hairstyle/ clothestyle we wish but be prepared to face how others react to you.

Now the Senator is being compared to Rosa parks, a black woman who faced discrimination because of the colour of her skin in a place where those with black skin had very few rights……LOLOLOLOLOLOL! How ridiculous.

What is the senator rebelling against in a country where education is free for all, where ther is free medical care, where even though I might object he is clearly allowed to wear a stupid hairstyle to parliament?

Pulease next you will be telling me to take you guys seriously when you come to an interview with your pants falling off you arses…

34. Guys, there’s one further aspect to this which you have n’t, yet, considered. You might be perfectly happy to go around sporting your silly, hairstyles but do u spare a thought, for a moment, of what tourists and other visitors to the island must think you look like?!!!!

You may not care, but it’s certainly, NOT, the way to be taken seriously, as an important trading nation, especially, one with aspirations to be somewhere among the top league of trading nations!!!!

Technician, “not judging others”, is an excuse for accepting all kinds of degenerate, standards, plus it’s hypocritical!! We judge others all day long, even without meeting them, just by seeing them from a distance, hearing them speak, seeing the way they behave, etc, etc, so it’s a nonsense to talk about “not judging others”!!

To constantly, judge others is normal and right!!!!

35. FYI , ME……it has all to do with principle, whether you can identify with it or not.
    Fact is …I would be more disappointed in the Senator if he did go and cut his hair now.
    You said….’As leaders we need to lead, we need to set the example.’
    Wasnt it leaders who chose him to be a Senator.
    Why dont you crucify the leaders then?
    You keep harping about standards…whose?The over 60’s with their village ram mentality? The over 70’s with their colonial mentality?
    Times are changing, either get busy living or get busy dying.
    If a guy come to an interview with his pants hanging off his ass, then it is your right to refuse him a job. If you go out there and pick him as he is, then why the hell turn around and make a fuss?

36. ME says….’Now the Senator is being compared to Rosa parks, a black woman who faced discrimination because of the colour of her skin in a place where those with black skin had very few rights……LOLOLOLOLOLOL! How ridiculous.
    ———————————————————————–
    And how ridiculous of you to discriminate people with a different hair style to yours.
    How much rights, if any, would you give to a guy with locks or corn rows. Right there, you have started to take away the most important right of all.

P.S ….do some research and see the origins of corn rows before you make such stupid comments.

37. Tell Me Why, I in leffin my innocent daughter to the wiles of some dirty, musty rasta who’s only going to drag her down!! No, Sir!!! Give me a decent and respectable looking man, Sir. He’s more likely, to remain that way!!!!
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    Based on your statements, I now reach the conclusion that you are hopeless, waiting patiently for your number to call, but in the meantime, you enjoy being a devil’s advocate.

Do let your daughter see your post if you are a man.

By the way, if ever you return to Barbados, take a visit to Accra Beach and you will see the many Caucasians waiting to get cornrows. Do yo feel these visitors will now find solace in gutters?

38. BU time to lock this hair thread. Its run its course and getting on my nerves. Thank you.

39. LOL Technician I’ve been to Africa too and they also have nose rings , neck rings, scarification etc… but guess what they also know TIME and PLACE.
    And the young people respect their elders!

So you wont see young massai men wearing jeans to an initiation ceremony! LOL! nor pressed hair! But they might wear both in town on a night out!

40. Bored // March 11, 2008 at 3:31 pm

BU time to lock this hair thread. Its run its course and getting on my nerves. Thank you.

Well, now, is n’t that the limit. Because he’s bored with a discussion BU, should discontinue it!!!! Er, what’s wrong with simply, not following it any longer?!!!!

It’ll be interesting to c if BU are ridiculous enough to do as he suggests!!!!

41. BU time to lock this hair thread. Its run its course and getting on my nerves. Thank you.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    This is the only contribution you can think of giving. Since you are bored, nuff discussions can be found on other BU blogs, or maybe, you ain’t got nutten tuh say.

42. There is no argument to be had that a hairstyle makes you bad.

If you want to say it gives the wrong impression, that its about place and decorum, conduct and character OK but you are going to have a hard time convincing black people that platted hair is intrinsically distastful, as coming from a white person it smacks of white racist attitudes to wolly hair, and from a black person ignorance of black culture.

If in barbados the more is that a senator cannot wear plaits to the senate, once it was thought that black people were not intelligent enough to vote , that was the white attorney general argument, a conservative too, in that house of parliment. So there should be a deeper understanding in the argument.

you say you are conservative, but in this is a fair amount of obvious racism and vilification of working class black people. That is fairly obvious and though conservative is racist as well. And that is the truth. So David this is a racist arguement you present. It is not a valid observation – Suppose you had said i word red yesterday and it rained so i must wear red for it to rain.

Just because criminals wear plaits doesnt mean a senator wearing plaits in the house is wrong. You havent even tried to present an argument. An no one has yet shown any proof in 70 replies, but of course all the people know this is wrong.

43. huh… HUh… HUH????/

44. Do let your daughter see your post if you are a man.

By the way, if ever you return to Barbados, take a visit to Accra Beach and you will see the many Caucasians waiting to get cornrows.

Tell Me Why, when people are on holiday they do a lot of silly things, because they know it’s only for a few, short days, their neighbours and work colleagues can’t see them, or if they do in photos they know they’ll b excused because they’re on holiday, they may even listen to reggae, try k00-k00, or even get a tan, but it does n’t mean that they wish to remain like that or doing those things!!

In fact, they probably only tried them because they thought they were so ridiculous that anybody could want to be like/dress like or eat that sort of food, normally!! Anyhow, u may rest assured that before their plane reaches their homeland, the koo-koo will have been binned, hair will have been unplaited, the tan will soon fade and they’ll be more than relieved it was only a temporary, phase!!

So, in short, somebody mimicing u for a short time does n’t mean a thing – they could even think you ridiculous!!!! 🙂

45. How would you know what people do on holiday here Bimbro………you haven’t been back for decades!!!
    Pat was right about you ……ya fraud!!

46. Technician // March 12, 2008 at 6:45 am

How would you know what people do on holiday here Bimbro………you haven’t been back for decades!!!
    Pat was right about you ……ya fraud!!

My dear Barbadian fellow, I should be less Barbadian and more circumspect, if I were u before accusing anybody of being a fraud!! 🙂

If u look slightly, above you’ll notice that ‘Tell Me Why’ informs me about the whites waiting for their cornrow hairdos on Accra beach, when there on holiday – as if I got nothing better to do than go watching white people on Accra Beach on my visits there on holiday!!

I prefer Brown’s beach and the St. Lawrence Gap!!!!

Dah fuh lick yuh!!!! 🙂

47. …all due respect to you technician, but I feel that Bimbro got you pin off in a corner… and jabbing…

48. Anyway, Brandons Beach or no Brandons Beach, it is imperative that all black men dress decently, at all times, especially when in public!!!!

49. Tell Me Why, when people are on holiday they do a lot of silly things, because they know it’s only for a few, short days,
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Probably, you are on holiday, because you are talking nonsense. (laugh).

You got it wrong buddy, these visitors return home with the said cornrows with beads. Not only are you missing the cultural changes in your homeland, but it seems that you are unable to leave the window that you looks through every day. Sorry for your plight, no wonder that you haven’t realised that gas gone up.

50. thank god for this young man !!

who is this old fool that wrote this !

Leave your hair the way it is …let the brothers and the sisters see you!! And maybe they will finally see themselves !!

Leave a Reply to lowbatteryCancel reply