Map displays the current (or possible) available health facilities for the people of the North. These include St Joseph hospital- now allowed to be destroyed by the BLP. The Geriatric Hospital at River Bay area – to be upgraded to a Geriatric center with Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapists etc etc.The Maurice Byer Polyclinic. The Black Rock Polyclinic- which is more easily accessed than the Maurice Byer Polyclinic to those who are challenged in an ambulatory way.The St Andrew folk have as Warrens Polyclinic as an alternative

A- my proposed catchment area for Warrens Polyclinic (area 2) in green. B- my proposed catchment area for a Clinic at Hothersal Turning (area 3) in orange. C- my proposed catchment area for a Clinic on Highway 4 below the junction of Highway 4 and Highway X. I have noted in any detail the catchment areas for areas 5, 6 & 7. My “areas” are of course related to our 7 major highways. The numbers 7 on the map refer to the existing clinics on/off highway 7, ie Oistins Clinic and Sir Winston Scott Polyclinic The number 6 refers to Edgar Cochrane Clinic. The designation 5/6 refers to Six Roads Clinic.

Submitted by BU Commenter: Georgie Porgie

The new St. John Polyclinic will be completed as a matter of priority and other capital investments, both private and public, in the health care sector will be undertaken to ensure the restoration of Barbados place as a number one community health care provider, he noted.

I read the above nonsense in today’s advocate, and wonder why one would follow such an idea. Any clinic to serve the interests of the St John folk is best sited below Salters intersection where Highways X and 4 meet. By placing the clinic at this location we enlarge its catchment area, because the catchment area for such a clinic will then be most of St George, most of St John, sections of northern St Philip and an area in the central easterly section of St Michael.

We need to stop thinking parochially and in terms of constituencies, and think in terms of regions served by available public transport. To place a clinic in St John where the abandoned clinic is sited is out of the way for most St John residents using the current bus system. Currently there is a badly sited clinic at the Glebe and there was one at Gall Hill. Both of these satellite clinics Satellite clinics at these sites were established in the fifties by the late Prof Standard. But now these clinics should be amalgamated and cited below Salters intersection where Highways X and 4 meet, and where they really belong. Such a move facilitates attendance by those who depend on the public transport services in the central easterly section of St Michael.

Relocation of these clinics will also free up the building at the Glebe, and the abandoned building in St John for use as a center for educational, social and other activities (police station, courts etc, library post office, as at Holetown. By placing the Zone four Polyclinic/Emergency Center below below Salters intersection where Highways X and 4 meet, we enlarge its catchment area, and get more bang for our buck! We also free up the building at the Glebe, and the abandoned building in St John for use as a center for educational, social and other activities.

Finally the clinic does not have to be a sprawling monstrosity as some of those currently existing, in which there is a lot of unused space.

60 responses to “What should Barbados Government Do About The St. John Polyclinic?”

1. We need to stop parsing every issue through a partisan political lense. It has become so tiring and challenges the boast we are a highly literate people.

On 22 March 2015 at 14:38, Barbados Underground wrote:

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

All the money wasted by the BLP over the years, and now its time for the DLP to do the same, Head Stones named after dead people ,,,,,

Many other countries did the same with oil , all the funds went to the pockets of crooks and not to the people , some cant buy shit paper

3. Minister John Boyce must frontally address the consequences of an under funded Health care system. We have been hearing a lot of talk about user fees but what about the design of the system this submission addresses? User fees i.e. raising fees always is proposed to be the solution. To be honest BU wants to see more emphasis on preventative strategies. Why are senior citizens being left at the QEH? Why are the fast food restaurants allowed to sell without accountability to what is displayed on menus? We spend spend on health but eat eat junk coupled with a lazy lifestyle.

4. trying to legislate people bad habits are not going to prevent or discourage people from indulging in bad habits that wreck havoc on their physical life,tobacco is a good example where taxing has failed to prevent people from indulging in that habit even though all statistics and even proof of death has been shown to be the inevitable outcome,
    what govt needs to do is to educate and promote lifestyle and programs that is necessary for the well being of its citizens ,encourage agriculture along with business to participate in programs geared to providing foods that are nutritional in value,
    the alternative of taxing people would not work although the govt might collect meaningful revenue in the long run it would become like a revolving door whereby the govt continues to send that money back into health and the people continue with the bad habits
    If one look across the landscape of international countries govt have given up on taxing people to promote healthy lifestyle but are diligently promoting and endorsing business that have used organic methods as a way forward for promoting healthy lifestyles as a long term solutions.
    Govt need to follow similar directives by giving incentives to business that are in the process of starting business promoting healthier lifestyles
    what is of most importance are not band aids or quick fixes but long term viable solutions

