I‘m telling you this crime situation has turned into a comedy of errors. First (If we can call it first) 388 people were murdered last year. Next Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj and Jack Warner get together to hire a team of private security guards to protect the people of Macaulay village who have been plagued by criminals. Then the people who came out in such hoards to denounce the “vigilantism” has the rest of us asking, do these people have any idea what vigilantism actually is?

Speaking for myself, I see nothing wrong with the measures undertaken my Warner and Maharaj. If the people of Macaulay village are under siege then by all means they are to have security. I’m jealous of them as I assume all other non-gated communities around Trinbago are. Yet, we do understand that private security officers don’t have all the same powers a police officer has. They don’t have the power to kick a handcuffed suspect and they probably can’t laugh at an abused husband – I mean these guys could get fired for something like that. Other than that they are more or less just like our regular cops but with vehicles.

Full Article: The Manicou Report

police.jpg

You know that the crime situation is reaching ‘lows’ in Trinidad when Commissioner Trevor Paul is criticized by citizens because he attended an Old Year Night Fete with his wife. We agree with the argument on both sides: Commissioner Paul has a personal life and should be free to socialize in a personal capacity; the flip side is that his uniform and office should be seen as being on the job around the clock.

Trinidad is the one island in English Caribbean which is blessed with oil as a natural resource in abundance. If we assess the success of Trinidad using economics as a measure, no competition is forthcoming from its CARICOM neighbours, even though Barbados has pretensions of finding the black gold soon, but that is another story. If we agree that the ultimate objective of any government must be to maintain economic and social harmony in the society, than in the case of Trinidad it seems to be out of equilibrium for the moment. The spate of kidnappings in recent years, the bombings in public spaces, the longstanding tensions which flicker and flame between the religious factions in the society (Trinidad and Tobago epitomizes the classic multi-racial-ethnic-religious society) makes for troubling times. We definitely don’t envy Commissioner Paul whose task seems more difficult at the moment than that of Edmund Hillary who first climbed Mount Everest.

Why are we interested in the state of affairs in Trinidad and Tobago? you must be asking.

As member states in CARICOM become more comfortable with operationalizing the concept of the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME) – a key component of any common market is the freedom of movement of the people in that space. A perfectly good conclusion we can make, and we are sure the Economists can understand this language: we will probably import many of the social ills of T&T, Guyana and several of the other islands. Don’t we routinely accept the position that our open economies struggle economically because we import inflation?

The passive disposition of Barbadians has become legendary. The willingness of successive Barbados governments to be magnanimous to the idea of regional integration is laudable. However, it is in the implementation where many Barbadians seem to be out of touch with our government. There is no doubt that Barbadians remain quietly fearful of the impact of the open immigration policy which was practiced by the former BLP government. The reason for the fear has nothing to do with being xenophobic, because Barbadians have long accepted the idea of the many Caribbean people who have emigrated during the heights of a vibrant sugar cane industry. The fear comes from the alarming criminal behaviour which we are observing in our sister islands which are less than 1 hour away by air or sea.

Is it unreasonable for Barbadians to believe that if we are not vigilant and take the appropriate measures now, we can become overrun by the mal-behaviour we are witnessing just next door? Some of us are already observing the changing face of crime on our small island. Unlike Trinidad which does not rely on tourism, we do. An escalating crime situation would set us back decades. The time for firm leadership is now.

Prime Minister David Thompson please hear our call.

Search Barbados Underground by using the ‘Key Words” Crime and Immigration to read related stories.

65 responses to “Can Barbados Avoid Escalating Crime & Violence In Neighbouring Trinidad & Guyana?”

1. Anonymous and Bimbro – the two o’ you sick no rass!!

All we need in this country is a dozen like the two o’ you and we name will go down the drain as uneducated 18 century racist fools.

Is better the 2 o’ you never return to this country. Asses!!

2. some of the most disgusting racist comments, black nazis

3. Indo-Guyanese Avatar

The above are some recent action by some of your heroes in Guyana.

