don It was an interesting comment which we heard recently on talk radio. David Ellis – Voice of Barbados acknowledged the impact which blogs had during the last election. He agreed that we filled the void left by the traditional media. We also recall the comment made by the current Minister of State and Leader of Government Business in the Senate, Maxine McClean on talk radio, when she opined that the blogs have a role to play in Barbados. So why are we reminiscing?

On this evening’s talk show, our eardrums were offended by the preamble delivered by Dr. Don Marshall, a lecturer at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Cave Hill. In essence, he suggested that the unregulated environment in which Barbados Free Press and Barbados Underground peddle information is a dangerous development which should concern Barbadians. He believes that if Barbadians have to resort to the blogs to air their views then we are not living in a democracy – words to that effect.

It is interesting that this is the same Dr. Marshall who agreed with David Ellis that the blogs had an impact; however tiny, on the last election during last Sunday’s call-in program. It smacks of a high class hypocrisy that Marshall would make a statement on national radio to imply that the Bajan blogosphere is a negative for Barbados. Where was he during the last election campaign and beyond when BFP and BU were busy pressuring the government on issues which mainstream media was too spineless to cover? During this period, the outspoken Dr. Don Marshall was silent with his current view. He appears to have experienced an epiphany in the last week and has now taken-up an anti-blog posture.

The BU household has always been an admirer of the good Doctor. His intellectual approach to engaging the issues of the day we find to be refreshing. His willingness to move from the comfort of Cave Hill, unlike many of his colleagues, to venture into the public domain is worthy of praise. We wonder if Dr. Don Marshall is aware that in the USA which prides itself on freedom of expression, boasts of a very fertile blogosphere. Why can’t he fathom that both mediums can co-exist? It is this backward thinking which emanates from our intellectuals and leaders sometimes that makes a person go, WOW.

Do you remember the time when we invited Dr. Michael Howard from UWI to offer a comment on a raging issue which was fueled by debate between Clyde Mascoll and himself? He did not even acknowledge our note. Such actions clearly show the contempt which many of our intellectuals on the “Hill” have for the blogs. Of course we have the exceptions like Dr. Justin Robinson and Dr. Karl Watson who routinely use the blogs to interact with us ordinary folks who retreat to the unregulated virtual space of the blogosphere. It is a common way of thinking by some to focus on the negatives at the huge expense of the many positives which exist as well. It is interesting that the great philosophers of our history felt duty bound to go wherever people were to be found to ensure that thoughts and ideas might freely pollinate. Nowadays, we have the smugness of our intellectuals who prefer to communicate to the people on turf which they are familiar.

The Internet is a phenomenal discovery which we anticipate will be with mankind for a little while. It becomes the responsibility for the intellectuals in our society to interact with the public wherever they choose to congregate. The Internet facilitates a virtual meeting area which is increasing at a giddy pace. Would it be asking too much if the intellectuals on the ‘Hill’ would make the blogs pregnant with their ideas and opinions? They should try it it just might become contagious.

Our intellectuals at Cave Hill can become stuck in the mud or play catch-up, the choice is theirs to make.

Related story published by Barbados Free Press.

82 responses to “Are Bajan Blogs Under Attack?”

1. Bimbro, I have had similiar situation with them. In fact one coolie gyal from La Penitence went to America (Old Westbury, NY), and she turn up she nose at her black Guyanese friends. She married a white man and lived life like there was not tommorow, well she got in one bad car accident and lost her sight in both eyes. The white man left her, and she had to return to her home in East La Penitence Guyana. Well her Mum cared fro her for a while , but dies shortly, and now it’s an old black Guyanese Granny caring for this girl, with help from sisters from the East Bank Demerara Seventh Day Adventist Church. Now you see how the devil took hold of this girl, and then made her blind so that now she can’t see who is who, and its us who must care for her. We must pray. I see it this way, we all carry the beautiful, red, green yellow, black and white golden arrowhead flag of Guyana, and even though some of them behave so badly, I say they are Guyanese and I over look it. B ut whne they act that way I always say they must be doign something underground and they don’t want us to know

2. TheWhiteRabitt it is not accurate to generalize by saying if people have to resort to blog…), in the same way some people read the Advocate over the nation newspaper or listen to CBC over VOB so too people communicate via the blogs for a number of reasons. One of the big reasons in Barbados has to do with the media with their high journalistic standards, according to you, prostituting themselves to government and others. Another reason might be that the traditional media in Barbados wants to remain in the comfort zone. Any newspaper, radio or TV station worth its salt nowadays have top class websites with blogs etc to allow their constituents to interact with them. The fast past world and the speed with which information is dispensed demands it. A look around the Barbados media reveals the following:

CBC’s website has no blog or discussion board.

