We will write this slowly and very carefully. We confirm that the pictures above were taken on January 15, 2008. What this tells us is that the activities captured on the images above took place on election day 2008 in Barbados. We are therefore forced to ask the following questions:

1. In Picture #2 the vehicle M50 is clearly visible. Can the presence of the vehicle in the Farm on January 15, 2008 be explained?
  2. Picture #5 shows Peter Miller in the midst of the crowd. Mr. Miller can you tell us what you were doing? More importantly, what had just transpired in the huddle which made you so pensive?

Would it be expecting too much of our media houses, which have been touted as being full of journalistic standards, to join us by asking the hard questions about events in the Farm on Election Day 2008?

Oooops, we forgot, they need evidence!

69 responses to “Activities In The Farm On Election Day”

1. […] Activities In The Farm On Election Day [video 6583 w=400] We will write this slowly and very carefully. We confirm that the pictures above were taken on […] […]

2. If you cannot see the difference, you are blind as a bat.

Here is your evidence.

Number of votes cast and counted and margin of victory recorded. Same margin as triggered a recount in two other seats . Recounts lead to a significant change in margins. Politician claims to have asked for a recount which would not surprise anyone. No recount had.

All undisputable facts. No heresay.

The question I asked is why was there no recount?

You say maybe Rommel didn’t ask for a recount and if you are satisified with that, then I cannot help you.

3. Still haven’t seen the evidence yet

4. Anyhow it is not for u or me to decide.. it is for the court…

I was just saying that it is all hearsay

Rommell was so punch-drunk that night he probably dont know if he asked

5. It is interesting that there will be a court cast about the recount. Lawyers have assembled evidence that has passed the minimum standard of a case (bringing a frivolous case has adverse consequences for the lawyers) and are to present it.

Will there be a recount or even a by-election.

I understand that Light & Power are considering bringing a court case against those who plastered their poles. Though as one of the parties is the government they may well decide that the ill-blood this would cause is not worth a staple or two – though I understand that staples in electric poles can be dangerous.

It is interesting that no one has come forward to say they are bringing a court case on what is supposed to have taken place on the Farm or elsewhere.

I hope that where there were misdemeanours that the evidence is gathered and cases are made in open court for everyone to scrutinise as this is the way to stop serious misdemeanours in the future. Though I cannot see it myself, I have no sympathy for any politician, be it a former PM or an opposition candidate if they are found to be buying votes for cash or weed or both.

If no cases are forthcoming then the impression this will give is that these very serious allegations were made up for party political reasons. This would be almost as sad as the alleged misdemeanours.

6. Andrew,

You do not understand how to differentiate heresay from facts.

Its not heresay that the margin of victory was small.

It is not heresay that the same margin of victory triggered recounts elsewhere.

It is not heresay that there was not a recount.

For this we need answers to questions.

It is heresay that someone says that someone else saw, or said they saw, the PM handing our cash from a plastic bag. For that we need evidence.

7. Robert Hooke

Please no red herrings

The margin is not the point at issue here..

It is whether or not a recount was asked for by Mr Marshall..

Neither of us have the proof … so all the mumbo jumbo u write is pure conjecture

So as I say.. let the courts decide

8. So, let me get this straight,

you think the reason why a recount did not happen is that the losing candidate by a handful of votes, did not ask for one, even though he and his agents say he did and there were two other recounts that night.

You honestly believe that?

Wow.

9. Robert Hooke

Neither of us have the evidence (except you are the lawyer representing Rommell)

So let us agree to disagree and let the courts decide

10. Andrew,

You have actually debated yourself into my point.

It is my point from the beginning of this thread to let the courts decide and not to try and convict someone by blog.

So instead of all these very serious assertions made about the former PM handing out “free” cash (do you think an economist would do that?) from a plastic bag, bring the evidence and let the courts decide.

My point from the beginning of this thread is that these are such serious allegations and so obviously verifiable that instead of people just talking wildly about it, bring the evidence to court.

The evidence on the recount is coming to court. What else is?

11. Why de DEMS don’t tell wunna how much money get pass out in de Farm to get we to vote fuh Chris.

Wunna men got nuff big talk and high words, but I live dey and I know what I see wid my own two eyes.

If wunna doubt me ask Ross.

12. i for d bees , i got 4 new tires & rims for my car.. i hope elections were every day..well at least once a month!!

13. DLP PICK UP BY TRUCK LOADS AND GAVE PEOPLE BETWEEN $120 – $200. Some people didn’t even live in the areas.

14. I am a young person who was voting for the first time, my friends and myself were offered money from the DLP to vote for them. My friends took the money, but I refused to vote. Both sides are guilty for what they were doing. The economy doesn’t seem so bad now. The same news shows every night, so it seem like the Government don’t have any work to do right now. Everything seems in order for now.

15. One should ask a few questions when it comes to Rommell Marshall’s case.

1. Did his representative agree with the totals and that everything was done above board. Did he sign off on the count?

2. Was Mr. Marshall on hand when the counting was going on so that he could respond timely to the fact he was losing his seat?

3. Did he in fact ask for a recount within the stipulated guidelines and time frame before the winner was announced?

4. Were the ballot boxes at the counting station so that a recount could have been done?

5. Were all the officers and personnel on hand to execute a recount or were some of them already off premises when the recount was requested?

6. Finally this one really is a sprat but…. whilst Mr. Marshall is in court will he take the time to also tidy up another matter of unpaid NIS?

16. I also want to express my vexation with regards to people being bought because they cannot see past their noses.

It was touted during the elections how people waited in the rain for BLP manifestos, I remember posting that those people who we saw getting Manifestos would not even have the time to read them or dicipher them.

I have a real problem with Barbadian citizens – young or old, taking money for something they should look at as their constitutional right, payment for votes is downright whoring.

I know that I will get stick for this next comment but I strongly believe that the last administration is to blamed outright for this begging and cap-in-hand mentality that prevades this society today. What ever happened to good old hard and honest days work.

The young boys sitting on the blocks smoking from as early as 7:00 am begging, engaging in destructive activities.

We have become a nation of beggars, lazy and slothful and slovern. Pride and Industry dead and buried.

Also I want to know when the police will do somthing about this foolish Bloods & Crypts gang foolishness, they have all over the place written up with loads of crap, Barbados is a whole ghetto.

And the hurtful thing is that 3/4 of these gang members cannot read, or spell, and then we boast about our literacy rate

17. are ballot boxes kept for historical record? and if so, where? an is it possible for the government to see how you voted?

18. […] Activities In The Farm On Election Day […]

19. @ Warrior…….Why the police? This entire country is run by the gov that’s in power. If they wanted something done about it, it would have been done.
    That cat is out the bag long ago…..this place is no longer a paradise

Leave a Reply to R. HookeCancel reply