Kaieteur News
    May 1 2008

Recent kidnappings and disappearances
    October 26, 2002: The nude and partly-eaten body of Camaldeen Ganesh, a businessman from Strathspey, East Coast Demerara, is found in the Buxton backlands.
    Gunmen had kidnapped him on October 16, 2002 near Bladen Hall and had demanded half a million dollars for his release.
    Businessman Ray Seebarran was also released by his abductors after a hefty ransom was reportedly paid.
    October 2002: Businessman Bramanand Nandalall is abducted in broad daylight in Georgetown. He is eventually rescued from a house in Lamaha Gardens.
    In the aftermath, prison escapees Dale Moore and Mark Fraser, along with five others, are shot dead.
    October, 2002: The bound and bullet-riddled body of 68-year-old farmer Jinga Motilall, who had been kidnapped by gunmen, is found in a trench in the Vigilance backlands.
    December, 2002: Nineteen-year-old Sadesh Sahadeo, a carpenter of Mon Repos, East Coast Demerara, disappears after telling relatives that he is going to Buxton to collect money from someone who owes him. He never returns home, and relatives reportedly receive demands for a $5M ransom.
    The ransom is reportedly never paid and Sahadeo has not been seen since. His remains were later found in the backlands and a DNA test verified the grim details more than a year later.
    November 2003: Labourers working at the back of the Botanical Gardens unearth a human skeleton. The remains are identified as those of Adrian Etienna, a Sophia resident, who was abducted the previous month.
    April 2003: Sixteen-year-old Roy Bell is kidnapped in the city. The teen’s family hands over a ransom, but on April 14, 2003, Roy Bell’s body is found on the parapet at Turkeyen, East Coast Demerara.
    March, 2004: Twenty-seven-year-old Buxtonian, Joslyn Jones, who some police sources say was linked to a rape and robbery spree on the East Coast of Demerara, disappeared under mysterious circumstances.
    He has not been seen since.
    April 2, 2004: Two heavily-armed gunmen kidnap Iranian national Mohamed Ibrahimi shortly after he leaves the Islamic College in United Nations Place.
    His body, with two bullet holes in the head, is eventually found in a shallow grave off the Soesdyke/Linden Highway.
    In another kidnapping that year, gunmen snatched a female Critchlow Labour College student shortly after she had left the compound.
    The men took her to North Ruimveldt, but fled, leaving their captive behind after heavily-armed policemen tracked them down.
    On April 29: Three gunmen kidnap Azad Khan, a farmer from Number 73 Village, Corentyne, after robbing a liquor store proprietor from another Corentyne village.
    The men initially demanded $2M from Khan’s family, but eventually released him after some $200,000 is paid.
    Mahaica businessman Vick Singh was rescued by the Joint Services from a house in Buxton after he was held there by kidnappers for almost five days.
    March 2005: Buxton resident, Mark Anthony Wilburg, was kidnapped by armed men in his village.
    There are reports that the 31-year-old man has been executed, as is the fate of his friend, 52-year-old deportee Roy Franklin, called ‘Kochore’, who was shot dead and dumped in Friendship Village the day after Wilburg disappeared.
    Wilburg has not been seen since.
    May-September 2005: Sugar workers Maikhram Sawh, Sukhram Dhanay and Hardat vanish mysteriously while working in the canefields on East Coast Demerara. Despite several searches, they have never been found.
    Perhaps the most noteworthy case occurred when American diplomat, Steve Lesniak, was kidnapped while playing golf at the Lusignan Golf Club.
    He was released hours later when a ransom was delivered to his kidnappers in Buxton.
    But earlier, the US Government issued a federal arrest warrant for notorious bandit Shawn Brown who was eventually shot dead by security forces during a standoff in Prashad Nagar.
    May, 2007: Michael Sukul, a Leonora, West Coast Demerara lumber dealer is abducted from a house at Providence, East Bank Demerara.
    The kidnappers demand $24M for his safe return.
    The ransom is not paid and Sukul is found badly beaten some days later on a Mahaica roadway.
    He succumbs shortly after even as he tries to tell the police who his abductors were.
    June-July 2003: Lethem businessman Mohamed Khan is kidnapped while heading for Brazil.
    A body is later found in a shallow grave in Brazil, but it is still unclear whether the corpse is Khan’s. In the end the family members conclude that Khan is dead.
    December, 2007: Shaliza Dataram and her three-year-old daughter are abducted by gunmen from their Ruimzeight, West Coast Demerara home. They are taken to a Pomeroon location but are rescued by police ranks.
    A man believed to be a Colombian is killed in the ensuing shootout.
    Also last year the son of a CARICOM official was kidnapped from his South Ruimveldt home.
    The police almost botched an attempt to capture one of the perpetrators during an exchange of gunfire in Sophia.
    The youth was subsequently released after a ransom was paid.

4. If you indians stop bringing in the cocaine and selling it to the negroes then a lot of our caribbean countries would be a much safer place.

You created a monster by your treatment and hatred of these blacks and now they have turned on you – well these are the brakes – LIVE WITH IT.

5. Remember Roger khan – the biggest drug pusher in guyana?

Remember dole chaddee – the biggest drug pusher in Trinidad?