VOB’s website has no blog or discussion board

Nation newspaper has a discussion board which was last moderated on the 17/1/08

Advocate newspaper publishes online but does not manage a website.

Don’t know if we have made the point.

3. Wishing in Vain Avatar

frankology I will have to hear the substance of his threats, otherwise I have doubts with his accusations.

We have no doubt that you would have doubts I am sure had it happened at a DLP you would have not doubt but it HAPPENED AT A BLP MEETING so you would be willing to second guess it, there goes the NEUTRAL ONCE AGAIN.

4. Witness // January 23, 2008 at 5:12 pm

Adrian Hinds,

And I know what your mother USED TO BE.

Should I post it on this blog?
    ==============================

Come witness tell me what my Mother used to be. One thing i can assure you of that this little exchange is going to for the second time prove Ezra Alleyne to be wrong. 😀

5. We have no doubt that you would have doubts I am sure had it happened at a DLP you would have not doubt but it HAPPENED AT A BLP MEETING so you would be willing to second guess it, there goes the NEUTRAL ONCE AGAIN.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    If it had occurred at a DLP meeting I will still have my doubts. From the sixties until Jan 15, 2008, this is the first time we had an individual complaining about threats. If I was threatened once, you would have seen by shoe soles, but to be threatened four times as stated by Dr. Marshall. This is where I have my doubts. So WIV, it have nothing to do with which party it happened.

6. Getting it off my chest.... Avatar
    Getting it off my chest….

The knee jerk reaction seems to be that if you say anything bad about the blogs you will be compared to being a nazi/saddam hussein/big brother.

Don Marshall made a relatively mild comment about the blogs and he’s being abused. Ezra Alleyne (yardfowl that he is) had the temerity to say that some people abuse the blogs and he’s tarred and feathered.

Meanwhile if it’s sleazy or scandalous you are welcomed with open arms! Truth be optional.

7. Getting it off my chest…. // January 23, 2008 at 9:46 pm

The knee jerk reaction seems to be that if you say anything bad about the blogs you will be compared to being a nazi/saddam hussein/big brother.

Don Marshall made a relatively mild comment about the blogs and he’s being abused. Ezra Alleyne (yardfowl that he is) had the temerity to say that some people abuse the blogs and he’s tarred and feathered.

Meanwhile if it’s sleazy or scandalous you are welcomed with open arms! Truth be optional.

=============================

…and equally in Don Marshall case a number of us opined differently to that of the author. What is the problem? That no one should object as they saw fit too?

In Ezra’s case he deserves what he gets. To attempt to defend Owen Arthur against mud-sling when Owen Arthur slings mud himself (we saw him attempt to castigate others for what he termed nastiness against Mia and in the same breath uttered the same kind of nastiness at Peter Whickham) …. this show a bias that does not deserve any respect.

….Less and you your ilk forget you are allowed like the rest of us too opined as you also see fit, but you will not have any leeway in bringing restrictions, and standards etc which all of us know has one common aim and that is to shut down the openness we have gain from this medium. Don’t come if it offends you. Sweep this blog under the carpet as you would so many other things in Bim if you dare.

If untruths are spoken lead the blog in correcting it, rather than stand in corner with your nose push up, grumbling.

I heard Owen Arthur at his nomination stating that the Owner of six mens plantation wanted and exorbitant amount of money for his land a blatant untruth. Leonard St.Hill in a later article in the nation cleared the air by stating that total amount ask for includes other clearly itemize cost above and beyond the cost of the land. But you know what Leonard St. Hill did call for nor suggest in the delivery of his article that BLP party nomination speeches should be discontinued or censored or change in anyway. But i understand the real motives for these seemly innocent claims of unfairness, etc wunnuh aint gine fool me. Nothing should change on these blogs on the account of these new fangled doppelgangers.

8. Sugar Baby.

You are Guyanese and therefore have to defend your countrymen postion and behaviour, good or not so good – power to the people.