5. Tony Hall February 16, 2008 at 10:37 PM #
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    And you are talking about another 25 years. $100 Million . Arrange transport pickups. The Government is not able,at present, to provide adequate transport to the public, via its Transport Board, and can hardly keep its hand full of ambulances on the road.
    And for the record there is a Polyclinic at Tamarind Hall in St Joseph, and one at Glebe Land in St George.
    What we may need when this Government and its cronies are through, are Poor Houses.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 22, 2015 at 12:29 PM
    ” trying to legislate people bad habits are not going to prevent or discourage people from indulging in bad habits that wreck havoc on their physical life,tobacco is a good example where taxing has failed to prevent people from indulging in that habit even though all statistics and even proof of death has been shown to be the inevitable outcome..”

Ac, since you are close to the hands that hold the legislative pen and the enforcement of regulations could you please tell us if it allowed without punitive sanctions whether by moral disapproval or financial penalties to publicly advertise the smoking of cigarettes.

Why is it OK to advertise cigarettes and smoking on billboards and posters by those Chinese sounding cigarette manufacturers/distributors?
    Yet we have the Minister of Health, both current and former, supporting a ban of smoking in public places and promoting the need to adopt healthy lifestyles including the stopping of cigarette.
    Isn’t that the apex of hypocrisy of the highest sanctimonious order?
    But what the heck! Next we will have David Seale the owner a large distillery telling Bajans and his overseas customers to stop the consumption of rum because it is bad for you and will kill you.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“Go to the ant thou sluggard, consider her ways and be wise”

Have you even noted how a church revival tent will appear for 4 weekends in the very heart of a community, rape the people of their tithes, and disappear overnight leaving a flattened spot for the Wild Tamarind to burst through and cover in a few months??

As charlatan a these “soul miners” are one thing that you must grudgingly admit to is that they position their “begging booth” critically along bus routes and main trafficked sites where their unsuspecting victims can be robbed “under the guise of things Ecclesiastical

The matrix of the envisioned services should present a cumulative offering that integrates (a) catchment area served (ii) future needs (iii) buses/public access to the venue etc etc.

Unfortunately, this type of enterprise planning DOES NOT RESIDE IN THE BVKHUNTS that preside over this system and John Boyce, Jerome Walcott or the other fellows just ent got the brain matter to contemplate this type of national vision.

8. miller firstly i am as far away to any one hands except the two that god gave me, however to your query ,i am absolutely against promoting unhealthy lifestyles or features by way of advertising that would impact on people health, however in a democracy under where there is capitalist systems that dictates freedom i would not stand in the way of business opting by chooses to feature any viable and fair options available to promote their business,
    the govt option then is to educate their citizens about the harmful or beneficial effects

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 22, 2015 at 2:02 PM
    “…however in a democracy under where there is capitalist systems that dictates freedom i would not stand in the way of business opting by chooses to feature any viable and fair options available to promote their busines,
    the govt option then is to educate their citizens about the harmful or beneficial effects..”

That is pure hypocritical shite you just wrote there, MOF aka ac.

If you really believe in the sanctimonious crap you just wrote let us see you pen a missive on BU to the Honourable F S Stuart requesting him to forget about Caricom Committee and the long-ass shite talk and do like what some American States have done.

Why not decriminalize the growing, processing, distribution and consumption of marijuana; a natural commodity Mother Nature has provided for mankind to do either good or evil with?
    Why must Barbados be left behind or are you waiting for it legalization in other jurisdictions so that the finished products can be imported by the army of parasites called merchants and entrepreneurs aka itinerant sales men and women?

10. O.k . miller so ac recognize your ambitious drive with a motive of intent to advocate the decriminalization of MARIJUANA ( WEED) but why the haste, do you belive that if marijuana is legalize in this hemisphere that small nations would benefit , well bro think and come again, the bigger countries already have harvested marijuana plants and anxiously waiting time to implore at such a massive undertaking that it would trigger a shut down on the high expectations these small countries are looking forward to….. enough so that these small nations would have more marijuana than buyers,
    No miller look at sugar cane and the effects now felt by small nations who were once the producers and suppliers the same fall out eventually for marijuana j
    in the long run millions of dollars spent and big business taking control. not a ghost of a chance for small nation survival and govts running for cover looking to finds ways to shore up another dying industry at tax payers expense,
    the world is now technologically driven and govts worldwide knows how to develop and produce efficiently all kinds of goods which are profitable and which can be sold on the world market

Leave a Reply to Georgie PorgieCancel reply