What do they have in common? – they are all indians who brought in drugs and took it to the african neighbourhoods and enticed young men and women to not only be their dealers but their users as well – so as to ensure a ready supply of users.

They started pushing it at the secondary schools – and only to african children – well my friend – the chickens have come home to roost.

What goes around comes around!

6. […] Much better than the racism, hatred and xenophobia being pumped out by the slime-brains behind blogs like Barbados Underground. […]

7. Indo-Guyanese Avatar

Listen here Anonymous, you don’t have the balls to even identify who you are.

As for drug dealing. You out a your twisted mind. All over the world Africans and whites are selling and using drugs. I have seen this so mant times in my life, I take it for granted now.

I thinik it is unfortunate that this is happening among Africans. The problem is that other African asses like you don’t help the situation becaus eyou deny it’s reality or blame it on someone else.

I am not surprised that you think your views are rational because you are sick. But thankfully Barbados doesn’t have many like you and thank goodness Africans like you are the minority.

Most are very intelligent people who of course have a lot of hurt and anger to deal with. But that’s another story.

8. I congratulate you for being so bold as to call some of the african majority population asses in their own country of which you have been welcomed.

For it was these african asses who took you hungry and destitute and starving from guyana and elsewhere, and showed you a standard of living that you didn’t think possible.

Here in barbados we refer to your ethnic group – in particular those in the van trade in cheap trinkets as – ‘the coolie man’.

So I will of course affectionately say to you ‘coolie man’ – rest assured – ‘day does run ’til night ketch it’.

You might just find that some of these african asses are not so stupid after all.

9. Anonymous that the view all other groups have of black people all over trhe world.The sad thing about it we do not retaliate we just allow those comments to passed.I am angry as hell that I do not know what to say. A hungry starving uneducated Indo- Guyanese could come into Barbados and insult black Barbadians this way what I will do with him and other Indo-Guyanese I cannot say on this blog.I leave it for “Fine Man”Rawlins and the rest to do for me.
    These uneducated backward stupid ass indo-guyanese who do not have anything to offer Barbados are insulting us that is unthinkable.We do need their carpentry and masonry skills .We have the skilled Barbadians artisans graduating from the Polytechnic every year,What the hell stinking indo-guyanese could offer us nothing.The only thing the indo guyanese women could offer is their bodies.Nothing else.Indo-guyanese you all are burden to the Caribbean not only Barbados but all the other Caribbean countries.you all are nothing but nuisances..Go back to Guyana build up your country,educate your people and become productive Caribbean & South American citizens.You all nuisances.

10. guyanese african Avatar
    guyanese african

first thing bajans stop calling y’all self negro use the word african. Y’all ain’t realised we african chasing them outta guyana we don’t want them here either. the people are a pain in the ass. they have destroyed this country and our solution is to send them away we are glad they leaving right now. and i don’t expect Barbados to accept them either all indo-guyanese women are whores the white men here pimp them out one at a time i suggest the black men there just use deh asses. them ship them back 2 india cause we don’t want them here either.

11. There are people in every community, every country who have selfish reasons to make situations worse, even if it means filling their own people’s head with destructive thoughts. There are others who try to live correctly and make the world a better place to live in. These two types of people, the latter being decent hard-working people belong to every race, religion, country and economic group – unfortunately so does the former group who are the racist, greedy, trouble-makers who have criminal tendencies. These are like the new plague in our societies who try to justify their criminal and racist minds.
    The reason people would call many of your ideas backward is that you choose the lazy ignorant path of evil. It takes too much time and effort to to the correct thing and seek the truth about the situations in these countries.
    I know for most of you,who have chosen this path of ignorance but aggression and racism for you and your family and the country, that you have chosen to do the wrong thing for selfish reasons.
    Enjoy your life

12. Indo-Guyanese // May 2, 2008 at 12:36 pm

Stop it you are the ones selling cocaine to my friends on the block how dare you have the audacity to be so bold as to insult and redicule your customers.

We waking up ya know slowly but surely!

Stupse wannah is something else for trut!

13. When I say customers I dont mean cocaine addicts I mean those persons who give you 5 and 10 dollars or even more when the days come that when you all get home you all have 3 and 4 thouand dollars dont bull shit us!

Wanna barking up the wrong tree ya know! Watch and see wanna asking for trouble!~

14. […] 26, 2008 in Barbados, Crime, Trinidad and Tobago Can Barbados Avoid Escalating Crime & Violence In Neighbouring Trinidad & Guyana? Barbados Underground | January 26, 2008 · 64 Comments I‘m telling you this crime situation has […]

Leave a Reply to MakaveliCancel reply