I want you to get this though, PUBLIC FIGURES HAVE NOT PERSONAL LIFE – ask Britany Spears or even same Rhianna.

If Ms mottley would conduct her some with some decency and privacy no body won’t have to know about her disgusting lifestyle

9. If it had occurred at a DLP meeting I will still have my doubts. From the sixties until Jan 15, 2008, this is the first time we had an individual complaining about threats. If I was threatened once, you would have seen by shoe soles, but to be threatened four times as stated by Dr. Marshall. This is where I have my doubts. So WIV, it have nothing to do with

He might be the first to be brave enough to report it and hope to get a favorable and fair response.

10. Sister Baby, thanks for the reply and for telling us about the Guyanese, girl. I’ve long, given-up any hope of Indians/Asians ever being genuinely, fond of any black, person and I think the person who believes they could be, is fooling him/herself. Like many people, they’re prepared to use us for their own ends, if necessary, and give the impression of being a friend for that time, but if a better opportunity comes along, they’ll drop you like a hot-brick and then you’ll see the other side of them!

However, I have a problem with black, Guyanese, too! The ones I’ve encountered have struck me as having some sort of ‘superiority-complex’, feeling that they’re more intelligent than west indians! To me they’re full-of-****! I can’t bother with them anymore! Anyhow, when I see them, I get a sly, pleasure from knowing how many of them have had to go to Bim in recent years to try and improve their lives, and enjoy the embarassment on their faces!!!! 🙂

What is it about your, BLACK, Guyanese people!

11. Well Bimbro, I too, like you, don’t bother myself with them anymore. I think the East Indians Guyanese have an inferiority complex and the Black Guyanese suffer from
    sczophenia (sp). I once knew an East Indian girl who met a man from Mexico in Guyana. Oh she was head over heals for this Mexican man, brought him to my house to show me him, saying to me Auntie Baby you should see how people in Georgetown looking at me and him and saying I (meaning she) got a white man. I thought to myself this Mexican man looks more like one of them bucktuh people from Essequibo, then during the visit she proceeded to tell me that East Indians were Caucsians, like if it really mattered to me. I had an aunt that married an English Guyanese. Well, she lived in a big mansion in Georgetown, a three storey house with a tower and the farthest I was allowed in her house was in the kitchen. I always wanted to go up in the tower to see the view of Georgetown. She went to London with her English husband, and subsequently came back to Guyana for holiday. I met her at Atkinson Field/Timehri Airport, and here she comes prancing off the BOAC jet in a fur coat in 80 degrees Guyana. She went down Water Street in her fur coat and made me look like a fool in front of all the Guyanese people. Coolie boy come telling me how people think she mad, and all she trying to do is tell them she been to London. Well, she left Guyana in a few days time as facilities were not good in my house. I was in shock, as I really wanted to get to know her. I wrote to her and asked her if she could send for me to come and live in London. She sent a message via a another relative that I did not speak proper Englsih and that the palce was really too cold for me. Well her son married a Portuguese Guyanese and had two children, with blonde hair and blue eyes, the East Indians Guyanese could never understand how these people were related to me. They left Guyana, well the last I heard is that the girl had married a big old English garbage collector, and that she my aunt lived in an building on the fifth floor ans she had to walk up five flights of stairs, and that they bathroom was down the hallway, but to hear her speak was as if she lived in castle in london and she made it sound like the grand daughter had married an English, now this old aunt was the one that said to us take your education because east Indians will take over Guyana one day and we sould not stand a chance. So you see Bimbro, East Indian Guyanese inferiority and Black Guyanese mental illness. They having problems with the air service to GY from Barbados and I believe a lot of other places. So one man wrote to the editor of the newspaper stating that once upon a time during Burnham’s rule that Guyanese could point with pride to their world class airline Guyana Airways, now Guyanese are at the mercies of LIAT and Caribbean Air. I never knew Guyana once had a world class airline, and then I noticed ont he internet that a white Guyanese man is writing a book about the The Golden Age of the Guyanese nation and how it came to be. Now I wonder where I was when this Golden Age was taking place. I do not knwo of any Golden Age Guyana, more liek Broke Down Country to me. Well Bye

12. ok
    the idea of the blogs are good
    the BLP members might be the victims or casualities of the current blog. those who saw no reason to change the government would have a problem with the blogs. i certainly did not see any reason to change the BLP for the DLP because I do not feel the DLP is capable of running barbados. i think the DLP is more capable of ruining barbados so i am naturally concerned about the blogs and the information contained therein. i do trust any information i see on these blogs and i think that these blogs were used to mislead the younger folk who are more into computers and blogging. they have the tendency to believe everything that they see here in these pages.

however, these are my thoughts and i dont claim to be right. the real test for these blogs will be time and the reaction to this DLP led government. will the blogs criticize the DLP as they did the BLP and Owen Arthur ? will the blogs be more objective ? will the blogs serve as DLP proproganda machinery ? the test of time will decide if these blogs will be continued or be closed down

it is ironic that owen arthur’s BLP government freed up the import duty and vat from computers so as to make computers accesible to more persons. it is ironic that these same computers were used to undermined is goverment and to undermine him personally. i read some where on these blogs about arthur’s wealth. what about david thompson’s wealth ? thompson is perhaps one of the wealthiest men to become prime minister of barbados. who will investigate thompson on this score ? integrity legislation ? the 100 days posse ? who ?

everything said , the blogs are important, necessary and might continue but how the blogs are used will dtermine their fate. if the blogs are used to continually expose wrong doing over a long period, we might see some improvement in our social and political situation but remember there has been a fight against drugs and drug use for a long time now but the drug dealers are always one step ahead. bloggers might have a forum but politicians will develop more ways of hiding and getting away from scrutiny—-so much fo integrity legislation

if however the blogs are used in a biased and unfair manner , be sure that they will be shut down and that would be sad. i am all for freedom of expression but cognisant of the need for the utmost care and responsibilty in this regard.

13. Please go to the Stabroek News which is a Guyanese newspaper and go to letter to editor section and see the high prasie that was given to Owen Arthur by a letter writer, but then the letter writer gives his views on why a good government was removed from office by the Barbadian people.

14. Thinking about our future years Avatar
    Thinking about our future years

Public opinion will dictate where and what people blog. If opinion shifts then the blogs will either shift with it, or people will move to a next blog. I like BU and BFP because they pay attention to current matters, environmental, cultural, with relevance to my own internal feelings.

Media is the one that needs to understand the meaning of “cognisant of the need for the utmost care and responsibilty.” The blogs and general populace spoke to the past government and the media just last week. Let us understand that.

Those who feel that the new gov is unfit will have 5 years to see and complain freely, via blogs or otherwise.

Meanwhile new ministers have to waste valuable productive time looking back into the possibly (probably?) corrupt doings of the highway and prison, and in many other areas. Wonder what we will hear about the findings? Can we hope to regain our lost NIS cash?

The economist says “uncomfortable 88% public debt”. Reminds me of the spend-thrift Republicans; and the Democrats who come after and have to balance.

Who loves a big spender? Ans: Everyone. Nuff pork and free drinks. But who pays his/her bills in this case? Ans: Joe Public.

If corruption, prosecute vigorously, and hope to stop the rot in future. Let’s keep Barbados the one that is clean.

15. Like anything else in life... Avatar
    Like anything else in life…

Bimbro,

YOU SAID: “Anyhow, when I see them, I get a sly, pleasure from knowing how many of them have had to go to Bim in recent years to try and improve their lives, and enjoy the embarassment on their faces!!!!”

I wonder though, do you have any family in the USA, Canada or England?

And doan talk bout Panama, cause one outta three is a lotta Bajans.

http://bajanfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/01/22/too-many-guyanese-how-the-panama-canal-transformed-barbados/

bb ff pp ee

16. Robot your post is base on socialist principles.

I wonder how many BLP members are also member of Socialist International.

……….. The blogs are not a single entity, and even thou there may be unity of thought and purpose within the two groups of persons who created BFP and BU, there is no such unity amongst the contributors, and it is the contributors that are the hearbeat and thereby the life of these two blogs. So your appeal and musing on what can happen, or must not be allowed, and what will be or will not be the outcome is silly to say the least. Try at first to honestly answer the question “what are the blogs?” and then take a fresh look at your comments. I for one is well known as an army of one. 😀 no servant of a political party and one who quietly wishes for the demise of one of the two leading parties, any will do. In the last two years i have gone from wishing to see the back of the BLP to wishing to see the back of the DLP, to wishing to see the Back of Thompson, to wishing to see the back of Mascoll to once again wishing to see the Back of the BLP. At all times i was consistent in wishing and early Political demise to Mia Mottley. 😀 I am not good at consistent group think and i am not alone on these blogs.

If BFP and BU shuts down others will pick up the slack, If BFP and BU decided to be taken in by the partisan calls cloaked in the deceit of calls for fairness, journalistic standards, and all the other codes of censor and control of the public conversation that the elites and their cronies like to exercise in their favour, others will pick up the slack and move forward. This train of Public Free Speech is unstoppable, get on board or don’t get onboard but if you attempt to stand in it’s way you may very well be steamrolled. 😀

17. Sister Baby, thanks for the reply. I sympathise with you because I have to agree with you – they do seem to have a very, strange, almost mentally, deranged attitude towards their fellow west indians. Do you live in Bim or Guyana and what do you think of Guyana, today????

‘Like Anything….’, yes, I have relatives in some of those countries but hopefully, they don’t display the same mental, kind of attitude which I observe from the Guyanese, repeatedly!

If they’re so, superior, then let them stay in their own ******* country!!

18. So your appeal and musing on what can happen, or must not be allowed, and what will be or will not be the outcome is silly to say the least.
    —————————————–
    to adrian hinds

i will not refer to any thing you or anyone say as silly. i respect all opinion and the right of individuals to express their opinions without using any derogatory remarks. i will not label anyone as anything socialist or otherwise. i am human even though the nom is ROBOT

19. ROBOT // January 24, 2008 at 11:44 am

So your appeal and musing on what can happen, or must not be allowed, and what will be or will not be the outcome is silly to say the least.
    —————————————–
    to adrian hinds

i will not refer to any thing you or anyone say as silly. i respect all opinion and the right of individuals to express their opinions without using any derogatory remarks. i will not label anyone as anything socialist or otherwise. i am human even though the nom is ROBOT
    ha ha ha ha I have fallen in love with Mia Mottley core comments that are to be found in every speech she makes. See, there is hope.

“In a very real sense” I am Adrian Hinds in real life as I am on this Blog. You on the other hand,…..is it Mr. Mrs, or Miss Robot, are but a Doppelganger, and NEW one at that, so “in a real sense” i have a hard time “treating to”, a ghostly entity with respect? 😀 “and i go further” I am hardly a respecter of real persons “I really am not, so a doppelganger shouldn’t expect to be accorded parity or beyond what is given to real persons 😀

Have things change? when i was in school you could use the words stupid and or silly if you were describing someone actions, but you couldn’t refer to them as such.

I think i said YOUR post, not you, was base on socialist principles, …….and YOUR appeal and musing, not you, were kind of silly.

Is this no longer allowed? 😀 Sorry to have hurt you sensitivities, well i am not really sorry, but i was taught to be nice even if you didn’t mean it, and i am telling you this because i was also taught that honesty is the best policy. 😀

20. Hello to everyone at Barbados Underground,

As some of you may already know, we joined the Bajan blogosphere and launched our own blog on Monday, 21st January 2008, Errol Barrow Day.

http://standpipe.wordpress.com

Barbados Underground has been a big inspiration to many of us, and that’s why we made sure to add you to our blogroll. Of course, we also need to promote ourselves as much as possible, so if you could kindly return the favour and ‘put in a lil word’ to get us on your own list of Bajan blogs we would very much appreciate it.

Keep good and God bless!

🙂

De Standpipe Crew

21. i want no war with you my friend
    i preach love
    we have suffered too much during slavery (both blacks and whites) to be engaging in arguments about who or what is silly
    we should be showing love and tolerance to each other and continously seek to achieve such.
    insults , innuendo, lies etc are the constructs of a culture that is foreign to our ancestral origins and are the mechanisms used in the past to divide and rule, to dominate and subjugate, to intimidate and to frustrate. to separate and even castrate.

pick sense from that -(as the old people would say)

22. ROBOT // January 24, 2008 at 9:06 pm

i want no war with you my friend
    i preach love
    we have suffered too much during slavery (both blacks and whites) to be engaging in arguments about who or what is silly
    we should be showing love and tolerance to each other and continously seek to achieve such.
    insults , innuendo, lies etc are the constructs of a culture that is foreign to our ancestral origins and are the mechanisms used in the past to divide and rule, to dominate and subjugate, to intimidate and to frustrate. to separate and even castrate.

pick sense from that -(as the old people would say)

I have no ghostly friends. All the persons that i would accord that title too, i have actually seen and or have spoken with. “I really have” 😀

…..Have you sought to sell your peacemaking, love and not war diatribe, 😀 to those who frequent political platforms? “cause in a real sense” some of the things said from those platforms would indicate that these persons really need to heed your words, or is it that your admonition of me and not them is in keeping with the fine tradition that only those in the villages and tenetries are in need of God and therefore the only place that a church could ever find to pitch a tent or hold an open air church meeting is among the poor! Your Bias position and words are lost on me. 😀

but what are our ancestral origins? Africa? are you sure about what is and what is not symtomatic of our “Ancestral culture”

23. Adrian, somewhere in one of these forums you mentioned the standard of behaviour in Britain. You were n’t wrong and I wanted to post a link to prove it. I have n’t found the precise, one but these ones are similar!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article728673.ece

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article729902.ece

You see, all, why I post on here and other places, to help to stop Bim from becoming like this!!!!

24. IF THERE’S ONE THING WHICH I’VE COME TO REALISE IN RECENT WEEKS, IT’S THAT BARBADOS IS FULLY, DEPENDENT UPON BLOGS AND DISCUSSION FORUMS TO TRULY, KNOW WHAT’S GOING ON, IN BIM!

THE TRADITIONAL, MEDIA ONLY KEEP US IN IGNORANCE!!!

WHAT A DISGRACEFUL, STATE OF AFFAIRS!!

BEST WIHSES, IN YOUR CONTINUED, EFFORTS, BU!!!!

25. What’s happened to Baby Sister. Don’t take any of my rant against the Guyanese as applying to you, sis. You seem ok, it’s the other ******s who I can’t stand! Hurry & return! Church-day, tomorrow!!!! 🙂

26. BU, I find the white-background of your smilies, irritating! Is it possible u could get rid of it! Spoils a perfectly, pleasant image!!!!

27. INTERNAL COMMAND-
    —Ignore Adrian Hinds
    ROBOT
    BLOG BARBADOS

28. I actually find the smilies irritating. Is this a WP feature? Or something you’re inserting at your level?

As usual, making it all the way to the end of these comment threads reveals the brand of invective peculiar to Barbados and Barbadians wherever they are found.

What I found interesting is how many people rely on an Americanised spell checker, and how many people just can’t spell.

29. Hi Sungodess, admire your techie skills! Smilies r usually, nice but these ones?!!!!

BTW, glimpsed some of your pics! Nice baby!!

However, only a normal, afro will do for any black woman! Any other style makes her look weird!!!!

Otherwise, you’d be fanciable!!!!

30. I hope the new Barbados government will remove VAT from the burden of the living passed on by the dead. The website http://www.coopmed.com have information on the funeral insurance plan Co-opLIFE. It states that one premium insures up to six persons.

31. hey mac
    from the nation newspaper—- today’s

LEAVE VAT!
    Published on: 1/30/08.

LEAVE the Value Added Tax (VAT) alone!

That’s the advice to the new David Thompson-led administration from University of the West Indies economist Professor Michael Howard.

In an open letter to Prime Minister Thompson, Howard, who is also a director of the Central Bank, warned against tampering with the VAT.

He highlighted three areas on which the new Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Government ought to focus: the economic management of the country, tax policy and the high cost of living.

The economist noted that the expansionary policies of the former [Owen Arthur] administration had led to “overheating” of the economy, which he said was caused by bunching of capital projects, heavy expenditure on Cricket World Cup and what he termed high levels of “conspicuous consumption”.

Howard warned that the island was now at a point where “serious decisions have to be made to reduce high levels of spending, maintain capital controls, and curb illegal immigration”.

On tax policy, the university economist said: “I believe that Thompson should implement Arthur’s tax reform measures as outlined in the BLP’s manifesto.”

While noting that given our system of politics his suggestions might never be accepted, he warned the DLP not to play around with the VAT as outlined in its manifesto.

He felt it would be more prudent for the Prime Minister to build on his predecessor’s approach “rather than increasing the number of zero-ratings in the VAT”.

The professor, in looking at the topical issue of rising prices, said the problem could not be solved by fiscal or monetary policies.

He blamed the spiralling cost of living primarily on imported food, adding that local farmers need to grow more.

“This will only happen if there is a reduction of the market power of the merchants in the distribution sector,” he stated. (ES)